(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Melody</font></font>, oh I see.. mmm for me, I'm not sure if they can understand better at 2 years though.. I just think that before 1, they're still BABY! heh..

And I'm beginning to miss A's babyish-ness
don't you? hmmm.. so small so nice to carry last time..

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Mummies, any silly poses of your babies? Wanna do a montage of it?</font></font>

Ling
I think Damien n Sophie still look alike at some angles jus that D is chubbier. See.
btw did u trim Sophie's hair?

869576.jpg

N this is 1 of my fav recent pic of him.
Damien jus went for his 9mths checkup n he weights 9.8kg at 70cm. Alittle on the short side so he looks chubbier.
869577.jpg

melissa
hee... plus size model very in for babies... hee...

doreen
damien is so cute... ya look a bit alike hee... he's not short lah, just chubbier... good good!

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">Melissa</font></font>, WAHHH!!
Finally a Sep mummy is going for 2nd! Keep us updated yah..

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">Doreen</font></font>, eh! Damien's 2nd pic is funny! I take the 2nd one for the funny pose can? Your pics a bit blur blur, try to focus by pressing and holding down the snap button for a longer time when capturing a pic. Try ok?

winniekok, i heard apples can cause constipation. why not try pears, rockmelon/honeydew and more water? try yogurt also, and baby massage.... J used to have constipation probs too.

Melissa, OMG!!! CONGRATS! is it planned? when EDD?

jrt and ling, what recipe with tofu and meat? i din see leH!

ilovebabies, angeline, melody, how do you train ur babies to drink from straw??? i tried training him from sippy cup and he dun like it too much, have been persisting for some time oredi but not much improvement leh. cannot imagine straw.
he will suck a bit on the sippy cup. but made a face when the water comes out. being worried that he not taking enough water this way, i always give in and either feed by bottle or by spoon. i shld perserve this weekend! coz i dun want him to think if he dun like, mommy will give in. right?

thanks thanks i am panicking dunno what to do i am still latching and pumping wonder if it will affect the fetus but i have history of miscarriages before. calling doc to make appointment already. i've checked twice using clearblue compact. got two lines so obvious liao. nervous nervous. my mom nagging now got more children to take care of (now got 3)! do maid agencies got part-time maids that don't live in one?? think she cannot cope leh.

buttons,
accident lah! edd around mid March. we planning to wait till Hannah is at least one year old but seems that God has better plans. but not so bad lah hor since my hubby not so young anymore. he's 35 already! how old are your husbands ah? suddenly i'm curious.

melissa

congrats !! it is a blessing to have ur 2nd one and take good care of your health. Continue to BF, but seek advice from your gynae. Even if you have to stop, you have did a wonderful job in BF hannah for at least 9 mths right ?
869970.gif

Buttons

persevere !! once Rachel can drink from sippy cup, i stop giving water via bottle. Similarly now that she can drink from straw, i stopped sippy cup.

my mum taught me the method to train bb to drink from straw.

if you want msn me lah.. very lor soh to talk here .. or maybe Angeline can share her story ... she could be more efficient.

Oh but but but .. the underlying principle is to be very very patient. I think i took 4 attempts to successfully trained Rachel. I stop once she is about to get irritated for each attempt.

ilovebabies!
hey hey no explanation is too lor soh hokkay! i want to know your mom taught you to drink from straw. can explain here? pretty please?
trying to introduce straw cup to Hannah too.

ILB
i am v keen to noe how u train. coz R has been using sippy cup (for water only) for over a mth, and he still dun drink as much when it comes to drinking fr milk btl. in the end, my mum & ILs always give in to milk btl coz he drinks so much more fr there. i thot since he din like sippy cup, i will 'upgrade' him to straw last wk. no improvement and this boy dunno how to suck, coz the straw is too thin, whereas sprout/teats/nipple all 'fatter'... when u MSN buttons, can u PM me how u do it? thks.

Melissa
<font color="ff0000">CONGRATS!!</font> how fun to b pregnant again! missed pregnancy days but i cant imagine conceiving anytime soon... hv my hands full with one alrdy!

Doreen
D so cute! wow! he is nearing 10kg! love his chubby michelin arms! so many layers!
and the 2nd pix, is he 'roaring' at u? seemed like u did sthg to irritate him and thus such an expression. so cute!!!

buttons
the recipe in ling's blog lah.

melissa!
OH MY!!!! Congrats!!! So exciting! Haha my hub is also the same age as yours, not old lah... hee

buttons
the steamed tofu n minced meat recipe is on my blog w photos... didn't post here coz my cooking a bit unorthodox one
, didn't want to confuse mummies here. But here's the recipe if you want, can see the pic on my blog.

Steamed tofu with minced pork & veggies.

To make:

1. Mash Organic Tofu (Unicurd, purple one). Scoop four portions onto plate.

2. Mince pork and scoop onto the tofu.

3. Chop carrots and onions and scoop onto the tofu. Can add chopped spinach too but i forgot.

4. Steam for 10-15 mins, making sure that meat is cooked and carrots are soft.

5. Cook a hard boiled egg and take out the egg yolk. Chop into bits and sprinkle on top of the steamed tofu pieces.

5. Serve as is with porridge or use Pigeon bowl to mash if meat pieces are too large. For younger babies, can puree. But Sophie can handle as it so I norm just mash.

jRT
How was your grocery shopping yesterday?
Still off day today?

ilb
ya.... can you type out the instructions here? I wanna learn too... Am the same as buttons n jRt. sophie drinks too little from the sippy cup so i returned to bottle/spoon. The other thing that worked for a while was to make her drink from sippy cup while in the bathtub bathing, somehow she drank more.

err ok ok ..

here's how I do it

1) you suck some water from the cup
2) use your finger to press onto the straw so some water (not too little) is trap in the tip of the straw
3) push the remaining water in the straw to bb
4) bb will know that the water comes up in that direction
5) show bb how to suck (do the sucking action)
6) bb starts to suck !

my mum says can use very diluted ribena to entice the bb... but i thought gripe water is a better choice. Anyway I use plain water only.

good luck !

Ling

from what I know, bb is very thirsty when they wake up in the morning and after bath. So i "attacked" during these period, then Rachel will take in lotsa water.

ilb
ooooooo good idea! Thanks so much... will try it later. You think if we just use a normal straw it'll work as well or need to be the sippy cup type straw?

my experience with sippy cup:

rachel was ok with avent sippy cup, with the anti slip valve on to prevent spillage. after 1 mth, she lost interest in the sippy cup because she knows she has to suck harder to get the water out. So she prefers cup or feed via spoon. but then she will drink lesser water and take a longer time.

So i flip the valve so water will flow from the sippy cup even without sucking. then Rachel will drink.

how abt u gals ?

for those of u whose bb sleeps on mattress on the floor, can i ask did u buy those normal single bedded mattress or any special mattress?

i wanted to replace the one at my mom's place, not sure if i shld buy those specially for bb mattress. coz i find tt the normal single bedded mattress seems like v soft leh.

hi Ling, not sure just that protein not reccc during initial stage of weaning lah. just have to make sure its a balance meal? coz both tofu and meat contains proteins right? maybe can balance off with a pure vegge meal for dinner? hehehe. I feed J tofu for one week and stay off it for the other week hehe.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">ilovebbs</font></font>, oh! yah ahh, I didn't think of that.. so that means the water still flows as per normal just assisted by the 'sippy' so that it won't all come out at once right? Brilliant! I'm going to try later, thanks!

Ilovebb,
Haa. you coming up with your instruction guide to ' Teach your bb to sip from straw'. Good one!

I guess take a shorter straw than those normal straw we use when we trying. At least, when they try sucking.. not much air gets into their tummy and also motivates them if some water does get to their mouth easily, juz by one suck.

Happy TESTING... and like ilovebb says, Patience!

brenda

<font size="+2"><font color="aa00aa">EXACTLY !!</font></font>

Littlepony

ehe ya lor .. share the tips mah !! my mum says it worked for me and my siblings !

<font color="0000ff">Melissa</font>
That's wonderful news! Three kids will be a handful indeed but brings forth so much more joy and delight to the household. Congratulations!!

<font color="0000ff">Doreen</font>
9.8kg?! Good job lah! But doesnt your shoulders and back hurt? I so dig that pix of Damien!!

<font color="0000ff">edksd</font>
I only recently put alexis to sleep on a mattress, before that she was sleeping in between hubby and I. We are glad we did so as it appeared baby sleep a lot better on the mattress (probably because no one next to her toss and turn!). Anyway right now we are using a normal single bedded mattress. Her cot mattress is the special kind though. What about your little one?

<font color="0000ff">Straw cup</font>
I tried your method <font color="0000ff">ilovebabies</font>, a couple of times before but it doesnt seem to work, guess I just need to be more patient. I even sucked in my cheeks and make really loud sucking nosies and she thinks it is a joke! Right now, alexis is using sippy cup for water and milk bottle for milk (duh!)...

<font color="0000ff">Ling ah Ling</font>
Thanks for the steamed tofu recipe, sounds yummy to me...maybe I will cook extra for hubby and me...since I just bought some of those organic tofu.

<font color="0000ff">Brenda</font>
I want to partake in the silly faces montage but my monkey is one serious looking babe, cannot even get her to smile often, much less a silly pose. Sigh! And all the other babies in this forum are so good-looking and looks like they are always having fun, so envious!!

<font color="aa00aa">Melissa</font>,
CONGRATS!!!!!!!!!! This is TRULY a piece of GOOD News!!!!!!!!

Sssssssssssssoooooooooooooo HAPPY FOR YOU!!!

Do keep us posted and take care!!!

<font color="ff0000">Melissa</font>, <font color="aa00aa">CONGRATS!</font>, Do keep us posted of your progress. Enjoy your pregnancy!

<font color="0000ff">Brenda</font>, Does this qualify for your funny pose montage? hehehe...

870509.jpg

<font color="0000ff">Jerene</font>
Ya.Guess we all have to be very patient with our own kids lor. I believe one day, they will know how.. juz a matter of time and their own personal development. Haa! You suck in your cheeks? that's so funny. hey, u don't be the one ending up with lots of air in your stomach hor!!!

edksd,
I have brought a coiled spring mattress. Per my understanding it would be good to choose a medium-firm mattress and not the hard type of mattress.

Just ensure that the mattress is firm enough to support the baby bone and their development as they grow.

To all the beautiful Sept mommies, thanks for your well-wishes. I already made appointment with gynae 3 weeks from now. Decided to stick with the same gynae and same hospital b'cos service is excellent. But got one prblem liao, i am into my new job and still haven't obtained confirmation. Looks like I have to guai guai behave and keep low profile until I obtain confirmation, which is 6 months! Sigh.

jerene,
Eh this will be my second ley. If Brenda is pregnant again, that will be her third! Hahaha. Most Sept mommies here have 1 kid yeah.
Hey my Hannah was serious too until she reached 9 months suddenly personality changed, so playful and full of expressions. I guess your time will come soon! Just keep your camera ready!

Mrs Alicia See,
That qualifies as funny!!! Cute but funny!! Haha.

Sha,
i long time no see you post. you must be lurking huh. notty girl.

jrt,
You missed pregnancy? Me too but when reality kicks in i am nervous! I feel like i betrayed Hannah leh? dunno why?? Poor girl she's still so young!

edksd,
Hannah sleeps on the mattress with the edges fold-up. dunno how to describe. It's single size and it's made of thick foam. Since she's such an active sleeper, she can roll from one side to another. She like it there. But quite costly leh, about $120. and it's blue so it looks like she's sleeping in a fish tank hehe. Anyway you can just buy normal thick form mattress, b'cos Hannah still can prison break. She could also crawl her way back in! How's Kai's sleeping pattern? Hannah can sleep 7 hours straight already. but sometimes still wake up at night for neh neh.

ilovebabies,
Hey that's not so lor soh after all! I understand it completely! Will try on Hannah later! Thanks!

Do Ric Mien,
Wahahahaa Damien so chubby! I like!! Can I bite him? pls pls pls?? Hey you're right yours and Ling's kinda look alike in some angels. Hannah and Rachel used to look alike in some angels too but now both got distinct looks ha!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Jerene</font></font>, she's probably just another very observant kid.. Just keep snapping, I'm sure you'll get one yah..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Alicia</font></font>, that's also super funny la!! heehee.. her lil nose is so cringy!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Melissa</font></font>, share with us how u found out le? what were the FIRST signs besides the common menses no arrival??! did u 'feel' it? When I realised my appetite was very good, I was cock sure that I was pregnant and I went to my Gynae straight without using those pharmacy test kits. And only to find out I was already 12 weeks with Arianne!

Yah, I think I know how u feel about Hannah now.. we're also planning for our 2nd but whenever I'm in such thoughts and when I look at Arianne, I feel the reluctance.. hmmmm

Brenda,
Oh yeah i forgot you more experienced mommy leh!! My sign was crampiness for 3 days in a row so for those days, i used my pad no bleeding liao and my boobs were tender and nipples hurting. I tot it's b'cos of PMS lor but u know lah u will have that nagging feeling. Then a few days before my hubby told me he dreamt about us having another baby. So i tested yesterday midnight. Skali the test line come out first. So shocked! This morning I tested with Clearblue got the same nice two lines again so confirm lor. Tell me what do you feel about your first girl was it Chloe? How old was she then? I told my mom and she scolded me u know! She said Hannah still so small why I go have another one. Aiyoh i feel so paisey. Anyway I got history of miscarriages dare not get too excited.

Hi moms,

Hey, this forum is so quiet! I am done with my course at last! So popping in to kaypoh...

Phoebe,

Thanks for following up with our orders with BD! how much do I owe you? When is it convenient for me to pop over and collect my California Baby stuffs? SMS me can?

Jerene,

Thanks for all the lobangs!!!
You are fantastic! You have contacts for everything and anything!

Alexis so cute! I am sure you can get a smiley pic soon!

Hi Melissa,

CONGRATULATIONS!!!! Wow!!!

It's a very ideal gap, really. To be honest, I have always felt that if one intend to have more than one, then the gap should be closer such that the kids can grow up together. There will be a 1.5 years gap right? Very ideal!

Let us know any updates after your gynea visit yah?

To all moms,

Keep all the baby pics coming!!! I love them!

Here's my contribution... Brought Clarence to The Little Gym trial class on 23rd June. I found these 2 pics quite hilarious!

Start of Class - Mommy, can you walk faster??? We're gonna be late!
870874.jpg

End of Class - I am SOOOO tired....
870875.jpg

melissa, i think some of the mummies here hv got the same mattress as u.

actually i dun quite get wat u all mean by sleeping thru.

most of the time kai will sleep ard 9-11pm. then all the way to next morning 7-9am. but in between he'll make noise (but mostly w still closed eyes), so i just nurse hm back to sleep as he's sleeping in betw us.

is tt considered sleeping thru?

buttons
you mean you feed jovann tofu the whole week n then you don't the following week is it?

jerene
no prob! Hope you like it! I norm give sophie first and then the rest we'll eat, can put maggie sauce/soya sauce. Yummy!

peachie
haha the photos of clarence so cute! hahah he must have been super tired after the class...

melissa
heh super excited for you! I'm only planning next year, i think...

<font color="0000ff">Melissa</font>
Pai say, pai say, I must be old, how could I get the no. of children wrong?! Sorry!! I know it is too soon to ask but are you hoping for a son this time round??
I certainly my little peanut suddenly develop a more cheerful personality and soon! I mean she does smile and laugh but so infrequently it is hard to catch.

<font color="0000ff">littlepony</font>
Air in stomach = excuse for sporting a belly (tummy implies small concex, belly implies looking preggie again!)

<font color="0000ff">Alicia</font>
Adele looks very well indeed! Can't wait to see you and her this Sunday...

<font color="0000ff">Those who place babies on mattress on floor next to bed</font>
Since I just started this habit, may I ask if anyone of you or your hubby ever nearly step on the baby by accident in the middle of the night on the way to loo or something? It will be my biggest nightmare if so...

<font color="0000ff">Brenda</font>
I sure hope you are right...I find that the digi camera has a slower response time than the conventional camera or maybe it is just the sony I am using...

Phoebe,

So Pai Seh.. Finally, transferred the money to you. Can you please check. BTW, i have used up all the 30 cubes !!!

Dumpty,
Hey, sent you a mail. Can you check was regards to your msn request. The one that i sent is not the same as the one you mentioned though. Let me know ya.

Regards to the straw hor, i think just give Gabriel more practice. We let Cayden tried when he was 7 mths plus and surprisingly, he is able to drink from the straw after 2 tries .. now we are training him to drink from cup which is messy messy
.. BTW, My mum initially was not keen to let Cayden drinks from straw as well. She seems to have the impression that baby should drink from bottle till at least 1 ?!?

Ah Ling ah, that photo of Sophie is so unlike her !!!! my impression of dear Sophie is always the gentle little baby
hehehe

Jerene, was just talking to Ivy about you
as went there for haircut during lunch time!

Edksd, I am also using spring coil mattress. It is thicker but I feel that it gives better support. We bought that as I think Cayden likes to sleep on our bed instead of his babysafe mattress.. haha, So we decided to buy him his own spring mattress when he was 3 mths old (and we stopped having him on our bed)!

BM, you still bu she de come home har?!? ;p

Peachie, that two photos are so funnie !! the gym class really tired him out har?

MELISSA
CONGRATS girl!!! must keep us updated ok. dun worry abt "betraying" hannah. in time to come when u see her playing happily with her sibling, that kind of joy is undescribable! of cos here we r praying that they can play together all the time not fighting all the time like my boys!! arrrrgh!! everyday im fire fighting. but of cos there r happy moments when they so love each other :p

hey mommies, melissa is the 2nd sept mommy who is preg lah. u have nt guess correctly who is the first hehehe....

BM
The first mommy: Is it you?!
Actually I was wondering the same as yen. How come this BM still bu she de some home??!

Peachie
You are making me blush! Sorry abt forgetting abt the issue of transport, I was too excited this afternoon...

Yen
Nothing bad I hope! So pleased with your new hair style or was it just a trim? Ivy is a good stylist I think, as she has many regulars...