(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Damien today so poor thing. He got a BIG christmas present. He played with my nephews on my bro's bed n they say he knocked oh the wooden bed rail. So I tot okie bed rail.
But when I touch the back of his head. Jialat got 1 very pointy bump. Must have been something pointed that he bumped into, cannot be the bedrail. Then on the way home he was telling us that 1 of the korkor pushed him. N he said he bumped onto the window grill.
So heartache leh cos D fell n hit so many times before but 1st time the bump so big.

Jasmine
SAME SAME!!!
Damien also dun like barley, crysanthemum all these. He only drink water chestnut. Very jialat leh cos that 1 always run out.

Dor,
Aiyo, sayang Damien. K has been very accident prone these days also. It started with him running to the dining room at my parents' place and don't know why he suddenly just tripped and fell and knocked his chin so hard there was a visible big bruise on his chin. Then on Tuesday, he was at my parents' place trying to climb up a chair but he slipped and knocked his chin again, but this time his upper teeth cut into his lower lips and it bled. Last evening, I was in the room and hubby was in the kitchen making milk... suddenly hubby heard a loud "bom" sound and K started crying. We didn't know what happened but the redness on his forehead showed that he may have walked into the walk (??!!??). Sigh. Three times already and I hope no more.

Happy Boxing Day!

hi Jenny,

tricia should be heaty cos she dont drink so much plain water as compared to when she younger...now in CC, even worse, a few sips when at school. we have to resort back to using milk bottle for her to drink water...
did ask my mum to boil barley water for her but my mum say cos afraid tricia may have dirraheao (wrong spelling), so did not boil for her...

hi jasmine,

talking of bitterness, i think tricia can tahan it, we let her eat strawberry/kiwi/cherry which got a bit "suan", she can still eat it without any change in her facial expression.

hi dor,

got use hard boiled egg to rub D? poor thing, must be painful for him.

hi pups,

be mentally prepared, after entering CC, even more accident prone, tricia can come back with (more) blue-black on both her (especially) shins. see already very heartpain cos she fair, very obvious.

talking abt falling, i 'fu le' kim..
Cause my room 'made of' bed..
So hubby always use the lazy way to get off bed.. he just roll himself the edge of bed then stand up.
And kim started to follow him but this girl roll without seeing leh.. she roll and roll when reach the edge, she roll herself to the floor and fall off bed.. sooooo many times already.. and i keep laughing at her.

Gemini
Kim drink alot water @ CC..
Her pampers always leak one.. and full of urine. At home every half hr she run toilet. outside she drink alot water also but recently she keep constipated and she eat alot.
Now she taking one type of med to strengthen her lungs to prevent cough and phelgm. it helps alot but side effect is huge appetite. she eat like there is no tmr.. so worried she will go obese..

hi adeline,

that's gd. kim is drinking lots of water. dont know what to do with tricia to promote her to drink more water. what med is kim eating? Chinese or western?

gemini
western. given by PD- Vanessa tan. She say kim is falling sick too frequently. every mth see dr or half mth see once. so she gave this med and after kim take, so much better. no longer cough but dr tan say better take for 6 mths. previously kim took singular for 2 weeks. then dr tan say singular is lvl 2 protection so gave the other one. she say is lvl 1 protection and it helps kim so i let kim cont take lo.. singular 1 pack $3...!! freaking ex lor..
in cc kim drinks alot. she hugs her bottle!

hi adeline,

wow, 1 pack $3, taken 1 time? if so, very ex leh...
what about @ home? kim also drink from her water bottle?

Gemini
@ home she drink from cup. she dun like to drink from her own water bottle at home so i bought cup for her lor.

toilet training.
Hmm when they play or eating they will forget need to pee is it?
When kim eating, she forget leh.. she just pee like that.. =/

Gemini,
Actually so long as the injury is not serious, bruises and so on, I don't feel heartpain. I think it is part and parcel of growing up. Haha. Horrible mummy :p Cos my mum will keep going "oh no, oh no. poor thing." And I will be there going "aiyah, nevermind one lah." LOL

hi pups,

i know bruises is part and parcel of growing up but, 2 yrs of seeing "bruise free" on tricia, need some time to adjust. haha... then i'm like your mum, whereas my hb is like u...

Gemini,
Haha. Having said that, when the bruises and bumps are in the head region, I will still get worried lah. K still has to go back for his neurology check-up cos of his previous fits episodes in October. We still have to continue to monitor him for things like balance, if he stumbles in his walk, if he has blank starring episodes, etc.

hi pups,

tell me about it, cos of my medical condition, so whenever if tricia having fever, or if she sitting down too quietly, i will panic.

Gemini,
I also get scared when K cry too hard :S Cos his second fit was triggered by uncontrolled crying in the hospital. Sigh... so now when we want to discipline him and if he cries too hard or long, we don't dare to let it go on also.

Adeline,
For a start, they will forget abt the need to pee. Got to remind them. Even for Jaslyn, on and off I will sort of remind her cos sometimes she gets so engross, she forgets she needs to pee.
And I also observe that Jaslyn is having some constipated too. Same like Kimberly, she eats a lot but very little output. Can like 2 or 3 days then do one super big business. And at times she will complains pain. Observe her 1st poo always very hard then the rest are soft. Doc told me to give her more fibre, however she doesn't like veggies. I gotta trick her to eat.

pups,
hee, you sound like me and hb. Sometimes I feel my gals very pitiful one, only the gong gong aka my dad will sayang them.

Jenny,
Fibre doesn't just come in vegetables. Does she like fruits, oatmeal, nestum, wheat bread or wheat biscuits? For oatmeal, I mix some milo into it and tell K it is chocolate oatmeal :p For wheat bread, I will put some fillings that K likes like egg with mayo or cheese cream for him. As for wheat biscuits, K likes to dip them in yoghurt and eat. He says like dipping into ice cream! haha.

Haha, we do sayang K lah... just that we will make it like it is no big deal about falling or hitting himself. He just has to be more careful next time. After that, we will give him a hug and say ok, go and play.

pups,
Jaslyn intake for fruits quite a lot. And she eats lots of banana and papaya but somehow don't work for her. She takes multi grain and wholemeal bread too. So doc told us to give more veggies.

pups
*sayang* K poor thing. I also very scared when they hit their jaw cos I'm worried will hurt the teeth or cut their mouth. N yah I agree they tend to be accident prone for the next few days 1.
Frankly I was very scared when I felt that super high bump. Was worried he would get a concussion cos seem like such a bad hit. But lucky he was fine other then not being able to lie sleeping on his back for 1 night.

That said but it made me "glad" in a way. I was abit worried on being bias towards Ember. Her being a smiley girl n youngest n D being a handful and ren4 xing4 nowadays.
But after D's incident it made me realise I still love D as much cos was very heartpain when I felt the big bump.

Gemini
Damien drink pure lemon juice or eats the lemon without batting an eyelid. I would even cringe when I see him eating. It started in his JG class, they learn yellow n lemon. So each student would with their parents help squeeze the lemon into a cup n drink!!
N from then on my ah siao D would ask for lemon when he sees......*yucks*

D's bump went down alot liao. Didn't occur to me to use egg to rub.....hehe
But he dun even allow anyone to touch cos he say pain only Mama can help him "cha yao"

Oh dear poor Tricia. Why at CC so many ppl chor lor is it? Did you ask her teachers wat happened?

Adeline
Think you have to keep reminding Kim that she's not wearing diaper when she's playing or eating then. Now I gotta keep reminding D that he's not wearing diaper n must tell me if he needs to pee at night. If not he siao 1 will pee in diaper when he semi wakes then insist on peeing in the potty again.

Dor,
Parents may show some form of favourtism cos it is just human nature but ultimately, they are all your own children. You will still love them all one lah

Doreen,
Jaslyn has not been eating banana for the past 1 mth, cos she got phlegm earlier plus cough. So dun think is banana bah? Anyway banana is not helping her to poo leh. She 2 or 3 days then 1 big business, and... is really big lor. Trying to trick her into veggies hee hee.

Pups,
I agree with what you said.

pups
Sigh......if you see my family you won't say that liao. And its definately not good for the child not at the receiving end of the favourtism. So I'm trying my best not to.
I even scold Ember now when she does things that I dun allow Damien to. To be fair lah to them n maybe in a way telling myself I'm fair.....hahaha

Jenny
D now is everyday do big business 1 n if he miss 2 day the next day will be alot. I always wonder where his small body store so much poo. That day at my dad's place he did his business n my dad help him clean up. My dad was so shocked he said so loud "Wah why you got so much sai 1"....Wahahahha

dor
same here.. i will purposely scold kath in front of kim to let kim know that not only she cannot do, mei mei also cannot.

Jenny
both ur J and my K the same hahaa.
i feed kim lots of fruits and veggie, pumpkin. she eat alot like bottomless pit but no output. also 2 to 3 days 1 time and once she poo.. means SUPER big and stinko lor..

hi dor,

wow, our kids really have a much higher tolerance than us. drink lemon juice?? oh mine, if for me, i dare not even drink. it's soooo.... sour...
glad to hear that D bump has subsided...

nowadays, tricia sometimes can walk/run then suddenly fell, so that's why the "blue-black" comes about. in CC, cos sometimes they got "free play", the kids run about, so they will bump into each other more often..

Need advice from mummies whose tods are already in cc/playschool. K is at the stage of not wanting to go to school in the morning and will cry when I leave him there. But he will stop crying and settle in thereafter. I understand this part is considered a transition. However, he avoids talking about school and when we ask him things about school, he will purposely change topic. Also, today the principal told my mum that after morning tea, K asked if it is 1 o'clock already cos he knows he can go home at 1pm. When they told him it is not 1 o'clock yet, he started mumbling "I want mummy, I want to go home" but they managed to distract him.

Sigh, is this a sign that he is very stressed up in school? He doesn't want to tell me what is it about school that he doesn't like. I am prepared to change school for him but I must first know the reason!

pups
K able to communicate so well already?
Wow.. kim doesnt even know how to tell me leh.. she only baby language all the way~!
Anyway for 6 mths, kim cried all the way and not wanting to go sch every morning.
Think it's normal? or u check with the school?
Cause at the start they r like that de.. think vivian told me rhys behave the same also at the start but now more settled.
Dun think it's the stress unless it is he being scolded by teacher so he dun like.,

do you all get your kids to go for chickenpox jab? I was thinking of jabbing B before he goes to Playgroup next Jan? But my mom said can wait...

hi kareen,

i have not let T go for her chickenpox jab yet. though she has attended CC.

hi pups,

i think maybe everything is now a routine, before going CC, at home, at anytime, he can do any activity. so maybe K is not used to it and also different environment. he only there for about 1 mth? my 3rd SIL was telling me it took about a year for my nephew to settle in CC.

Pups, mine took abt a month or two also. Slowly, give k a little more time.

Kareen, my boys didnt take chicken pox jab but I let them take the flu jab (2 doses). Think i probably will let them take the chicken pox jab later on.. cant imagine both kena at the same time *choy*

Gemini, boys still in same cc.. my mum changed her mind abt changing. She's forever fickle minded one.. haiz.

Kareen, I let Char has her Chickenpox jab since she's starting school.

Dor, glad that D's bum is ok. Char had a bum too but she cause it by falling hard on the floor when I refuse something. ALso didn't occur to me to rub with egg. Only monitored that no vomitting or dizziness. You're right, we'll love all our kids. Me opp from you, I think I love Char so much will I lve no. 2, but when I saw his chubby profilen during detailed scan, I feel moved. But frankly, no. 2 never get any attention from everyone, unlike Char who gets lots of attention since the day I was preg...But hopefully it'll make no. 2 a more independent boy.

Pups, I'm like you, will be heartache but will try not to show it to the kid cos I hope she'll learn to be strong and not get pampered for everything.

Gemini, I get how you feel Char was scre/blueblack free for first yr, then after 1st birthday her skin got very sensitive, not every mosquito bite will cause her skin to hv scarring and she will scratch so hard that they leave big scrae marks. As a mum seeing all these marks on her used to be flawless body I feel so sayang and xin tong.

This new year's eve will be the first time I let Char sleep over at wai po's place while I attend a NYE's party. It is also to prepare her when I go deliver. Don't wnat her to feel that she has to sleep over at wai po's place bcos didi is arriving, so this is sort of a rehearsal for her. Keep my ingers crossed. Also hope all goes well when she start school on 5 Jan.
HAPPY NEW YEAR to ALL OCT MUMMIES!

Adeline,
wah lau, Jaslyn and Kimberly can shake hands liao.
How come same same de.
Let me know if you have solution to let Kim poo hor. I will do the same to Jaslyn hahaha...

Doreen,
Oh I have a friend's son hor, the father really let him try everything one. 9mths old gave him lemon. I almost fainted haha..

pups,
suggest you give K more time to adjust. I feel kids are smart. They know little tricks to make parents anxious.

Kareen,
Jaslyn had her chicken pox jab at hmm... I think is 16mths old.
Jaslyn has taken all her compulsory and those optional jabs recommended by doctor. So, she's free from jab until age of 7 when she attends Pri Sch. Talking about this, she never cries for her jab. But for her last jab - Hep A booster, not sure if my pre-warning scared her off. She refused the jab until Jolene ensured her it would be fine. She took the jab, and after the jab, she cried! Damn malu...

pups,
i used to have the same worry as you cos Joshua didn't like to tell me what he does at school. A friend told me it's normal cos her boy does the same thing. Her reasoning is that the routine things in school are just insignificant to him so he just doesn't like to talk about it. But me being the kancheong mommy, starts wondering if it's because the activities are not engaging enough, is he bored etc.
Give K some time to adjust. Just like what J's new school principal told us recently, it's very stressful for young kids to start school and told us not to be surprised to see a regression in behaviour, eg bed-wetting, thumb sucking, throwing tantrums etc. I think K is coping well.

I'm not looking forward to sending Em to school, knowing how clingy she can be. I've been psycho-ing her every other day, telling her how fun school can be and she is a bit more receptive now after seeing photos of what gor gor does in school and the crafts that he brings home. In the past, when i see her carrying her bag, i would ask if she's going to school and her reply was always, "No! i'm going on vacation"
At least some days, she will tell me that she can paint and draw in school.
Oh well, let me settle J into his new kindy first then I'll settle Em next.

pups
Can't help but hopefully K will settle in well soon.

Kareen
D goes playgroup once a week. I gave him chixpox jab in Oct n jus took pneumoccocal on Sunday.
Dun need to wait bah since need to take jus take lor if you have the time. I delay so long cos waited for hubby to be free n we bring both of the kids for vaccine together.

Coral
I didn't feel anything much for Ember before she was born. Cos I think not much interaction with us yet ma. But after she starts smiling n playing after she was born then got more bond. Me also #2 since preggy not as much attention from other ppl. Even my fil only carried E at dunno how many mths. N didn't come over to see bb but came to see D. So I tried to be better to #2 dun wanna let them feel different.
Me opp was thinking maybe having #2 will make D more independent and patient cos I will explain to him he has to wait cos I need to attend to Meimei. And he helps me out at home.

btw that day I made soup for D so was gonna bring it in for him. So I put Ember on our bed way up so she's surrounded by pillows n our bedside table. So I shun bian asked D to stand at the corner where the bed n table ends as an extra precaution and to see if he really will help.
Who knows I went out and scoop the soup only I heard D shouting "Meimei" like when she's naughty. Followed by a "MAMA help".
I ran in to find E n D at the side of the bed n D was holding on to her so she doesn't fall. So scary and so brave my little boy manage to save his sister a fall.
This scary little girl moves so much now the safest is to carry her.

bbgrace
D so far loves his playgroup and will on n off keep talking about his sch his teachers and sing the songs they sing in sch. I'm hoping this can continue even till he goes to nusery then I dun have to headache......hehehe

Adeline,
Ya, he can vocalise to us what he wants. Which is why it gets very frustrating when he just cry and make us guess what he wants cause he can jolly well say it if he stops crying!
6 months ah?! Oh dear....

Kareen,
No, I have no intention to let my boy take the chicken pox jab.

Gemini,
He has been there for 3 weeks but these 3 weeks are bad cos a lot of holidays intersparse in between, so a lot of breaks.

Jlyn,
Does it mean they cry every morning for those 1 over month? I think my boy is doing "controlled crying" which is why I am not that worried... as in, he will cry his repertoire every morning but he will still say bye bye to his daddy and kiss his daddy in between sobs when I ask him to.

Jenny,
I was ok all the while until I heard about him asking for the time and counting down to going home time. First time I feel sim tia. :p

bbgrace,
Thanks for the reassurance
My dad kept saying that K is bored in school. But ya, do agree that we need to give him more time to adjust. This boy is strange... this morning he was crying when I pass him to his teacher. When I said "Say zao an to laoshi", he can actually cry and sob and manage a loud "Zao an" that the teacher was also surprised! And he even said a loud "bye bye" to me and started wailing again. I went back to the car and had a good laugh over it with hubs. So, really hope this crying is just "ceremonious" and will go off in no time.

How's Josh now in school? Is he willing to share more with you?

As for Em, actually we did a lot of prepping up for K. We brought him to see the school when the kids were there, we asked him if he wanted to go and he said yes. But now, still like that leh.

Dor,
You intend to let Damien attend school at what age?

Coral,
My no. 1 didn't get that much attention last time and my no. 2 now is worse! lol

Dor, play group is different cos we're in there. Cha rloves her JG playgroup too, but like bbgrace I'm not looking forward to her pre-n. cos I know how she'll look for me if I'm not around. Although she's been saying she wants to go to sch to draw sing, read and many times she want to cheong into her sch when we pass by the real test will be this coming Mon. Haiz dunno why this mummy has so little faith in my gal. Maybe cos they're just so young. And hey, what a hero D is! Bravo!

Pups, I always feel guilty towards no. 2 cos I nvr talk to him, for Char, I'll chat with her the entire day from the day I know I'm preg.Btw, I'm now 24 wks, but dunno why feel my MS coming back again. That day even threw up at doc's room. He consoled me to say women who experience more ms are less prone to breasr cancer. Well, I just hope it's a passing ms that'll not come back in full scale.

Jenny, Adeline, Char also has this problem, but for her I think it's different. She used to poo daily until she's toilet trained. She got phobia of pooing into the potty. SHe tried it once, then she just got so frightened to see her poo in the potty. From then on, she start to hold her poo, everyday after meal she wants to poo and tell me tummy pain pain, but she refuse to do it. She'll only grab the chance to do it when she has diaper on. I really dunno how to solve this issue. Now can only keep trying till the day she feels comfortable. And now she'll only do it once every 2-3days and in huge vol. Sigh!

pups,
Like Kim, A also still cant tell us yet. so, basically i really no idea what he do at school, whether he like to go school or not.
but he as usual, every morning will struggle when i wear him school uniform, then happily sit inside the car. but when reach school, he will cry and wnat me to carry him. But then when teacher bring him to play corner, he was ok.

think he just 'ya oh' when saw me leaving ba..hope he can settle well then i can transfer him to full day after cny.

you give K more time to adjust. I m sure he will like to go school soon.

babygrace,
J change school? tot he just start this school not long, right?
when you doing to send Em to school? Is she same school with gor gor?

Kareen,
A already took all the jab except Hep-A. so, he will jab free till he attend primary school.
But i'm thinking to let him take flu jab.

Jlyn,
so, how is your boys since they din change cc?

Dor,
so, Damien not going to N1 next year?
He is so brave, luckily he managed to hold his lil mei mei.

Jenny/Adeline,
This few days A crave for milk. He kept ask for milk after dinner. yesterday he break his record as he drank 300ml before sleep.

he will get constipation if he din poo for 1 DAY!
can see alot of small & smelly stool if he din poo for 1 day. very jialat!

Ask you hor..should i give A take flu jab?
I m thinking let him take flu jab next year cos he kept having running nose since he start school lel.

Coral,
No. 2 is not only neglected by the rest but by daddy and mummy also! I used to turn on music in my room when I go to sleep at night when having K, now for #2 where got the chance since I crash when putting K to sleep and K is sleeping in my room. Also, hubby used to talk to K when he was in my tummy but now cos I sleep early with K, hubby doesn't have the time to interact with #2 also. I was telling him baby will not know his voice anymore.. but I think she will recognise the chatterbox kor kor's voice very well. LOL

More MS means lesser chance of breast cancer?! Why leh? I do get this uncomfortable, nauseous feeling every now and then also.
But the thing that hits me most the last week is light-headed feeling and breathlessness. I think I get hypoglycaemic attack quite a bit. I will be 29 weeks tomorrow.

Jasmine,
One way is to find out from his teacher how he is doing in school. Actually for flu jab, doesn't mean after taking the jab will not get flu leh.

dor
wahh lucky u have D to help u protect mei mei. He is a hero!
Kim will only complain now she complain at every slightest thing!
Like yday i went shopping so when i reach home, kim come to me and keep saying 'milk hot.. milk hot..' keep repeating like parrot.
Gosh! my fil made the milk too hot then kim complain.
So while lying on bed, hubby was playing with her, she come to me and say 'daddy beat..' and show me very sad face. haiz..
When kathlyn is ard and kathlyn take my phone, kim will shout 'mei mei naughty! no..' then come to me.. 'mommmy mei mei naughty.. ur phone.' Goodness!
I never tot my daughter will turn out to be complain queen~.

Jenny
see ah kim drinks alot water but still same leh.. haiz.. when kim constipate, my mil will bring kim out for a walk then after she come back, she will feel better and she will poo. It sort of help at times. because she run about think more relax? hahaha poo easier!

Jasmine
wah A intake for milk so much! kim 240ml i find alot liao hahaa.
Ya if never poo for a day the poo is very stinky lor!!!

Wendy
how r u coping?

Adeline,
I think they are just at the stage they need to talk! Kim complains, K asks questions. For K, he will also drive me nuts with his "why like that?", "what did doggie say?", "what did xxx say?" (you can substitute xxx with ANYTHING you see around you)

Jasmine
dunno is it good or bad thing they cant express themselves loL!
Cause i find it very frustrating when kim keeps crying and baby language yet i do not know what she wants. but certain things she know how to say, she keep bugging me!

pups,
yeah..only can know thru his teacher.
but his teacher always told me he is ok, no crying..eat well.
But one thing i m glad is think they let him learn self feed cos we can see his uniform full with food stains & he will change into home wear when we pick him up.

But will the flu jab reduce the chance of getting flu?

Adeline,
he suddenly 'siao' of milk. keep chanting 'neh neh' recently.
actually i prefer he can speak & express himself. Like now, i have to guess what he want cos he still cant talk much.

How to let him speak more? currently he knows alot of single word, but he cant talk in sentences yet.

Jasmine,
Flu jabs actually protect against the seasonal strain of flu virus. Which actually means at most it protects you for a year cos the strain of virus changes depending on where the flu virus is coming from (northern or southern hemisphere depending on where is having winter). This type of flu may be more serious which is why certain groups of people (the elderly, healthcare workers who are in contact with large number of patients, people with compromised immune system due to certain illness) should take these jabs. But if you are talking about the type of cough and cold a child may get from childcare or anywhere else, these are made up for many other strains of virus which may not be what the vaccine is protecting from.

Doreen,
So touching to hear Damien "saved" Ember.

Jasmine,
For flu jab, I dun see the need to take. Just like what pups has mentioned.
But for chickenpox, it's different to me. At least when the kids kena chickenpox, won't be serious case.

Adeline,
Haiz... Jaslyn ah... she walks a lot leh. One day dunno go downstairs how many time to run. But still the same leh.

Adeline,
Think Wendy currently busy handling 2 kids at home.

pups/Jenny,
Thnaks for the feedback on flu jab.
yeah..a took chickenpox jab when he was 1 year old.

Pups, dunno, but doc say that was the research finding. I'll be 24wks this Sun.So I'm 5+wks behind you. Char also in this stage of asking why and what. And she'll also force me to ask her "What are you doing?" Then she'll start her long-winded reply. And she goes around correcitng her grandparent's English. BTH!

Actress Char
============
The other day Char wanted to negotiate for something and I said no, then I saw her running to the mirror to practice various expressions and way of calling mama and then she came back to me with the expression that she thinks look most ke lian or cute and try to negotiate again. This gal already know how to act!

Children Bed Frame
===================
I saw at Ikea some children bed frame at $99, wood, many colours (red, blue, white, pine) with good railings and low rise for them to get up and down easily. Will probably buy for Char.

pups,
Now that J is older and more independent, he's coping better with separation. He'll also tell me what he does in school except chinese lessons cos i think they start doing more interesting activities.

I know when it comes to Em's turn, i'm quite certain she will cry despite all the prepping. Will just take a step at a time, she's afterall just a 2 yr old. I'm starting her on parent-accompanied classes for the time being.

jasmine,
Joshua started half day childcare when i went back to work last year. He will be starting Nursery in the kindergarten near my new place (and Coral's also) this friday. He seems enthusiastic about the new school, hopefully he will settle in well.