(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Vivian, aspialle, think abt the diapers and let me know. I'll discuss with hb tonite too. I think make more sense to share. If we buy now each can get 5diapers, 12inserts and a pack of liners at abt $176. Think 5 should be sufficient if only use cloth diapers during day and disposable at nite...

Hi hi Selina..
Oic..then she will show up lor..haha..but I can tell the suspense u have lor..haha..thks for sharing that to avoid liver to prevent BM supply..thks..

Hi hi Jasmine..
They are very nice to u..this is very nice to hear lor..so envy u..hehe..so far my 3 elder SILs no plans to start family yet..maybe when my child is born, then they will start planning ba..i do find that support from close families is very impt lor..ya, I also only eat dumpling..coz sacred of indigestion lor..haha..anyway, I already ordered 2 dumplings from my mum for breakfast tmrw morn..haha..morn eat 2, shd be ok ba..hehe..yummy..

Hi hi coral..
Oic..okok..thks..thks..me wont have a chance to go down since hubby is busy..thks for sharing it with me..so aft this exhibition, do u find that u kinda know what to buy next?me also thinking of using cloth nappy but not source out yet..

Hi hi Vivian..
Thks for sharing on the Bums nappy..so cute & fanciful..hehe..i think Rhys is preparing himself for the upcoming football cup ahh..hehe..so cute..

Hi hi mmummyjoy..
U can start talking to boy-boy lor..tell him to be good for gynae to scan for him..i m sure u will find it very fruitful lor..hehe..

Hi hi Wei Kuan..
Dun feel guilty..now u know..just dun do it again ba..no worries,k? cheers~

Hi hi Gemini..
Ya..i think its ur babys movement leh..hehe..so happy for u..hehe..haha..

hi gd morning ladies
so fast today 1 june liao....

hi coral
morning how are u?
where are u all goin to order for the diapers hah?

my mil ask me to eat half boil egg every morning, i wonder if it is healthy to do so, so i eat it like twice a week. anyone here take half-boil egg ?

hi wei kuan
i heard people saying not gd to eat eggs not fully cooked cos it contains bacteria...but it depends on ur own immune system. some people still eat but they r alright, but i try to avoid

Yah.. wei kuan, I read from a lot of place that not fully cooked eggs might have some kind of bacteria so try to avoid... me loved half boiled eggs too but now dun take anymore... can only drool when I go "Ah Kun's" shop...

BTW, even ok, try not to eat too many eggs coz of high cholestrol...

Hi hi coral..
I think u can keep ur options open while sourcing for the designs as well..also got to see whos helping u to take care of ur princess aft u delivered..coz personally I felt that if ur mum or MIL is helping u to take care, then I feel safer to let baby use cloth diaper..but if maid is taking care, then I will rather use pampers..coz in case maid not tactful enough..personal view lah..duno if its correct also..haha..

Hi hi Wei Kuan..
Oh, I dun think its gd to take half-boil egg leh..coz its not 100% cooked, right? So far I dun touch half-boil egg..even those fry ones, till almost burnt but yolk is alittle wet also I dun take lor..Uhmm..2nd time mtbs, can u advise us on this? thks!

hi vivian
hows ur day
?

btw my SIL already scan, her 2nd bb now 5 mth pregnant is a gal. goin for mine on the 14th...duno hw is it,so nervous

Goodmorning, first day at work...

Aspialle, if we really want to buy then I'll go to the fair to get since they'll give some extra perks as mentioned earlier.

Wei Kuan, although my mum told me to eat half-boiled eggs too, I read the bateria in uncooked eggs are bad for bb.

Wendy, it'll be either myself (if I don't work) or both my mum and MIl who'll take care of bb if I work. We don't trust maids leh

Morning MTBs,

The cloth diapers look gd, it will save on the washing time of the diapers compared to the traditional diapers, I'm interested but I have bought 3 packs of traditional cloth diapers. So not sure whether to get some of the cloth diapers to try.

hi hi aspialle..
i m sure u must be very excited also..wow..ur SIL got a PRINCESS ahh..she must be very happy also..heehee..

hi hi coral...
okok..then i think u can consider lor getting the cloth diaper..hehe..u dun over-work today leh..better go back on time ba..k?

Hi Wendy, my boss took it like I never left the office, she had never stopped sending me email and work. My hb say to delete all emails that came in b4 1st June. haha. But I'll not OT, will leave on time.

Gemini, my cousins also give me lots of traditional cloth diapers, but heard that those get wet immediately after on pee, so quite useless leh, don't think I'll use them at all.

wei kuan,
like wat aspialle says, i avoid half boil egg since preggie cos we not supposed to take raw stuff n think not quite good lor. even my doc says dun eat.

Gemini,
I think u can still buy but jus dun buy the inserts which u can use what u have already bought.

Coral,
i interested too but have not discussed with hb. will let u know soon. already emailed him n hope he sees it.

Eggs
====
my gynae says good to eat eggs cos high in protein. can take up to 5-6 a wk but only 2 yolks a wk.

Hi Weikuan,
I also dun take half-boiled eggs or ommettles after preg. The bacteria is called Salmonella. My hubby got food poisoning from half-boiled egg on our wedding day. So poor thing. Vomitted and had diarrhoea whole day.

By the way, i saw golden kiwi at SunMoon at Raffles place mrt.

hi hi coral..
aiyo..why like that..ya, just delete all the emails b4 1st june..haha..ya, gd that u will be leaving on time..take gd care & just relax..cheers~

hi hi Selina..
thks for sharing that we can take 2 egg yolks one a wk..thks..actually me long time didnt eat 100% hard-boiled egg..maybe this wk I will try lah..hehe..

Hi Selina, you tempt me to go shopping again leh. I bought 2 dresses from them online and I like their tops too...How how? Must stop being so vain liao.

littlekid,
re the NUK steriliser, i've checked. the bottles are non-cartoon prints ones. the upper tray can b suspended even without the bottles underneath.

wendy,
u are welcome.

coral,
my sis tempt me so i must tempt you ladies too... ha ha... i'm looking for at their nursing wear. n mayb will buy their nursing sleepwear cos will need it when deliver at hopsital. dun wanna wear hospital gown.

Hi aspialle,
Today no class till afternoon so quite relax.. first 3 days of the week are more siong for me...
these few days getting some consumables (leftovers) from my SIL... such as breast pads, nappy liners, cooler bags, bottles etc... help save some money... so everyday keep thinking of things for bb Rhys.. But heard the fair very disappointing leh... sigh...
How's your day too?

Hi Coral,
last nite told hb abt the cloth diapers, well, he din oppose lah.. but think he need more convincing lor.. so thinking of going to the demo to see the real thing... but i am interested... let you know ok?
I also have the traditional cloth diapers but i prefer the simple to use and wash version of bumwear. The traditional one still need pins and not everyone can do it well so thinking of trying all, including disposables then see how...
It is also true that the traditional cloth must change once it is wet or dirty... if rain, not dry fast enuff also problem...

Sorry for not specific on my view on eggs just now, Selina is right, egg white is good, but the high cholestrol is from the egg yolk so try not to eat too much egg yolk...

Hi Janice, your poor hb... must be kanna sabo rite? haha... my hb also kenna 3 raw eggs in VSOP/beer.. cannot rem... very jialat... haha

hi coral, i almost forgot u r starting work today...hows the morning traffic, any seat?

hi selina
do u have medical oil with u? try chewing a sweet, that is wat i always do when i wan to faint..if not drink a hot cup of milo, it helps

coral, janice,
i dunno. was typing away then suddenly the computer screen like floating n moving. now better liao. yesterday also a bit like that but today seems more serious. is it common? my new gyane cut down my iron pills from 6 a day to 2. not sure if it is due to that.

hi vivian
tats nice.hw is ur Rys? i wake up as early, finished doing laundry, brewed barley and now cooking soup for tonight hehehe

Coral, ya, it look cute
. Very good review from your fren, can consider, but what abt the size, BB can wear till how many mths? We need to refill the inserts rite? Other thing is we can't throw it in the washing m/c so will need to wash it separately and it sure take time to dry rite? thks for sharing

Selina, heard better reduce salad/mayo cream, dun know if sour or tartar cream are make with raw egg yolk too. It is true that prints are cute but got to look out for those that will fade...

Wtan,
looking forward to the detail scan.

Weikuan, don't worry, I saw a lot of people using headset meant for BB too. If music too loud, think BB will protect themselves by hiding away or probably give mummy a few objection kicks. Er...cannot eat raw eggs lei...they contain salmonel smtg(dun know how to spell) bacteria that can pass thru placenta, I have to give up my fav. sunny top too.

MTBs,

Have you all considered how to store your breastmilk? I watched the Channel U show and that lady has many bottles to store her breastmilk. Any idea how many bottles we will need or is it better to use disposable bottle liner?

selina, oh dear, better sit down and have a sweet drink like ribena or milo with sugar, I experienced it twice and the drinks works.

Little Rhys wakes up early this morning... before I am even fully awake, he already "signal" me that he woke up liao... like saying "morning mummie"... gave 2 knocks when I lie on the sofa this morning. Last nite i was talk to him and hb regarding his chinese name and whenever we say the name, he kicks one time.. so funny... but when hb puts his hand on top, he stop kicking liao... makes my hb angry only... haha...

Wah.. you so early start cook soup for the night? what soup har? make me drool only.. I loved soup stuff.. hee...

mummyjoy,
u are right. a read to avoid caesar salad too cos the dressing is made of raw eggs.

my friend told me to buy the BM storage bags instead. she said more practical. she will pass her balance to me.

hi coral & selina,
ok.. will check with mil or mum about the pig liver. thanks a lot.

hi wei kuan,
dun feel guilty coz u oso dunno ma... but i know previously ppl did this to bb. my elder sis did told me tat she ate half boil egg (buy frm kampung) often during her preg time. but then i read the book said tat we shld avoid raw food. as coral mentioned, there might b bacteria inside.

hi wendy,
me n hb oso decide to use cloth diapers for bb during day time and pampers during nite time. at least bb can sleep longer at nite. i saw there is few brand like tollyjoy, pigeon and etc..still haven decide which brand to buy.
oo..ya, i oredi bought bb cot and bouncer chair for my boy boy lor. bb cot is white colour one, quite nice.

mommyjoy, the inserts can be washed too. According to my fren the inserts dry up quiickly upon washing, the diaper will take longer time. but since you don wash the diaper as frequently as the inserts, it's alright.

Ya, Vivian, I think users should always touch feel the product before buying. Don't rush into it. I may also want to bring hb to see the demo and make sure he's convinced b4 I buy. Since he'll have to help in care of bb too.

Aspialle, my hb send me to work, so traffic not an issue.

Selina, I also intend to buy nursing wear and sleepwear too. If it's lack of iron, usually you'll feel faint when you stand up. I had felt faint twice cos I cope in a samll room for too long, so the lack of oxygen cuased my dizziness. And sometimes the lack of sugar too as my blood sugar level quite low.

Hi Vivian,
Not sabo lah. My hubby went to eat half-boiled eggs for breakfast at a kopitiam before going to collect the car from car rental. We were very poor at that time.. ROM and wedding dinner (2 tables) on same day. He got to be chauffer, photographer and bridegroom on that day. Kena food poisoning some more. Really poor thing.

Hi Selina,
Mayb it's better u check with your gynae..see if your fainting spells is due to the iron pills. Low blood sugar can also cause fainting one.

Sometimes when i go toilet in the middle of the night also feel giddy.

hi vivian

really envy u tat u can feel the bb kicking u...my bb haven been so active lately.now only 5 mths the movements not v obvious

so sweet hor. i usually start cooking soup in the morning so that i can eat it for lunch too. i love using slow cooker, esp for peanut or blackbean soup it taste better thru longer hours stewing. today cooking beancurd tomato soup.

Selina, I also think I'll buy BM storage bags too, more economical. maybe we can look out for bulk purchase in the forum. I told my hb abt NUK bottles and steriliser, he's quite open to it. Maybe if I really go to get the diapers at the Fair then can buy that too...

coral
so nice of ur hb to send u, at least u have a car it is more convenient hor. Recently saw adv by australian high commission recruitment. Looks attractive but too bad, i dun tink they will take in pregnant women like me. its 5 day week 8.30-5pm only, salary up to $2700+

Vvian, my gal also likes to wake me up in the morning. I think she's a morning person like me.
Like Rhys, she also stop moving when hb puts his hands on my tummy. He's very upset and jealous.

Aspialle, you never know. The head hunters told me they just put a 9mth preg lady to a job. And I think the Aussies are pro-family, give it a try if you're really interested in the job. Maybe they're willing to let you start work after delivery...

hi selina,
mayb u shld stop typing and close u eye, rest for a while. it's help.
oo..ya, u bought the NUK sterilizer, ritez? can i know tat which brand of breast pump and milk bottle u intend to buy?

jasmine,
no more dizzy spell liao but will monitor see how. yesterday also in the morning only for a split second only. today seems to last longer.

yes i bought the steriliser. it comes with milk bottles free so will also use NUK bottles. anyway our intention was to use nuk bottles. i'll most prob use my sis's breast pump first then see how. i dunno which brand she's using cos i haven seen it yet

coral,
i'll look ard or we can always do our own BP here. think we can garner enf qty ba...

selina,
ooo....do take care urself. is it bcoz of u do not hav enuf sleep? anyway, rest for a while if still feel dizzy.

Hi MTBs,
went to buy laohangjia birdnest last night. The salesperson told me yesterday was last day for promo of buy 5 bottles get 1 free. I'm not sure true or not.

She told me there's an outlet at Jurong point also. The one at Suntec has closed down for about a year liao.

Yup.. agree with Carol, the fair not worth going lah... small & not substantial enough... well-known brands are not there like jollyjoy, johnson, avent, pigeon( or maybe i miss them out???) all i see of baby products brands are pureen, furlin, tuk... if you are a fan of these brands maybe can go take a look???

And if you are 2nd time mum, just subscribe to motherhood magazines for 1 years and your child (if going with you) will have a lot of photoshoot, like model.. haha, my friend's daughter become model yesterday...

kao_smile2.gif

Hi hi Selina..
If u r not feeling well..think u shd go back & rest ba..take gd care esp when u r alone in the office..

Hi hi Vivian..
So sweet to hear that Rhys gave u 2 kicks..haha..so sweet lor..really brighten up our day leh..hehe..

Hi hi Jasmine..
Thats also gd..since ur MIL shd be helping u to take care of ur boy..i guess shd be ok to use cloth diaper..hehe..oh, u bought baby cot liao ahh..white color is very nice leh..hehe..if u got time, can take photo & share with me?me now trying to get sponsorship from my in-laws on the stroller & cot or stroller & infant car seat..haha..

kao_smile2.gif

Hi selina,

try to get up from sitting, laying or squatting slower. Sometimes, too sudden movement will cause dizziness also. Me sometimes also "see dark" in the office before preggie, i got it now once or twice, I close my eyes for a few mins, take a few deep breaths. i believe lack of sleep may cause this too.

Hi coral,

my Jpn office contract staffs really follow suit what's stated on the contract. They knock off exactly at 6pm, if they even work for extra 1 min, they can claim OT for it. Not like me, I'm also on contract, sometimews work till 7pm, also cant claim.

Cloth diapers
=============
some of you mentioned that there is a demo. Is the demo at the motherhood fair? Other places got sell/display such demos?

selina,
The hospital will advise mommies to bring their own gown cos they usually don't provide. Good to buy those sleepwear with buttons down the front for easier bfg.

mmummyjoy,
i stored my breastmilk in bottles initially cos the amount that bb takes in the beginning is quite little and so it's quite a waste to use the disposable milk bags. I use those glass bottles from the hospital where they have the formula milk samples to feed the bb. You can ask the hospital nursery for a few of those bottles before you discharge. The bottles can store up to about 90ml. When bb got older and his intake increased, i used milk bags because they save space in the freezer.

hi wendy,
1st we tot to use diapers for the whole day. but after ppl advice, bb will feel more comfortable with cloth diapers coz of cooling. aftertat, then only we decide to use cloth diapers. but oredi told hb if use cloth diapers, must buy the small washing machine recommended by aspille to wash bb clothes n cloth diapers lol. hehe....
pai seh lel...cant show u the bb cot coz we only ask them to deliver on end sept lel. hmmm....i oso wait ppl to sponsor stroller.