(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

CHEEKZ
yes its not easy to train maids esp if u only have 3 mths. furthermore not all maids r teachable! my theory for maids is to treat them nice but not spoil them. and to me, i wont buy a tv for her cos thats spoiling. but thats in my humble opinion lah. cos im an indo so i know these maids characters v well. brenda's suggestion is good. leave rae with her and tell her u be coming back at a certain time but come back earlier. hv u tried to leave rae with her? u shld "train" both the maid n rae b4 u go back to work.

i hv heard many horror stories abt maids too. ur workplace is quite near ur home right?? maybe u or hubby can take turns to check on rae but dun do it at a fixed timing lah if not ur maid knows when to expect u!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">BM</font></font>, me wanna go too! but how to deal with SA?
so if go I'll surely tag A along..

BRENDA
what SA? i have no problem abt that! haha.. i always believe in certain holi r meant for just me and hubby so if kids tag along..... aiyah!! spoil all my fun lah!

HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY TO EVERYONE!!

CHEESE
just wondering if anyone here started to give cheese to your bb yet? i wanna intro cheese but dunno how to prep to prep it cos ethan still doesnt hv teeth so how to chew??

cheekz...
so sorry, accidently spell ur name wrongly. Yaya i agreed with BM, be nice to ur maid but nv spoilt them. What i do is that i bluff my maid that our house got cctv. And i put it in a nice way of telling her yet not giving her the impression that i not trusting her, i told her not to change clothes in her room cos there is a cctv as so i can see Amabel while i am at work and told her living room etc all have cctv. And i show her that i trust her by living my girl with her at home and not telling her what time we will be back, but we wont be out for too long lah cos still bu fang xin, scare the maid cannot manage Amabel if alone for too long, later she want go toilet also cannot. At time, i will explain nicely to her if she did something wrong. Last time she damn scare of me cos i damn fierce to her which i think is not a good way of treating them (maid also human mah), now we are like friend liao which i find it very good. She even knows she is very xin fu already, she want eat what we also give her eat, even bring her eat buffet and exp stuff often. We treat her as a family member now.

<font color="aa00aa">Brenda</font>
The ladybird dress sooo cute... isit it still for sale? I also want!

<font color="ff0000">domestic helpers woes</font>
I also have problem with my helper recently. Found many sachets of 3-in-1 coffee, coins and my old nokia handphone in her cabinet. Have not confronted her yet. Still observing. Headache also.

rexbabie,
I also found my maid taking my stuff pad and pandy liner. When i bring her to my mum place, she steal my old bra.

I just warn her again and hint that i actually know what she doing. If i found her doing it again, then she will be sent back home.

Hi Cheekz, does your maid hold the house keys? Does she need to go in and out of the house often? If not, perhaps you can consider what my mum's friend does. She also objects her maid going out and making friends, but she must leave the keys with the maid in case there's an emergency. SO, she puts a set of house keys inside an envelope and seals it and pass it to the maid. So if there's a fire or any emergency, the maid can open up the envelope to use the key. But if there's no emergency, she need not use the key, so the envelope should remain sealed... she will check every now and then to see if the seal is broken.

That's just for your info on how my mum's friend handle this kind of situation. It all depends on your maid and the trust. For me and my mum, we know my maid doesn't do that, so we are ok with leaving the keys with her. But we did warn her NOT to open the door for any strangers...

Just my 2 cents worth..

HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY TO ALL MOTHERS!! We've come a long way! (ahem... heehee...)

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">OVERSEAS SHOPPING SPREE UPDATE</font></font>

<font color="0000ff">WALLDECORSHOPS SPREE</font>

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>base</TD><TD>volume</TD><TD>total</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>xena</TD><TD>0.953</TD><TD>8.439</TD><TD>9.39</TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>jamine</TD><TD>0.953</TD><TD>8.439</TD><TD>9.39</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>alicia</TD><TD>0.953</TD><TD>5.626</TD><TD>6.58</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jasmine</TD><TD>0.953</TD><TD>2.813</TD><TD>3.77</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<font color="0000ff">AMAZON WALL BORDER (Only 3 rolls arrived)</font>

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>base</TD><TD>volume</TD><TD>total</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>e-ling</TD><TD>0.953</TD><TD>15.01</TD><TD>15.96</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>phoebe</TD><TD>0.953</TD><TD>7.50</TD><TD>8.46</TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<font color="0000ff">OLD NAVY SPREE #4</font>

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>USD</TD><TD>base</TD><TD>volumetric</TD><TD>excess</TD><TD>total</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>diana</TD><TD>1.292</TD><TD>0.953</TD><TD>6.329</TD><TD></TD><TD>8.57</TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>brenda</TD><TD>1.292</TD><TD>0.953</TD><TD>2.110</TD><TD></TD><TD>4.35</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheekz</TD><TD>1.292</TD><TD>0.953</TD><TD>12.658</TD><TD></TD><TD>14.90</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gillian</TD><TD>1.292</TD><TD>0.953</TD><TD>23.207</TD><TD></TD><TD>25.45</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>teddyhope</TD><TD>1.292</TD><TD>0.953</TD><TD>4.219</TD><TD></TD><TD>6.46</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>xena</TD><TD>1.292</TD><TD>0.953</TD><TD>8.439</TD><TD>(24.30)</TD><TD>(13.62)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<font color="0000ff">OLD NAVY SPREE #5</font>

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>USD</TD><TD>base</TD><TD>volumetric</TD><TD>total</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>selina</TD><TD>1.938</TD><TD>3.248</TD><TD>14.289</TD><TD>19.47</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>little pony</TD><TD>1.938</TD><TD>3.248</TD><TD>19.785</TD><TD>24.97</TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>blessedmommy</TD><TD>1.938</TD><TD>3.248</TD><TD>4.397</TD><TD>9.58</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>orange</TD><TD>1.938</TD><TD>3.248</TD><TD>15.388</TD><TD>20.57</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Sorry, has missed out the US$5 shipping charges.
Diana, $$ rec'd. Short $1.29
Lit Pony, $$ rec'd. Short $1.94

Xena, you have excess of $24.30
Less Wall Decor $9.39
Less ON $9.39
I still <font color="ff0000"><u>owe you $4.23</u></font>

<font color="0000ff">OLD NAVY SPREE #6</font>
Package arrived at VpostUSA.
Should be able to pay $$ tomorrow.

<font color="ff0000">All Mommies</font>, can advise pls? I am running out of ideas of what to cook for my darling boy leh. is too much of ANYTHING orange bad for them?? e.g. papaya, pumpkin, squash, carrots, sweet potato??? all this are orange, so does it mean they all contain beta carotene and though good but cannot eat too much?? Hubby is commenting Jovann looks a bit yellow leh, so i am worried. i dun everyday cook orange food lah, i still have spinach, potato, broccoli, zuchinni, avocadoes, pear (only selected types) etc. he still hates apples. but the orange stuff is such a basic food i find it hard to avoid. any advice pls? pls help! i can't help feeling if i cook something like spinach and zuchinni in porridge it will be bland? or is it just my tastebuds speaking? i have stopped putting meat for 1 week oredi to monitor him coz he got some rashes on the front of his body after starting meat for a few days... so without meat, i feel the porridge taste bland leh, so i tend to add some orange vege...but now i worried is it too much pigment?? brrrrrrr......

<font color="0000ff">smiley</font>. hi!!! where have u been? hehehee.

Phoebe dear,
No problem. U prefer me to pay you via transfer or pay you cash when i meet u to collect. Btw, when are u expecting spree #5 to come in huh?! heeeee. thanks!

HAPPY MUM'S DAY! One day belated but nevermind hor.. heeee. coz i got access to internet today.. so come on, share abit how you all celebrated mother's day! I mean, this year our 1st year!!!!

I start 1st - Hubby make me angry lor! haaa!! Long story.. don't want to bore u all here.. and he didn't get me a present!! So i told him he owe me one!! He should get one on behalf of Wayne mah! isn't it?!!

MIL bought a set of jewellery for me, saying on behalf of Wayne. SIL gave me a flower. MIL, SIL and myself have a cake which we are celebrated. So in the end, it was quite fun!!

<font color="ff0000">Hope all mummies had a memorable time on Mummy's day! Is most taking the day off today for an extended Mummy's day?!?!</font>

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">rexbabie</font></font>, errr.. I know the one at Holland V has no more stocks, but let me check for u at their other branches then revert to u yah
However, they're only selling this bugsy dress in the 6-12 mos size, is it good for Megan? What's her WT/HT now? Can't remember how much we paid for though! heehee.. maybe <font color="ff0000">BM? Yuna? E-Ling? U girls remember?!</font>

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Buttons</font></font>, from what I see, u pretty much got everything edible on Jovann's plate! That's almost about all the food I've knowledge of to be incorporated in A's menu.. <font color="ff0000">Any other mummies know of any others??</font>

The orange stain on Jovann's skin is a common trait from Orange foods but my understanding is not harmful la.. but of cos when we as parents see their faces turning yellow, we'll feel very gang-koh so why not lessen his orange food intake for awhile until his skin color gets back to normal?

Babies at 4-12mos are absolutely contented with their food tasting bland unless they've been used to having sweet taste in their daily feeds, it's more like us who's fussing about it. In fact, my A doesn't like her food sweet. U know how sweet a very riped banana/papaya/honey dew can be right? A hates them too sweet so I'd have to find those that are riped but not so sweet ones.. Sometimes I need to add WATER into her banana/papaya/honey dew milkshake in order to 'dilute' the sweetness! Odd right? but workable for her..
Also, she finishes her Jap+Brown Rice Porridge rather quickly without anything else added into it. The moment I add some meat or veg, she'll take a longer time to accept the food and to swallow it, though she'll still finishes them all la. But definitely I can see her dislike for sweet tasting foods..

Tried blending apple with something Jovann likes? If he likes pear, make him a mixed fruits puree then.. Or apple cereal?

You can also choose to buy the white sweet potatoes(So called Jap but it's actually Viet ones) or the white potatoes(Indon/Viet ones). But they're definitely not as nutritious as their orange cousins..

Adding to your already comprehensive non-orange list: (and I do realise the WHITE vegs are usually pumped with more Vit C)
Cabbage(No pesticides ones), Xiao Pai Chai(No pesticides ones), Asparagus, Cauliflower(give only the florets), Peas, Peach, Apricot(Dried ones better), Tofu(especially this in replacement of the poultry u are stopping)..

Err.. these are what I can think of now..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Phoebe</font></font>, sorry ah that day talked halfway over MSN then I had to cha bok.. So would u like me to transfer the $4.3$&%Y%* to u or pass u cash when I collect my stuff ah? I think I asked like a dozen times liao.. heehee

<font color="0000ff">littlepony</font> wah so nice of your MIL and SIL! hehehee. so sweet. esp the flower from ur SIL! me ah? HUbby wish me Happy Mothers Day just past midnight, and gave me a card "written" by Jovann's hand. hehehee. that was a sweet card. MIL gave me angbao. thats all lah. din "celebrate" leh. but I got to nap 1hour! hahahaaa.....never get to do that for a long time leh.

<font color="0000ff">food</font>
i saw this recipe in one of the threads, for chicken stock to add to porridge. these ingredients can be used for baby food meh?? aren't they too young??

Grandma's chicken soup and stock
Ingredient:
1 large chicken with giblets, cut into 8 pieces and trimmed off excess fat
3 litres of water
2 large onions, peeled and roughly chopped
3 large carrots, peeled and roughly sliced
2 parsnips, peeled and roughly chopped
2 leeks, washed and sliced
1 celery stalk
2 sprigs of parsley
1 sprig thyme (optional)

I really run out of ideas to cook without adding orange stuff leh. pls see my post above. anyone can HELP??!!!

Hi Cheekz, do you have any neighbours tat you are close to and at home mostly? You can ask neighbours to help once in a while by popping over the house-gate to check. My work-place and house very near so i am able to pop by several times a day. I dont give her the house keys cos I tell her if anything happens then just go to my office. She can only bring bb out for walk along the corrider. I also do what msapple did: Make friends with the maids to get to know them.
I have my woes abt her as well. She likes to yak yak on the phone and send sms to her hubby and a relative who's working here. (why she has a hp?- long story.) She has chalked up a few time high hp bills (once $100plus and another time $70plus) I was very angry with her and told her the last time i will deduct from her salary any excess she has used. I also learnt 1 lesson. be careful abt the "benefits" you give to maids cos once they abuse it and you take back the "benefits", this itself will intro another string of problems...

<font color="0000ff">brenda</font> thanks! i posted again before seeing ur reply!

i have tried apple cereal before, he HATEs it. to my knowledge, he has never hated any food as much as he hates apples. hahahaa. so if i mix to cereal it will waste the cereal. maybe can try pear or papaya lah, but i scared if he dun like, then next time he dun even like papaya or pear coz it reminds him of apple?!!!

actually, Jovann used to not like sweet food too. he took some time getting used to papaya and pear. he has not tried banana. have Arianne tried? i held back coz his poo is very very hard most times and PD say banana will create hard stools. lucky now my dad found another kinda of pear that tastes and smells like sugar pear, that jovann likes. the normal kind of pear we eat, he dun like leh.

OH yah hor! why din i think of the yellow jap sweet potato!??! hahaha. thanks.

thanks for the list on white vege too!
Cabbage(No pesticides ones) - <font color="0000ff">u mean they dun usually have pesticide, or are u asking me to FIND the organic ones?</font>
Xiao Pai Chai(No pesticides ones)- <font color="119911">u mean our babies can eat this now? </font>
Asparagus - <font color="0000ff">this one is 9mths then eat issit?</font>
Cauliflower(give only the florets) - <font color="119911">i heard cooling, just dun eat too often lah huh?</font>
Peas - <font color="0000ff">tried, he dun like leh. and very ma fan to prepare. i gotta sieve them right?</font>
<font color="119911">Peach, Apricot - PD say dun feed yet.</font>
Tofu - <font color="0000ff">oh yes! what kind shld i buy?? some tofu contains eggs, so i find those without? and how do you cook it???</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Ling</font>, i saw ur blog! so fun there! hey, where u got those nice containers for ur baby puree? and are the lids airtight? i saw many such containers, but i wonder are they airtight, i wana find some good ones coz i try to do some puree without freezing and i need such containers.

Buttons,
WOW!! u know, i think that 1 hour nap is such a great gift!!! How i wish i get that 1 hour nap gift during weekend as well.. but hor, quite seldom.. even if Wayne is sleeping for 2 hours, my nap is always disturb when he change his sleeping position and I want to ensure that he sleeps well. Haa! So i can understand how good it is when u say a solid 1 hour nap!!!

Ur hubby so nice.. Jovann's handwritting?! heeeee!! So sweet hor!!! Haaaaaaaaaaaa!!!

As for food menu, i agree with Brenda that you have clearly most of the stuff on your menu leh. Yes, Ms Brenda said 'TOFU'.. i agree.. Wayne likes tofu as well.. so perhaps you can blend it in your porridge.... if u dare to give a try on eggs, follow Ilovebb's menu that emma and brenda advised on... the hard boiled egg mashed into the porridge.... But frankly, kids are fine with repeated food!!!!

Buttons

There is this brand of tofu, unicard or uni....cant remember the spelling, its has the organic version of tofu, the package is purple in colour and cost abt $1.90 +/-. You may want to give it a try.

<font color="0000ff">littlepony and yuna</font> thanks thanks! will keep in mind the purple packagnig and wet market (though i seldom go to these) hehehe! i am going to take a quick trip down to cold storage GWC during lunch, coz i forgot to bring down jovann's ingredients for dinner! brrrr...blur mommy right? wash the spinach, and potato, pack nicely oredi, and forgot to BRING! maybe for egg yolk i wait till 9mths? coz ilovebabies's Rachel is almost there liaoz, but jovann smaller mah hehehe.

<font color="aa00aa">littlepony</font> hahaha yes i like the card very much. hehehee. as for nap, i never nap at all during weekends leh. always a mad rush for things. when Jovann napping, i will be preparing his lunch, washing clothes, tidying the house. never tot of napping, also dunno if got time. so that one hour is super shiok!

DB,

Here's the list of food that Trinity has tried and tested so far. See if anything in there is interesting for you.

I am still cooking in batch on the weekends. What I do is to have about 4 - 6 varieties in the freezer and she will have 2 - 3 different types of food in each meal. We try to switch the combination each day so it will be less boring for her.

Brocolli
Cauliflower
Carrot
Sweet Potato
Pumpkin
Xiao Bai Cai
Cai Xin
Popeye Spinanch ("Pueh Leng")
Chinese Spinach ("hind chai")
Red chinese spinach
Dou Miao
Banana
Avocado
Papaya
Apple
Pear
Peach
crystal pear
sugar pear
fragrant pear
mangoesteen
pipa fruit
pork
chicken

Can I give my suggestion on the 'yellowness'. Ever thought of bring Jovann out for a quick tan in the early morning. We've brought T out this weekend and to the beach last week and she's not as pale as before.

BTW, can I ask you again for the chinese name of 'ngor hee', threadfin. There's no "you yu" here, but they have something by the chinese name of "ma (as in horse) you (as in friend peng2 you3)" which says threadfin on the tag. I don't know if its really the same thing and don't dare to buy for T to try yet.

Brenda,
Can I also ask you if 'sweet cucumber' is the same as zuchinni? The supermarket at my place has something called sweet cucumber which looks alot like zuchinni, but again I don't dare to try cos I don't know if its the same thing.

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Tofu from Wet Market VS Organic Tofu</font></font>

I've always been very careful when it comes to buying tofu (in fact everything else that's sold!) from the WET market but maybe I'm overly cautious since so many many people are consuming it with no problems. But with bbs, I think I'm a bit kiasu la..

Back in Jan 2007, there was a report on wet market tofus containing toxic chemicals with ONE type of tofu but I didn't manage to find out which tofu is that or which wet market was selling it.. But if u notice, wet market tofu either come in those boxes which we also can find in supermarkets (minus the refrigeration) or those without the brands, in wooden trays type. I'm not comfy with the latter becos we've no idea on its origin or if the maker is of a reliable source. So I rather stick to companies who have proper AVA's approval and health seal, such as UNICURD, the one <font color="ff0000">Yuna</font> recommended.. But I'm not sure if their organic one (http://www.unicurd.com.sg/organictofu.html) is totally chemical free. <font color="ff0000">Yuna, can u confirm this?</font> Or what's the difference between Organic Tofu VS Regular Tofu? Anyone can share?

Whereas, in most of these boxed tofus, these are found:
Calcium Sulphate > which is an natural curdling agent
Lactone > I think also another type of coargulant(spell?!) Correct me if I'm wrong pls.
Non-GMO Beans > Non-Genetically Modified Organisms
Err... I don't see any thing else in their ingredient list..

Wet markets to me now are,
- NOT really cheaper than supermarkets, maybe in cents but with the proper hygiene set up, I rather pay the extra cents.
- Fresher than supermarkets? Not exactly either. Supermarkets have shelf lives printed on most food stuffs but wet markets don't. With our HOT climate, the temperature in the wet market is NOT conducive to keep foods fresh, yeah despite the ice they SOMETIMES put on the fishes..
- NO pesticides?! Nahh, wet markets vege are also from our neighboring countries and they too, add pesticides in order to prolong their shelf-lives. In fact just last week there was a report on some veg importing from countries like M'sia (whereby mainly wet markets' vegs are from) have been banned in SG.

The only reasons why I'll shop at wet market:
- I like the wet market's ambience!
- more than ONE stall to get your stuffs from.. like u can tell this stall, 'eh the other stall got give me free spring onions le..' then they'll give u too! heehee.. u can't do this in supermarket..
- more fishes to choose
- more varieties of veg, depends on where u go. If u go Tekka Market, they've got lots of nice imported Ang Mo veg..

These are my thoughts la..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Buttons</font></font>, oops just saw your sms and post! heehee.. looks like our timing all pingpiangpong..

Soya - are u concerned with this becos it's supposedly GLUTEN?

Cabbage(No pesticides ones) - u mean they dun usually have pesticide, or are u asking me to FIND the organic ones? <font color="aa00aa">> yup! some supermarkets like Shop&Safe sells the chemical free ones, I think it's considered ORGANIC la..</font>

Xiao Pai Chai(No pesticides ones)- u mean our babies can eat this now? <font color="aa00aa">> err, is there any reasons why they can't? I guess as long as u buy the chemical free ones and MUST MAKE SURE wash very very clean (worms favorite food!) which is easy peasy cos they come in per leaf per stem but I don't know why can't feed la.. what have u heard though?</font>

Asparagus - this one is 9mths then eat issit? <font color="aa00aa">> I've fed Chloe since she was 7 mos and A started 2 weeks ago le. I also have no idea why cannot feed now.. They're full of GOOD vits for our bbs! but if u know/heard of why we can't feed, share la..</font>

Cauliflower(give only the florets) - i heard cooling, just dun eat too often lah huh? <font color="aa00aa">> Everything we must give in m-o-d-e-r-a-tion. Cauliflower also another veg that contains the MOST vit C, so we shouldn't discount in our bbs' diet just becos it's wind-ier than the rest of the veg. Almost every veg contains wind or something not too good, but they also got good nutrients mahh..</font>

Peas - tried, he dun like leh. and very ma fan to prepare. i gotta sieve them right? <font color="aa00aa">> Err.. I didn't sieve for A and she ate it ok.. I pureed it together with Potatoes or any other veg. Cos they're too little to be pureed on their own. Ma fan?!?!?! then u buy jarred foods lor heh..</font>

Peach, Apricot - PD say dun feed yet. <font color="aa00aa">> So strange, did he quote the reason why? or he mentoined this at age 4 mos??</font>

Tofu - oh yes! what kind shld i buy?? some tofu contains eggs, so i find those without? and how do you cook it??? <font color="aa00aa">> as per my previous post la..</font>

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Angeline</font></font>, I'm not very comfy with the fruit MANGOSTEEN cos this fruit got the 'neee' (can someone help with the HYPY pls?), the milk secretion on it's skin which supposedly can cause allergy to some people so for me I'll avoid it la.. Such allergies I don wish to play play, for me I'm allergic to kiwis, whenever I eat it, I'll get swollen itchy mouth, sometimes worse, my throat will swell too. And I know this can lead to death!

What's PIPA fruit? sounds cute!

Oh yah! The yellowness is like jaundice right? probably sun can help.. great idea!

SWEET CUMCUMBER?!?? sorry I've not heard of this.. maybe when I'm free later I'll google for it. But the basic rule of the thumb is, Zucchinis are NOT cucumbers, only look like.. Zucchinis are closer to pumpkins/squash so if that sweet cumcumber is just another cucumber family member, then I guess it's far from being a Zucchini then..

angeline
wow so adventurous! mangosteens?? for myself i rather be a boring mom cos not v comfortable with feeding babies anything less than v v safe food. hee...

Hi buttons, I have been coming in every now and then to take a look at the postings, but never really posted =) Heehee...

And anyway, after reading your post, I realise my gal looks a bit yellow as well. She's having carrot + fish porridge everyday leh... Basically what my mum/ maid prepares for her consist of fish/ potato/ carrot/ spinach.. I tried to give her brocoli before but that causes her to have a lot of wind in her tummy, so I stop broccoli. Perhaps I should tell my mum and maid to regulate the carrot as well... oops..

Wah, Angeline, pei fu pei fu, you even have a list of what your baby has tried.. And I saw the photo of your gal standing unassisted, so cute! =D

Angie,
Ya.. i think as long your girl is comfortable and everyting is ok with the food you prepare for her.... then there shouldn't be a strict rule of saying 'no' to letting babies try out different variety....

Hi buttons, I have been coming in every now and then to take a look at the postings, but never really posted =) Heehee...

And anyway, after reading your post, I realise my gal looks a bit yellow as well. She's having carrot + fish porridge everyday leh... Basically what my mum/ maid prepares for her consist of fish/ potato/ carrot/ spinach.. I tried to give her brocoli before but that causes her to have a lot of wind in her tummy, so I stop broccoli. Perhaps I should tell my mum and maid to regulate the carrot as well... oops..

Wah, Angeline, pei fu pei fu, you even have a list of what your baby has tried.. And I saw the photo of your gal standing unassisted, so cute! =D

<font color="0000ff">Cheekz</font>, Just saw your post on domestic help and wanted to share my thoughts. My domestic helper has been with me for 8 months. All my other units on the same floor do not have maids except mine. My MIL stays with us and she would help me oversee my maid. Initially, we would take the house keys along with us when she is alone at home. We hardly leave Adele at home alone with her. But somehow it struck me that what happens if there is an emergency where she needs to get out of the house like fire *touch wood* etc. I heard that it could be an offence to lock someone in the house. So after that, we would always leave the house key at home. I told my MIL if she decides to go astray, so be it coz it shows that she doesn't know how to think. I will just send her packing home. Its not easy for them to come out to work and furthermore find a good employer. I am not trying to say that I am a good employer but I always tell my maid that there are lots of employers out there who are nasty to maids n she should consider herself lucky that I am not. I can understand how you feel. Until now, I still don feel 100% safe to leave Adele with my maid alone for the whole day. But do monitor your maid's behavior for the time being. Coz although she has apologised to u already, u never know wat she is thinking in her mind. Perhaps as wat Brenda said, u might want to install a CCTV. Dun worry too much. I am sure things will work out well in the end.

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Jerene</font></font>, nice talking to you yesterday. I just noticed that you are calling from a private number. Could you please sms me your mobile no? Btw, I was thinking if we could meet up at Tampines instead coz Parkway is quite inconvenient for me as the bus journey would take 1 hour each way. Hope that you wouldn't mind.

Brenda, BM,
Actually I am not so keen on the mangosteen, it was MIL who gave it to her. She said my gal heaty and mangosteen 'liang' so gave her some. And MIL was so proud to tell me "see now her voice not so 'scratchy' liao".

Sometimes just have to 'open one eye, close one eye'. otherwise, really difficult to maintain a amicable relationship.

hi <font color="0000ff">Angeline</font> thanks so much. Actually I also have about 4-5 varieties of food cubes in the freezer, but these are used for his cereal. For his porridge, i like to use fresh ingredients to cook it with, so i started having food cubes AS WELL as fresh vege in my fridge for some time already. as for the list of food u have tried, mine about the same just that i lack Cauliflower,Xiao Bai Cai,Cai Xin,Dou Miao,Banana,Peach,mangoesteen,pipa fruit.

Babies can eat mangosteen and pipa fruit meh??? i am surprised leh.... they are not safe fruits right?

<font color="aa00aa">brenda and angeline</font>, it seems like leafy vege like xiao bai cai and dou miao is okie huh? hhhmmm...then maybe i can start. no reasno why i didn't before this, only that those "safe food" list doesn't have such vege loH! hahaha. prob coz they are from angmoh lah. xiao bai cai and cabbage are liang and windy lah, so din wanna feed earlier. but brenda, u are right in the sense that we just feed in moderation right? not say every day mah. i ALWAYS change what Jovann eats frmo day to day too. no similar food for 2 days in a row one.

<font color="0000ff">angeline</font>, oh my dad says ngor he is called "wu yu" in chinese. can u find that?

<font color="119911">brenda</font>
Cabbage - some supermarkets like Shop&Safe sells the chemical free ones, I think it's considered ORGANIC la.. <font color="0000ff">thanks for the info!!</font>

Xiao Pai Chai(No pesticides ones)- err, is there any reasons why they can't? I guess as long as u buy the chemical free ones and MUST MAKE SURE wash very very clean (worms favorite food!) which is easy peasy cos they come in per leaf per stem but I don't know why can't feed la.. what have u heard though? <font color="0000ff">i din hear nothign in particular hahaa. just that like what i mentioned abv, these are NOT in the list of 'safe foods" from tne angmoh list, so i din think of trying, but since its an angmoh list that probably explains it. and yes i will feed in moderation since its supposedly cooling yar? just that i dun cook for adults at home, so if i buy one piece of xiao bai cai, i only cook like 3 times a week, the rest will be thrown away......wasted right? hehehee. wanna share?? mu hahahahaha!</font>

Asparagus - They're full of GOOD vits for our bbs! but if u know/heard of why we can't feed, share la.. <font color="0000ff">only that someone in this thread showed us a webby that says asparagus belongs to the list of vege to be introduced after 8 or 9mths leh...</font>

Cauliflower(give only the florets) - <font color="0000ff">yep yep! will buy this soon then!

Peas - Err.. I didn't sieve for A and she ate it ok.. I pureed it together with Potatoes or any other veg. Cos they're too little to be pureed on their own. Ma fan?!?!?! then u buy jarred foods lor heh.. <font color="0000ff">Oiz, i said ma fan coz when i sieve, only a bit of flesh is left. i sieved coz i feel the skin is too touch to digest leh. and i read the prepartion process for peas is to sieve. so i sieve loh. but since u say u blend only, then prob i try another time to blend instead. very farnie! i have NEVER touched commercial baby food, and wun touch it if i can help it. I love cooking for Jovann okie??</font>

Peach, Apricot - So strange, did he quote the reason why? or he mentoined this at age 4 mos?? <font color="0000ff">nope, he mentioned it when Jovann is around 6mths wor. and i dun know why too. i always have a HUGE list of questions to ask him, and i din ask for details about why not peach, prob coz i not very eager to feed coz peach is a bit bit sour to me, and i suspect jovann dun like apples coz apples are a bit bit sour in that aspect too, even with the SWEETEST apples. but of course will eventually try peach.

Tofu - <font color="0000ff">hhhmm....coz soy is one possible risk of allergen leh. It is also one of the top 8 baby food in wholesomebabyfood.com. see this "As with any allergic reaction, a soy allergy occurs when the body mistakes soy as a harmful invader. Diagnosing a soy allergy in an infant is really hit or miss and that is why it is very important to follow the 4 Day Wait Rule when introducing your baby to new foods! It is also important to not use Soy as a first food.
Symptoms of Soy allergy may manifest as:
Allergic rhinitis
Asthma
Dermatitis
Diarrhea
Gastrointestinal symptoms
hives
Nausea
Oral allergy syndrome (symptoms appear around the mouth, lips and throat)
Vomiting
Wheezing
Anaphylaxis.</font>

<font color="ff0000">that said, i just bought quite an amount of NON-ORANGE food from Cold storage GWC hahahahah!!! I bought 2 zhuchinnis, red chinese spinach, organic avocadoes, organic jap sweet potato, Unicurd beancurd <font color="0000ff">thanks yuna!!</font>, and one packham pear (the alternate type that jovann likes, but this one bigger and dun look juicy leh). hehehe so happy!</font>

DB,

no leh. over here cannot find anything that says 'wu yu'. On the tag that says threadfin the chinese reads 'ma you'. Can help me ask you dad if its possible 'ma you' is another name for ngor hee?

Brenda,
Sweet cucumber = zuchinni?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Buttons</font></font>, wahh I didn't know that Soy is considered as top 8 high allergen foods le! Pai seh.. cos Soy to me has always been considered as a HEALTH food la, especially in replacement of animal fats. Well what the heck! most foods are NOT safe for bbs under the age of 8/9 mos, and our bbs are there already so let's just try in moderation

I guess these tries are still better than jarred foods hiakhiakhiak! But we should still try to avoid the strawberries, kiwis and probably mangosteen if I'm right about the 'NEEE' thing la and of cos raw veg and egg white till 1 year old! [But <font color="ff0000">Angie</font>, I don have any reliable source on mangosteens, it's purely my own guessing. And if Trinity has no adverse reactions after eating, then I guess it's no harm to continue in view of sustaining an amicable relationship with your MIL la.. I know how tricky this can be..
]

Sharing of veg, can! I really have no problem with that leh as long as I'm still at BTPJ.. but just a thought.. don your parents cook? I thought they do cos I think I remember u told me u go there for dinners right? why not buy for them those veg that Jovann is going to feast on and let them have the balance?

Complaining too much then how come still buy 2 Zucchinis??

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Angie</font></font>, sorry can't help you with the Threadfin's name in Cantonese.. but there's another white fish which is safe for our bbs is called GROUPER.. heard of it?

angeline,

ma you is actually translated from cantonese. it's called ma2 yao2 in cantonese. my mom made me ate a lot of this fish during pregnancy, confinement and now for breastfeeding. so i guess it's a good fish.

i ever saw in supermarket, ma yao fish is called kurau or something like tt. dun think they know this name in hong kong as it sounded like malay?

i think it's not the same as ngor fish. but i know both are good fish.

any harm if i feed apple/pear on the majority as compared to other fruits/vege?

my mom finds it easier to feed kai if it's apple/pear. of course i'll still alternate some other fruits/vege esp green vege.

ive just bought some si sen powder from eu yan sang. hopefully it can increase his appetite a bit before i start him on porridge.

for peas, do u all buy the frozed packed type or fresh ones?

Grouper, yes I know this one. One of the most expensive fish type. Always a delicacy at the restuarants. Mmmhh.... shall go try to get one to try on T.

thanks edskd.
isn't ikan kurau = ngor hee? I am lost in the local language.

if ikan kurau = ngor hee, then the equation should be
ikan kurau = ngor hee = wu yu = ma yao???

<font color="0000ff">angeline</font>, i just called my dad! when i asked him what is ngor hee in cantonese, he thought for a while. then when i prompted is it ma you, he said it probably is coz it sounds like it rings a bell. coz he is teochew u see, so cantonese he gotta recall a while lah. shld be the same fisH! edksd, i think i saw a thread saying kurau is threadfin! hehee. and since Sha also confirmed, so it must be. u can buy liaoz, angeline.

<font color="119911">edksd</font>, i know what u mean. i think kai likes fruits texture and taste? u try to ask ur mum to feed vege, then with each spoon of vege, add a bit of pear on the side edge of the spoon, so that there's a bit of kai's fav fruit on the spoon, so he will eat the vege with it. u knwo what i mean? thats what we do sometimes.

peas, i dunno what kinda i bought leh? its from teka market leh. the guy asked if i want frozen ones and he took out a pack from his fridge. but when i touched it its not very very hard leh. anyway. i just scooped out some to cook. but i think AFTER cooking, can still freeze right?

<font color="aa00aa">brenda</font> yah loh, soy sounds scary. aiyah, but Jovann not yet 8mths leh. sigh...and i bought the tofu liaoz. so sayang leh. so nutritious i also feel like cooking for him leh.
think i better wait till he 8mths? thats in about 4 days times! hahahaa. oh yah hor! i forgot my parents cook and they cook xiao bai cai sometimes too hahahha! i siao lah...yah yah, okie i share with them lah.

<font color="119911">feeding milestones</font>. hey mommies, i read somewhere before that when u read things like can only start feeding after 6mths or 9mths etc etc, u must count from the day of your baby's full term leh. meaning, if ur baby is say 1 mth prematured, u shld try feeding him food suitable for 6mths baby, ONLY when he himself has reached 7mths, u know what i mean? thats coz his digestive system may not be as matured as a REALLY 6mths old baby coz he is born earlier. but i think some dun really mind lah, so its just for yr info kae? prob a few days doesn't matter, or 1-2 weeks. but if its a mth, then try to control.

i read the thread diana posted just now abt fishes.

sorry hor, reading mandarin takes double time!

threadfin = kurau = ngor fish.

ma you != kurau (sorry my mistake coz they really look alike when raw leh! i saw them in supermart, but my mom buys for me from wet markets)

therefore ma you != threadfin leh.
according to the website, ma you = indian threadfin.

since they're all family mbrs i guess u can try them all.

buttons, tks for ur suggestion. will try it out!

oh im still thinking of getting those fresh ones and take out the peas myself from the "covers". can i do tt? are they the same kind of peas as in frozen peas?

Anyone here has tried feeding their bb "sheng yu"? I was at the wet market last Sat. and this fishmonger kept saying that "sheng yu" is very good for babies - high protein and "huo2 xue3" (dont know the eng. translation for this) Also, anyone started on salmon and cod fish already?

I bought 2 recipe books from Anabel Karmel. She uses quite a bit of cod/salmon in her recipes.

haven't tried "sheng yu". i only tried ikan bilis. going to try "yin yu" (d tiny fish) MIL commented b/f bigger fish more toxic??? dun knw where she got d idea from. therefore not suitable to introduce too early?? But anyway i try threadfin on yun she seem to develop slight rashes on her back. Will hold on till she older.

me backie..

phoebe, i will make payment for wall decor and let u know!

there seems to be a bug going around? try not to bring your babies out ok?

i going for JL sale tomorrow!! heeheehee...

<font color="0000ff">m goh and melody</font>, i have not tried cod fish or salmon, nor any fish for that matter. intending to start only at 9mths. esp big fish like cod or salmon. melody, ur MIL is right leh. big fishes are predator fishes, thus when they eat the medium fishes who ate the smaller fishes, the amount of mercury in their blood/system gets increased. thats why when preggie, we are advised not to eat too much big fishes.

think huo xue means it stimulates blood circulation?

<font color="119911">edksd</font>, oh, u mean those pods ah? i dunno which kinds to buy leh, coz there are SO MANy kinds, how i knwo if i buy correctly? hehe. so when i asked PD what kinda of peas, he said the frozen kinds, so frozen kinds it is! hahahaa.

<font color="ff0000">Mommies, any one feeding baby soy based formula?</font> hhhhmmm....... when googling for tofu and baby just now, came across many quite disturbing articles about feeding soy based formula. thought of sharing. but not sure if i will scare too many mommies also...