(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Dor, I like Minnie Ember. And D is such a bro!

Gemini, well done!

Selina, Caleb looks very grown up in the cowboy pic. But last pic looks more baby. But I can imagine him to be quite grwon up now for he's abt 1kg heavier than Char.

Ill
===
Dunno what happened, but Char threw up twice last night. So gotta change bedsheet in the middle of the nite. But no fever, nothing. I'm very worried about HFMD. Any other symptom than the blister? Hope she's fine. She was actually whining to not let me come to work today...Hope she's fine now.

Feeding
=======
Think Char loves rice, she can sit and feed herself 1 bowl of rice leaving us to have our mealin peace. Realise this girl can eat spicy food too. The other day we had buffet with some mexican spicy fried rice, she actually ate 1 whole bowl on her own when the adults found it quite spicy.

<font color="0000ff">coral</font> talking about his weight, he is down with blocked nose which became cough and phlegm and some vomitting when drinking milk so now lost weight a bit liao. think lost abt 2kg. he gain easily and lose easily too especially when he is sick. almost immediately type.

Caleb loves rice too but i have not allowed him to self feed cos he eats really slowly n messy. i cannot stand kids eats too slow so i rather feed him instead. will only leave some at the end for him to self feed. everytime you ask him what he wanna eat, it is always rice &amp; fish. his favourite.

Dor,
i love minnie Ember too!
she so adorable &amp; chubby lel. i'm sure you spend quite a lot for the little gal hor. envy...
&amp; the last pic that D carry her. sooo wen xin.
aiya..i always kan de qi ni lel. i know you sure can handle both one as D is so guai boy.

Selina,
what's caleb weight &amp; height now? he looks tall in the pics, &amp; of course chubby.
as Alvis, he forever looks slim as usual. keke...

<font color="0000ff">rice</font>
Alvis still dunno how to appreciate rice yet. the more he can eat is few teaspoon nia.
as long as he is eating his porridge, i'm happy liao. but sometimes he reject it too.

but recently he love his fM.

coral,
usually is high fever, follow by blister. Very fast will appear.
Think Charlotte just having upset tummy bah.
Jaslyn also can eats spicy stuff, she's greedy, though she said "hot" but she will still ask for more.

Selina, I think all toddlers the same thye lose veyr quickly when ill. Char an eat fast with rice but slow for porridge and very messy. Same her, I prefer to feed her cos faster only allow her to eat on her own when we know it's gonna be a slow meal where the adults eat and socialise for hours.

Jenny, thank you for the assurance. I think she's fine now. My mum say back to normal just a bit sticky. Same same, CHar also say hot, but says she wants to eat. They're both greedy.

Jasmine, I tot Char would need water, gave her and she refused.

Jasmine,
bo pian, cos Jaslyn very greedy. She even eats laksa and asks for more... She sees anyone eating, she also wants a share. She can eat spicy food better than Jolene. I find Jolene very xiao jie... funny leh, dunno like who.. her mummy very chor lor type.

Coral,
good to hear that.

Coral,
A hor eat anything also messy one. he reject to wear bib, so we always have to change his t-shirt after meal. sigh...

Jenny,
if not like you, then like your hb loL..
but hor is like that one, ppl said if you have 2 daughters, 1 will be very xiao jie &amp; one will b very chor lor type. just like my niece.

Jasmine,
Jaslyn also eats until very messy. I never use bib on my gals. Just clean up and change new shirt.
Usually starting of self feed is slow and messy, they get better after more practices. Now, I seldom let Jaslyn self feed, cos she plays with food!
My hb not very si wen also leh.

Oh ya, anyone went to Taka BB Fair? I read in other thread saying the stock for pigeon standard neck, milk bottles are out of stock?
I'm thinking to go to trade in this weekday on off day. If no more then I dun want to go down purposely liao.

Jasmine, why can't you carry them? Actually, the girl does lokk bigger, but can't tell 4mths older. Char also refuse bib, so just clean after meal, but with rice it's not so messy and for porridge I feed her, so no problem.

Jenny,
A not yet self feed hor. all the time is me/SIL feed him. messy becos he always spit out food. and becos it's porridge, so all stick to chair, himself. arghh...
and hor he hate ppl wipe his face. now even back to 'i dun want to wear cloths' type. jialat!!

Coral,
both of them in msia.
yeah..she only 1.7kg at birth (normal birth at 38wks)but she gain quite good weight now.

do post char recent pics when u free. so long din see her pic here.

Self feeding
kim only prefer to self feed. refuseto let anyone feed her. so i just let her be independent.. let her eat herself lor.

Jasmine,
Erm, I think porridge, not those very watery type is a good start to learn self feeding. Both J start with porridge before proceed to rice.
Maybe can get Alvis to try outside, hee hee, then no need to clear up the mess hahaha...

Thermal Cooker
==============
Can I ask anyone using thermal cooker. I saw OG selling one, member price only $49. Wonder if good? But argh... my sis took my card very long still din return me and promo ends today.

Jenny,
but outside porridge quite watery, right? but we do give him some finger food when we r out for meal.
actually his porridge quite thich one, i used to pass him spoon with porridge when he ate till the end of his meal. and can feels he quite happy to feed himself.

how the thermal cooker look like?

Jenny,
cant see the brand.
hee...actually it's quite useful for those working mom. i understand frm my cousin that she cooked the soup and leave it in the thermal cooker. when she back home, the soup is well cooked. if you want to serve hot, then can reheat a while.
MIL bought one to boil soup &amp; it's save gas. but hor we still prefer use charco to boil soup as it's more tasty. somehow we feels the the soup taste still not fully 'out' if use thermal cooker.
arghh..dunno u understand wat i mean.

Jasmine,
I know what you mean. 不够味道.
I also dunno what the brand leh. But see japanese wordings and price not that ex. Thinking to buy to try. But my sis still yet to reply my SMS. I'm thinking to ask her to get for me since her office near to one of the OG outlet and she got my card. So impossible for me to go OG to get myself...
The small wordings say just bring food to boil for few mins, then transfer into this thermal cooker. No need fire or electricity... I wonder how true?

i dunno why but i totally 4got to check back here aft my last entry. dunno wat my brains thinking lah.

Jenny
u got the thermal cooker anot? Its GOOD! i hv it n i use it every wk.
really no need electricity n no need to watch fire. juz boil over stove for 15 mins then transf inside. I will do this overnite... so the soup is used only for R's lunch &amp; dinner the next day. v useful.
I oso got no time to sun dry the clothes during wkdays but since i use detergent ok for indoor drying, so far so gd. but i'll let my clothes sit on the bamboo poles at least 2-3 days before keeping them. I love wkends coz i can sun dry the clothes.

Dor
E really looks like gorgor! And D so cute lah! Congrats on E's 1st mth.

Gemini
Big congrats to u once again. Quick post ur son's photos! Wats his name?

Gemini
Really??? Ember look like me aah??.....hehehe
Most ppl say he look like korkor...some will say she look like korkor n they both look like their dad. So sad lor.....hehe
My sis worse say look like my fil.

Coral
So qiao Damien also loves RICE.....hahaha
But he won't leave us in peace cos he will keep asking for 'somemore'....hahahha
D's taken some spicy food before but he very weird some he say 'hot' some he jus eat n he likes eating our laska.....hahaha
That day we went BK D follow us dip his fries in the chilli sauce but the chilli is not really spicy lah.
Hope Char's okie now.

Jasmine
Ummmmm till now haven spend much for E yet leh. Cos maybe my hubby scared I buy so he kept buying those cheap cheap clothes for her when he find but he buy green blue yellow kind of colors.....sigh
So now I cannot buy more yet cos so many....sian lor n the cheapo clothes are the at most can go J8 kind leh so sian cannot dress E up.

Ehh so cute really about the same size leh...hehe
Ur nephew face look abit like A is it??

Jenny
Huh so fast no more?? I still thinking when to go leh cos scared next week go all good buys gone liao....hehehe

<font color="0000ff">coral</font> good idea. think i should try letting him self feed if we wanna sit for long but only for lunch cos 1 concern is if he eats too slowly for dinner and affects his bedtime milk...

<font color="0000ff">dor</font> your minnie ember is so adorable. damien with the hairband looks like ember.

crystallized,
Yes, my sis managed to buy for me ynite (yes, finally managed to contact her before she left office!). I'm going to collect either today or tomor, so I can wash it up to ready for weekend use hee hee.. I bought it mainly for soup and porridge. I hate to reheat porridge cos not very good for health. Intend to get the porridge cooked then transfer to the thermal cooker on Sun AM, so by the time we come home from Jolene's swimming class, the porridge will be hot and ready to eat (can right? I read in internet just need another 2-3hrs for porridge to cook??). She usually gets hungry after the class, and I have to get her a bottle of milk first then I prepare lunch. Sometimes she's too tired, she will just fall asleep w/o a proper lunch.
I'm using detergent for indoor too, but I dun like the clothes to sit on bamboo poles for days. I scare got those cooking/oily smell, especially when we not at home, windows are closed except for a small window at the service balcony. I very "ying chim" on the smell (even very slight I also can't tahan). Moreover, my hb has never like the idea to sun/air clothes outside. He said he heard/read of those neighbours quarrel over the water droplets incidents. So to avoid all these, he insists to get a dryer when we bought our own place (even my IL's place got dryer though they stay in pte property, so hb used to have dryer). So you see, I've been using for the last 5-6 years, and I'm so used of dryer, to the extend, I can't live w/o it. It saves a lot of our time to monitor weather, hanging, taking down plus folding lor. I'm not ard most of the weekends, so a dryer saves all the troubles lor.

Doreen,
Dunno leh, I read in other thread saying OOS and they are not going to replenish stock. The fair only starts on 7th leh, so fast. The previous one, all the way got the trade in right? Cos I remember I did the trade in on the last few days leh.

Dor,
wow..your h bought clothes for Ember. then you can save $$ 1st, wait till you more mobile with 2 kids, then can start shopping for older clothes. then more fun.

dunno lel. i havent see my nephew yet. but he looks exactly like his bro.

Jenny,
great that your sis bought for you. since it's have jap wording, shld b not bad. haha...
A been eating reheat food, no wonder he always 吃不胖。
normally if you keep the food in thermal cooker after you cook, the food will keep warm abt 5-6hrs. waa...the website very useful for thermal cooker user. i wanna keep this link so that can use it once i move to my own hse.
btw, tot both J dun like to eat porridge?

Dor, hehe, so the little couple have the same liking. Char likes laksa too. At first I told Char she can see D, in the end we didn't get to meet. So the other day she told my Mum, Papa Mama hold hands. Then my mum asked, what about Charlotte, she replied Char lotte hold hand with bf. Haha, after I told her about meeting her bf D, she actually keep that in mind. And when asked abt her bf she'll smile very shyly and hide her face in her hands.

Jasmine, I also hoping to sort out some of CHar's pics and post her, but hor 2mths from my trip liao I still have not look at my own pics yet, soon it'll be old pic liao. But no choice, ever since I came back from my trip has been busy with my reno. Now almost done, just the unpacking and the bits and pieces. But I guess it'll take me another 2-3wks. I hope this wkend I can have a chance to sort post some pics.

Jasmine,
hee, I think the same way as you, got jap wordings mah haha... biased hor?
Hee I got desperate, called her hp at 6pm sharp, hoping her to pick up phone haha..
Reheat food is ok, but not for porridge. Cold porridge then reheat to warm up will introduce wind. Even adults will get it. Rice/porridge should eat while warm. Occasionally reheat is ok but not frequent. I dun like slow cooker cos waste electricity plus need to keep stirring to avoid porridge got stick to the pot.
5-6hrs only meh? I read in internet it can keep warm and hot for over 12hrs leh. Seems very good for dessert like green bean soup, barley etc... I shall be more hardworking to prepare these to "reduce body heat" then.
Jolene is ok with porridge, but not Jaslyn. Jaslyn only eats those porridge with a lot of taste like peanut porridge (finally "catch" her taste bud last Sun. No wonder I wasted so much effort to cook other kinds of porridge). She hates fish porridge and meat porridge but loves soup. I was telling hb ynite I felt myself so stupid to watch over fire for the gals' porridge, especially Jolene's time last time. Should have buy earlier!

jenny,
i can't live without my thermal pot, i use it to make soup everyday and last time during confinement, i used it for my red date logan drink. As for desserts, i've done the papaya, white fungus with almonds (nan xing, bei xing).
But one caution with porridge, somehow the porridge will get dried up in the thermal cooker, so remember to add a bit more water. I guess got to trial and error. I still prefer to cook porridge with the slow cooker because i find it v hard to estimate.

My sis bought the OG one. Comparing the inner pot with my Thermos brand one, the thermos one is thicker, but of course the price also different by a lot lah. She found the pot very useful so she subsequently "upgraded" to a Tiger one during Isetan sale.
The OG one is good for a start, just to try if you like it or not. If you think it's useful, next time can upgrade. hee....

Dor,
Ember is a mini Damien but somehow i see the resemblence to you also.

yeah..biased. haha..
sad to say..A been eating reheat porridge all the while. i cooked in slow cooker (no need to stir lel), then thye will take out a portion for each meal &amp; reheat using microwave.

so, during weekend, i try to cook other food like macoroni, noddles for him if we din go out. at least he can eat someting fresh.
not so sure for the timing. but dun think 12hrs still hot, shld b just warm. if you cook green bean soup, add in sweet potatoes, very nice. and if barley, boil chinese barley. hee...A love both dessert.

for your peanut porridge, what else ingrediant you add in? tot they cant eat peanut yet?
A also hate fish porridge &amp; meat porridge. we throw in ikan bilis to boil his porridge (her prefer that than ikan bilis powder) with some vege. and yes, he loves soup especially heng cai soup.

Jasmine
dun heat food using microwave. it's really really harmful for both adults and kids..!
U go read search and read it up..

thermal pot
really so good???

Jasmine, I share Adeline's thought that's why I didn't even bring the microwave oven with me when I moved house. Although I think my Mil may use it to heat up food for Char, I try to minimise that.

Jasmine
not scaring you.. but read this..

Ten Reasons to Throw out your Microwave Oven

From the conclusions of the Swiss, Russian and German scientific clinical studies, we can no longer ignore the microwave oven sitting in our kitchens. Based on this research, we will conclude this article with the following:

1). Continually eating food processed from a microwave oven causes long term - permanent - brain damage by 'shorting out' electrical impulses in the brain [de-polarizing or de-magnetizing the brain tissue].

2). The human body cannot metabolize [break down] the unknown by-products created in microwaved food.

3). Male and female hormone production is shut down and/or altered by continually eating microwaved foods.

4). The effects of microwaved food by-products are residual [long term, permanent] within the human body.

5). Minerals, vitamins, and nutrients of all microwaved food is reduced or altered so that the human body gets little or no benefit, or the human body absorbs altered compounds that cannot be broken down.

6). The minerals in vegetables are altered into cancerous free radicals when cooked in microwave ovens.

7). Microwaved foods cause stomach and intestinal cancerous growths [tumors]. This may explain the rapidly increased rate of colon cancer in America .

8). The prolonged eating of microwaved foods causes cancerous cells to increase in human blood.

9). Continual ingestion of microwaved food causes immune system deficiencies through lymph gland and blood serum alterations.

10). Eating microwaved food causes loss of memory, concentration, emotional instability, and a decrease of intelligence.

Have you tossed out your microwave oven yet? After you throw out your microwave, you can use a toaster oven as a replacement. It works well for most and is nearly as quick. The use of artificial microwave transmissions for subliminal psychological control, a.k.a. 'brainwashing', has also been proven. We're attempting to obtain copies of the 1970's Russian research documents and results written by Drs. Luria and Perov specifying their clinical experiments in this area.

Jenny
I got no recipes lah. hehhe, me not a gd cook. i juz use to prepare R's soup stock.
Its 2.5 litres n gd for abt 3 meals. at times if i can forsee i'll not hv time to prepare fresh stock for the next day, i will store the extra 1 portion n can juz use. v convenient.

yes u can use to cook porridge in the am n by the time u come back fr swim class, juz nice 4 jas to eat. but like wat bbgrace said, porridge tends to b dried up by the time u wanna feed jas. so gotta add more water. but so far i only used once 4 porridge, so i not sure how much water to add oso. at most at the top layer (they usually hv an addn tray), u keep some soup stock so even if porridge is dry, u can add the soup stock to it.

yah the thermal cooker can keep warm up to 12 hrs for mine (Endo brand). I usually cook the stock ard 10+pm, then transf into thermal cooker. the next day ard 11+am, reheat the soup stock for R's lunch. Then transf back to thermal cooker again or juz keep in chiller for R's dinner.
v convenient. U shld ask bbgrace &amp; esther! they intro the thermal cooker to me! heee... yah agree wif bbgrace tt u juz get a cheap one to try out if u like it. then if u do, can "upgrade" to better ones like Tiger. tt one is close to $200 for a big one. but since i eat over at my parents plc most days, i dun hv to get one. my mum is v skeptical abt the thermal cooker so even if i wanna buy her one, she oso refuse. saying will cause cancer coz the thing dun even use electricity... blah blah...

my kitchen's windows oso close in the day when we work but somehow i think the ventilation is still quite ok. clothes dry within 2 days even if i dun sun dry it. and so far no smell. i oso v yim jim on the smell one. most times i can smell it but my hb is numbed to it! hahaha

Jasmine
yah dun use m/wave if u can. i only used it less than 5 times b4 pregnancy n i stopped using it once pregnant wif R. till now i hv not touched it. i rather heat up by conventional method... or use oven... i think its still better than m/wave... esp kids n preggies.... my mum totally refuse to use all these electronic pdts!

adeline
wah...real or not? sounds woolly leh...

but hor i must say microwaved food doesnt taste as good as food put in an oven toaster!!!it lacks certain yumminess to it.

i never had a microwave oven my life, even now. coz it takes up too much space. and hor very embarrased to tell you people. i dun even know how to use one... :p

Adeline,
thanks for the article.

Adeline/coral/crystallized,
thanks for the concern.

maybe i shld explain more..i m using slow cooker to cook A's porridge b4 i came to work like 8am. by 10am, the porridge well cook. A only took his porridge ard 12.30pm. usually thye will warm his porridge in oven (shld b oven, not microwave, any diff or not?) just 30 second and serve to A.
same procedure apllied during dinner as he eat same food for both meal.

i know it's really not ggod for toddler but i really not choice rather than he follow in law to eat outside food everyday as mil din cook for lunch. there was once he have to eat porridge bought frm hawker centre, it's really salty loL.

or maybe you all have any good idea to warm the porrdge. i tried the method to switch to auto mode after cook A porridge in slow cooker. for lunch, still acceptable. but if for dinner, the porridge really cant eat at all.

babygrace,
aiya, I think next time better dun seek men's advise for such thing. I asked hb dunno last year or early this year. He told me no good cos his mum used before.
To think I so pitiful last time boo boo...
Yes, I read abt the dryness of porridge. Either too dry or too watery. Need to trial and error.
I usually cook porridge over fire on stove. No prob for me cos the gals dun like nua nua porridge.
Ya lor, cos is cheap at OG for member price, thats why I bought to try to see if like it or not lor. Dun dare to spend so much, if not wait no good, waste $.

Jasmine,
why need to reheat using microwave when you are using slow cooker? You mean you off the slow cooker? I dun off it, I let it runs. Not really need to stir. Cos I dun like to "scrub" the pot (you know use the green side of the 3M sponge to wash), I usually use the yellow side just to clean nia, cos I scare scrub will spoil the slow cooker pot.
I seldom cook porridge for the gals cos you know Jaslyn doesn't like. Usually is mee sua, noodles, kway tiao, rice etc. Usually is "want to eat time" then I cook.
Toddlers dun take peanuts cos scare allergy and choking. I'm using braised peanuts, those soft soft one. My gals are "trained" to eat peanuts (those hard types) after 1. Just that I save time and I like braised peanuts, so I use it. Added dried scallop, a few (5 - 6) mashed soya bean, dried mushroom. Can add beancurd also. My mum always cook for my dad.
BTW, I never so hardworking to boil stock to cook for the gals' meal.

crystallized,
I tested at my place too, 2 days for air dry, but I dun like. Maybe cos my mum place is very windy, clothes get dry in 30mins time (with good sun of cos), and the most 2 hrs with just wind. Thats why I love her place. I'm so used clothes dun hang on bamboo poles for more than 1 day! Thats why I can't stand the sight of it! My hb calls me weird person.

lilyboymum,
No need to be embarrased! Cos I also dunno how to use! If I ever use, is just to turn to 1 min to reheat food, which I dun like. Cos I feel microwave food taste hard and dunno like what!!

Jasmine,
Actually last time hor, I cooked the porridge over stove fire then transferred over to slow cooker to continue to cook till it got really nua nua type. (at first, I cooked directly on slow cooker, but found it very slow! So my aunt taught me to cook over stove).
After the porridge was cooked (high heat), I would leave the slow cooker on on low heat(I ever left it on auto mode, it got boiled and really very nua). That means I started to cook in the morning and I left the slow cooker on at low heat all the way till dinner time. The porridge was always burning hot. Low heat will not boil the porridge.

My aunt said never cook the porridge then leave in pot to cool. If you want for both lunch and dinner, you must make it warm all the way. Once porridge (even rice) is cooled and you reheat it, you are introducing air, hence, the person taking the porridge will get wind in stomach easily.

Mashed Soya Bean
================
BTW, dun ask me why hor. I was told by hb to mash a few pcs of soya bean into all dishes from now onwards. He said must mashed it. He read in one of his buddhism book on nutrients or something like that, 1-2 pcs mashed soya bean is very good to our bodies.

hello mummies...

me hitting a rough patch recently... my granny pass away last week, me very affected cos she brought me up, she's really very dear to me, even closer than my mum... plus we didnt even had e chance to say goodbye to her... then after e funeral i got sick.. until now still no voice n coughing, but hv to come back to work cos whole of last week never work, stil dont come in scared kena "blacklisted"...
n the top of e icing, my hubby is out of job liaoz... kinda "forced to resign"... but "lucky" thing is he managed to negotiate for a reasonable package.. so now he's home everyday looking for job lah.... temporary SAHF...
well... e "up side" is.. it cant get any worse liaoz... so things will juz look up from now bah...

<font color="0000ff">thermal cooker</font>
all i can say is, its the BEST kitchen appliance i've bought. my mum is also e type very very against microwave ovens 1... simply refuse to use. initially when i bought e thermal cooker back, she also very hesitant abt using it. i bought a Tiger 6L one... tat time Taka promo it was under $200.. keep persuading n persuading, then i use it to show her somemore...
now, she also agree that its the best thing i ever bought for my home... she uses it almost everyday for soups/porridge/drinks... usually she'll boil e soups in the morning, then put it into the thermal pot... until abt 4-5pm she'll take out to boil again for awhile more, when we have our dinner at 7-8pm, soup is still hot n very "ru wei" ar...
lastnite she also use this to cook a herbal tea for me... at night boil liaoz, leave it overnite.. this morning "ta bao" into water bottle for me to bring to work liaoz...

<font color="ff6000">gemini</font>
<font color="ff0000">CONGRATZZZ on the arrival of your prince!!!</font> wow, he reli know how to choose his birthday leh... 080808... ya, wats his name???
btw, i wanted to ask u... were u n ur hb n tricia at Hougang Mall on Sunday 3rd Aug?? i think i havent met u b4, but i saw a couple (mummy was very heavily preggy) with a lil girl that looks very much like tricia at e foodcourt ard 7pm.... u n ur hb both very tall???

<font color="ff6000">dor</font>
congratz to ember's 1st month!!!
hey, she reli reli reli look like Damien's photocopy lah.... so cute, minnie ember..
same lor, envy envy ur D &amp; E can take photos together... my 2 going to start war at home soon liaoz...

<font color="ff6000">selina</font>
nice to see so many photos of caleb again.... he so cute n cooperative leh, let u dress him up so many ways.... my stubborn boy wont even wear a cap even tho' he's afraid of e sun... wear sunglass for him less than 3 secs remove liaoz...

<font color="ff6000">jasmine</font>
i already intro peanuts to A last week liaoz... cos at e wake he "bo si diam" (cannot keep still), so in an effort to make him sit down for awhile, i gave him some peanuts... i think after 1yr old can give liaoz, unless there's a high chance of allergies (family history).. if not, then juz break it into halves, to reduce risk of choking only lor....

<font color="0000ff">change of "patterns"?</font>
i think its a phase... but am not sure... Ayden recently changed his "pattern" on quite a number of things leh.... e.g.:
he used to love his bath (he was still soaking in bathtub) and even after 20-30mins stil refuse to come out... but abt 2 weeks back, one fine day he suddenly refuse to bath, n will only accept a quick shower (he used to be scared of e shower)... since then, he doesnt wana bath anymore... until now... we are all very puzzled... its not an issue lah, but juz very puzzled how come like tat lor....
the other thing is going out... last time we juz say "go out" nia.. he immed rush to e door, ask u to wear shoes for him n he's off liaoz... but recently, he like very "confused" like tat leh... drag n drag also dont wana go n wear shoes to go out... sometimes sit down liaoz, wearing halfway le, then can change his mind n dont want again....
reli duno wat he wants sometimes....

<font color="0000ff">conversations</font>
hehehe... i finally can join u mummies in holding conversations with ayden liaoz... nowadays he's favourite "word" is "ittis" (meaning: wat is this?).. so our conversations sometimes will go like this...
e.g. watching fishes in a tank at our neighbourhood mall..
ayden: ittis (pointing to something in e tank)
me: wheels, turning round n round to make bubbles for e fishes...
ayden: woun n woun (round n round)
*pause*
ayden: ittis (pointing to e pebbles)
me: stones... small small stones..
me: what is this? (point to fish)
ayden: ish... (then he'll point to one long fish n ask) ittis
me: long long fish..
ayden: nong nong ish....

hehehehe.... hear him speak hor, sometimes reli so cute leh... he's trying very hard to speak now.. but his pronounciation if always "off".. so wat comes out is his own version, not exactly baby language, but some form of language that only mummy understands... (e best thing is, even tho' my maid takes care of him hor.. she can't reli decipher his language)

<font color="0000ff">recommendation: Leapfrog letters factory DVD</font>
just wana share this with u all hor... i think this DVD is very good leh... it teaches alphabets n phonics... ayden recently started watching tis disc (n rejected all his old "wheels on the bus" discs) hor... abt a few weeks of watching, he knows his alphabets n e sounds they make liaoz... he cant say out all the letters yet, but he knows most of e sounds they make.. he even imitates some of e actions of e characters in the show...
i felt it helped him learn his alphabets lor... so tot of sharing with u all...

<font color="ff6000">jenny</font>
on mashed soya bean, i think today (or yesterday) newspaper also got an article came out saying taking soya bean (or by-products) everyday reduces risk of breast cancer...

Jenny,
yes..they off it. i did told them what you all share here long time ago that dun off the switch of the slow cooker. but they insist it cos according to them, the porridge will burnt if we din off the switch. then they intro me to reheat the porridge in oven.

now i m so worried after read you all posting as he been eating 'this kind of porridge' since he take solid food. me want to cry now..

maybe i shld try one of the weekend to proof them that porridge will keep warm &amp; not burnt if we on the slow cooker till dinner time. but the problem is they always not at home during morning session. and also they concern abt the electricity used.

how???

oo..yea. today ST just posted that soya bean can reduce the chances of getting breast cancer. 1 cup of soya drink will b enough for day consume.

Starz,
sorry to hear that your granny just pass away.
agree that our kids really pattern 'liao liao'. remember that time you told us that Ayden alwasy poo b4 bedtime. Alvis been that since last 2 weeks. while he drink his last feed b4 bedtime, he will poo. then i have to change him &amp; then let him continue his milk.

i believe it's a phase. last time A dun like bath or wash hair. ut recently he love it cos we give him some bath toys.

Leapfrog letters factory DVD
keke...A already forget his 'wheels on the bus', now his favourite is brainy baby &amp; leapfrog dvd. i dun mind to let him watch cos he very concentrate &amp; will follow what they say or action. hehe...

that day my mil even ask me why cant give A water mix with some ribena since A dun like to drink water.
i told her that i dun want A totally reject water once we give him ribena and it's cause phlegm too. then she told me my hb aunt give ribena to all 3 kids since young cos they dun want to drink water.

i did give A some yughurt drink but tat's to let A try drink frm straw. i don't think i want to give A sweet drink.

jenny
think your hb is talking about the okinawan diet. lotsa soya bean in their diet. helps promote longetivity. but recent reports also indicate could cause low sperm count in males...but then you not having anymore kiddoes...so it's ok lah..kekekekekeke....

jasmine,
What about not cooking the porridge all at one shot? I find that cook too long in slow cooker, it'll tend sticky, even when the kids happen to take their meal later than usual, i already find it too sticky, not to mention keeping till evening.
What i do for lunch is to cook the soup stock first in slow cooker and then 1.5 hrs before eating then add the rice in. 10 mins before eating, i'll ate green veg. As I cook soup for dinner everyday, my maid will just use the soup for the porridge and start cooking about 1.5hrs before dinnertime in the slow cooker. Now Em sometimes eat rice for dinner so we no need to cook porridge.
What you can do is to cook the soup stock separately first for both lunch and dinner and then use the slow cooker to cook the porridge about 1.5hrs before meal time. A bit more lechey but i find the texture better.

starz,
Sorry to hear about your grandma's passing. Hope things will look up for your family soon.

Leapfrog DVD
Yes, the letter factory is good. Em's favourite sound and action is for letter M, she'll go mmm.... and rub her tummy.
In fact the whole range is very good, Talking Words Factory and Storybook factory helps Joshua to read and spell a lot of words. He has learnt to phonetically pronounce a word. Some weeks back we were shopping and he saw the brand "BOSS" and he asked hubby what word is that. Hubby asked him to try reading it and he went "B_o_ss"
My friend ever accused me of "over teaching" my son cos at 3.5 years, he can spell and read quite a few words and my reply to her was "eh... actually i didn't teach him, i just let him watch dvds" haha!

<font color="0000ff">leapfrog dvd</font>
hehehe... didnt know so many of u already have it... <font color="ff6000">bbgrace</font>, ya.. its so cute that they imitate the actions rite... Ayden's action when doing the MMMM is to "scratch" his mouth area... he also loves to flap his hands n "fly" to the F sound... i also juz ordered the other titles in the series from spree n waiting for it to arrive.... we were juz kidding at home the other day that Belle will probably learn all her alphabets at 1yr old.. cos she's watching tis everyday together with gor-gor....

babygrace,
yeah..agree, the porridge tend to sticky, so if dinner, we will add in some soup into porridge.
I cant cooke the porridge with your method cos i'm FTWM ma..cook porrdge early morning. where got time to cook in that way lel..hehe...

but during my off day, yes..i will boil soup stock &amp; cook watever for him.

starz,
Some things can't foresee. I think the mgmt knows lah.
I was away from work for 1.5weeks for my grandma's wake, plus cos she's a taoist, got some post-ritual prayers.

RE: Leapfrog DVDs
Yes, I think is good and entertaining. The gals have been watching for more than a year plus, once a week. Wonder when they will get sick. But somehow, hb and I are attracted to it too. Personally, I feel these DVDs are much better than the system pad.

Re: Soya Bean Drink
From my understanding, cos my MIL got osteoporosis, the specialist told her to drink a cup of soya bean drink per day. Nothing more than a cup cos too much soya bean harms body.

Jasmine,
The porridge won't get burnt when you switch to low heat. It keeps it warm. I'm surprised your MIL doesn't know cooled rice and porridge are no good to bodies. I tot, or rather my impression, is all elders know. Maybe I'm wrong.
Tell your IL the porridge will not get burnt when using low heat. I've been using that last time. From AM all the way till dinner time, and yes like what babygrace mentioned, the porridge will be a bit sticky, so usually I add water. You know how rice cooker works? It turns to "keep warm" instead of "off" after the rice is cooked? They have a reason to keep the rice warm. Also, overnite rice is a no-no to kids especially. Adults can still take overnite rice, but will also kena wind.
And also, I very against giving ribena, no matter how diluted it is. Yakult and ribena are bad for kids. Occasionally a slip is ok. They are the main cause of phlegm.

lilboymum,
Low sperm court good ah, the lesser the better hahaha...
It's abt healthy food, a few pcs of mashed soya bean is good, it has good nutients. But not too much. He told me only use 1-2 pcs.

Jenny
Ok then i got nothing more to say abt u airing the clothes liao! hahaha...
Soya beans stuff cannot overeat... i read an article tt it causes breast cancer in women. but tt article did mention the user is obsessively taking in soya bean pdts coz she thinks the more, the merrier, the healthier. so the bottom line is, take in moderation. i feel my calcium intake is no gd, so every morning when i take b/f, i now drink soya bean milk instead of tea wif milk.

Jasmine
A still eating porridge for lunch &amp; dinner? surprised tt he still likes it coz R "upgraded" to rice a long time ago. now i only cook porridge when he's sick. most times its 1 meal of mee suah/u mee and dinner is usually rice. and i'll let him eat wat we eat at dinner since my mum's cooking no MSG, so its ok.
4 u, its tricky coz ur MIL dun cook.
by right, slow cooker shld not consume a lot of electricity as regular appliances does. tts my concept lah. not sure if its true.
in this case, i really feel u oso need a thermal cooker. thermal cooker got 1 layer for u to separate things, so at the bottom u can cook porridge, the upper layer u can cook fish/veg etc.
Poor u lah, oso gotta "battle" wif ur ILs wat to give/not to give A. U r v patient wif them liao. if i were u, i'll go crazy 1st. but dun b sad, u r not purposely trying to introduce bad things to A... juz tt u dun hv a choice.
how abt giving A yoghurt? actually now tt they r turning 2, no need to really restrict them too much. i am ok wif giving R yakult drinks once a while. moreover my mum is quite strict wif the things tt goes into the 2 tods' mouth at home coz she knows if they got phlegm, she will hv a hard time.

Starz
Sorry to hear abt ur grandma. jie ai shun bian.

We oso got the leapgrog DVD factory but how come R cannot sit still n watch???? he's not interested lah. in fact he learnt his alphabets from a cheap CD i got from local bookshops (Richard Scarry's series) and Meet The Letters (can buy fr Amazon.com). jenny said her girls love the leapfrog series n i bot it but R not interested leh. i wait 4 him to like it. hahaha

lilboymum
No, he won't! He said if kena #3 then he dies!! haha

crystallized,
yes, soya bean products must take in moderation. Soya bean drink max is only 1 cup per day. No more than that.
My calcium intake also very poor.
Ya, my gals love the leapfrog DVDs. Jaslyn has been watching since bbtime like 3,4 mths old?? Can't remember. But Jaslyn loses her concentration after a while, unlike Jolene who will watch till the end. My gals also interested wtih Richard Scarry ABC VCD.