(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

hi jenny,
i follow cos got story lah... my hubby and his cousin both followed the middle name, 1 of their cousin din, in the end his IQ nt very high. Educationally sub-normal. I noe nt proven scientifically that it's related to nt following the middle name but I just wanted to play safe. Better safe than sorry so I followed lor...

Coral,
no wonder so long din hear from you.
poor char. hope both of you get well soon.
so coincidence, three of them have En in their name.
is this 庭,right? i like this.

freshpoison,
Indeed it's good as nepia. i prefer it than huggies pull up and cheaper than mammy poko.
when it's launch last mth, i always get sample (2pcs) & $1 disc at Giant or NTUC.
I dunno whether now still have or not. if not, you can let your boy try out 1st.

<u>Names with "en"</u>
Actually initially wanted to name desiree "Kai En" cos i also like en mah.. but MIL say "en" pronounce in cantonese almost the same as my "yin". cannot.. aiya, she a lot of comments one lah. in the end both gals' names find her friend who is a fortunate teller in si ma lu to calculate lor which i dun really like.
Desiree - hui qin
Denise - hui xian
Very chee nai lor...

Coral,
hope you recover soon..
desiree also sick for 2 days liao. haiz.. she ar like MC queen!! haha.

Adeline,
Kim's jealousy level quite high leh, maybe talk to her nicely that after doing certain things with kath, then it will be her turns?
desiree will say "orh" after i tell her that.

DorDor,
Funny lah.. "zhang xixi" haha, must be a joke amoung their friends if really gotta her that name.

Jenny,
So good for the maid to buy presents for your gals and zi tong as well. I just find my current maid not that zi tong lor, must ask to do then do. haiz..

Freshpoision,
personally dun like drypants leh, it leaks... my aunty gave me some samples cos she is promoter in NTUC and i tried. still prefers mamy poko.

Jasmine,
Kaelen's birthday is also on the 29/10

I have not posted for a long time and lots of things happened in the past one week. It started with a nasty bout of gastric flu for K. He vomitted about 10 times in 4 hours plus. It started at around 5am in the morning and the moment the PD opened, we rushed him in for anti-vomiting suppository. After that, his vomiting was more controlled, like 2 times a day for the next few days. On Saturday morning, we noticed K was very lethargic which scare us so we brought him to see the PD again. PD told us that this is part of the recovery process and K just need to sleep it off. We were quite relieved.

That afternoon, K vomitted again and I noticed that his vomitus contains a lot of brownish materials. The evening before that, I thought is was due to what he ate that day... but after 24 hours, and based on my previous training, I suspected it was dried blood. Called the PD up and she said from my description, it is blood which means there is some gastric erosion. But if we were to stop the vomiting, this bleeding is self-limiting and will go off on its own. But we need to admit K to hospital if there is another episode of such bleeding. Well, thank goodness from Saturday afternoon to Sunday morning there was no more vomiting, so we thought all's well. K also woke up very happy and chirpy on Sunday morning.

Then came the scary part. After playing for about 2 hours since waking up, I noticed K looking tired, so I asked him if he wanted to come to me, I cuddle him to sleep. He came to me, and as I was holding him, he suddenly made some retching sound which I thought he was going to vomit. But he did not. Instead, he started to jerk uncontrollably. One look at him and I realised he was throwing a fit! I managed to keep my cool and let him go through the process, all the while trying to maintain an open airway for him and ensure he doesn't bite his tongue. After the fitting episode, I quickly called for hubby who was in the toilet at that time. We rushed him down to KK.... in the A&amp;E, he threw a second fit. It really pained us to see him crying uncontrollably cos he doesn't know what is going on, where is he, why are there so many strangers around him. He was so fretful and tired at the same time. I had a hard time coaxing him during his stay there for observation and so totally fatigued from staying up almost the entire night for him cos that night, hubby was suffering from bad headache and bodyaches cos he must have been fighting the bug himself.

Anyway, the diagnosis was fits provoked by his gastric flu. We just need to observe him when he falls sick in future and hope there is more such episodes. After K was discharged, hubby and myself fell very ill from gastric flu. I think our bodies just held it out when we were in the hospital. Once we came home, I vomited non-stop and hubby diarrhoea-ed until he was so weak. After resting for 2 days, thankfully my parents helped looked after K, we are back at work. I am still coping with my morning sickness now. Sigh.

Sorry for such a lor-soh post. I just need to let out all the stress and just hope NO ONE needs to experience such traumatic experience. Bbgrace, thanks for sharing your experience with Em the last time. It made me realise what K was having very quickly.

Pups,
oh dear poor K.. hope he is well now. really heartpain to see them suffering and yet we have no way to stop their suffering. you too take care of yourself. dun tired yourself out, get more rest if possible.

pups,
When u smsed me on sunday, my heart dropped and images of my experience with Em came back to me. I will never forget the fear and panic when i saw Em going limp and hubby and i running to the clinic with her. So sad that you had to go through the same traumatic experience. At least am glad that my experience helped you to handle it more calmly.

i think K is a little disorientated after the seizure. Same for Em, i had a hard time calming her down in the ambulance and later at the A&amp;E. She just kept crying and was inconsolable that i started to wondering if she could recognise me.

Anyway, glad that this rough patch is over. You take care and just have to watch him whenever he falls sick.

jasmine / coral,
What a coincidence, all 3 kids borned on the same day has En in their name

Coral,
it must be very sick, especially you can't take medicine. Do rest well.

Delphine,
though I agreed the new version drypantz is better but me too, still prefer Mamy Poko

Anyway Jaslyn doesn't use much, so I dun mind spending a bit more lah.

pups,
reading yr posting is scarly. Hope all at home are well now.
Next time when Kaelen got fever, you gotta observe.

pups,
so sorry o hear abt Kealen sick &amp; feels heart pain fo him. How's he now?
you must take care of yourself too especially you are pregnant now. rest more.

babygrace,
i just realized that Em surname is Lam. is it 'shuang mu ling'?

Delphine,
Thanks for your concern. I am still so tired today but have to come back cos of an important meeting.

Bbgrace,
I knew that day whilst helplessly watching K rest that only you can understand how I was feeling then. We didn't go in an ambulance cos hubby was confident of getting us there fast. Erhm, ya. A little bit of an F1 experience in the car but my focus was totally on K. I was making sure he was breathing! So, in a way, K was quite calm when travelling there cos I told him we were going on a car ride and he will listen to his favourite CD. He slept on the way there. According to PD, the seizures fatigue them out.

Jenny,
Sigh, not only when he has fever or sick. Now even when he makes some noise in his sleep, I jump up ah...

Jasmine,
He is recovering. Thanks.

pups,
The clinic called for an ambulance, so i thought may as well go in it cos CTE's traffic is terrible and hubby can catch us up later with Em's stuff. Yah, i think seizures wear them out cos Em fell asleep halfway there on the ambulance. Woke up at A&amp;E to find strangers handling her, so started wailing again.
I can understand you being paranoid after this incident. For a while, i kept waking to check on her to see if she's having a seizure.

jasmine,
Same surname, just different dialect group

pups,
I always believe children's health are more impt than anything else. Seeing them playing happily is the most enjoyable thing. I hate to see them sick.
Last week, I came across an article in this msia magazine at the salon. While waiting for my turn, I just anyhow flipped and came across this article, where the reporters went to do an inteview with the parents.
The report was about a car accident. The driver was the mother, who's a sch teacher. She's driving 4 of her children, 1 nephew (her sis's son) and a maid to her mother's place. Accident happened when a truck suddenly appeared. The car was crashed. 3 of her children, range from 1year+ to 11years old, her nephew and the maid were dead. She and her 3rd son survived but injured. I read in tears. So sad when I saw the pics where ashes of the children and the accident scene. And I remembered this mother said this statement... "I always complain they were so noisy at home, now this home is so lonely, no more their noises and laughter..."

Hi jenny/jasmine/desiree,
Yah, mamy poko the best but very exp so I'm always on the lookout for cheaper alternatives but must be equally good. I din like huggies cos cant last thru the nite. Did anybody try the NTUC pull-ups? My boy wearing the NTUC tape during the day for his nap, nt too bad so wanted to try the pull-up.

hi pups,

aiyo, so sorry to hear that K is unwell. hope that he's feeling well now.
after a fit attack, the person will feel v v tired, just want to sleep only. cos all the nerves are tensed up during the attack. so in the process, the teeth may just clench tightly on the tongue, which is very dangerous.
u may not know, but i had a few fits attack, mine happened when i'm sleeping, so this is what i have experienced.
which is now, i'm very afraid if tricia/tristan is having fever, esp high fever.
but dont worry, normally kids will outgrow it after childhood.

Pups
Goodness... so relieved to hear tt K is now well. I was imagining wat happened when u described. so glad tt u managed to keep calm n knew wat to do when it happened... Hope he is much much better now.
and poor u &amp; hb fell sick aft tt incident.

FP
i find tt the new drypantz pull-ups is quite gd... since i am stuck wif plenty of huggies XXL pull-ups tt R cant weat yet, i gotta get him a suitable size now. so far no complaints. the cutting is oso bigger compared to Huggies.

Jenny
we dun mind tt the maid eats wat we eat. but she nvr open her mouth to tell my mum if she dun wan tt particular dish. only at the end when my mum realises the dish is untouched, then she asked the maid. then she said she dun like. come on, she cld hv told my mum b4 she ate her dinner so at least if she dun wat, my mum can let us hv it.
she was badly ill-treated by the previous empolyer, thus when she came, we were nice to her. but she took 4 granted &amp; aft a while, all her patterns started coming out.
my mum "tested" her mopping/sweeping skills. when the tods eat biscuits n crumbs fall to the fl, she purposely sweep them under the sofa. at the end of the day (aft 2 "sweeping" sessions by maid) crumbs r still underneath the sofa. my mum showed the maid &amp; she was speechless.
another incident: some clothes pegs went underneath the cabinets in the kitchen. after a few "sweepings" and "mopping" sessions by the maid &amp; after a few DAYS, clothes pegs stays in the same plc, untouched.
maid takes a pail of water to clean the fl. when she is done with the cleaning, the pail of water looks crystal clear clean. verdict? she juz geng all the way... pretend to do chores only!
the worst thing is she lies and does not admit its her fault. everyone else, everything is to be blamed EXCEPT her. even when its obvious tt the kids hurt their head or other body parts (they can point to the part n said its painful) she still insists the tods nvr hurt themselves! she thinks we r retarded or the tods can make up stories at such a tender age?! ABSURD!

bbgrace
tell me abt incorrigible! i wonder how come she dun understd simple instructions fr my mum. the best thing is, we kept asking her if she understood wat my mum wants her to do, and if she dun, to pls ask. she kept saying she understd but the way she does things tells us either she dun understd at all or she juz purely wants to irritate my mum n is sending us signals to send her home!

Pups, we're really in the same boat.
Char totally soft and won't open her eyes, during the few moment when she's awake, she'll beg for food but can never hold them down, not even a sip of water. Haiz. I'm really angry wioth myself for passing it to her.

Thank you all mummies for the well-wishers, I really hope Char will recover soon, but I'm not in very good condition to care for her now and eveyone in teh family are away on trip, only she and i alone.

hope char and k recover soon

pups and coral
u must also rest for the little one in u

dor
how to get the $1 off discount for drypantz ? they only sent me one sample b4 but no $1 coupon

freshpoison,
Never try for NTUC pull up, but I read seems that most mummies don't like. You can try to buy a few pcs from other mummies to sample before buying a pack.
Actually, I like mamy poko pull up cos the shape of the butt looks nice, round round like that. Huggies and drypantz will pull down when full of pee. For me, it doesn't matter which brand cos I let Jaslyn wears when we go out. Even when she wears pull up, she will still insist to go toilet to pee. I think she feels uncomfortable if got pee in pull up bah, plus heavy. I will ask her to pee in it if we can't find a toilet. Most times, the pull up is thrown w/o pee, so by right, I should opt for the cheaper one, but I still prefer Mamy Poko cos of its nice shape lor.

crystallized,
the maid is trying to geng and lazy. Give her some warnings, but then it's up to your sis to do so. I think this maid is terrible. How abt the previous one?
Actually why take her when you know she's ill treated by previous employer huh? Maybe in the first place, shouldn't be too good to her, making her taking things for granted now.

babe,
I think the $1 off discount no more liao. I received sample for dryers and a letter saying no more $1 discount off. So I guess same goes for drypantz.

Adeline,
Kath really looks like Kim leh. One look know they are siblings.

pups
When kids fall sick parents will b very worried. Tk care of urself now ok? Hope k will recover fast!

Jenny
Certain angle looks like haha just that kat is botak lor.
I also prefer mamy poko pull up. I wanted to get ntuc diaper for kim cc but my hb dun wan.

jenny
maid said tt and i think agency oso mentioned. i alrdy told my mum not to b too gd to the maid. i mean as long as we r reasonable, allowing them food and rest, not ill-treating them, lets not let the maid climb over our head. i think it was like tt wif the last maid, so i told her we muz learn our lesson.
my mum has the thinking tt if we r nice to someone, they will b nice to us. and she thinks they r quite poor thing to leave their families to work here alone, so give &amp; take. so tts y maid jumps over her head now.

Previous maid is hygienic but she is v SLOW when it comes to chores. and she is forever in dreamland when she is wkg. u can see her cleaning the table in a daze, like thinking of sthg. she is an experienced maid and gets off day every sun. i cant rem why we were unhappy wif her liao. i told my hb, i will strangle the maid to death if we ever hv 1! i cant tolerate their habits at all.

hi crystalised,

i tell u, what the agency say is correct, cant be too good to the maid. cos some of them wont appreciate it one.
so that why, i agree with u, as long as we give them food and ample rest and no physical abuse, considered good enough already. for me, if my maid were to refuse to eat the food we gave her to eat, then i will tell her next time, just eat rice with chilli sauce/dark soya sauce. i wil not bother to add anymore things else. my maid got tell my mum before this is what she eat in indonesia.

En
Wah so really most Ens r from christian aah....keke
N me from christian sch dun even realise....hahaha
Jialat next time E go to the sch sure alot think she is Christian. lol

Jenny
Ohhh Jaslyn haven go sch yet aah??....hehehe
I tot u letting her go for those 2 hrs playgroup paisey not CC hehe. Hear so many go CC until I blur liao.

Adeline
Will not let him attend Pre nursery only. Maybe I very KS lah cos I feel D still at the stage like to imitate n learn so I not fang xing to let him go sch alone. At least now in the class when he imitates the naughty girls(YES!! Girls the naughty ones in his class r girls) I can immediately tell him wat is not right(becos the mummy of the girls let them do anything until the teacher ask mummies to hold their kids). So again I abit lazy lah rather let D learn n socialise where I can see n dun want him to learn the unacceptable behaviours 1st before I need to try to unteach him.
Both ur girls vieing for ur attenion liao hor.....hehe Mummy is the best ma....haha
Actually hor the reason why I started D in JG is becos I want him to learn to socialise n 'share' cos I realised he started to be very selfish n its very hard to make him share. Actually I would say he 'NEVER' shares or even rang bu he will fight till the end kind. Then when Rhys n Issac played with D during E's 1st mth I realised they both are willing to share n take turns n they both are attending some classes. So I madeup my mind n called up JG for a slot.
N now I'm glad cos D is willing to share sometimes n when we ask him to take turns he is more willing to obey. He has aso been offering E his food which I am glad but dunno if she really starts eating he will still offer anot.....hahahaha
Give Kath awhile more lah u jus keep encouraging her to share with Kath will be okie soon.

Delphine
hehe dun say ur girls name cheena lah. Will stick with them forever 1 leh. Me n hubby made a pact liao his parents named their own children so we will also name our own children. But we also got their names calculated(cos my chinese not good) then choose n match from the few that was given so still okie lah. At least D's got the Kai n E got En which I like.

Coral
Hope u get well soon...poor thing MS okie liao??
Sayang Char also.

Pups
Poor thing ur MS still there n sick n still gotta go through so much.
K is a brave boy having to go through so much. I also hope no one else has to go through that at all.

Jasmine
I scared E older then got more fights aah......hahaha
Cos this E now already very talkative n teh korkor disturb she cry very loudly we disturb she okie. Even my dad comment that E very talkative n keep asking me she know how to laugh aah. How many mths only know how to laugh until like that.
So if E really continue like that think when she starts talking plus this D hor sure fan si wo le. Unless the 2 go n talk themselves lah then I will be free....hahaha

babe
Urrrrrrrrr $1 disc?? I dunno leh think someone else mention not me cos I dunno or did I type wrongly?? jialat haha
Or u read wrongly is it?? I save 1 diaper aday cos D wear less 1 diaper cos of toilet training....hehe

Dor
Kim cc feedback that kim doesn't share in fact snatch for toys. Haha.. I always tell her to share. Just now she snatch from kath again. Everything also dun want let her touch. Headache ahhh.. At least d still will share at times. Kim nv share at all!!
Kim super clingy to me.. And kat wants my attenion also lor.

Happy Belated birthday to Joanna!
And Happy birthday to Jadon &amp; Dagon!

crystallized,
Yr mum's thinking towards "normal" ppl is fine, but not towards maid. And yes, I do share your views with Gemini. As long as we dun ill treat them is fine.
Actually I feel, these maids decide to leave to work in other countries as maids, they should have the right attitude to work and not to geng and trying to be funny lor. If they are not serious with their work, then better dun come and work. Everyone holds a job, just that the nature of the work for each individual is different.

Doreen,
No lah, Jaslyn is not attending any class.

hope that you have enjoyed your Deepavali holiday!

<font color="0000ff">Happy Belated B'day to Joanna, Jadon &amp; Dagon!</font>

Chinese Names
=============
talking of names, i wanted tristan to have the same middle character as tricia but the master say cannot. tricia is "LiXuan" and tristan is "DingHeng". but my mum or even me, got used to calling "LiXuan" sometimes will call tristan as "LiHeng" instead of "DingHeng"...hehee..

Dor
Pai say
it was Jasmine who mentioned abt the $1 thingy for Dryoantz
Kuku of me...

Pearlyn's name also has "En" inside le
So Qiao
I was preggie and watching Korean drama and the lead actress name called "EnXi" so I decided to name her that. Hehe....

Babe_ong,
yes..i mentioned early tat $1 disc for Drypantz.
now no more. but NTUC having rpomo, $15.50 per pack. and some of them they pack with free 3 pcs pull up. so, really worth to buy.
i just top up 6 packs.

Happy birthday CY!!

Babe_ong,
That is a very nice show... hehe.
so pearlyn is named "Enxi"?

Jenny,
Yeah... mamy poko the best.. got so used to it liao.
other brands cant seems to replace.

Tks mummies for the birthday wish!

Crystallized, tks for ur sms. No time to reply u, paiseh.. u know why.. my boys are ill.. again!

Sk mummies, anyone did 'research' on SK talentplus, tots house &amp; edufarm (startots)? Appletree at Blk 237 no vacancy already. The other one at 29x is abit far.

Gemini, is Tricia at the new cc already? Hers is half day or full day? Did you check Kinderland (kindertown) at the stretch of pte houses?

Btw, are our todds eligible for PCF little steps (30mth old onwards)next year? I knw the registration for yr '09 is over but that was for kiddos born before Jun 06 if I remember correctly. This PCF must start from the beginning of the year is it?

hi jlyn,

frankly speaking, i dun not quite like the NTUC CC at blk 21X (one bus stop after Rivervale Plaza), is the ones your boys are in?

tricia is currently at the blk 266 CC which that time i sms u. but come jan 09, i will be changing her to another CC at blk 122A. i will be putting her on half day basis for both CC.
as for that stretch of pte houses along punggol rd, i did not check as my hb dun like it, he felt that too near to the main rd. but according to my hb friend (a kindergarten teacher), she mentioned that Kinderland is not so good.
talent plus (blk 110), tots house (blk 121A), apple tree(blk 158), i did check for these 3 in jun/jul period, but it was already full, need to be put on waiting list for even jan 09 intake. but now, since tricia is in CC now, i did not check further.

Jlyn,
From what I know, PCF starts from beginning of the year, regardless of how many mths the boys are. They go according to calendar year, not actual age.

mammy poko pull up is good but very ex lel.
and luckily A's butt doesn't suit it.

oo..ya
Share a good news - A finally decide to sleep thru the night after he turns 2 yrs old. and the best thing is i finally wean him off too. YIPEE<<

Freshpoison, mango, crystallized, adeline,
Thanks for asking. K is better now.

Gemini,
Ya, you have mentioned your experience before. So you confirm putting Tricia with the cc in blk 122A? You were still considering last week, right?

coral,
I hope you and Char are both much better now. Why end up the 2 of you at home alone?

babe,
Sad to say, I have totally neglected this pregnancy. Partly I am still having morning sickness so still can't eat nutritiously, more like can swallow and keep food down I am very thankful already. And of course partly have to look after K as well. Though my parents and hubby look after him most of the time, he still needs me to be there to sayang him and put him to sleep at night no matter how ill I feel.

Dor,
Ya lor. I feel so depressed sometimes that coming 5 months already and morning sickness still refuse to go away. Sometimes I just hide in my room and cry after I puke. I need to make myself accept that I may be one of those who puke all the way in pregnancy liao. sigh. sian.

Jasmine,
Congrats! I am still waiting for the day K sleeps through the night.

Gemini, tks. My boys are at blk 230. It's either the centre or my boys' immunity that they are always falling ill. I just asked Dr Tan if her clinic got membership discount, she cannot tahan me. Appletree at blk 299 (if i recall the blk no. correctly) got vacancies. But quite far, not within walking dist. There's a tot house near my plc, will call them to check later on.

Jenny, means they can only go PCF in 2010. Tks for the info. I second ur view on MP diapers. Very gd. I am using that for the nite. Tried pampers also, material thinner and it's very gd. But more ex than MP.

Jasmine, weaned off le hah.. congrats! I miss the sleep thru nites. They have been taking turn to fall ill.. and i have been having 'very disturbing' nites with two super grouchy todds.

pups,
your ms still there? poor you.
really hopes that your ms will go soon. at least you can eat some nice food during pregnancy.

so fast 5 mths already...did you know the gender?

btw, thought K already sleep thru? hmm...maybe he will surpirse you when he turns 2 yrs old.
so, celebrate K bday tomorrow?

Jlyn,
ya lor, finally.
but for the first few nights, i still cant get use to it &amp; it's me who cant sleep thru the nite.

but how are their health before going to cc? if both of them are fine under care of your mom, then it's not their immulse system weak, right?

Jasmine,
I have yet to eat anything nice and nutritious. Not yet 5 months. Going onto 20 weeks tomorrow
Based on gynae's check it should be a girl this time. But still got to wait for the detailed scan next week to confirm.

No leh. K doesn't wake up for milk at night but he will wake up to fuss a little before settling back to sleep. We had a little celebration with the immediate families on Sunday. Tomorrow, hubby and myself have taken leave to just spend a day with him

Jasmine,
Frankly speaking hor, I dun mind paying more for diaper if they are good. Maybe be cos Jolene has sensitive skin, she could only use Pampers Premium (now renamed to Pampers Active) and Mamy Poko last time. I used other brands for her, her eczema will strike. So I rather pay more than to go thr the stressful period again. Plus seeing doc once can already buy a few packs of Pampers/Mamy Poko le.
Talking about eczema, I think it is striking on her again, after 2 years...
Realised a small patch on her chest for a week, though still under control. Am praying hard that it will goes off.

Jlyn,
Regarding PCF, are you referring to Pre-Nursery or Nursery?
Pre-Nursery is next year (2009).
Nursery is Year 2010.
In terms of shape, I prefer Mamy Poko, it maintains a better shape than Pampers.