(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

jasmine
3mths now. total FM since she was 2mths old..

huijun
im still considering.. coz not sure if its worth it..so trying to get more feedback 1st before i commit

storm,
so cuteeee... so chubby too. caleb weighs 6.6kg @ 3mths 2 days old. PD said "slightly over but ok lah".

agree with bbgrace, i believe in exposing the child & allowing the child to explore and learn. actually my niece can speak quite well at 18mths too. like my nephew likes to say "Oh shachs" then my niece will reply "gor gor, sharks lives in the ocean". her vocab quite good for her age but my sis nv send her to any of these. she learnt from programmes she watches on tv, books she reads as well as parents.

bbgrace,
i think u r a wonderful mummy. dunno if i can do the same wif caleb. always worrying if i can nurture him well. really worried lor. esp when i see how well my nephew n niece are, i very scared n worried.

bb poo
======
caleb now poos like 3-4 days interval but when he start to poo, he can poo like 3 times a day type. very strange but everytime he poos i very happy. we are teaching him to poo by helping him gek sai. mum says she does that to us when we young n we poo every day in the morning b4 bath. so now hope caleb can b like that also. mum cannot understand y caleb dun poo everyday cos she said last time we on full FM but poo everyday lor...

Selina,
My mun also mention all she feed us FM and we also poo everyday and sometimes twice a day. She never use pampers cos that time it is very exp. We know how hard they go thru.

bb poo
we called Alvis 'poo poo prince'. since he born till now, he poo everyday. during he 1 mth, he always poo after every feed. after 1 mth, he poo 4 times a day.
and when we feed him FM, he oso poo once or twice everyday.

Storm,
your girl so chubby!! so cute!! wah... drink quite a lot hor.. my Rhys also big but he dun drink that much. Now still drinking 110ml every 3hrs. If longer than 3hrs, I will give 120ml. If I give more, he will drink until 110ml and use his tongue to push out the teat liao... so want to give him more also no use. Also good lah... dun want him to be like me, "pang pang de"...

bb poo,
My boy also poos every day. Max will stretch once in 2 days.

Milk Amt,
My boy drinks 80ml-100ml every 2-3hrs. Been like that since 1+ months. tried to feed him more, he will merlion out. If 4hrs above will feed him 120ml.

Teats
When to change? I cut a cross for my current teats to increase milk flow. If change, muz buy what teats for avent bottles?

Classes,
Prob wont be enrolling as yet cos I think still too young. Like bbgrace, I prefer to take things slowly at least in the 1st 2 yrs. Will coach him myself but think main theme will be exploration and experential.

Hi storm,
U veri naughty. Call ur gal gal 'hamburgal'... ha ha. But chubby good, looks cute.
BTW, I gave my dog up for adoption yest. Was so sad, I cried till eyes all red red. Even my hubby was shedding tears when he saw me like that. Wouldn't hav done that if I had the choice but I think my doggy likes the new owner. hopefully, they will take good care of him.

I was telling my hubby, doggy gave up I already cry like no tomm. Cant imagine what I will do if anything happens to my BB!!!! I think I will prob die.

Jasmine & Selina,
No lah, i don't think i'm any better mommy than anyone here. i'm just lucky that i got to spend about a year at home with Joshua.

Jasmine,
there's no specific method on teaching Joshua. I'll just expose him to whatever i was doing. I was at home in his first 6 months. That time, no maid, so i sling him around the house when i do things and i will talk and tell him what i'm doing even if he didn't understand. And of course i will make it a point to read to him everyday. Hubby and i bring him out everywhere we go so i guess the exposure helps also.

The next 6 mths i went back to work and he went to infantcare. Although the time spent was lesser, i will sing and talk to him while i drive when i pick him up from infantcare. And of course we still try to read to him as often as we could. I also taught him some simple baby sign language cos he could not talk yet. So he could sign "milk", "please" and "thank you".

There's no fixed method to teach him. Like what Freshpoison said, i believe in exploration and experential learning. All i know is that their little brain is capable of absorbing a lot of things. The result may not be instantanous but they will surprise u with what they knoww.

Just to share with you what happened y'day. He was flipping thru' this book which i've never read to him but hubby did a few times. It was about Thomas the Train who took the school children to a science exhibition. One of the exhibit was on the solar system. Joshua turned to the page and pointed to the picture and said , "sun, mercury" He actually remembered what daddy read to him! I asked hubby if he deliberately taught him the planets and he said no. He just read to him a few times.
These are the little things that makes me feel that my efforts are well spent.

Now that he's coming to 2 yrs, i'm sending him to a once a week playgroup. it's more to let him socialise and get used to a more disciplined and structured environment.

Coral,
i'm working from home at the moment pending approval of my no pay leave from the big boss.
Your current arrangement of part-time work is good. At least u are out to regain your sanity a few days in a week and your mum is a good caregiver to Char.
For me, i'm in shorts and t-shirt every day. Look at all the nice clothes in the wardrobe also no chance to wear.

bbgrace
u dun look kan cheong spider to me leh. like so cool & calm.

Selina
heee! so qiao! i am gg wif my parents, my sis & her hb plus our babies. hahaha...
yah its the dbs promo.
ok thks 4 ur tip on taking the photo. me gg to try. btw R dropping hair and at the back its in patches liao. so ugly. we gonna shave him when he turns 4 mths old.
tdy i spent so much money. at FOX. sale leh! storewide 50% & abv 3 pcs, addnt 20%. i bought at least 10 tops and bottoms 4 R. and 3 tops 4 myself. all abt $100. v worth it leh.
finally managed to get bottoms 4 R!!!
R has not been trained to turn yet but in the bouncer, can see he is trying to turn to his sides liao. i dunno if i will b as lucky as u to view his 1st turn.

Doreen
D looks really like u!

CoolMum
is the cd nice?

Jasmine
dunno of any special jabs tt need to take b4 gg overseas leh. better ask PD.

Grabbing things
============
We gave R a small bloster and he can grab it pretty well liao.
Other than tt, he always grab my top and pull down, and i always chided me 4 exposing mummy!
he tried grabbing my hb's specs b4 (unintentional) and my mum was telling me, R was grabbing his bird-bird yest when she was wiping him! hahahahahahaa
she placed him on sitting position on her lap while she cleaned the back of his neck. so his hands roved to his bird-bird. the silly boy probably dunno wat it was but he was grabbing it and pulling! OUCH!

Gemini
Tricia is alrdy 7.35kg?! R probably has not hit 7 kg yet.

Storm
hahahaha, so innovative! HamburGIRL?!

CoolMum/vivian/Jasmine
sorry mummies, tdy i was so busy shopping, i din make it to kinokuniya at all.
however made a trip to Popular and i bot this series of mini books (6 of them) on alphabets, numbers, colours, transport, costumes and 1 more i cant rem. i tried reading 3 to R and my hb said R was looking at the book. but i think its too small and cramped. will try to get bigger books nxt time and less cramp content in 1 pg.

hi to all mummies and daddies...
I'm intending to buy insurance for my bb but don't know what's available in the market. My boy is 3 mths old. Anyone bought any and may I know what's the coverage and what's the minimum premium per month? Which IC is better? Appreaciate your help in shedding some light...thanks in advance.

crystallized,
hee hee... see u again in mar then. no hurry to get the passport done since so fast. i kiasu cos nv go cruise b4 so scared they need the passport details for bookings so quickly went to submit. take your time to take more pictures until u get one really nice one. the passport is valid for 5yrs.

caleb also grabbed his bird bird once while i changing him. i went like "OUCH. not pain?" then he smile at me.

he cant grab toys but loves to grab his shirt, pants and hanky.

william hunkadoodle
i bought AIA healthshield for my boy. thought to get this first cos hospital bills very high if need be. still exploring on others.

vivian,
since start work, today is the 1st day i worked from 9-6. actually wanna join my friends at st james powerhouse for st life! party after work but ended up at home cos tired & also i miss caleb. now i can fully understand how u felt the other day. came back he almost fell asleep so after changing, i quickly took over to relief my mum n he woke up, started talking to me n the way he talk like the super yang o type, thru'out nv smile but just kept talking. n also he kept staring at me when i spoke to him. told myself i made the right decision not going to the party. really no regrets. guess this is mother's instinct & motherhood ba...

crystallized,
haha... i'm not surprised that you are busy shopping today :p

like what selina said, no hurry to make the passport. Better to make it a little later since baby's face may change as they grow older. J's passport was made when he was 2 mths old and when he next went to HK at 15 mths, i had to change his photo cos he looks v different. And the stupid thing is that the passport is valid for 5 yrs but they allow only 2 changes of photo. So that means he can only change photo 1 more time. And if he outgrows the final pic b4 the 5 yrs is up, too bad, must pay $ make another one.

selina,
yes, that's why we are different from fathers

bbgrace,
re the leapfrog thingy, did u buy it in s'pore? if so how much u paid for it? so it's avail in major dept store? we still got robinson vouchers to utilise so thought if have i can use it to buy that.

BB turn!
=========
My bbsitter told me that my bb started to turn yesterday too bad i am not there. I will definitely try to get some pix over the weekend with him turning.

BB talk
========
Actually my Able started to talk to my mum "Ang gu" from early 2nd mth onwards. Thereafter he talk non stop. Even bbsitter complained to me that my bb is v "talkative" always "gu gu guuuuuuuu", "ang gu gu" want attention & people to talk to him...He will always respond with ang gu back when we face him and say "ang gu". V heartwarming everytime he did that....think it is his way of saying hello

Selina,
Wah you did passport for Caleb liao ah... funny hor the passport # not the same as IC... very difficult to remember next time.
I am only intending to do for him when he reach 1yr.

selina,
I got my Little Touch Leap pad from toys r us. Can't remember how much. it's either $69 or $89. Robinsons also have. Saw at the Raffles city outlet before. May as well wait for the 20% off then buy. No hurry now.

few days nv hv time to post liaoz... cant catch up le....

i'm back to work full time this week, everyday not enuf sleep.. working like zombie like that... alot of things can't remember liaoz.. today cannot even remember my salary..can u believe it??!?!?!?

so many cute bb photos to see... i used to take photo for ayden everyday, but nw back to work cant continue liaoz...

BABY behavior -
ayden nowadays know how to "show displeasure" liaoz leh.. cos this week i back to work fulltime 9-6pm.. mornings instead of sleeping later, he will wake up when i wake up.. n still happy to "chat" or smile at me... but at nite when i come back, he's "not happy" liaoz.. he'll turn away from me, dont want to look at me up to abt 5-10mins... then he'll "forgive" me n start smiling n chatting again.... *haiz*.. e first 2 days i so sad when he ignored me.. almost tear liaoz... e price of being a working mom???

Baby development -
now in addition to his "sit ups", ayden trying to turn his body sideways liaoz.. but my mum stil dun dare to put him on his tummy so when im not around, he dont get tummy-time... if his neck still not strong enough yet, will he be able to flip???

Information from Parenting book -
eh, e books i'm reading did confirm tat girls do develop faster than boys at baby / toddler stage.. but boys will suddenly develop very very much more quickly once they past 5yrs old...
the other thing i read is that boys will pick up things from their dad, to "groom" ur bb boy to be a gentleman nex time, daddy must set e example... i highlight this cos sad to say, me n hb had another "quarrel" (i.e. him shouting at me...), n he was carrying ayden while doing that somemore... i'm so disappointed with him liaoz.. now i feel so empty n blank towards him.. he can behave now as if nothing happened.. but i'm e one being shouted at le.. mayb i'm "xiao qi" lor, but still cannt forgive n forget yet....

Milk intake -
can mummies here share again how much ur babies are drinking at ard 10weeks??? my boy is stil only drinking abt 400-480ml (EBM n FM combine) per day, plus 2-3 latch on sessions of abt 40mins each... i know i shdnt b worried as long as he's happy, healthy n growing.. but it "feels" abit too little for his age???

Baby's hair -
mummies who had shaved their baby's head, did e hair grow back evenly??? ayden's hair now growing very "funnily" leh.. only e top of his head grew longer, e sides all still very very short.. as if we shaved e sides again... only 1 more mth to CNY.. think he's going to hv a funny hairstyle at CNY liaoz...

see....
646691.jpg

ok, got to go sleep liaoz....
nitez nitez ladies...
kao_byebye.gif

starz,
ayden looks big in the pix. like a toddler. eh so far cant say much abt caleb hair cos he's wasnt shaved evenly cos of his cradle cap.

not sure if neck not strong bb will turn or not but i think might not ba...

According to the instructions behind my m'sia similac, it is 180 ml at 4 months old..so i am now feeding Kelicia 175 ml every 3 hrs ...since she is turning 4 months old next week..

dun noe whether this is too much ?

btw: did u ladies use anything to prevent moquito fr biting the child, esp Aedes mosquito..

i bot 2, one to place at mum's place and 1 at mum place after work..

the strange thing is K was tearing so badly & cannot open eyes when we install it...dun noe is this allergy ??

It is this Mortein liquid vaporiser..

babygrace

sigh* how to get bb 's wt..my GP dun have machine lor..

Vivian, Storm, Delphine, Doreen, starz
really quite some time since bbs' pics r posted....enjoy seeing ur bb's development =)

Coral
i ask hubby y ur hubby dun make the fm himself..he said becos if the mother latch her on, the bb cannot finish the fm after drinking the bm..very wasteful..so ur hb wanna carry her while u made FM?!
hope things will turn up fine !

I think i am having a lot of problems at this moment in time

1) my left wrist hurts like hell, can't even turn..

2) my right breast is so saggy that i can feel it touching my tummy when i breastfeed..my sis asks me to stop bfing b4 the prob gets worst

3) my poor sis had a surgery y'day at nuh & they did a big mess...so worried for her cos she lost a lot of blood & is having fever now..

4) K's eyes were so swollen and tearing..dun noe y

5) Hubby having an ear infection

HAIZ

jo,
my girl also kena swollen eyes beofre and it gone after a day. she also had "bia gim" beofore and my mum said need not go PD and it goes off after three days.
If u worry, bring her to see doc

Selina & bbgrace
wat? the new passport is only valid for only 5 yrs?! how much issit? $80? goodness, they certainly noe how to rip money off us. and i din noe muz update photo when the child grows older. me like selina, hv to make it now coz gg on cruise.

i asked the staff b4 bkg to see if i can give R's passport details later since i wanna reserve the cabins 1st. they said can so i went ahead 1st.

selina, we prob end up seeing each other at the cruise ctr then.
wat a pleasant coincidence! u gg wif juz hb & C?
i hv been on the star cruise twice, and enjoyed it. since i am itching to go on a holiday and dunno if R can adapt to flights, so thot cruise is the best.

Starz
i cant rem how much my boy drank at 10 wks but right now, he is oso one of the smallest drinker here, but his weight gain is gd and there is nothing to worry abt. at least ur boy latches on for 40 mins, mine usually 10 mins only. even more worrying than urs.

Coral
hope u feeling better by now. u r under tremendous stress and u hv to talk to ur hb soon so u dun suffer a breakdown. juz felt tt if u kept delaying this, ur ill feelings juz accumulate until 1 day u explode big time. perhaps ur hb oso dunno wats the rationale for the things u do, u hv to tell him nicely when u hv cooled down. afterall, u both juz wan the best for Char.

starz,
R drink 120ml at 10weeks, now 150ml-160 and she no longer have it at 3hrly, she taking milk at 4hrly. if give her at 3hr, she will not drink and will only drink after 4hr. this is the my find out as well as infantcare teacher told me.

Babygrace,
I plan to stop working for a yr after the birth of my second child. I plan this yr end to get preggy and by the time I give birth, R is 2yrs old liao. I take u as the role model. Your one yr of not working and spending time with Joshua really worth it.
Have to work now to save up enough money so I can not wk for a yr after the birth of my second child. Infantcare is now less than $200 p/m and hope I can pay off all my debts within a yr and save enough money. If not becos of $, I would very much like to stay at home for the first yr for R. Afraid she will ask me one day why I not working for her bro/sis and not her.

wei kuan
u chg plans liao? thot u say wanna get preggie early nxt yr only? heee...

wah, u planned to b SAHM aft 2nd child. brave decision.

dun think R will question u coz by then she is still v young.

weight gain 4 them aft 3 mths will slow down, so mayb tts y she needs lesser milk now?

You gals are fast! I've totally no time to read thr the postings... been so busy at work

Jo,
Mortein liquid vaporiser? I tot this shouldn't be installed in room where bbs are??
I only use mosquito patch, which is safe for bb.
As for FM intake, the instructions is a guide, no need to follow. In fact,most mummies will diluted the FM cos the instructions one is very thick.

Selina,
The Fridge To Go FTG1200 now only comes in white is it? I need to get one. My current Avent bag is not enough to transport my EBM now.

MS
==
Finally after 2 weeks, my MS came back this week!!!
In fact, I think it increased!

Passport
=======
I remember paying $40 for Jolene's one nia, how come now so ex?
Yes, crystallized, for kids is only valid for 5 years.

Jenny
COngrats on increased BM!
so at least PIS did helped. din spend money in vain.

I bot my FTG yesterday. but dunno wat model. its $50 and accomodate up to 6 big milk btls, i think. got 4 sides of colling panel as well as the bottom one.

coz now the passport is biometric one, so more exp 4 this technology bah.

Crystallized,
My plan still the same. I will try end of the yr (Dec07). Does not mean u want get preggy will happen. I not that fertile. Maybe try till Jan-Feb08 then will get preggy leh. Need three mths like that to try. Hope my second child bd same as R if I can get preegy in Jan08.
If this is also ur plan, try one mth earlier.

Huijun

I agreed totally. hehe, that's y i wanna try later this year too..if want a child in 2008, try in 2008 may be too late..

Jenny
where u get the mosquito patch from ?

PS: Mortein Liquid vapouriser is not suitable for babies ? but if i put in another room, does it protect teh whole hse i wonder...

Wei Kuan
OIC... yah its true tt u might not get preggie immed. 4 the 1st baby, it was our 1st try and we got it. dunno will b so lucky 4 this 2nd one. me oso hope to hv a yr end baby again this 2nd time. R was naughty this time, he came out earlier so din "qualify" as yr end baby.

hi wei kuan,

same as R! T used to be on a 3hrly feed and she will not fuss now if we did not feed her. now even 4 hrs later, she will still not scream for her milk.

also, my SIL said that normally after birth of 1st kid, will be quite fertile one...

wow..so many photos of cute babies here..thks for sharing..really brigthen up my life here at work..i do have some shots of Mav..he's my POWER CAPSULE now..and strength to move on despite what happened..i must tell myself to stay strong & positive..

646873.jpg

crystallized,
how much did you pay for the cruise? i saw the ad and was also thinking of bringing the kids on the cruise since can't go anywhere far. But i'm thinking of bringing my parents along also so that i have extra help :p

wei kuan,
Good that you start planning early. R's infantcare so cheap? R is an easy bb to take care of, hopefully #2 will be the same. Will it be only u and the 2 kids at home? If your 2 kids are easy to take care, then it'll be good. Then you'll be my role model. haha!
I'm struggling with 2 kids cos Joshua is very mischievous and Emma is also getting very demanding. Think without the maid, i'll die.
And i hope i can spend as much time with Emma as i did with Joshua.

bbgrace
i rem its $420 for both adults (1-for-1) at decks 8-9(no window) and for infants its 25% of $420 + $71 x 3 pax seaport tax. i think for 2 adults + 1 baby its abt $700+... cant rem exact price but thereabts lah. its the cheapest i think. quite worth. yah we wanted parents to go so at least if we decide to go casino 4 a while, my mum can help look aft 4 a while. somemore its our 1st holiday as a family since my mum has nvr stepped out of SG b4.

actually not true tt will remain fertile always aft #1. some i heard, got difficulty getting preggie for the 2nd one leh. anyway dun wanna think so much now. got more than enuff to handle liao.

crystallized,
me suaku, nvr been on star cruise b4. are the rooms in in decks 8-9 small? No cot for infant? i'm thinking if it's possible to fit a toddler and a bb in the same room. But they can't sleep on the same bed cos joshua thrash around a lot.

And infant price mean under 2 yrs old? aiyah, j is turning 2 next mth.

bbgrace
i think all the rooms same size regardless of got window anot. unless u take balcony class, then of coz diff. but they dun hv 1-for-1 promo lah.

yes! got cot for infant. ther staff v nice, say can help us request 2 cots.and guess wat, my hb jokingly ask "can we request for yao lan?!" the staff was laffing!

shld b able to accomodate J & E tog since got cot 4 her. as 4 J, bring him out 4 all the activities and tire him out. then come back cabin, KO liao.

yes, infant price is for under 2... er, then u better check if J is entitled anot. or book fast lah. hehehehee..