(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

mummyjoy, it's cheng choon that we're talking abt. I think there's no website, so we have to browse in other retail shop then call to check price and order. I think someone posted the contacts here not long ago, must go dig.

Jenny, the Ameda one that you're thinking of is dual pump too? Well, if a 300+ one can do the job too, then I'll not buy such expensive one. Now gotta learn to be thrifty. One more mouth to feed liao. Did you get to see the Ameda one that you wish to buy anywhere? Is there also 2 diff model for Ameda?

Hi Jenny,

me oso bot normal bra to wear during pregnancy period, my breast expand alot during the 1st preggie, i had to buy 2 cup size bigger. i only wore nursing bra during confinement.

Hi babygrace,

i was staying at my in-laws plc during confinement. they allow me to wash/rinse (no soap) my body wif boiled ginger water 1 wk aft birth, cos i had massage n my body was so oily... lucky they understand. but mil only allow me to wash my hair aft the 2nd week, cos she say i always had giddy spells even b4 preggie, so beta take care during confinement if not nex time will get worse, so i bo bian gotto listen. at least 2 wks is not too bad lah...

as for goin out is a no no for them. i only got to go out when i need to see my gynea 1 wk aft birth, and tat time i ask my mum to go wif me den after seeing gynea, i went shopping wif my mum... hehe...

coral, Thks! found the post, u don't need to go dig again

Cheong Choon Store
Blk 34 Upper Cross Street #03-132
Blk 32 New Market Road #03-1190 People's Park
Tel: 6532 3822 Fax: 6532 7816
Email: [email protected]

coral, bunny, aspialle
tks. he is moving now but dunno y my mind just cant b at peace leh... prayed this morning b4 getting out of bed n will find time to do so again later ba... guess prob also i too excited and anxious abt the gynae visit tomorrow...

coral,

So far, I only come across this Ameda electric dual pump, not sure if have other model? But this is the only one that I know so far lor. Yes, it is a dual electric pump. Not on sales on dept stores. Can only be purchased via distributor or via momsinmind or via bfing organisation. Retail price is $350. I'm wondering if can get it at cheaper price. I think $300+ for an electric dual pump is considered reasonable price. Avent electric single pump is selling at $200+ while its dual is $899.

This is how it looks like:
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/lactalinepump.html
http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/indexshoppingcorner.html

Selina, I think you are. I was like this b4 my detail scan. And occasionally, I'll hv negative tots floating in my mind. very bad for myself and bb. We must curb this.

coral, 2 stores? where the other one is located

wow, many of you going for the detail scan huh, I am going on wk 21, is it too early or late, which week you all gg?

mummyjoy, coral,
Cheong Choon got only 1 store. Blk 32 dun have. I checked with Winnie and she confirmed she has only 1 store at Blk 34.

Jenny, wow, the avent one so ex. Avent just introduced their elctronic one not too long ago, so have not heard much feedback. So not considering it for now, although I like their manual one. It works well. I think the Ameda price drop. Last year was like 400+.

hi coral,
according to sale, they r follow GSS.
bb hyperstore
mostly bb stroller, car seat, bb cot, bb playing toys. only avent and philips stuffs available there. they didn't display the discout board there, u hav to ckeck with the sales gal there.

bb kingdom,
u can get all the bb stuffs there included baby care/ bathing stuffs, clothing. NUK n pigeon is 20% discount (except sterilizer with special offer price which might same as u bought at other department store or $1/2 different coz is a promotion frm both brand co. come with free gift). avent is 15% for all the stuffs included sterilizer.

u may compare both shope. like avent breast pump, bb hyperstore sell at $87 with 10% off while at bb kingdom, they sell at $89 with 15% off. both shop is at some row of shohouse. very convenience for u to walk in between. i saw many mtbs doing tat too...

coral,
Avent electric pumps too ex. I think not many ppl buying yet. It was launched last qtr last year. Still new in market, tats why not much feedback lor. Ya, I must agreed Avent manual pump is really good.

Hi Jasmine, thank you for the details. So i think if anyone buying avent should go to Kiddy Palace which has 20% for all nett items including avent.

Jasmine,
Is bb kingdom and hyperstore stuff cheap since you bought your stuff there? Cos I heard many feedbacks like not very cheap, except for strollers and carseats.

I saw Pigeon Steriliser selling at $87 at Seiyu yesterday. Also for those babycare/bathing thingys, for those who are heading to Cheong Choon, you can stopover at the shops at Level 3 (Shop name is Ocean) to shop for these stuff. Very cheap compared to prices outside. The bathing lotion Lactylac is selling at less than $7 per bottle and Guardian is selling at $9.90 per bottle. They have the pigeon wipes and breastpads also, but I'm not sure with the prices.

mmummyjoy,
it's called Tiger Magic Cooker. Actually there are 2 other reputable brands for this thermal cooker - Thermos Shuttle Chef and the zo... (something, you know the elephant brand). It's about $200 depending on the size. you can check out last fri's papers for Taka advertisement.
If you are not in a hurry to get it and is isetan card member, can wait till the preview sale. They usually have this on offer and it's a very good buy.

bunny,
my in laws stay too far away to even know that i go out. haha!

mmummyjoy,
i think aspialle and i are using different type of cooker for our soup. Hers in the electric slow cooker. Mine don't need any electricity.

Jenny, thnks! So the addy is correct at Blk 34

Aspialle, oic, so yours is an electric slow cooker?

Babygrace, thinking to cook soup for myself when work from home, so this tiger magic cooker is the one that use inner wear to boil 15mins then leave to slow cook w/o electricity? I wake up at 9plus, eat lunch ard 12noon, do you think the soup will taste nice in 3 hours time? When the isetan sales cmg up, roughly how much disc we can get?

Jenny, now that you mention Ocean, I think I know where Cheng Choon is. Ya, I ever bought from Ocean, their things can be alot cheaper than Guardian or Watson...

Babygrace, one more q on EBM,, we submerge the milk bag in a bowl of hot water to defrost milk bag then do we still have to 'heat' the milk up for BB or the milk temp will be ok?

hi coral,
yeah...but then u hav to check the retail price too. coz diff place hav diff retail price.

hi jenny,
yeah... their stuffs not really cheap as a wholesaler, but some stuffs still cheap after less. hav to compare their price with department store lol.

coral, thks! huh...sept too late, hb just bot cordyceps for me to jin bu so I tot to brew it myself.

anyone else taking cordyceps? any other method to brew?

mummyjoy
i dun need to boil it for 15 mins then transfer, everymorning i just put soup under "high" then after 3 hrs can eat liao, if u wan keep warm for dinner, put under auto...then the taste will all come out

Jasmine, I see.

mummyjoy, I usually use a slow cooker to cook my cordyceps. But last weekend I use rice cooker to doubleboil it for abt 40mins. I put cordycep and pao sheng in a bowl with watrer, cover up and use rice cooker to double boil. If you want to add meat, then throw the meat into boiling water first before you take it out to add it into the slow cooker with your herbs.

Hi Selina,
Dun worry lah. Sometimes BB is active, sometimes mayb sleeping. My BB also like this. Sometimes whole day dun feel anything. I think some1 mentioned that BB is sleeping ~80% of the time.

Hi mmummyjoy,
I'm going for the detailed scan this fri (Week 21 Day4). I was also thinking whether it's abit too late cos seems that week 20 is the "normal" time to do detailed scan hor? Anyway hope BB legs open big big to know gender. Hee..

Avent
Saw OG has 20% for blue tag items. There's a gift pack for Avent Uno $200++ with some goodies. Usual price is $300++

Hi MTBs,
did u watch a documentary about a boy who was born with defects about 2 days ago? The defects were actually found during scanning but the parents decided to keep the child. I watched half of the programme only. Anyone watched the whole programme??

janice,
tks. called my gynae n he says it is alright. will tahan until tmr to see bb during my detailed scan. i'm 22wks tis wk so yours is not too late lah. my gynae practice doing detailed scan at 22wks...

Selina,
ic.. i actually had about 6 weeks gap before this detailed scan and managed to "squeeze" in 1 slot in between to see gynae. Just want to see BB on the ultrasound to b assured lor

Good Luck for your scan! Mine on this fri (World cup day)! Ole Ole Ole...

Aspialle, sounds easy to use
how abt brewing tonic?

Coral, oic, u used the boiling method, the shop taught me that also but my MIL used charcoal to brew the cordycep + pao sheng with no water added till the 'juices' all came out and I find it troublesome so tot of getting a slow cooker & do it myself. She uses chicken too, very yummy hor
How often you eat it? I was advised 1wk twice but I worry too bu.

Janice, me gg exactly at week 21, looks like many went already hor...how come we have to wait so long..
hehehe, sure to know gender by detail scan, u want a princess or prince

mummyjoy,
Err, I not sure the unit no is correct or not. But confirmed Blk 34, level 3. If you go from People Park level 3 (that shop used to call Min Min, selling toiletries), there is a connecting "bridge" from Blk 32 to 34. It is the first unit.

When you submerge the milk bag into the bowl of hot water to defrost, you are heating up the EBM, no need to go and heat up for bb again.

coral,
Ya lor, Ocean stuff are cheap. For my first pregnancy, I bought all the bathing stuff, cotton etc there. Save a lot. The other shop is called "Jin Long" in chinese name and another one used to called "Min Min". "Min Min" is the one nearest to Cheong Choon. And there is a maternity shop quite near to Ocean. Called Belly Basics. Materity wear is cooling, designed by local designer. I bought 3 pcs of dresses there. I think I every told crystallized abt this shop. It is opp E2.

Weikuan,
The boy was born with a deformed face. The doc had to do surgery to "push" the bones on the face to have more obvious facial features. But I only watched half the programme, so mayb some MTBs can provide the details?

dear janice and mmummyjoy, dun think it's too late yet.. check with my nurse the last time and she mentioned tat we can go for our detailed scan from 20wk-22wk. when i went last wk, me oredi at my 22wk. this week, 23wk...
guess i'm the later than anyone here...

Janice, dare not watch, I avoid those shows cos' worry getting night mare

Selina, I sometime too worry if BB is ok, thinking to get the heartbeat detector from kiddypalace and it comes with music speaker but someone mention speaker no good for BB hor, anyone bot it?

Weikuan, cordyceps is good for bu qi, blood and the organs of BB, especially liver and lungs. My hb has been taking it for a couple of years and he has rosy cheeks..hehehe..but not now cos' he disturbed by me, can't sleep well..keke

Jenny, no worries abt the actual addy, I probably will call for delivery if I need
oh, I was worried that the milk will be still cold so the temp will be just nice for BB, how long must we submerge? 1 time hot water or twice huh?

Ilovemybabyg, did your gynae say why he schedule you at 23wk? maybe we can see 'more' at later stage?

mummyjoy,
actually hor, if you are using this method to warm up the milk, you need to check the temp of the EBM yourself. I can't tell you how long to submerge the EBM into the hot water. You need to trial and error lor. If you take out and feel the EBM, still cold, then you just put back and wait.

mmummyjoy,
3 hours should be enough.
Actually the electric slow cooker that aspialle has is also useful. i also have that. it's just that i like the Tiger magic cooker because it saves electricity and it's safe, especially when i'm not at home. No need to worry about electricity tripping or wastage.

Wei Kuan, after 4mths we can start to eat some of these bu stuff. What is tang sheng good for?

Janice, I find cordyceps too expensive I only buy for Hb to eat cos at one time he work until lian3 qing1 qing1, so I cook at least once a week, cost me 1k+ a month. But like mommyjoy say, the face colour really got better. Now I only cook pao sheng with birdnest for myself twice a month. And white fungus with red dated, wolfberry seeds, longan once a wk. Chicken soup is as and when my mum cook for me. Use to be once a week in 1st tri, but now rarely...

mummyjoy,
i have one of those but dun seem to work leh.

detailed scan
=============
me doing tmr at 22wks too.

janice,
sorry. didnt catch it but i think i have to avoid such shows otherwise will "hu2 si1 luan4 xiang3" later. think i worrying now also cos i read an article in motherhood mag on pre-term labour...

jenny, TQ
so long the EBM is not cold, should be ok, right? Was thinking if BB latch on the BM direct from us also not warm

babygrace, that sounds good, will try the Tiger magic cooker

Weikuan, u drink the red dates, tand sheng, logan and wolfberry seeds to bu yourself? was told 3 to 5 mths preggie drink bu for BB and after 5mths bu for mummies to be stronger for delivery.

MTBs
====

was chatting with my HK colg, she just gave birth also and told me that birdnest used to be very popular for preggie in HK but now no longer encourage because of increase allergy of BB...so I think we better take moderately.

kao_smile2.gif

hi hi coral
such a small world..one of the mtb I have known is also c-sect today at 6.30am..hehe..last night I was sms-ing her, telling her that when i woke up this morn..then she will have a latest addition to the family..hehe..i so envy u..at least u have a lot of hands-me down to choose from..me now hvnt found any hands-me down for my boy yet..

hi hi Selina..
oh, I thot u can open w/o help from another person..relax..calm down..relax..its norm not to feel babys movement at certain times..coz baby might be sleeping ma..surely u will feel it one..relax..ahh..so glad that u r seeing gynae tmrw..envy..envy..hehe..do come back & update us againcheers~

hi hi Jasmine..
hope u r ok..walk slowly..got to be careful lor..now u rest at home..better dun move ard so much la..thks for sharing with me abt the items u bought..ya, tonight me & hubby will go over to check them out..haha..coz not sure what are the items to buy also..thks for sharing..thks..u also purchase a lot from there but only ask them to deliver in sept, right?hope we can confirm the stroller we are looking at by tonight..haha..

Hi hi jenny..
Thks for sharing on the photos of the pumpsso hope u get a gd price for this one..

Hi hi Janice..
Do keep us posted on your appt on Fri..hehe..i m sure u must be very excited nowthen aft that, u can start shopping on the wkends..cool!do u think u r carrying a prince or princess?as in mothers instinct?

kao_smile2.gif