(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

hi dor,

i agree with crystallised, even though each got the exact same set of toys, they will still want the toys that the person is holding on...haha...
i can foresee for my case is coming soon, now tristan know how to scream when jie jie snatch his toys. he's quite a bad tempered boy and tricia is one which does not give in too!

Gemini
nvm lah, u will get used to the screaming trainings soon! I alrdy gotten used to it after these 2 yrs+... imagine they r crying next to me and i dun hear it at times!
my mum will ask me if i am deaf?! hahahahahahaa

but when my BIL/sis is ard, both are better behaved. my mum is v pleased when either one of them is ard. she dun even hv to say a word and both will not fight!

Shirley,
Thanks a lot for searching that set for us.

Jenny,
I want! try to email u today or tomorrow.

Dor,
true lal..not so nice when D called out your name when outside.
talking abt Rhys, so long din see Vivian came in here. How are they?

Alvis start new school yesterday! Just hope that he will love his school.

hi crystallised,

i know. i got sort of training liao by my nieces and nephews... including my 2 kids, my parents got 11 grandkids! so when all of them come back my parents place, no need to on the TV liao, got "free entertainment"... but i really applaud u, even when they scream next to you, u cant hear anything...

ya, kids nowadays are very clever, know who can bully. like tricia, when daddy is around, everything also must be done by daddy and every nitty gritty also cannot. but when daddy is not around, she's more well behaved.

hi coral,

so fast give up on your maid liao?

coral,
you must have a hard time!

Jasmine,
No hurry, next week give me also can.
I need to clear the current order in my cart first before I place new order next week.
Huh, I tot you mentioned Alvis in playground, that time not yet ah?

Coral
Good riddance to the maid!!!

Gemini
hahaha, i hear but somehow its not to the extent tt irritates me yet so i juz let them be. hahahahaa.
yah R bullies his papa oso. so if i bring him out on my own, i will give him prep talk and reminds me to hold my hands, no carrying etc. and he actually listens and obey. He is more manageable when papa is not ard.

Jasmine
Hope A adapts to the new env soon. but rem to give him time and lotsa encouragement. it took R a few wks to get used to it and crying fits every morning!

Gemini,
went with him yesterday.

Can see that he enjoy there, becos he can play with those kids that same age with him. But he still cant sit still, teacher & his friends always have to call him back.

Crystallized,
He cried when we drag him back after school cos he still want to play inside the big toy truck.

Today my SIL told me he even sing the song which teacher teacher at home.

Jenny,
okie..then i can have more time to bio..
after he move to IL's place, he started 2 hrs playgroup at Talentplus. that time we still have not want to enroll him to CC or normal kindergarten just it's temporary nia. Aftertat found this PCF nearby my IL place, want to register him next year Nursery class. But they only give priority to kids who attend N1 now. So no choice, have to start him on N1 afternoon class which 1-3pm. Next year he will start morning nursery class.
This PCF branch not bad, only 12 kids in the class, 2 teacher & 1 aunty who prepare snack for them.

Jasmine
thats a gd sign tt he loves the new env!

aiyah same lah... R's teachers always comment his backside got needles, cant sit still all the time. its only aft a few mths and i kept telling him he needs to sit down when all his frens do and pay attn to the teacher. at the parents session, his teacher finally said she saw improvement and R is better now.

My maid not here to work,here to chat on phone. At nite, 8+-9+ let her sleep she can chat till 2am then sleep and day time keep dozing off. 1 piece of clothe let her iron 3 times still can't wear, so now I end up having to do housework when I have a maid.In the past when I have part-time helper I do less work. So send her back and look for new one. But frankly, I really don't want one, but no choice for now. Now with maid,I do more housework thill I sleeplate and at nite too tired to wake up to pump milk. So funny, aren't maids suppose to relieve us?

Jasmine,
You dun need to worry liao lah, Alvis loves his current sch.

Coral,
wah liew, yr ex maid thinks she is the boss? Chat from 8+/9+ to 2am!
She really has no heart to work, the earlier you send her back better.
Maids, in good words, are to relieve working mothers, but too bad, thats not always the case.

Coral
tts some some employers will keep the maid's HP and only give to them during their off days/they need to call home. for our #1 maid, she has 2 HP, and she spends so much time in the toilet coz she was busy sms-ing. or she will take a long time to run errands and my mum can see fr the kitchen tt she was walking so slowly downstairs and busy wif her HP. then fr the 2nd one onwards, we said no HP wif them liao.

IMO, ironically, they create more work and stress 4 us!

hi coral,

wah piang, ur ex-maid is here to "see the world". gd thing u get rid of her earlier...
like u, at the moment, i cant go without a maid, really need someone to help my mum.

hi crystallised,

ya agree, it's very hard to find a gd maid but even so, with a maid, definitely got more stress.

Jenny, jRt, yes no more hp for my next maid. Now i'm wondering Indo or Filp, heard Indo less hygenic, n communication issues. Flip wants off-days, no mood to work. Haiz.

Gemini, no choice rite? i need one when I start full time in Oct.

hi coral,

can say that Indo are more guai. 1 reason why i dont want Flippino is the off day issue. i dont want her to go out w/o us. see too many maids who have gone out, really got change in attitude. till now, my maid has not gone downstairs to buy any food/things. now i'm talking half malay/half english with my maid. if really cant, I will show her what i want her to do
cos after my bout of maidless for 1 month plus, think i have become more independent. but can see that it's tough for my mum.

Coral,
Most employers dun allow hp. Hp is a killer. If you want to give, must state rule, eg. can use only after work are done. Between wat time, and each call only XX mins.
Our families' maids are all from Indo except one is Filp. Sick with Filp, scheming, argue etc.
Indo maids are much easier to handle compared to Filp. Though they have communication issues, but they also pick up fast (if you get a good one). Hygenic wise, I find them ok leh (must teach, talk few times). In fact, the current maid that is at my mum place, is much more particular with cleaniness than us! The only issue is, she scares to put on weight and she eats very little, which I always nag at her haha... Anyway her contract is ending this Dec, and we won't be renewing her liao.

Gemini, Jenny, I learn my lesson liao, cannot be fren fren and sympathise with them for being away from home. They'll just take advantage. Hb just called and asked if I feel more relaxed, I say yes, and I can do more thing. I complete 1 report,changed bedsheet and can go toilet without worrying that the maid would wake Coen up again. Funny rite?

Jenny, why are you not renewing her? No need maid cos both big liao?

Coral,
Not saying cannot be friend friend, but no matter how close, I will always "remind' the maid that she is the maid.
The current maid gets along well with everyone at home, including our relatives. Too bad we dun need her service liao. If I have moved to my mum's area, I will take her over cos I will bring the gals home daily, so will be good with extra pair of hands, but too bad we may not move anytime soon... Yeap, now both gals big liao, my mum not so stress. I know if we continue her, my mum will be very happy, and this maid really helps out a lot of major housework at my mum place w/o needing my mum to tell her. Everyday, she goes my mum place, she will goes round to spot check and very automatic do cleaning etc. You know what, recently my mum's place rewired the whole house. After the reno, got those holes and areas which need to repaint right, she did them haha... I told her she can go do part time painter liao LOL
I feel maids quite poor thing, cos their families are poor, so they leave their homes to work overseas. Not being with their families are quite bad already. So we try to make the maid like a family member. She eats what we eat no matter at home or outside and we eat together. To us, as long as maid dun do something funny, finishes the housework and behave appropriately, we won't be too strict to her. The earlier one was quite terrible and argued with us, so we sent her back after 2 mths. So, we are quite lucky to have this current maid. And she can speaks English, Mandarin and Hokkien too, haha, learn from us and from watching tv shows.

Jenny and Coral,
Pardon me for butting in like that.... Coral, why don't you take in Jenny's maid as a transfer maid? If she is so good and they are sending her back, and you need a maid, isn't this the best solution?

I am still trying to slog it out myself with the help of a part-time cleaner cos scared of maid issues. My colleague was telling me that with the presence of a maid, she even have time to pursue her own interest despite having a kid. Whereas for me, I don't even have any me time. And only when I am pumping can I visit this thread. Sigh.

hi coral,

a point to take note, hari raya puasa is next month, so if u intending to get a new Indo maid,must do it fast hor. my agent did tell me normally before hari raya, no maid will want to come out and work.

hi pups,

i share your sentiments. even though i got a maid, after tristan come along, i cant/dont even have the time to read the newspapers! maybe cos i'm very hands one with the kids, so not much time left for myself.

Jasmine
I also very long never chat with vivian online cos my timing n her timing diff liao.
Think she very busy n recently jus last wk I think R kanna chickenpox.

Coral, Jenny
I agree with Pups leh why not jus take over the maid then u dun have to headache over the issues liao.

gemini, pups

Me also , ever since the #2 come along , i dun have my OWN time . M wants me to involve everything little she does and my little Ezann even worst . She will "mummmmmmy" until u acknowledge her even at her young age ( 14 mths only !!). Even thou i at home , i dun have the luxury to read newspaper/ mag / TV . Maybe we are all hands-on mum ba.

Coral
I agree tt fillipino maids r too geng... indonesian ones thou got communication prob, but might b better.

Pups
is ur fren those type tt leaves everything to the maid and thus she has so much free time? My sis is one such person tt dun bother to really oversee wat the maid does. she even let the maid wash NB's bottles and her breast pump accessories. i will nvr trust maid washing baby stuff and esp things like milk bottles! I see the way the maid handles the sterilised items fr the steriliser eg how she cap. she is holding a tong in her hand but she might as well do w/o the tongs. tts when she is aware i am nearby. wat happens when no one is ard to watch wat she is doing? i advised my sis not to let maid handle things to do wif baby coz he's still so young. sigh...
Prob wif a maid, i'll b busier supervising wat maid is doing and spending time wif my kids!

Jenny
u ordered doraemon cakes for ur girls' bdae rite? issit fr sweet secrets? any other bakers? i am sourcing for R's bdae cake now. tis morning when i asked him if he wants doraemon or thomas train, he said doraemon.

Pups, Doreen,
I think it depends on our expectations on maid. One might be good in our eyes, but may not be good in others.

Coral,
Hire maid gotta see luck de. Our 2nd one was a disaster, I wondered why we let her stay for 2mths haha..
You can let maid calls home, but maybe state the conditions. A friend of mine allows her maid to call home dunno once or twice a week, each call got a time limit (after the time limited by my friend, the maid has to pay for her own), but that is provided when the maid does her work well. It's a bonus to the maid.

However, if you are interested, I can ask/talk to the maid. But her contract is only ending this Dec, unless you can wait? Initially, my uncle has decided to let her goes off early in Sep, so that she can goes back to her family to celebrate hari raya (she has left home for 4 years+ and she really miss home), but now my uncle prefers her to stay till end of contract (last mth my aunt wants to take over this maid, but now confirm not taking over cos aunt's mil prefers to renew their current filp maid). Now, seems that my sis's bf's parents want to take over her, I'm not sure of the latest details yet, so if you are interested, I can ask for you, and if you want to meet this maid, we can arrange.
I'm a bit reluntant to let her go actually cos she's a great help to my mum, but I really see nothing much for extra help at this time. Besides helping my mum with housework and the gals, she's also a good listener who companys my mum when there's no one at home.
Also, depends on what you are expecting from the maid. I can tell you more abt this maid. She has no problems with housework (no need to tell her what to do, she will does herself, we don't have a timetable or list for her), but she has not take care of newborn yet. She was hired to take care of my late grandma before coming over to help out at my mum's place. She doesn't really know how to cook, simple ones can, make kuehs and simple food ok, cos she learns from us.
However, note she has MP3 (she bought her own, I brought her to buy one but think spoil le) and HP (my uncle gives her). But she only plays with them when she's free.

Mango,
At times, they do fight. Which siblings won't fight and argue?
But they really love each other.
Last Sun, while on our way for breakfast. The gals were holding hands, walking together happily. Then suddenly, they stopped and I saw Jolene moved Jaslyn over to her right side. I walked up and realised there's about 4 cats on their left side. Both gals are scared of cats, but it's really touching to see Jolene trying to protect her sister despite she also scared of cats.

Crystallized,
Ordered from Mong's for Jolene's cupcakes and Sweet Secrets for Jaslyn's.
I ever saw from Smiling Orchid and Ecreative, if my memory doesn't fail me.
Talking abt bday, I actually ballot for chalet for end Sep but din manage to get it.
Haiz... now dunno where to celebrate (I just want a mini one) and I dun want to do at home leh.

Jenny
i was oso thinking abt celebrating in chalet too! oso juz a mini one wif immediate family members only lah. main thing is R can go to the theme park there 2 play till he happy.
but looks like its too late to book now...

Crystallized,
same same lor, thinking to organiser family bbq and at the same time celebrate Jaslyn's bday.
My friend asked me to do at home but I sian with the cleaning wor.
Maybe will just buy a cake for cutting at home.

Jenny
u wanna book over the wkend huh? i juz went in to check for R's actual bdae, which is a wkday, still available and only need to stay 1 night. but i doubt my parents will wanna come all the way there... and wif only me & hb to sing him a song, like v kelian leh. hahahaa... moreover i am gg to order a cake 4 him to celebrate in sch, so mayb doing chalet on his bdae is not a gd idea.

Eh i checked SO and EC websites, cant see any doraemon cakes. mayb muz call up to find out.

Crystallized,
ya, maybe will try to ballot for oct, if have then do a belated one haha..
Dun have to be actual day lah. Wah if only you and hb sing bday song, might as well sing at home LOL
I'm not ordering cake to celebrate in sch for Jaslyn cos hb away ICT. I just pack goody bags for distribution. Moreover, is Children's Day, school has many activities and food the day before.
My gals bday ah, both falls on festive season, no need huge celebrations cos already got enough food haha..
They dun publish on websites, I saw from the albums at store.

pups, actually I already tot of it, but too bad Jenny's maid contract ends in Dec and I need someone by end Sep as I have to rtn to office full time from 1st Oct.

Jenny, too bad, don't think I can let my mum be alone for Oct, Nov and Dec...Timing is always a big issue. The eclairs that you like is available at BP. I've just ordered a carton. You also thinking of chalet. We also ballot and got a bunglow at Changi from 9-13 Oct. Hence I was checking out the BBQ for this.

Gemini, thanks for the info abt hari raya.

jRt, Doraemon I think Polar has.

Jenny
Its cheaper if u ballot huh? Ur ofc ties up wif them?
No leh, if AD and we're at home, there is more than juz me and my hb singing to him. got my sis & family and my parents. but if we r at chalet then it might only be me and my hb. anyway i dun think i am gg ahead wif the chalet on AD. in any case, haven discuss wif my hb yet.
I am not preparing goodies bag coz when R's classmates all gave to him, i dunno wat to do wif those stuff. so i'll prob juz get a cake and maybe some snacks for his bdae. hassle free and i dun hv to spend time packing the goddies bag.

haha, yah hor Jaslyn's bdae falls on Children's Day so everyone celebrates wif her liao.

Ok, guess i gotta check out the cake shops personally. i like sweet secrets cake so might pop over to check out there 1st. but then again, i wun get to eat coz its 4 his classmates! hahahaaha..

Coral
thks. will check out Polar. Got an outlet here near my wkg place.

Coral,
I'm not sure how the arrangement will be like.
Cos last mth when my aunt wanted to take over this maid, she and my uncle came to the agreement that this maid will make a trip home for a week or two, then come back will be under my aunt liao, cos my aunt's maid's contract ends in mid sep. Means "early release" from my uncle.

No eclairs for me liao, sick of it hahaha...

Yeap thought to get a chalet for bbq cos my mum very on with bbq. I try to ballot again for oct, if can't then maybe ask my god bro to book his bbq pit. But my mum prefers with a chalet, not so messy mah.

BTW, have you decide which bbq catering? I have ndp vouchers for http://www.ezb.com.sg/
Let me know if you need it.

hi coral,

there's only 1 BP on for eclairs currently, right? but this BP need to order 1 carton, cant just a few trays... which i afraid if take 1 carton, cant finish

hi jenny/crystallised/coral,

the thought of staying at chalet put me off... maybe older now, prefer my own bed more... and furthermore now with kids, think of the barang barang have to bring... go back home sleep better...kekekee...

hi crystallised,

for the goodies bag for her classmates, i will be just getting Pooh or Mickey Mouse stationery set, already packed nicely in a box and not very ex... too lazy now to pack the goodies in the bag now.

crystallized,
I think with maid you have to train and then learn to trust. That was what my colleague did. But at night, she takes over parenting duties on her own when she reaches home.

Gemini,
Luckily you mention here. I have exactly the same idea on those stationery sets for K's classmates! Haha. Ok, since Tricia's birthday comes first, I have to think of other ideas :p Then again, I don't know if we are talking about the same thing...

hi pups,

it consists of a pencil, ruler, eraser, compass?? cant really remember the contents liao...hehehe... tricia will have the priority then... or i get the Pooh set, then u get the Mickey Mouse set? :p ok, i give u some idea, actually i wanted to get those colouring book with crayons or color pencils. it's in a packet already. but hor, cos this one i saw it in a party shop in Upper Serangoon Rd when we buying stuff for tristan a few wks ago, a bit too early for me to buy. so was thinking maybe nearer Oct, then go down and buy again. but i saw a shop near my office selling this, so it will be easier for me to get them...
talking of this, u intend to have a cake for the class? is it allowed?

Gemini, can order in trays. It's the Rebeccarios one. Actually I'm not keen on chalet or hotel stay but hb wants it. He's trying to convince me to bring the two kids to Sentosa for the wkend, I'm like, it's gonna be very tiring and not enjoyable...He thinks i jus dunno how to relax, but with two young kids how to feel relaxed.

Jenny, thanks I hv the ndp vouchers too.
AS for the maid I guess your family memebers really like her. Cos not easy to come by a good one.

gemini

which shop in upper serangoon? i also need to get for his classmates so your idea is superb. zac's playgroup does not allow parents to enter so i can only pass the cake and presents to the teachers.

Crystallized,
Ya, very cheap lor, that's why I won't pay for chalet (rather pay for hotel stay), but there's only 4 units per week.
Also have at batam but aiya too far lah.
Actually for goody bags, must think carefully what to put inside. I see age then decide what to give, and for me, strictly no sweets and jelly (sch also indicated but some parents still pack!). As for chocolate, will get those good one. Ever received those chocolates bought from those $2 shop, got "chao pu" smell. I threw all away.

Gemini,
Me too, but it's fun to have family gatherings leh, and plus bbq even more fun. We used to have it yearly then stopped from Year 05 to 07. I still remembered Year 04, I was heavily preggie and yet still standing there whole nite bbq-ing haha... my aunts and mum kept telling me to sit and relax, but wah liew no fun leh. They were pitying the bb (Jolene) when my tummy was so near to the fire haha..

The pooh and mickey stationery set is from value shop right? I saw prepack ones there.

pups,
Can give you some ideas on goody bags. If you want hassle free, can get those prepack ones but usually are stationery or toys.
Alternative can pack some biscuit, tibits, gummy sweet.
BTW, if time allows, there's a shop near west coast market. You know where the post office is? Along the stretch, beside the 7-11, there's a toy cum party shop, selling a lot of variety of prepack goody bags. You can even mix and match your own goody bags cos they sell the party favours in wholesale price.

Coral,
I was at my mum's place yesterday evening, so I told her abt it. My mum said she will ask the maid today if she's ok with newborn. If maid is comfortable, then I ask my uncle (cos maid registered under uncle's)?

This is one of the online shop doing prepacked goody bags, very reasonable price and hassle free.
http://www.kidzgoodies.com/eshop.php?view=productListPage&category=1

Alternative, if you have the names of the kids for the class, why not give each kid a sticker of their name?
Useful to stick on their belongings and which kid doesn't like sticker

http://mysticker2u.com/

Personally, I dunno what to deal with those stationery from the goody bags cos received too many.

Jolene recently brought back a goody bag with the old time toys and we all had fun playing. Really brings back old memories.

hi pups/coral,

i got check the thread, can buy by tray, dont know is it my memory failing, i thought must order by carton one when i saw it previously...
haha, coral, hi!5... that time only got tricia and we brought her to Sentosa for 1 night stay only, i tell u, maybe i kiasu, pack a lot of "emergency use" things, so her stuff occupy 3/4 of our bag! so now if i bring 2, aiyo, think i need to bring a big sized luggage just for the things for both of them!

hi shirley,

the shop address is 806 Upper Serangoon Rd. if u are heading towards the city direction, it's next to the Caltex petrol kiosk. the shop name is Hsen Global Pte Ltd on the invoice but the website is: www.adamevestyle.com.
operating hours: 9-6pm (wkdays), 2-6pm (wkends)

hi jenny,

bbq? haha.. this is the one that i hated most, and i think my family members all not like it too, no one want to do the bbq, so in the end, the maids have to do it..
the pooh & mickey mouse stationery set not from value shop, it's from those shop that sell those cute stuff, like hello kitty bags, hairclips, colorings books, etc..
cos i dont like tricia to eat chocolate, so think better dont pack such goodie bag

Gemini,
oh my family loves bbq hahaha.. I will be the one bbq-ing haha
My mum and I filter the goody bags, but so far, they din receive any chocolates but received lot of sweets, lollipop and jellies (all these go to rubbish bins).
Jolene's classmates' goody bags come all kinds, many stationeries also, ended dunno what to do, most ended in rubbish bin cos can't use.
Jaslyn's ones come mostly in toys and tibits, no stationery so far, maybe cos still young bah, so the parents din pack.
Jolene's goody bags are getting interesting, now they have those old times toys, got parachute and something like a ruler, but can wear as a bangle, I have this "ruler/bangle" toy when I was young. And the gals love it. Yesterday I went to the party shop and saw, but too bad they are sold in packet of 20pcs. So ended I din buy. My mum asked why I din buy for the gals to play, I told her if I buy now, they will keep asking after each one is spoiled. So will buy in sep. I have already ordered gliders, tattoo and maze puzzles for the goody bags. So now thinking what to add for 2 more items. Actually I'm looking for slide puzzles but can't find in the website, but I saw the shop is selling for 36 pcs which I dun need so much! Jaslyn loves to play slide puzzles and can entertain her for a long time.

Hi Jenny, thanks for asking. Let me know.

Gemini, not only am I worry about bringing lots of things, I'm worry abt Cahr wanting me to carry her and Coen wants to latch on at the same time. Yday was like that, I one hand carry Coen to latch on,one hand hold Char, and everyone was looking at me on the street. Damn tiring.

Gemini
i oso prefer my own bed but haven been to a chalet for years so thot of tt. anyway dun think the plan will materialise.
btw how is Tristan? Saw ur comment in FB... has his rashes gone? in time for his bdae party?

Jenny
wah at batam is too far liao.
oh sch indicated not to pack sweets etc in goodies bag? so far nothing fr R's sch. he's been bringing in goodies bag every now and then too. but he cant rem it so i'll usually hide/throw away aft i inspect the goodies bag. some parents put things in juz for the sake and dun bother if its in gd condition anot. and i oso dunno its fr which kid.
wah liew, i hate BBQs! hahaha... but i dun mind if someone BBQ 4 me thou. actually its more like i hate it if we need to prepare the things like marinating etc. v troublesome. i used to like it when i was younger but not anymore.
the last one for my sis' surprise bdae was well-organised by her frens and i love the pre-marinated food oso. but cant rem which caterer. if i had to do BBQ, will def wanna order pre-marinated ones.

Coral,
will let you know if have news.

Crystallized,
Yes, the sch has a list of recommended items to pack in the list, and also listed what are not to pack, but some parenst still pack sweets and lollipop!
Aiyo, my gals very happy when they receive goody bags. At first will snatch, now they will share. And if one doesn't share, the other will goes "Mummy... jie jie/mei mei doesn't want to SHARE..."
Yeap I agreed some parents just want to fill the bags and dun bother what they put in. Some stuffs not suitable for their age.
Last time during schooling time, we went wet market to buy, wash and marinate. Now no more liao, dunno since when, I started to cater. So we just go and wait for the catering to arrive then we bbq lor. Hassle free haha..

hi crystallised,

actually had held his bday party last sun, 1 week in advance, this coming sat is then his actual day. lucky thing is that, his "unknown insects bites" only surfaced after his party, or else bu mei mei liao for his party.:p but this sat, will be having a mini celebration for him again, so hopefully the bites can subside, now not so red already...

Coral
What u said reminded me. The 1st time I took the 2 kids out to Orchard. Think D was tired n heng it was walking to hubby's lorry liao D refused to walk n keep crying for me to carry so I gotta carry 2 n walk. After that i made sure never to go out with the 2 of them without the stroller.
But now D is bigger liao he okie to walk so I dun have to bring stroller anymore.....ehhe

Jenny
Me also love bbq 1 so imagine that day Ember's chalet so very sad cos rain. But me n hubby stayup after the kids sleep n bbq on our own until 3am......hahaha

Jenny,
Thanks for the links and ideas for the goodie bags.

Gemini,
It is ok lah, you go ahead and pack whatever you have thought of for Tricia's birthday. I am sure I can come up with something! As for birthday cake, another parent whom I know have checked with the principal and she said if buying cake, must get 3kg for the whole school to share. Goodie bags just have to pack for their class. So, in the end that parent scraped the idea of the cake cos too expensive.

Coral,
I believe if you can relax a bit, not to be too kan cheong about the kids, still can have a good trip to Sentosa albeit more tiring than without the kids.