(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

coral,
think u eating all the small meals rite? so its alrite to feel hungry every couple of hrs... in this way u wun gain so easily oso.

jenny,
then u do a marilyn monroe when the wind blows lah! so sexy! hahahahaha
issit marilyn monroe? my memory failing me. hahahahahaha

yah tt time u v culnerable, the CL juz took advantage and bully u! humph!

But doggiemummy, you need to spend 1 time fee for gynae and delivery. Anyway, most of us want at least 2 kid so will have to spend the extra money eventually.

Crystallized, my hb always whisper to bb thru my tummy then laugh cheekily. I always scold him not to tache bb naughty tricks.

jasmine
that part will come later ... hahaa

coral
gynea n delivery is 1 time fee get 2 babies, but the hospital bills for my bleeding etc adds up to be alot too
and now everything need to buy 2 sets

weikuan, er...not so much on the legs but more the lower abs hurts a while
when on sit up position.....my mum say wear smtg that can cover legs to keep warm when sleeping to avoid cramps, do try to see if it helps.

coral, thks, will call my gynae

<font color="aa00aa">Hi hi ladies..
Last night, hubby was reading chinese story to my boy &amp; my boy actually gave him a kick lor..haha..so sweet..hubby is very thrilled lor..haha..i guess boy-boy know that his dad-dad is reading the story for him &amp; listening well..hehe..</font>

Hi hi coral..
I m sure it will be ok for u since its just 1 yr..at least in few mths by the time u get used to the living style with ur in-laws..ur new flat will be readyalso they can help u look aft ur girl also ma..yeah!

Hi hi Selina..
Ya, can tell ur tummy ahh..actually sometimes when we board trains/bus &amp; got pple offer us seats can also brighten up our day hor..heeya, ur tummy will be pointed coz u r carrying a boy ma..esp later stage..even more point lor..thats why ur side not as much fats as compare to ur front..while coral carrying a princess so will be more round when u see her in the front lor..

Hi hi ilovemybabyg..
I m sure ur hubby will understand lor..ya, with the reasoning lor..unless ur MIL insist that she want to do confinement for u..uhmm..then thats hard to comment now lah..but if ur mum is ok..then try to get hubby to give in ba..at least can help to save cost lor..anyway, for 1 mth only ma..so shd be ok lah..for me, when I got preggy..my 3 SILs already supported me gg back to my mums place for the confinement, they gave the reasoning as if next time they are also preggy, they will also want go back to their mums place for the confinement lor..anyway, I can tell u that my MIL doesnt really know how to cook confinement dishes lah..so no choice, she got to let me go back to my mums place for confinement willingly..hehe..i very naughty hor..ops..**wink-wink**..

Hi hi doggiemummy..
Hmm..if really cannot, then maybe u can try to sai-go them to come out on 2nd Sept ba..then at least their 1st mth celebration can be on ur 2nd yr anniversary also not bad leh..hehe..i guess for ur case, bcoz u are carrying twins..so I m sure its easier if u can at least have ur MIL to help u look aft ba..

Hi hi Wei Kuan..
Ya, thats why aft I quarrel with hubby, then I will usually apologize to boy-boy lor..but I m trying to control my temper lah..i very easily irritated one..so hopefully I wont affect him that much..

Hi hi Cherrios..
Finally hear from u..hehe..i guess u must be very busy..r u getting better?do take gd care..coz I know u have a very busy &amp; tough workload..take gd care..ya, I do agree prevention is always better..i guess u &amp; ur MILs relationship shd be gd lah..

Hi hi Jasmine..
Oh, u r also keen in applying for the Tamp BTO ahh..gd, gd, gd, we will keep each other in the loop, k? hehe..i just cant wait for the application to be ready..

Hi hi Jenny..
Nice to hear from u..thks for sharing the price with us..thks!

Hi hi crystallized..
Ya..for the sake of our boys..its surely worth the effort lor..also I saw one of my ex-classmate (in a private course)..she was pretty on the meaty side when she got married..i tell u ahh..u will be surprised that she slimmed down so much aft her 2nd one lor..she told us, she has never been so slimmed b4 leh..so I m sure we will be able to lose the extra pounds &amp; look as stunning than b4 lor..just eat &amp; ask baby to grow well..cheers~

hi hi mummyjoy..
ya, i think better call ur gynae to find out ba..

coral, just called my gynae, he explain it is normal to feel faint and the pressure at lower abs is also ok. Have to take more 'sugar' water but I scare of diaB
He ask me to go visit him tomorrow if don't feel comfortable. Maybe I will stick to my appt next week cos' hb currently outstation

coral,
wah your dinner menu quite elaborate hor. i like mei cai kou rou also but dunno how to cook. my weekday cooking is very simple type cos i still have tinkat dinner but that's for 2 persons. I didn't cancel it even after my maid is here cos she dunno how to cook. So i'll usually prepare soup, steam fish or stir fry some vegetable. Nothing elaborate cos i wanna spend more time with my boy then in the kitchen. Weekends then we cook more elaborate stuff cos hubby is a better cook.
Maybe you can work out some money arrangement with hubby. We usually buy the bulk of the groceries on weekends and hb pays for them. But weekdays i still have to top up on groceries and bread and this come from me. Hubby will transfer some money into my account every now and then but because he's so busy, he usually tells me to do the transfer myself. but knowing me lah, i where got do it lor. So what i do sometimes is to charge my own shopping to his supplementary card lor. haha! but paying for my insurance and parents' allowance, it's still my own money.

crystallized,
Yes i'm a SAHM for now till probably aug. i took 6 mths no pay leave after the birth of my boy to look after him, went back to work for 6 mths and now i'm on another 6 mths of no pay leave again.

selina,
there are several options for childcare, each has it's pros and cons. The gals have given you the price range for a nanny. Getting a maid would cos about $500 per month on salary / levy and maybe another $100-$150 on food and incidentals. The good thing is that a maid can help with the housework as well so you will spend more quality time with baby. but you'll probably need someone to "supervise" the maid while you are at work.
The next alternative would be infantcare. This range from $600 - $1000 depending on where you place the bb. The good thing is that there is more social interaction for bb and caregivers are experienced. The down side is that bb is prone to falling sick cos of the close proximity to each other. And also infantcare closes at 7pm, more inflexible if you've got to work late.
Of course nothing beats looking after the child yourself if you are willing to sacrifice the loss of income and freedom. I've tried my boy on infantcare and it didn't work for us so i'm now looking after him myself. It's not an easy job cos my boy is very active and sleeps very little. When he was younger, everytime when he naps, it'll be a mad rush for me to clean the house and have my meals before he wakes up again cos he wants to be carried all the time. Plus my hubby is very busy at work and travels quite frequently. Very siong ah, but it's a good way to lose weight. haha!

MOTHERCARE SALE
Can't remember who was asking about the mothercare sale during GSS. This is what i received:
Join us at Mothercare to participate in the 2006 Great Singapore Sale starting on Wednesday 24th May 2006.

The following discounts are offered to you:

-30% on early Spring/Summer 2006 Mothercare fashions, ie. the white-tagged fashion items.
-50% on Autumn/Winter 2005 Mothercare kid/baby fashions.
-up to 70% on Autumn/winter 2005 Mothercare maternity fashions.
And much more savings.
Don't miss out on this event whilst stock last

Jasmine,
I also dunno, but I realised that. Some more last time I worked in childcare before. My cousin is working in MMI too. She ever told me never never put my gal there cos of some reasons. Personally, i know how they operate, so I dun like the idea to place my gal in infant/child care.

doggiemummy,
Wah, that CL really has the cheeks ah!!! She thinks she pays for the buffet???? PUI
Never intro such CL to others. Ban them! Ppl asked for my 1st CL contact, I told them, dun ever hire her. Her services sucks!
How come your sis let the CL have the access to the keys? How come she didn't chase them out. Yucks!!! Your poor sis!!!

crystallized,
wah liew... pls lah, if wind blows, then is a king kong with the dress exposed!

doggiemummy,
You can't expect for full attendance one lah. If those who wants to come, they will come no matter what. Dun get headache over such thing. Is the sincerely that counts.

coral
hehehe, ur hb's tactics sounds v much like mine!

doggiemummy
cheer up!
we all dun wan things to happen this way oso. juz cant b helped. as long as u &amp; babies r ok, dun think abt it liao, though i noe the bills can really make u bleed.

wendy,
yah a mummy's determination can be great! trs gd news 4 us!

bbgracem
ur company quite flexible 2 let u take no pay leave ah. tts gd.
now u take 6 mths no pay leave 2 spend time wif ur son so as not to neglect him? will u b entitled 4 the ML then?

wah how to buy nursing bras at mothercare now> size haven cfm yet leh... gosh... how ah?
btw usually bursing bras got disc anot? i nvr shop there, dunno wats it like.

jenny,
u so funny!!!!!

Oh by the way, the venue hor, get one that suits you more. See, you gotta bring along bb stuff if is not at your place. Some more you need to bring double stuff. After the event, sure receive gifts that need to bring home. You will have lots of stuff to carry.
For me, I did it at the west cos my parents' relatives all at the west, and 99% they will turn up. My in laws stay in north (me too). But becos most guests stay at west, I die die put the venue at the west even though my in laws are not happy.

doggiemummy,
i agree wif jenny. u cant help it wif attendance one. juz like wedding. no matter how well u planned, if the person dun wan to turn up, he still wun come. anyway i rather the person whom is not sincere to bless us &amp; baby, dun come. dun come so unwillingly and then so unhappy.

jenny
They are my sisters mah, well i helped them during their wedding what so I excepted the same lor, I was complaining to hubby about his side before the wedding then sikali his side full attendance. Then i zip my mouth ever since.

I told mum why not I hold the celebration at my current flat at least nearer a bit, but made no sense since babies stuff are all at mil's place. Hubby say let the distance determine who are really sincere and who are not. I asked mum if she will come, she replied can she not come :p

crystallized
the bills are making hubby feel the pain not me ... hahaa

jenny,
hehehe u so defiant. i was thinking if we were to hv a invitation card 4 bb's 1st mth, can word nicely we rather hv cash &amp; vouchers instead of gifts? coz most gifts most prob wun b useful.
esp clothes.

doggiemummy
jenny is ur "jun shi" hehehe

hi hi babygrace..
wow..thks for sharing with ur experience..it's indeed very valuable lor..so i think most likely aft ur #2 is out..u will get to extend ur no-pay leave, right?i guess u shd hv no issue ba..ur boss is really understanding leh..how do u get to have someone to cover u during ur absence?

hi hi doggiemummy..
thks for sharing abt the link for the mothercare sale..will go &amp; check it out..thks..thks..as for the 1st mth celebration..unless u have decide to hold it at ur side or somewhere more centralised..but like what the rest shared..it's hard to please the whole world..but i doubt u will have time to do RSVP as well..dun think so much...i m sure the turnout will be very gd for u..coz u r having twins leh..hehe..so sweet..

crystallized
haha ya lor experienced jun shi some more... anyway my mum knows i so buay song of the wedding attendance till now. Then that day I was at mum's house when 1 of my sis called. Then i purposely ask mum to ask her when is the exam, in case noone come for babies 1st month... :p
Then mum say just hold it on the saturday before the actual day, at which ever location my mil, and those who wants to come will come

crystallized,
my company is quite pro-family. i was ready to resign after working for 6 mths and having a difficult time trying to juggle the demands of my work and a baby if no pay leave is not allowed. But in the end, my boss asked me to take a break 1st to settle everything. who knows, this #2 decides to come along. i'll probably be going back to work in aug, boss ask me to go back if i'm up to it. So i'll get my ML

doggiemummy,
Never expect to get the same returns lor. So what if you help them during their wedding. You know, some ppl are like that, expect ppl to help them but will not help ppl. Distance shouldn't be the main issue.
I dunno for some ppl. In laws side will insist to hold the event at their place cos they are the paternal grandparents. You may like to discuss with your in laws and hb. I'm sure your parents will understand.

crystallized,
I agreed but dun ask me how to indicate in the invitation card hor kekeke... For me, I told my friends and colleagues directly. Tell one who will be doing the collections (especially for colleagues). For relatives, a bit hard to open the mouth lor. Cos like begging for $ from elders like that. But my relatives all give ang baos one, no gifts.

Oh ya my wedding, that i was talking about is the tea session at my mum's place, which is at the East area too!! Dun know if mil will "look down on me" if no one turns up ... hahaa

Jenny
Think will hold it at mil's place. Got maid there to clean up after everything and no need to shift all the babies stuff here and there. The baby cots especially...

doggiemummy,
u meant ur own sis din come 4 ur wedding ah? it was so chaotic 4 mine, i dun even noe who din come! anyway it was full hse, so no time to bother too.

yah those tt wan to come will come. dun think too much.
i nvr bother abt pple not turning up. juz a bunch of insincere pple tt alrdy tells me how they feel abt coming wif their absence, so dun bother lah!

bbgrace,
hard to get such pro-family companies nowadays leh. u hv a nice boss too.

doggiemummy,
I think my in laws a bit buay song with me one lah. Cos I dun like to hold event at my place (got to clean like mad after that!!!). If I were to hold it at my in laws place, parking is a big prob. They stay at landed property, where got big carpark space? 2ndly, my MIL good life, no do housework. The house like kampong like that, I never like to go back, which guest wanna go? 3rdly, not near MRT, still gotta take shuttle bus and walk a distance in, for those w/o car is very troublesome. 4thly, my MIL is super pantang person, if hold at her place, she will want me to do this do that. 5thly, in laws not close to their relatives, so not much attendance from their side. My parents relatives will all turn up, sekali become female side event, more ugly and dun look good.
So what I did was, I got my god bro to book the function room at his condo, and held all events (my gal full mth, 1st birthday etc) at the function room. All I did was to decorate the place and bring down all my stuff and order catering. After that, clean up the place and off we go. I know my in laws complained to travel from north to west all the way, and they dunno the way well. What I did was "call for cab, I paid" and this shut off my MIL's mouth.

doggiemummy,
Since got maid to help to clean up, then hold at your MIL's place lah. Afterall, you dun need to hurry to places and carry stuff here and there, with 2 babies!

Like what crystallized said, dun bother who got come or not. Dun get angry or bother over such issue. It is supposed to be a happy event for you and your family. **Hei Hei, next time you also dun turn up for those who din come one lor hahahha** (joking ah)

crystallized
ya my own sister, brother in law and niece and nephew didnot come for my wedding... every sisters' family have absentees lor.
Only 1 dear sister came to see me off, cos her son open the car door for hubby. And she is staying in Woodlands, with a less than 1 year old baby. The rest staying in the East didnt appear, until near lunch time, and kept chasing me to get home faster for the tea ceremony.

Mum commented then, 1/2 day less of revision will not make them fail exam, but "better" let them study, in case they really fail and i get the blame.

Dun talk about the wedding thingy. Just the full mth celebrations alone is headache.

See ah, I held the full mth at my god bro's condo function room. So I just brought along bb stuff, order the full mth goodie bags and catering for buffet to be sent directly to the venue. My MIL wanted me to bring bb back to her place to pray pray (to both ancestor and god). Then got timing to pray one hor. Thereafter, she told me to bring my gal back to my mum place to pray also. In fact, she told me to bring all the full mth goodie bags to her place to pray. I told her, "NO. You want to pray, I buy you another boxes. Those are for guests, not for you to pray". Si bei sianz with such "rules" lor. She already did this to me and hb during our "guo da li" for our wedding. Imagine few hundreds boxes. Want my hb to die from carrying is it????!!!

doggiemummy,
ya lor, if can do well in exams, 1/2 day less of revision still will do well one. I dun believe the kids really sit there and study wholeheartfully for 1/2 day...

Jenny
MIL staying at landed property too ...
so ur 3rd concerns applies to me too. And my flat is near my in laws' relatives who are staying in Dover and Holland V. They can even walk to my house.

Wow, doggiemummy, you worry abt 1st mth celebration so soon?! But it's funny if your relative don turn up just bcos you stay far. I'll turn no matter how far lor, cos Spore is so small, not as if we got to travel to another state or country. come to think of it, I dont look forward to holding 1st mth celebration at inlaws place cos it's not my own place and I feel quite cramp there.

Jenny, you so cute, gorilla under dress. Haha!

Wtan, hb and i visit the site of our new house weekly. I can tell he also wish we'll move out of his parents place asap. Cos can't imagine moving fm a 3 bedroom house to share amy inlaws place. Now, I'm sourcing for warehouse to keep my stuff.

Thanks for info on mother care. I'm going kk on 24 may, so can go check out the sales.

baby grace, i also hv access to hb's account, but like you I'll never transfer money out. I even leave the sub-card he gave me at hm cos I'll not charge to his card. Ya, hb also suggest we buy our things on wkend so he can pay. Cos when he ask how much he should give me I also hv no idea. Your company very good hor? Let you take so many mths no pay leave. I wanted to take one mth my boss also dont allow so I had to quit.

Jenny
your gal's 1st month celebration is on the actual day ah?? I will do mine earlier on a Saturday lor, if not very rush. Ya was told that on the actual day need to go praying at both families, and need to go back to the actual flat too (for my case) to intro the flat to babies then they know the place they are staying is their granny's place.

doggiemummy,
No, is before the actual full mth. If I remember correctly, actual day is wed, so I did it on Sun. I can't hold on Sat, cos relatives working. Sun afternoon is better cos relatives need to go church on Sun morning.

carol
1 of my sis say my flat at dover is like atap house built on a hill top!! so angry when mum question me why i buy a flat, at such a high cost and at such a ulu location!! Then i told mum, it's sis staying on a hill top (she staying at pasir ris) hahaaa

hi hi coral..
hmm..ya, actually it's always nice to be able to have ur own lovenest lor..esp when it's u, hb &amp; girl girl in the same lovenest..i m sure the feeling will be diff lor..for me, got to endure for a few more yrs..unless i gave up the idea of applying for the Tamp BTO project (to be ready by 2009)..but i was thinking...since i already waited from Oct 05 till now..just wait another few more mths for the application also not very bad lah..just hope i will get a unit there ba..

hi hi doggiemummy..
oh, i think i m not very sure abt the procedures on the 1st full mth for baby leh..got to go both side &amp; pray ahh..ohh..okok..thks for sharing ahh..

hi hi Jenny..
hmm..i guess as long as u dun have to move so much things here &amp; there..then i m sure will be ok lor..coz can tell that ur in-law's side not really that accessible leh...so for ur #2, maybe u can consider gg back to ur god-bro's place as well..so all the relatives or friends will know where is the place to be held the 1st full mth celebration lor..same place easier to search also..hehe..

Jenny, I think your MIL and mine same same. Mine also very supersitious. Everything must ask the God first. Everything we do must pick date, pick time. I kena big big during wedding until I wanted to call it off. I cried almost daily b4 wedding cos she keep calling with new rules, etc. Now we moving to her house she also must pick date. So hb and I hv to act moving over on date she pick then move in later at a date we're happy with.

doggiemummy,
wat mistake?

wendy,
100% sure is my god bro place lor. Near my parents place and my parents relatives. In fact, we hold all events there.

hi coral
u got recipe of mei cai gou rou? Now i v free so looking thru all the cook books, may do baking to pas time...

hihi babygrace
so ur taking care of him urself full time? u do marketing once a week or daily? cos if u go out then nobody looking after him.Needs a lot of patience hor, admire ur courage

coral,
same same lor!!! Can't stand my MIL. Lucky my FIL not like that. I make it very clearly to my hb I won't listen to those nonsense of his mum. HB knows me, so he won't force me to listen. In fact, he also feels his mum overboard.

doggiemummy, your sis quite mean leh. My bro also ask me why spend so much $ to buy a house in the east. he say not even in town so ex. But at least I know he more heartache for me than being mean. Have to intro bb to their own house ah? then do I hv to bring bb to construction site so that bb will want to move back home when the house is ready? I don't want bb to stick to inlaws' place.

Jenny, you sure know how to handle you MIL. Must learn a few tricks from you.

hey coral my MIL also leh, when we move to our flat, needs the date, time and u know wat, she brought the whole "lu" with burning charcoal to boil kettle of water outside the door...have to go in by duno left or right leg....i personally not bantang one loh

hi hi Jenny..
oic..then better lor..can tell all relatives &amp; friends..same place..same place..hehe..better also..i m sure this time round..ur girl will be more "alert" to "cheong" to the swimming pool area..haha..

i dread baby's full mth celebration leh. i rather do w/o it. but its not possible coz its 1st grandchild. i wun wan to hv it at our own plc. all the mess created... eeee...
still considering can loan which plc lor.

aspialle, I'm a very free style person, most time I cook using intuition. Many times I cook things that I never ate or cooked b4 and hb or inlaws ask me where I learn I say i imagine the taste lor. If you watch Jewel of the Palace, I think I'm like hoe Chang Jin teacher describ her, we have the ability to imagine taste. hehehe. For mei cai kou rou, I'll fry the meat in a dry pan with some crushed garlic and la4 jiao1 gan1 to rid it of smell, then add into pot with mei cai, water and some sugar. Bring to boil then simmer in low heat for the full flavour of mei cai and kou rou. I add in the la jiao gan too to give it a spicy taste. hehe, this one my own imagined recipe. Yday my beef stew also my imagined recipe, but turned out well. My mum let me start cooking since 8-9yr old, so I guess I learn her cooking by heart now just innovate. I can't bake cos my oven spoilt, never repair since moving house. Now hungry again going to make my ham, cheese, &amp; semi-dried tomato sandwich.

wow! back from lunch n so many posting liao.

crystallized,
yes. finally i'm "obviously" pregnant. i kinda felt good when offered seats...
i know where the fats goes. my arms n thighs n tummy lor... not forgetting my boops...

aspialle,
i'm 20wks2days. yah. tt's y i keep trying to prove to hb tt more worthwhile for me not to work if he wants to buy car.

babysitting
===========
tks everyone for the precious advice n rates. will seriously consider each pros and cons. ***Sigh***

bb full month
=============
will be looking for an outside venue to hold the celebration. 1stly, no need to clean after the event, 2ndly find somewhere central so nobody buay song anybody.