(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

My hubby niece who is 3yr old still need to carry when go out shopping. Not possible to go "real" shopping with them around cos they will be very tired.

Jenny,
same same here, I want to be a SAHM when kids are older like 6-7yr old when going to Primary school and i can shake legs at home while hb work.

I feel being SAHM or FTWM now does not make much diff, most impt is the main caregiver have to give them lot of love and at the same time strict with them. It is when they start primary school, being SAHM and FTWM make a lot of diff. Normally kids with SAHM score better and behave better. It is impt to full time guide them as they are mixing with all kinds of friends at school. That's my thought only.

HJ

Actually i share the same sentiments with u on SAHM. I am planning to be part time SAHM when zac is around 3-4 years old when they are learning things fast and absorbing things like sponge. guidance will be very important

as for zac's party, i am asking someone to draw a cartoon version of him and our doggies and make it to t-shirt for the whole family to wear. thinking of holding it at P.S. cafe http://www.pscafe.sg/ for the family but didnt have time to call them up to ask for the prices yet. hopefully not too expensive. i am also planning to do a cake in the shape of a pacifier cos he is well known in our family as the "zhu zhu" baby! haha hopefully after he eaten the cake we can throw the pacifier away too

thats all i have planned. hopefully can carry out what i have planned. 4 mths to go.....

HJ
Same sentiments. i heard that when they grow older only then they will realise who is the main caregiver. Now they wouldnt know and will definitely forget who is looking after them.
for me i feel that the main thing is at this point is more fun to play with them hahaha.. Kids @ this age think cutest and better to play with hehe..

Shirley
Hmm.. who you go to get the cartoon version of him? I still thinking what to do for kim. Atm is aloha chalet still wondering how to decorate.

<font color="0000ff"> hiya ladies</font>,
I like to be a SAHM, still pondering, pondering.
Now my shopping (for myself) are online. Every lill time I have to go out, always go nursery section. : P

<font color="0000ff">shirley</font>,
PS cafe - nice ambience! heard food is good there too. Most prob, I will do a BBQ for Clare's 1st bday beside the pool.

I need your experience in storing EBM. I am a working mom and am wondering if any mummies store your EBM in the refrigerator on Fridays to feed baby on Mondays?
According to www.babycenter.com,

"EBM can be stored in a refrigerator with a temperature of 39 degrees F/4 degrees C or colder for 3 to 5 days. The process of freezing destroys some of the antibodies in milk, so don't freeze any that you plan to use within the time limits."

Pls. advice. Really appreciate if you can help advice.

<font color="0000ff">Saphira</font>,
I usually feed on that very day of express. If not, I will freeze them at the end of the day.

saphira
generally i follow pretty strictly 2 the storage conditions of EBM. 48 hrs is the max i will store. for the milk my boy needs on Mon, its collected over the 2 days on wkend, i.e sat & sun. for the milk on fri, i will usually freeze it. guidelines say can store chilled for up to 8 days but perhaps tt is ang moh countries. in SG, i think its wiser not to store for too long. so tts why i adhere to the 48 hrs storage closely. hope this helps.

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+2">HAPPY 8TH MONTHS TO CALEB'S HENG DAI, CHEEKY RHYS</font></font>

<font color="ff6000">got a bad sms from my sis tis afternoon. apparently, my nephew was playing wif his P3 buddy during recess, the boy tried carrying him then another P3 big bully came n slam my nephew's head on the floor. caused him a 1cm cut at the back of his head. he was bleeding badly n guess what the school did? they called my BIL (of course must inform parents) but waited for him to come school to bring my bleeding nephew to the hospital.... DAMN! cant they send the poor boy there first??? he was bleeding until his school shirt all red... wow! i almost wanted to call the school to scold the principal man... sorry hor i just need to vent this.</font>

<font color="119911">BBs of SAHM</font> <font color="119911">same here, i believe whether SAHM or FTWM, as long as the caregiver is in the same channel as the parents, ie same thinking abt discipline etc, the child will b fine. for me, lucky my mum n me had almost similar way of how caleb shld be brought up, discipline etc. (of course lah my mum brought me up ma so i used to it so i also want it for caleb lor. talk rubbish hor me. i need my med)</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Being SAHM</font> <font color="aa00aa">i was a PT-SAHM for 6mths b4 i went back to work legally... </font>
<font color="aa00aa">though i do enjoy the bonding i have with caleb, i was really tired too everyday. as tired as now after i start work. but of course, my aim is to be a SAHM when #2 comes along. i hope it comes true n finanically we can be more stable n sufficient.</font>

<font color="0000ff">update on caleb</font> caleb started to crawl, i.e. crawl on all fours since this week and now he crawls all over the house. but then hor he is still a toothless baby...

<font color="aa00aa">THE WATCH SALE</font>
<font color="aa00aa">40%-80% off branded timepieces
from S$60. includes lifestyle as well as super high-end watches as well

25 May - 22 Jul
11am - 8pm
Raffles City</font>
sorry. i forgot the unit # but it is the unit facing british india, near Esprit side (ex-agnes b outlet, next to DBS banking centre, bakerz inn there). can consider for father's day.

Selina
Should ask ur sis complain to the principal then MOE and the MP of the school area. Think if this was to happen to my kid i won't let it go so easily. Maybe i'll even write to the papers. I just cant stand Bullies. Is the school hoping that he will stop bleeding by himself?

<font color="ff0000">selina</font>
Your poor nephew! His folks must be mad, I know I would be if I were them. Is the little one okay now? Sometimes, for injuries to head, the doctor would like to keep the patient for observation.

<font color="ff0000">Doreen</font>
$ on 31/05 lah. I love that teapot song, can you pls PM me the lyrics? I want to sing to alexis

<font color="ff0000">Coral</font>
Movers: I used Breakthrough (tel: 64712011). Their service is pretty good - fast, polite, average pricing. Each truckload is $250 (they can charge half a truckload from the 2nd truck onwards). If you have a piano, it is an extra $110 which includes wrapping. Of course this price does not apply for baby grands!

<font color="ff0000">esther</font>
Many many thanks for the CD.

<font color="ff0000">Rhys</font>
Happy Birthday, sweetheart, hope you like the dog tag your mommy got you!

<font color="ff0000">Hairband</font>
Thanks for the sweet compliments. Got it after much deliberation as it is rather expensive...but she refuses to let it stay on for too long leh! Sigh...

BTW I love retail therapy too. <font color="ff0000">Nedlands,</font> can I have a list of the websites you usually go shopping in? Thanks!

<font color="0000ff">ling</font> my BIL is very angry. school called him several times while they were at the hospital but he refused to answer cos he delibrately wanted them to worry. he will be talking to the principal n expects and answer from the school. i also told him to make sure they meet the boy n give him a warning themselves cos these boys if dun scare them they will nv change one.

<font color="0000ff">jerene</font> i dunno how he is. doc asked to have him observed for 3 days. he is coming over to my mum's place tmr. so i will only know tmr. so heartpain. i really felt like flying over to his school to give his principal a good piece of my mind on how they handled him.

doc checked say no crack to his skull n glued his injury back.

Selina
True, must let them know they're wrong esp the boy is so young, if this continue can't imagine what he will be when he grows up. So the principal didn't know about this? (as in they didn't send your nephew to a clinic or hospital)

<font color="0000ff">ling</font> the principal knew but no one sent him to hospital or clinic. they simply waited for my BIL to arrive to send him to hospital. DAMN!!!! i cant imagine how any responsible teachers n principal can do things like that. my nephew only P1. somemore he is so skinny n small in size.

evening mummies...

<font color="aa00aa">again, please bear with me while i catch up on posts hor... so it'll b a pretty long post..</font>

<font color="ff6000">Happy 8mths to Ah Beng gor gor...</font>

for those who are interested... i went for checkup today... bb is 12weeks old now, abt 6cm "tall"... from e scan, it seems like i got a "dancing baby", cos tis one is super active.. moving body up n down, swinging arms, n stretching e legs.... compared to A, i dont think he moved so much last time when see him via scan... AND, e "big news" is.. my gynae already can tell me e gender liaoz, he said bb so active, can try to take a peep "there".... so anyone want to venture a guess???? hehehehe....

<font color="0000ff">nedlands</font>,
thank you, i finally saw e pretty clare's photos liaoz... my yahoo mail received it fine, but not office... funny...

<font color="0000ff">jenny</font>,
hehehe.. i was at bbgrace's place gathering too mah... but i kept walking in n out of e function room (hb was carrying sleeping A in another function rm) so didnt get to chat much with most of e mummies tat day...

<font color="0000ff">coral</font>,
aiyoo.... e 2 photos u shared very very nice leh... e lying on tummy one reli sweet...
A head not reli big lah... juz tat e boy's demand tee neckline is alot smaller than e girl's one... i exchange for size 3 liaoz.. but now A cant wear liaoz.. prob his 1st bday bah...

<font color="ff0000">reli reli cute photos of andrea, kim, caleb, alexis, joshua, alvis, damien, ruifang, chloe</font>

<font color="0000ff">doreen</font>
well.. at least ur situation can allow u to b a SAHM, so can stil 'resist' e maid issue... i pretty much dont hv a choice.. so bo pian die die got to live with it lor...
wah... d can stand liaoz ar...

can see tat he did slim down abit liaoz...

<font color="0000ff">aspialle</font>
like e rest say, when e elderly r sick, they tend to b quite difficult, almost as if they became a child again... my granny went thru tat too.. she got "lao ren chi dai".. e earlier days, she reli very bad tempered, then after tat, she refuse to eat/talk/look at us anymore liaoz... more sad... e only time i've seen her respond to me in e past few years is when i brought A to visit her when A was abt 3-4mths old... i guess can bring T to play with ur dad whenever possible may help to cheer him up...

<font color="0000ff">bbgrace</font>
envy envy... retail therapy reli shiok hor.... i didnt even manage to sneak over to Isetan at all...

<font color="0000ff">vivian</font>
hope u r feeling better liaoz... so how, tiff n tokidoki cured u or not????

<font color="0000ff">selina</font>
how come e teachers at e sch so STOOPID one.. head bleeding very serious leh... shd hv immed called for ambulance liao lah... sh** leh.. if its me, i'd prob hv lost my mind liaoz... prob wil complain to MOE even... hope he's alright... i got a list of things to note if children got head injury (from PD e time A fell from sofa).. u wan me to post here???

<font color="ff0000">Happy 8th Mth to Rhys!</font>

<font color="0000ff">Selina</font>
Poor thing! Actually my biggest worry about kids going to school is meeting bullies. Of course, it's even worse if my kids turn out to be a bully.

<font color="0000ff">Being a SAHM</font>
My original plan was only to be SAHM when the kids are of school going age. I agree with some of you here that when the kids are younger, their needs are more physical, so long as there's a good caregiver, it's ok.
But the moment they start school, there are lots of things to worry about. Who they mix with, are they being bullied, how they are coping with their school work, their value system etc. By the time Joshua and Emma start pri school, i think i go maidless. So i foresee myself not being able to shake leg like what some of you all plan. The whole day will be ferrying kids to and from school, housework, cooking, coaching them. Phew! Worse than working.

But seriously, there isn't the best time as to when to become a SAHM. While their needs when there are young are more physical, the age from 0-3 yrs are the best time for them to learn. (<font color="0000ff">Shirley</font>, i read that it's 0-3 and not 3-4yrs). They will absorb everything like a sponge. I realise that in Joshua. So must capitalise on this window of opportunity to build a strong foundation.
When they are about 3-5yrs old, they start to understand more things and question the rationale behind things. So it's good for mommy to be around to build the foundation for their value system, to teach them what they can and cannot do.
So looks like i don't need to go back to work liao.

<font color="0000ff">starz, ling</font> my BIL waiting to give the school a chance to explain themselves b4 he take further actions. dun think he will take such crap esp when it concerns the safety of my nephew.

<font color="0000ff">starz</font> tks. think the doc also gave my sis a list of things to look out for. so next 3 days is vital. we keeping close watch over him.

<font color="0000ff">bbgrace</font> yah lor. esp nowsadays these kids hur really damn notti one. worst still is my nephew is the kay po type lor. last time his classmate got threaten by some P6 big boys n he went to speak up for them threatening to complain to teacher if they continue their act. sis was saying sure 1 day he will kena beaten n true enf lor. i always tell him he so small size better dun go provoke those big boys. then my dad kept wanting to teach him gungfu to defend himself. dad doesnt know abt the injury yet. no one dares tell him otherwise he wont b able to slp tonight. tmr sure kena scolding one. we all prepared liaoz.

looks like u can forget abt going back to work liaoz.

Mommies with 2kids or more,
Do you stay with ur in laws? got maid? I m planning to bring my children home everynight now. Currently, weekdays I stay at my moms; weekends I go home with the kids. I dont have extra room for the maid in my house..so I m wondering how am I going cope with two when my husband goes to work in the morning!

Babygrace,
It look like you don't need to go work liao.
I dun really plan to shake leg lah. My hb and I agreed that when our child is at school going age, I must be a SAHM cos there will be a diff. Now at R age as long as there is good caregiver can liao and does not make much diff whether i SAH or FTW. So my dream of becoming a SAHM have to be 4-5 yrs time.

junjun, hehehe.. tis one actually "backdate" liaoz.. i cut his hair very short after tis gathering...
the photo below more updated...

vivian,
tis e photo of my "free fall" ah seng...

805671.jpg

shujing aka starz
A look so cute.....

huili aka selina
Aiyo the school why never straight away call ambulance huh? Hope your nephew is better liao hor..*Sayang* heartpain leh..how come the bigbully so bad..

lilboymum
Think U didn't read clearly lah or dun really understand what I was writing. Think I post too long liao lah...haha

My cousin is the one who says that bbs with SAHMs r cleverer. But I dun agree becos there is no link in intelligence with mummies staying home mah. I believe is the care giver that is important to the bb's upbringing.

BBgrace
I agree with u. Becos I believe bbs really absorbing everything very fast now n I also saw somewhere that says best age for learning (I dunno is it jus language) is before 3 yrs must expose them alot then next time easier for them to learn. My cousin's 2 yr old can explain to her parents what her grandma is saying in Hokkien becos her parents dun understand.

I also realised Damien really loves books alot. He chooses the books I buy for him sometimes as he would jus keep talking when I flip the pages. That was how I bought the "Mama n Me" book. I was actually eyeing another book but he didn't like it.
N I was very surprised when my mum supported the idea n asked me to buy more books for D since he likes them.

Personally I think I think differently from some of u cos to me the first few years r more important to me. I believe I need to enforce whatever I believe in from the start so that D know what he can or cannot do. Maybe becos of the way my niece n nephews have been brought up. N I dun like the way they r behaving now but can't change anything already cos they r too used to it.

<font color="0000ff">shujing</font>,
its a girl??? thanks for the compliments, all girl babies are pretty and boys are handsome here.

very strange indeed. maybe ur ofc blocks it?

<font color="0000ff">ai lin</font>,
these names are confusing me..got to see if typed correctly.
Yes, agree the first few years are indeed important, think <2/3 yrs. By then, all (includes character will be formed).

Some interesting read <font color="ff0000">for all</font>:
Building Baby's Intelligence:
Why Infant Stimulation is Important
Recent advances in brain-imaging techniques have proven what researchers have said for over twenty years: an infant's environment has a dramatic affect on brain development.

In the first years of your baby's life, the brain is busy building its wiring system. Activity in the brain creates tiny electrical connections called synapses. The amount of stimulation your baby receives has a direct affect on how many synapses are formed. Repetitive stimulation strengthens these connections and makes them permanent , whereas young connections that don't get used eventually die out.

These first years are a very important and pivotal time for a developing young brain. This intense period of brain growth and network building happens only once in a lifetime. We as parents have a brief but golden opportunity to help our babies stimulate the formation of brain circuitry. Here are some fascinating facts that researchers have discovered:

-Babies have a biological need and desire to learn
-The foundational networking of the brain's synapses is nearly complete after the rapid brain development of the first 3 years.
-The more stimulating experiences you can give your baby means the more circuitry that is built for enhanced learning in the future.
-Babies have a definite preference for high contrast images.
-The amount of connections in the brain can increase or decrease by 25 percent depending on the environment and stimulation.
-Visual stimulation can produce developmental advantages including enhanced curiosity, attentiveness and concentration.
-Your baby's best toy is you! Interact with your baby as much as possible!

a lill more read (for those who cannot sleep at nite - like me now
):
Recent research shows the first three years of life are critical to your baby's brain development. During these years the brain triples its weight and establishes about 1000 trillion nerve connections -- that's twice as many as adults have.

visual guide of a child's brain here:
http://www.babycenter.com/general/6752.html

<font color="0000ff">shujing aka starz</font>
Ayden can do yoga!

<font color="0000ff">Ai Lin aka Dor</font>
Good that D loves books. Emma is still eating them like she's a bookworm. haha! i think J's love for books is partly because i've always been reading to him. Now that there are 2 kids, i read to Emma less, maybe that's why she still more interested in chewing them.

I'm trying damn hard to teach Joshua mandarin now before that window is closed. That boy is one gantang, refuse to speak mandarin and those limited words that he speaks, it sounds very ang moh.

angelic,
We stay on our own but i've got a maid. it'll be quite challenging to handle 2 young kids on your own unless your older one is more guai.

Nedlands
THANX for the infor!!!
I think I saw something before that says something like must use the brain cells in bb else those unused will die off. Really worried me leh but I'm a late bloomer cos I keep failing all the way to sec sch n suddenly keep staying in top 3. Dunno what happened to me.
Jus hope D dun be like me else next time I'll be so stressed if he keeps failing.....hahaha

bbgrace
Wahh not bad leh Joshua got new language aah manglish......hahaha
I'm wondering if I should expose D to French since they say the care giver must know the language first in order for the bb to learn n this is the only other language I know. But I seem to have forgotten them all.

Those names are confusing thus i am reading in silence hahaha..

Selina
Piang ur nephew so poor thing. bet ur sis and BIL sure very heartbroken and angry. If me i would already make a big fuss over it man.. Hope ur nephew is alright.

Starz
Can i guess it's a boy boy!! Whats the prize huh? kekek

Alamak all the SAHM and FTWM haha.. i believe both has pros and cons. If u become SAHM you would wish "Damn it! how i wish i am working rather then looking after this terror!" and when you are FTWM:" Ohh how i wish i can look after them myself no matter how tiring" haha.. this is my thinking lah.. i am enjoying what i am doing now and at least i am closer now to my relatives so now maybe might not want to be SAHM as i can concentrate on studies as well. probably wait till kim grows older hehehe (easier to look after also) Now i no experience still hv to keep asking others for advice example cooking. So both also have their good points! AS long as kid is healthy and growing up well think we will hv no objection to anything else right!! And of cause discipline is very IMPORTANT for good upbringing..