Gemini
haiz, same here. My mum nags abt the maid every sgl day. I oso always listen n try not to refute wat she say. Like u, i agree n know its not easy to face the same person for 12 hrs a day, 5 times a wk. She sees her more than us. And initially i did suspect my mum might b exaggerating things up so i din say much. But aft 1 incident wif the maid, i now noe the maid is really not truthful n tends to push blame away. Coz i am not paying 4 it, i seldom bother abt her.
I believe my mum when she says maid gives her black/unhappy face when she tells her off (when we r not ard). This maid is more cunning than the last one. i hv been asking her if she wants me to speak to my sis to get another maid. she din wan my sis to pay 4 her air tix back (the last one we oso sent her back directly aft 6 mths wif us) n waste money so she said she'll bear wif it until her 2 yrs contract is up. i'm v fearful of my mum's health coz at times the maid really drives her nuts.
The downside is i think my sis is not really listening hard enuff when my mum complains abt the maid. she juz listens n not doing anything. like tt the maid sure ya ya lah.
this morning when my mum was telling me abt the maid, can tell she really angry n said when my sis asked if she wan a new maid, she dun mind liao. this one really drives her nuts.
i really dislike this maid bcoz she's not truthful n my mum says she geng housework n is v unhygienic. she caught her many times liao, eg leting the tods play n "smell" her hair despite my mum scolding her repeatedly NOT to do it, not washing my niece's pacifier aft it fell off the fl or being stepped over. my mum caught her many times too. this is juz the tip of the iceberg. we suspect she might pinch/grab the tods when my mum is busy wif cooking etc. Coz R can complain now. if he suffers any "injustice:, he'll cry and run to someone, point to the area (if he was spanked) or the person whom did tt. Eg if i beat his palms, he'll cry, run to my hb, point to his palm and go "mommy, mommy....!!!!" indicating i am the one tt beat him.
so my mum said R ran to him a few times, crying and kept chanting "jie jie, jie jie...." (his way of addressing the maid) when my mum asked the maid, of coz she'll deny n said he fell/hurt himself etc.
My niece did not know how to "complain" last time but aft seeing R doing it, now she oso runs and cries to my mum when the maid does sthg to her. So far none of us hv caught her red-handed coz she stays away fr the kids when we r ard. its only when my mum is alone wif her then her bag of tricks all come out.
she herself is a mother of a few kids oso. sickening.