(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Minibu,
no wonder lah. None of the outlets are near my place, never seen b4.
Ya, agree! THE Fruit is always the best!

janice,
i always go teck whye terrace to buy durians...the shop front is selling durians...very good/nice...

the cakes & stuff can be ordered online if you like...

Ladies...

EMICAKE
=======
trust me... try out the emicake's durian puff.. as good as the real fruit itself... ahhh... my durian craving come again liao.... *drooling*

COLD DRINKS
===========
Die ah... think i am the only one who keep drinking lots of cold water... outside and at home.. too used to cold water liao... chiam...

vivian,
ya, the durian puff & stuff is nice, eaten before but the fruit is still my jui4 ai4...heheee...

dun worry, u not alone comes to cold drinks, me also take alot...so guilty...must cut down...

Vivian, I opposite from you. b4 preg i don't touch cold water. But after preg i always feel so hot so drink lots of cold water.

All the talk on durian, jiat lat, I must go satisfy my craving soon.

Wah..all the talk on durians..
I dunno about emicakes, only know Angie The choice has durian crepe. Very yummy!

Durians
=======

To me Emicakes durian puff is still the nicest that I have eaten, though there is a shop in Joo Chiat (cant rembr the name), quite near Joo Chiat CC, durian puffs also not bad.
But the real fruit itself is still the best! Too bad, till now, no cravings for durians!

Cold drinks
===========

minibu, dun u find Ribena (esp packet) too sweet without ice? If I have to drink Ribena, i will put in 2 or 3 ice cubes, try to reduce the sweetness. Before preggie, I seldom drink cold drinks, esp with ice. I will drink tea. Now, if do drink tea, only half the cup.

gemini,
ya, its sweet, so only drink occasionally if outside, unless mix the drink at home....
now, i dun drink tea cause of the caffine, b4 almost every morning drink tea with milk...

there is one at jurong east central.
435453.png

Gemini, Minibu,
You dun drink tea? I drink earl grey every morning! Plain water is just too plain......... Tea has half the caffiene as coffee. Some MTBS also drink coffee everyday.

My friend drank kopi everyday when pregnant with her 2nd one. 1st child she never touched. Ended up the 2nd one fairer than the 1st hor!

janice,
ya, i dun take tea now in the morning, change to milo cause heard ppl say caffine not good woh...i dun fancy coffee so no problem...

i also know some mtb must take coffee everyday but reduce intake to 1 cup a day...

dun think drinking coffee got effect on skin colour lah....

minibu,
lucky u! I used to drink kopi everyday like drug addict. If dun drink will get headache. Now tried to drink only 1 cup a day. Sometimes dun drink.

mmummyjoy,
try to keep your bladder full during scanning. My gynae said can see BB better.

janice, I scare drink too much need to go tiolet..kekeke

MTBs who has already went for detail scan
=========================================
can share at which wk you went and what was your BB weight? I weight myself every morning but like I didn't put on for 1 week plus liao so I am worry if BB is growing well.

Hi bbgrace,

Yes! That's the name. I seldom buy cos I prefer the real fruit. My colleague is saying that it's nice.

Hi janice,

I cant drink tea-o. I dun drink coffe at all. If have to drink, must be tea with milk, or else will have a lot of white discharge. Before preggie, I have this problem already.

Also, my gynae or the nurse never mention to me to keep a full bladder. Need to do that when I do scanning before preggie (normal checkup).

Hi mummyjoy,

Mine was done at 20wks4days. It's better to do the detailed scan between 20 - 21 wks. My bb weight at that point was 0.4kg. Dun worry about your weight.The gynae was mentioning that my bb is big sized but my tummy is still quite small.

Okie, ladies... me got to drag my hb to buy durian tonite liao... bth...

Hi mmummyjoy,
I went detail scan during my 20wk, BB weight is 306gm.
Dun worry too much. I din put on weight for 2 weeks too... slowly they will come one... in fact,before my 20wk, i lose weight instead of gain... but bb is still growing fine.. so dun worry too much... when you do for detail scan, they can aga-aga the weight of your bb one... rem.. just estimation. not actually the real weight too... as long as bb growing well, active can liao...

mummyjoy, I did detailed scan at wk20. Don't have to keep full bladder now.

Janice, my mum same case. She never touch coffee when preg with me and drank lots of fresh home made soya bean milk, in the end, people always mistook me as malay. then when preg with my brother she drank coffee everyday, pple always think my brother is a Japanese boy. So funny hor?

Wei Guan, how you post that pic here huh? I tried b4 but can't leh.

Arrrggg...how do you gals maintian your weight? I'm increasing like nobody business. I put on close to 2kg last wk. I got a shock of my life! I want durian, but afraid I'll explode leh.

mmummyjoy, gemini,
Try lor. Sometimes i pee few times before going to see gynae also. But my gynae said hor the fuller the bladder, the better wor. Read on internet before that it's because water acts as a medium to enhance a clearer resultant image.

Gemini,
my mum told me if drink too "liang" will have white discharge.

Coral,
same as my colleague leh. She's a Chinese but married Malay. She drank fresh soya milk everyday during her pregnancy as the soyabean seller's shop is very near her house. But ended up her boy also dark.

Ppl tot u Malay? I also not fair. When i permed my hair, ppl said i looked like philipino. When go Thailand, thai ppl tot i'm Thai.

Coral...
Dun envy the little weight increase I have now...
Rem... I started off over-weight liao... so naturally my gain is lesser than you all lor... Basically you all have room for expansion but I cannot affort to expand too much liao.. wait become king kong before giving birth...
But I think har, my next few mths sure increase a lot one lah... now slowly increasing liao... but i try to maintain 2 kg max per mth... try lah har...

Janice, once during school holiday I tempt as receptionist and when the pple saw me reading a chinese novel, they say wow, you so good ah you take Mandarine as 3rd language? I almost faint. When i was a child pple also tot I was a malay gal. Explode first? Later I'll be very depress if I can't slim down.

Vivian, until now I still can't believe that you're overweight b4 preg leh. In you pic, I think you're like me, the big bone, tall and not petite type. But definitely not overweight leh.

gemini, thnks, can see my tummy grow each week, quite obvious and I outgrowth all my clothing liao but I don't seems to put on weight...

Vivian, everyday morning I weigh like same weight so kindz of worry but I can put on 1kg at noon after lunch

Janice, I got the same issue as you. When in Phil they speak local language to me, once on my way back from bangkok, someone also ask if I'm Thai. and my Thai colleague say it's very safe for me to walk around on my own as I look local. I only get fairer last year when i was confined in bed for my last preg for a few months. Now getting slightly more tan again.

mummyjoy, since you tummy growing, then your bb prob also growing. No worries lah.Remember my colleague who put on only 8-10kg for entire preg? Her bb was 3.4kg when delievered. So bb will grow one.

For me, now I hv phobia to step on weighing machine cos i'll faint if I see my weight escalate at such a fast rate. Hb also say i eat too much, later bb no space to grow.

Hi all MTBs,
please be informed that the Cheong Choon Store at Upper Cross Street will be closed from 09 Jun to 13 Jun, Winnie is going for a short holiday. I just went there with my friends during lunch time, bought 2 Fisher Price bouncers, 1 Fisher Price BB Gym, 1 Avent M/breast pump, 1 Avent milk bottle warmer and other BB stuff, very happy that we didn't waste our trip there.

Jenny, thanks for telling me about this place.

Wei Kuan,
Drink more water hor. Weather no good recently.
Maybe you do some pelvix exercise to stengthen up the muscle. I have this leakage of urine sometimes when I sneeze too hard recently. Do 10 times each time lor.

Minibu,
I drink cold water, soft drinks, ice cream as normal.
Milo also got caffine leh. Goodwood Park durian puff pricing ok lah. So fulling leh!

Wendy,
That mum just c-section, of cos milk flow not in yet lah. Milk flow will comes in 3rd to 4th day.

Janice,
Go straight to Goodwood Park Hotel for their durian puff bah, hundred times better than emicakes. And make you return for some more hahaha...
Coffee!!! Me everyday die die must have one cup! In fact, I drink coffee as per normal, even when I was preggie with No. 1. My gal not dark hor kekeke...

Vivian,
Cold drinks --> I'm with you, No need to die hahaha...

mummyjoy, Janice,
2nd trimester no need to have full bladder for scanning le. So detailed scan, no need full bladder.

Littlekid,
You're welcome. Wah, you bought so much ah? I tot this is your 3rd pregnancy, still need to buy so much???

Maclaren Stroller
=================
I'm using one right now for my No. 1. It is a bit heavy (5kg) as compared to my the other stroller (lucky baby, 3.5kg only). It can't stand on its own when closed up. But easy to handle with one hand. Very easy to push around cos the wheels are strong.

Ameda Pump
==========
I got reply from the distributor. He is selling at $300 include delivery to your home. MIM and BFing Organisation are selling $350, not sure got delivery or not. I'm checking with him, how long will the delivery take and when should we make the order if we are due for delivery in Sep/Oct.

However, when I check if there is any further discount for bulk purchase, the distributor said no. Dunno how the other mum was quoted $285 for bulk purchase of min 10 pcs, but delivery is only to 1 location. So, most likely no bulk purchase. Anyway the discount is like $15, and delivery is to one location. I think collection and time wastage to meet up is quite troublesome. So perhaps we just make our own order with the distributor?

Interested mum, your views?

And something to tempt the durian craving mums here... This is the durian puff from Goodwood Park Hotel hahaha....

Am I bad to make your cravings worse???

435644.jpg

Jenny! U so bad one! Make all of us drolling!
kao_drool.gif

Eh... how much is one puff huh? Must buy 6 puffs ah.. got sample to try or not...

U drink what kind of kopi? Nescafe instant one or those from Cafe? Caffeine content will be very different wor..

hi jenny early morning saw ur durian posting......ar....make me drool.............

yesterday went OG, but nothing much loh.....haiz

btw does anyone knows for avent bb milk bottle, i realised they have differientiate newborn, 1 mth, 3mth, 6 mth different types....so many, do we really need to buy so many? they also have 125ml, 260ml....etc duno how to buy cos im a first timer, can anyone advise?

kekeke Janice... One puff is $1.80 (I think) but need to add service charge, GST etc. Round up $2+ per pc. I dunno leh, cos I always buy in pack of $6. Citibank Credit Card got 15% off.

I drink Kopi O from coffeeshop. Die die must be those traditional type. Other coffee I dun take one.

aspialle,
For newborn, the bottle for 125ml is more than enough. But if you want to save cost, then buy the bottle 260ml then no need to upgrade when bb grows older. Buy the newborn teat for newborn bb cos the hole is small. Not necessary to change to teat 2 (for 1 mth) and etc. You can punch the hole yourself.

hi jenny
so i can buy 260ml and new born teat separately, as long as it is avent also, the teat should fit any bottle? normally how many bottles will we need?

thanks for the advice

Jenny, wow, you little devil. Tempt us ah. I want durian I want durian!

Yday I ws at Robinson with hb, in the end bought quite alot of things. Detergen for bottles, detergent for bb clothes, air-filled mat to refresh bb on. cotton buds, wipes, hb die die also want to buy steriliser, in the end allow him to buy the avent one that's for microwave use. Came with 2 bottles, a drinking cup, two pacifier, a bottle brush. I also get a buy of brand new gal gal clothes from colleague. And during lucky draw got a Walt disney milk bottle. Now, my study is filled with bb stuff I buy and received from frens. So happy looking at those bags of things everyday.

Jenny deliberately make us drool one. She knew that many MTBs will login this morning and be "welcomed" by the tempting durian puffs!

Jenny,
u drink the kopi-O from coffeshop ah? Got cheat or not! Some kopitiam sell small cup. Some sell Big cup (i.e. 2 small cups hor!)Hee hee..

Think the durian puff is cheaper than Angie The Choice (~$2.60).

Coral,
wow...looks like u've got enough BB stuff lor. Must control (especially your hubby kekeke..)when u both next go shopping ah.

Selina,
Where r u???? Updates from BB's detailed scan yesterday pleaseeeeeee..

aspialle,
Yes. But I think the 260ml bottle will come with a teat, maybe is size 2. You can replaced the teat for the NB teat and keep size 2 till bb is older. The Avent bottle can only use Avent teats, any size is ok. The size difference is because the hole is slightly bigger for different age (month) bb. How many bottles you need, depends on yourself. Some ppl can do with just 2 bottles. If you are buying the Avent Steriliser and Avent pump, I think it comes with 2 bottle as free gift. So if you dun need more, no need to buy bottle. For me hor, I got 4 125ml bottles and 3 260ml bottles. But never got to use all. Cos I use 3 to 4 bottles, then sterilise them to use for the next batch. But if you intend to store EBM in these bottles, you need q a lot leh. Q ex to use these bottles to keep EBM. If you want to use bottles to keep, you can buy cheaper bottles instead of Avent ones.

coral,
kekeke... I know many of you going to kill me for posting tat pics. Wendy will slaughter me hahaha...
So good, your hb finally agreed to buy bb stuff! But I find the steriliser tat is for microwave use not so good leh.

Janice,
YES!!! I'm the devil for tempting you gals hahaha... I got another pic... wait I go find and post hahahaa...

Oh, you mean the size of the cup ah? I dun care one, as long as I got Kopi O. Some coffeeshop Kopi O not nice to drink one.

Oh ya hor, maybe Goodwood Park durian puff about the same price as Angie the Choice, but hor I dun like Angie the Choice one leh. Goodwood Park one the fillings is so much! I think double Angel the Choice one. Some more I find Angel the Choice durian filling mixed with too much cream.

Jenny, aiya, that sterilier hor, don't think will use lah, just to satisfy his urge to buy lor. He actually wanted to buy those things for drying the bottles, so in the end I compromise and let him buy the microwave steriliser which can also use to store the bottles for drying lor. Think will most likely sterilise the bottles using the traditional method.

Janice, I'm thinking of going to bb hypermart and kingdom on Sat. We still need to buy pram, and carseat. Also thinking abt bb monitor, but might not buy yet cos such things sometimes receive as gift...Think I've got most things liao, 1 big box of bb clothes and some cloth diaper. Only need to buy diaper rash cream, and body lotion and disposable diapers.

Janice,
Forgot to reply your qns. Yes, you can buy one pc of the durian puff from Goodwood Park Hotel. They sell in 1 pc, 6 pc and 10 pc.

Here's another one...
Hazelnut Durian Tart from Goodwood Park Hotel. Paiseh hor, this middle tart kena smashed by me hahaha...

435769.jpg