(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

pups
I plan to let him attend from Nursery onwards which means I have half a yr more before I have to decide where to place him.......hehe

Coral
Yah playgroup we are around but I have sort of let D get used to his Papa being the 1 to go sch with him. Even if I go to class with him he still wants his Papa back after the 2nd half. So I leave it as that hoping that when the time comes and he has to attend classes alone it might be easier for me to leave him as hubby confirm will not be able to go with us.

I'm not keen to start D in pre nursery cos he's at the "learning everything everyone does" stage right now. In JG class we will tell him what the other kids did is wrong when he tries to imitate. So if we're not around........
I dun wanna have to keep correcting him when we're home. So hopefully...(cross fingers) in 1 yr's time he will be more ready.

That said. He made me so malu that day in the train. This girl was tired so her mum ask her to seat at the side of the train door. D saw n he shouted so loud at her "Jie jie! Floor dirty, don't sit"....
So malu......hahaha

Hope Char's a brave little girl when she starts sch. And she so cute lah know how to act liao.....hahaha

Jasmine
Nope he staying home to help me teach Ember.....hahaha
Yah lor heng he still manage to hold her cos actually Ember alittle to heavy for him liao.

I guess for A to speak more, give him more time bah. N meanwhile speak to him in sentences. I try to add all the "to", "I want" these small little words to make D say longer sentences. When he ask me for something I will repeat it in the correct manner n he will follow me and say again so like that learn liao, cos now they learn very fast.

Adeline
Dun say your Kim complain so much D also lor. Sometimes very BTH 1. Everything meimei cannot touch 1. I call him the "guan jia gong" everything he will shout at her like reprimanding "Meimei CANNOT" then take away watever Ember took. Then will complain to me
"Meimei take remote" or "Meimei kick mama" or "pinch mama". All cannot 1 very fussy this boy. And he act like he is a very big boy now.

That day I scolded at him not to climb over the bedrail. i told him "Mien dun go so near. Later you fall down how?"
He promptly looked down over the bedrail at my dog.(Dog sleeps there).
D said "Teddy, dun go near. Later you fall down kok head pain pain HOW?"

pups
Wow K is asking qns now aah. Means he's keen to learn so clever. I'm still waiting for D to start asking. But maybe when he starts I'll regret.....hahaha
D now like mi mi lian gong, learn in secret everything he hears n sees n always stun us into silence when he unleashes his new learnt words. Like jus nw watching tv and the commercial came on he suddenly jus said "Guang Gao".
I was so shocked lor didn't know wat to say man. So jus kept quiet....hahaha

Coral,
K has been correcting our English too! There was once his daddy told him "pretend, pretend" and he told his daddy it should be "imagine". Last night, he asked me a question "mummy, what is the colour of the moon?". So, I just stereo-typed and told him "yellow". I mean, that is the colour they colour all the moon in children's book right? And guess what he replied, "I think the moon looks silvery." *pengz*

So cute that Char can go practice her expressions first! Haha.

For the Ikea bed frame, I know exactly which one you are talking about cos that was also the one we are eyeing. However, if buy that bed frame means we have to get the Ikea mattress is it? I have the impression that the bed frame is not standard size, please correct me if I am wrong. We don't like the firmness offered by their range of mattress leh.

bbgrace,
Good to hear that Josh is coping a lot better. For Em, I thought you already started her on non-accompanied classes right?

dor,
I do have my concerns about K picking up all sorts of nonsense from school as well. But kind of "no choice" lah. Cos I was hoping to relief my parents for half a day from K when they start looking after my #2.

For learning, at this age, I think they are all sponges waiting to absorb. It is how they do it. I was not looking forward to this asking question stage. Very tiring! It is still ok when he asks different things, but I get very sian when he asks the same thing over and over again. I have a feeling he is trying to commit the information to memory! Cos that was how he learn his songs last time. He asks us to sing it over and over and over again.

hahahaha doreen.. cannot tahan D.. he is very cute!!! Ya they learn everything lor.. headache..
Now kim like to wear ring, necklace, carry bag and bracelet then act as if going out. put her handphone into bag.. then gey siao phone call come in then say hello.. okok bye bye..
Think she learn from us hahaa..
Very cute seeing her do that but at times also headache! cause i cant get her to stop doing that.

Coral
haha kim like to look into the mirror, comb her hair and act vain!
Whatever i doing she learn. like makeup, dress up. if i change clothes, she follow me take off clothes and take my clothes then tell me 'mei mei'.. everytime i change i need to change for me and her.. then work always late =X

pups,
i started Em in a 2 hr playgroup in Aug but she didn't want to be left alone in there (she's fine when my maid goes in with her) so I took her out after a month. No point forcing her if she's not ready. It's not that there's no one to look after her at home, really no urgency cos learning development wise i'm not too worried, i just wanted to develop her social skills.
I'm now in a dilemma where to place her. The building works for my new place is delayed so the earliest i will shift would be Jun 09 (originally should be around early 09) so I'm not sure if i wanna start her in a school in SK for a few months and pull her out after that when we shift. Even at our new place, she would have to go to a new school for about half a way before starting nursery at NAFA in 2010. whatever it is, she would have to go to different schools for the time being. I start thinking about it after CNY and after J has settled in.

K is a clever boy
I'm also so tired of answering Em's incessant questioning. She will go, "Why is it xxxx?" I'll tell her it's because it's yyy. Then she'll ask, "Why is it yyy?" Argh! i think sometimes she's asking for the sake of asking. haha! When i run out of answers, I'll usually ask her "Why do u ask so many question?" This cheeky girl will answer me "wei4 she3 mo4 wei4 she3 mo4" haha!

bbgrace,
Haha... when I know that K is asking rheotorical questions, I will say "I don't know, why don't you tell me why?" That usually shuts him up for a little while. :p

I see... so which accompanied class will you send her for? I do agree that it is quite disruptive to start her in a school for a few months and uproot her again.

pups
D doesn't ask us to sing songs for him. Think he got the surprise factor in him. He's always quiet when we sing to him, then 1 fine day he will jus start singing part of a song. And he will always have that cheeky face like he knows we;ll be surprised. Think he likes to see our shocked faces.....hahaha
I will try to sing along for him to follow n now he finally can sing 'twinkle twinkle little stars' on his own.....sigh
Takes so long to learn 1 whole song dunno how long I gotta sing for him to learn all the songs that he currently know in bits n pieces.

<font color="ff0000">Happy New Year!</font>

pups,
Now I know why you asked for the mattress earlier. Instead of getting IKEA's mattress, why dun you check out those neighbourhood's furniture shops. They do sell and their quality is much better than IKEA's. You can check out sea horse one too. I think it's harder to get toddler bed's mattress lor.

RE: Photography - Joyce has just did another business advertisement here
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/2029748.html?1230775409

I have always been wondering why D learns some words n stuff faster while some he doesn't seem to learn esp regarding the naughty stuff.

He's at the selfish stage and he will push anyone who gets in his way or touches 'his' stuff. And for the longest time we've been telling him he MUST share n he cannot push or beat anyone.

Just yesterday he played with zac's toys n he pushed zac when he came near. But after we left he was like so rational. Can tell us he play Issac didi's toys. So took the opportunity to drill into his head again that he cannot push people. N he also like so understanding keep nodding his head and OK.

Jus now I put my hubby's pillow behind my head for support and D starts going "Papa pillow. Cannot!"
So I told him "Papa Mama good boy good girl, share pillow nevermind"
But he still insist lor then keep pulling the pillow. So I pushed him away.
Who knows, another shocker.
D said "Cannot push Damien!" and he sat down like it suddenly hit him and said "Cannot push people one."
So I quickly told him "Yes cannot push ppl. Mama naughty Mama sorry okie? Sorry Damien."
Buthe still like blur blur sit there n say "cannot push people 1"
Hopefully it really gets into his little head this time.

Jenny,
You mean Sea Hourse sells toddler's mattress? Or can get single mattress from Sea Horse?

Dor,
Damien very cute leh. Haha. Quite a lot of things he says or does reminds me of K. Same development stage, perhaps.

Pups,
Sea Horse now got promotion.

I also want to go there see see look look.

Dor,
Damien very cute! he can speak so well.
I agreed that they actually understand &amp; listerning to what we said.
yeah..now i tried to say as much as i can to him. so that he also learn to speak.

Today is 1st day fo school.
Think all mummies must be busy preparing for their tots.

Do share here how they coping at cc/kindy.

For A, he is in cry - din cry - cry stage.
but teacher said he is ok after they distract him.

pups,
not very sure if seahorse has, you can call to check with them.
How abt kiddy palace and robinson? Since they got sell babycot which can be converted to toddler bed? I remember last time the delivery man for the babycot told me can contact their company to buy the toddler mattress if I want to covert the babycot to toddler bed.

Jasmine,
Seahorse promotion has been for some time. And hor, let me "warn" you... their so called promotion price is still ex than those neighborhood furniture shop who also sells the same seahorse mattress.
My gals' sch starts next Mon.

Jasmine,
Ya, their promotion like forever one. Haha.

Jenny,
Actually after the babycot convert to toddler bed, the mattress is still the same one what. Cos the bed size is still the same just that we change it from high to low and the rails take away and change to bed guards.... We did that to ours.

pups,
huh? No leh, mine is another frame leh, longer. The one used for the babycot is coverted to the side frame leh. So is different mattress.

Ya lor, seahorse promotion like forever de... that time I asked the staff promotion until when, they still like want say dun want to say like tat. Anyway their service sucks.

Adeline, same same, every morning Char would be trying to snatch my make-up kit as she wants to imitate me when I make-up then it'll be the heels. I was telling hb, pengz, so young already so vain, soon we'll be worrying about bfs.

Pups, I have not measured the bedframe to see if we could buy the mattress from else where, but I remember Jenny managed to buy seahorse mattress, so I'm hoping it'll work for this frame as well.

Dor, I have the same worry as you abt her imitating the things that I wouldn't want her to, so will have to monitor her behavior and correct her when she's at home. Cahr is the same, she would always say she wants to beat people after one aunty threaten to beat her when she was naughty around age 1, 1+yr lioa, she still say the same thing day-in day-out cos she realise most adutl would tell her they want to beat her if she does naughty thing, so to her, if she donesnt like the thing someone does, she'll also want to beat that person. But when pple leave she'll be like D very rationale, say beat pple is naughty, cannot beat pple else Mama will be so sad and papa will punish her and she'll have no friends. She knows it, but she'll still say it and at times, really beat pple. Even stangers who she don't like she may run up and slap the person. She was punished many times by us, though there's improvement, she hasn't kick this bad habit completely. Too bad, not all adults are careful abotu what they say to the kids so as parents we just hv to do all we can to correct them.

Jasmine,
You looking for sofa for your new home?

Coral,
My gals' bedframe are not toddler bed. They are using the adult bed frame, so is the normal single mattress that I've bought from seahorse brand.

Jenny,
Then maybe different types of bed. Mine from kiddy palace also.

Coral,
At least Char is a girl. I am quite concern when K sits on the bed in the morning and wait for me to put on my make-up. I am certainly not keen in having him pick up anything!

Jenny, I see. Anyway, I'll have to go measure the bedframe if really buying it. I have a seahorse mattress at home so can use that as ref. Thank you.

Gain IQ
=======
Shop and save having promo till tomorrow at $49.45 per tin and still entitled to the sticker for rebateI bought 4 tins and have $9 for rebate which I used to buy the 5th tin. That works out to be $238.25, thus each tin only cost me $47.65.
Giant now discount at $49.99 per tin.

Jenny,
yeah..looking a sofa for new home.

collect my key next week. so excited..first time stay on our own. since small, i stay in a big family with my uncle &amp; family. then married stay with in-laws. now, it's really my own world. hahaha..
any good recommend on safa?

btw, i tot the mattress will still be the same after baby cot convert to toddler bed?

Coral,
Re: Gain IQ, nowdays very seldom see they on promotion. this one should be a worthbuy.
but i never buy 1.8kg. How long Char managed to finish 1 1.8kg tin?

Jenny, what container you bought to store your mlk powder?

pups,
I bought the babycot from robinson. But that company (kids paradise something like that) closed down already or changed name I think. I think our babycots are different type. Cos mine when convert to toddler bed, it is using another frame, and the original one used on babycot, after converting to toddler bed, that frame is used for the side as a bed guard. No wonder, we dun understand each other's postings hahaha...
Maybe you can try to check out those company/distributor of those babycots which can convert to toddler beds, if they sell the toddler mattress. I'm sure beside IKEA, there's other places selling cos toddler beds are common now.

Jasmine,
I just bought a beanbag from this warehouse. Saw the ad on papers. I went last week to place order and I saw they have lots of sofa. Very reasonable price too. I'm so tempted to change my set cos I saw one at the warehouse and we love it. I sms you the address later.

No leh, the babycot (that can covert to toddler bed) that I used to have, the mattress size is different.

Coral
thanks for the info, just now when u sms me i was at shop and save..my place OOS le dam fast!!! I am now switching Jovan to Pediasure..cos everytime S&amp;S here no stock for gain iq

Jasmine
normally for Jovan, he finish his 1.8kg in 2.5weeks..

Jenny,
okie...let me go thru tupprware webby.

Esther,
How come you switch to Pediasure?
wow..Jovan can finish 1.8kg so fast? A only fnish 900g ard 10-12days. so, i never buy 1.8kg b4.
But recently only 1.8kg on sales, and hb keep ask me to buy 1.8kg since it's cheaper. But i m wonder the storange method.

i still can get stock at shop&amp; save at my place.

Esther,
Yr place that SnS so miserable small. Stock very little only. I tot you have been getting from the distributor?

Jasmine,
actually at this age, very hard to tell 1 1.8kg tin can last for how long. Sometimes fast sometimes small. I never like the idea to use the same FM tin to store FM cos keep opening the tin, the FM will turn bad fast if said a tin use for long. Since I start to buy 1.8kg tin FM, I've been using the storage method that I told you over phone just now.

jasmine
the storage i never change to any specific container wor..i just use back the same packaging..i switch because got 1 night no FM than we went to S&amp;S cos mine here is 24hrs than realise no Gain than no choice took pediasure 900g since than never change back le..

Jenny
ya dam miserable lor..not only FM dun have alot of daily use also dun have..

Jenny,
I see... so we have been chicken and duck talk all the while. haha! Actually our aim is to buy a single-sized bed frame for K rather than toddler bed. But the bed must be low enough for him to get up and down safely. I find no point buying a toddler bed liao.

hi pups,

your K really can talk well... tricia still cant say a full sentence... well, so far the longest sentence that she say: "gong gong bring tricia go "gai gai". though she saying it 1 word by 1 word. but surprising, she has learned more words (mono) which i do not know where she has picked up from...
oh, hopefully can bump into you next mon, what time do you normally drop K at CC?

hi jasmine,

new house! must be really v excited now... new furniture, curtains etc. but 1 thing i hate is the renovation part... have to think of the theme though i have asked the contractor to help me design...

toddler bed
===========
actually, me and hb were considering buying the toddler bed frame from ikea (come with side rail),think cost abt $100 plus - $200 plus so as to train tricia to sleep in it. but we dont like ikea mattress, find it too soft. when she's older, then we "upgrade" her to those single bed.
till now, we have not buy it, cos she wanted someone to sleep next to her. sometimes, middle of the nite, when she wake up, find no one (daddy) next to her, she cry...
any suggestions to let her sleep alone? before tristan come along, she was sleeping with us in the same room but she sleeping on the mattress on the floor alone.

Jenny,
now i understand how you store the milk powder liao.
hehe..actually hor i also got tupperware membership which my SIL register for me during msia time. I quite like their product. tat time they give a set of disney storage container plus 2 disney character cup. I used the container to store A's biscut. to my surprise, the food din 'lao hong'.
I will email you later.

Esther,
ic...so, Jovan on pediasure now.

Gemini,
yeah..new house.
but luckily for me, there will be no major renovation except just install lights &amp; curtain cos my house is design &amp; build scheme, so basically can move in after some touch up &amp; painting.

Gemini,
I will be dropping K off quite early like 7.30. LATEST by 7.45, else I will be late for work. I don't think you will be there that early right? Anyway, K has not stopped crying and the teacher was telling me to be prepared that he will cry more next week cos he will be seeing kids there with their mummies and thinking why his own mummy not there.

Esther,
Not only little stuff but dusty also.
Ask yr hb to carry home lah.

pups,
haha, ya lor chicken and duck talk!
Then just get a single sized bed just like me lor. I also see no point to buy toddler bed, so I just bought single sized beds for the gals. My inital plan was to let them sleep together on the queen size bed (already had queen size bed in their room that time cos hb and I used to sleep on that bed before customary. Ppl said after customary must sleep new bed). But I find the gals playing instead of sleeping, so I decided to go for 2 single beds and removed the queen size bed.
Generally IKEA's beds are quite low. You can check it out. Or check out other furniture shops.
If you dun mind the design with 2 hearts shape, you can check out the beds that my gals are using now. It is very low. I take a pic with Jaslyn standing by the bed to give you a rough idea. Jaslyn gets up and down on her own with no problem.

Jasmine,
I'm changing my containers at home to tupperware. Ya, very air tight. I love them.
Oh so, you have membership here?

hi pups,

7.45am, i think sometimes, at this time, i'm still brushing my teeth... hehee....
well, give him some more time, hopefully, i can still recognise K. i also crossing my fingers that tricia can adapt well to the new CC. for the whole month of Dec, she only attended maybe a week of CC (her old CC), she may have forgotten what's school like...

Jenny,
The one your girls have is metal frame... I am looking for a wooden frame one. Cos the furnitures in K's room are all wooden type so hope to still get something to "fit into the room". Maybe can go Ikea and take a look at their single beds.

Oh, talking about tupperware. I am also quite a fan of their products. But I don't like their website... difficult to find things and no price listed. I am interested in getting small containers to store snacks and things like that. Any other catalogues available other than their website?

Gemini,
If you want to train Tricia to sleep alone, do it on weekends.
But is Tricia going to new sch now? If so, please dun start the training now, cos she already needs to undergo a big change of environment in sch. Wait till she's much settle in her new sch then start yr training.
Be prepared to sacrifice yr or yr hb's sleep for the 1st few nights. You will need to wake up several times to check on her for a start. Or to comfort Tricia if she wakes up to cry. Assure her everything's fine and she's big jie jie now. Make her excite and love her bed when her new bed arrives. Bring her to choose her own bed, if can. And before that prepare her by telling her she will gets her very own bed. Maybe for a start, when Tricia fusses, you need to company her to sleep. Slowly move out from the room. She will gets use to it sooner or later.
The older one trains, the harder to get the toddlers out from our room. That's what I feel.

Gemini,
I so envy you! 7.45am, I in office liao!

Pups,
WOoden frame also have, go check it out. Those furniture shops also have, my aunt bought from them.
Oh, I think you will like this set which I have, and I love so much that I'm getting another set. I email you the website.

Gemini,
So hor mia you! I have to wake up at 6am in the morning... and when I was pumping last time, I had to wake up at 5.15!

Give her some time, she will adapt. Sometimes I really pity our kids... no matter what, they are just 2 year olds. We only went kindergarden at 5yo last time leh.

Jenny,
Thanks. Received. I am looking at the even smaller ones instead (600ml) cos I am thinking along the line of bringing snacks/biscuits out for kids. But have to get 8 at a go... hmmm...

Gemini,
yap..opposite mosque one.
7.45am, i aready ready to leave my hse. when we move, think by 7.15 i must leave already.

Jenny,
nope, my membership is msia one.

My SIL aka my bro's wife is a huge fan of tupperware product.

Pups,
totally agreed with you. sometimes i found them very pity, at 2 years old, they already have to attend school &amp; half/ full day in a totally strange place.
I nearly wanted to bring A back home after i realized not much kids went to cc on new year eve. But at the end, dropped the idea but ask SIL pick him up early.

hi jenny/pups,

my official working hr start from 9am, last time still can reach 9.15 but now after tristan is born, worse, 9.30 then reach office. hehehee....

hi jenny,

hmmm... for a start, i'm not letting she sleep alone in the room yet. more like, letting her sleep on her own mattress on the floor, and we (either me or hb) sleeping on the bed. on new yr eve, i was sleeping with her (hb was sick so was quarantined from the kids), and after patting her to sleep, was awoken by the fireworks (my parents place), so got up and see. 10 mins later or so,she was crying as i think she find no one beside her..

hi pups,

agree. nowadays the kids v "ke lian", got nursery, enrichment classes etc at such a young age...
oh talking of wooden frame toddler bed, i got saw it at ikea leh. did mention in my earlier post.

pups,
so ya, that set comes in 8 pcs.
I prefer the one with higher height, cos I used at home keke..

Jasmine,
My mum used to be a fan too. Cos my gugu was selling last time. Now my turn. And after calculation, I found those lock n lock more ex and useless!

Jasmine,
I wanted K to go to school on New Year's eve cos I don't want a break in the routine again. After sch, my parents picked him up like usual and we only go to my parents' place near dinner time as we were going out for dinner together. He woke up from his nap after we arrived. I took the chance to go shopping with hubby! It is such a luxury to shop and browse without K to drag us all around the place. haha.

Gemini,
I know about the wooden toddler's frames. Looking at single beds now actually.

Talking about fireworks, the SengKang one is right at my doorstep. Haha. from my window, we got the "front view seats" with totally no blockage. Thank goodness K slept through the noise. We closed the windows and on aircon for him that night.

Jenny,
Lock n Lock more ex ah? I am using more LnL at home now. I think good in a sense cos my hubby is the type if you ask him to close a tupperware container, sure one side not properly pressed in type. LnL more foolproof for him. Haha.. Man...

Jasmine,
Are you also looking at the small ones like me? If you want, we can share?