(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Jenny,
my mil knew that cool porridge r not gd for bodies, tat's why she ask us to reheat the food. sound contra huh?
maybe i discuss wif them again. c what's the best solution.

crystallized,
yes .. A still eat porridge as staple food but wkend i try to cook mee suah/noddle/macoroni for him as dinner.
hey..tell u hor, i oredi give in alot if compare to others. u know wat? my in law faminly believe food w/o msg no TASTE. even just put a tiny bit of msg, they will say the food taste diff.
so, A been eating that.
thermal cooker.. can think abt it but i hope A can upgraded to rice.
Alvis already give up yoghurt, it was his favourite food but now he hate it. I did give A a slip of yakult if i drink but i try not to do tat in front of in law. i afraid they think that 'hey..u also give ur son yakult, why i cant give him ribena?' then will give him more junk food.

Thermal cooker
==============
I think it's quite a good investment for me. I remeber using it to cook some food and my mil was very impressed and hb got so proud. Haha.

Leapfrog
========
Dunno why but Char is very put off by the leapfrog leapdpad. We bought her some when she was younger and this trip to US we bought more, but she's just against it. Maybe I should try the DVD?

Leapfrog
can lend from library.

but usually all the leapfrog dvd is a piece of 'hot cake'. haha...

Jenny
yah tts wat i do. juz 1 cup a day, cannot overtake.
yah lah ur girls like it so much... mayb R needs more time to warm up. somemore its only during wkends he gets to watch it. at my mum's got plenty to watch liao. they will either ask 4 DVDs or my mum juz switch on disney channels.

Jasmine
yah in tt case u cant show the junk food u feed in front of ur ILs...
huh? wat concept they hv??? give msg to A??? my hb oso pig-brained, keep saying wat i cook is so bland, muz add seasoning like soy sauce. i chided him, saying i myself finds tt the taste is juz nice, so to R, its def flavourful enuff. its he himself tt got strong taste buds.
tts y i say u really v chin chye n close ur eyes liao lor. but u oso no choice lah.

crystallized,
the gals also get to watch once a week, sometimes once a fortnight. Maybe cos they never have chance to watch at my mum place.

coral,
the leap pad may not appeal to some kids because they can't grasp the concept of interacting with a book. A hit or miss kind of thing. Joshua loved it but Em doesn't play as much with it.

starz,
It's very funny to watch their actions right. You could be right, Belle may end up knowing her ABCs.
I've been telling hubby that Em still doesn't recognise her ABCs but just now I was writing on her doodle board and decided to test her. Then i realised while she doesn't know how to say the letters, she can make the phonetic sounds. Wrote C and she went k..k...k and F she started going fff and flaping her hands like Ayden. Funniest thing was letter H, she went h..h..h, hot hot, la4 la4, cannot eat, must drink water.

Jenny
Yah I read the thread also. Sounds like this yr got quite abit of nice things leh so I itching to go jus dunno if I should go earlier incase all goodbuys gone hehehe

Coral
Wah Char so clever remember her bf.....hehhee
Will be shy somemore so cute. But too bad no chance to meet leh.

Yooohoooo ppl when's the next gathering???.....hahahha

Adeline
Read the microwave thingy so scarry. Good thing my microwave abit like white elephant.

Starz
I like ur spirit "it cant get any worse liaoz... so things will juz look up from now bah".
Jiayou for ur prince n princess okie.
I'm jus waiting for E to grow too big for D to carry her. He nearly gave my mum heart attack that day by carrying E up from the rocker right beside my mum. hahahaha

hehe actually I think these dvd vcd very good for them cos they learn alot from there. D also learn from the brainy bb quite abit. Although he got an alphabet 1 liao u make me itch to try the leapfrog 1 leh....hahaha
Lazy mummy will try anything to get off from having to teach D on her own....hehe

Jasmine
Maybe can let A try rosehip instead of ribena??
NTUC got sell this red bottle of rosehip. U add in water same like ribena but its vit c very good for them. I bought for D but urrr he dun like.. hehehhe

Okie alternative hor maybe u wanna buy a thermal container n keep the porridge there after its cooked in the slow cooker. Then when A eat it will still be warm ma right?
My mum also same pattern no matter wat also must add abit of msg then she will say its nice.

bbgrace
hahaha yah our kids hor we cannot undermine them. Like this morn D was awake n watching his tv while I still drifting between sleeping n awake.
I tot I was dreaming cos this D sit right beside me saying "color red" "color green" "color color" n then saying his own name "zhang jing kai" "name" "jing kai"
I was really like huh he's saying his own name himself leh am I dreaming??.....hahaha
N he never says color cos I'm not sure he knows his colors now yet. N he told me "good morning" n kiss me.....hehehe

Conversation
------------------------------
Now this is our conversation every morn.

D: Good morning
D: Bye bye Mama
Me: Bye bye Damien
D: Mien mien work(N pretends to go)
Me: No No
D: (breaks into peals of laughter) Work (pretend to go again)

N continues until I sian n tell him okie liao la mama wake up liao.....hahaha

Change Pattern
-------------------------------------
I think they still 'looking' for their identity so will change change n see which they prefer.
D also now at a dun wanna take off clothes stage changing him into PJ is always a struggle for hubby. Siao hor ppl dun wanna wear clothes he dun wanna take off.

hi morning mummies

jenny
haha...actually heard from many mothers third one usually quite ok coz the first two will entertain themselves and you can easily handle one child....kekekkeke...*suggestion suggestion*

starz
hang in there!!! think about it this way, belle is growing up liaoz and you can very soon kiao kah...and yes, like what laws of science suggest, it can only go up from now!!!

dordor
wow, damien can actually carry on a conversation liaoz...

freshpoison
i also dun have it...havent shown cy much tv yet. not sure if they show him any junk tv when he goes over to ILs place occasionally...

bbgrace
cy can also recognise some letter sounds. but he sometimes need prompts using the actual word.

once he was playing with an S hook, those used for hanging stuff. refused to let it go and kept going ssssssss, sssssss, ssssssss...and that entertain him throughout the entire car ride...

i havent taught cy letter names yet...seems like many tots here can produce letter names already hor...

Doreen,
Got what good buys?
I just want to do the trade in for milk bottles but the standard neck 260ml bottles confirmed OOS liao... Sianz...

lilboymum,
Yes, definately! #2 already very easy to handle.
It's not abt handling issue. But we have a lot of considerations if going for #3. Mentally and physically, I'm not prepared to be #3 mummy. I'm not prepared to start all over again after more than 2 years gap. I think I mentioned many times, I want a year difference for siblings. I can't accept any age more than 2 years difference. Plus, it is very ex to have #3. I'm taking into consideration if I be SAHM, and only hb working with just 1 income, very siong for him. So 2 is good for us.
Dun worry lah, my 3 years old at home dun even recognise letters and numbers, and I'm not worried. I din teach the 2 gals at all. They watch the VCDs/DVDs for entertainment, so I can have my own time to do things I like.

jenny
but hor your girls are physically superb man! i saw the photos of them on the monkey bars!! wow...

you mean you two Js are only one year apart? thought 2?20 plus months difference right?

think stopping at two is good enough. cannot imagine a brood actually...

lilboymum,
all kids can do that, they are strong.

If you are talking about calender year, yes, they are a year apart. Jolene is Feb 2005 and Jaslyn is Oct 2006. In actual mths difference is 19.5 mths exactly, rounded to 1.5 years difference lor.

So you see, Jaslyn is now 22mths. If going for #3, taking 10 mths preggie period, when #3 arrives, Jaslyn is almost 3 years old. Cannot lah! Worst, I'm going to tie down another 3 years leh. I dun want!

freshpoison
kim dun have it too.. she doesnt like to watch such dvds.. i bad lor.. she watch drama shows with me.. when she see ppl crying in the tv, her face will change, she frown and sometimes cry together lol!..

Starz
Sry to hear bout ur granny. stay strong and keep going!

Dor
They both really look alike lor..! U confinement finish liao? So fast want bring both out alone shopping liao huH! hahaha..
5th sept i bringing my girls to genting.. wish me luck lol!..

Adeline,
Ya, thats why I keep telling you after 6mths you will see sunshine hahaa...

But yours "lugi" cos by calendar year is "2 years" difference, but exact difference is only 15mths (correct?). I want calendar year 1 year difference, so I got plan one haha...
Why 1 year calender year, cos when they go Pri Sch next time, Jaslyn can take over Jolene's book, provided I suay... MOE decides to change books!!

Adeline,
Oh ya, my gals also watch drama shows with grandparents. They will cry when the ppl in tv cry also... you know weekdays dunno is 4.30pm or 5pm got that taiwan hokkien show, yi nan wang, how I know, cos my 1st maternity leave, already showing, I'm surprised now still showing! Few hundred episode liao! And my parents like to watch, my gals are glued to this show. They always cry while watching!

Thanks all mommies for your feedback on cooking porridge.
Already discuss with in law and luckily they agree with me (i used the reason that A look thin mayb due to the porridge got wind. haha...)
then they will on the slow cooker till dinner time. at the meantime will try to let A eat rice so that he only need to eat porridge for lunch.
it's good that prepared him to childcare in future.

Crystallized,
my hb got very strong taste bud too. he used to say my mom cooking no taste. then i reallized bcos he used to his mom cooking.
well, i hope that i can have more plain food once we move to new house as i can fully use my termal cooker.
me arr consider quite chin chye ba since i can stay with in laws & three sil.

Dor,
how's the rosehip looks like? but i still prefer A drink plain water. re vit C, he drink homemade orange juice once forthnight which i think quite good.
i also think of thermal container. maybe i can use my tiger thermal jug. hmm...can try. thanks a lot.

wow..D can say out so many colours huh? clever boy! and even his name too. A hor, he can recognise his nick name, alvis but not his chinese name.
actually now he can say out few letter which consider quite good for me. but still no sentence yet.

Jenny,
#3, unless accident, right?

re: leapfrog dvd, so far i borrow letter factory dvd & storry telling dvd. i dunno they have the whole series or not.
actually leapfrog have how many dvd huh?

Jenny,
hahaha...意难忘!A can reconise that opening song as he also watch it since he 1 mth old.
and oso 7pm drama. but he been watch those drama since he was in my tummy. haha...

Jasyln wear mommy poko pull up, right? what size she wearing?
i cant stand Huggies pull up liao? few night it's leak every 2hrs during midnite. damn...it'd din happen when he wear Nepia pull up lel.
wanted to try mommy poko. tq..

Jenny
exact difference is 17 mths.. cuase one is oct 06 and the other is mar 08. Wah.. now i know then u plan leh.. smart move.. books can share!! but mine 2 years calendar difference dunno can share or not hahaha..
Yes i know yi nan wang.. last time when my aunty look after kim, she everyday also watch.. and follow the music dance.. but now cannot watch liao.. cause in cc.. i didnt know that it's still showing!

lilboymum,
As much as i try to expose her to the letter names and my maid goes through the ABC book with her, i've got a stubborn little girl. So i just let her be lah. The letter sounds she made last night caught me by surprise cos she is usually not so compliant when i want to "test" her. Joshua is more "academic", at the same age last time, he could already recognise alphabets and numbers.

dor,
So cute, D knows the trick to wake you up. Em is more direct, she will just shout from her cot, "wake up!".
Till now, Em always anyhow hantum when you ask her for the colour of an item. She'll go red, yellow, green..... sometimes will hit jackpot lah but i think it's fluke lor. The only thing i know for certain that she knows is shapes.

jenny,
that's the beauty of having a kid born in the beginning of the year. Same as you, i'm glad that the kids are just 1 calendar year apart. I was joking with hubby that next time when Joshua goes to pri school, i will get Em to sit down and listen when i teach him so i can teach both kids at the same time. save time. haha!

Jasmine,
Jaslyn wears Mamy Poko XL, but very loose. L size fits her just nice, still got allowance.
Why XL now, cos she finished the L size, and there's some XL leftover by Jolene last time which I sealed up. So I just open up to let Jaslyn wears.
Huh, leakage for Huggies? Got wear properly? I always get Jaslyn to stand legs open wide wide so I do a bit of "pulling" for the sides to ensure she wears proper. If din hor, sometimes will leak.
You still got many Huggies leftover?
Oh if you are buying Mamy Poko pull up, you can do redemption for its toy. You posted that link few days back. If you need the CAT A barcode, I still have 1 pc. Too bad, I throw away all Mamy Poko barcodes liao.

Adeline,
Oh yes, 17 mths, miscalculated.
Haha, now you know why must a year difference hahaha... I cheapo mah.
2 years difference should be ok lah, can share lah, unless suay they change book at that year. Err not only books, I alway think for those bb stuff like clothings (though can keep but turn yellowish easily mah), steriliser, bbcot, pram/stroller etc. I no need to keep then take out again few years later, can just continue to use.

babygrace,
yes! Sometimes I regret why I plan for almost year to end bb. I like early year bb haha..
I peifu those who gives birth in the same year, like one in Jan, the other in Dec!!! Machiam like twins, but siong lor, go Pri Sch, wait got to buy 2 sets. So 1 year best lah. At least no need to find space in storeroom to keep the books for a year (Adeline, for your case lor) before younger one gets to use the books.

Jasmine
so funny! R oso recognise the 意难忘's opening song. my mum says everytime when the show comes on, R will standby for the song. so cartoon!

gd tt ur ILs r understdg...
yah its not easy staying wif so many pple. i was in ur shoes b4 so i understd.

Dor
D so funny! will wave n tell u he leaving for "work"? hahaha

Jenny,
so, mommy poko cutting is bigger?
dunno is due to i din wear him properly cos he always ran away frm me or too loose at the thigh area. so tired after last night kept woke up.
think still have 3 pcks of huggies pull up. can use it daytime cos it's din leak lel..
dun think i want to redempt the soft toys. thanks for the offer. you not redempt for your gals?

crystallized,
haha...cos that drama been showing since they birth, no doubt they can recognise.
for the sake of their grandchild, think they will more understanding. i just told my mil this mrng tat dun let A take too long nap daytime (sleep abt 3-3.5hrs nap) else he won't sleep early at night & i have hard time to get him sleep.

wah, 意难忘 is so famous with our kids one ah??? hahaha

Jasmine,
Personally I feel Mamy Poko pants cutting big.
If day time din leak, maybe is din wear properly. Try again?
Nope, not redeeming, I dun like they have too many soft toy. I just threw away a few bags. Now I prefer lesser things at home. Going to clear their toys when I have time. They only play with the cooking set and a few toys only, so the rest I think I'm going to clear off for more space.

i actually watch 意难忘 during 3 mths ML.

Jenny,
yup..going to try again. actually it's leak when he lying down. so i suppect it's loose at the thigh area.
did you buy tat matress protection sheet frm Jshoppers?
I myself also dun like soft/plush toys. so, I kept all A's soft toys in a toyogo box.
he now fancy abt car toys.

Jenny
mamy poko pants for kim L is so tight leh.. she must wear XL.. i always say she big butt. The funny thing is.. when kathlyn is born, i enjoy changing kathlyn.. when i change kim and see her butt, i dunno hw to change kim hahahaha..
And ya what u say is true.. clothes all this can share.. thankfully both girls!! dun have to buy extra boy clothings.. save $$ also.. and the books ya lor.. gotta keep next time and let kathlyn use..

Jasmine
all our kids love the same show.. haha october kids!!

Jenny, bbgrace, she's afraid of the sound on leappad. When no sound she's fine.

Freshpoison, I've not seen leapfrog dvd too. So you're not alone. Char's more "bimbo" only likes advertisment and singing programs
Her attention span very short, less than 10mins, so no point for me to invest in DVDs.

Dor, your D so talkative, I think if the kids get together their conversation must be very interesting.

Char loves oldies. She'll be totally in her own world when my Mum switch on huang jin nian huo.No matter how you call her or shake her, her eyes will be glued to the TV. And when you block her she'll push you away or go nearer.

Alphabets and numbers
====================
Depending on Char's mood, sometimes she recite A-Z or 1-10 on her own. As I used to sing that alphabet song to her every time I pat her to sleep, she simly memorise them liao. And I must give it to her, cos she remembers it much better than me, she can tell me what letter is after the letter I mention. I'm not very good at that I can only remember if I recite from A-Z.
As for numbers, she loves to look at them when we walk down the stairs so she's good at them since young. But Hb and I too lazy to teach her more, so she'll stay stagnant until she goes to school and the teachers teach her bah.

Char cant name mny colour yet. Only red and pink. And pink happens to be her favourite colour. So different form me, when I was young, can't stand pink.

for kim, she read 1 - 10 and alphabets.
She love nursery songs.. Recently when she come home, she start singing her own song (which we dun understand) and start her own movement dance.. think she learn from sch..

Kim now like to feed people. She went to feed my niece (4 mths older) with her water bottle, if my niece dun drink, she force the straw into her mouth until my niece cry and beat her. It's funny to see that! but hor.. horrible! like kim try to stuff pacifier into kath's mouth until kat start shouting hahaha

Gemini
no pictures of ur prince yet ah! hehee..

freshpoison,
but tot mamypoko cutting is bigger? A cant wear nepia 'big', too tight on the waist area lel.

Coral,
i also sing the alphabelt song to pat A to sleep. but he always cover my mounth with his hand. haha..maybe he 'yiam' his mommy voice ba...
so, just pat, no sing song.

Adeline,
A can only 1,2,1,2. and only in chinese.

i believe his chinese better than english.

actually mamy poko better but i stocked up when NTUC had promo so letting him use nepia. nw in the midst of toilet training, so far so go0d, accidents only happen when he's too engrossed with his toys...

hi jasmine,
same same... my boy only noes 1,2,3 or yi, er, san or 'you, di, sa'... haha courtesy of his mummy... His favourite phrase nw, 'mummy bao bao...'
BUT my boy opp, he understands English perfectly well but sucks big time with chinese. I think it's in his genes, i only learnt chinese when i started k1.

Jasmine, Char will say bu yao bu yao if I sing some songs that she doesn't like. I used to sing rock-a-bye baby, but that can't put her to sleep and alphabet song does the job.Although my parents and inlaws speak in mandarine to Char since birth, she still sound like an Ang Mo speaking mandarine.

Adeline, Char also like to feed pple. She has toy baby whom she she'll rush home to feed, and we adults sometimes alo kena must eat what she fed us. There was a few times when CHar was singing and my Mum tot she's crying. Only when she see her hapy face she knows Char was singing.

Freshpoison, you're lucky. I think Cahr will take a long long time to be toilet train. For grandparents, Mummy and daddy are too lazy to train her...So nobody is toilet training her now.

freshpoison,
good lel..your boy is fast. still remember that you mentioned him not toilet train yet.
sames as coral, no one at home willing to toilet train him. the most just ask him pee at potty b4 put up new diaper.

freshpoison/coral,
hope that A can learn better english while he go to school ba..
i can see his mandarin quite gd, mayb the environment ba..

Jasmine,
Nope, I bought normal mattress protector pad from sintex sales instead.

Adeline,
Hmm... Jaslyn wears XL Mamy Poko Pant, I find it loose. I'm thinking to buy L after she finishes current ones. But tape diaper is using XL lah.
Ha, I know what you mean, small butt then suddenly big butt, like dunno how to change.
Yeap, now as Jaslyn grows older, she is sharing Jolene's clothings too, especially the top. Really convenient lor, I order Jshoppers top, which comes in 3-4 pcs, they both share, which works out a top for $4+ to $8+ nia.

Coral,
from my understanding, SIN dun sell leapfrog DVDs. I bought my sets and shipped in.

Toilet Training
===============
Tedious for the start, so everyone at home has to play their parts. If you train, and others dun, then no point. Maybe wait till kids older bah, easier but gotta spend more on diapers lor.

Jenny, think I won't buy the leapfrog DVDs fro CHar cos that time Starz lent me the Your baby can read DVDs Char also not interested, so I decided not to waste money liao. Yes, for our laziness gotta spend more on diapers. Too bad.

haiz, desiree is sick.. having fever 39.3 with cough and running nose.
she has been well for longest time and now she is down after being in the playgroup for 1.5 month. guess no choice de.. they are bound to get sick very often. hope she get well soon.

Starz,
Sorry to hear about the loss of your granny.
Dun worry, things will get better.

Freshpoison,
hehe, dun worry me too also didnt own the leapfrog dvd series, didnt know about it at all till the mummies mentioned here.
Desiree still loves her wheels on the bus..
everyday everyday points to the dvd and said bus bus.

Adeline,
you are doing fine and kath already 4 months coming to 5 months old liao.
now is me, dordor and gemini turns..haiz.. sleepless nights plus an active toddler.

Jenny,
hehe, if accident for #3 also bo pian right? have to be very careful lor.

Jasmine
when my mum takes care, R takes 2 naps. when i look aft during wkends, i usually let him take 1 nap only. but if timing needs to b adjusted, i'll let him take 2 naps. if take 1 nap, he sleeps min 2.5 hrs. sometimes can stretch to >3hrs, then i will wake him up. but lucky thing is no matter wat, R needs to sleep latest by 10pm, usually is ard 9pm. got a few times i brought him to dinner, only let him sleep ard 10.30pm, he was super cranky!

i dunno wats so nice abt tt show... so many episodes!!!! such draggy shows.

Adeline
Think girls enjoy song/dance more. When R went to Julia Gabriels, he din pick up any fr there. but when my niece went, within 2 sessions, she started to dance alrdy. she even "performed" for me. i find it v cute. and when there is no class, she'll ask my sister "eee-cher" (teacher)? so cute lah. :}

Delphine
Jenny will choy choy choy u again!

I dun dare to imagine wat will happen when R goes CC. alrdy he kena flu mthly liao. when he goes CC, how???
alamak, really headache.

anyway this period a lot of ppl sick... hope D recovers soon.

i ordered the leapfrog dvds frm amazon. decided to b 'kiasu' but i still too lazy to teach him his phonics haha... so hoping he will learn it frm the dvds like some of the bbs here and make my job easier.

hi coral,
mine wasn't interested in the "your baby can read", "baby enstein" etc but was slightly interested in the "wheels on the bus" so going to try leapfrog nw. Hopefully he will like it. plus my hubby's car got dvd player so hoping can keep him occupied during car rides.

NZ Trip
=======
Haiz... got tickets to come back but no tickets to go. Prefer SQ cos direct but only qantas has tickets but muz transit leh...Looks like going to stay in sing again in dec.