(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

<font color="0000ff">Melissa</font>
Oh, the chinese medicine is not for birth control.. rather, after I gave birth, I have been having a lot of problems here & there. Thus, the medicine is also to build up my womb for future birth. My menses came 3 times continusouly, tt's y I did not take precaution (having done my calculation).

The fortune teller once predict I'll get all boys, so I think I'll stop at 2... since young, I always hope my 1st child will be girl, but one after another is boy, I dun think I want to try anymore, unless accident again lor.

Dylan is more clingy and at nite, he has to sleep on my tummy or close to it.

Oh btw, u said u can't believe I'm keeping this secret for so long.... heehee.. my hubby more poor thing. He was so happy to know I'm preggie again (I'm the only saddest one), but I made him keep it a secret till Dylan's birthday. Thus, he has to control so badly in front of his family members and his close friends. Heehee... I told him, all the unnecessary comments will made me depressed (as his family will sure have unnecessary comments), so he gotta keep quiet.

So many times, he came back and tell me tt he almost accidentally leak out the secret but quickly withdrew it back... heehee... so now, he's like happily started toking abt it.

Oh btw, u said u can't believe I'm keeping this secret for so long.... heehee.. my hubby more poor thing. He was so happy to know I'm preggie again (I'm the only saddest one), but I made him keep it a secret till Dylan's birthday. Thus, he has to control so badly in front of his family members and his close friends. Heehee... I told him, all the unnecessary comments will made me depressed (as his family will sure have unnecessary comments), so he gotta keep quiet.

So many times, he came back and tell me tt he almost accidentally leak out the secret but quickly withdrew it back... heehee... so now, he's like happily started toking abt it.

edksd,
how about milk substitutes like cheese? have u tried Gain IQ? i saw that you have tried many milk brands but Kai don't like them all. think if i put myself in your shoes, i will continue night feeding. but u don't have to pump actually. your body will know that it's supposed to produce milk at nights only, its' demand and supply only remember? my ex-colleague still latches her son who's 3 yrs old now. she only latch at nights. i asked her if she's engorged or is it affected by not pumping in the day she say no problem at all. its' the principal of demand and supply. she's a breastfeeding mother support group member btw.

emoments,
think your disappointment is only temporary. my aunt got 4 girls back to back in wide age gap. obviously she's been trying hard to conceive a boy without fail. but i think all boys are better than all girls. it's not easy to take care of girls. boys are independent. your hubby is very happy with you leh. you should be proud of yourself.

melissa,

yes i do give kai cheese occasionally.

no ive not started him on any FM yet. maybe u got the wrong person?

oh i see.. k... i think i can slowly stop on my once every 2 days pump.

btw, abt FM, i heard from a fren tt friso is better coz it has pre and pro biotics??? whereas other brands dun hv??? she read from the body and mind in papers some mths ago.

edksd,
wei boh cho kang ah? hahaha.. yeah i think i got the wrong person. why not introduce FM to Kai already? i think most FM ingredients are about the same. they do have probiotics. Hannah is now on 2 feeds of Gain iQ a day. but of course u can try other brands. u can go to their website and get milk samples. or get it from this forum for freebies.

hi melissa, yes ive gotten some FM samples from my gynae and PD clinic and oso online website.

they're now sitting prettily on the shelves.

since kai doesnt take milk in the day, ive no chance to use them. i'll just latch him on at night.

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+2">HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ALL THE BABIES IN SEP THREAD</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+2">CONGRATS TO ALL THE EXPECTING MUMMIES</font></font>

Havent posted for a long time. been so busy at work n with Caleb's birthday celebration. finally now more relaxed.

here's sharing some pixs of the birthday celebration on sat. tmr caleb will turn 1 officially n will be bringing him for a photoshoot. hope it turns out well.

the cake
984785.jpg

the decor
984786.jpg

brithday boy & friends
984787.jpg

984788.jpg

Joon
DN's night feed timings r exactly like Damien's. Wonder when they will stop man. He actually slept through the 1st night we were in HK but guess he was jus too tired that day cos he woke for the next few nights....sigh

Angeline
I went Disneyland only on Fri cos Damien was too shack after we reach hotel so we waited for him to nap bout 1hr+ n changed plans. So no chance to 'bump' into u. Blur me even forgot to bring my hp to HK n didn't manage to meet my friend in HK too. Really blur huh. hehehe

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">PG</font></font>, that last minute cake looks cute! And yes! Chloe did look like she's going to slaughter it hahahah!! Do u have a pic of the cake close up? can email me so that I can add into the montage?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Selina</font></font>, Pirate theme! NICE IDEA!! So neat for a boy's birthday and Caleb's attire is so cute!! hey u too, can email me a pic of the 'happening' cake?? You're another great organiser!

<font color="0000ff">I'll be doing the bday cake montage this weekend as I'll be away after that. So for those mummies who have not shown your cake pics here, you may like to email me yah..

<font color="0000ff">brenda</font> tks for including me in the Sep thread data list. will email the pixs to you. bought a normal red/white stripe shirt n bought iron-ons for the ship on the front n pirate flag at the back.

now i somehow a bit regret cos like set std n think my friends expecting another theme party next year. a bit sressed.

<font color="0077aa">selina,</font>
what a perfect theme for a little boy! ur party looks like lotsa fun... so well-coordinated and planned! *clap*clap*clap* did all the kids get bandanas in their goodie bags? and the cake! so cool! where did u get the cake from? flavour? *smack*smack*smack*

<font color="ff6000">doreen,</font>
wah! that one night D slept through must have been bliss! hee hee... DN has slept through before (sort of... from 830pm to 5am), but it's only happened 3 times i think. *sigh* better than nothing i guess!

<font color="119911">dumpty,</font>
DN sleeps in his own cot, in his own room now, but even when he was co-sleeping with us, he still woke up at nights. :p

can i join in the my-1-yr-old-still-doesnt-sleep-thro-the-nite gang?? ethan keeps waking up at least once a nite too. really at my wits end. feel like trying the cry it out method but i think i cant tahan the crying oso leh. how??? like last nite he woke up at 4am n refuse to sleep till 5.30am when i gave him milk :p then sleep only 1 hr n he's up again at 6.30!! help!

<font color="0000ff">j@@n</font> tks. got bandanas available for those who wanted but did not include in all the goodie bags cos i did not order enf so just made do. but i bought inflatable swords, dagger & parrots, a couple each for the kids and some pirate themed toys for the goodie bags.
got the cake from vivian. her webby is www.freewebs.com/vivcakes. 2 flavours - choco & oreos. full butter cake.

Michelle,

Hahaha yun also in the dosen't sleep thru gang. Let's get them together & let them party in the nite. Yun sleep at 8.30 to 9.00pm. Wake up ard 12.00am to drink milk, sleep till 5.00am drink milk & then wake up at 6.30am.

So bored this week.. my company banned us from this site, thus can't check the forum

Dylan also on FM about 2 mths ago... initially for 2 weeks, he still wake up for feed in the middle of the nite but slowly he dropped that feed when we gave him his feed at 10pm.

He still wakes up at least once every nite for pacifier. Sometimes more when he has nightmares etc.

So maybe you all can try feeding yr babies fuller b4 they sleep?

Ya i read that if you feed your baby enough, he should be able to sleep through the night already. Hannah is also on FM from 7 months onwards after that, i can enjoy uninterrupted sleep once again. However she wakes up now and then if she feels cold but i can simply pat her back to sleep without feeding anything. I guess some babies take longer to change their feeding/sleeping pattern.

hmmm... DN is still on total BM. For DN, I know it's a habit coz my supply is quite terrible now, but after latching on for a bit, he can sleep. So for me, the problem is how (and when) to break this habit??? *sigh*

Can I ask a <font size="-2">silly</font> question?

Do you mummies still change ur babies diapers at night? Or it's 1 diaper from when they change into their jammies until they wake up the next morning?

I'm asking coz that's what I do, and occasionally, DN's diaper will leak! Sometimes in the morning, his diaper weighs like a brick, on other days, it's still very light. Just wondering what the rest of you do. (DN is wearing Nepia at night btw)

<font color="0000ff">Hi Joon
For us, we changed Dylan's diaper after his last feed at nite... usually it can last till morning. Unless he poo at 11pm plus which so far happened only once.

I thot Nepia can absorbs very well? I'm using Pet Pet or NTUC one. Nepia is for gg out.</font>

<font color="0077aa">emoments,</font>
Thanks for sharing! So u change Dylan's diaper abt 10plus? After milk, won't he want to sleep straight away? So u just change it anyway?

Oh yes! Nepia is excellent - I love it! It's just that sometimes, DN pees <font size="+2">so much!</font> Abt 9 out of 10 times, it's okay, but like last night, it leaked.

Btw, I'm going to Pine Garden again later... ordering a bday cake for my best friend. Hee...

<font color="0000ff">Hi Joon

No lah... Dylan sleeps very late... after milk, he will be alert again and wants to play on the bed. Only once or twice, he's super tired, then he fall asleep immediately after feed, but still he will wake up 1/2 hour later. His fav time is to play on the bed b4 he can sleep leh...

Pine Gardens... heehee... what flavour are you ordering? Rememeber to try the branded Cherry cake and let me know whether you like it

joon

me too, i only change Rachel's diaper immediately after last feed and last till morning. There was only once she leaked. But i think that's becos I did not secure the diaper well ?? ahah actualy I dont know, sometimes her diaper weighs a ton but still dont leak. btw, i've tried nepia and now using huggies for the nite. No prob so far.

But but .. I dont know if there is a difference between boys and gals ?

btw I have one qn. I have some samples of promil gold and rachel is taking enfagrow. Is it ok to give her promil gold for a few feeds then switch back to Enfa ?

<font color="aa00aa">ilovebabies,</font>
thanx for sharing!
hmmm... i'll try changing DN's diaper after he takes the 1130/12am feed. that'll probably eliminate the leaks... but i don't know abt eliminating his crankiness! *fingers crossed*

abt boys and girls, i think for amount of pee, shouldn't have any difference bah? how much they drink prob determines volume of pee rather than gender. but i do remember seeing before, that pampers (is it???) had special diapers for boys and girls. the absorbent patch is located in different areas in the 2 diff types of diapers. i do notice that for DN, his front of the diaper is always soaked but the back is always empty. LOL!

<font color="ff6000">ilovebabies,</font>
hmm... i think shld be ok to let her try promil gold and then go back to enfagrow. i think the only issue is --> will she like the taste of promil gold after being so used to enfagrow. let us know how it turns out!

joon
i change ethan's diapers around 9pm+ and it goes all the way till the morning, which will weigh at least 1kg by then! so far it's only leaked once, and that's cos i didnt put it on properly lah (a bit slanted to one side hee). i'm using huggies for boys, i tot only huggies does the boy/girl thing? u mean pampers oso got meh?

<font color="ff6000">Milk Powder Switching</font>
When switching milk powder,you must allow time for bb to adjust. Alot of time, ppl will say they tried a few feed with 1 brand of milk powder, then claim that bb not used to it (ie. hard stool or watery stool), so they changed to another milk powder.
By then, after changing a few brands, they finally settled on the last milk powder tried.

<font color="ff0000">REASON</font>
Not bcoz the milk powder is SUPERIOR. Its bcoz bb's stomach already used to the change of milk powder over the past 1 week or so. Thus when they on the last milk powder brand, baby is used to it.

joon, phoebe

thanks the info !

in fact i only have 2 satchets of the Promil Gold so I guess I will not have enough time to see how rachel react to it.

In that case I rather not try then.

Joon

oh when I mean gender difference, I dont mean the amt of pee lah !u so funny ...

ya gals will always wet the back of the diaper and vice versa for boys.

phoebe i wanted to ask u my fren said friso has pre and pro biotics as stated in 'mind ur body' few mths back.

but i read the label it only has prebiotics, didnt see any probiotics.

does promil has any of them?

joon, i oso change kai's diaper just before he sleeps. and last till the next day when he wakes up. im using both pampers and nepia for night. both are ok, but i find tt pampers feel full easily.

joon, ive the same prob as u. kai is still on total bm. i nurse him to sleep. sometimes in the middle of the night, he'll cry, i know he's still sleepy coz after latching him on for few secs to 1min, he'll be back to slumberland again.

i did try patting him to sleep instead, but he'll just keep crying and crying, im worried he'll be fully awake by the noise of his own cries so i'd rather latch him on.

i oso duno when i can break this habit.

ilb, no pacifier for kai since birth. i find tt this's oso not a gd habit. then i'll hv to think when he can break this pacifier habit.

my mom went overseas for holiday, so hb and i took leave during this period and had part2 celebration for kai's bday.

as u all know i didnt hv a big bash for him, in fact i saved these $$ for attending trials as i hope to let him attend one of these classes regularly.

last wk we went for marsden swim trial and kindermusik village class. more to come this wk.

swim class is ok but if i were to continue the class, i think most likely i'll go to other venues instead of the house at holland rd though i like the greenery there but i found mosquitoes there :p anyway i still hv aquaduck trial to compare w.

quite like kindermusik coz the whole lesson is songs after songs, quite therapeutatic even for me adult. i feel mood lifted and not so easily frustrated. any of u attending kindermusik regularly?

for these classes im just worried i cant make it there regularly. u know sometimes, damn tired/lazy during wkend, just dont feel like goin anywhere!!

Hi edksd,
Just checked with Wyeth, ex-working partner, Promil Gold do not have pre/pro-biotics.

But Promil Gold has 5 nucleotides that enhance production of gd bacteria in the body. Most other brands have only 4 nucleotides. Saying that, Friso also has 5 nucleotides. But cannot compare nutrient coz they are derived from different sources, thus different composition.

"Human milk contains 0.8% to 0.9% protein, 3% to 5% fat, 6.9% to 7.2% carbohydrates and 0.2% ash (minerals). Carbohydrates are mainly lactose; several lactose-based oligosaccharides have been identified as minor components. The principal proteins are casein homologous to bovine beta-casein, alpha-lactalbumin, lactoferrin, IgA, lysozyme and serum albumin. Non-protein nitrogen-containing compounds, making up 25% of the milk's nitrogen, include urea, uric acid, creatine, creatinine, amino acids and nucleotides."

In beast milk, there are many types of nucleotides, which current technology has only managed to discover and recreate them.

1 of the new nutrient - Alpha lactalbumin is found in the new formula of S26 Gold Aphla Pro.

hi phoebe, really thanx for checking it out for me. grateful

abt FM, ive totally no idea and hasnt done much research coz i wonder if kai ever needs FM (since his milk intake is so little)??

i did saw advertisement on mamil gold tt has something invented to be really close to BM. but i dun like dumex brand leh coz i often heard from others it's famous for getting "wind" in the tummy.

S26 gold alpha pro is for infant (below 1 yr) right?

hi edksd,
S26 Gold Alpha Pro is for birth to 6M.
7M-12M will take Promil Gold.
1-3Yr will take Progress Gold
3-7Yr will take Promise Gold.

<font color="0000ff">diaper</font> Caleb's been using Sealer diapers since dunno when. I swear by it. No need to change in the middle of the night and it lasts till the next day. But always very very heavy by morning. No leaks if worn properly and it comes with cute designs. Moo Moo cow print for L size. I normally stock up in bulk for convenience sake.

<font color="0000ff">FM</font> Caleb's taking Gain IQ now. no particular reason but a natural progression from Similac Stage 1 & 2.

<font color="0000ff">Sleeping thru the nite</font> Caleb has never slept thru the nite permanently but recently (hope I dun jinx myself) he has been sleeping thru without the need for milk feed in the middle of the night. No particular changes to his routine or any other thing. He just chose not to wake up.

The Bday Cakes Montage

994077.jpg

Dearest Mommies,

I'm not too satisfied with this montage and my head has been cracked into million pieces already
but will go ahead to email you.

I've also created something else but not sure how to post it here so do pop by my blog, littlegastronomy.blogspot.com, to take a glimpse at what I've specially done for our babies! Hope it'll tickle you girls to curb your Monday blues ;)

Meanwhile, do have fun with your babies, eh don't forget to put your legs up too!

First of all, a very <font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">Big Thank You</font></font> to all of you for your well wishes and encouragement! I am so touched by all your nice gestures and it really makes my day!
This preggie has not been really smooth sailing for me. Have not been eating much. What goes in just comes out less than 15 mins later.
Keeping my fingers crossed that all these will go away after my first trimester. Just a quick update after my gynae's visit on sat. I am now 8 weeks preggie. Feel excited all over again after the scan. Just reminds me of the day when I had Adele.

<font color="ff0000">emoments</font> CONGRATS to you too! Like yours, mine was an unexpected one too!hehehe!!!! Didn't really plan to have another one so soon. Have been blaming hubby for being so careless. hahaha!!!

<font color="aa00aa">Brenda</font>, your montage is great!
I have not had the time n energy to put up Adele's birthday photos in the forum. Will try to do so after my trip.

brenda, i really like the montage. it's nice! Just so nice to see all the happy birthday cakes together.
Thanks for doing it!

Sorry all, been quite caught up with life
Haven't been posting much, just recovered from Sophie's party... hahaha

HAPPY CHILDREN'S DAY TO ALL OUR KIDDOS!

<font color="0000ff">alicia</font> hang in there. i totally understand what you are going thru cos i went thru the same while having caleb. everything i eat had to come out immediately so i am practically moving around the house or outside with a plastic in toll. not the best experience but it will all be over very soon. take care and remember, eat whenever you can even if it means it had to come out but still eat ok.