(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

crystallized, babygrace,
Surprising, the loop pads can stay in place and works much better than adhesive. My mum and aunts used that last time. I used that once when my menses came for the 1st time.

crystallized,
TMC will provide the pads and charge to your acct. You got bring to extra in case not enough. I tell you hor, that time I asked for a box of tissue. They charged $5 per box. For info, is those small box hor.

Wendy,
There isn't any way I know that can prevent water retention. Just try to avoid taking food that are too salty.

Too late le, I'm down with flu and sore throat. Losing my voice soon...

Take more apples, help you to poo easier.

iovemybabyg,
The cramp you mentioned is q normal in pregnancy. Dun worry.

I agreeded with wat the salesgal said. Even those carseat stated from newborn onwards are not really ready for newborns to use. The one I have, is from newborn to 8 years old. I feel that my gal gets more comfortable to it after 6 mths old. So, for No.2, I will be getting an infant carseat instead, and upgrade later stage.

mmummyjoy,
No, Ameda Pump can be used with battery or adaptor only.

Selina,
Try to drink at least 8 glasses of water. It helps to flush out tonix.

crystallized,
when i was at home with the baby in the 1st 6 mths, i hardly tandem pump and bf unless i want someone to bottle-feed him at the next feed. Cos my boy is v greedy and feeds quite frequently so if i empty the other breast by pumping, his next feed not shiok liao.
i only started tandem pumping on a daily basis when i went back to work. i latch him on in the morning and pump the other breast at the same time. save time this way.

crystallized,
when i was at home with the baby in the 1st 6 mths, i hardly tandem pump and bf unless i want someone to bottle-feed him at the next feed. Cos my boy is v greedy and feeds quite frequently so if i empty the other breast by pumping, his next feed not shiok liao.
i only started tandem pumping on a daily basis when i went back to work. i latch him on in the morning and pump the other breast at the same time. save time this way.

hello wtan

hv already started to buy some basic stuff like steriliser (pigeon), bottles (nuk), clothes, towels, toys...etc. goin for my honeymoon this sunday and will be buying the baby stroller after im back.. hehe.. as for stroller, am getting Quinny Buzz.. hubby only likes that leh..

trying to buy most of the stuff during GSS..

Just to share after checking with my gynae...

Constipation
===========
can switch to take the iron supplement on alternate days if suffer from constipation, clear already return to daily intake. Anyway, body can only absorb up to a level and the rest will be passed out. If you have noticed, our stool is dark in color and despite drinking lots of water, our urine still a bit yellow cos these are the ways our body passed out the access supplements.

Wtan, TQ, not sure when I will go to taka, will call them to check if avent set still available if I were to go. My sis gg to sponser baby cot

Minibu, TQ for the flu jab info., I jab last year in Oct before I went outstation to a few places in China for a couple of months, think it should last me for a year so should be quite safe till I deliver.

Jasmine, my hb interested in the avent food warmer, can we use it to heat up EBM? Yup, leaving maid & BB at mums place when we go to work so will need another sterilizer. I already bot the NUK, thinking to also try another different brand.

Jenny, TQ, paisay, 1 more question, can we latch BB 1 side and do pumping on the other with Ameda pump or we always hv to use the dual. Me thinking to get an extra manual pump for that purpose so it will be great if it can be done on Ameda.

Hi hi coral..
Icokok..i guess most of the child car seat shd be able to secure firmly into the car seat ba..for this Nania one, I saw the demo from the sales staff that we can recline the angle of the car seat to let the child sleep lor..hmm..how to tell u ahh..when the car seat arrive later, let me fix it up & take some photos to show u ahh..the material isnt as cosy as most strollers but the sponge shd be ok ba I think

Hi hi minibu..
Oic..okok..thks ahh..i thot u took the jab from a normal GP..thks..

Hi hi Gemini..
So far, I didnt take the medication prescribe to me lor..just drank lotsa of water & take fruits lor..coz I m not sure if the medicine can be too strong for the babys kidneys lor..

Hi hi Jasmine..
I guess we shd really start looking at the little items ba..at least for u, u r more or less settled with the majority of the stuff & waiting for delivery in late Sept, right?have u bought the milk bottles & etc since u got the Avent food warmer?how abt the sterilizer?

Hi hi Jenny..
Ok..i will reduce my intake of salt & increase my intake of apples..thks..thks..ohu got to take gd care lor..try to drink more water ba..maybe drinking honey may be gd as well?rest more..

Hi hi storm..
Wow..so happy for u, u r gg for ur honeymoon this wk ahh..so nice..where are u gg?do enjoy urself & take short rest at stops..try not to walk too much if u r tired,k?take more photos too..glad that u have bought most of the little items..i think I got to start looking at them now..like so many brands on the shelves..see till I blur blur..u r getting the Zapp ahh..can consider getting it from CC..its the best price from there so far..how abt the Maxi Cosi Infant Car Seat?

Hi hi mmummyjoy..
thks..thks for the clarification with ur gynae on the constipation tips..i guess u give them a call b4 u go down ba..at least u can check it out with them if the stock is available..also as long as u spent abv $100, then u will get free delivery to ur place liao..wow..so nice ahh..ur siss gg to sponsor u the cot..so sweet of her..then u can also consider gg over to Aussino to get extra cot bedsheet set ba..quite nice & colorful also..cheers~

mmummyjoy,
Yes, you can latch bb on one side and pump the other side. If you see carefully on the pic where the air tube is plucked, there's this stopper, where you just use the stopper to "close" one side of the pump will do.

today I am going to aussino to buy bedsheet for baby cot. since i already have hand me down down baby cot, i still need to purchase the baby cot mattress.

i also have hand me dowm car seat but do not know if second hand one work or not? but all car seat are so expensive.

448456.png

hi mummies..saw ur posts on the avent pump set?? may i ask what promo??? where and how much? why so worth it?? what is includeed inside the promo?
paiseh ah..so many qn...

misaryeo
hahaa...just now saw the posts..some mums said avent got sales..very worthit..so just check out where is the sales..but so far..no reply yet..hahaha

Hi hi wei kuan..
Happy shopping ahh..me waiting for something from Aussino to be here..hehe..then I start my shopping..hohoho..

Hi hi dsiitan..
Welcome to this thread~ The Avent pump set is from Taka..u can call them to find out before u make a trip down ba..seems quite worth lor..coz some mtbs said the sterilizer itself is like $150+ or so..the ad came out at yest's newspaper..hope this is useful to u..

Hi hi misaryeo
Welcome to this thread~ Aussino have bedsheet for baby cot ahh..new arrivals leh..u might call them to double check ba..a few designs also..quite colorful lor...

<font color="aa00aa">Hi hi ladies..
Anyone of u know if we can take pork floss now ahh?</font>

hi wtan

im getting the Quinny Buzz, not Zapp.. where's this CC that u mention? is it really cheaper there? coz the ubi one selling at $799 w/ 1 yr warranty and kids mall at $699 w/o warranty...

wtan
thks for info...will go down and hv a look..hehee

regarding the cot set...how much per set and wat does it includes???

Gemini
Me like u leh very difficult to fall aslp. Yest was very tired I fell aslp at 10+ only to wake at 11+ when hubby come home than die cannot slp anymore and bb so active leh keep kicking. In the end slept only at 4+am. Than morning 8+ bb wake again and kick....sigh....very hard to sleep aah. Lucky I'm not working so day time still can rest.

Wah taka sale....hehe
THink tml die die will make hubby go there shopping......hehehe

BB Cot
----------
Seems like alot of us like the $299 cot...hehe
Saw 1 at Carrfore cheaper price dunno if it is the same one but look very similar.
Btw are all cots of the same size?? Cos thought I saw 1 that is slightly smaller and was wondering how to know what size bedsheet to buy.

After going to a lot of places looking at bb pram and things my hubby now like pram surveyer like that. If he see a pram he will tell me what brand lah than nice a not.....sigh

Cos we already decided to take the lucky baby pram from my cousin so I ask him if he having 2nd thoughts. Dun want my cousin's pram want to buy a new one instead. But he say no....he just want to kpo only....

Dun see him so into it before my cousin offer her pram and we dun even know what it looks like yet...hehe

hi wendy, went taka today wif hubby also to buy the nania carseat 2..heehee...saw many couples there.. crowded ya...when we reach there, still have a few sets left..then later we proceed to paragon to this store (the first few yrs) &amp; saw this co-sleeper (mini-size) goin at $269...we kinda of like it..but still pondering hard..
448695.gif

can anyone advise me if this type of cot is gd or is better to get those wooden type cot?? this is quite the rite size, mini though...dun take up so much space...we like the fact tat it is smaller in size and easier to put away next time.. and moreover heard the olders say after few mths, BB normally dun like to sleep in cot... later part, they prefer to sleep on bed or sarong...so stil thinking veri hard...

misaryeo,
I went to Aussino at Causeway point today.
Bought the baby cot comforter set at a discount price of @69 (usual is $99).
It included, the blanket qulit set, boster, pillow, fitted sheet and the side bumper for the cot.
I also bought baby towel from there, got 50% discount.
they also sold the fitted sheet alone. did u ask for the slaesgirl?

hi wei kuan, no leh.. i walk a few rounds can't find then i walk out liao.. maybe i'll ask them when i go down again.. thks.. byw wat's the size of the fitted sheet that u bought?

hi iLoVemYbAbYg
i also tinking of buying this time of cot , small enough cos heard tat when bb grows bigger they dun like to sleep in cot
i saw the same design of cot selling at kkh

are all the bumpers the standard size? if the bed so small, use diff type of bumper is it?

this morning bb wake up early, keep kicking me again

Coral
the exercise they taught yesterday quite useful, just have leg cramps on both legs last nite.i did the stretching without waking my hb and it helps!

hi aspialle, yah.. we mostly likely goin to settle on tis..have been thinking of it since last nite...REALLY like d size and fits appropriately at the corner tat we wanted to put...heehee...most likely goin down later to KKH also &amp; cheong choon store to do some shop shop and survey again...

in fact, quite true...most BB at 4-5mths onwards, dun like to sleep in cot..most prefer sarongs or bed..

i guess the bumper will be of diff size bah...will check wif the salesgirl later and update u ya!

Me just had bad diarrhea yesterday after antenatal class. Go karaoke yet keep going toilet.... sigh... For me, is either bad constipation or bad diarrhea... bth...

CONSTIPATION
=============
My gynae recommended a high fibre drink which it works for me very well. It is called Musilin. Safe for preg, orange flavour powder form. Taste ok and so far works well for me as I have tried others before. My constipation started even before preg and was quite serious. Even increased of water intake and fruits did not make it better. So my gynae recommend me to take it everyday. But I try not to rely too much on it, so usually i take and skip a few days. You gals might want to give it a try. BTW, my SIL also got it from her gynae during her preg. She also swear by it ... hee....

COT / CO-SLEEPER
================
Noticed that some of you mentioned abt the cot ($299) at taka. I like that too. But seems like no further discount hor.... I think I saw the same cot at somewhere else too at the same price. hmm...

Actually I quite like the size of the co-sleeper ilovemybaby posted too. But after much thinking, we decided to get a normal wooden cot coz I prefer to have a higher cot so that when bb is small, I dun need to bend down too much to pick him up or change his nappy. Thats why we are looking for those cots that can adjust to a higher height. Some cots can only adjust to 2 heights.
On top of that, we are thinking of allowing the bb to sleep longer in the cot. So think the co-sleeper will be too small for later stage. My colleague's kid and SIL's kid still sleeping in cot after 9-10mths so we wanted to give it a try lah.... hb dun like bb sleep with us on bed too...

Alamak, if got a cot can shrink size then extend size when need to, then perfect liao.. haha,....

AUSSINO
=========
Thanks for the info on the bb quilt set from aussino. Think i noticed they also changed their display in some of the branches... I will go take a look later...

ASPIALLE/CORAL/SELINA
=====================
I also agreed with aspialle that the class yesterday is really good. Even my hb say it is very informative. Glad that we went....
Looks like next week we can all meet together liao..

hi aspialle, went (the first few yrs) store at KKH jus now to take a look at the co-sleeper again..they dun come wif bumpers of tis size and moreover the material arnd the co-sleeper is soft enuf...but in the end, we still couldn't decide until we went to mums &amp; babes and we saw a wooden cot (walnut color) with the complete sleep set (full bumper, pillow, quilt and bolster)selling at $296..can use from newborn to 4yrs old.., convertable to bed and can wheeled arnd..we tot it was a gd deal so we bot tat...

yah vivian, u r rite...the salesgirl also told me tat the co-sleeper can oni use when BB is small, when they grow bigger, cannot use liao... so think think, still ended up buying cot instead..

hi MTBs,

Just went to bb kingdom. Bought the cot mattress which got holes for ventilation at $50 (actual price is $55), bedsheet set (consists of bumper, 2 small bolsters, fitted sheet &amp; 1 blanket) which costs $69. These 2 items are cheaper than bb hyperstore. Also bouught a Medela single electric breast pump at $238. It comes with the cooler bag and milk bottles. The salesgirl was saying that it's a gd buy as the cooler bag itself cost $128, the breast pump abt $100++, add up to abt $300++. Is it really cheap? I did not really check price. Actually, I'm still considering whether to bf, and was thinking whether to buy the pump or not. But since there's an offer, just buy it 1st and the warranty has not started yet. I will see after delivery.

Hi Wei Kuan,

I saw the baby cot set in the Aussino brochure. The blanket quilt cover, is it a comforter or need to buy the quilt separately?

Hi aspialle,

The side bumper is of 1 size only. If the cot is too small, just overlap the bumper to make it shorter.

Hi ilovemybabyg,

The cot that my colleague gave to me, she said that her kids sleep till 2 yrs old.

Gals, actually hor, if you train your bbs to sleep in cot, they will get used and will sleep in it one. Elders said bb won't want to sleep in cot cos they prefer bb to sleep in sarong. My mum and aunts kept saying sarong is good for bb cos can sleep longer. But I didn't want cos my place dun have a sarong and I dun trust those movable type. Secondly, I find it hard to stay overnite at places where sarong is not available.

For me, I let my gal co-sleep with me and hb on our bed from 4 mths old onwards cos that time, I scared she would flip at nite and didn't how to flip back (she was learning to flip tat time). I sort of scaring myself lah, so I woke up every hr to check till I very tired, and decided to shift her to our bed. IT WAS A WRONG MOVE! Cos after that, she is so used to sleep with us, that she refuses to sleep in her cot anymore. Just few mths ago, I start training her to sleep alone on the floor. At first, she threw temper, but now she knows where she is supposed to sleep. I intend to convert the cot to toddler's bed for my gal but since No. 2 is arriving soon, I decided to use it for No. 2 and let my gal to continue to sleep on floor till she's older, then I let her sleep in the extra queen size bed that I have at home.

misaryeo,
it is of standard size that can fit all baby cot, my baby cot size is 4 ft by 2ft and the fitted sheet is a litter bigger, so it is okay

Gemini, u did not need to buy the quilt separately.it comes all together
even the bolster and pillow come with fill.
it a great buy. the side bumper is also soft

Aspialle, glad that the exercise helped.

Hmm, now hb decide to buy bb cot too, so now 1 more item to think abt. We have not buy the carseat, pram or cot. Hmm...so many things to consider.

Wendy, I went to Taka that day and they have new stock of the Car seat, but the second shipment is in the Fresh colour. Cos hb wasn't there so I didn't buy lor. The Baby craft cot is suitable for new born to how old?

ilovemybaby, is Mums &amp; babes at KKH too?

ilovemybaby

i heard frm many mumies that bb dun like to sleep in cot after a few mths, so afraid that its not worth the $$. My hb's colleague willing to give us a wooden cot free cos bb dun wan to sleep in it, still quite new , only used for a few mths
the one $296 that u see, do u have a pix how it looks like?

hi coral
my hb and i went to the combi fair at marina sq on sat, nothing much though. most likely will get Haenim baby stroller

Hi hi storm..
Oh, u r getting the Buzz ahh..okok..but quite heavy thou..r u sure u can handle if u r alone to bring bb out?then I m not very sure abt the price liao..but seems better for u to get it now as some of the stores are having offers during GSS..hope u get a gd offer..cheers~

Hi hi dsiitan..
Oh..i dun remember off hand what does it consist of..will advise u to go down to Aussino to check it out..then u can also feel the material..i think ard $70..cheers~

Hi hi Doreen..
The cot from Taka is from Baby Craft..its a 4-in-1 cot..not sure abt Carrefour..hvnt been there to check it out..i didnt know they have cot there as well..since u r not working then rest more at home ba..

Hi hi ilovemybabyg
Oh, u went to Taka &amp; saw the Nania carseat ahh..did u get one for urself?the co-sleeper is it a playpen as well?seems like one..but is it very light?me worried that as bb grow bigger then the co-sleeper may not be able to carry the weight well..is it stable?

Hi hi wei kuan..
Oh, u bought which set from Aussino?Little Princess?me waiting for my letter from Aussino before I can go over to check it out..hehe..

Hi hi aspialle..
Wat exercise to relieve leg cramps?care to share?seems useful leh..

Hi hi Vivian..
Oh..hope u r feeling better now..as for the fibre drink..where can we get it?seems gd also..as long as it helps to clear..i think its very impt lor..so envy u all..can meet up together to go class..hee..so nice..

Hi hi Gemini..
Wow..u went shopping ahh..very nice to hear that u manage to get quite a number of stuff ahh..hehe..did u also check out the milk bottles &amp; the little items?me saw a few brands but hvnt really check out in details at Metro Tamp..cot mattress with holes for ventilation ahh..i m wondering how does it look like leh..hehe..

Hi hi coral..
Oh, u went to check it out at Taka ahh..oh..2nd shipment in Fresh color ahh..hmm..i think for me, I will prefer the Casual color combination ba..hehe..not sure abt the cot..why u didnt check out with the sales assistant on the demo of the cot ahh..if the next time round I m there..i will check it out balet u know again..cheers~

hi aspialle, no pic i'm afraid..but bcos the mini co-sleeper is not suitable for platform type beds as our bed is the plaform type, so also no point buying tat oso..if ur bed is the higher type one, then can consider lor..this mini co-sleeper can be put bside ur bed so that u can monitor BB at the same time...as for me i wouldn't go for playpens either as i also heard abt the unstability of it, so either co-sleeper or cot... so in the end bot a cot instead since almost the same price..btw, this co-sleeper is from armsreach and seems quite stable for me..u can consider ya if u r keen...

for me, no hands-me-downs, so everything got to buy... and moreover my HB is the type dun like asking arnd pple for such things..he prefers got pple give, we take, no pple give, we dun ask, we buy... so me got no choice either too... :p
anyway, we are planning for 2nd BB also next time..so use for the elder one later pass down to the 2nd one... :p

hi wendy, it looks like playpen, but to me d base seems more stable than playpen.. playpen very shaky...this one seems firmer &amp; light ya..and imprtantly, it's small...very compact for small rooms lor...

yah!! heehee, went bot the nania carseat too..now tat carseat, breast pump &amp; cot r settled, last to go will be d stroller..

hi hi ilovemybabyg..
oic..so the co-sleeper is ideal for small rooms &amp; also can be next to ur bed if it's a non-platform bed, gd to hear that..my bed is quite high so probably will go &amp; chk out other cots 1st b4 we decide ba..thks..wow..so nice to hear that u bought the nania carseat as well..did u get the Avent sterilizer &amp; food warmer as well?

hi wendy, no leh, i din check out on tat..cos so many pple arnd.. we r more concern on the seat and the cot, so went to see these two items instead..and also we wanna save on the sterilizer..heehee...

hi wei kuan,
Thanks for the info on the bb quilt set from aussino. i actually oso looking for another set for bb cot. probably will check it out on tampines branch. but then sometimes diff. branches won't hav the same stock hor...

hi gemini,
i bought bb cot frm bb kingdom &amp; upgrade the normal matress to tat cot mattress which got holes for ventilation. i jz add another $20. hopefully bb will fell more comfortable whe he sleep on this matress lol.

hi wendy,
yeah... we really hav to start start looking at the little items ba. for me, i very easy get tired when go out. so, we jz grab everything when we saw the price is cheap and of course with discount lol. only bb cot will delivery in late Sept. ohters stuffs like sterilizer, food warmer, pump, changing mat, mosquitor net, bouncer chair &amp; etc already put at one corner in our room. I didnt bought the milk bottles coz i hv 4 free milk bottle liao (2 frm sterilizer &amp; 2 frm pump. now only waiting sis pass me her bb clothes, then will buy some if not enuf lol.

Hi wei kuan,

thks for the info. Since I got 1 set of the baby cot already, dun think I'm getting the Aussino set.I just need to get the separate fitted sheet, pillow &amp; bolster case will do. I'm so blur, I thought that the Aussino set was selling at $79, did not see the brochure properly, that's why tot that the set at bb kingdom is cheaper.

My cot mattress is the biggest size, 52".

Hi wendy,

I have bought some milk bottles, baby mittens and booties 3 wks ago when I went down bb kingdom. yesterday was my 2nd trip down there. The sale ended yesterday but the saleger was telling me that next wk, if still got sale, is those leftovers.

Yipee, I got sponsor for my stroller. So happy!

Hi all MTBs,

As mentioned in my earlier posting, as I'm not confirmed whether to bf or not, so the Medela breast pump that I have bought may be sold away. But I can only confirmed in Oct after I have delivered. So for those who still looking ard, just take note.

jasmine, should have the stock, it just that they are having promotion and this yr many pp pregnat, so the stock will be out very fast.

wtan, I bought the doggie set (last pc when I bought it) cos this is dog year and there are three colours, pink, blue and yellow.
I do not want to buy all pinkish cos I am not 100% comfirm a girl, only 70%.
my aunt got a first son and when the second time she is pregnant, the doc said 99% girl.
she is so happy and everything is pink colour, but when give birth, it is a boy.
she was so sad and cry the whole day cos even the room, she paint light pink.

449327.png

for those who are interested in the Avent steriliser hamper for Takashimaya promotion... it is sold out already. I made a waste trip there yday

Wtan, TQ, ya, I knew abt the free delivery cos' I bot a lot of household stuff from taka last year. I personally don't like Aussinx cos' I bot my red wedding bedsheet quilt cover set from them, suppose to be high quality but the color keep running and even stain my silk quilt
some more, there is smtg like linen dust keep coming out from the sheets...it settle on sides of my parquet flr and TV console so when we wipe, we find red particle....we wash a few times then gave up so no no on Aussinx stuff. I hope they will be carefull on BB stuff. Huh, we cannot take pork floss?

Jenny dear, TQ
so I think we still need a manual pump to bring out just in case BB don't want to latch on after we start EBM with bottle after the confinement period...

thanks, wei kuan.
enjoy ur appt 2molo. must b very excited hor? do update us after ur appt .

hi doggies mummy,
waa...so fast sold out oredi? so, did u manage to get other stuffs at taka?

jasmine
yes got other stuffs, but the offer not that good lor and price compariable to elsewhere. bought them just to not waste my trip there.

Ya sold out within 2 days, the Takashimaya sales say will call me after she check with Avent office on whether they want to continue this offer price. but till now, no news from taka sales yet