(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

hi hi jasmine & coral..
wow..u both talking abt the bird nest till my salivia ahh drooling leh..haha..like very tempted to go & buy 1 bottle also lor..haha..

Selina, thks, will take a look at the NUK product, think I will need to buy 2 sterilisers, one at my place and the other at the nanny place, so I must consider buying same brands of bottles & steriliser, else might not fit the bottle size hor.

Littlekid, ya, me also find Avent bottles big but my hb fan of Avent, will go take a look at NUK products
u using pigeon teat for NUK bt? NUK teats no gd?

hi wendy,
hehe...go n buy one lal. since century sq quite near to ur place wa.... me will take birdnest every monday n thursday. 2 hrs after dinner, i will tell bb it's birdnest time.
but now i didnt buy bottle birdnest. my sil sponsor me those cook one...

hi janice,
i know tat preggies cannot eat deep sea fish eg. tuna, salmon, shark, but didnt notice tat saba fish oso in the same category. thanks for the link u sent and will take note.

hi babygrace,
so, u r using pigeon steriliser?

hi hi Jasmine..
oh, so nice of ur SIL..so sweet of her to cook for u..did u pay her for that?oh, now u dun drink the bottle ones ahh..coz got to keep in fridge then i dun like to use my in-law's fridge..got a very heavy fish smell..i cant take it..

<font color="ff6000">wtan</font>
thanks for updating

<font color="ff6000">selina</font>
er, i dunno any cousins of mine is preggie and due the same time as me wor... maybe can PM me

<font color="ff6000">mummyjoy</font>
one of the reason i did not choose to use Avent is becoz of the bottle's size and my gal suckle better with NUK's teats .. so we stick on to NUK till now.

<font color="0000ff">sterliser</font>
pigeon's can fit most bottles, just like what babygrace has mentioned, 2 flat trays
I used this to sterilise my Avent breast pump too

My EDD later than most of you, finally felt my BB movement these 2 days
It was like bubble, bubble feel and I initially tot it was probably wind but yesterday, BB sort like get close(surface) near to my tummy and I felt slight hardness and 2 movements. My hb saw my tummy move like been 'knock' twice and when he touch, BB went hiding away. My hb's palm usually warm so I told him BB scare of warm so hid away..kekeke.

Went for gynae visit this morning, more confirm that it was BB movement ytd cos' he is lying at the same position sucking his thumb, so adorable
. Previously was 90%, gynae now say 100% boy, no need to wait for detail scan to confirm.

Chihiro, Congrats! think our gynae very sharp in detecting gender, I know my BB gender as early as week 16
don't worry too much on the brown stain, I heard from my fren that she has increase white mucles on 2nd Tri. She told me once the white mucles stay on panty or panty liner for a while, it will turn slightly brown so better change panty liner often...

Hi Mmummyjoy,
to me, the teat is ok but my kids don't like it. I think it's the design... the hole on the teat. I gave them the Nuk teat when they were babies and my mum found that they drank very slow and after checking with my friends, I changed the teat to Pigeon teat, their drinking speed seem to be faster, that how I started using Nuk bottles with Pigeon teat. My hubby also fan of Avent, I have about 3 big bottles, 2 small bottles and 1 traning bottle at home, they are going to be my boys' toys soon. The only thing that my kid use from Avent is the non-spill training cup...

My mum brought dumplings for me, in the end I ate 3, fgeel so guilty. Mum also went to Motherhood Fair with me. My verdit, Not Worth going.

jasmine,
yes, i'm using the pigeon steriliser

mmummyjoy / littlekid
i agree that NUK teat holes are smaller but the shape of the teat is supposedly better for bf babies. What i do is to do a cross-cut on the hole so that my bb could drink faster.

Aspialle, I was tempted by Babygrace on Monday so today I'm cookign tomato base pasta. At first also tot I'm going to expo tonight so better cook something easy to eat, but now, not going.

Wei Kuan, yes, I mean Giant at Parkway. Between, why do you specially look for golden kiwi? Is it more nutritious or more tasty?

Is it necessary to buy steriliser? My mum say boil in pot with hot water can liao. I dunno leh. If buy I must buy 3 sets, 1 my Mum, 1 my inlaws, 1 my own place when my house ready. Wow, very ex!

Hi coral,

thks for the update on the motherhood fair. Not a lot of stuff on display/sale, that's why is not worth going?

Since u have eaten the dumplings, no need to feel guilty about it. Shows that you have a gd appetite. For me, after 1 (esp now), will be feeling so full, cant eat a 2nd one, though I like dumplings too. I drink very diluted chinese tea "10% chinese tea (10%) mixed with hot water (90%)". Next time, sun take so many at 1 go.

Hi 2nd time MTBs,

Check with you, these few days, I'm been having like "releasing gas" feeling in the stomach area. It's like farting but it goes off in the stomach instead out of the body. Is it the so-called bb hicupping or my body has wind inside?

coral,
The boiling method for sterilising bottles works as well. But the downside is that you've got to remember to turn off the gas. I heard of quite a few cases where mommies are so engrossed with bb that the bottles end up deformed cos they forgot to turn off the gas. Steriliser is much more hassle-free.
If cost is a constraint, see which house is where you do most sterilising and then get the steriliser there. Or if you trust that your mum can remember to turn off the gas, then it's ok.
The NUK teats for the normal bottles cannot be used for Avent bottles but NUK has recently come out with wide-neck bottles but i'm not sure if the cap is the same size as Avent.

Tomato-based pasta? yummy.....
i had bak chang for lunch too. but i ate them with some salad to counter-act the guilt. haha!

Gemini, basically they sell diapers, wipes, insurance, clothes, maternity wear. A few store sell some cot, 1 store for Nuk, but I don't find much to browse.I think such small items you wont get lots of discount, not worth the trip and the crowd...I wanted to check out car seats, pram, baby monitor.

aspialle,
yes. it will appear as Lim Caleb (Caleb Lim).

wendy,
apparently my cousin saw my name here so she asked my aunty to ask my mum. but my mum didnt asked for her nick here so i dunno who so have to guess. her #1 is girl and she's same age as me so i guess lor...

the discovery channel program did mention not to put earpiece on tummy for bb to listen to music cos it will damage their ear drums which are developing rapidly now.

tks for the info on the IT show. will go check it out too.

coral,
u went to the fair liao... not worth... now dunno shld go or not...

i also ate 2 dumplings for bfast tis morning.

mummujoy,
congrats. feeling very amazing right. slowly the bubble feeling will disappear n replace by more prominent moves n bumps soon.

chihiro,
i was just guessing based on your age n your #1 being a girl too. i dunno what nick my cousin uses but she knows i'm active in this thread so guess will have to wait for her to surface lah... initially thought it might be jenny but jenny is much younger leh...

babygrace, thanks for the advice. Maybe I'll get one for my MIL, cos she's very blur, think my mum still ok to boil the bottles herself. But then my thrifty MIL will say I waste money. She just found out that I'm jobless...

coral,
jobless now but you're going back to work already mah.

gemini,
when bb hiccup, you'll feel little throbs in a consistent rhythm.

Coral,
golden kiwi is sweeter whereas green kiwi is more sour. As for sterilizer, u must see who is looking after your BB, the person that look after your BB everyday should get 1 1st, then buy another 1 when your house is ready. Boiling the milk bottles in a pot can save money but I feel that it's very dangerous especially when the water is boiling, who can imagine what will happen if your BB is near there..

Hi ih chihiro..
U r welcome..do hope u r feeling better also..

Hi hi mmummyjoy..
So nice to hear that u can feel babys movement..hehe..ya, at 1st will be like bubbles gas type of movement..then slowly u will feel more of his kicks..hehe..<font color="0000ff">Congrats in confirming a PRINCE</font>..hehe..so happy for u also..get to see ur boys sucking his thrumb..haha..

Hi hi coral..
Wow..u ate 3 dumplings ahh..think day time shd be ok..if night time, harder to digest then better not lah..oh, u make my saliva drooling also for the dumplings..hehe..oh, so sweet of ur mum to go with u to the Motherhood exhibition..did u manage to get anything from there?

Hi hi Gemini..
cld it be u r feeling more of babys movement..haha..like fizzy drinks,right? Hehe..i think shd thats babys movementhehe..

Hi hi Selina..
I think probably ur cousin is surfing but not posting ba..if not, cld be from another thread ba..maybe Sept or Nov?

Pig's Liver
============
I was just told that we should avoid eating too much pig's liver though it is high in iron as it is also very high in Vit A. So plse take note. I have to remind my dad cos he used to make me eat them alot when he knows I'm anaemic. Lucky he stopped already after I complained that I dun like the taste now.

hi wendy,
i wanna pay back my sil but then she refused to take the $$ lal. me feel pai seh. i ate 2 dumpling (1 breakfast and 1 dinner) since monday. the dumpling made by mil. not oily and she put a lo of ingrediant. very nice lor. but i only dare to take 1 at one time. b4 preg, i can take 2 at one time.

hi selina,
yea.... we can't eat pig liver especially during 1st trimeter. but then my mil said we hav to eat tat (fried with pork meat and ginger) during our confinement period especially first 2 week we still cant eat chicken yet.

Wendy, I didn't buy anything. I think the wipes are worth buying, but then since hb not with me, so I prefer not to buy, don't want to make my mum help me carry.

Me thinking of using cloth diapers instead of disposable diapers. Has anyone heard abt Bumwear before? My gf used it for 2mths already and she liked it, but I'd like to gather more feedback before I invest.

Hi coral...
Saw the Bumwear before but never got feedbacks. I am interested too.. looks more convenient. Think with the nappy liner, should be quite good....
Here's the website i found.
http://www.bumwear.com/shopping/clothdiaper/bumwearcd.html

Really ah... the fair not worth going ah... hmm...

Hi mmummyjoy,
Congrats of having a Prince... and "feeling" him too.. soon the kicks will be more consistent and stronger... now my Rhys have "soccer training" from morning till night everyday... sometimes still got midnight training ah...
enjoy...

Chihiro, oic, your gal can suckle better with NUK's teats, we will have to test and trial to see which suits, does NUK's bottle have prints on it or just the brand name, it is really gd to have experience mummy here to guide us along.

Littlekid, wow, you have plenty of bottles supplies
sorry, I came to this forum late, didn't know you already have 2 boys, how old are them?

Coral, 3 dumplings? Peifu peifu!

Babygrace, I heard many 'enlarge' the teats for the same purpose too.

Weikuan/Selina,
Thnks, really happy to felt my BB movement, not so advance to kicking yet, will look forward to it, hopefully not too hard kicks..hehehe.

Wtan,
Thk U
hehehe, boys are not shy to show..kekekeke. I am really happy to see him sucking his thumb so clearly.

MTBs who has gone for detail scan,

Can share with me which BB position is best for the detail scan? Do they move a lot during the scan, 2 more weeks to go, so exciting!

My fren just went to the fair, her feedback also nothing much...

Ya, I surf the bumwear site too. But to go full time cloth diaper, I'll prob buy the package E and that's 500+ investment, just worried if don't like it, then lots of money wasted. But if successful, can really save money.

Coral, do we have to add cloth nappy onto bumwear or just let BB wear it directly?

Vivian,
TQ
so nice you have already chosen your boy name, I am still clueless. Hehehe...everyday soccer training

Selina, Thks, u buying cartoon prints or just brand name bottles?

mmummyjoy, the diapers come with inserts. And according to the sales person the insert prob can last 2-3hrs, then you wash it for reuse. I saw the demonstration, the fleece lining inside really keep the diaper dry and my fren said so from her personal experience. Just need to put diaper lining so it's easier to clean away poo especially bf-ing poo. They look cute.
==============================================
Here's my fren's comments from her blog:
Go buy it! Factors:

1. It doesn't leak! Neither pee nor poop. Very impressive for me. For even the best Mamypoko has failed me once. My boy's poop is EXPLOSIVE.

2. The fleece layer REALLY stays dry. This is another impressive to a person who hasn't used cloth diapering before. What do you mean dry? I mean DRY!

3. It holds urine well. I changed Ian after 4 hours.

4. The most important factor: Laundering. IS EASY. As easy as advertised. My baby has breasfeeding poop (a.k.a runny yellowish stainish poop) but I can clean it quite well using the toilet spray. Once I couldn't get everything off, I put it in a pail with water and next day it's gone too. No scrubbing and treating.

5. Okay okay. Everyone raves about how cute the diaper is. It is.

Hi coral...
Another way is to buy a few to try first lor... you can always use them together with disposables first and if it is good, then invest lor...
I was thinking of giving it a try too.. got to ask hb's opinion... anyway, my mum wants us to use the traditional cloth diapers... she already got quite a lot from relatives...

mmummyjoy.. you are making me hungry...

coral, I have craving for the kiwi. thks for the great info.

I am soooooooooo worry cos yesterday i first time use headphone on my belly, i almost cried when i learnt that it is not advisable. i feeling very very very gulity now.

Wei Kuan, you're wlecome, and please don't feel guilty, I doubt you blast the music anyway so I guess your bb is fine.

Vivian, I was thining of buying the whole bulk myself or if there's people who want to share then we cna all try a few. For buying 15 diapers means a 15% discount so more worth it...

hi babygrace
oic...so many elderly tell me cannot hehehe

hi jasmine and selina
i told my MIL abt pig's liver but she still want me to eat leh, to cut a few pieces throw into porridge, she says little nevermind

hi coral
i know of the boiling method, though it saves money but a bit troublesome loh
u seems to like spagetti and pasta hor :p
im cooking fish porridge tonite, also put a bit of potato and pig liver

Wow, I envy those MTBs who knows how to cook. Me can't really cook. My kitchen hob is "for display". Still brand new after 2 yrs...

Hi bbgrace,

thks for telling me how bb hicups is like.

wendy, yah, it's something like fizzy drinks...

this morning, I was looking at my stomach and saw the bb "kicking". Very amazing!

mummyjoy,
u making me drool... shld b ok lah... in moderation.

as for the bottles, the steriliser i bought came with bottles but have not checked out if they are printed ones or not. will use what is given free then since it comes together. of course prints are nicer n fun to have.

Vivian, aspialle, I realise in this forum, under the market place people do hold bulk purchase for bumwear, so maybe we can wai till closer to delivery and check if there's such bulk purchase to join in. My friend just call me to say if I buy from the Fair I get 3 extra inserst and 4 packs of diaper liner. But I think that'll mean 500+investment at one go not worth it. Might as well join in bulk puchase and buy a few to try first...But if hb agree to spend the money, I might just buy from the fair.....

aspialle, dunno why, but I have craving for sour things like the toimato base of pasta lor. My hb like aglio olio style which I always cook, but now must indulge in my own liking. Hee. I have been avoiding porridge cos I have lots of wind in tummy.

My goodness, the news just said a bb suffered bad burnt in Aust after being toss into the dryer...How can anyone be so careless or cruel??