(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

coral
i think the pressure is not only on the kids when they go to famous sch, but on the parents too!

for now, i am juz happy to hear R happily singing away when he learns new songs fr sch. for me, i feel i am a lousy teacher. R does not absorb things tt i taught him but he learns when my hubby teaches him things.

jRt, yap, agree on the pressure part. Maybe cos we're less patience? I find Char learn better with my hb too cos my hb allows her time whereas I'll try to rush in and assist her, etc.
So I told my hb maybe he should be the SAHD instead of me being the SAHM.

coral
hahaha, yah guess when i talk i got no patience and R switches off. He picks up things taught by my sis and hubby easily. I save my saliva!

Dor,
K did watch the baby can read VCDs when he was much younger. He is able to read quite a lot of words now but I don't know if it is attributed to the VCDs or cos my parents nurture him very well. We borrow books from the library regularly so he has abundance of books whenever he feels like reading them. My dad will patiently read the books to him upon his request and I believe this allows him to pick up words quite effectively. Anyway, up till now, I also don't know what are the words he knows or do not know cos he sometimes just doesn't want to say them out. He surprised me once in a while when he takes up a book and starts reading the words.

But I totally agree with what Jenny said about the kids will eventually meet up in terms of their developments when they grow older. This initial period of who can do what first is immaterial. And I also feel that without any expectation, everything comes as a bonus and very pleasant surprise! I prefer it this way :p

starz
you live hougang right?can PM me the contact?

dordor
dun worry about D. i think he's fine as he is. nice big korkor with a good heart. ive taught many GEP students in the classroom and many dont do taht well in society. perhaps coz they have been focussing so much on their academic prowess they miss out on other developments, so many turn out rather socially inept...i thknk the greatest success in life (in the long run) are individuals who are well adapted socially and can function under stress and failures in life...so by that, D is on the right track

l'lCY mum's I can't agree more on the socially adapt and can function well under stress and failure. I feel the younger generation now (or even our generation) collaspe very easily under pressure. I guess it's the upbringing and exposure. Now then I realise how diff it is to be parents.You want to protect yet you want to harden the child...

Coral,
I agree with your observations. When I was a teaching assistant in the uni, I can see the difference between students of our time and that of the younger ones I was teaching. The younger ones simply cannot be pushed nor stretched. A little only and they complain that they are too stressed out. And according to enrolment, they are better in terms of A level results compared to intake during our time. We are talking about the 3 'A's and 2 'A's, 1 'B' type of cohort.

Thanx mummies for the reply.
So doesn't mean watch the disc will be able to read lah. I jus wanna know if the disc really works...keke
Cos when I know my friend's son can read n is becos of the disc I was so surprised. Tot I can lazy n jus use the disc again dun have to crack my head to teach D....hehehe

But also D really dislike the disc leh but Ember likes though she's abit young for me to want to expose her to the disc everyday.

I want them to enjoy their childhood which is why I actually tot of delaying, means no nursery for D n start only at K1. But then I worry he will find it hard to catch up "being in sch" n he can't recognise words yet so no choice go sch n learn abit unless he really can read then I can sin nang delay for another yr but he can't lor.....hahaha

Think I really got seperation anxiety leh. Cos I registered D for Nursery today n I feel so sad leh. I really dunno hw when sch starts. Maybe I'll be the 1 crying.....hahaha

Coral
keke U say u lazy I even more lazy. Very lazy to flash cards to him even cos he can't keep still n keep wanting to grab the cards. So the cards I made are still sitting there....hehe

Shirley
Oh really?? Ur sis said that huh.
D abit hard to stay still for long so I'm wondering hw to make him learn.
He's good in speech n talks alot n understands quite alot of things but he still can't recognise words n alphabets. Cracking my head hw to make it interesting for him.

lilboymum
Thanx. But u know lah we'll always worry n I'm a super boliao thinker. Everyday also think of something to worry abt....keke

Dor,
Ha, when you talk about separation anxiety, you remind me of myself. I was with K on the first 3 days of school and on the 3rd day, I was supposed to "disappear" from him when they bring him to the playground. I thought I steady pom pee pee, sure no problem. But wah, when I had to leave the group and make my way to the LRT station, I so want to cry! It was then that I realised I was the one with separation anxiety! Haha.

If D doesn't like Baby Can Read, you can try the other DVD from the Leapfrog series. I cannot remember if you mentioned D likes Letter Factory? If he does, there is another DVD called Code Word Caper (or something like that) which introduces words. If you have Playhouse Disney channel at home, Word World is another good one. K doesn't watch all these regularly, so I cannot comment if they will really work. But I have catch a glimpse here and there of these programmes before and thought they have their interesting way of teaching recognition of words.

Dor
eh why are you interested in teaching word recognition now?hmm IMHO..maybe not that important at thsi stage. i know of many younger students who are good at recognising words but cant really read.Reading is more than word recognition and sometimes when a child is too bend on recognising words, it hampers the smoothness of reading.

at the language level, word recognition is not necessarily the prerequisite to reading.

if you are a lazy mummy like me, you can try reading. get a few books then nua on bed to read to him...haha. i find it a very good way to read (and mkake you feel less guilty, then for me to laze around) it builds a reading habit and its a very good way to make them independent readers/learners in the future.

pups
D hates the leapfrog dvd too.......sigh
I wonder why all those that has more words in it he dislikes. Even if I jus play it in the hope he'll catch something, its useless. Cos always he will miss the word or letter part n jus look at the picture......sigh
I already give up with the disc cos he would make noise once I switch it on n want me to change disc.

My only worry when D start sch is I will cry when I stand outside the class watching him. Then will be so MALU....hahaha
Now still trying to get used to the idea of my son going sch ALONE next yr....sob sob

lilboymum
I realised D doesn't like to look at words or alphabets. Even when I read to him he will refuse to look at the words even those books with 2 words only, I have to make a big effort n only some pages I succeed kind. Try very hard to make it interesting n he will remember when he see the book(not the words).

N until now I dun think he can really recognise any alphabets or words. Though he would surprise me sometimes by pointing out correctly some alphabets on his own when we r outside. But if I were to ask him he would not be able to tell me at all.
So it really confuses me sometimes as I'm not sure if he knows or not. N whether I'm doing it right or wrong for him. N seems to me at this age most can recognise very simple words they always see already. Or No?? the kids r jus faster?

I jus hope to make learning easier n more fun for him if he already knows the basic n can pickup easily. I dun want him to be too stressed in sch next time trying to cope n fear or hate sch. At least if he finds it enjoyable to learn it'll be good for him next time.
But think as usual, I'm thinking alot more 'ahead' liao.....hehe

TV time
I'll always tot D dun really watch TV. But now that he's older he seems to have some programs that he likes to watch. N even sings the song suddenly.
But some of those he wanna watch is not what I prefer him to watch leh. Some I'm glad he likes cos got abit documentry abt animals or countries. But there is 1 cartoon called "Fareez" or something like that abt faries. I tot he was trying to be defiant when I tried to switch channels cos he is not looking at the TV but playing with his toys all the time. But he can tell me he wants to watch the butterfly show. N then he suddenly sang the song from the show when hubby came back. Wah I nearly want to faint leh.

N these few days he suddenly sang "Spongebob square pants" which must be caught from the commercials cos we've not watched that program at all. Jialat these things he learn so fast.

Doreen,
Dun stress yourself too much. It's not about recognising words, knowing letters at this age.
Jaslyn started pre-N this Jan, and she doesn't recognise a single letter nor number. I doubt she knows the colour as well. Schooling is not all about knowing letters or recognising words or even reading. Preschooling is about fun, learning to socialise and interaction, learning respect with peers. I believe you are spending a lot of time with Damien, both bonding and learning. Enjoy the pace and time that you have with Damien.
One of the teachers once told me, it doesn't matter if the kids are not looking into the book, or concentrating to what you are talking. The kids are observing and picking up secretly without us knowing. They will surprise us once the time is riped. And all just come in with the flow.

Jenny
I heard before the "The kids are observing and picking up secretly without us knowing" but then I see D also still so bochap n never see the words at all hw to even learn secretly.
At least if he looks at the words I not so worried, cos I scared he will hate reading n jus look at pics kind (like my hubby!!).
Actually feel very guilty cos I'm home with him n most of the time he's playing with his toys by himself while I'm hoping n crossing my fingers he learns something from that too......hehe

Part of me know the "when time is ripe" they will know but another part of me is the "what if time ripe n shows that he can't??" I rather be more prepared then to panic n beat myself up over it later.

dor
there's nothign wrong with looking at pictures lah. even proficient readers look at pictures. they build their interest in reading first by looking at pictures coz it makes more sense, then later the words...they will figure it out.

think one thing being a sahm is the berating you get (from yourself) when your child doesnt seem to be learning. then you feel aiya what have you been doing all these while.but rem at this age, school isnt really about learning. i know of many preschools that hardly teach, so i dun think D is really missing out at this point in terms of learning.

just read more to him, whatever he likes to read.CY likes diggers and construction sites, so i do get more books for him on these...something like that la..

lilboymum
Hmmmmm so maybe I could have delayed his nursery too huh. Aiyah but I registered him already leh......hehehe

Yah, you got that right cos i'm always with him the stress is on myself. Cos if I've been trying to teach him he should (my thinking)"by right" catch alittle of what I've been teaching ma so that I know I'm on the right track. But when he doesn't show that he likes or know that thing really make me scratch my head big time. Esp when I dun have so much time to teach him, with the other little 1 wriggling all abt.

I have some 2nd hand books somebody pass to my mil for us. Those I really like cos its alot of 2 words. I think its good for learning n imagination. Still D jus hates looking at the words no matter how long he's looked at the pictures.........sigh
Maybe should get hubby to read with him instead so they can both learn together then I dun get so stressed n keep thinking.....hehe

Dor..
hahahah...i like your 'so they can both learn together'...kakak, dun let your hb see this!!

for cy i wanted to start him on nursery and registered him at NAFA and got vacancy liaoz, but then im moving second half of this year so haiz, will see if there are any nice kindy or playgroups near the new place. if not, just let him stay at home bah..

Dor, don't feel so stress leh. I think most of our kids don't look at the words. For Char we read to her everynight, but usually it is story telling with the pics. i don't even bother to read the words, I make up the story to be relevant to her. I prefer to have her enjoy the book & "the reading process" than to have her start learning how to read the words. And tell you, they do learn secretly. I've never taught Char how to sing "Do a deer..." but on Sat when my FIL asked if she knows how to sing this song, she surprised us with 80% of the lyrics correct. I've played this song for her on CD before. So even if she can't write, or draw or read, we know she's learning something by experiencing the things around her daily. She's now into being a teacher, (think it's partly due to loneliness) she'll line her softtoys on the floor and start teaching and disciplining them the way we or the teachers in class did...so it shows to me that she's listening to us even though whenever we talk to her, she'll turn away to play or pretend to talk about other things...And like what the other Mums say, they catch up at a certain age. I remember when I was young I only know how to speak hokkien and my uncle laughed at me cos his kids were so fluent in Mandarin and in primary one my teacher laughed at me when I had difficulty asking her some questions and said don't speak if you can't speak English. Well, I proved to them later that I can do well in life too when given the right education later on.
So let our kiddos enjoy their time now. If they're interested to learn more, we'll help, if not let's just keep to their pace for now...Happy Mummies, Happy Kiddos!

Btw gynae say I'm 1cm dilated, can pop soon. Counting down...Char super sticky now.

Coral,
Wow...so excited for you. soon your lil baby will in your cuddle. jia you!

lilboymum,
wow..you got a vacancy at NAFA for CY? congrats!
where you going to move? still in east area?

Dor,
yeah...like other mommies said, dun stress yourself. In fact, i found D very good liao, he can sing song, communicate with you and even talk to Ember, right?
I still waiting A to start a conversation with me but he is not. But he do recognise the alphabelt and numbers. Lazy me, still haven't find a school for him yet.

jasmine
no im moving north temporarily coz hb work place moving north next year. so will have to give up the spot at NAFA. sian hor...

coral
have a smooth delivery!!!is char excited to have a new sibling?

lilboymum
Oh so means u dun intend to continue CY there after u move?? I'm very tempted to keep D at home for another yr cos Nursery is also very rare in our time ma but I did attend lah....hehe
But cos I dunno where else I good for him to go socialise(think I'm bit lazy to go find again) So think jus put him in nursery bah since he keeps nagging to go sch as well.

Coral
Haha same here. D now everyday say he is "lao shi" n he will take the book n teach us.....keke
They learn so fast hor. D also like songs now he learn so fast. He normally dun sing out when we sing then now he starts singing songs he hears from CD, his sch, tv, everywhere infact.
But u know lah so fustraing when he hears 1 song then he can start singing at home then here I am trying to teach him something but he doesn't wanna learn.....sigh
I know maybe cos it doesn't interest him but I still feel qi gek lor......hahaha

Something else to occupy ur mind liao huh. Wish u smooth delivery okie.

Jasmine
Think I belong to the kan cheong mummy kind lah then plus very stress now D everyday so naughty. I keep wondering if he only gets deciplined by me only n dun get anymore love n attention anymore.
Most importantly I dun have alot of patience n not the kind who can sit n wait...heehe
So I always must find something to occupy my mind n do something. Then I end up with too many half done things n thinking too much stilll......hahaha

pups
Ur confinement ended already?

doreen,
looking at pics are not that bad. they will form their own imagination to "tell a story". Remember during sch days, we had to tell story from a pc of pic? Erm... english oral.
I dun read to the gals. Usually they take books to "read" on their own, while I'm surfing net or playing games =P Sometimes they will bring the books to me and tell me the story in it (they imagine one lah).
I'm like you, think of doing this doing that, teach them that teach them this, but my butt is not moving **haiz**
I know how "qi gek" you are. I'm also not the one who have lots of patience. Last weekend, I almost vomit blood from Jolene. Teaching own kids is not easy. And I dunno why, Jaslyn seems to be very notti recently.
I saluate yr mindset of being sahm to provide for the 2 kids. It's not easy, and I dunno when I'm ready or will I be ever ready. Cos there's so much to give up to be a sahm.

lilboymum,
I can't be fully agreed with what you posted.
I always tot teachers (or ex-teachers hor) will be quite strict (or rather KS) with teaching their kids.
My cousin is one of them. You are so relax with yours

coral,
Oh Charlotte is also into "teaching"? Jaslyn also leh. Very funny... sometimes I hide in a corner to watch her "teach the children". Yeap, she called the soft toys "children".
Looks like you are going to due soon. Do enjoy yr time with Charlotte now.

Dor,
Yes. Confinement ended a week ago. I survived cooking my own meals and boiling my own herbs! Heh. Which may explain why I don't feel much now that confinement has ended cos it is an extension of what I have been doing in the previous week. Baby has been keeping me up a lot at night and doesn't help that she keep waking up in the day the moment I place her in her cot. I end up with no naps during the day also.

Dor, why be qi gek? The fact that you know D is learning is great. They learn different things at different stage. Think they're into singing and dancing now, so why not capitalise on that and let him enjoy this stage, and when he's more interested in words then you work harder on that aspect? I love to hear Char sing though it's more like chanting most of the time, but it's so fun to see her enjoying herself.

Jenny, these xiao lao shi are cute hor. Char's a Chinese treacher so she likes to call hers xiao peng you. Haha.

Pups, I'm already in the panda club, nt sure why but since last week I've been waking at 4+am and 5+am can't sleep at night, think my body preparing for it man.

lilboymum, jasmine, thanks for your well wishes. But I suspect I won't pop so soon leh, cos I don't feel "it" yet.

jenny
ahhhh...im a kiasu mummy too :p...i do some activities with cy at home, like flashcards, mazes, tracing, numbers etc...and lotsa lotsa reading..hahahah...im relax in the sense that im ok even if he doesnt wan to pick up the skills. to me, they will even out eventually in terms of scholastic learning, but it's the character building that sets them apart once they are older. ive seen too many 'geniuses' gone to wasteland coz of weak character or soft nature...so in as much as i try my best in my capacity at home to teach him, i hope also to focus on his character building...eg not to bully meimei, not to bite meimei, not to pluck meimei's hair etc...:p

coral
cy cannot sing for nuts. i mean the words are there, but his pronunciation is terrible and he cant hold a tune for nuts...really, many mummy firend didnt believe it when i told them cy cant sing, until they hear him try to 'sing'..and they went...eh...what is he doing??should see their face when i told them, singing...

dor
no cy 's due to start next year, but since moving this year end, so wont start him there at all
but i did register ch (my lil girl) there, coz she will most likely go when cy's going to school and by then we'll move somewhere nearer east...

lilboymum, I don't blame Char for not being able to sing too cos hb and I can't sing. Haha, but we know it's singing cos that's how we sing. hahaha.

Can upload video here? I have her "singing"a song captured on video. She can singing twinkle little star and baba black sheep better, but not she likes to sing chinese songs. Or should I say chant? Hahaha.

Jenny
Be sahm dun need to think 1 jus go cold turkey 1 shot then get used to it lor......hahaha
D also very naughty nowadays, I always tot it was the worse already then it gets alittle better then gets worse!! Jialat aah. I see him now I'm so scared, now 2 yrs old already so stubborn. Then during the teenage rebellious yrs hw???
Told hubby I probably will have heart attack n die at home....hahaha

Coral
Not only qi gek but will vomit blood sometimes....hehe
U know when teaching something but he jus dun seem to learn that thing. But other things jus 1 glance he remembers it....arghhhh
D too yest night I ask him. "U are Teacher is it??" He said "NO". So I asked him "Not teacher then is lao shi?"
He said "YES"....hahaha
So being teacher is a phase too huh since so many is at it at the same time.....hehe

U can upload on youtube or facebook then post the link here.

lilboymum
" not to bite meimei, not to pluck meimei's hair " CY does??? Hw to pluck meimei hair??...hahaha
D is very extreme. He either loves meimei (keeps hugging n kissing n trying to carry) or he will jus keep pushing her away or ignore her or can suddenly jus piak her face when he walk past. Though he will say sorry but that's not the point right??...sigh Really dunno wat to make of it.
But if I ask hubby to take meimei out to throw if he doesn't want meimei he will refuse n say he wants meimei.

I'm trying to toughen up D as well cos he now always go "I scared".....sigh
Doesn't help that cos he's naughtier now my dad always uses something to scare him to not do something. Then I gotta take so long to undo the scare.
N he's scared of anything that vibrates while E loves them n will laugh.

U dun wanna try let CY take sch bus alone aah? Cos the sch is good right?

Singing
D holds a tune very well. Sometimes when he starts singing something new n can't really pronounce the words, I jus try to listen n can normally guess what he's singing....hehe

BTW I'm so happy with my recent purchase.

I bought the leapfrog Tag system n jus received it. D so excited n once he opened it he started 'reading'. Think cos he likes to hold pen n write now so its good for him.
He will keep pointing to the letters n pics n sometimes repeat what it says.
I'm so happy...finally something I bought D likes so much.....haha

Dor, congrats so now your effort pays off. I'll try that, but frankly, I've never upload video before, what's more it was recorded on my blackberry, so this tech idiot really gotta figure it out...Hope Char won;t kill me for showing off her chanting. ;P

lilboymum,
It's very good liao. Teacher mothers who I know, are not so relax when their kids don't pick up what they teach. It's good that you are relax with this.
Yes, I agreed with the character building that you mentioned. Very hard to "teach" on this.

doreen,
dun need to think? I think I've been thinking too much recently hahaha..
My plan is to quit when Jolene enters pri sch. But I'm not sure if I am or will be ready by then. Tell me more abt it, so I get the cold turkey faster and it will go off faster LOL

Singing
Aiyo, headache issue! My gals hor, practically every morning open the eyes, start their singing all the way till they sleep!!! Jaslyn can sings pretty good, I would say. I think the church teaches 1 new song every week. Keep hearing new songs till I wanna "toh long" her to stop.
During our trip last mth, maybe Jaslyn knew we were overseas, must held hands. She only held mine through out the whole trip. Suddenly could let go my hand, and started to sing with actions. Then finished, held back my hands. Personally I found it v funny.

dor
cy's got very good pincer grip...he goes for meimei's hair always...

yah la, dunno if it's a guy;s thing, hot and cold treatment...cy does that too, wanna hug hug, then suddenly squeeze her..aiyo!

coral
ah,..show us a video! :p will char sing in front of camera, coz whenever i whip out my camera, cy freezes...

Jenny
If you still prefer to work then good ma right?? Jus continue to work lor. At least u have a choice to sah n if need be can jus quit dun have to think at all ma right?? At least u still have ur mum who cares so much for ur kids.
I think too much lah that's why I cannot find a satisfied caregiver. Plus cos I think so much if anything happens to the kids I will never be able to forgive myself. N then hw blame the person who caused it forever meh.
So best is I take care lor, anything happen also blame myself n my fault alone ma.

lilboymum
Oh I jus realised D's pincer grip like not that good. Cos he always endup using almost all his fingers.

When I whip out the camera D will suddenly stop what he's doing n give me a BIG smile too.....hahaha

Coral
See if it helps.
Normally video or photo on hp I will bluetooth it to my laptop. Then it will be in the bluetooth folders.
Then can jus upload onto youtube or FB(less then 2min clip) liao

hi liboymum,

same here, whenever we take the camera/hp, tricia will freeze and try to snatch the camera/hp. so didi quite poor thing, very few pics compared to jie jie, as we are not able to take proper shots of him.
oh ya, no need to be a guy then will have this hot/cold treatment, tricia also do that to her didi also...

lilboymum,
pity that CY will have to give up his place at NAFA. Why is it that you all have to shift north? Can't you just stay put at the current place while your hubby travels further for work? Easier for the adult to travel since SG is not that big.

not sure how to start...
recently me and hb can quarrel easily or our conversation can be quite heated too... suprising, it may be directly or indirectly, to do with the kids. *sigh*
when we just have tricia only, still not that bad but now after having tristan, we even seldom talk now...
i'm thinking whether partially is it due to the reason that i'm temporarily working from home and come into more contact with the kids, make me very pek chek, plus for 4 wks, we had to survive without a maid...
yes, he does have his work stress too, but have to spare a thought for me and my mum too, right? esp i still have to help my mum with the housework and the kids and my work, which sometimes I can only continue with it late into the night when both the kids are asleep...
esp last last sun, really really make my blood boil, as usual, tricia is throwing a tantrum (worse when daddy is around) and he cant tahan it, "escape" back to our own house, again left to me and my mum to take care. supposed to go to my MIL place in the afternoon, me wanted to let tricia sleep before going, as i know she won't sleep well over at my MIL place... guess what he say? wait till she wake up, what time liao? furthermore the rain was on/off, so decided to wait for the rain to stop. but too bad, the whole afternoon, the weather is like that, so decided not to go liao... my hb stay away till dinner time and when he's back, pull a long face... what's this? am i wrong in letting tricia sleep 1st before going out? not that i dont want to go to my MIL place, but this type of weather how to go? if both of them do get sick, ultimately who's the one taking care of them?

sorry mummies, for the long posting, maybe cos i'm cooped up in the house and cant really complain to my mum or else, she will then handle everything herself again and ask me to go back office. though my maid is here already but she's being new, me still need to be around for awhile...

Dor,
At least D stops everything and gives you a smile. For K, he will STOP smiling upon seeing the camera and give the most serious look (think in the olden days when people are always photographed looking damn chao bin). Either that or when we ask him to smile, he will scrunch up his whole face! *faint*

Gemini,
I guess staying at home does contribute to that. Our stress and frustration of trying to run the household and getting a 1001 things done all at once will make us more short-fused and even more so when we perceive that our other halves are not doing their part or could have done more. I was feeling the same way over the weekend and snapped at hubby once or twice also.
When I finally had some me time yesterday cos I got my parents to babysit baby K for a few hours while I went to claim a long awaited free hair spa, I chatted with hubby on sms. It started with some other topics but eventually led to me telling him about my frustrations. That also got him to open up to tell me how he felt about things and how he perceive things to be. I have got to say the sms trail could have led to another arguement if I had allow it. But I took it in good light as a critical feedback (I mean, it is good to know how he feels and even better not to do so face to face as other emotions may come into play). And I actually made use of some coaching skills (unintentionally) to coach him and get him to come into a partnership with me to work on perfecting how we function now with this new family dynamics (after baby K comes along).

Hey, we are so near each other now. Will it help if we meet up for a short while for you to get escape away from your daily routine and just rant and vent to me? ;) Just let me know. We can arrange to meet at CP. I can stroller baby K along so long as weather is not too horrid
SMS me.

lilboymum, Char will not sing properly when she knows there's a camera, she'll speed up her sining and like the idols treatting the paparazzi, she'll come snatch my camera and say ni bu yao pai zhao. So for the links I'll try to upload on Thurs, you'll see her singing at bullet train speed compared to her normal careful pronounciation of each words.

Dor, I figure out how to download, cos mine's a mini SD card just need to slot into my laptop, but dunno why my laptop can't read the card ydaya, since busy clearing work for the last day today, I shall attempt again tomorrow.

Gemini, things are just different when we have kids. Not sure if it's a consolation, but I find many women having to juggle much more then men. I've been where you are and can say I'm still there, even though I only have 1 kid so far...My mum doesn't want a maid so I'm really stuck, (frankly I dont want maid too) but at times work and home is really stretching me. Men feel that they have lotsa work stress, how abt us? Dont we? Well...even with a big stomach I'm still climbing ladder to pack the house, etc. But frankly for the sake of my kids I'm much more tolerant of alot of things. Though I still flare up now and then. Some men simply dont feel that they need to play a big role at home, and I realise this can't be changed easily...upbringing plays a big big part. I know it's gonna be a tiring journey when no. 2 comes along, I'm not sure if I'm prepared for it, but I trust I have enough love and courage in me to go through it. Can't really help you cos I'm in the same deep shit. Haha, don't know what makes me have the courage to hv no. 2 but think it's my love for Char to want her to have a sibling ba. Hb told me he's likely to go US for a week during my confinement, well, the same happened during Char's time.So nothing new, I'll just cope. And I've told myself it's always better to be independent though parenting should be a shared responsibility, sometimes one party just have to put in more and everythign at home will be peaceful and nice for the kids. That's all I want now. So with that in mind, everythings else gets easier. Else I'll still be stuck in depression.
Hope you'll feel better soon.

Gemini,

Gemini , me also. We also quarrel easily over kids ..These few days cold war becos of me wanting to put M into CC cos his "theory" is that Mother is the best teacher ..mother is the best playmate .In end i got to abort the idea . I completely drainnnnnn out .

Coral,
You are using Media Player? For .3GP files, try using quicktime or real player to view them. However, I think files of these format cannot go onto youtube.

pups, any way to convert them to .wav? Hmm..I'm quite clueless when it comes to such thing, that's why the video I took of Char since day 1 still in the videocam...

bbgrace
we sold our flat in the east coz the price is good now.trying to free up more cash and our flat is very old anyway (around 30 years), so reckon wont fetch the same price again...looking for properties around but seems mass market is still holding on well

anway, moving to yishun an old devt bought a couple of years back. the rental was good but..o well...with such economic situation, you never know.the place is nice for kiddoes growing up lah, near bottletree village, seletar reservoir, so lotsa walks and nature for the kids.

gemini
is tricia in cc orplaygroup. its tough working form home, where there is no line separating work form home life. and have to consider home is unlike workplace, things cannot be run in all efficiency and effectiveness we do at work.home is where mess is, and tolerated, where kids throw tantrums and mess things up..maybe if you take and accept the unsettledness it'll be better?but yes, it is crazy with two kids. i dun think it'll ever stop being crazy, even when they are older...you working from home for long, tough ...

hi pups/coral,

thks for your feeback/encouragement. at least i'm not alone.

hi coral,

fully agree with your statement. no matter what happens, mummies will always be the one to be there for the kids. initially, i do not even want to have #2 but then it will be too lonely for tricia. that's why i stopping at 2, dont think i have any more energy for #3.

hi mango,

then let M go playgroup or some enrichment classes, at least she can have some social interaction wtih other kids...

hi lilboymum,

tricia is in half day CC. lucky thing, my working from home is a temporarily thing and (hopefully) i can go back office next week.

Gemini
Think ur hubby not used to you complaining abt hse stuff is it??...hehehe
I will make my hubby help with the kids or get used to the kids. If they throw tantrum either he handle or he handle the other 1 while I take care of it. Cos to me its both our kids lor not mine alone. If he escape, will kanna from me at night when the kids are asleep....hehehe
Yah weather very bad aah. Guys dun think like us. To them go out jus GO nia no big deal.

Coral
Can it view on Quicktime?? For me I will jus bochap n try to download. Cos some can accept other kinds of format....hehe
Else would need to convert. Guess the software tat comes with ur mobile might have a converter.

Mango
Man hor say very easy. Mother is the best of everything. I told my hubby he is same as Damien. Thinking same attitude same everything also same. Like how I tell D I also must tell him, Mama only have 2 arms, not superwoman or spider.
Jus yest I was feeding E n D also keep making noise want porridge so I told him to wait. HUbby came back but didn't help any even though he obviously heard D(unless he's deaf again). N he can still stand outside want to pack my empty boxes.
Okie pack nemind still keep shouting to me n expecting me to tell him which 1 I need which 1 I dun need. Arrrgghhh.....so angry I totally ignored him!!!

So long never post photo already. So I post lah keep the mood high.....hehe

See my little E also start to look more n more like her korkor already.
2355154.jpg

N this little ballerina.
Shirley, inspired by lele.....hehe
2355155.jpg