(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Dor

yes, pls include me for the drugstore spree
PM me if u need me to trf $ to u as i dun get to chk the thread often

Jenny
i got the orange flavour one for the Pureen toothpaste
looks like i got to buy all the avail toothpaste i can find in spore and US for the 1st teeth replacement.. hehe...

babe,
You try strawberry flavour for Pearlyn?
When I change Jolene's toothpaste, I bought the Pigeon orange flavour, and she didn't like it. I bought another tube with strawberry flavour, she loved it.

Jenny, my boys are using the kodomo grape now. I've got one more Pureen but cant remember orange or grape. I will get them mint the next round. I agree with your hb, mint is better.. let them get used to the 'taste'. The flavoured toothpaste smells so sweet hor.. i wonder if the kiddos could have mistaken them as sweets.

Jlyn,
Yr pureen must be orange lah, cos pureen doesn't have grape flavou.
Ya, I agree with hb but at that point, I was thinking if mint is too strong for Jaslyn to take it. But ended, I took the mint haha.
I never smell Jolene's colgate before.
But I do agree with you, the sweet sweet taste may mislead them.
Actually, during the HK trip, my mum got the adult toothpaste for Jolene to use (mum forgot Jolene's colgate which was placed just beside). She told me, Jolene was using it well. My guess was her kids colgate also got the mint taste, so she can tahan adult's one too.

Dor, I failed with Char last nite, she's like D, doesn't want the Eeeee sound when brushing. Think I will buy the pureen toothpaste locally faster and cheaper ;)

Jenny, no the kind that people do and frame up for the newborn. Thinking of doing one with the print of #2, Char, hb and myself....Hee, I wonder f Char would use mint cos she'll definitely say hot. How does Jas takes it? OR have not started using yet?

coral,
united sq got a shop does that.
Hospital also will have mah, after you deliver, got the sales promoter to come in to promo their package de.
Haven't start yet, Jas will comes home on Fri evening. Will let her try tomorrow.

Jenny,
haha...my last dentist visit was 2 yrs ago.
pureen toothpaste got mint flavour huh? shall buy it and let A try this friday evening too.

dunno he like it or not since he scared of 辣。

btw, talking abt pureen as product of msia, some of their product not bad. my niece & nephew grow up with this product.

Pups,
Alvis not only eat tat toothpaste, he even bite the toothbrush, can see all the bite marks on his toothbrush.

updates
--------
Alvis already stay at IL place for a week. I went there to visit him everyday after work. He so happy to see me & hb. When near his bedtime, he even grab me & hb 's hand to a room which he usually took his nap & just want his own family time. I leave after pass him a bottle of milk. He guai guai follow SIL to bedroom w/o fuss.
I dunno whether he understand on this arrangement or not although i'm been telling him abt this but he din bother abt it (cos he still cant speak in sentence yet), but i'm glad that he can settle down quite well.

now it's time for me to find a school for him.

Jasmine,
Mint one looks like this, green packaging.
2310826.jpg

Ya I remember pureen got 1 body wash smells nice, but I dun like its shampoo. Very dry after use.

I believe Alvis will get use to the routine soon. Some more it's not a change in environment. Maybe you should start worry how he will react when he's back to your own home. That's what happened to me before during Jolene's time and is happening to me now again! **Argh**

I mean now refers to Jaslyn. Now her turn to fuss when we are going home every Fri evening! She will cry, fuss, make ugly scene just to stay at Po Po's house. Even back at home (Fri night to Sun), she will not forget to remind me that she wants to go Po Po's house. **faint**

Jenny,
It's only sell at KP, how abt those supermarket like NTUC or SNS, i dun think see this brand of toothpaste at Giant lel.
The environment did change, just the ppl ard him din change.
hahaha...how come both of them prefer to stay at your mom place, more ppl, more merrier?

Jasmine,
I dunno wor. So far I only know kiddy palace.
Guardian, Cold storage, ntuc etc all dun sell. I searched liao.
Oh yr IL also move already? Not a prob cos they are the main caretaker mah.
Jolene won't fuss, only at some days, she suddenly decides she wants to be with Po Po over the weekend, then she will fuss, but when talk to her nicely, eg. remind her she needs to go for her swimming, if she doesn't go, her bf will miss her etc... she will guai guai go home with us.
For Jaslyn ah, I have to drag her. Sometimes the maid will act with us to go home, then maid will suddenly say "oh forget my bag, jaslyn i go back take bag hor". There's a few occasion, Jaslyn cried all the way home. Just let her be go, she tired, she will stop her nonsense.
My gals very closed with Po Po mah, will out of the sudden miss her and wanna go back Po Po's home. But when go back, they ignore my mum or make her angry hahaha..
Aiya 祖孙情, we won't understand one lah. Wait till we become grandma then will understand.

Jenny,
Ic. thanks ..will check out KP later.
yeah..we move out together.
can't blame them, they stay with your mum when you back to work after ML, right? sure they closed to your mum, think they also close to your bro & sis, right?

Jasmine,
Jolene is very closed to my sis and sis bf. We went trip, if my sis and bf got go, she will be their "daughter" hahaha
Jaslyn ok lah, she wants me more haha...

silver anklet
=============
hey mummies, u know where got sell? Perlini Silver have???:p
tristan gold anklet has come loose and one of the charm has dropped off. so might as well get him a silver one so that next time he go school can also wear.

hello mummies....
again, juz a short post b4 back to e mountain n mountains of work....

jenny,
i was like jaslyn last time leh... stay with my granny frm mon-fri, only fri nite my mum come to pick me up to go home... i remember it myself that i once cried n fussed n threw hell of a tantrum saying i dont want my mum, i wana go back to Po Po house.... somehow tat incident "haunted" me when i was going to become a mummy myself... so i never considered leaving my kids with my parents for e week cos i never want to be heartbroken like tat.....
but still.... last week i was working at e FJB Sale frm Wed - Sat mah... so go home e kids sleepin, wake up go to work they juz woke up, never got to see them much or play with them... yesterday ayden look at me in e morning like im a stranger like tat... so sad.....

kids toothpaste
eh... up to now ayden still using only water to brush his teeth leh... cos he still dont know how to spit out e water, altho we've been teaching him tat for months liaoz... he juz swallows everything... *eeek*... so i dont dare to get toothpaste for him yet lor.....
btw, what kind of toothbrush ur kids using huh??? cos i got e "kodomo" toothbrush for 2-3yrs old one for ayden... n he only few days already wear them out liaoz leh... is it too soft for him already????

coral,
i have 1 of those handprint sets leh... it was free gift when i did e "tai mao bi" for belle... u wan??? i give to u for free... but its do it yourself one.... somehow i juz never got e time / interest to do it lor..... u email me if u wan??? cos i hardly come in here liaoz....

dentist,
eh... any of u need a recommendation hor, let me know hor... i got the BEST dentist to recommend. been seeing him since my school days liaoz... he's super gentle, very very polite... he'll let you know what he's doing, then will keep saying "sorry ar, its going to hurt abit/its going to feel like......." n very very reassuring lor. i had retainers done by him, removed 1 wisdom tooth by surgery by him... n recently went back to him for another wisdom tooth extraction. i swear, it was almost painless (except for when he was injecting e anasthetic lah...). even after 4hrs when e anasthetic wore off hor, i didnt feel any pain, no need to take painkiller at all.... but his charges not very cheap lah, normal cleaning cost abt $50+++... my wisdom tooth extraction cost $80...

ok, back to being a slave liaoz.... ciao!!!

Jlyn,
I also bought the same toothbrush for A.

and last fri i gave him pureen mint flavour toothpaste, he immediately 'pui' out the toothpast & give me the funny face. wahahahaha..but very soon he get used to it liao.

Gemini,
yeah...think becos he used to stay with them all day. so tat's no problem for him.

Starz,
Alvis also dunno how to split water yet, tat's why i give him those safe for toodlers toothpaste. but i just give him let get the the idea of brushing teeth.
sometimes really no choice that have to separate with our childs. Alvis also stay with ILs mon-friday, we only bring him back on friday nite, sometimes even sat afternoon cos i working on sat (if hb able to handle, then will bring him back on fri nite), but at least he under good care lol.

how is ayden?

Gemini,
Some gold shops also sell. You may wanna check it out. I got it at $30 for Jaslyn.
Actually Jolene's one also spoil, and I wanna get her one too. But my dad commented Jolene so big liao still wear, very noisy.
Till now I have yet to get one for her. It's not the sound that I want, just hiao lah, cos I have one myself also.

starz,
My bro and I were apart since young and we got to stay together until my mum quited her job to be sahm, partly becos she was preggied with my sis and her company pulled out from SG then. My bro and I were staying separately with the 2 grandmas. Both of us went home only on weekends. We were closed to our mum.
My gals's situation is the same as me, just that the difference is both gals are with 1 grandma. Actually there is no problem with the current arrangement. In fact, I have to admit, after I had my gals, the relationships in the family bonded even closer than before. Although Jaslyn occasionally will fuss not to go home, but is not to the extent that "she doesn't mummy" that kind of stage. She will tell me "i love mummy". Hmm you know what I mean? Though the gals stay at my mum place on weekdays overnight, they are still close to hb and me. On weekdays if we go over my mum place, when we are leaving, Jaslyn will cry and not let me go. Then Jolene will "scold" her "mei mei, mummy has to work tomorrow, cannot cry". I always feel Jolene is a sensible gal and machiam like guan jia po.
This morning, Jaslyn came to my bed (at my mum's place) and woke me up "mummy, qi lai le". I woke up and saw her smiling so sweet, so cute haha.

Toothbrush - My gals are using kodomo, but is the range for 6 years and above, and it doesn't wear out fast. The range for 2-3 years too small for them to brush.

Dentist - Yours sound like mine, will give "warnings" and keep saying sorry and his charges v ex. But I have probia with dentist haha. Unless got prob, if not I won't go to him.

Jasmine,
You were asking abt how jaslyn reacted to the mint toothpaste right?
She said "la la" but get used v fast. In fact, she likes it.

Last 2 midnights, hb and I made it a point to wake up at 2am to get Jaslyn to pee. 1st midnight, hb went to wake her up, she went to pee and she asked hb , "we're going po po house ah?"
My hb said he wanna faint liao, 2am go po po house!
I told my mum yesteryday and she was laughing all the way.

Jenny,
I'm sure your mum must be very happy when she heard that Jaslyn missed her so much. hehe..
Jolene always give me the impression that she din sound like a 4 yers old girl, maybe she so much 'dong shi'.
Dunno lel..right now A also still stick to me even though he stay with ILs. I hope he continue love & stick to me ba.. hahaha..
well, alvis din say "la la" but give me the same face tat when he ate spicy food. hahaha...

hi jenny,

thks. cos now i'm still working from home, dont have a chance to go and check. Poh Heng definitely dont have it. hehee... the reason for letting tricia wear is for us to "hear" where's she.

haha... jaslyn really missed your mum so much...

hi5, got phobia with dentist too, unless really necessary, then will go

Jasmine,
Actually, if you and yr hb do your part, Alvis will still be close with you, as well as with the ppl at yr IL's side.
It will be tiring for parents but if you want yr son to be close with you, you must try to visit him during lunchtime or after work. I know you are doing this now, so dun worry this. Beside this, when it comes to weekend, plan bonding activities.
I told you Jolene is a guan jia po liao. Too much mature till she loses her cuteness sometimes, growing up too fast till I missed the pace.

Gemini,
Poh Heng doesn't have.
There's this jewellary shop called chin cheong or something like that, they sell. I bought from them before.
Perlini Silver all those silver shops will have, but is only a matter if they have those design for kids. Somehow, I find it difficult to find nice one for kids now.

Gemini
I always dunno when I wanna take off Damien's anklet. Then jus nice few mths ago it came off without D's knowledge so I jus kept it liao....hehe
U still want Tricia to wear till hw old?? Do schs allow wearing of anklets or they dun bother aah??

Starz, thanks for the offer, I'm looking for thsoe that's made professionally.Think like Jenny said in the hosp have such services.

Please allow me to grumble.
Am very sick but still gotta come back to work cos lots to clear. But I'm not angry with the company, more angry with my MIL.

She know she's very ill with cough but she lied to us that she's well, got us over, shared the food with us, then now my entire family is down with very bad cough and flu. I only knew she's still not recovered when she told my SIL over the phone that she's still coughing lots at note and can't sleep and she told my SIL not to bring the bb over. My blood just boil! Went to see doc and he says dangerous for me to eat med cos at 38wks can deliver anytime so the drowsiness can be dangerous for the bb. Char cough n puke can't eat her meals; me and hb cough till no sleep. Haiz, but what can I say MIL miss her granddaughter and want to see her but I feel that as an adult you should also care for others' health and not share food if you know you're ill.
Thanks for allowing me to let off my steam.

Coral
can understd how frustrating it is!
ur MIL can "warn" ur SIL but conveniently forget abt Char and ur unborn baby. Downright selfish!

The new maid that came over juz passed the flu bug to my niece last week coz she was sneezing the whole day w/o covering up, doing blatantly in front of the tods and NOT washing her hands. I only found out the next day when my niece was down wif fever & running nose. My mum told me and i was so mad, i told the maid off. Irresponsible!

Doreen,
I think if is childcare, they dun allow for safety purpose. Preschool no issue, cos wear inside the socks (but will have mark, so can't wear too tight for socks).

coral,
I'm very sure the one you are looking, can be found at united square. It's just ard the area where the BUM shop is.
Aiyo, yr MIL really... irresponsible leh.
Poor thing... I know how bad it is cos I coughed thr out the preggie period till my back and head pain

hi jenny,

chin cheong? think i got see this shop before in bedok interchange. near my office...

hi coral,

indeed ur MIL is very selfish. so sick, still share food with you. i heck care now, i got ask my MIL once, if she coughing and she can still say she not. but from that time onwards, if she's sick, she will call and tell us not to go over her place.

hi crystallised,

have to tell the maid sternly that next time if she's sick, have to wear a mask when handling the kids.

Coral,
aiyo..although your MIL missed Char so much but still have to consider both you & char ma..how can she just inform ur SIL but not you?
So, yo going to deliver soon? poor you...cant take medicine for cough.

Crystallized,
must buy mask for her & remind her on hygiene since there are two tods at your mum hse.

Jenny,
sometimes do feel tired lor but at least can accompany wif him few hrs already can see he is so happy wif us ard. luckily there is a direct buy frm there to my hse.
No wonder ppl said if give birth 1st one girl should be no worry because they can be a big jie jie to look after their siblings.

Gemini,
Ya, I bought Jaslyn's one from there.
Silver one is ok? I tot CC discourages all forms, no matter is earrings or anklet. Fake one also can't, cos the gal that my mum used to look after kena for her fake earrings. Reason very simple, CC scares the jewellery drops and cause danger to other kids.

Coral,
So sorry to hear that you are all sick due to somebody's "oversight". Actually there is a non-drowsy cough syrup (even if it states drowsy on the bottle, it is very very minimal but have to warn those who may be susceptible) which you can take even at this stage of pregnancy. It is called Duro Tuss Forte. You can just buy from a pharmacist. My gynae also prescribe this for his patients. Both you and hubby can take it. It is to suppress cough.

For Char, I hope she has seen a doctor or PD and gotten her relevant medications. Really hope for all of you to be well before you deliver.

Thanks Mummy. I just need to get it off my chest. Didn't want hb to be caught in btw so told him not to tell his mum off, but will try to hint to her subtly so as not to hurt the pride of the eldery.

Pups, thanks for the recommendation, will see if it's still bad tonite.

jenny, you're right, i cough till stomach and head pain. Sianz!

jRt, must start to educate the maid, they're usually less hygenic, but their body can take it. Not the Sporean kiddos.

Jenny, called United Square, they have shifted out a few months ago.But foudn one in KKH. The quote is not cheap for what I want to do. $600-$700. So now considering if I want to spend the money...

coral,
so fast move out? Wah liew they just open not long only.
Actually hospitals all have this package, and yes, not cheap lor. It is abt that pricing.

lilboymum,
actually i did ask my dentist abt checking on ayden's teeth when i went.... i also brought ayden into e room, cos wanted to let him see so he not so scared next time mah... he told me no need so soon, mayb after he's 3yrs old then need to... then i ask him how come other mummies/dentist are recommending around 1yrs old or once they get almost all their teeth in... he juz laughingly tell me since all those mummies "kiasu/kiasee", all e dentist "bank" on this and earn more lor....
he just made a "glove balloon" for ayden n ask me to bring him out.. dont wana scare him cos adult teeth cleaning n kids checking very different.....

starz
hmm..oic..coz most dentist recc we bring them for first checking at around2.5years old...and since he's coming to 2.5 thought might as well...
but i hate dental visists lah..hopefully it will turn out better for him...

lilboymum,
I believe he does check on kids...Its juz tat I asked 4 his advice if I Shd let ayden get checked, n he told me that lor... if u wan I can give u e contact n u can call to ask...

Your Baby Can Read Disc
-----------------------------------

Jus very curious. Cos I know quite afew mummies bought this disc for their kiddos, can I know if you really let ur bb watch everyday n hw many of them really can read already??

Cos I personally know someone who only allowed her son to watch tv after 2 yrs old. N she let him watch this series n her son really can read by himself before he turned 3. N the books that he reads aah really very cheem leh small writing with alot of words on every page kind. I'm really impressed.

And cos D still dun really like to watch the dics(will keep complaining to change disc or jus keep moving around) n I dun turn on everyday. He still totally cannot recognise any words at all, so no effect on him leh.

So very curious if the disc really works for ur kids too or my friend's son is a genius.
Actually I still think he's a genius.....hahaha

Dor dor, Char refused to watch the video so never watched and now also dunno where. But I read the book with her (during the first 8mths when I have not start full time job) and when she starts talking at 10mths, she can already recognise the words in the book. But I think it's more remember the pattern/font of the words in the book than being able to apply it to all other words in other books. She also can spell a few words (cat, dog, stop, go, ball, hand, etc)at 1+yr old, but then this lazy Mum got so busy with work after I started full time and nvr continue her education so i think she's stagnant liao. The woe of working mum again. But I nvr wish my gal is a genius so not disappointed that she's normal like now.

dor
zac loves to watch the disc but dont think he can read a book with small letters or any book yet. he will try to tell the story in simple words and always start telling the story to us saying " one day we went out to have fun" haha. he is not reading the words but using the picture to make up his own story. dont think he can recognise any words except his name. i think your friend's son is a genius. to read a book at such young age is quite amazing. i think D will learn in his own way, like lele she doesnt like baby can read but she pick up things from her kor kor like clapping, drinking from straw, sit down and wear shoes, toasting. she learn from observation while zac learn through instruction. so maybe you can see what method is best for D to learn. another self consolation is my sister who is a teacher says that it is not too good for the kids to learn too fast at a young age cos they will lose interest in learning as they grow older, sort of burnt out. let them enjoy their childhood

Jasmine/Gemini/Coral
i have the mask at home. Juz tt i din noe maid's sick. I told my mum to let me know the next time she falls sick. I'll let her wear the mask!
I dun allow poor personal hygiene in the house esp wif 2 kids. next time i catch her again, i'll still tell her off.

Dor
R still watches tt set of CD occasionally at my mum's, i think. At home he watches the other 2 sets of DVDs which he enjoys. One of the set teaches him words like "play, it, the, and, in" etc. I was surprised to find tt he recognises the words when flashed on the screen. But then again, i am not particular abt R recognising anything at this stage yet. So if he does, its juz a bonus. If he doesnt, its also fine wif me. R recognises colours, numbers, alphabets but my niece hardly recognises yet, esp the colours. in fact my sis suspects if her daughter got colour blind coz she cant seem to tell any colours except black.
So i guess its a matter of whether the child wants to absorb anot. both tods watches the same CD everyday. One can absorb, the other one doesn't. so no need to get too stressed up. they'll pick up things at their own pace. And once they do, u will b amazed at how fast they absorb.

doreen,
like shirley, I shared the same views as her, I want my kids to enjoy childhood for now. It's not fast learning is not good, but I prefer them to learn with sch/their own paces so that they won't lose interest fast. To me, moral rights are more impt than academic. I'm not kiasu/kiasi if my gals are behind other kids, but at least they are happy which is something that can't be bought with money. ABC is impt, but so what if one knows? I mean eventually all kids will know. At this age, I think motor skill and interaction are more impt. They learn from what they observe and see daily.
My personal view: if parents are willing to spend time to teach, at such age, they can actually pick up everything easily. But after years, when they reach the age of teenage, they are average out.

hi dor,

tricia love this disc.we used to let her see everyday but i think she dont know how to read words also, only know how to recognize ABCs & 123 & pictures. which i'm quite happy liao.
share the same view as jenny, let her enjoy childhood which should be fun & happy first. next time when proper schooling starts, no time for fun play.

Thank goodness there's still relaxed mothers around.Haha, I agree with all. At this age, it's better that our kids are happy and learn the right values than anything.
Just hope they won' have to grow up in a very competitive environment which Spore is. So told hb shouldn't send our kids to the very famous school else the pressure is really too much which I hear form some friends.