(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Crystallized,
K was never on my bed until his hospitalisation episode. Think that time we were just to traumatised and ended up putting him on our bed to monitor him and that's it.

Shirley,
For K last time, I weaned his pacifier off slowly. He only takes his pacifier when he sleeps, so, it started with me playing with him.... now you have it in your mouth, now you don't have it. Then slowly lengthen the time when the pacifier disappear out of sight and not returning to him unless he is in desperate search for it. He is somehow distracted enough and also tired enough and kind of drift off to sleep eventually without it. I think that went on for a week or 2 before I totally weaned off the night-time pacifier. He was about 18 months old then.

Jenny,
There was one stage K played along with us when his daddy told him he can only sleep in our room on alternate nights. The rest of the time he had to sleep in his own room. That went on for one week only.... and when he was in his own room, he woke up to call for me so many times in a night! I am willing to stick out with that until he can sleep through but the following week, he ran back to our room. :S

I guess it is different in our case lah. We bring both kids home every night and really try to spend quality time with them during that short period of time before they are packed to bed. Can see they are excited to spend time with us also. Even baby K who cannot talk yet can show excitment through body language.

Dor,
Hope D will be ok tomorrow when he wakes up and all will be fine once more

Pups
OIC.... i can understd coz u wanna comfort him. So its hard to shift the mister outta ur bed now ah? heheehe...
Bring a mattress and out next to ur bed? Slowly shift him out?

Dor
Seems like D is hvg LS. R will complain tt his backside is painful when he wants to poo. Sometimes he will directly tell us he wants to poo though. Perhaps let him take a light diet tdy?

jenny, pup and dor

thanks for sharing. yesterday tried to put lele in her bed without her pacifier. she asked for it but i told her tutu spoiled, throw away in dustbin. she seems ok and say bye bye to me. but after i left the room for 10min, she started crying and chanting 4 her tutu. so i went in, she was lying down and her whole face streaked with tears so me bu ren xin, gave her the tutu. think i will start with the day nap. and slowly transit to night w/o pacifier.

Crystallized,
Aiya dun say Reubern lah, Jaslyn sometimes also like this. Told her to clean herself with papers after pee, but she sometimes like yi shi yi shi clean only.
I'm wondering if the younger one always harder to teach...

Doreen,
Do take note of Damien. My gals at first also complained stomachache wanna poo, poo few times yet they were ok, until a day later, the vomit and fever came in.
Touch wood but do take extra care in case is stomach flu.

Pups,
That's why I dun allow the gals to co-sleep with us on our bed. Cos that is really hard to "get rid" of them.
Co-sleep in same room on mattress is fine with me, but it will takes some effort to transfer them to their rooms (either is very young time or until very big time). I really applaud those who can start since infant time (like Shirley's kids), but I'm lazy to wake up to go to the other room to check lor and partly bu fang xin.
Have you tried co-sleep with Kaelen in his room? Or at times, let him fall asleep in your room then carry him over?
For us, we have quite a long time interacting in the car haha, the journey and jam from my mum place back home.

Shirley,
Try with daytime first. You can't just stop giving her for the night. Very ke lian de.
Do it slowly, usually will be off within a week if it goes well. Good luck!

jenny

actually i was forced by circumstances. my master bed room is simply too small to put a baby cot or extra mattress. our 2 dogs sleep with us since they are young and i find very cruel to chase them out. i dont like cosleep on the bed as i am a light sleeper and i cant sleep well if the baby is in between. so all the circumstances made me train both zac and lele to sleep alone since infant. of cos when they are new born, there bound to be one or two times when i am too tired to put him/her back to the room and he/her ended up in between. but their sleeping posture is terrible and we are on queen size bed so co sleeping on the same bed is out of question for me.

Crystallized,
Oh yes, the young master is still quite a fixture on our bed. No space next to our bed cos of the layout of the room.

Jenny,
I know I know. But like I said (many times in fact) it wasn't "by choice" in a sense that K landed on our bed. Actually K started off in his own room since he was born and I diligently go over and pat him back to sleep whenever he woke up last time. That lasted for 2 years. Yes yes... co-sleeping in his room, carry him over after he has fallen asleep, you name it, we have tried it. sigh. I am even prepared to keep waking up to go over and comfort him during the transition period when he returns back to his own room. That happened for a grand one week before he decided he still wants daddy mummy's bed. I also want to cry already.

Anyway, baby K is in her own room from day 1 and we hope to boot her brother out of our room before she wants a share of our bed also! Pray hard we can be successful.... Hope that K will surprise us one day.

Sigh.... today went to PD liao cos still keep going toilet to LS but this morn started at 6.30am. But then other than that he still active. Even the clinic nurse was like "Dun look like sick leh". Then Pd say dun give him milk for 2-3 days......jialat.... hw can.

Jenny
D 2nd day liao eating wise still okie n keep asking to eat snacks. So touch wood lah its jus Ls cos he dun complain of tummy pain jus say want to Poop poop n go toilet nia.

Shirley
I remember Zac u also started with daytime nap 1st right??
Ember doesn't take pacifier at all liao so I jus left her old pacifiers where she left them after playing. But now this girl teethin she will jus pickup pacifier n eat!!! Wah piang eeh so dirty lor.

Sleeping on their own
======================
due to space constraints, caleb been sleeping in the same room wif us since birth but on separate beds. however, recently he likes to climb over in the middle of the nite to slp wif us. will carry him back to his mattress & he will climb over again & again & again even to the extent of sleeping at our foot area just so he can slp on our bed. anyway, i think if we have spare room, he shld be ready to sleep on his own cos he always wanted a racing car bed for himself & i promised to buy for him but only if he promised to sleep on his own.

Nap
===
as much as i prefer morning session, next year i wont have a choice but to let caleb take on afternoon session as that's the only avail slot at maris stella. will see how it goes as we go along. i would still want him to nap in the afternoon, at least 1 hr, so now we are starting to shorten his nap time by waking him up. hopefully by next yr it will get better so he can nap awhile in the afternoon but still able to slp early at night.

Pacifier
========
caleb strives well under peer pressure & praises so we have worked on that to encourage him to do away with his pacifier. we took the opp that bro's new born last aug & told him he now big gor gor & tutu give didi liao. sometimes he will ask for it then we will repeat ourselves. everytime he give us the answer himself, we will praise him & he gets really proud of himself.

we slowly reduce his usage of pacifier to just nap & sleep time, then slowly to bedtime at night only then proceed along.

toilet training
===============
we did the same via peer pressure & praises. however, we use my nephew as his source of pressure by telling him gor gor big boy not wearing diaper at night. after a while, he started telling us he doesnt wanna wear to sleep despite his diaper heavily full every morning. however, we respected his decision & allowed him to go without diaper but with regular & constant reminder that as gor gor he cannot wet his pants at night & need to wake up to pee himself. initially he cant wake up & mishap happens like every night but i was willing to rough it out with him. i will wake him up every 2 hrs at the start then later stretch to 3hrly then later as & when i can wake up myself. b4 he sleep every night, we will remind him that he cannot wet himself & if he did, he will really cry badly cos think he feels embarrased & bad about it. though i still have to wake him up to pee b4 i go to bed myself, the results have been good cos the bed wetting has reduced tremendously. a long drawn process but i am really happy of the results. now we are working on weaning him off his bolster.

taking med
==========
so far, we have been fortunate on this. only on couple of occasion it will be terrible. now is easier. he will come running for it. he will even pretend to cough & tell us he is sick, open the fridge & go select the med he wanna take. BTH. sometime he will even take out the bottles & open them. so that results in scolding & pep talk to remind him he cannot do it. now he doesnt do that but will still select the med he likes to take.

Selina
Yah boy dunno what is it with taking meds n toddlers. D also loves to take meds. If he needs to take meds he will chiong to take. Too fast for us to prepare his meds.
Until once he kanna hives n had to take the bad smelling Zyrtec. He has actually been saying he also wanna take meds when E takes the zyrtec everynight cos of her hives problem. But when he had to take it he really so sacred of the meds cos it is really very smelly.
Even now he will tell me he wants to take meds but dun want the rash meds.....haha

Oh yah n cos he diarrhoea right? Gotta take smecta which is not good to take.........he loves it...says hmmm very nice...
OMG I wanna puke man. Cos Pd also say not nice to take that med.....hahaha

pups,
then you just gonna wait till Kaelen is ready for his own room. See if mei mei settles well in her room, then can tell Kaelen how brave mei mei is. However the peer pressure doesn't work on all kids (eg. Jaslyn) Obvious he is lacking the sense of security now, so now point to move him now.

Selina,
the night toilet training was exactly how I did for Jolene (wake her up for toilet visits). But for Jolene, I did that only when I observed she didn't wet the diaper for 2mths. Jolene is those who will feels pai seh with the peer pressure method, so it's easier to wean off stuff on her, but this method doesn't work for Jaslyn.
Just curious, why do you want to wean Caleb off bolster?

Doreen,
Try to reduce the milk intake, make little for Damien. Doctor also told me not to give milk for 2-3 days. But I still give, but very little diluted milk and no fresh milk for few days.

jenny, agree. caleb also is the type that will be embarrassed one. so it works well with peer pressure but he dont take direct pressure very well so we need to add on the praise part. for him think respecting his decision not to wear was something he appreciated cos he really make conscious effort to not wet his bed at night that's y he cries whenever he does wet himself.

y bolster. cos he is super attached to his bolster. i dont wanna be travelling around with his bolster & he dig & dig until the bolster from long to now very short. anyway that was a inherited one from nephew to niece then to him so we are trying to tell him he now needs to pass on bobo to didi (my bro's son).

dor, caleb takes zyrtec for flu since young. yes agree that it doesnt seem to taste nice but he will still take reluctantly. i have probs when he LS cos he doesnt like sweet stuff so the glucose strip is the only difficult one to feed him. so far, the few times he LS, we give that a miss cos no way I can get it down his throat.

oh yes. 1 thing about caleb is no surprises. he wldnt accept sudden things. so everything has to be pre-empted & prepare him mentally. like school bus for next year, we are already talking to him everyday on this & encouraging him hoping he will cope better when the time comes for him to be on the bus himself.

Selina,
OIC, now I know why you wanna wean off. You mean Caleb has been using the same bolster since young? In order to avoid kids to grow attached to the same pillow/bolster, we actually change quite frequent, so don't have their "smell". Plus I don't have the habit to bring their pillows/bolsters overseas, so the gals have to use whatever is in the hotel room.
I think Caleb is the same as Jolene leh. We also pre-prepare her and tell her this and that. So when the actual day comes, she will just follow instructions. For sch bus, you can get some vcds on sch bus topic. You can get Richard Scarry ABC vcd to show Caleb. It's about the kiddos (animals) going to sch by bus. While he watches, you can tell him about he will be like these kiddos, take the sch bus to sch etc.
https://www.popular.com.sg/jsp/product/product_detail.jsp?vca001=1680&vpd001=30898

Jenny
I waiting to see if D can tong without milk anot. If cannot then I will give him dilited lor. But so far last night he keep reminding himself he cannot drink milk......hehe
We bought the soy milk incase liao n told him if he really want milk we give him different kind of milk. N this morn he ask for milk I make the soy milk for him he drink quietly.

Selina
I jus realise there r different kinds of Zyrtec. E's pd gives her the zyrtec in drops which is super smelly but still E still quite okie when I make her eat(maybe cos only 7 drops) but other meds no matter hw sweet she will cry, scream, struggle, spit.
But now brought her to a pd with derma recently n she gave her another zyrtec which is nice smelling. N so far *touchwood* dunno is it used to taking med everyday, she will take it.

jenny, since young we dont give him the same bobo but he just kinda get stuck to this particular one cos think is hands-me-down so the material is more comfy. for him, it is not the smell. it is the shiok-ness in digging it. dunno how but he just enjoying digging it.

tks for the recommendation on the vcds. hope i dun have to get there yet.

Jenny,
Yes. That's the uniform for Kindergolf but we hardly let him wear the pants cos too oversize lah. That's the smallest size they have. But we reckon he will eventually grow big enough to fit the pants nicely. The golf shoes are rented though.

selina
wow you mean caleb can follow instruction so well? im impressed! he must be the youngest in class?does he enjoy the class?

am thinking of letting cy pick up something new... wondering if i should just stop his swimming or music and try something new... are the classes in kindergolf very structured? teacher student ratio? do they ahve children who cannot sit still (or refuse to follow instructions)? what do they do? ask them to drop outta class?

Lilboymum, no Caleb is not the youngest in class. There are younger children in Kindergolf depending on the program. Y do you wanna stop CY's swimming? You can still continue with swimming while letting him try something new. Anyway they teaches different skill sets.

I dont research very much into the things i let caleb try. More is hear-say, word-of-mouth, or purely impromptu. i am just too lazy for research & comparison. i would think the classes are structured since they have specific things they do every week which are the same. teacher student ratio is depending on centre. i havent heard of any kid asked to drop out so i cannot comment on that.

caleb has always been pretty good at taking instructions & that is why we decided to start him. my main reason is to help him focus & concentrate cos he cannot really do so at home due to the distraction of TV. But am pleasantly surprised & glad he has gone this far. He has a new classmate who is much younger & this boy is now taking caleb as his buddy. he does whatever caleb does. so sometimes, peer pressure helps.

oh 1 more thing to add, we go by his interests too. he has always enjoyed watching golf & tennis with his papa hence it is not difficult to start him with golf.

he is definitely not a swimmer type so we have yet to start him swimming formally. more on a casual basis on & off.

lilboymum,
I agreed with Selina, why do you want to stop CY for his swimming? I always feel swimming is good and must start while young cos the older one is, the more fear for water. I wanna to sign up Jaslyn for swimming but the coach said she's not ready. I'm going to let her go for another trial class again maybe in another 2 more mths. Hopefully by then, she's ok. And remember all guys must know how to swim if not they will have a tough time during their NS... in another 15 years more. Erm... 15 years is not very long LOL!!

Selina,
wow still has younger classmate, so surprise! I always tot older kids like K2 and above will go for golf... so I'm wrong!

Jenny,
The program that Caleb is on is the Chip & Putt which is for young tods like himself. When he 1st joined, he was the youngest in class but I know of 18 mth joining as well.

Oh, 2 sat or so ago, HB brought caleb swimming while i went for facial. When i returned, Caleb could blow bubble in the water. Was so surprised he cld do that cos hoaxing him into the water usually takes a lot of effort & time. think slowly he will pick up ba.

selina
cy is ok with swimming but my concern is his music class coz he just completed his year in baby music and i dont wan to start him on any instruments yet (supposed to start on keyboard or violin)... i think it is too early to start him on an instrument. but the next class is pretty much like the present one he is in, though they do teach more advanced skills. dun wan him to be bored (Which i suspect he is already)

then the other concern is to pull him outta music and put him into another sport...but it'll be too...sporty???

as for swimming i guess at this age jsut as long as they arent afraid of water it's quite ok... cy started really young so he can paddle a bit,swim a bit, dive a bit to retrieve objects etc...but no he is not the swimming kind. in fact we started him coz we knew he is not the swimming kind and kinda scaredy cat, so we wanted to start him early to prevent tears and such later on...

Selina,
It's a good start for Caleb. Hopefully his fear for water will go away soon.
Jaslyn is ok with us when we bring her to swimming pool but whenever I asked her if wanna learn swimming from uncle, she would say no. Sometimes she will say yes, so I dunno she wants or doesn't want. My guess is, the water at sch is too deep, so she has no confident. Or maybe we should bring her to adult pool? But the prob is, those lifeguard will not allow leh. The most allow kids to 1m depth only.

lilboymum,
I agreed swimming needs to start early to avoid tears and fuss. It's always easier to start young. That's the reason why I wanna my gals to learn while young, 2ndly I feel it is a survival skill.
I regret didn't start young, so I fear water and chicken feet to go for swimming class now!
Few years back, hb tried to teach me, but always got "scolded" by me cos I dun dare to go under water, now he and my bro trying to persuade me to go swimming class but I chicken feet hahaha.. but erm better than my friend who doesn't even dare to jump into water hee hee hee...

Jenny
Dun think his fear is gone cos just yesterday we asked him if he wanna go swimming but he said no cos he will fall into the water. he still remembers the last incident where he fell into the water 3 times while trying to get out himself while papa stand there & look only lor. HB then asked him who helped him later, he said MUMMY! i wasnt even there lor cos i was overseas. so i guess will take some time for him to get out of his fear.

Selina,
not be so fast, it took Jaslyn quite some time before she's willing to go into water too. At least is a good start. I've been wanted to bring the gals to swimming pool but it just kept raining!! **argh**

Sigh............you gals talk abt fear hor......
Damien got a really big fear leh n its fear of HEIGHTS!!!
So sianz lor ever since he climbed up the playground 1 at the grassroot club during Lele's bday that time, he developed a fear of heights.
Now even not very high he say wanna slide, go up liao he will suddenly change his mind n panic n jus sit there dun move 1 lor......sigh sigh sigh

Really dunno hw to help him overcome. Must get my hubby to spare time out so I can try to help settle D without Ember in the way.

Eh no one brought ur tods to the dentist so far???

Dor,
U need to slowly introduce the slides to D again. Start the low ones 1st.
I know the long slide at grassroots club! We were there for a party 2 wks ago and R oso cried when he was up there. In the end, hb had to quickly go in and rescue him. But thankfully aft a while, he dared to slide down fr there.

crystallized,
so far, my gals never been to dentist.
My friend said she paid near to $200 to kidsdentist.

Doreen,
Jaslyn took a long period to overcome the height/slide. How long I forgotten.
Since she got frightened that time, we tried to ask her to slide herself, but she refused, so we stopped. Until one day, the maid carried and slided with her a few times. Then after tat, she ok liao. Need to let Damien gain back the confident before trying again.

crystallised

i got this contact from zac's playgroup. heard from the mummy, this is very cheap in comparison to others:
School Dental Care
23 Second Hospital Ave
#04-00
Health Promotion Board
Tel: 64353782

Thinking of bringing zac there after he turn 3, saw a hole on his teeth liao.

Jenny
Wah biang! $200?! @_@

I've think i've got quite alot of huggies barcode... waiting 2 redeem nia... but er, cant rem where i kept them liao. scully i lost them when i shifted!!! thks 4 sharing...

Shirley
Thks 4 sharing! I need to bring R soon... he's still grinding his teeth and his 2 front teeth are stained wif dunno wat... it juz refuses to go away no matter wat. these few days we hv been talking abt brushing teeth etc...

I'll call and enquire!

Hole in zac's teeth???

Crystallized,
wahahaha... remembered I mentioned I balloted for the chalet for sep but din get it? Now I got for Oct!! My sis was very excited and now starting to plan for BBQ! And to postpone Jaslyn's bday to belated celebrations. My sis more excited than me.

Shirley,
any idea the check is done by dentists? Or those interns? If is by dentist, then I will note down LOL

My colleague went to the one at NUH, by interns, very cheap, $10 only but he "suffered" a bit lah LOL, however he said someone must be guinea pigs to let them try.

Jenny
Postdated bdae celebrations? i dun really like the idea leh. thou nothing wrong lah. but am sure the kids will hv fun! i've decided its too much logistics to go 4 chalet stay (U know how much i like to overpack!!!) and so abdandoned this idea.

I wun wan R's check-up to b done by inexperienced dentists whom juz need guinea pig patients. I mean, even i am scared; wats more this is R's v 1st visit to the dentist. i dun wan it to b so horrifying till he is tramatised by dental check-ups ever!!! I'll ask when i call to enquire...

Crystallized,
ha my sis proposed, asked my mum she said ok, so ok lor. Anyway is a mini celebrations and all I need is to get a cake. Phew lucky I haven't ordered the cake, if not gotta change date. Last Sun, my aunt asked Jaslyn what cake design she wants... she said "I want pooh bear, hello kitty, mickey mouse, barney, dora, ding dang bla bla bla..." I was beside her, I told her "wah liew, yr cake design so weird! You think yr mummy v rich meh!??" hahaha..
For me ah, ok lah, cos I always bring old clothings/towels, after that throw hee hee hee... same as overseas trip. So nothing much to bring back.
It's like a yearly family gathering now. Last year we had hb's bday at chalet. The kids ran and played mad!!

Let me know when you call for enquiry hor.
But I really peifu my colleague leh. That day he came back, look so painful!! *ouch*

jenny/crystallised

i didnt ask if it is by intern but the mummy who recommended told me that the dentist is very patient, will go through a book on dentish and slowly show the child the equipment before asking him to sit on the bench. so i reckon not bad. ya lor i saw a hole/dent in his teeth, not decay black black but a hole. i asked my dentist he said it is possible for milk teeth, haiz, he used to have beautiful white teeth now hole in one the tooth. sad lei.

chalet
======
i attended the NSRCC chalet recently wow the chalet got renovated very morden looking. much much better than the last time i booked. but i still find a hazzle to go chalet. another thing is i dont the floor to be sticky and the bed i always find not clean. me very fussy lar. also with the amount i pay for NSRCC think about 200 can stay in hotel liao.

i am going to st regis for a free stay for my hubby's birthday, first time staying in hotel in singapore. pretty excited about it. haha

Shirley,
Sounds like a proper dentist. Doesn't sound like intern.
Hmm the hole sounds like my friend's boy's tooth leh. Better bring Issac to dentist soon.
Erm... I very fussy with floor de. My hb (then bf) got a shock when my friend and I went into the chalet unit and started mopping the floor haahaa... practically we will clean up the place once we reach. As for bed,no choice lah, cos we love bbq and we didn't want to do at home cos still need to clean up. So "outside" is always better.

Jrt
Sigh.....I didn't know he got phobia after that actually cos he never said anything n never did anything. N he slid down on his own cos I was carrying E who still couldn't even crawl. N he managed to slide down by himself after me n jackiejon coax him for awhile(less then 2 min).

It was after that we went to the Jacob gardens that slide he refused then I realise his fear. I actually stopped asking him to go slide cos want to see if he will forget his fear. But now even those low slides which he himself said he wanna go on. But he went up he will want to backdown lor.....sigh
Went gymboree freeplay stand on beam abt my knee height only walk halfway he wanna get down cling to me say he will fall.....BTH

Jenny
Yah lor that's why I want my hubby to be around so he can take charge of E while I try to settle D's fear lor. Cos he also listens more to me his Papa he will always bargain 1.

I also finally booked chalet for D's bday. Then my sis wanna join to celebrate for her daughter so become celebrate for afew ppl together....hehehe
But I will settle the cake cos D request Bob the builder.....hahaha

Jenny
Talk abt bdae cake! Tdy i brought R to chose the bdae cake design for sch celebration. I chose Polar coz its for kids and they cant tell if the cake is nice or not.
So when we came across Tom & Jerry, R said he wanted tt. Then we came across Thomas Train, he said he wanted tt oso. Finally when we came to Doraemon, he oso wanted tt. *faint*
In the end, we decided on a Doraemon design 4 him lah! So fickle minded!

I haven called to enquire yet... will let u know!

Shirley
WOW! St Regis! Muz b v shiok! Enjoy ur stay!
Bringg the kids along?

Dor
No choice lah, hv to give D some time to get over his phobia...

RE: Huggies Redemption
Anyone knows if the $8 delivery is per item or per delivery? I know Jenny mentioned b4 its like per item... i got enuff barcodes to redeem all e 3 items so if its $8/trip, v worth it!

Jenny
I made appt wif the Sch Dental Care alrdy. They got slot for this Wed & Thurs so i quickly grab since the next one is in Oct, close to my EDD liao.

I din ask much! Haha... per visit starts fr $9 (S'porean) and seems like they hv a condusive env for the check-ups. She said tt it will take typically ard 40 mins 4 the check-up. I decided to give it a try!

If u keen, can call up and make appt as well.

Shirley,
Yes.. NSRCC now very modern look with open concept kitchen. my gals played like mad everyday and in the end fall sick think partly becos not enough sleep.

They have new water play area for kids too...