(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Hi Selina,

Thanks for your info... will try to do brisk walking in water then, now then i know actually those oxygen tanks really feel nothing in water ar?? cos see tv also felt that it's not easy to dive..
wow.. since you dive must have seen lots of underwater beauties...

Hi Gemini,
okok... at least you have your "jun Zhi" at home to help out.. guess just follow whatever they say ba..
as for backache, will do what selina had mention to try ease it.. mine really bad..

Hi Coral,

hehe.. but sleeping on back feel more comfortable leh.. ok ok if that's really the cause, will try to minimize & to sleep on sides..

Hi Gemini,

Oic..thks for sharing on clarins oil

MTBs,

Can I noe if you are still taking the folic acid & iron tablet daily? Do you take it in the morning or night time?

Hi delphine,

U can still sleep on your back? I used to do that, but now, "automatically" will sleep on left/right. I tried to sleep on my back, but realised that there is a slight arch on my back (my back cant lie straight on the bed), quite difficult to sleep.

Mummyjoy,

though heard some of the mummies here dun take folic acid anymore, but my gynae still want me to take leh... cureently still taking folic acid & prenavit pill(dun koe if this is iron tablet) every morning..

Hi Gemini,

ya lor... especially sitting on sofa too long, went into my room, lie on my back on the bed, feel very comfortable le... maybe, my muscle relax ba...

now got to used to sleeping on sides liao cos heard u all say no good to lie on the back right???

oh yes!! Selina... a million thnks!! i love lifebaby's stuffs!!! moreover, me goin to get some gift for my gd friend's BB 1st mth!!! thanks for the info, dear...
424074.gif

Hi MTBs,
i was on leave for few days as hubby just came back to visit me. Next visit will be when i deliver lor..We tried to feel bb's kicks but still no movement leh. Me week 18 day 4 liao..
kao_sad2.gif

Finally finished reading all the postings that I missed out.

Hi mummyjoy, welcome to our club!

Hmm..seems that nightmares and dreams are very common among us leh. But dun worry so much, gals! Here's an article that'll cheer everybody up!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Pregnancy stress aids toddler development
BALTIMORE, May 17 (UPI) -- Women who are stressed and anxious during pregnancy
tend to have children who have more advanced mental and motor development by
age 2, U.S. researchers say.
A study of 137 healthy women with low-risk, typical pregnancies produced the
surprising result, say researchers from Johns Hopkins University and the
National Institute of Child Development.
"While these findings may seem counterintuitive, chemicals that are produced by
stress have a well-known influence on organ growth and development," said lead
author Janet DiPietro.
"Mild to moderate stress has been proposed to be important to successful
adaptation to the environment after birth and necessary for optimal brain
development," DiPietro said.
While it's possible the findings might have been different if the study had
examined pregnant women undergoing severe turmoil, DiPietro said women with
typical pregnancies should "stop worrying about worrying."
The study, which examined women between 24-32 weeks of pregnancy and six weeks
and two years after giving birth, was reported in the journal Child Development.

hi hi Coral..
thks..thks..will be positive from now & i will leave everything to Fate as well...at least will feel more relax..hehe..i will be listening to classical music b4 I get to sleep loroh, u changed ur bra size to 2 cup bigger ahh..actually u r right leh..coz I think we shd have bigger size, me wearing only 1 cup bigger..think got to start searching for another cup size biggers bra..at least not that squeezy lor..

hi hi Selina..
can tell that u r getting ur checklist readytake ur time..control ur temptation then get the items one by one when the GSS & Motherhood exhibition comes along at the end of the mth..very fast one..time pass.. in fact..i was chatting with one of a aug mtb today & she also said we shd start checking out on the items when we are not as big..coz later when we are bigger then might be harder for us to travel or shop baso now is a gd time to start..so I guess I will start to do up the list & check things out..hehe..oh ya, thks for sharing with us that the bird nest shd be taken in the morn to benefit baby..appreciate that..

hi hi mmummyjoy
nowadays I do not take folic acid..coz my gynae gave us another supplement, the Obimin film tablets whc also contains folic acid according to the nurses there..

hi hi Janice..
thks for sharing on the info..but I m a little confuse..as in, women who are stressed & anxious..is it better or not?just in case I have mis-intepreted the article..pie-say hor..

Hi Mummuyjoy, for bra length, mine increase only one size.

Ilovemybaby, I like sleeping on my back too. But am warned that with the increase weight will hurt our spine and cause backache.

Selina, thanbks for the sales info. Any iea when GSS will start? I'm still eyeing the 2 pair of pants from 9mois, hoping to get them when there's sale.

hi hi ladies..
i found some info on sleeping on our back: -

****Article #1****
Question: I am almost seven months along. I know pillows are good tools for comfort at night. What is the best way to position them for optimal comfort and most of all good sleep?

Answer: First, you should never lie on your back. You shouldn't do that after the fourth month. It can reduce blood flow to the baby.

- Lying on your side, which also helps reduce swelling in your feet, you should put one or two pillows between your knees, depending on what's comfortable, and bend the top or both knees.
- You might want to put a pillow or two under your top arm, also.
- Put as many under your head as you like.
- If you can't sleep on your side, some women, have made nests for the baby sleeping on their tummy. They put a lot pillows around leaving a hole for the tummy.
- If you can't sleep on your side or get comfortable on your stomach, then you should use a semi-sitting position and put pillows under your thighs or knees so your knees are slightly bent. That avoids backaches.

****Article #2****

Sleeping on Your Back while Pregnant
Getting a good night sleep when you are pregnant can be tricky. With a big tummy and pressure everywhere, it is very hard to find a comfortable position. During the beginning stages of pregnancy, sleep position is not much of an issue. But, as the baby continues to grow, there are really only two positions that are safe for a pregnant woman to sleep: upright or on her side.

The problems with sleeping on your stomach are pretty obvious, but many are confused as to why they cannot sleep on their back. While it may seem comfy, the weight of your enlarged uterus can actually pose serious risk to you if you sleep on your back while pregnant. The pressure of the uterus on your diaphragm can interfere with your breathing. Another problem with sleeping on your back is that your uterus also puts a lot of pressure on your aorta, which is a major blood vessel.

Infos on how to relief backache: -

A back rub from a nice person is also very nice. Here's how to massage somebody's back, for low back pain:

- Locate the spine and go to the waist point on the spine.
- Place your fingers or thumbs into the little groove on either side of the spine at waist level.
- Apply pressure in a circular motion, firmly but gently.
- With the flat of both hands (the front part of the hand, fingers, and palms) just pushing up and down the whole back, start at the lowest part of the spine and push up one part of the spine and then back down.
- It usually feels better with lotion.
- Also try a fist or the heel of the hand or a tennis ball in a circular motion pressed, again, on the lower back where she says it feels best.

For upper back pain and for shoulder, neck, and head pain, massage the top of the shoulders:

- At the top of each shoulder, in a line with the nipple, in a vertical line, go straight up from the nipple to the top of the shoulder and a tiny bit back, and start massaging circularly.
- You may feel a hard knot or a fibrous area or the spot may be tender. Any of these signs mean you've hit the right spot.
- Apply circular pressure at the woman's comfort level, moving the skin over the bone -- in other words, not creating friction, not moving the fingers across the skin, but moving the skin across the bone so the fingers are on the same point the whole time.
- From that point, firmly walk your fingers up and down each side of the neck and massage just under the skull bone.

I finally finished my work!!! Very very tired... I miss here wor... Too many postings le, I gotta give them a miss... Lazy to read back...

Coral,
Morning is the best. Meaning empty stomach. I take once in the morning and once before sleep.

Jasmine,
Are you taking the non sugar birdnest or the one with 3% sugar from Lao Hang Jia? I just finished my bottle with 3% sugar. Now taking the bottle from Fu Hua. Wah liew, Fu Hua one, I feel so raw... yucks... still prefer Lao Hang Jia one. Going back to collect my new bottle next week, when I have time.

Mummyjoy,
I have stopped folic acid after week 12. I'm taking 1 Multivitamin every morning only.

Delphine, ya lor...Dr.A still give me folic acid, I read from book that can stop from wk12 so I wonder why still have to take. I asked abt the prenavit pill, it contains a few Vit & iron. He is quite generous with the supplement. I read sleep at left-side aid in oxygen & blood flow to BB.

Janice, TQ for the welcome. Me just join, still blur, your hb not in SGP?

Wtan/jenny, ya..heard some supplement has folic included, think mine don't have so my gynae still give it to me.

Coral, Thnks, looks like safe to get 1 length size + 2 cup sizes bigger first

MTBs,

Just msn my fren who gave birth in TMC, she told me they provide free lessons on BB care & 1 to 1 Bfing consultation. After our delivery, the nurses will inform us the timing and we can go to the rooms to attend. I am not sure if the privilege of 1 to 1 consultation only for 1-bedded. Anyone know if MAH has that too?

hi hi wendy,
thanks a lot for the info. nowsday i few back pain during sleep time. i try to sleep on left but then at then end will sleep face up. still need time to adjust lol.
actually i understand wat u mean. last nite, when me and hubby look at my tummy and ask baby move, suddenly we saw a 'pop out' at the tummy. we are shocked but very happy lol. especially hb coz he didnt get any response frm bb the nite b4. haha

hi jenny,
congra tat u finnaly finish ur work. i took tat non-sugar one. the taste really no nice lol. after finished this, i think won't ask hb to buy coz my SIL oredi cook bird nest twice a week for me. can save a bit $$ ba....
if really wanna buy, i m sure will buy the 3% one...

hi hi mmummyjoy,
i bought my bra at tampines mall the shop so called OTO maternity. when i wear that time, i will hook at the last hock, so still not so loose. now i oredi increase 1 cup size, jz wondering this bra dunno can last till deliver.
hehehe....pai sei

Hi Wendy,
I guess the article means that abit of stress for us is ok and might even benefit our baby ba. So no need to worry so much. Be HAPPY!

Hi Jenny,
U still taking the prenavit? I finished mine liao. Dunno should go and get some more from Dr Ang or not. Next appointment on 9th June leh. So apart from multivit, u only take birdnest from lao hang jia? No fish oil? I only taking Anmum which contains folic acid but not sure if it's sufficient for baby or not..

Hi mummyjoy,
my hubby is working overseas. He came back for a surprised 1 week visit and will come again when i'm due. But not sure when he should be here leh. Week 35 should be in sg liao?? Think Jenny said Week 36 can give birth anytime liao.

Hi Jasmine,
I got the exact same problem as u when sleeping. Try to sleep on the left, then ended up waking up facing up. Wah your SIL so nice to u leh.

jasmine,
so fast you can see bump on your tummy? so envy.

delphine,
my gynae ever said sleep on either side is gd for blood circulation for bb. not necessary on left or right. whichever side is comfy for you.

all mtbs,
those who started feeling bb's kicks and move, can i check if it is normal not to feel it on some days? havent felt anything yet today. getting a little worried.
kao_scared.gif

hi janice,
yeah...they r nice to mee. actually 3 of them r my hb elder sis. that's make me feel warm coz all my family stay at m'sia lol. i stay at east sg and very lazy to go down town for shopping. they even will buy maternity clothes for me. sometimes i feel 'pai sei' lol & dunno hav to pay them $$ or not.
i think we need time to adjust our sleep position since sleep with facing up is not good for our baby.

hi selina,
yeah...is like something 'pop' on the tummy, but very fast one. i m sure u will feel bb movement soon. coz according to book, normally we wll feel when 18 wks to 20 wks ba..
like wendy mentioned, u can try to talk to bb and ask him reply to u. sure it's work. really,,,,

im back from my appoinment today, too bad today no scan on bb, just listening to heartbeat
bb beat v fast leh hehehe

the bloodtest result is out, luckily she says i dun have anemia so dun have to take iron pills, just some vitamins and continue on folic acid

hi selina
sometimes i dun feel the moves, maybe bb is sleeping lor :p (70-80% of the time they are sleeping ) depending on the weeks, if bb not tat big yet, the kicks may not be tat obvious

regarding the lump under my armpit, told the doctor, she feels no lump inside, its just excessive fats...hehehe

Hi Selina,

heard from my friend that only starting from 6mths onwards when u feel those great impact kicks, then everyday you have to feel it..

now at our stage, most are just bursting of bubbles & mild kicks, sometimes when you did not concentrate, you might not notice it as well. so dun worry too much..

Hi mummyjoy,

ya Dr Adrian very generous with folic acid & the pink pill haha, now then i know it contain vitamin & iron, thanks for your info..

aspialle,
glad to hear that the lumps are not lumps in fact.

how fast is your bb's heartbeat? the last time i scan at 18wks, my boy's heartbeat is 143bpm.

i cant wait for my next appt on 7 jun.

jasmine,
my boy hardly listens one. the only time he did was to kick for my hb but too bad hb still cannot feel him by touching my tummy.

Hi Wendy, thanks for the info. Actually I always try to sleep on my side, but when I wake up I awalys end on my back. According to some gynae, sleeping on left side also increase oxygen supply to bb.

Aspialle, glad to know the lumps are just harmless fats. Did you get to enrol in maternity class? Don't your gynae scan for you on all your visit? So far my gynae in kk scan for me on every visit...Maybe he know I'm the paranoid type, so he wants to give me more assurance.

Wow, Jasmine, you sure got very nice SILs. At least you won't feel lonely without your own family.

Selina, thank you for the info. I'll look out for the sales. But since I'm not working, no real excuse to buy too much clothes...

wah archived again? aiyoh, i lazy to refer liao, juz reply watever i see now.

can u ladies sleep on ur back? hmmm, i can nvr do tt. will auto turn to the sides to sleep. but still got backache prob. oh my backache does not come when i sleep but rather at times throughout the day.

i stopped folic acid as soon as i finished those fr 1st trimester leh. tt was like 1.5 mths back liao. i gathered since the multivits contains it, then shld b sufficient.

janice,
dun worry abt the bb movement. i felt it at 19 wks+ oso. moreover ur bb cld hv kicked but u cant recognise it yet. dun fret, u will feel it soon enuff!
it will get more powerful later.

Bra size
its horrible! i grew like 3 cup sizes! i cldnt believe it when the lady told me my newly "upgraded" size. and hor, my newly increased underbust measurement jumped to another size within a wk. horrors!
tt means i am wearing extensions wif my new bras liao. aiyoh. anyone worse than me? stressed ah. ladies, its not gd to assume u juz need bra extensions. sometimes ur cup size oso increased but u r not aware. i was also wearing my old bras happily and thot only underbust increased while cup size still the same until i had myself measured while purchasing the bras. the lady said wearing smaller cups will only mean we got extra flesh under our armpits and in the long run, we will hv fat arms. its an irreversible process, so dun play play ah.

wendy,
thks 4 the articles on backaches!

Jenny darling! hehehe

u MIA a few days ah? so quiet!

oh i happen to read tt Selina use tt brand of stretchmark cream. where u get it fr? how much? issit gd? i saw it at my gynae's clinic. but din manage to find more info regarding this info online.

hihi coral
the gynae did not scan for every visit. the class for sat is full...so disappointing, haiz

hi selina
my bb heartbeat is 150 leh hehehe

saw a bb bed, 4 in 1 bed at OG selling for $199, promotion ends 21 may, includes mosquito mat, the playpen, toys and cot

i was relief after the bloodtest is out as i thought i got anemia.
My mum and brother is Hep B carrier, my mum family history has thyroid.Luckily i dun have any problems with all this, all clear

hi crystalized
now im in my 4th month, wearing XXL panty liao haha....also increase in bra size...ur not alone

gynae says the back tailbone pain is normal so can't help it loh

mmummyjoy,

MAH provides classes on bathing baby, bfg and post-natal exercise during your stay there. but they are not 1 to 1 consultations, not even for single bedded. The nurses will inform you the class timings and go around to remind you just before the class starts.

Aspialle, so did yu sign up for wkday classes?

All MTBs at kkh, when I first went there I was also told that we can go for free sessions on breastfeeding prior to delivery. Hvae any of you gone for it yet? I'll try to find out more on my next visit.

aspialle,
think we saw the cot in OG as well. but i am hesistant abt playpen. keep thinkg its not as firm 4 the bb's spinal bone.

u wearing XXL panty? wat was ur size prior to pregnancy? i juz cant imagine how much i grew!~ its horrendous!!!
kao_confused.gif

hi crystallized,
i m wearing free size panty for preg lady one. so, i really dunno how much i grew. dunno dare to think of it.
kao_scared.gif

mummyjoy,
Yes, TMD does provide free lessons on bb care and bfing. They will demo how to take care of bb, bathing etc. If I remember correctly, there are 2 sessions per day.

Jasmine,
I'm taking the one with the 3% sugar. Find it q nice. I think I stick to this 3% one. I think non sugar one very raw taste, right?

Janice,
Ya, the multivitamin is prenavit. Thats the only supplement I'm taking beside birdnest from Lao Hang Jia. I din take fish oil. For my 1st pregnancy, I din even take birdnest, just purely prenavit. Dun worry lah, is enough one. Folic acid can be found in many food, like some fruits and vegetables, fish etc. So dun worry.

Since you finished teh prenavit, go and get from Dr Ang's clinic. 9 Jun is still a few weeks to go. My next appt with Dr Ang is 12 Jun. By the way, heard Dr Ang is on holiday??? Not sure, but give a call before you go.

Most ppl told me 1st time mum will usually deliver near to EDD date. But it's not true for me. I gave birth to my No. 1 at Week 36 exactly. I read from book/internet and my colleagues do tell me that preggies will give birth anytime from Week 36. So I just let you gals know, so that you gals can get ready your bag.

Selina,
Dun worry. BB may be moving, just that you are not sensitive enough to feel it. I realise when one is sleeping or lying position, tend to feel the movement more.

crystallized,
wee wee... bra cup increased 3!!! Wow wow wow hahahaha... Mmm my last pregnancy, I only increased 1 cup nia. I can see the ladies here increased a lot. I still wearing my "normal" cup size but with bra extension nia. I dun wan my boobs to be too big like Zoe Tay kekekeke....

Me wearing those granny type of undies, can pull all the way to belly button type. Hee hee.. dunno leh, just feel more secure to wrap up my whole tummy.

Haven buy bras.. Wow, so seems 2 cup sizes and above is "normal" ah.. got to buy really soon..Before pregnant already wearing 80B liao

Hi Jenny,
Dr Ang might b on leave? My friend's sis delivered few days ago by him. Wah.. that night he was very busy as there were 4 deliveries and he had to pao3 tai2 here and there.

My director told me that 1st time mum usually deliver after their EDD? Dun make sense leh. If later than EDD, gynae will cui1 sheng1 or not?

Still haven feel any BB's movements. So envy that most MTBs here can feel liao...

Zoe Tay? Wah.. think I've never known any other mummies who can "upgrade" like her even after giving birth. Saw in a forum that the guys were making fun of her boobs after seeing the charity show.

Janice,
Not sure, my friend asked me just 2 days ago if I know Dr Ang went on holiday. Dr Ang now very hot leh. That day I went to see him, I waited for him for almost 3hrs despite I had appt with him **fainted**

Ya lor, thats what I heard also. Thats why even CLs also said 1st time mums usually deliver near EDD or after EDD. But I know some who actually gave birth before. Most in their Week 38. It depends on mother and bb health, if gynae thinks can induce, they will induce. I give a little warning about induce here... Induce hor, very pain one... I kena induce one... cos my waterbag burst w/o contractions for more than 8 hrs. Gyane decided to induce me partly becos my BP went high. But induce birth very fast one.

Aiyo I dunno how to describe maternity panties leh. It is bigger in size **fei hua hor, of cos bigger lah** The front part cloth will cover over the tummy. Very auntie kind kekekeke but very comfortable. I bought triump and sorella one. Find sorella one more comfortable. I forgot how much le hor. Usually you won't find on shelves. Need to ask from the sales.

hi jenny / janice
i bought maternity panties frm maternity shop. both side of panties with lace and push one... but then i m wonder whether can last till deliver or not. but is quite comfortable lol. tat salesgal said better wear panties tat cover till belly button then air won't b go into our body and affect baby.
jenny, is it true?

hi coral
i did not sign up the weekday class cos too late for me, no more shuttle bus

yoz crystallized
i was wearing M size before pregnant , now 4 mth already XXL, later duno wat size to wear liao....my tummy looks like 7 mth loh
my old bra all cannot wear liao, tink increase 1 cup size too.

hi jenny
Those panty for pregnant v exp....i just buy cheap undies cos later keep increasing size then after give birth cannot wear liao.yah those look v auntie but no choice...pregnant already auntie hehhehe

Jasmine,
Never heard of it. But the maternity panties I have, all will cover over the belly button. Mine is 100% cotton, very comfortable.

aspialle,
I can't remember the price, but I dun find it ex. Maternity panties can last till you delivery, no need to change size one. After birth still can wear, especially if you are doing massage wrapping.

MC for 2 days and the forum is too long for me to catch up already.
Jasmine, I also never heard of it, I am still wearing my before pregnancy super low hip panties.

Anyone know that we can take our 3rd mth maternity leave before giving birth? Do we need any docs from doctors for our company?

Hi all mtb,
i've not been very active in posting msgs here. but have been very pro-active in comin in to kapo kapo. hee hee. it really so informative. thanks for all the various advise and lobangs you gal have posted.

For the past 2 days, there has been alot of blood in the toilet bowl when i move my bowels. Don't know if there's anything wrong with me... alittle worried..

My breast did grew quite alot too. at times so uncomfortable i really feel like going without one. a few of my frenz suggested me to get those nursing bras now. they are more comfortable n can use even after we give birth. so maybe today going to get one.

saw alot of posting regarding birdnest. jus sharing my 2 cents worth of info. personally i cannot take birdnest. i m super allergic to it. doc has warn me not to take it again else i might risk losing my life. pple has been telling me that it is good for the baby skin etc. but takin it too often might also result in asthma when our child grows up. a better alternative is to take the white fungus(bai mu er). double boil it with rock sugar and red dates(without the seed) for at least 4 hrs(less than that will have a cooling effect). believe to have the same effect as birdnest. since i cannot take birdnest, i'm takin tis once in 2 wks lor. so far it has been helpin me in keeping skin in a better condition. but remember to double boil for at least 4 hrs. so all mtb out there might wish to give it a try..

Hi Jenny,
think as long as we feel comfortable with our panties, ok liao. Especially when sleeping lor. Some preggies prefer bikinis also because dun feel "wrapping" around the waist. But i dun like cos i got alot of fats popping out, very ugly one..

Huh.. induce very pain one ah? Hope wun kena..dun wish to use epidural also..

Just went to the library to borrow some mags. See if anything interesting, will let everyone know.

Hi Weikuan,
mayb u need to check with your HR. Diff company might have diff policy? Mine one can take 2 months maternity leave in 1 shot and then the 3rd month can split into 2 weeks each.

Heard that Chicken essence is heaty. Brand's have the tablets forms and mixed with some supplements. Not sure if the tablets are suitable for us or not.

Hi Koh,
Think u have piles, that's y bleeding. Piles is very common among preggies. Try to eat more high fibre things and take yoghurt or yakult. See if it helps lor. I also kena before.

How come u allergic to birdnest?? I tot it's just bird's saliva leh..Hmm.. white fungus has same effect ah? Ok, will try!

hi wei kuan
tink u have to check with ur HR what they need, some coy may differ but how u split the 3 mth have to be negotiated with employer cos the 3 mth maternity leave is meant for after birth.If you take before birth needs your yer consent too, they may need doctor proof on when is ur EDD to negotiate from which date u may be on leave

hi koh
i personally like white fungus too
last time i ever have skin problems, so serious that it affect my whole body but i always drink white fungus with chicken soup (with mushroom and pepper) then my skin improved a lot and nicer complexion too. Have u told ur gynae abt the bleeding? is it that u eat too heaty?

i heard that if you wan bb skin to be nice, can eat red dates, with kou qi zi ,dried long gan brew water or eat beancurd skin dessert