(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

coral,
i oso dun play but i'm alright wif it too... i will comment n ask a lot of questions everytime he plays when i'm home. but my hb quite sweet cos he went to buy the bubble game cos that's the only game i know how to play. but still i hardly touch it...

coral,
yeah...i read frm website tat in long run, it's much more saving compare to disposable diapers. hmmm... wll talk to hb and ask him go thru the website. then only decide. what his concern is bb comfortable.
and oso i noticed hor, our bb jz need to wear this cloth diapers without pants at home hor. bb will feel more cooling lol. my elder sis did told me tat she only wear her bb shirt and cloth nappy when bb less than 3 mths lol.

Jasmine, ya it's the comfort that makes me think of using cloth diapers lor. My fren say he bb feels mor comfotable in this than disposabe. See how, see if my hb also convinced by the diaper when i bring him to the Fair tonite.

Janice, free size. There's two way of wearing it to cater to smaller bbs and to cater to them as they grow. And generally suppose to be able to wear till quite old, but of course depend on size of bb. That time when i was looking at the demo, a mother of a 1yr old was buy for her son. But I think really depend on size of our bbs... I dont intend to use it in the first few months as I think bb might be too small and since need to change so frquently. Might just start by 3rd month.

hi hi coral..
i just replied to ur email..have checked sent box..sent leh..u might want to go & check it out..hmm..let's discuss more there..

hi hi janice..
i think depends on each diff babies ba..apparently this happen to her lor...at 24th wks..

hi hi Jasmine..
hmm..let me discuss more with coral 1st..let u know again..cheers~

coral,
ooo....u only will start use when bb reach 3 mths arr? then for time being when ur little princess born, u will use disposable diapers lal?

wendy,
okok....no problem. btw, enjoy ur shopping with coral ya...

Jasmine, I'll monitor the situation and see how lor. Since 1st time mummy, can't really predict what will happen. If bb get nappy rash from disposable as early as first month then I'll switch to cloth immediately...So everything play by ear. We can't plan that fr when it comes to such matter. Right?

Hi MTBs,

Got my blood test results yesterday. I have to go for another round of test for thalassemia. Cos my report indicate my reading is quite low. I was detected once for thalassemia a few yrs ago but the reading was very low, so the case was closed and I dun even bother about it. But now, it was detected again. I will be checked to see whether I'm a carrier or a minor. Hopefully, I'm just a carrier.

Hi wendy & coral,

Enjoy ur shopping later on....

Wendy, I sent an email to myself using my company email and it get thru leh. Anyway I've sent you my company email account, maybe you forward the email to my company email account...

hi hi Gemini..
be positive..i m sure things will work out well for u..tell baby to be strong & heal u..i read in a bOOk..as long as u believe in it, baby will heal u & not get affected when u delivered later lor..hugs!

hi hi coral..
okok..let me forward my email to my co's email acct..then will send u an email using my co's email acct..i duno why yahoo is not "user-friendly" today leh..hehe..

Hi Gemini,
I am also diagnosed with beta thalassemea. Hubby had to go for blood test to verify that he has both genes. If your hubby has the full set of genes then its ok. Don't worry.

selina,
if you are using the breastmilk within 2 days, no need to freeze them. If thawing from milk bag, submerge the bag in warm water till the frozen milk is defrosted then pour into bottle. That's why it's important to pack the milk into the bags according to the qty that your bb drinks.

aspialle / coral,
Looks like we also like to cook the same soup. Since you all like to cook soup, have you all tried using the Tiger Magic Cooker thermal pot? That one is good! Works like a slow cooker but minus the electricity. Think Taka got offer in today's newspaper.

SHOPPING
Went to Swell and 9mois today. Good discounts. Got a skirt from Swell, capris and a nursing top from 9mois at 50% off. Could have bought some more but resisted.

Hi cherrios,

My hb tested negative for thalassemia. So the nurse was telling me that it should not be a major problem since only 1 parent has it.

coral & wendy, thks. I'm not going to think so much into it.

Hi bbgrace,

my colleague bought the Magic Cooker. She also say that it's very good! The soup can stay warm for up to 6 hrs.

coral/wendy,
i took a nap n both of you sending your emails n finally got it soughted out ya...

gemini,
alll the best to your test results.

babygrace,
tks a million.

Babygrace, since I'm moving house will not buy householod stuff for now, else need to rent bigger storage space. The sales there good hor? I also resist. Between I went to Mother Envouge, can't find anything to buy. Don't like their sleepwear too leh.

Hi Gemini,
Dun worry too much! BB will b ok! My friend (the Daddy) went for 4 blood tests during his wife's pregnancy and BB is healthy too!

hi, coral

yeah, coincidental our bb r both predicted to be coming on 14/10 =) i just calculated, if bb comes out exactly on time, i will be going back office 2 jan next year after 12 weeks.

Gemini,
yes, the magic cooker is really good. When i was working, i'll boil the soup before i leave house, come home got nice soup to drink

During confinement, my CL used it for my longan red date drink.

Coral,
Yah lor, the sale there very good. If i'm expecting #1, i would hv bought more.

Thanks Babygrace for the info =)

hmm..I have the Tiger Magic Cook since dec for my housewarming pressie

Hav not touch it till now and it is in the storeroom..can I have advice how u gals use it ? =)

Janice,
Did you realise Dr Ang's hair is very messy? And he likes to shake his legs till I feel like using my hand to stop his legs from shaking hahahaha...

Selina,
When you express out the BM, BM will be in the milk bottle right? [Unless you are using Avent that holder to support the storage bag directly --> I think Avent has stopped production for this thingy, dun see it in market nowsday.] You will need to transfer the BM to the storage bag, tied and store in fridge. If you freeze the BM (meaning you got lots of BM), it can be stored for 2 - 6 mths. Those that you put in fridge (not freezer area) must be used up within 48 hrs. So when you need to heat up the BM, just put the whole storage bag into the warmer to heat up. Any leftover has to be threw away. So when you store the BM, try to store in small packets if bb dun drink much.

mummyjoy,
I gave birth naturally without epidural for my No. 1.
Actaully epidural has some side effects like backache which we heard commonly. There are some side effects which are still unknown and research is still ongoing. If epidural is not injected correctly, the mum may be handicappied.
Cervix test is done by gynae on week 36 of pregnancy.

jo, 2 jan07 is public holiday(hari raya).

jenny, is cervix test very painful? will the doc insert his hand etc...?how to prevent cerxic sting?

Gemini, i was test negative for thalassemia, therefore gynae said hubby did not have to test it since i am test neg.

hi babygrace
i am using that slow cooker now, v gd, can start stewing soup in the morning, at nite, the soup will smell tremendous cos the flavour all come out liao, esp the chicken/pork ribs

hi coral
how is the shopping yesterday?
i was at the hospital and my hubby received ur message...paiseh
u knw i realised my hubby knew my nick..tink when he is free he will come to our thread to see wat i write! hehe no wonder everyday also got melting words haha
(hubby: are u reading this ???

Jenny,
i am here lah! hehehe

been busy the last few days, not much time to log in, and when i did, numerous postings, dunno how & where to start my posting. kekeke

u gals talking abt diapers. i dunno wat to contribute leh. wat bumwear?

went to the fair at expo, and it was v disappointing leh. went home empty handed except 4 the free mags.

wanna ask u, walking during pregnancy encourages easier labour 4 us rite? issit juz normal walking? i guess i muz start my exercises, really hope to hv natural delivery leh. getting kinda worried aft reading some postings tt gotta end up emergency C-section as cervix wldnt dilate.

good morning.

hi crystallized,
bumwear is cloth diapers recommended by coral. u can check on this webisite
www.bumwear.com
they oso available at the motherhood fair. so, last nite coral n wendy went to the fair at expo to check it out.

hi jenny,
if i dun have warmer, can put the storage bag into hot water? btw, i'm thinking to buy a small fridge (coz stay with in-law, current fridge no enuf space), that's mean only can store up to 48 hrs only, rite?

Wei Kuan,
Yes, the cervix test is very painful for me! I almost screamed out and was grabbing my hb's hand very tight. After the test, gynae told me, "It is only a LITTLE bit pain... when you are in hospital waiting for delivery, nurses and midwife will do this test SEVERAL times." I almost fainted when he told me that. BUT hor, I dun feel any pain when nurses and midwife did the cervix test for me when I was waiting to delivery leh. Perhaps the labour pain was too painful for me to feel anything else!

Gynae will insert his finger into your cervix to check how dilate it is. Kinda of "force" in like that.

Whether bumwear in long term does save $, depends on how you use or think of it. I feel one has to consider the effort of washing, hanging, the bills of water and electicity + the most precious time. For disposable diapers, though is ex, but is like use and throw, more convenient, less hassle. No need to wash poo poo hahaha...

crystallized,
Me too. Login here, so much postings... dunno where to start kekeke... Got think for me bor???
Bumwear is the "modern" version of cloth diaper.
Yes, walking and climbing stairs encourage easier labour for most women. I find normal walking is more than enough... So, an excuse to get hb to go shopping huh?

Jasmine,
Yes, you can put the storage bag into hot water to warm up the milk. It does the same trick. I think warmer heats up faster but you need to check/control the temperature.
The small fridge dun comes with freezer part meh? Got right? If you keep the BM in freezer part, can store for up to 6 mths. But if you put at the normal fridge area, yes, only up to 48 hrs. Any leftover beyond 48 hrs have to throw.

For those who intend to deliver at TMC. Just some info on the amt.

My friend just delivered with epidural last Sun, stayed in 2 bedded for 3D2N and her bills came up to about $3.4K. After medisave deduction ($2.1K)for mother and baby bills, she paid cash $1.3K.

Her bills were much higher than mine. For me, I stayed 5D4N, natural birth but with complications (went for operation to clean up womb etc). My total bill was about $4.6K and I paid cash $600+.

jenny,
i'm not sure the small fridge comes with freezer or not...hehe. better check it out.
waa...the avent warehouse sales quite attractive lel. tot to buy the avent ISIs manual pump. i remember someone told me tat shld buy the pump after delivery coz we dunno tat we hav brest milk to provide or not. will it b too late?
for steriliser, thingking of pigeon brand coz can fit with other milk bottle.

Jasmine,
Should have the freezer if you are buying the medium size one. You check it out.
For Avent manual pump, can buy now lah, price is really attractive. I remember I paid $80+ for it.
Actually Avent Steriliser can fir for other milk bottle. I'm not using Avent milk bottles now cos my gal rejected them when she's 4 mths old. Since then, I have been using other brands milk bottle.

jenny,
yeah... the price is really cheap. i went to a shop last week. the sell at $86 n now hav 15% less but still $70++.
so, u r oso using avent sterilizer? i tot other brand milk bottle more tall and thin and avent milk bottle is those fat fat one.
b4 tat tot buying both frm avent but then scare wat happen like ur daughter dun like avent milk bottle. and oso tot avent one cant fit with other milk bottle. aiya...me oso confuse lel.