(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Aspialle, just realise you're the one who said we don't take confinement food right after delivery, is that so? Up to now I always hear that we start confinement food immediately. But to avoid chicken due to our wound.

I think there are some 2nd time experience mummies...

Can share your experience after birth:-

1) how fast we can recover after delivery? I heard 1week for normal birth and 2weeks C-section.

2) Is CL really good?

3) Is it difficult to take care of newborn within the first month? Can we cope without CL but with maid? If per my hb plan, I will have my hb work from hm, CL + maid when I do confinement, can play MJ liao..kekekeke

4) any other consideration...

Oh ya, regarding food to avoid for jaundice, does it include tomato, orange, mango, papaya? I realise I eat a lot of orange and yellow colour food. Looks like gotta change my diet habit.

hi mummyjoy and coral
frm experience of elderly, they told me cannot start taking "pu" immediately after birth, meaning first 10-12 days we eat normal food but cannot drink plain water.After 10-12 days then we eat those "confinement food" those with chicken or alcohol

hi mummyjoy
the first week after bb is born it is best to use pampers first cos bb pee v often, after that can use cloth diaper in the day and pampers at night then no need to use so many pampers(v exp)
thus the machine shld be useful then

1) how fast we can recover after delivery?

depends on individual, for normal delivery if ur skin is gd, the wound may recover abt 1 week later, if not ard 2 weeks

2) Is CL really good?

depends on ur luck whether ur CL is gd. they will relieve ur burden of taking care of bb at night so that u can slp..do household chores and cook for u...not so tiring for u and ur mum/in laws

3) Is it difficult to take care of newborn within the first month? Can we cope without CL but with maid? If per my hb plan, I will have my hb work from hm, CL + maid when I do confinement, can play MJ liao..kekekeke

it depends, not all maid are specialised in taking care of bb, but CL is trained in that..but again it depends on ur CL whether she is really gd

above are just my opinions...im a first time mum...but see frm others ba

mmummjoy,
i would go for option 1.
i've got a maid now and it took her slightly more than a month for her to get used to the way i want things to be done. Unless the maid you get is experienced, otherwise you have to teach her everything from scratch. And not forgetting, if the maid is not suitable, you'll have to send her back and wait for another.

1) how fast we can recover after delivery? I heard 1week for normal birth and 2weeks C-section.
My 1st one was c-section. By 2nd week, you'll feel better but still cannot carry any heavy things. i only started bathing bb on my own in the 4th week cos i couldn't carry the bath tub of water before that.

2) Is CL really good?
My CL was a godsend. i gave birth 1 week b4 CNY so my CL could not come until after the 1st 3 days of CNY. In the 1st week, hubby took leave to cook and take care of bb. We can sense the difference the moment CL comes. At least there's more variety in the food and we picked up a lot of bbcare tips from her.

3) Is it difficult to take care of newborn within the first month? Can we cope without CL but with maid?
Newborn in the 1st week is easy to take care of, they eat and sleep most of the time. but from 2nd week onwards, they become more alert. And then all the other problems set in, eg colic which is very common. or bb may start being more aware of the environment and start crying for dunno what reason especialy in the evening. As new parents, it can be quite unnerving because we dunno what is wrong with bb.
Maid are usually not experienced in bbcare, at most they will just relieve you of all the housework.

wendy,
i'll opt for C section this time round. Just have not decided to undergo GA or epidural c-section.

wei kuan,
my gynae feels that there's a higher risk of uterus tearing if i try for natural birth since it's not 2 yrs yet since the last birth. he leaves the choice to me, but i'll probably go with elective c-section.

hi mummyjoy,

i had c-sec for my 1st child due to breech. I remember that i can walk around the room during the 2nd day with the help of painkillers. I even went to shower..keke.. But very troublesome with all the tubes (for urine, blood) hanging below. Until now i still cant forget the feeling.

By the end of the 1st week, im already going to my friends' place with my hb for MJ sessions. Haha..

2) Is CL really good?
I didnt hire CL lei. Cus dont feel that it's worth it. Instead, we decide to hire a maid.

3) Is it difficult to take care of newborn within the first month? Can we cope without CL but with maid?
My mil & maid took care of bb during the 1st mth while i try to learn.

coral,
fruits will cause jaundice ar?? that time i gave birth, my bb quite high in jaundice. the doctor says it's quite common for chinese due to our diet. eg ginger (my fave food).

babygrace,
you mean it's not safe to try natural birth if it's less den 2yrs since last birth?? Alamak, i just gave birth last oct (c-sec), still hoping i can try natural this time wor. Haiz, seems like it's c-sec for me again.

Oh, can include me in the list as well?

Nick: Ndra
EDD: 20th Oct
Gynae: TBC
Hospital: SGH
Current Pregnancy Status: 2nd bb
#Weeks: 19th+

ndra, I also dunno, that's why asking if anyone nhere knows. Cos I do eat papaya, orange, mango, tomatoes, etc. All these are also orange and yellow in colour, so not sure if anyone knows if they're ok or will cause jaundice...You very good hor, after 1st wk can go for MJ session. Pei fu, pei fu.

ndra,
it depends on your gynae lor. i know of some gynae who still encourages vbac(vaginal birth after caesarian) even when the previous birth is less than 2 yrs. But i think my gynae wants to play it safe. The risk is not high but he was hoping to minimise it and he just lets me know the risk involved. If i still wanna insist on vbac, he'll still do it.

coral,
i ate all those orange and yellow food during my 1st one also. Don't think it's related to jaundice. My boy had slight jaundice (which is very common for chinese babies) and underwent phototherapy during our stay at the hospital but was ok enough to be discharged together with me.

coral same like u, i oso worried if the things i eat will cause jaundice to baby later. i oso heard its v easy 4 chinese babies to get jaundice like wat ndra's mum said.

but i asked gynae, she said no such thing leh.
so i think we hv to gauge our own diet lah. my mum say when when we see the baby being stuck wif tubes and left in the machine 4 jaundice, our hearts will break!
i kena stayed inside for 1 wk when i was borned...

crystallized, I was also a jaundice bb. My mum said I could not rtn hm with her and stayed in hospital too. So don wish my bb suffer same fate leh.
babygrace, at least your boy get to be discharged on time. Else also bu fang xin to go home without him...
beanie, thanks for checking, do let us know.

I do not think papaya etc is the cause of jaundice, cos my frineds eat a lot of papaya too, but baby is fine. I guess maybe it more to premature baby less than 37 weeks

<font color="ff0000">Hi hi ladies..
I had a bad dream last night again..OH MINE..i dreamt that u tripped &amp; fall from my old seating location (coz I just shifted lately)..then I went to the toilet &amp; checked &amp; found some BLOOD..then I become worried &amp; started looking around for toilet..then duno how I end up in Toyko Disneyland Ferriswheel..i just wake up &amp; tell myself, its just a dream &amp; went back to sleep..phew..</font>

hello mommies

checked. my gynae said she dun believe in all these herbal stuff cos normally all these are the ang mos tt believe and use....

but... she does believe in this 'feenugeek' that actually helps in increasing breast milk

Aiyo, Wendy ah, why you keep having nightmare? Do you listen to soothing music before you sleep? Try not to watch tv just befoe sleeping too. Last night I hv a tense dream. Dreamt that hb overseas then I hv to drive and the road full of cars, and I was very tense in dream...But remember these are dreams only.

beanie, what's feenugeek?

Morning Ladies!

Wtan
====
Don't worry k, you and BB will be fine. It's a dream, i think nightmares are common for us. Cos everyday we worry if we eat enough and do enough for BB...

Is there anyone who wanna sign up for Prenatal classes? I signed up for mine with TMC's Parentcraft. They still have available slots for Saturdays and Sundays in June and July from what I last saw. =) Total of 6 classes.

Hi hi aspialle..
I guess shd be ok basince the capacity is 1kg..and also $100..dun think its gd for u to hand-wash the clothes during ur confinement period as well..i thot must immediately start taking the confinement food aft giving birth?

Hi hi coral..
Do hope that u have discuss it out with hubby &amp; be able to make a decision ba..i think if we eat those fruits now &amp; avoid it nearer our EDD shd be able to prevent baby from getting jaundice ba..ya,i told myself it's just a dream la..wont happen one..i guess i remembered one of a friend' dream of her bleeding when she's preggy with her baby #1 ba..thks..thks..will try to relax more..thks..

Hi hi mummyjoy..
Oh, bb can use up to 16+ nappy per day ahh..thats a lot leh..hmm..

Hi hi babygrace..
Icic..at least u hv made ur decision..also easier for u lor..perhaps later the date then u see how it goes aft gynaes advice ba..

Hi hi ndras mum..
I salute u leh..ginger is ur fav food ahh..hmm..so far I hvnt tried chewing on ginger lor..unless accident ate it with food but usually wont like it &amp; will remove it from my food lor..ya, I guess depending on what u eat ba..when my mum had me, she said she ate a lot of papaya..i guess I was ok lor..okok, will update the chart for u shortly..cheers~

Hi hi beanie..
Thks for sharing on the info on rasp
tea..appreciate it..thks!

hi hi Dee Dee..
ya..thks..i will forget abt the dream &amp; be positive..at most, i be extra careful when walking ba..thks..

wendy,
both of us seems to dream alot at night ya... anyway, u know it is a dream so dun worry too much. i had a pretty good dream yesterday. dreamt of me feeding bb n dressing him in 1 of the rompers i bought recently. i think the dream came cos i was very happy last night while watching Da Chang Jin, Caleb kicked me n i cld even see a tiny bump on my big bump...
so fascinating... i was elated... tis morning he kicked a few times again while i on the bus...

jaundice
========
remember just eat everything in moderation. i havent heard of fruits causing jaundice but ginger yes hence i avoid gingery stuff. to counter, take more oat lor... anyway, oat is a healthy food so no harm lor...

today morning my leg cramp again, now change leg...haiz no choice has to bear with it

hi Dee Dee
hw much is the class for hw long?
kkh one is full for weekends

hi wtan
aiyo u keep having nightmare hor...so poor tingy
relaxed...first 10-12 days cannot take chicken and alcohol yet, tat wat my MIL told me

hi coral
Morning! haha so fast tink of driving liao
tis sunday is my ROM 2nd anniversary....hm...tummy so big also duno where to go n celebrate. Yesterday my hb's brother was hospitalized...so sad, his wife also pregnant and delivering in oct as well.Hope he will get well soon

aspialle, early haapy anniversary to you. I think mow tummy still not too big to be inconvenient to go out, so shouldn't be a problem to go out.

Morning ladies...

wtan, dun worry lah... just dreams... dun think abt it... rem... your little prince in there is still growing well...
relaxzz...

aspialle, me same as you... having leg cramps recently too... got to wake my hb up to pull my leg straight in order to stop it... now so scared that later in jun, hb going for in-camp training for 3 weeks and if he got to stay in, then I leg cramp how?? no one in the house liao... so scary...

Last nite, my second SIL bought us to her house (she has a 9mth old gal), and show us some tips and essential things we need to buy to prepare for the arrival of my bb... gave some things to us too... so I am quite happie yesterday lah...opening up all the items and take pixs to put on my blog... my hb just cannot understand why am I so excited... sigh...

I think me and hb liked my SIL's playpen and baby cot at the first sight. Me go research more abt it and share with you gals later...

hihi vivian
my leg cramp i dun dare to wake my hb up cos he goes out at 7am but work till 9.30/10pm then come back...v tired. So i can just tahan until it stops
ur teaching today? u have to stand for long hrs rite? gd to put ur legs in a pail of warm water when ur back home...

mommies

i ask u all hor... do u all suddenly have mood swings now? cos this morning i cried for no apparent and got my hubby very very worried...

also my gynae said i got some water retention alreadi...

yap beanie..i felt tat i got mood swings easily too nowadays.. like yesterday, was talkin to my HB abt some BB matters, felt sad but not angry, but still couldn't control my tears!! HB got very worried too and told me to relax...frankly, i was pretty fine during my 1st trimester, now in my 2nd, emotions seems more uncontrollable... easily get sad and emotional...dun worry, u are not alone here..me too face this problem too..

Hihi aspialle,

I salute you leh.. you can tahan until it stops... I cannot leh.. almost screaming for help liao... and my hb will still be snoring away until I boxed him lor... he will stone stone wake up and suddenly realised what happen and immediately pull my leg straight. Then right after my cramp stops, he will straight away fall back to sleep... it all can happen within just less then 3 mins... so far happened for a few nites liao.. very scared...

Told my gynae before and she told me that as my job is high risk lor... need to stand/walk for long hours so best is to massage your legs esp. calf area and thigh gentlely as often as possible.. drink more milk (more calcium but I dun like leh...) so far, hb only tried massaging once for me...

Some of the nites after reaching home hor after a taxing teaching day, can really predict the leg cramp coming at nite one leh.. super scary...

beanie, you are not alone...I can also sense my mood swing nowadays... I am so surprised myself when I nearly break into tears when I talking to my boss that day in his office... usually i dun lor.. just talking abt 1 student hor... I was trying to keep my tears leh... wah lao... cannot tahan myself...
Think we are more emotional lah... dun worry too much... as long as you try to keep a positive mind and cheerful mood... you will be fine...

hi hi Selina..
ya, i guess it's common for preggy women to have dreams ba..ok, i will remind myself, just a dream only..so far ok lah..not much fear as well..heee..so sweet..Caleb gave u a light bump ahh..very cute hor..ya, i saw it b4..i noticed my boy kinda love "rock" music..esp alot of movements when i was watching Superband..haha..can u go back to ur parents' place to sleep during ur hubby's reservist ba..at least ur dad can cook nice food for u as well as there's someone to take care of u lor..

hi hi aspialle..
ya..thks..now i know it's just a dream..so i went back to sleep..was chatting with one of a friend..then she shared with me her incident during her pregnancy..we both agreed that when u think too much over any incident, then u will have such dreams lor..hehe..oh, think i got to double check with my mum on the confinement food..thks~

hi hi Vivian..
ya..thks..so envy u..last night hubby was telling MIL &amp; FIL abt hands-me down..then MIL say dun want to "ask" from others as she feel that it's a "shameful" thing..like we dun have $ to buy..how come they dun understand getting hands-me down is gd, bcoz can let the baby grow up healthy lor..so sad..

coral, hehehe, just joking cos' 4adults taking care of 1BB, got spare time can play MJ..kekekeke. Me also take oranges &amp; papaya, i think moderate ok lah, don't take everyday and in large portion should be fine right?

MTBs,

If cannot take oranges &amp; papaya, then we have limited fruits to take, I take oranges &amp; papaya, mango, grava, apple, kiwi &amp; pears etc, what other fruits you all take? Can we take dragonfruits huh? Actually I heard too much use of the herbal stuff will also cause jaundice leh, do you all think it is true? Like Ang mo don't take and their BBs seldom have jaundice.

aspialle,

oh, can only take after 10-12days...so should instruct CL to prepare normal food for us after 2 weeks or do you think they know the practice? hahaha, I still blur on the term use, nappy mean cloth diaper and pampers the disposable, am I right?

babygrace,

so lucky of u to meet a good CL, did she do the marketing for you daily or weekly. Any idea how much $ we need to give her for marketing for our meals? Oic..so we better get more rest on 1st week after birth then get ready for the subsequent challenging week to come

ndra,

Welcome
wow, you can move ard after day 2 of C-Sec, your tolerance level must be very high.

Wtan dear,

I sanyang, sanyang you, don't worry abt your dreams....maybe you can try soft music and hot bath/drink to relax yourself or put your pillows out to sun...

mummyjoy,
besides those u mentioned, i also take apple, durians, just had jackfruits (dad bought this morning so allowed me to eat some), banana (but cannot take Del Monte ones cos considered cooling), honeydew, rock melon. the chinese pear or li2 also can (took it last night). sis says strawberries can oso. i dunno able dragonfruit. but my dad says jambu (rose apple i think) cannot take. take orange in moderation cos dad says might cause bb to have phelgm...

hi vivian
sometimes painful until i fall aslp again...hehehe when leg cramp i can't pull my leg straight leh, will freeze there for mins then when its gone the same place is still painful lor
oh ya vivian , dun take oranges...my dad told me will cause cramp too.now i stop eating liao

mummyjoy
nappy is the cloth one.CL should know but no harm to doublecheck with them. Remember if ur doing breastfeeding ask CL if they put alcohol in ur food they have to cook till the alcohol evaporates if not it is not good for bb.
Dun drink wine just like tat without cook , k

Hi wtan, i think you mixed up Selina and me liao... it is my hb who is going reservist... hee... I dun think I can go back my mum's place coz of my dad's condition right now... see how lah...

As for the hands-me down, maybe your MIL and FIL just wanted all new things for their grandson lah... sayang him mah... dun be sad... anyway, I believe when your friends or relatives gave things to you, they will be happy to accept too...

Actually, my SIL is also in a difficult position coz me and my eldest SIL are pregnant ard the same time (she is 3 weeks ahead of me)... so when she wanted to give things away, she got to decide give what to who and still be fair lor... last nite, before she pass us the things, she also make sure we dun tell my eldest SIL coz scared my eldest SIL will think that she show favoritism... a bit pai seh myself.. so I also din take everything, told her to pass some to my eldest SIL instead... esp. both of their bbs are girl and mine is boy... think some stuff are more suitable to her than me lah...

vivian,
just take some clothings lor. especially those tie-front type, more convenient. take only the neutral colours and leave the girl girl colours to your elder SIL lor... share share lah...

wendy,
u can ask from your friends n relatives from your side lor... no need to let your MIL know what... all my hands-me-down r from my side also... anyway, MIL side all dress bb very chi-na beng n lian type so i dun like also...

vivian,beanie,
i think i opposite. i used to get mood swings pre-pregnant when near menstrutral period but not now leh... but i still cry every time i pray at night cos i jus cant help but b thankful to God for tis miracle bb his has blessed us...

aspialle, I think 1st 10-12days can't take chicken &amp; liver as it'll affect wound but we still need to eat confinement food. usually use pork and fish to cook lor.

Selina, yah hor, I took honeydew too but will try to avoid the 'heaty' fruits cos' worry constipation. I also like strawberries but those imported to Sgp not nice one, sour, sour. I don't take jambu so ok.

Aspialle, Thnk you
I want to find a CL that is pro BFing so she will know what to do.

Vivian, better get someone to accompany you cos' we don't know our requirement every week. Been feeling tired and my hb scare I might faint, my mum came to stay with me now cos' my hb outstation.

mummyjoy,
i sometime also got constipation cos i drink very little water (have nv been a water drinker b4 so now abit hard to change the habit but trying) but i still eat 'heaty fruits' cos they are all my favourite. will jus have to take them only occasionally lor... then remind myself to drink a lot of water... i think mango also considered 'heaty fruit'... a fruit juice stall aunty told me papaya milk is very good for breast milk for pg woman but i dun like the milk they use outside so i prefer to make my own papaya smoothie... i will add yogurt too... y dun u make strawberry smoothie yourself then wont b so sour lor... very ez, jus milk, ice cubes, strawberries, all blend together. if u like yogurt, then add some, add bowel removal too...

lunchtime again!!!!
===================
yet another lonely lunchtime. no khaki again... so boring....

Selina, wow, u made me hungry, I am still attending a conference call now, so boring
I lazy to take out my blender..kekeke, actually my kitchen still very new, cooked twice only after shifting in after wedding last year..hehehe

wtan, no worry abt the dream. I dream of blood during my 4th mth. I think it is normal for pregnant to dream a lot cos we have so many things to worry abt. From 1st to 3rd mth, we worry abt miscarriage, from 4th to 7th, we worry the health of baby and sometimes feel gulity of what we done during the 1st stage. from 8th to 9th mth, we worry abt the delivery, will it be smmoth or very painful. I think the dream let us to vent out our worry.

wtan,
I think nightmares quite common leh.. I keep having them also.. Sometimes can even cry in sleep!

beanie,
For my case, moodswings during pregnancy is worse den during pms (thats what my hb told me). Sometimes i get irritated for no reason, sometimes just dont want to do anything. Oh! And the other time i was preg, i even got suspicious of my hb seeing other women when he had guard duty (he's still in ns). We ended up calling each other after every hr throughout the night till he got back in the morning. i think i almost drive him crazy. hahaha.

vivian,
I also dun like to drink milk. So i drink soya bean instead. Maybe u can try that too

mmummjoy,
Dont think my tolerance level is high. i think they the dosage of painkiller they gave is enuf for me to feel nothing! Every few hrs the nurse will check on me and if i felt any pain, can tell them, they will increase dosage or something. So my wound doesnt hurt at all but my breasts hurts alot!