(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Gemini,
Same here. Me approaching 20wks tis sat but still cannot feel bb kick. also worried but gynae from church says i look ok n shld not b worried cos usually feel from 22wks onwards leh...

the zippy stroller can use with carseat but must use the same brand one cos it is a 1 click system type so cannot any how fit other car seat leh....

Gembaby
i will slowly psycho him lor. one step at a time.

aspialle,
tks.

babygrace,
red nice right. i also a fan for red.

doreen,
i used to roller blade every wkend but now can only sit to wait for the gang to finish their blading... so boring... wanted to try but think better not for bb sake lor. a frend of mine continued roller blading during preggie until she fell once n that scare her out of her wits then she stopped...

yah, i'll prob go for the antenatal class from KKH since it is cheaper n teaches almost similar stuff. dunno wanna spend too much cos i also think of taking up kkh's "Aqua Fitness in Pregnancy" but june class full liao so in waiting list now.

aspialle,
i got a frend who's son also sleeps on yaoyao during his nap in the day time when he was younger. but at night they make sure they put him in bed. now almost 2, he no longer sleep on yaoyao. i think bb can train one lor... so if MIL insist, then mayb u can set a routine lor...

gembaby,
i read somewhere that the reason y bb sleeps better in yao lan cos the rocking sensation actually makes them dizzy that's y the fall asleep easier... think not very good for the growing brain lor...

btw, i started reading to Caleb last night. think will try to make it a routine to read to him b4 bed. hope he responses soon.

hi selina, so u going for antenatal classes from KKH? me jus wondering how to go abt taking up the classes from gleneagles? have u call to GlenE? and again when shld we start going for such classses?
422293.gif

wendy,
thks alot, actually i can read fr wat u attached in the thread alrdy. but thks 4 emailing me anyway.
at least now i got sthg to start talkg to baby about.

bbgrace,
i think no matter how much i chase aft my kid later on, still wun b as slim as u lah. i was slim in my younger days but as age caught up, my metabolic rate dipped and here i am a fat preggie lady now.
all i am asking 4 is to get back at least my pre-pregnancy weight after delivering. hard work, i guess.

selina,
i think newborns usually sleep quite well in cots during their 1st few mths, so mayb as they grow bigger and get "temperamental", switch them to yao lan so we can get some peace, at the same time, by then their backbones probably more developed and shld b ok to sleep in yao lan.

wah so nice, got the name 4 ur son alrdy, better to call him by his name so there is a sense of identity.

ilovemybabyg,
i tried calling but always engaged so i kinda gave up. anyway gleneagles not quite convenient for hb n me after i move back to punggol... so prob kkh may b better.

gembaby,
i have no intention right now to put bb in yao lan but later on depends lor if bb really not manageable i might consider but tt is later lor

coral,
wkend. sat. only 1 class in jun. 6 in a class but they say may start a 2pm class if get enf pple so on waiting list lor... otherwise will b in july class. 4 sessions.

Jasmine,
Yes, in fact, start to pack your bag early. Dun be like me. I gave birth at 36 weeks exactly and I hadn't pack my bag. I din take leave to rest cos no one at home. Since it was my 1st time, I scared I'm inexperienced to handle myself. So at least in office, they were ppl around who could drive me or get me a cab to hospital. Anyway my show started at midnite at home.
Why can't your MIL wash your clothes? Pantang? You hand wash or machine wash? If hand wash, get help. If machine wash, no prob, can do yourself. I did washing during confinement too. My hb not pantang, so I threw all clothes, including bb ones into the washer.

Wendy,
you getting the basket type carrier (moses carrier)? That one q ex and can't use for long leh, the most up to 3 mths nia.

aspialle,
I prefer bb to sleep on cot/bed/mattress rather than yao lan cos hor my 1st concern is bb can sleep anywhere. Plus I dun have a yao lan at home. Those standing position, I feel not stable.

hi hi babygrace..
i like ur description on the yaolan is godsend..haha..cool leh!okok,i will take note of the basket cannot be used as car seat..thks!thks!

hi hi Jasmine..
i know that the size of the attachment u want to upload here cannot be bigger then 50kb..or u want to email me the file, i see if i can do anything for u? my email is [email protected] thks!

hi hi Selina..
so nice to hear that u started reading to Caleb..ya, it will be very nice lor..hubby also bought a chinese story book to read to boy-boy everynight..haha...for me, i will go with the English one..hehe..but these few days i stayed over at my mum's place..so the English storybook being too bulky is at my in-laws's place..only got hubby to bring the chinese story book..hehe..

bbgrace,
u mentioned u used those automated yao lan ah? r those gd? i dun really fancy the idea of a machine rocking the baby. hahaha
i prefer the traditional ones tt needs to drill hole on the ceiling and we rock bb on our own.

<font color="aa00aa">hi hi ladies..
i just felt 2 kicks from my boy as i m typing...haha..so amazing..i m so excited..</font>

hi hi crystallized..
u r welcome!glad that u can read them..hehe..u r in the right time to start bonding with ur baby lor..mayb can ask baby to co-operate to let u see gender at ur next appt ba..i m sure u will enjoy it when baby moves to ur response..cant wait to hear from u on this..cheers~

hi hi jenny..
aft much consideration..i think i will drop the idea in getting the moses carrier..seems not very useful &amp; cant use for long also..anywa, thks for sharing with me..thks!

hi hi Jasmine..
maybe can get hubby to wash for u?u managed to get hands-me-down ahh..so sweet..

hi hi coral..
i just did a search from yahoo on "tai-jiao" in chinese then i click on the searchs &amp; found something more useful to share with everyone lor..hehe..

hi coral
does ur hubby needs to pay when he accompany u there? haiz i may be attending alone as my hubby also work during the weekends

hi crystallized
oh i was seeing the other thread wat the other mums say abt sarong. i still considering loh, some bb too used to sarong then dun wan bed liao

hi iLoVemYbAbYg and jasmine
heard also that sarong will make the bb head rounder, but also heard one mum says the bb dun turn so end up her bb head is flat??

hi wtan
thks but i duno whether bb too used to sarong later dun wan to slp in the bed? tats wat happen to me when i m bb hahaha

hi babygrace
heard that bb will sleep deeper , longer hrs in sarong...hhmm will consider thanks

hi jenny
actually i heard some mums told me her bb try to "climb" over and in the end fall off the sarong....

conclusions:
Pros n cons .....confused hor

Pros:
1. bb sleep better and longer hrs
2. bb head rounder??
3. easier to let bb to sleep

cons:
1. when bb too used will not wan bed??
2. bb sometimes falls off??
3. affect backbone???

Let me go and find some articles see whether there are any more information....thanks gals

From KK websites:

Sarong Cradles
Babies can fall out of sarong cradles, and the impact from the fall can cause serious injuries

The spring of the sarong cradle can snap

Vigorous rocking can cause internal brain bleeding, lead to baby falling out of the sarong cradle, or result in baby being pushed against an adjacent wall

sounds scary...........

jenny,
ooo...u gave birth at 36weeks during urr 1st preg arr? wow....mean tat we really need to prepare early hor. u mean ur show started at midnite but u stillwent to work next day ? waa....u really can lel. but then u r rite, at least ur collegues can help u instead of alone at home.
ya lol... MIL can't wash my clothes lol but then everything she can help me lal. i thot u hav a confinement lady to help u doing washing? yeah...worst to worst, jz throw all into the washer lol.
yeah ... u r rite. train bb to sleep on cot/mattress can let bb sleep anywhere. i remember my sis always bring her whole set of yaolan to my hse coz my niece use to sleep in yaolan in early stage.

wendy,
hehe....i already send the doc to ur email. hopefully can share that with others lol. thanks!!

wendy,
actually i alrdy started to feel mild kicks fr bb liao. most times they r light fluttering ones, but at times he can b quite violent and moves fr the ctr of the tummy to the sides v fast.
but he dun respond when i ask him to move leh.

aspialle,
its up to u lor. mayb monitor ur bb situation 1st and decide later. coz watever we decide now might not b applicable when the bb arrives. "sui ji ying bian"

selina &amp; ladies,
thks r sharing the links. useful and i share them wif my frens.
keep the links coming in!

hi wendy,
waa...ur baby wake up and play with u arr? so so cute.... i try to get some hands-me-down frm my sis in hometown. mayb will ask her send to me using courier service. hehe... haven't talk to her yet.

hi hi aspialle..
thks for sharing with us the pros &amp; cons of bb sleeping in the sarong..i guess for me, i m ok with it..see hw it goes ba..coz sleeping in sarong can save some space as well..but i dun think i will let my bb sleep long in the sarong..will inter-change ba..

hi hi Jasmine..
okok, will go &amp; check it out aft my lunch later..pie-say ahh..go lunch-dating appt with my hubby..hehe..dun tell my boss ahh..LOL..

hi hi crystallized..
very nice to hear that u r already feeling mild kicks from bb..ya, usually light fluttering at the beginning stage..like bubbles-popping..i guess slowly ba..start to talk to baby..aft a while, u will find baby responding to u lor..hehe..very amazing one..now baby is warm-up exercise 1st..u will feel bb's kicks soon..hehe..

aspialle,
like what jenny pointed, i placed a mattress under the yao lan. My boy didn't have problem adapting to sleeping in his cot at night. i didn't hv much problem weaning him from the yaolan either.

crystallized,
"sui ji ying bian"- well said. before i had my first one, i also had certain preferences eg. no yaolan, no pacifier etc. in the end, i gave in also. anything to let the bb sleep better cos the 1st 2 weeks after CL left and i was all alone, it was really tiring when he didn't want to sleep.

all mtbs,
is it common to start experiencing cramps on the legs at this stage?

i had another cramp attack on my left calf this morning while stretching myself b4 getting out of bed. the last time was right calf...

wendy,
i prefer now juz feel light fluttering moments. hahaha, worried abt his vigorous kicks as he grows bigger.
but i think my tummy quite "spacious" mayb tts y juz felt light kicks 4 now since he not big enuff yet. hahahaaha

bbgrace,
so u r speaking fr experience lah. hmmm, i find most times its like tt, now we got certain demands etc, but when it actually happens, we might react differently. i am quite open when it comes to taking care of children. got discuss wif my MIL b4 and she did say its gd tt i am v open to suggestions and taking care methods.

i oso dunno how i am gg to cope when CL leaves. hahaha, i will prob juz give in to watever tt can satisfy bb then. hahahaha

selina,
think cramps r getting common at this stage. i get it occasionally too. perhaps try not to move suddenly and drastically. i get backaches every now &amp; then. i guess we all suffer fr 1 symptom or the other, juz a matter of which one.

ilovemybabyg,
managed to get thru to gleneagles to find out abt their antenatal class. apparently, the class is to prepare mtbs for labour only. they dun teach on caring for bb. priced at $189 per couple.

caring for bb is under parentcraft which the hospital will announce daily during your stay there during delivery n u can attend anytime.

gembaby,
tks. think prob i walk too much during day cos every morning while stretching will feel crampy so most time i stopped immediately but today couldnt stop in time... now calf still aching.

i too suffer from backaches esp my right tail bone side. can b so bad at times i cant walk at all lor...

Hi wendy,

thks for the info on taijiao. At least now knows what to talk to bb.

Hi babygrace,

A bit slow here. But cant find your HK pics from the link you gave.

Hi Selina,

Me quite blur one. The tail bone, is the area ending just before the buttocks area? If it is, I do feel a bit pain sometimes there, esp at nite. Was wondering what causes it. Mine is a desk-bound job and dun walk around so much.

Thks for the clarification on the stroller. In this case, may need to consider another brand, dun want to waste the carseat given by SIL. I think, hor, after last nite I post, got a very light bubbles like feeling on my left side while sitting on the sofa, not sure whether is the bb kicking. I asked bb to kick again to confirm, no response from bb.

Hi Punggol Mummies,

Are you gals interested in the clothes recommended by aspialle? I was thinking of getting the person down and we can choose the clothes together. Need tops now.

Wtan,
Thank you for your info. I am feeling very angry and depressed becos of my lousy boss this few weeks and found out from you that it will affect baby.
I will try to cheer up.
I was wondering if quarrel with my husband, will baby know abt it?

hi selina &amp; gemini, i do feel the pain at the butt area too which will sometimes run down to the left calf..i started experiencing this since the earlier wks..check wif gynae and he says it's normal...

anyway, thanks selina, in tat case, the price for antenatal class in GlenE is more X yah. But are there vacancies now or do we hav to check wif our gynaes? sorry, if i keep askin alot of questions...
422428.gif

hi weikuan, cheer up!
it's never too late to do anything..we all face up &amp; downs..sometimes, we jus have pple around us who r so insensitive!! and worse would be xpecially when close ones tot we pregnant women are moodswingers!! though, not sure wat exactly happened, but cheer up for BB,K!!

yesterday I just quarrel with my boss and i feel like tender on the spot, but think of my 3mths maternity pay, i stopped.
how to everyday happy when face with so unreasonable boss

Jasmine,
Yes, I gave birth to my gal at 36 weeks. Ppl keep telling me 1st one usually around EDD time, so I didn't pack my bag early lor.
No No, I din go to work the next day. My show started at 12am, then I called my gynae. He asked me for the situation and advised me to get admit to hospital in the morning around 7 to 8 am. I admitted to hospital at around 7.45am.
Oh that confinement lady ah, dun talk about her, only makes my blood boils nia. She's lazy, did thing taking her own sweet time. So I did it myself lor.

aspialle,
Each thing has its pros and cons. So really up to you lah. I believe last time 99% of us slept in the yao lan one, so does walker. I got give walker to my gal, although ppl keep saying so much disadvantages like tip toes etc.
I din give my gal yao lan cos I have the same idea as you. Those standing type yao lan looks unstable to me. I prefer those that the hook has to drill into the wall type. The traditional way. But becos I dun wan to drill any holes at my home, I give up the idea of giving yao lan.

babygrace, crystallized,
ya, everything can be pre-planned but when come to the real thing, it will be different. So just "sui ji ying bian", so that our lifes won't be so miserable. I also dun intend to give my gal pacifier, but give in when she's 2 mths old. Frankly speaking, pacifier is better than thumb. At least can wean off, unlike the thumb, forever there. Also giving in to pacifier is better than bb sucking in air from crying.

Selina,
Cramps are normal in pregnancy. Try to avoid very cold drinks and take in some salt water, a few mouths will do.

Hi MTBs, justr came back from shopping and so many mails.

Selina, I went to swell too. Bought 3 tops, 1 dress and a 3/4 pants. Then I bought 3 pairs of low heel from Charles &amp; Keith. Think I'll skip the aqua fitness class else my whole Sat gone.

Wendy, I also bought a tai jiao book from Popular, cant find any English version only got Chinese ones. Good also, can read both language to bb.

Wei Kuan, cramps during preg is common and most of the time is due to lack of calcium. So do eat your vit and drink your milk.

Aspialle, hbs need not pay to accompany us. In fact they encourage hb to come along. And if hb not free they allow Mother or MIL to tack along. But most time pple either go with hb or alone. If we're in same class then you won't be alone.

Wei Guan, cheer up. I know how you feel. I also very heartache my salary but no choice. Now I have a few potential job interviews, so may be able to find a job for after birth. And the job description looks more attractive. So I just try to look on the bright side of things. Else bb will also frown. Smile for us, ok? Don't let your stupid boss affect your beautiful bb. Not worth it.

gemini,
u r right. mine also desk bound. so mayb our sitting position not right or we sit too much lor so i try to walk around every now and then...

ilovemybabyg,
vacancies at glenE for antenatal? that i'm not sure cos did not ask. mayb next time u go c your gynae can go check out at the same time lor... no worries, will try to answer if i noe... we are here to help n support one another what...

wei kuan,
cheer up... if not for anything, for BB sake lor... i read the prenatal parenting site (link above) n it says both positive n negative vibes from mum will b passed on to BB... so be happy.

i also feeling down over the wkend cos hb gave me a rude shock tt FIL may wanna count chinese character strokes for Caleb... FIL's naming not very good lor. one of hb nephew named 'Da Gui', can you image!!!! i will die on the spot if he gives Caleb such name man... so i very unhappy n cried... then think of BB, i tell myself not to think so much...

coral,
gd to hear that u manage to find somethings you like. u really shopping spree today yah... all the apparels on discount? the designs quite nice right. i like it but they are kinda x so go during sale best...

jenny,
tks for the advice on the babywell milk expresso. hb also got comments from frends tt no hygenic so he giving up the idea. we will prob use traditional method to sterilise for the time being since i will be BF.

tks also for the advice on cramps. lucky it doesnt happen so often. i know pre-pg times cramps are mostly due to lack of salt but not sure abt now... now tt i know, can drink some salt water occasionally...

hi all, thanks to all ur comments on yaolan. Subject ended

Wei kuan, cheer up
tink abt ur baby is with u all the while giving u support and all bosses will never understand...

coral thanks,hope to see u then
im cooking chicken curry tonite....but don't tink it taste as gd as my mum cos i lazy to blend the chilli paste, buy from outside...not as nice

hi selina
i also experience leg cramp especially in the middle of nite....tink have to eat salt leh
buttock area also painful esp when u turn ur body....rite...

hi hi Jasmine..
the files u sent to me the size is quite big leh..hmm..i dun think can be reduce to post online..coz a lot of wordings in the files..unless u can forward to the rest ba..but I saw a link at the bottom of the files..wonder if the link will be ok to be posted at the forum

hi hi Selina..
ya, its common for us to feel the leg cramp at the shank area..its like sudden pain..i was awake by such pain suddenly lor..my mum told me to bring my legs &amp; feet to the ground when I have leg cramps..so far it worked for me..

hi hi crystallized..
now u will start to feel light fluttering..slowly one..hehe..actually I cant wait to feel kick-boxing style lor..haha..

hi hi Gemini..
u r welcome..just sharing with everyone..its very amazing one to be able to get response from baby when we start talking to baby lor..very touching one..

hi hi Wei Kuan..
ya, I understand how u feel..bcoz for me, I also very easily get angry or irritatedso its not gd lor..yes, no gd to quarrel with hubby also..baby will know one..thats why I must control myself also lor..i think my level of tolerance very bad lor..we got to remind ourselves to stay cheerful &amp; happy at all times..bcoz it will affect babys brain development..we remind each other ba..now start not to late la..cheers~

hi hi coral..
oh..u also bought ahh..what's the title u bought?i guess whcever the version isnt impt as long as it's gd for the baby lor..

Selina, according to antenatal class I attend last tiem, calcium intake helps to curb cramp in preg too. All my items on discount. tops at 20, dress 25, pants 55+. They told me to buy the support pillow but I did not since still don't need. Hope to hear you feedback too. I like two pair of pants from the shop next door, but 90 each so didn't buy, wait till GSS. Today shopping therapy, cos been feeling very unattractive so need to make myself feel good. Now much better

Aspialle, today I'm cooking sphagatti for a change. Are you going KKH on Fri for checkup or just to register? If just to register, you need not go down, can simply fax them the form.

Selina, I saw other MTBs put the baby ticker and it works, but i don't know how.

Wendy, my title is chong1 ming2 ma1 ma de4 tai1 nei4 yu4 er2 fa3. The English title is Nurturing the unborn child. The Chinese version is a translated copy of the English version, so I had wanted to buy the original but can't find. I also bought piano lullabies for baby as I read somewhere that piano is the closet to human voice so bb can listen to it better. And the lullabies have 2 CD one is from those Chinese children songs like Ma1 Ma hao3, ni2 wa2 wa, xiao3 bai2 chuan2, etc and the 2nd dics is from English children songs like five hundred miles, baa baa black sheep, it's a small world, etc.

hi hi coral..
oic..i think i got another diff title from u..oh, u also bought piano cds ahh..so sweet of u..it's very gd leh..not only can let baby listen to the songs..can also help us relax &amp; calm down ourselves lor..aft one hard day of work..very smoothing one..very gd leh..hehe..for me, the other time when i went down to the Mothercare exhibition at Expo, i signed up the Mother &amp; Baby magazine &amp; was given a goodie bag, so inside a goodie bag got one CD (zoe is the cover)..with some songs..i will play when hubby send me to work or pick me up..sometimes baby will make a little movement aft i played a certain track lor..hehe..very amazing i find..hehe..