(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Nepia
=====
Nt too bad compared wif huggies cos huggies a bit tight fitting so cant contain too much urine. So I'm gonna order and use that.

Mamy Poko
=========
Bought a pack but have nt used it yet cos trying to use up my huggies so cant compare but it's a reliable brand so shld b okie though it's very ex.

Huggies
=======
All time favourite if you dun mind the small cutting. Good for the budget conscious cos quite cheap if buy fr those small shops @ Yishun Central.

Childcare
=========
Might consider but depends on when I'm gonna have my No2. Will consider abt putting my boy in childcare only then. Still prefer to let my mum look aft him cos will hav less medical issues.

Hi Jasmine,
I seriously feel that Pampers have lost their previous 'glow' as the best diapers. Seems like their quality has dropped significantly though their prices have nt dropped 1 bit...

Jenny,
What happened? Take deep breaths...

Oh, Jasmine sending you Big size for Nepia pull-ups is it? If you want to try L, let me know. Quite convenient to pass you you lah ;)

jenny...
dun be angry. blogs are like that. some people use it just to antagonise people. It is like a 'nicer' way to pick a fight with someone.

childcare
-----------
heard that the sickness only lasts one year, thereafer, they get more resistent to the sickenss..dunno if it is true...

Thanks ladies for the advice.
upon hearing ur comments think i gotta start searching for her now in case all taken up.
My aunty cant possibly take care of #1 & #2 together. Age is catching up.

But she will still be looking after both together for about half a year or more then kim will go to childcare.

Thanks for your advice on the weight issue.
After looking at your darlings' weight, desiree is not that bad afterall. Anyway, will just gave her pediasure sample from PD and just feed her more on a daily basis.

Thanks for your advice on the weight issue. Have given her PD sample of pedisure, she didnt reject(think afterall it's under the same family-abbott).
Will monitor and see if it's necessary to change it cos have stocked up quite a no of gain iq.

Adeline / Shirley,

ooh, Pat's is expensive also.
Those landed property ones, i heard that Shekinah montesorri is also not bad but it was full already then so i never visited them.
I also checked out Kinderland also near St Anne's at Jln Merdu, it's a little cheaper than Character Montessori and it's not air-conditioned. Some people do not like it to be air-conditioned and prefer airy non-aircon place. Also around that same area there's a Summer Kids and a Merry Kids (same boss), also not too bad if u are looking for more spacious place instead of void deck and not too expensive. I chose Character Montessori cos the centre is new and hygiene level is v good plus when i spoke to the supervisor, she was able to articulate the school's mission and approach in teaching the kids. Comparing with the rest that i visited, the rest seems more like a "babysitting" service. Nothing wrong with the rest, it's just my personal preference and this preference comes with a price lor. If i'm not working, i would certainly not place Joshua there, the fees are too hefty just for a half day session.

Ok, I "siao" qi liao... Called that person up and told her off. Wanna ask my mum to go warn her, but think one of her friends trying to "act hero" by siding her, posted something tat anger me and hb, so I called her directly instead. Some ppl just dunno what can be posted and wat can't be posted! I hate ppl who betray my trust
kao_angry.gif

Jasmine, freshpoison,
For pull up hor, I swear by hand and leg that Mamy Poko is the best! hahaha... Ok lah, Huggies is ok lah, but cutting is small.
Anyway how much is Huggies now huh? I remember not cheap now also cos the price increased again. Actually hor, I find Huggies not cheap leh. Know why? Cos the cutting is small.. so if Jaslyn is using L for Mamy Poko hor, she may need XL for Huggies.

pups,
Big is XL size right?

Babygrace

that day over lunch i overheard this couple talking abt montesorri method of teaching, saying that it is very army styled. The kids are taught to do things only in 'montesorri' method. hmm i have not visited any montesorri so cant comment. what do u think is the montesorri style? does it inhibit creativity? I was hoping zac can learn through play and now come home hating to go to school

Hi jenny,
I bought fr Chong Pang. Huggies Pull-ups L-size $15.20 per pack. Yah lah yah lah, mamy poko is the best... no nd swear wif ur hands and legs lah...haha

Hi shirley,
Montessori or nt really depends on ur boy. You need to try him out and see cos any teaching method might suit 1 kid, wont suit another. Of cos when they go to the mainstream pri schs, they hav no choice but to accept whatever teaching methods used in their particular sch.

For me,
Play and hands-on explorations rank very high on my priority of schools cos I believe my boy is very in tune wif his senses cos everyhting also touch touch taste taste... So I will definitely put him in the Little Skoolhouse @ Orchid Country Club cos I like their teaching methods plus many of my colleagues are sending their kids there as they believed in their teaching methods. (BUT all these depends on whether my boy likes it there or nt, if he does nt then will look for alternatives.)

Shirley,
On the contrary, montesorri focuses on individual empowerment and independence that there are concerns that the child may be very indivdualistic and not fit into mainstream pri school in the future.
A lot of pre-school recognise this concern so a lot of them are not fully montesorri even though they claim that they are montesorri based (and hence justify for the higher fees). A lot of montesorri pre-school start focusing at the more academic side at K2 just like the other non-montesorri ones to prepare the child for pri school.

The montesorri method focuses on learning through play also. In Joshua's school, he has montesorri session on alternate days, the rest of the time are like usual lessons. During montesorri time, each child has a own mat and is supposed to work with the materials of their choice eg puzzle, scooping beans from one bowl to another to train their motor skills etc. The child decides what he wants to work on, take it and play on the mat and when he's done, return it and then choose something else. It's all about empowerment and independent play. The school balances this off with group activities so that the children can interact with each other also.

It was never my intention to specifically put him in a montesorri school. It was more because i like the overall enviroment and feel comfortable with the teachers there. In fact i think i ever shared with you my choice kindergarten for Joshua and Emma and have already placed Emma on the wait list already.

Montessori
--------------
Can i comment?

Montessori method is essentially child-directed. As with any educational philosophy, there are a set of assumptions. One important one we have to understand is that they believe that a child is capable (both intellectually and mentally - that also assumes a kind of emotional readiness and social finese already in place, albeit developed further with MS) of self-learning. Severeal contradictions also exist in MS

MS is also largely 'hands-on' in nature, although they make allowance when learning from a sensory approach.

Before putting a child in any childcare, ask ourselves what kind of learner our child is. Gardner's seven (think it is now 9) intelligences can be largely divided into three- spatial/tactile/kinesetic, visual, and auditory learners. MS is largely suitable for the first type.

What i believe is missing in MS is an element of introspection important in learning (meta-cognition, not just thinking), and the fact that many things do have to be 'taught'. Im not sure how the different childcare implements MS, but other than parents liking it, the child must be suitable for the type of learning directed.

Just a bit of my thought....

wow. topic today very chim... cannot contribute much. for me, i send my kids to school to allow them to learn to be independent and to socialize. ultimately, they will eventually have to return to reality n take on singapore style of education system whether we like it or not. like bbgrace, i will go more with overall environment n teachers' commitment etc.

hi selina,

1st of all, wow, saw ur pic in the newspaper, *wolf whistle", envy u, got the courage and u also got the figure to wear, for me, dare not bare my mid-driff anymore... oh, the guy next to u is ur bro?

Childcare
=========
pai seh, to admit, all along, hv heard of Montessori teaching but not really sure what's exactly is it. thks for all the mummy's feedback.

for me, it will be more for the kids to socialize and play. singapore education system is like a pressure cooker and i do not wish the kids to have so much stress at such a young age.
no offence on those mummies who are considering void decks childcare, but for me, i try not to put my child there. there's 1 in my parents' blk and i often see new faces (teachers) which i felt that teacher-kids need to get used to each other again, thus a waste of time..

lilboymum,
Thank you 'cher for your comments

Gemini,
I think the high turnover in teachers is not only present in void deck childcare even those well-known names can face the same problem. A friend who put her daughter in a well-known childcare also faced the same problem and the girl had problems adjusting when her favourite teachers are gone.
Childcare teachers are not paid a lot to begin with and there are so many childcare available so jobs are a plenty.

CHILDCARE
Just wanna add that my views on montesorri is just based on my personal experience as a parent and i've never done much indepth reseach on this area.
I think ultimately the child must be happy in the school be it montesorri or not.

So that brings me to another point when selecting a childcare / preschool. It's best to bring the child along to see if he/she likes it there and how he/she reacts to the teachers there. J's school allowed me to bring him down to play for an afternoon before i decided to sign up. Joshua liked it so much that he didn't want to go home and kept talking about the new school so at least that was the assurance i got. Till now, he's still liking it alot.

Most childcare have trial periods or those flexi-care hours. You can ask to start on that first before commiting yourself cos registration fees, uniforms and other misc fees upon signing up is quite hefty.

Good morning ladies

Childcare
=========
Thanks ladies for the valuable input. there are different school of thoughts on montesorri teaching and was thinking to find out more. babygrace your suggestion on putting the child on trial period is a great idea. i may do so for zac when the time comes. now trying to shortlist a few for viewing with hubby first, in case there may be a waitlist by then.... that is the problem of Singapore....has to queue for everything...haiz....

Heee...
babygrace
me no 'cher ley. didnt do very well in early childhood education anywayz. but tell tell which are all the good childcare, list them all down, then we can all go explore.

btw, anyone heard of St Hildas at Katong? someone mentioned it to me, never heard of it before myself. is it good?

selina,
haha..was thinking so coincidental, both 'Angs'. wow, how did you manage to get that figure???? envy envy....i dun think i';ll ever be able to wear anything like that anymore, even with one preg only...

jenny

my email is [email protected] u writing love letter to me ya?

Lilyboymum

i have heard of St Hildas. if i am nt wrong could be a all girls school. nt sure if its a good school though. I knew abt this school cos a couple of my secondary school mates are from the school

Mummies, I have 3 pcs of $10 Mouche Mode vouchors to giveaway (expiry date 30 Nov 2007). Anyone wants it? Did a search online, someone commented that the shop carries imported clothing, ranging from 3m to 12yrs old, from korea.. fr casual wear to party dress to boys wear. The shop is located in Square 2.

jenny

haiz so sad... long time neber receive love letter liao mayb shld hint to my hubby to write to me haha!

freshposion
oh really? cant remember liao then i must have mixed up with haig girls. cos dunman high usually have students from these two schools so got confuse.

Hi selina,
Yest went back specially look thru papers to see you... If I wear like you, muz breathe in all the time otherwise will see my little tum tum...

Finally my girl's celebration is over on Sat.So tiring even till today hvnt recover my energy...will post some pics later. My girl is finally gg 1 tmr but hoh, as she grow older, she is getting very naughty. Always like to scream to get her way. Also very greedy. Everything we eat she also wan. dun give her she will scream again. On Sun just brought her to a wedding dinner and so 'tui lian' there. Keep screaming for food and playing with the cutlery. *Faint* Very scared to bring her to dinner now...

Hi Shirley n Lilboymum,
St Hilda's is in Tampines and is a co-ed. Quite famous in Tampines as it has gifted program.

Selina
So curious to go and see the papers. will check it out today...Hee

Jenny,
Read abt wat happened. Cool down. Dun be angry. take care of yourself.

Crystallized,
Nice meeting up with you

Selina,
Saw your photo on the newspaper last nite, at the same time showed my hubby,
telling him who you were (saying that you are the one staying in Punggol
and also the one with the kid who is exactly 1 month older than Joanna).
You look so sexy in that outfit. I also definately cannot wear that even
after the birth of Jonathan. And now with Joanna, even worse

Shirley,
I also told my hubby saying that you are the one staying in Seng Kang

who shared Sealer diapers with me.

Jenny,
Finally, saw you on Sat

At first didnt know who you were, until I saw you & your hubby feeding both your princesses.
sorry didnt talk/introduce
myself to you. *pie say*

I am so tired today. Don't know what happened to K last night. Woke up at 1+ to cry and cry and yell. Tough luck to be my neighbours last night :p Thought he hungry or what, fed him milk and he gladly drink but still continue to yell non-stop after that. Finally brought him to the living room to let him play.. then he got tired and lay on my leg to sleep. Managed to pat until he finally sleep, put him back in his cot and within 5 mins he woke up to yell again. Really cry very hard and keep throwing head back that type.
I also spotted some little hive-like islets on his lower cheeks and some patches on the body... but they went away this morning. This morning, he was still in his crying mood. Is this part of teething?

aiyo! i so pai sei now cos everyone sms n call me to tell me they saw me. i did have to breathe in quite a fair bit too cos the photographer wanted no tum tum so tried very hard but still can see a bit. asked him to photoshop he say he dun like to photoshop.

In fact i am still helping the photographer to look for suitable candidates. if u ladies have anyone in mind, let me know. best if aged 30 onwards.

Pups,
Could K be teething? Think you better standby teething gel for him to apply.....

Btw, you ask about my cake right... think there is another shop also have castle design (Yiling confectionary & Kyo)

Selina,
All the wolf whistle on you.... must be very pretty n sexy...can paste for us to see.....

Jenny,
That's why I am worried lor. Called home earlier and K was sleeping his head off at home. This poor mummy here trying to endure. Have to sit through a couple of meetings today. Jiat lat. I am going to drink my second cup of coffee liao.

Grace,
Already applied teething gel. Didn't help.

I think you are mistaken... I don't think I asked about the cake. But your cake is indeed unique. I can still remember the design

Grace, it was me who asked abt the cake. Tks anyway. Yiling cakes designs are quite unique but i didnt like taste. Ordered full mth cake fr them, quite dry.

Childcare
think i have alot to absorb. *Gasp* So many valuable comments here.
If not i would have just search for one and let kim go in.