(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Gemini,
Ya better lor, then you dun need to go down personally. Winnie can't help you on the 3 wheelers models? She got brochures or not?

jenny,
yah i oso thot buy aft bb arrives. no hurry mah.
i got my steriliser coz it was a gift. oh tt reminds me, i din even bother trying it out 2 see if it works! oh dear, better do so tonite!

mummyjoy,
i oso experienced tummy fullness at times, though not hvg a main meal. not sure if its wind, but i juz keep soothing my tummy and sometimes drink a btl of yakult/vitagen to see if it helps.

but no harm monitioring the food we take in, it cld b due to that. so far i think i can identify the food tt made me feel queasy/discomfort aft eating and i avoid them despite some being my fav food.

Aspialle & Mummyjoy,
Now the pain is getting more and more often this few days, but doc said it is common.
My workmate also said it is common as they also experience that during pregnancy.

Hi jenny,

Will give winnie a call to check with her. I think she should be able to help me though I dun have much info. That time when I was there, she has brochures but it consists of quite a number of brands, cant rembr got this brand or not.

Hi wei kuan,

I on/off will experience cramp/pain around tummy area, back or buttocks area. Did check with my gynae, he said that as long the pain is not a very sharp and consistent in the lower tummy, it's ok.

me bought maternity panties at mothercare (5 pieces for $25), very comfy to wear. It fits nicely below our big tummy....instead of v-back panties, this is v-front panties...hahahaa....

Hi, anyone know if there's good sales going on at Baby Hypermart and baby Kingdom?

Minibu, I also bought some maternity thongs from them, very comfy too.

Hi minibu,

thks.Are the panties sales items/offer? When will it end?

Hi coral,

i was at both places yesterday. bb kingdom is having 20% on Nuk & Pigeon products, 15% on Avent except sterilisers. Tolloyjoy wipers is selling $7.50 for 300 pieces. As for bb hypermart, got sale price on the strollers but not sure whether is it considered cheaper than elsewhere.

Hi hi coral..
Haha..u so cute when I saw ur post on the baby run on make-up..haha..actually me also think like u leh..hmm..coz I also duno whats that for..

Hi hi Gemini..
Thks for sharing with me abt the prices of the other 2 brands of 3 wheelers..okok, probably me need to go down & check it out ba..at least see the real thing is better also, then can see the demo lor..if u r also getting the 3 wheelers, maybe if we get 2, do u think will get a special price?if u gg down to CC or calling them, can u help me check it out as well?thks..thks

Hi hi Selina..
Oh, u got a 3 wheeler as well ahh..any brand u bought? USD100 very worth leh for 2nd hand..since u dun intend to use it for main stroller, its ok to invest in 2 lah..hehe..so nice..what color did u choose ahh..

Hi hi Vivian..
Aiyo..hope u didnt starve urself leh..Thks for sharing on the compact powder..since in this case, seems to be a better choice to go for as compare to norm powder whc might be more dustier..

Hi wtan,
Dun worry.. I am ok. Had breakfast eariler and since I only had less than 1 hr in between classes for lunch, I took a snack and take lunch at 3plus. Thanks for the concern anyway.
Actually, the compact powder is not a must lah.. haha... me "hiao" mah.. I like cute stuff anyway. BTW, bb kingdom also have the powder @ $5 but after discount in Robinson, I got it $4... less $1 also shiok... I think I am going crazy...

Hi wendy,

No problem. Will let u know after I called up and check. But as mentioned, I'm still not in a hurry to get it, you may want to go ahead and get it but of course, if there's a speical price, I will definitely consider it!

wendy,
the 3-wheeler i got it for USD50 only. only 1 colour - blue. not bad lor got brakes somemore. but very heavy n difficult to open n close. can do it if carrying bb. definitely need another person to help.

Hi Gemini,

u don hv to salute to me lah... me oso cant really study for exam now. but no choice, my boss chose a few of us to go for this round n im one of them. i only got to know i have to take tis exam in Feb tis yr and tat was when i juz found out im preggie... somemore its self-study 1 and we hv to sign 1.5yrs borne wif the company aft the exam. whether i pass the exam or not, i still hv to sign the borne. tat's y i feel so stressed.

noticed tat most of u are starting to buy baby stuffs now ya... i don hv anything to buy now cos i hv everything liao... but my mum say i shld buy 1 or 2 pcs of new clothes for bb even thou tis 1 is oso girl girl and can wear jie jie's clothes, but still gd to let her wear new clothes on her 1st mth celebration. as for discharge tat day, i'll let her wear the 1 hospital provide cos my #1 oso wear tat so don 1 2 be diff for tis 1.

btw, tink i read b4 some1 had mention to put in cash or vourchers request in the 1st mth invitation. may i knw hw do u gals here phrase the wordings? i prefer to receive cash as i oredi hv almost everything.

Congrats on mtbs who juz found out gender of their bbs!
*sorry, rather bz wif work, read n forgot who liao.. so sorry

welcome new mummies too

<font color="ff6000">gemini</font>
NUK's Silicone teats are harder than latex ones... hospitals usually latex teats.
however, for latex's teats, must replace often as it will become sticky after some time whereas silicone teats are more lasting.

i do get smaller hole size teats for water as water is thin liquid, it will flow thru the milk teats (bigger hole) much fast than NB can take it.. be safer than sorry.. use a smaller hole size teat to test out first.

am using NUK's silicone teats for my gal since she was NB.

<font color="0000ff">maternity underwear</font>
i've not gotten any even for the previous preg.. tinking to get some now.. getting fatter.. :p
prob will take a look at minibu's recommendation..

Gemini
Prince for me okie lah not disappointed still my bb mah but maybe too long than can see gender and with my sis's kpoing so already thought would be a girl. So a bit surprised when I see the 'birdie' after waiting so long...hehe
Just that me dun really like my FIL so in my heart hoping he won't get what he want lor cos knowing him I can predict next time sure got alot of problems one......

Now a bit confusing when I complain my doggie to my hubby cos I always tell him "ur son very naughty" So now must change liao cos got another son......hehehe
But boy not much accessories to buy so I tell hubby liao we can save more money this yr buy better things for bb.....hehe

Janice
Seems like my gynea medi better than the one given by my GP. I use once on my rashes can see that they become flat and turn pink liao not so angry red but still getting a few more new itchy dots on my breast and tummy.....sigh....
So difficut to try not to scratch.

Sponsor
----------
My auntie who just had a granddaughter in April actually call my sis and told me she going to pass some things to me. 1 whole set of new Avent bottles, 1 pack nb diapers, 1 douya pillow and she ask if we need anything else just let her know she pass to us.....so nice!!!
But hers is girl leh hard to get clothes from her. Sis claims she still have from her boys but her boy already 10 yrs old leh........

Robinson sale
----------------
Hehe I psycho my mum to go with me tml cos she wants to get her pillow. First thing she ask me is your leg okie liao aah......hahaha
Me so bored stuck at home lucky my swelling and pain all gone else dunno how I tahan any longer.

mmummyjoy,
HOW TO STORE EBM
i kept them in bottles after expressing and stored in the office fridge. Used a cooler bag with ice bricks to bring them him. i only freeze the excess EBM. At home, i will look at the "stock level" of milk, set aside enough milk for him in the fridge for the next 2 days and freeze the balance in the freezer.
When defrosting the frozen EBM, i submerge the milk bag in a bowl of hot water and replace the hot water till the frozen EBM has melted. once defrosted, you cannot refreeze the EBM.
Actually it's not necessary to buy a warmer, i have a NUK one but in the end, the traditional method of soaking the bottle / milk bag in hot water works just as well.

Gemini,
i used the size 1 medium hole teat for both water and milk. Although breastmilk is "thinner" than formula milk, i still use the medium hole.
NUK teats are known to have small holes cos they encourage bb to suck harder just like sucker the mother's breast. When bb gets older, you have to make the hole bigger yourself so that bb can drink the milk faster.
chihiro has already highlighted the difference between silcon and latex teats. i started with silicon but later switched to latex cos my boy preferred it.

hi morning to all
no one come in yet??

hi doreen long time no see, u having a prince? congrats! hw have u been?

babygrace
do u breast feed ur child throughout during the confinement? or use express milk for the night? cos if need to breastfeed in person at night, have to wake up....then if hire confinement nanny a bit wasted hor

aspialle, gdmorning. I aslo tot of letting CL feed at night with EBM, but then feel as if I'm a lazy Mummy leh. However, I think w ith enuf rest then we can ensure better MS.

Hi hi Vivian..
Got to take gd care..try not to skip meals or eat at irregular timing ba..not gd lor..wow..u managed to get the compact powder from robinson at $4 ahh..very worth leh..r u a member at robinson as well or just enjoying the discount as a public?

Hi hi Gemini..
Ok..thks..hear from u soon..i m in no hurry to get the stroller as well..just want to find out the prices so that I can do my calculation lor..but told hubby that theres also 2 more brands on 3 wheelers..so we will go &amp; check out the actual thing with demo tonight ba..thks..thks..

Hi hi Selina..
I think its a gd offer to grab the 3 wheelers at USD$50..haha..u meant u can do it with carrying baby &amp; opening the stroller at the same time?thot its gg to be heavy for u?

Hi hi Doreen..
Why u dun really like ur FIL?since u both not staying togetherI dun think that will be a big issue lor..wow..so happy for u that u managed to get hands-me down..envy..envy..

Hi hi Chihiro..
Thks for sharing on the teats..appreciate it..thks..thks..

Hi hi babygrace..
Thks for sharing the tips in the defrosting EBM..

hi morning coral
tink confinement needs a lot of rest loh and i was tinking in this way bb won't reject the bottle cos they are used to both

Vivian, Selina, think aspialle and I will see you both on our 3rd lesson as it's a combine lecture on vaccination and stuff from 9am till 2pm

aspialle, I thought so too lor. Play by ears, see how things go by then. Since we also very inexperience. Heard from my hb that his colleague wife did not sleep the whole nite when their bb was born cos she just want to stare at the bb the whole nite to take care of him. So we may end up like that too. Who knows? The adrenaline might be working when we're so excited with our new born. My fren is going for c-section todday. 06.06.06 Nice date. Even thinking of asking her gynae for 0606am.

wendy,
the 3-wheeler i got cannot open without help if you carrying bb. it is really big n bulky.

<font color="ff0000">Feeling Insecure
====================
i dunno what's wrong with me today but have been feeling very insecure abt the development of my boy. probably due to him not moving a lot last night ba... which he usually does. though he did give me a couple of punches tis morning but it is all felt at my right side only so i'm getting a little worried. also, last night while taking bus to my hairdresser, felt very intense pain on my tummy...

my appt with gynae is tmr. SIGH!!!!! must wait another day... kept telling myself to b positive, bb is doing well... but just cant help feeling insecure leh....</font>

Selina, it's just like us MTBs to feel insecure. I'm the opp. Yday when my gal moves alot I was worried if she's feeling uncomfortable or unwell. See, we can worry abt anything. So I just tell myself to think positive, else I might affect bb. And you'll see bb tmrw! I've gotta wait till next Sat to confirm she's well...Cheer up!

Bunny,
Me also nothing much to buy. But enjoy window shop for infant stuff. So far, I only bought breast pads, new teats (intend to recycle my No.1 Avent bottles cos my No. 1 only used for about 4 mths before I switched her to other brands bottles), and yesterday bought 5 pairs of mittens and booties. (My mum wants new sets of mittens and booties, she dun reuse them.) The other stuff that I intend to buy is Ameda breast pump and infant carseat, but will be either nearer to EDD or after I give birth. No stuff to buy le, cos will be using hands down from No. 1. As for infant clothings, I'm going to get them from my aunt maybe in another 2 mths time (to wash) cos I returned all to her after my No. 1 outgrown them. I intend to buy 2 new clothings for No.2 which can wear during outing and on full mth, and thats about it.

Gemini,
Agreed with chihiro. Latex ones are easy to suck but needs to change frequently. It turns out to be "dirty and sticky" after using for a short while. So I still prefere silicone teats, which looks "cleaner".

Chihiro,
Wow, you din buy any maternity underwear for previous pregnancy ah! I just went to buy new bras yesterday night cos can't squeeze into my current bra size le.

Doreen,
Actually for infant, gal and boy clothings not much difference one, except color. You can ask your aunt to pass you the netural color ones. My No. 1 wore hands down from boy clothings.

Jenny, I see. If buy more things from Cheng Choon they do delivery right? Do you know for how much and above? Cos I'm thinking if I can will order pram and carseat from them first and order breast pump from them after I confirm I can BF. Then I rtn my fren her pump and buy one for myself. So if buy at two different time not sur eif ca get delivery...

coral,
They provided delivery (FOC) once your order exceed $100. I think q easy to exceed for yours.

They dun sell Ameda pump
So I got to get elsewhere. Anyway, my friend told me she will pass me the distributor contact, just call them and they will deliver to my home the next day.

Hi Jenny,

ya, u reminded me, i need to buy breast pads too. as for teats and bottles, i still hv xtra left over frm my girl... last time too ks, bot too many. my girl has been using Avent bottles since NB, no prob til now.

i oso din buy any maternity panty for my 1st preggie, only bot 3 pcs of normal panties 1 size bigger. as for bra, i still hv those wic i bot last time, cos i stopped BFg in the 2nd mth and my breast shrink back to normal 3 mths aft i stopped. so those bigger size bras i only wore for a few mths, still in good condition. no need to buy some more liao.

Doreen,

i agree wif Jenny, NB clothes quite neutral 1. i got hands down from my friend's boy. i even let my girl wear blue color... anyway at hm mah... no1 see... hehe... but of cos when go out wil dress her nice nice lor...

Jenny, you have Ameda contact ah? I've been wanting to buy Ameda but lost the distributor's contact. Can pass me too? It's slightly more ex than Medala but less noisy right? I'll try my fren's Medala, if like it will buy the same, if not I'll buy Ameda which I hear very good reviews. Do we need lots of breast pads? That is as long as we breast feed we need to use pad to prevent leaks?

aspialle / coral,
i latch on bb directly during the night. My bb very short tempered type, by the time we heat up the BM, his cries would have woken up the whole household. You can't sleep thru' the whole night cos your breasts will be super engorged the next morning if you don't wake up to latch or pump in the middle of the night.
The CL can still help out at night. My CL sleeps with the bb. Sometimes bb cries not because they are hungry, it's could be due to discomfort or soiled diaper. So CL will be the 1st to check on the bb. If bb poo in the middle of the night, she'll change the diapers (Bf bb poo a lot) She will only bring bb to me for feeding so in that way, i still get my rest.
Once bb is here, having the whole stretch of uninterrupted sleep will be a luxury. You just have to find time during the day to take naps.

i only pump out for CL to feed when i have my massage or when i need to go out (this mommy here don't confine herself at home... haha)

babygrace, thank you for sharing your experience.At least now I dont feel so stupid in having CL when total BF. Cos some pple told me this way CL got nothing to do, waste money. Hehe. The elderly at home allow you to go out ah? I also tell my hb I want to go out, he say never take gd care of body later I'll suffer...

Selina,

its ok if bb don move much on a certain day. last time my gynea told me shld at least feel bb's mvement 10 times a day, but i hardly felt 10 times. was so worried. but at later stage, u sure will feel more cos bb not enuf space liao and the kicks n punches will be very hard and obvious. tink some MTBs here mentioned tis b4. n i oso hv bad dreams of losing my bb, tink i worried too much, tat's y. but bb turn out well.

don worry too much ok?

thanks babygrace for ur advice

btw when ur CL come to stay, do u need to allocate empty room for her? my mum is coming to help me up, wonder if i can put both in the guest room...

now west side here raining so heavily...at first tot of goin OG to shop shop ...

Selina, remember to update us on ur scan tmr. Excited?

coral
me tinking of ordering stroller and bb cot from cheng choon, but haven checkout the pricing yet

good morning!
me sprain my ankle during lunch time yesterday. feel very pain, so ask permission frm my boss and straight take a cab back to home. went to GP yesterday and he gav me 2 days mc. so, now rest at home. sigh....

keep on blaiming my self for careless.
lucky my bb still move as usual.

hi coral &amp; wendy,
if u wanna buy those bb stuff, can go to bb kingdom. they having promotion now as mentioned by gemini. i bought bb cot, nappy, breast pump and food warmer there. all hav discout. except for sterilizer, i bought pigeon brand with special price $87. oso bought mosquito net &amp; stand from bb hyperstore. hb said must buy coz scare of those d.fever.
actually we know tat nu hurry to buy this things tat early, but since now GSS , so better grab now and kee at home lol. and oso like other mtbs, me can't walk too long, if not body pain, leg cramp ....etc. how about later tummy growing...

hi jenny,
i remember u told us about the warranty card. so, when i bought those sterilizer and food warmer, i did check with the sales girl, and she told me tat they didnt put in the date. so, no worry about tat.

Bunny,
kekeke... my breasts din expand much during my 1st pregnancy. In fact, I wear maternity bra during 1st pregnancy. But this round, I'm wearing those "normal" bras instead of maternity bras.

coral,
My friend will look for the contact and pass to me later. I pass to you when I get it?? How much is Medala Mini E Plus ah? $300+ also right? Ya lor, I can't stand the noise, so I will be getting Ameda one (I prefer dual than single). Some more light weight. At least when pump in office, ppl won't know "oh, Jenny is pumping" hahaha... I think the Medala one, ppl sure know when I'm pumping kekeke... (My lab staff all guys).
It depends on your ss. I stopped BF one week after giving birth, and I used about 1 1/2 box of pigeon breast pads. Advise to buy 2 boxes first, then not enough then buy again. Can easily get hb to buy, just pass him the empty box and get him to ask the sales lor.

coral,
we're staying on our own and my parents are the modern type. I even bathed and washed my hair when i was in the hospital. My CL is also v good, she knows my character so she wont nag at me so long as i dress more warmly. Plus, i only go out to run errands or buy stuff. There are just so many things to do / buy with a bb around. Can't depend on hb all the time cos he's got to work.
All these myths about having to be confined at home is not practical, cos i had to go to gynae to get my dressing for c-section wound changed also. Also if bb is jaundiced, also have to bring bb out. I also suffered mastisis which is blocked milk ducts which led to a slight infection and again i had to make trips to the doctor.
i take care of the body in other ways, i make sure i take enough tonic stuff and try to rest as much as i can when i'm at home.

Jenny, yes, please pass to me after you got it. I was checking on the dual pump for both Medala and Ameda. The Medala one my fren bought $699. I saw at Motherhood with 20% discount.

Jasmine, do you know how long the sales at bb kingdom and hypermart will be? How many % discount are they offering now?

hehehe, bot a few maternity dresses from bliss, swell &amp; maternity exchange over the wkend, got the support pillow as well

me gg to buy the tiger slow cooker later, can share the actual name and cost please?

babygrace, I guess you're right. Anyway the weather in Spore not too cold like those in China where pple really have to stay at home. Ya, with hospital visits and all, cna't really avoid going out.

coral,
No prob, but remind me if I forget hor. I'm getting forgetful as days pass by...
The Medala one you are checking is the PIS one? Cos that one cost $699. Advanced PIS is $749. Mini E is $200++ and Mini E Plus is $300++. My budget max is $300+, so I will settle with Ameda... Avent electric one (both single and dual), I saw the sample model at Robinson Centrepoint, looks way ex for them.