(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

melissa

i saw 2 lines of pearlies .. but dunno will one pop out first follow by the other.. will take the pic and show u when the tooth are more obvious

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Angeline</font></font>, hope u don't mind me posting your qns at the blog. I just want to share with the mummies at the blog your qns and my reply

I don't puree/blend everything. But I do puree my meat all the time(except Fish) and also the veggies with fiber like beans and lentils. Most of the other stuffs I fork mash them.

Yes to my understanding, it's good to let our babies practise gnawing. Just to add on, <font color="ff0000">Buttons</font> asked me when she saw my pasta post(http://littlegastronomy.blogspot.com/search/label/Pasta) if my pasta was too 'big' for A to swallow. I told her A can gnaw quite well and I cook my pasta till it's very soft. And starting from 2 weeks ago, I cook all her veggies just 'right', like the way I cook for adult's, there's still some crunchiness in the veggies in view of losing less nutrients.

And today we went for Julia Gabriel's class and she was given some cookies and I was so glad that she managed to self feed them all. Finally! bcos I've been trying to make her self feed but she always end up playing with the food than putting into the mouth. The cookies broke into bits and she was eating them like she has teeth. So now I can bake some for her.. :p

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Alicia</font></font>, for your P/S msg, I supposed you use positive words like err, instead of "Please do not bring your child if he or she is not feeling well or just fully recovered (say the day b4 the party)."

maybe something like this?
"Please ensure that your child is at his/hers pinkest health state when attending the party."

And also I think can do away with:
"I am sure you wouldn't want your child to catch the germs while playing with other children. Appreciate your understanding."

Cos I'm sure all parents do know this la.. heh

Just my PR-ish suggestions
heehee

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Smiley</font></font>, heehee it's ok la.. now then we can show, in some years to come, need to charge! hee just kidding! Thanx for your compliments! Your C is a beautie herself!!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Melissa</font></font>, heh thanks, but beauty queen ahh no la.. maybe noisiest queen! so how's the tumtum coming along? Still having morning sickness?

<font color="119911"><font size="+1">Smiley</font></font>, Thanks for your advice on my p.s. message! It certainly makes me less worrying that I would offend anyone if I do intend to put it in my invite card.

<font color="ff0000">SEP 06 BBs BDAY BASH!</font>
1. Alicia - Sat or Sun is fine for me
2. Jerene - All day Sun (if Sat, cannot be between 3pm to 6pm, I hv another friend's party to attend! Pai say...)
3. PG - Either Sat or Sun (whole day)
4. Brenda - Either Sat or Sun
5. Peachie - Sunday (whole day)
6. Jamie - Sat or Sun
7. Phoebe - Sat or Sun
8. Smiley - Sat or Sun
9. Selina - Sat or Sun (prefer sat though)

Hi ladies, if you all dun mind, I hope to join the bash too. but if there are any objections, it's alright too.

<font color="119911">Alicia</font>, if people understand your good intentions, no one would find it offensive lah. Don't worry

<font color="ff0000">ilovebabies</font>, are you coming for the bash as well? I want to see R again in real person!! Heehee..

<font color="0000ff">selina</font>, come come, why would anyone mind or object??
It's a party for the babies..

Smiley

most likely i will not be joining in the bday bash. will be busy during AUg - sept period. beside having my Rachel's bday celebration, I have to attend many others Sept babies celebration as well !! i think my weekends are full !

brenda,
no prob with posting the question on the blog. Phew, good to know that eating pieces of food is fine. T has been self feeding fruits, puffs and crackers. In fact, I an trying to teach her to use the fork now. I will cut the soft fruits like peach, papaya, banana, etc.... into pieces and will use the fork to poke for her. She will then take the fork and direct the fruit into her mouth.

Yes pls do proceed with the cookie baking and don't forget to share the recipe on your blog. I love baking too, but don't know if the adult recipes are good for babies too cos they seem to have lots of sugar in them.

I am just dying to have T playing with the dough and us cooking together.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Selina</font></font>, sure! the more the merrier for me!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Angeline</font></font>, I guess we can let our bbs try almost everything just have to be wary when they're feeding themselves. Also, it's essential for us to read up on what we should do if our babies choke. I'll be sending my helper to a first aid course, thought it'll be good for her to know..

I can't wait to get to baking cookies for A as well.. I'll be improvising the adult's recipe
I'm going to try no sugar and no egg whites, and to use unsalted organic butter and greek yogurt! See how A likes it.. heh

Mommies who have stopped breastfeeding,
How long does it take before your well dries up? I have stopped for a week, but suddenly today I feel engorged. Tried latching Hannah in the morning but she bite it many times and refuse to latch like she normally does. I didn't pump it out b'cos I don't want to encourage milk production anymore. Could this be colostrum for the new baby or does it actually take longer for the well to dry up? I'm only like 7 weeks. A bit early to be developing milk for the newborn right?

melissa

i stop b4 it dried completely. I only managed to pump like 20-30ML from one side and i am already pumping at long intervals. I am not comfy with the idea of having too much foremilk in my EBM so I stopped. And also because I am not feeling engorged.

I dont know why you will feel engorged now but I suggest that you dont latch hannah now. Cos I dont know if your body is still producing milk so what's left in there may not be err ... fresh ? ahhaha ... and also .. it may contains lotsa foremilk.

Maybe you shld express it out but dont empty it completely to encourage milk production.

my 2 cents worth ...

<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Selina</font></font>, of coz we would love to have you and Caleb joining the bash!

<font color="ff0000">SEP 06 BBs BDAY BASH</font>

<font color="0000ff">Mommies who have signed up, please note that for MyGym, the price of $688 is based on 20 babies. We can still go ahead with it even if we have less than 20 but they will not reduce the costs. It seems that forum has been pretty quiet these few days. So far, we have only 10 babies joining. If we are not able to have at least 20 babies, each baby would have to pay more depending on the final no of babies attending. In this case, are you all still agreeable to have the bash at MyGym? We need to confirm the slot with them asap and put a $100 non refundable deposit.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Alicia</font>

i'm ok with mygym. so its confirmed on sun? then i will arrange my other birthday gathering on sat.

ilovebabies,
now when you squeeze, got milk come out or not. you're right, if you don't pump for so long, a lot of foremilk come out. but i don't think it's bad leh, it's full of antibodies, it's just less nutritious and not fattening. anyway i have stopped bringing pump to work for a long time already, so now my boobs are throbbing! argh!

yeah nowadays the board seems quite quiet leh?

Hi Alicia,

I am fine with MyGym too! Thanks for organising!

Since you'd asked about the cake earlier, maybe I share share with you what I managed to ask Sabreena (owner of the cake company) over my email this morning. Guess I will be getting baby friendly cakes for Clarence's first birthday after all. The question now is which cake should I go for.
What you gals think???

Email from me:

Do you know which of your cakes are more suitable for babies of 11-12months? I think nuts and honey may trigger an allergic reaction for babies that age. Do you know if there is anything else I should look out for? Can you also bake your cake to a bigger size (maybe 2-3kgs)such that it is enough to feed 100pax (everyone gets a small slice each)?

Sabreena's reply:
I just left a message on your voice mail. Please find attached cake menu for your perusal.

I would suggest the Really Chocolate cake ( the most popular for kids), Peach Upside Down, Pineapple Upside Down or Vanilla Date for toddlers.

Unfortunately, the cakes are a standard size, you may wish to order 2 or 3 cakes which will give some variety. All the cakes are over 1 kg each.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Hi Mummies, long time never come in. Just come in to said hi. Have been busy with my work, no time to read through all previous posts. Hope i never miss out much interesting post and update.

Melissa, heard that if you pregnant while breastfeed, your breastmilk will become quite yellow like colostrum, but not sure abt engorgement that u facing.

<font color="aa00aa">thank you everyone. will be happy to have Caleb meet all the gor gors, jie jies, di dis and mei meis here. hope more bbs will be joining too.</font>

might not be able to login from next week until after national day cos will be in KL & BKK so if anything is required of the party, plse sms me. Tks.

msapple,
wow long time no see? what's Arnabel's latest update? I remember she was one of the first to crawl. has she walked yet? how many teeth? lol. hey you're right. today i was so engorged and I tried latching Hannah again but she bite me again so I manually expressed and found out that my milk is slightly yellowish. since i've had breast abscess before, i'm not sure if the milk has been contaminated by pus. anyway hannah has stopped taking my milk. she basically weaned herself off.

dear Melissa,
To avoid engrogement and possible blocked ducts and infection, I would suggest that you don't suddenly stop both latching and pumping. Why don't you try gradually 'decreasing the demand', so that the supply will be gradually lowered.

For my case, (I was total pumping, without latching) I used to pump for 30 mins, so I gradually shorten the pump time to 20 mins, down to 10 mins, then to 5 mins. I also lengthen the pump interval. Used to pump 6 times a day, down to 4 times, then to 2, then to 1 time, then stop.

How long the whole process takes will vary from person to person. If you feel very engroge, just pump out a little to relieve the engrogement. If you can 'lun' the pain, just hang on in there and pump only when you feel its necessary and only to relieve pain, and not empty totally.

The important point to note is to avoid blocked ducts which may cause infection.

Congrats Melissa...

Btw, if the milk really turns yellow, is it still suitable for Hannah to drink?

Did your gynea say when you must stop bf?

Angeline,
Wow you're like writing a letter to me hor. Thank you so much for your advice.
With Regards,
Melissa.. hahaha

emoments,
Thanks. since it has turned yellow, I did not let her drink it anymore. My gynae didn't stop me from breastfeeding though but I had already stopped latching since a few days ago. Now based on everyone's advice, i'm slowly expressing a little to relief engorgement.

<font color="0000ff">Alicia</font>, I am so sorry I may pull out from the birthday bash after discussing with my hubby last night. Sorry other mummies too! Hope you will enjoy the bday bash! Thanks Alicia for organising anyway, appreciate your effort!

<font color="ff0000">Meliisa</font>, Hannah wean off your breasts by herself? That's good isn't it? I am still cracking my head how to wean C off.

<font color="119911">msapple</font> Hi! Hi! How's Amabel and pretty mum doing?

hi everone!
still remmeber me?? i long time no post cos been busy settling down here in melbourne. anyway i do ocassionally still drop by here to read but hardly post lah. hope u and all your bb are doing fine! love to look at all the cute bb photos to keep them coming yah?

melissa
wat angeline said is correct. slowly decrease the duration of each pump and also increase the interval between each pump session. this way your milk ss will slowly dwindle. mine took about 2 wks to stop, but only after like 2 mths then it REALLY stopped (ie when squeeze no drop of milk comes out at all). hang in there - i'm sure you'll get over this stage soon

btw, for those of you who are in suspense over who is the M sep mommy who is preggie, its me lah :p so now u all can stop wrecking ur minds trying to guess who! hee hee. bb is due in jan next yr. i still dunno whether boy or girl cos in oz, they only scan u 2 times during a pregnancy - once at 12 wks n the other detailed scan at 20wks. so i will only know in another 2 mths time! i miss 'seeing' my bb every mth - last time in spore so shiok, every mth get to see what the bb is doing inside
guess i took it for granted huh!

anyway here's ethan's latest photo just to share.. can u imagine him being a gor gor next yr?? i cant... cos he still behaves like a baby!!

897028.jpg

congrats MICHELLE!!!
happy pregnancy! u r delivering again in a few mths time.
enjoy while u still can...

i love ethan's top!!! and he looks so cute & so chubby! i wanna pinch his cheeks! most babies lost their chubbiness as they grow older... Ethan din..

emoments,
there is still 1 more mystery... i rem one mummy mentioned 2 Ms and 1 P...? issit P or other alphabet? cant rem...
anyway i am sure the mummy will reveal when she wants to.

michelle!
So it was you huh!!! Hey are you in Aussie for good? Congratulations!!!! Think Ethan look like a big boy already!! Anyway I'm very excited for you too! And thanks for the neh neh info!!!

jrt,
Next one is R lah. but we'll wait for her to reveal it herself if she wants liao!

thks for all the well wishes
yup i'm in my 2nd tri now - 15wks

melissa,
congrats to u too!!! any morning sickness this time round? i kena a bit.. last time with ethan dont hv at all - such a blessing i didnt raelise! anway u still remember ethan n hannah share the same birthday? 14 sep rite? i think its such a coincidence that both of us are now preg again! yes, i'm in oz and i hope its for gd! trying to start anew life here lor.. so starting job hunt, house hunt, everything all over again. but its nice to see ethan enjoying himself here. he esp loves the weather

my guess about who the other preggie sep mom is riushiki (or smthg like dat). cos u all say start with R rite? has she been posting here often?

phoebe
no worries - actually i just wanted to let u knw that i'll be asking someone else to collect the creams fr u cos BM has smthg to attend to n wont be collecting on my behalf lah. will email u again yah?

michelle,
yes of course i remember Hannah and Ethan has the same birthday..think Cereal too. and you gave birth in Gleneagles too right? i remember you had shorter labor then I did b'cos you took the injection early! haha so I learnt that from you and will remind myself to take the injection early. i will not do epidural again. hopefully 2nd time labor is faster, i heard it's supposed to be easier. what's the update for Ethan? what can he do now? yeah i have morning sickness, worse this time! dunno if I will have another girl or boy, hopefully boy lah. than just nice.

msapple,
yooohooo are you there?? what's the update about Arnabel?

Melissa, usually if you pregnant and still breastfeeding, the baby will wean off themselves cos the BM taste become different which most of the baby dun like. I already gradually decreased to 1 pump per day of abt 200ml and I dont feel engorgement anymore.

Congrats to Michelle. Ethan so chubby and cute. Yah i like his top too.

Smiley, me and amabel are fine, she become more and more mischevious, but me very busy with my work

melissa
yah ur memory is gd! i did deliver at gleneagles too. but i took the injection only when it was too late for epidural! so not really that early oso lah. i dunno whther its effective if u take it too early anway. i relied on laughing gas till buay tahan lor :p i was just thinking i probably having a girl this time cos this preg is so differnt fr my 1st! but then, this kind of thing not 'zun' one lah so still gotta wait patiently for my scan hee hee. would be nice to hv 1 boy 1 girl hor? like u said, just nice! anyway ethan now can crawl very fast lor. he cant really say anything but babbles all the time. gets angry when he doesnt get his way n will scream at the top of his voice, still doesnt know how to wave bye bye yet. cannot self feed oso. give him small bits of food he just stare at it or play wif it. dunno how to put in his mouth :p

eling
u like ethan's top too? well u shd come to australia cos there are so many of this kind of design n cheap too! i paid only $5 for it ;)

A little update on my girl. Amabel know how to clap hand if ask to, or clap to show her happiness. If she don't want anything like drink milk, or eat etc, she will 'Yao yao tou', shake her head to show that she don't want. She knows she need to wave 'byebye' whenever people do that to her. She will raise her hand up to high 5 when a person want to. She likes to imitate people making sound using the tongue, that go 'tak-tak-tak'. And she knows how to point at things. Today she learned to french kiss. A bad thing she learned is she like to purposely throw things on the floor, keep throwing and throwing. Can self feed biscuit.

Michelle, wow $5 is damn cheap for such a nice top.

msapple,
french kiss involve tongue or not? hehehe. my hannah can wave bye bye and sway her butts when listening to commercial music. self feed no problem too, can even open some of my containers to get the cake inside. i think she learns very fast b'cos my mom is also babysitting my niece and nephew aged 7 adn 3 respectively. so she learns by observing. now can fight for toy with my 3-yr old nephew.

michelle,
are you planning to give birth in aussie? who's taking care of ethan now? hey i heard that boys development are a bit slower than girls but they can catch up very fast. after all, they're physically superior. like you, if i get a boy this time, i can also close shop hehe. think u will get girl lah since your pregnancy is different. mine is the same but worse, so probably another girl.

today the board cannot see the sept posts again, luckily i bookmark this site, then can go direct.

Melissa, wahaha ... french kiss as in giving a flying kiss lah. keke! Heard that while breastfeed and pregnant, mostly likely the baby will be girl... erm... but i dunno how true is that

Do anyone here baby will shout back if you scold them?

msapple,
don't tell me Arnabel will shout back? wah so small oredi so rebellious huh? hehehe. i try to minimize shouting if possible. but if i'm angry, i will scold her and she will cry. will want me to carry her instead. sooo manja.

hey it's friday ley. where's the rest of the mommies???

<font color="0000ff">msapple and Melissa</font>, Clarisse will cry if I scold her. She Will cry like she's very miserable till tears rolling down her cheeks and eyes all red. Heehee... quite a funny sight. And I cannot pretend to smack her when she's fussy. She will cry even louder too. Babies these days..

yeah and if babies cry like that, my heart pain liao but what to do, must teach discipline since young! she cannot have everything her way. i'm going to become quite a strict mommy! ha!

Melissa and Smiley, when we told her off and show her our angry face when she did something wrong, she will either shout at us or turn away act no see us angry and if we continued to stare at her you will look at us again and shout at us. She is really very naughty, aready complained by many people. My in law all buay tahan her. She no scare people one

hai... of cos i worry, now dunno whether to beat or not to beat her if she rebel again. My hubby said is my fault cos she follow me. :p
What u mean by is she used to playing alone? She can play along for awhile only, you give her a toy she can only play for awhile then wanna change to play other things if not she will fuss. But she damn happy to play with other kids or people. Basically must keep her entertain lah.
To me she is hyperactive, she cannot quitely sit for long, she will move here and there, even wanna sleep also must toss here and there and show a somersault stunt for abt half an hour before she fall asleep. She even fight back when i stop her from snatch away my glasses.

E-ling,
Did you check to see how are the adults' behaviour like when they are taking care of Amabel (eg. your maid). Babies usually learn by observation and copy the behaviour of the pple that they see. Perhaps, you can try talking to Amabel ask her not to shout, and request her caretakers, also not to 'shout' when 'scolding' Amabel, but just to talk sternly in a more serious tone.

I am against the idea of beating. I think it gives the wrong message. If we beat baby when we are not happy with her behaviour, are we teaching baby to beat us when they are not happy with ours? (Eg. when we take away their toys).

msapple,
yes i agree with Angeline, don't beat her wor. so poor thing. just be stern and consistent ok and don't shout back. try to be stern and talk softly so that hopefully she can immitate you. how's that?

hey no worries my Hannah scream on top of her lungs if i snatch some things like my spectacle away from her too. but i won't scream. i open my eyes big big and say no, u cannot take my specs! must remember that children learn by parents' example.

Angeline, couldn't be the maid, cause she never scold her one, the most she will said cannot like this and that..., think the maid even more patient toward Amabel than me.
We never shout at Amabel, I just scold in a serious tone (of cos not scream) and stare at her with a serious look but hai....
No lah thinking of beat as in lightly pat her hand and said cannot lah, cannot bear to really beat her, baby is such a doll. And Of cos not to beat her at this age lah since she is still troddler and she dont understand anything yet. And my hubby very against people beating children also, he always said children and teenager must nicely talk to them, cannot use beat one. Hope I can control if she still show rebellious when she grow up.

Hahaha.. msapple, I remember Amabel being very active at the gathering.. Your maid carried her throughout the gathering and she was "jumping and jumping"... and can see from her eyes she's the curious and alert type of baby!

My colleague was telling me "you think your problems are big now, wait till your baby is mobile!!" I can imagine that already...

<font color="ff0000">SEP 06 BBs BDAY BASH ON 26 AUG</font>

I have tentatively booked the slot at MyGym on 26 Aug (Sun) from 5:30pm to 7:30pm. Is this timing OK for all of you? They have another timing which is 3 to 5pm but coz most of our babies would be taking nap during noon so I took the other slot. Do let me know if u prefer the earlier timing but it would be subject to availability. Also, please advise what kind of theme you would like to have at the bash? My suggestion is either winnie the pooh or mickey mouse & friends since this is more neutral not too boyish or girlish.

So lets countdown to the <font color="aa00aa"><font size="+2">"PARTY OF THE YEAR"</font></font> for our SEP babies!

<font color="0000ff">Alicia</font>

Thanks for organising. i'm also ok with the earlier slot. Looking forward to meeting those mums & their little ones whom i hv not met!