(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Delphine
congratz!!!

I am changing child care! Cause i am shifting to kovan and staying with in laws.. now kim and rhys are going to be classmates :p
But now think is another new environment, kim couldnt accept. slowly slowly..

Jenny
she fuss.. me and hubby ALMOST gave in.. she keep yelling and shouting in the middle of night.. i didnt had much rest last night same goes to hb but i wanna wean her off pacifier.
My mom and aunty scolded me.. say i must slowly wean her cannot one shot take away her pacifier. then i tell them how to not be consistent!!! if now she cry i keep giving her.. she will think that orh i cry means i have it.. then she keep doing same thing.
If this harsh method doesnt work, probably i'll try the suckless tutu method!.. let me see few days later how she behave. she already stop taking tutu in sch already but at home she insist lor.. so i thought since morn she can dun take pacifier, night time she shouldnt take also.

Selina
Gd luck dun stress hor! we'll all wiat for ur good news =)

Dor
how are u coping? everything ok?

Jrt
i agree with you. like my aunty, she sue pacifier to shut kim up. just give pacifier and pillow then she keep quiet.
Now for younger one, she didnt take pacifier well.. but aunty keep stuffing in her also. haiz.. now she can take pacifier liao i just let her be lor.. cause i dun wan to keep latching her to sleep.

lilboymum
kathlyn now dun need latch to slp. just pacifier she auto koon.. so i think for some kids, it helps.

Adeline,
Daytime and night time are different.
You can make it a point, daytime no pacifier cos no matter how Kim cries or shouts, daytime is not that bad, you can use other things to distract her. When it comes to night time, maybe you remove the pacifier from her after she falls asleep. So that crying + screaming won't wake Kath & neighbours. Also, do it on the long weekend, so that your sleep is not affected the next day. But since, you have already started on harsh method, I think you just have to continue with it for the next few days, cos if you give in now, it's going to take another few mths later before you can start the weaning again.

I tell you hor, I was so tempted to take a week leave to do the weaning of pacifier + toilet training when I just started.

Jenny,
we will dread off w/o highchair. with a super active A, we still cant let him sit on those kid chair, he will run after a second sit on it.
now my hse those child proof things e.g highchair, play yard all become dangerous things cos A will climb out of play yard (although we knew that he already master the skill), bounce up & down the highchair. luckily my hse still have a lot of ppl help me to look after him. can't let him out of sight.

thanks for remind. i also read that we can't use the beating method whenever they fall or hit frm the things. already stop doing that.

Agree with you that pacifier seems to soothe their teething issues. Like A, he will put in whole hand or anything he can get into his mounth to bite to release the itchness. so messy & dirty...

Adeline,
Rhys & Kim will be classmate huh?
so nice..

jasmine..
no la..not ikea high chair..just the norm stool (not those used in the toilets)..it's nice that A will let u trim his nails during his sleep..Mav ah..must see me trimming his nails one..lol..sometimes we will hv to "pull" each other hands lo..no choice..i will do it when he's watching his fav Barney show..lol..

jenny..
oh..icic..okok..then i better stop doing that..if not they wont learn their mistakes next time..

adeline..
oh, u shifting back to stay with IL..then the kids will be taken care by ur aunty or ur IL? i guess it takes some time for Kim to get use to the new place too...will u be taking off to accompany her for this change?it's nice that kim & rhys can be classmates too..

Yo need some help here, wanna start planning for zac's 2nd birthday. his theme will be barney, simple. but where can i get barney decoration? i dont want to get from birthdaydirect cos think quite expensive. So u ladies happen to chance upon barney deco let me know ya!

Adeline,
Moving back to stay with in law?? they will be looking after both kim and kat?
so nice to have rhys and kim as classmates in the same sch.

hi 2nd time mummies,

check with u ya, the baby bonus for 2nd kid is how much? all along, i thought it's 6K which the govt will match $1 to $1 but over the wkend, i was reading somewhere, the 2nd kid also cash $3K? lazy to go website and check.

ikea high chair
===============
now if tricia sits in the high chair, must fasten the seat belt or else, she will climb up and stand on the chair..

window grilles
==============
anyone got recommendation? punggol plaza used to have a makeshift stall promoting this but now no more. compass pt also dun have such shop.
my house needs to install already, no choice, since tricia is so active.

wtan
no aunty still looking after kath as usual and IL weekdays can help me look after kim or fetch kim thats why i chose kovan for her CC. easier for my ILs. I will see her she behave. if it's too extreme, i already standby leave to accp her liao. Thanks to vivian for introducing me this child care. went there today felt very comfortable with it.. and convenient .. so thought it's gd to change kim as she isnt learning anything from the current cc.

Jenny
Usually when she fall aslp, the pacifier auto drop out.. then i will put aside.. ya lor since now i start already i will just cont. since at night i wake up to pump also.. treat her as my alarm clock..

Gemini, 2nd child also got cash gift of 3k + $1 for $1 matching by govt in CDA up to $6k i.e. the max for matching is 6k. u 6k, govt match 6k. Anything more than 6k, no matching.

Alvis even can unfasten his ikea highchair seat belt. that was once only me & he in the kitchen. i was washing his bowl after feed him lunch. when i done, turnover, saw A stand on the chair. 吓死我!

Wendy,
i thot is ikea highchair.
haha...mav will pull with you when you trim his nail arr? i give A a small one, but he insist must take mine.

JAsmine
A same as kim leh.. hahhaa.. but kim more dangerous cause she is using those rocking high chair. and the steps can bend backwards one i duno hw did she manage to get up the seat lor.. and the seat belt is on.

jlyn,
hahaha...we post at same timing.

i received the play tent frm huggies. really not stable lel. thought of buy those small ball to fill in.
any good idea?
how's your boy?

gemini..
oh..thks for the reminder bcoz i really ought to find time to chk out the baby bonus thingy..keke..so hv u decided whc bank to go with for #2's baby bonus?

adeline..
icic..okok..so in that case Kath will stay over with ur aunty on wkdays ah..then wkend u bring her home, right?ya..i must say that Rhys's CC is a gd CC..so it's v v fortunate to hv Kim in the same CC as Rhys too..

jasmine..
Mav also will stand on highchair one..so usually i will try to shorten the belt..in case la..Mav will pull back not to let me trim his nails while i will pull his hands to trim his nails lo..so u will see us pulling each other..lol..no choice leh..coz i m the only one trimming his nails leh..so ah..q hard to trim too..since if he pulls hor..i might cut too deep lo..got to be extra careful..

wtan
try trimming when he sleep? i trim when kim sleeps and yes kath stays with aunty on weekdays so i can concentrate on kim and spend time with her. weekends, i spend time with kath.
Ya his cc is definitely better then my current one base on what i see today.
i also very kiasu. yday then ask vivian.. then when i call up the cc, they say left 1 slot and got 1 family also interested. i this morning immediately go down and reg hahahaa..

hi jasmine/jlyn,

thks for your reply. now i got it.

hi jlyn,

just curious, so for you, u got both $3k and the govt matching too? yours twins mah..

hi wendy,

most probably will be with OCBC, there's one in punggol plaza and hougang, nearer my place.
ya, me & my mum also trim tricia when she's sleeping. this is the best time we can do it.

RE: Highchair
I stopped using it. In fact my mum stopped for a long time coz R screams n fuss big time when my mum puts him inside. whereas at home, R will guai guai sit inside when i put him in. but recently, i stopped doing tt coz its v dangerous when i juz turn ard n he is alrdy standing... so to play safe, i seat him on his toddler chair n feed him his meals. to me as long as he sits down for his meals, it does not matter if its on the sofa or dining chair. as long as he is not running ard for his meals. so far so gd. mayb Jasmine can try this. so even for self-feeding, i sit him at his own table n he wun run ard. when he starts to pull off his bib or run ard, it means he had enuff n doesnt wan to eat anymore.

Jenny
OIC... she gave u all the wrong idea huh? heee

yah at times i oso think R use the wrong word to express himself so we dun understd.
at times we hv to give in to the caregiver though their methods r not wat we approve of but no choice. eg for sarong, i refused to give in until my mum had to take care of 2 babies single-handedly when both my sis & i went back to work full-time coz i know its not easy to coax 2 babies to sleep at the same time. Moreover there was no maid then, so i hv to give in.

Adeline
like i mentioned to jenny, at times we hv no choice coz our caregivers spend more time wif them. so we hv to put ourselves in their shoes oso. give and take lah, there is no way to insist on our ways all the time. as long as the baby is well taken care of, i think tts the most impt.

Adeline,
really 吓死人,right? you can see highchair move up & down.
next time must post the pics of Rhys & Kim together. tat's cute!

Wendy,
yup, trim his nail when he take his nap, must wait till he really sleep.
if not, he will wake up one.

No time to read all postings but very pissed so come here n su ku. Abit.

Vivian U saw D's wounds lor that day I cannot complain cos my hubby around.

Inlaws
------------------------------------
I am very pissed with my inlaws. Cos I was very tired that night after delivering Ember. Imagine jus gave birth then they ALL came n heng I took 1 bedded lor. Didn't wanna leave watching their show n I was soooo tired wanna sleep. So I told hubby to bring D home to sleep n drive his family back. Then hubby told me cos he gotta work my parents also working so his family will bring D for lunch appt the next day at Regent Hotel.
So okie lor bopian I tot I rest 1st lor. Only left D with them for less then 1 day n wat happens??
Okie at 1st my fil visit me in the hospital n he tell me D scratched his own face. So i tot okie lor normally also might accidentally scratch his own face ma. The he got the cheek to blame it all on D n me. Saying "Wah Damien's nails VERY LONG LEH". N that made me very guilty lor cos I dun think I will forget before I go for delivery but I tot I really forgot to cut D's nail that week(normally cut on Sunday). So means sure long liao.
I see him the evening with a 2cm wound on the nose not normal scratch lor. N I check D's nails they are NOT LONG cos I made sure I cut them before I went for delivery. 1 BIG scrap on the right knee n long scratches n bruises all over his body.

So angry lor n when my inlaws come still can keep saying until its like D's fault. That he run when he go down stairs n fall n scrape his knee. HEllo lor I go downstairs with D EVERYDAY n I dun carry him I let him walk n run on his own he had fallen but NEVER kanna so big scrape n scratches. N all in 1 day or should I say 1 afternoon nia.

Now my confinement also sian jus start nia. N my mil do things so slow bochap bb wake liao still dun prepare to bath her then keep saying wanna cook fish n feed D then still dun cook. Poor D see me eat keep asking to eat my rice. I machiam the maid gotta prepare everything including the bath water n ask her to bath bb.
N they keep saying things like oh u dun want me to carry(D never want them to carry) then I carry bb. ASk him to sit on the chair he dun want they say give to bb. Wah piang lor I feel like smacking them in the face. I complain to hubby he say he will say them. But my mil here will still like talking to herself. Wah see bb see bb smile see bb this see bb that. Super irritating lor even I feel irritated how will D feel.

N jus now she feed D the cod fish she steam with rice. N dunno how she feed feed liao when I came out D was coughing. The kind of cough abit choke won't stop very fast kind n like want to vomit out. I worry is he kanna choke on fish bone. She jus pat pat n keep saying okie liao lah who ask u to climb here climb there when eating.
So I continue patting D n pat n pat n D cough n cough until vomit all out.

Now my floors start to be dirty already imagine can see some black water spots 1 n this hsewife won't cleanup 1. So I shall wait till hubby reservist over n ask him to mop the floor since his mum won't do it.

Oh btw my fil dare to 'compliment' me when he came to visit. He say I very good. Cos D SOOOOOOO Active I also can handle on my own. That was before I saw D's multiple wounds. Means wat?? D got the wound all on his own lah cos he is VERY naughty is it.
If a very tired pregnant woman can handle this active toddler why can't 5 adults?? Stupid lame excuse for a father n mother of 5 kids.

hi crystallised,

good for R. wont run around during meal times when not in high chair. since tricia still wants to sit in her high chair at home, we let it be... only we will need to keep an eye on her...

Dor
wah biang, if i were u, i'll oso b angry. when u were describing n i haven read the rest of ur reply, i was oso thinking wat lame excuses... how come u a preggie can handle D & they cant? somemore D kena scratches, u sure heartpain...

i think u cant depend on ur MIL. u not catering confinment food?

poor D!
i can imagine ur frustrations! u wanna do all these urself but u cant.

gemini
if T is ok, let her be. its only coz R starts to stand n wanna climb out fr the high chair, so i stopped putting him inside. when we go out, i still sit him inside high chairs coz we r ard mah.

1 thing is, R is wary of me. he usually listens to wat i say but he boh chup anyone else. i oso dunno issit gd or bad. but at least i can ctrl him.

Dor,
siao siao qi...
poor D..got so many scatches & bruises. must be pain pain for him.
endure endure..just hope tat they wont have other drama. but since you are at home now, D will at your side, right? at least no so much worry compare to during your delivery.
How's Ember?

Crystallized,
like i told Jenny, A cant sit still in his toddler chair. he will run here & there not even 1 min.
then he got very bad habbit, when he mischief, he will spit his food everywhere. so, high chair still better choice. i only can hope he will guai guai sit at his toddler chair after he attend cc.
you know, A only wear bib for 1 mths since we intro semi solid food to him. i save alot $$ to buy bib.

adeline..
cant leh..think mav is a light sleeper like me..he will wake up one..haha..so i will cut when he's watching his fav Barney show..keke..u so heng ah..lucky u got left 1 slot & can park Kim in the CC leh..heng man..

gemini..
icic..ya..i m thinking also this OCBC like really alot of mktg hor..haha..since near to ur place then i think ok for u to use them la..hee..

dor..
aiyo..hope D is recovering ah..cool down, cool down if not u will feel more pek-chk..relax ah..u shd try to rest as much leh...think u shd tell MIL to concentrate more on bb la..pls dun exert urself..hw's ur wound?ok?

Gemini, twins consider two births= two bb bonus. I received 6k in total for baby bonus. Govt matching also have max 12k (6k + 6k matching). Aiyah.. one month cc for two is already abt $850. By 14th mth, I would have used up the 12k already. Better than nothing lah.

Sigh.....me order confinement catering liao lor else I think even worse cos the last time hubby got to cleanup after her lor.

Wendy I dun want her to care for bb more also. She already take chance to keep carrying her liao n this naughty girl likes to be carried. Plus mil will keep patting n shaking when she carry Ember 1. Jus now wanna drink milk liao Ember cry she can pat pat n ask me 3 times lor she want to drink liao is it.

I mean OFCOS lah she last drank at 10+am when she came ma now already 1pm+ liao leh but she jus ask nia never hand bb to me lor. Then I still gotta wash D's water n milk bottle cos she doesn't n got so much food dirty inside the water cos she jus fed him ma.
Then can ask 3 times I ans her 2 times YES cos so long liao n she still dun auto pass to me. 3rd time I must go take from her.

Now I jus waiting to get used to it cos now milk jus come in ma n kanna engorgement n sore nipples. Wait till all settle n can handle then ask hubby to ask her to not come liao.
Now they bring D downstairs nia I also worry like siao. Last evening bring down less then 1 hr this morn I bath D I saw a new bruise under his chin......sigh

Heng E is small I only got slight tear again this time so recovery is okie no need pain killer. So I can still do things as normal...else....cannot imagine man.

K D wake liao E gonna wake for milk soon...Ciao

dor..
aiyo..she's not washing up for u ah?alamak...then is as gd as u doing things urself?cannot la..aiyo..u shd b resting as much also..also not washing things up leh..aa..maybe for time being dun bring D down so often?since mei-mei also just home..then not v gd to get in touch with so much contacts also..why u also bath D? ur MIL cant handle ah? aiyo..i read u got slight tear machiam v painful to me..pls hor..dun exert urself ah....take gd care pls..

dor,
dunno how to say abt your mil. don't she know that confinement rules? still need you to bath D, wash all the things. then why she come to your house since that you can do all the jobs.
sorry...i'm not good in words.

please dun tired yourself & rmber to rest if you can.

wendy,
how's your cc searching?

jasmine..
haha..i hvnt start leh..haha..maybe i shd try to find some time this mth hor..since my boss is away on biz trip..hee..i tink i m more concerned over my #2 caretaker issue than the CC..lol..thinking if i shd get a nanny or let MIL take care but if MIL take care, she wants a maid leh..like that hw to cope?more "xiong" on the expenses leh..headache leh..

Managed to get some pix from dor when she is online just now.
Just want to share these pix (which me and dor really like a lot) which we took when me and hb brot R to visit dor in TMC last sat.

Cheeky Brotherhood
==================
1559552.jpg

Not-so-cheeky version
=====================
1559553.jpg

dor
jia you. u can do it. it's tough esp during confinement period but u've the support from us ok. i believe u'll feel better if u handling urself right?
thankfully D is ok liao.

haa.. Gemini, actually both of them got the same soccer ball tee which R is wearing. Happens that D wore it the day before... otherwise so funny if both wearing the same design tee... haa...

Vivian, nice pic! R looks like a big gor gor. Hmm.. How's he doing in cc? still half day? Mine just recovered from fever. Sometimes really feel like withdrawing them from cc. They are falling ill like once a month.. think my company finance dept must be wondering why they keep receiving medical claims from me.

Dor, D has this very cute look in the first pic. The same sort of expression like the one he posed carrying his mei mei..

hi wendy,

on whether to get a nanny or maid, i can say that maid will be more "worth the money" rather than u get a nanny. why i say this, is that, u can have someone also to help u out with the hsework (rather than u may have to get a PT maid or do it yourself during wkends), and also the maid can also help u take care of Mav when u back after a day of hard work. also you got home-cooked food.
nanny working hrs is more like our working wkday, 7am - 7pm (for eg). and wkend u have to take care yourself.
your case is quite simliar to my neighbour, both sides mother cant take care, she was considering infant care but after thinking, she decided to engage a maid to take care of the bb, but her mum is there to supervise the maid.

hi jlyn,

how long ur boys in CC liao? cos if they are still falling sick like once a mth like after 6 mths in CC, perhaps u can consider to change them to a different CC. tat what happen to 1 of my nephew, initial stage keep on falling sick till my SIL change him to another CC, the situation improve.

freshpoison,
Ya, 2 of my items are OOS. I like these 2 items, so I may wanna order again (when stock replenish) if got order hit 12K Yen for free shipment. Maybe check again next week and see how. The 2 OOS items only 4K Yen. We see again.

Shirley,
I read in other thread before, seems that bdaydirect do not ship international now, and worse they dun ship to forwarding agent as well.

Gemini,
$3K cash works the same as 1st child, which you will get thr instalment payments till #2 reaches 18mths. Then, there's another one known as CDA acct (now Standard Chartered and OCBC fighting for customers to sign up with them cos DBS is closing this acct by end of this mth). This CDA acct, you can save up where govt will match dollar to dollar with max $6K. That means if you pump in $7K into this act, govt will only match up to $6K. The funds in CDA acct can use for approved institutions eg childcare, presch etc. You can check the approved institutions list in MCYS website. The funds in CDA acct cannot be withdrew as cash for other purposes. It will be in this acct until kid reaches 21, then transfer to CPF acct. (not sure if this rule changes again cos keep changing, that time it was mentioned will go into an acct for sch use something like that, then can't withdraw the remaining funds. But later changed again, said can go into CPF and withdraw next time. Anyway, the funds not much lah, before Pri Sch, all will finish liao unless you are sending yr kids to PAP kind of sch.)

Doreen,
xiao xiao qi... aiyo I dunno what to say **speechless man**

Jasmine,
Actually hor, IKEA highchair hor, I find it can't sit older toddlers. Both my gals after 14mths old stopped using liao. But my canetours highchair is still in good use during weekend. More spacious and can convert to toddler table and chair. So, it has been a good investment afterall.

Jlyn,
My hb is asking if there's any kid in that CC keeps falling sick? If so, you may wanna consider to change a CC. Cos it's too frequent and the fever the boys kena always so high.
BTW, he got a set of books to give you. Let me know when free to meet up.

Movies: Red Cliff
I'm not sure if I missed out any news on this movies. Just for info for those who wanna watch. This movies has part II, to be continued.
I was gong gong when the show finished and showed "red cliff war to be continued..."

Now the 2 sleeping side by side together....ahhhhh bliss....haha
Actually waiting for E to wake for milk but she like very comfy sleeping now.

Re. Confinement hor
Actually say until I dun wanna say liao lah. Last time she did for me I already know the mother of 5 who supposely had 5 confinements have totally no idea wat is confinement lor only tell me cannot bath n shampoo at all(which I do).
N can tell me if I wanna bath I can go buy herbs from opp drugstore. So confinement woman must go n buy on her own lor not the person helping right??
Cook also normal fried fish n put black sauce n fry veg. Never add ginger or sesame oil at all. Cook cabbage n scallop, boil barley ask me to drink. Still dare to say know how to cook confinement food aah?? I think I can do better then her lor.
Both confinment I gotta boil the red date longan tea myself to drink leh. She seeme boil still can ask me wat is that *faint* n she never help watch the fire at all 1 lor.
I also dunno wat she is here for but heng she only here for few hrs a day lah. Once I get used to the routine n D get used to having bb around all the time then can ask mil not to come liao....hehehe
She see me wash D's things she also never offer to help at all n I rather wash on my own ah then risk D suffering from diarrhoea cos its dirty.

Actually hor now I also dunno wat they fed D the last few days now D sometimes will cough till threatening to vomit kind think got phlegm......sigh
Or maybe cos they made D sleep in their room which my fil smokes in....arghhhh
Must go n buy the waterchestnut drink for him liao but how to go?? Hopefully tml my mum not 'siao' anymore then can ask her to buy if she coming over.

Yesterday hubby told me his grandma 80th bday on 28th got dinner. So I ask him means wat I can go meh. He say should be cos if not they tell him about the dinner for wat. But I doubt lor with so haolian ppl like my fil who ask me not to go out even for D's checkup last time n must wear long sleeve n pants when go out. U think they will ask me to go as well??
I think they want to bring D only but OVER MY DEAD BODY lor.

Adeline
Yah lor that's why I jus bath D myself lah since my mil buay zi dong 1 n I can bond with D lor.

Jlyn
This is D's 'camera' face u ask him siao siao or u point camera at him he will jus smile like that 1.....haha
Very cheeky hor.

Delphine and Dor,
Congrats! The long awaited day is finally here

jrt, jasmine,
Have to shake hands with you girls again. K gave me one week of blissful sleep and his night awakenings are also back with a vengence. Not only wake up, he nows cry and scream too! I think it is a combination of teething woes and terrible 2s. I can tell it is a case of not able to express himself and end up frustrated and just scream and cry and give us conflicting instructions like "mummy go away" and "mummy come here" all in the same breath! It is frustrating when these crying fits happen during the day, imagine when it happens in the night. And he did that to me 3 nights in a row last week. So now, not only wake up at night.. each waking can be an hour or so. Really can die.

Dor,
Oh dear. I also don't know what to say. But you don't pant up too much anger hor. Fill unhappy, just come here and rant it all out.

finally cancelled by kl trip this wk cos too much work to be done in office.

<font color="0000ff">weaning pacifier</font>
think i need to try harder and be more 恨心 to be successful. actually caleb doesnt take pacifier unless sleeping. he will auto pass us his pacifier when he wakes up and wont ask for it until nap or bed time. maybe i should try jenny's suckless pacifier mthd. guess unless i can take a fri off to care for caleb myself for the long weekend, i might not succeed soon with weaning him. i have not been persistent on it cos i cannot afford sleepless nights cos this is what i fear most now.

seriously i am not sure abt the weaning b4 2yrs theory cos my nephew n niece both wean off pacifier after 2 and so far like easier. how!!!!

<font color="0000ff">night waking</font>
caleb been sleeping thru for the past 10mths but since he starts calling mummy, every night will hear him call "mummy mummy yah". sometimes in his slp wif eyes shut, he will chant out "mummy hold hands" non stop... wah piang... middle of the night got to wake up to hold his hands...

there was once i was out wif friends and got home close to 4am n saw my mum in the room patting him. apparently he woke up to find me missing n refused to go back to slp. end up my mum n myself got to settle him till close to 6am n he woke me up again at 8am to go "outside"...

strangely this doesnt happen when i travels. guess cos i will always tell him in advance whenever i need to travel so he is mentally prepared.

Jlyn,
Ya, Rhys still half day cc. Actually got consider changing him to full day but fetching him is a problem coz sometimes I have late classes so might not in time to fetch him.
So now KIV first. He ah, coping very well lor but getting quite notorious in school. Machiam like ah beng, da ge da in school. (Adeline saw and told me that too.. haa) Now starting to hit the others when he couldn't get the toys he wants. Run here and there...
But at least during lesson time, he can settle down and do his work. Sigh, he also just recovered from bad cough and flu few weeks ago. Think he got it from my hb. On and off will sick also. Think this is unavoidable if they go cc. No choice but got to stock up some meds at home and sometimes we self-medicate him once we saw that he is starting to have some symptoms.
But so far I din consider withdrawing him at all. Although he learnt a lot of naughty things from school and got sick often, he also learnt quite a lot from there. On top of that, becoz of the school routine, his sleeping timing and routine was so much better compared to before.
Hee.. good for him and good for me. Now my challenge is to really discipine him. All those "thinking chair" and "naughty corner" all come out liao... Your boys got these problems of discipine??
Oh, actually my sister-in-law also withdraw her girl (2 weeks older than Rhys) from her CC too coz she keep falling sick continuously. The poor girl seen so many PDs and docs within a month and still not well until my in law cannot take it and told my SIL to withdraw her. And after that she really got better lor but still very prone to sickness... very poor thing...
Maybe you monitor your boys lor. If really cannot, then got to think of alternatives liao. I do agree with Jenny that if you find that other kids also keep falling sick, maybe the cc is the problem.

Selina,
xin ku ni le... everyday must be a rush for you... take care leh...
Hmm.. actually for me, the decision to wean off the tutu before 2yo is not totally because it will be harder to wean off after 2yo, is becoz I personally felt that 2yo quite big boy liao, shld not take that anymore. Bad for teeth and bad habit.
Actually I think most of the time it shld be the parents or caretakers to be wean off the tutu. Coz sometimes we just want the kid to sleep, to keep quiet, to stop crying etc so we stuff them with the pacifier (I personally is guilty of that coz this boy simply hates the car seat and tutu is the only thing that can shut him up)
As long as the adults are ok with the transition period with screaming and crying and dun give in, I am sure the weaning off will sure work.
Some might be difficult, some might be easy like Jenny, mine or babygrace. But soon, it will be over. Just take it one at a time...

Wendy,
slowly ba...think the caregiver issue more urgent. have you discuss wif you hb? wat's his opinion? i'm sure you can find a win win solution.
dun worry so much.

Jenny,
aiya...i salah investment lor.
i remember you told me abt canetours highchair. i wanted to buy it. so, when isetan private sales long ago, they have this kind of highchair too. i thought it's the same brand..then i ask my SIL help me to buy, but when i check that it's i'm toy brand which is only 3 point harmless, wanted stop them but already bought it.
this highchair only suitable for kids 1 yr above. tat's why buy tat ikea highchair.

because of that highchair, i also cant buy another toddler table set. sigh...

Dor,
i though teochew ppl very care abt confinement one. like my mom, she dunno how to look after newborn, so she just help SIL cook simple food &amp; herbal which my SIL teach her and boil ALOT of water for her use.
nvm lal..confinement very fast over one.

Pups,
last nite was terrible!! A sleep at 9pm, then woke up 12am, 3am &amp; 5.45am. after milk, still cry &amp; scream. worst he still can't speak yet, i really dunno what he want. but for sure he is teething! luckily he left 4 big molar.

Selina,
Alvis woke up 1st word is 'go' in hokkien.

Weaning
yes yday kim DIDNT shout for tutu! well only before sleep but i didnt give to her so she keep quiet and sleep! i am so happy but made milk at 1am for her.. other then that she's ok. wake up also nv find her tutu.. heheee.. hopefully tonight will be like this as well.
Oh ya i cant TRY weaning her during long weekends cause weekends, kathlyn will be back home... and she is a VERY light sleeper.. so she tend to wake up easily lo.. so i rather sacrifice my slp during weekdays then weekends kath cranky and cannot get to slp.

Dor
I think if ur mil not ard u'll be happier even though it means breaking alot rules but at least u can get more rest is it?

vivian
the photos are nice!! D so cheeky leh.. and yes Rhys is like big brother in sch. even the teacher also say 'HE IS'!! hahaa.. Initially i didnt c the way he walk but after he is being punish, he stand up walk i was like 'wahh.. da ge da leh..' hahaha.. the way he walk but very cute.
I agree with you that he listen during lessons =)
Guai guai sit there and wait for instructions but hor.. he dun want take his water bottle put in the tray then my kpo kim take and put for him.

Dor Dor,
Aiyo, why your PIL like tat.. ask them might as well dun come. When is your HB back?
Remember if you really need to touch water, pls use warm water. Cool down, dun let them affect your confinement.