(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

hi pups,

this morning i bumped into the principal and checked with her too. ya, it's a 3kg cake and I thought i'm hearing things... 3kg cake? even tristan cake (juz last sun), only 2.5kg and 30++ people (adults +kids) cant even finish it. still considering now whether to get the cake or not...

dor, i'm thinking of bringing stroller too.

Pups, but hb gotta work till 2pm on both days b4 he come over to join us, so it's a good half day with both kids...very scared, but think i shall do it so Char get to go out...

Gemini, Pups, why got such thing, must buy for whole school n not jus class?

pup and gemini

why dont you guys get cupcakes? easier to distribute and the numbers are fixed. that is what i did for zac sunday school and will be doing for his school as well.

Doreen,
It's very shao xin if plan for bbq then rain hor!

Coral,
Cos Gemini and Pups's kids are at childcare. For childcare, they have the practice to celebrate for the whole "sch". If is kindergarten, just need to get for the class only.

Gemini, Pups,
Cupcake for sch is a good idea. Jolene celebrated in sch last year, and I ordered cupcake for individual kids. Easy to distribute and no need to cut cake, save lot of time.

hi coral,

i'm not quite sure too, but i think maybe they celebrate in the morning when the whole school are in the common area for assembly.

hi shirley,

think i may even give the cupcakes a miss too... i forgotten that I have to either collect it the day before so that i can pass it to the school in the morning or i have to go collect in the morning, then make another trip to the school in the later morning. a bit man fan...

Jenny
Yah lor n it was a bbq after such a long time we all gian liao then worse it rain, stop, rain, stop. So we set fire liao bbq awhile rain, rain stop build fire again bbq abit more rain, stop so build fire again n rain. Really giveup man n the food left so much lor. Heng my mum fried beehoon n curry. Else think really some who came late dun have to eat anything liao.
I so qigek keep asking my hubby I very stingy meh why it rain??.....hahaha
(Cos they say stingy ppl give treat will rain....keke)

Bday cake for whole sch
Actually hor come to think of it, its quite a nice gesture cos all in the 'sch' ma then won't have kids who will be sad cos they see others have cake but they dun have. But then its very siong on the parents. If they want to give all kids also can ma the teachers sacrifice lor dun eat lah n all the kids will get 'abit' of cake right.....hehehe

Doreen,
It depends, like for my gals' sch, their lunch time for the classes are different timing (not same timing). They have the celebration during lunch time. And the teachers won't eat the cake (think they too sick to eat cos so frequent to have parties). Usually the teachers will tell us to bring the remaining cakes home, if we insist not to bring, they will then distribute to other classes when the other classes have their lunch.

Shirley,
Actually I didn't even want to get cake. Was just thinking of getting goodie bags for his classmates only :p Moreover, his birthday will most likely be celebrated in school the day before cos his daddy wants him to "pon tang" school on his birthday. Terrible influence but guess he is too young to know and he can only do that at this age. His birthday should be always around school exam period next time! 29th Oct.

Jenny
Then maybe they trying to discourage parents from bringing cake to sch so they say 3kg.....hehehe
Cos have to cut lah give out lah n clean cos got cake sure messy 1.

Pups,
hee, after I done with Jolene's one this year with just goody bags, I find it very hassle free. Don't need to go collect cake, no need to apply leave, no need to cut cake and distribute. So I think in future, I might just do it this way.

Doreen,
Oh, for my gals' sch, they actually said 1.5 kg is more than enough. But for childcare, usually will be 3kg.

Don't think I'll celebrate Char's bday in sch for her cos we're going for a wk chalet so she'll potang sch for 3-4 days.:p Pups we're just as bad, but like you say only at this age can afford to do such thing.

I survived the long wkend with two kids (ok, only everyday till 2pm then teh daddy comes back.) But it's still quite something as my mum the veteran at taking after kids wouldn't dare to do it. ;p

hi pups/coral,

not only you mummys are bad, think i probably the same too, tricia will also potang school...

hi jenny,

haha... the thought of having to collect the cake 1 day before and to keep it at home first, and tricia will definitely pester us to cut the cake, so think better not get a cake.

hi coral,

wow, applaud you. just 2 Sat ago, i also have to handle the 2 kids alone till 2pm plus, it's really not an easy task. but lucky thing is that, tricia do listen to me and was a good girl (normally she does not listen to me one)

Pups/Coral/Gemini,
Haha.. thought only myself.
Me too gg to let desiree ponteng sch for a week cos gg for chalet end aug.
Well, guess just get whatever notes the teacher given to them these few days and teach ourselves ba.
Was a bit shocked when desiree was given homework last week.. ._."

hi delphine,

homework??? oh wow, what sort of homework? now tricia only take back her art & craft which is completed in school.

Thanks Gemini. :D am so glad to come out of it alive. Haha, makes my kids sound like animals...but well they are quite a handful. When Char scream or cry, Coen will do the same,so it was really crazy. When I bring them to eat breakfast alone, they both like to give me a hard time so I'll gobble down my food and run away before pple recognise me. AT nite when hb wants to go to restuarant for dinner I simply beg for room service.

Delphine, wow, still have to do hmwk? I don't even think of asking for the assignment and teach at home, dont think they miss much at this age.

Pups, thanks for your suggestion, I'm likely to take over Jenny's maid. We're arranging for a meeting this Thurs...if all goes well, she might come to work for me end Sep. Mummies who had met the maid before, Jenny say I can ask for somecomments...Anyone with comments on the maid? From the pic she looks liek a pleasant gal.

Delphine,
wah, Jolene brings homework back every week, I already wanna sweat liao... can't imagine if Jaslyn brings hers.
I got a shock when I first saw her stack of homework, and at first I tot Jolene didn't finish hers at sch.

Coral,
I think fate plays an impt role. Must see if got yuan feng with you.
Hope she will be able to help you. I told her to do a good job and dun throw my face, if not send her back hahahaha...
My uncle's only request is to let the maid goes home first as she left home for a very long time.

Jenny,
Ya.. i got a shock too, she still have not reached 3yrs old leh.. haha.
And you know lah, their attention span so short, after coloured 1 or 2 letters, dun wan to do liao.

Coral,
Yes, maid is really depends on luck and also depend on employer expectations.
true also, they would not miss much but still at least you would know what is the topic about. Cos they have different themes every month.

Coral
I saw her before think twice!! Her look is very pleasant and she speak Chinese well, she take good care of Jaslyn and Jolene when we went swimming last week thus think she will be very helpful to you

Jenny & Delphine
wah liew... homework?! not at 3 yrs old bah? i cant believe it! i hope not... i am a lazy mommy!

Coral
Wow, gd 4 u tt u r taking over Jenny's maid!
I hope everything works out well for u too. Dun think jenny will rec u someone she dun trust.

Coral,
I certainly hope things work out for you! Otherwise you are going to blame my big mouth :p

Delphine,
Get notes from teacher? No need lah.... :p Maybe the cc K goes too is not so "academic". No homework whatsoever. In fact, they don't really hold pencil to write yet. It is still scribbling and painting and printing, stuff like that which they do in school.

Crystallized,
No lah, not Jaslyn has homework lah.
BTW, you told my friend abt my damage ah!! She was teasing abt me on Mon when we met at a friend's bb shower.

Abt Maid
I think the first impt thing is whether we see the maid 顺眼 or not. Next is our expectations, then how the maid clicks with us, whether frequency correct or not, how hardworking they are.
If not will really vomit blood. All these are just simple luck and 缘份, talk easier than done.

Maid
Me too not happy with current one but just plain lazy to go through the recruiting process, shall wait till her contract ends in mar 2010.

Updates
Denise took her few steps yesterday, gonna be busy man...

Jrt/Pup,
Desiree attending those 2hrs kind of class, guess diff from K's childcare type.
Not too sure about the schedule in childcare.

Jenny
hahaha, i juz causually mentioned to her and she went to tease u ah? kekekee

u only said cannot let ur hb know.... nan dao she mentioned in front of ur hb? *dun hit me!*
sorry lah. next time keep my mouth shut liao.

Agree tt its really a combination of luck & 缘份... i can understd the trauma tt coral faced... the one at our plc is oso like tt. sigh...

Delphine
Same lah, R attends the 3-hrly pre-N in a church, so its not a CC type as well. So far he only brings back his finished art pieces... dun think they really hold a pencil and write yet... more like doodling wif crayons, water colours etc. More arts & craft.
i prefer this way so he enjoys sch more.

About maid
===========

yes, i do believe/agree really must have 眼缘 with the maid when looking at her foto the 1st time. My #2 maid, both me & my mum look at her fotos 4 times, then decide on her. but within 2 months, we send her back to agent, cant click with her. so for my current maid, the 1st time we see her foto, find her pleasant, and true enough, so far so good with her.

hi delphine,

mar 2010? still got 6 more months to go... but ok lah, time will pass very fast one...
denise not yet 13 mths right? so fast, started walking liao... desiree also started at this age?

Music & Dance lessons
======================
where got such lessons har? but not ballet. i know kindermusic has, but it's in Tanglin Mall which both me & my hb are lazy, do not wish to travel so far, so thinking of northeast area. furthermore, it may be just me who going to bring/fetch tricia, so need to accessible to public transport. weekdays are also ok, cos while waiting for her, i can do my work.

tricia loves to dance to music (which she always late for it at school), so thought of letting her attend dance school.

Gemini,
Ya.. another 6 months to go.. aiya, close one eye lor.
Denise 13mths plus liao, she is much earlier than jie jie. Desiree starts walking independantly at 16mths.

Jrt,
oic... same lah, most of the time she finished her whatever stuff at sch, just surprised last week saw homework for her.
twice every month, they will have cookery class.

Delphine
Yah u gonna be more busy busy soon liao.
Ember is already walking n can go down the bed on her own liao. So very troublesome lor n she keep trying to get off the bed to kpo see korkor do what, papa do what, dog do what......sigh

Wah desiree got cookery class 1 aah?? Future chef??...hehehe

DorDor,
haha.. ya lor, gonna be more watchful.
Yes, they will make simple stuff like donut, sandwiches, jelly and etc.
Those that she like, she will eat after sch, those that she dun like, she will bring home and let me eat when i reached home.

dor and delphine

on tuesday, lele just had a cut on her forehead. she was on her tricylce and topple over and just happen there is the drawing board on the floor and had a deep cut. quite deep and my hubby brought her to the pd to glue the wound. haiz, no matter how we keep a look out, accident still happen. lele is simply too daring for her own good, ever since she started walking at 11 months, she had so many bruises and fall.

homework
========
zac will bring back a worksheet to do every week from school and he enjoys doing that and will remind us to help him with the worksheet.

delphine

which school is desiree in now? so interesting to have cooking lesson.

Shirley,
Aiyo, poor lele.. yeah, dunno is it me or what, I find that #2 more daring than #1. everything also cheong!!

Desiree is in Wunderkind, dun think they have other branches, it is just one of those playgroup that is set by RC but this is set up by a german.

Crystallized,
No lah, lucky she tensed me quietly, but I think my hb was wondering what we were talking.

Delphine,
ya lor, very interesting leh, got cookery class.

Delphine
Wahahaha.....so funny ur "Those that she like, she will eat after sch, those that she dun like, she will bring home and let me eat when i reached home"
Dunno if should be happy or not when she give u food that she make hor....hahaha

Shirley
Aiyo poor thing.....ummm pd put glue aah?? Better then stitching (ouch!). Girl daring good ma but hor too tough also not good hor.....sigh
Me here also lah starting liao dunno why 2nd 1 girl always like more naughty leh. Even my mum was like "Yah lor ur daughter....."......keke

hello mummies. long time no chat here liaoz. hope everyone is well & seems like many #2 already. looks like i have missed out alot of fun here on the gatherings etc.

managed to briefly go thru some discussion.

Writing
=======
caleb can hold pens pretty well. his motor skills are pretty good. he scribbles alot too but occasionally depending on mood, he will write alphabets randomly to show us.

Homework
========
no homework for caleb. just that he will bring back his colouring works. asked him what he does in school, the answer is always the same "colouring, sing song, go home"...

Bday
====
did not really celebrate for caleb last year so will do so this year for him. fortunately or unfortunately he will have 2 celebrations. AD in school & following day with friends. So this yr i need to spend more cos 2 sets of cakes. but worth it.

hope to catch up with you all soon. cheers

Selina,
Hello!! how have you been, long time didnt "see" you here.
Desiree will always answer "colour colour" when we asked her what have she been doing in school.

Dor Dor,
ya, dun know happy or not but ok lah, at least is her "heart" in making. I will eat lor...

Jasmine,
01 Sep and that day is a sch holiday.
No practise to give, so not preparing anything.
You have things to order from orangebear? My cart now only left 1 preordered item, then ready for shipment liao.

Selina
AT least Caleb can decide wat he wants for his bdae cake. I asked R twice and be gave me different answers.

Jasmine
I was oso wondering if need to prepare anything for teachers' day. Perhaps will discuss wif my sis. Even if we buy, will most prob get sthg small & simple. R seems v attached to his teachers leh. Its gd to know tt he likes them.

Jenny
I checked out the doraemon & thomas train cake designs at Polar. They provide quite a gd range and i like it. But i dun like Polar cakes and my hb oso dun like it. So i will check out a few other bakeries.

Crystallized,
me too..thinking whether to prepare or not.
A's teacher is a malay teacher but A seem ok with her. maybe the teacher knew how to handle him whenever he refuse to go inside the class room.
I wanted to order thomas train cake toobut hb also dun like Polar Cake.

Anyone know when can get Thomas cake intead of Polar?

Crystallized, Jasmine,
Polar cake not nice, last time we got one, took one bite and threw off the whole cake.
Ecreative has thomas. Think also have doraemon, I saw in the album before, I think.

I was thinking to get the honey from bp for the teachers, but the gals seems to have many teachers. When I asked them, they only told me 2 teachers (eng and chinese teachers) each. But I know they have assistant teachers, but when I ask, they can't tell me. So if just buy for 2 main teachers, and nothing for assistant teachers like very paiseh. So might as well dun get anything.

hi jenny,

i agree with you. Polar cake not nice, last sat 1st time i eat it, the chocolate does not taste like chocolate. but quite strange leh, their sugar rolls are nice, so why the cake are not nice.

teacher day
===========
dont think i'm giving... cos though tricia got 2 teachers (eng & chinese) but sometimes there's another teacher who accompany them outdoors which is on a rotation basis. so as what jenny say, if have to give, then all the teachers have to give also.