hi <font color="0000ff">Angeline</font> thanks so much. Actually I also have about 4-5 varieties of food cubes in the freezer, but these are used for his cereal. For his porridge, i like to use fresh ingredients to cook it with, so i started having food cubes AS WELL as fresh vege in my fridge for some time already. as for the list of food u have tried, mine about the same just that i lack Cauliflower,Xiao Bai Cai,Cai Xin,Dou Miao,Banana,Peach,mangoesteen,pipa fruit.
Babies can eat mangosteen and pipa fruit meh??? i am surprised leh.... they are not safe fruits right?
<font color="aa00aa">brenda and angeline</font>, it seems like leafy vege like xiao bai cai and dou miao is okie huh? hhhmmm...then maybe i can start. no reasno why i didn't before this, only that those "safe food" list doesn't have such vege loH! hahaha. prob coz they are from angmoh lah. xiao bai cai and cabbage are liang and windy lah, so din wanna feed earlier. but brenda, u are right in the sense that we just feed in moderation right? not say every day mah. i ALWAYS change what Jovann eats frmo day to day too. no similar food for 2 days in a row one.
<font color="0000ff">angeline</font>, oh my dad says ngor he is called "wu yu" in chinese. can u find that?
<font color="119911">brenda</font>
Cabbage - some supermarkets like Shop&Safe sells the chemical free ones, I think it's considered ORGANIC la.. <font color="0000ff">thanks for the info!!</font>
Xiao Pai Chai(No pesticides ones)- err, is there any reasons why they can't? I guess as long as u buy the chemical free ones and MUST MAKE SURE wash very very clean (worms favorite food!) which is easy peasy cos they come in per leaf per stem but I don't know why can't feed la.. what have u heard though? <font color="0000ff">i din hear nothign in particular hahaa. just that like what i mentioned abv, these are NOT in the list of 'safe foods" from tne angmoh list, so i din think of trying, but since its an angmoh list that probably explains it. and yes i will feed in moderation since its supposedly cooling yar? just that i dun cook for adults at home, so if i buy one piece of xiao bai cai, i only cook like 3 times a week, the rest will be thrown away......wasted right? hehehee. wanna share?? mu hahahahaha!</font>
Asparagus - They're full of GOOD vits for our bbs! but if u know/heard of why we can't feed, share la.. <font color="0000ff">only that someone in this thread showed us a webby that says asparagus belongs to the list of vege to be introduced after 8 or 9mths leh...</font>
Cauliflower(give only the florets) - <font color="0000ff">yep yep! will buy this soon then!
Peas - Err.. I didn't sieve for A and she ate it ok.. I pureed it together with Potatoes or any other veg. Cos they're too little to be pureed on their own. Ma fan?!?!?! then u buy jarred foods lor heh.. <font color="0000ff">Oiz, i said ma fan coz when i sieve, only a bit of flesh is left. i sieved coz i feel the skin is too touch to digest leh. and i read the prepartion process for peas is to sieve. so i sieve loh. but since u say u blend only, then prob i try another time to blend instead. very farnie! i have NEVER touched commercial baby food, and wun touch it if i can help it. I love cooking for Jovann okie??</font>
Peach, Apricot - So strange, did he quote the reason why? or he mentoined this at age 4 mos?? <font color="0000ff">nope, he mentioned it when Jovann is around 6mths wor. and i dun know why too. i always have a HUGE list of questions to ask him, and i din ask for details about why not peach, prob coz i not very eager to feed coz peach is a bit bit sour to me, and i suspect jovann dun like apples coz apples are a bit bit sour in that aspect too, even with the SWEETEST apples. but of course will eventually try peach.
Tofu - <font color="0000ff">hhhmm....coz soy is one possible risk of allergen leh. It is also one of the top 8 baby food in wholesomebabyfood.com. see this "As with any allergic reaction, a soy allergy occurs when the body mistakes soy as a harmful invader. Diagnosing a soy allergy in an infant is really hit or miss and that is why it is very important to follow the 4 Day Wait Rule when introducing your baby to new foods! It is also important to not use Soy as a first food.
Symptoms of Soy allergy may manifest as:
Allergic rhinitis
Asthma
Dermatitis
Diarrhea
Gastrointestinal symptoms
hives
Nausea
Oral allergy syndrome (symptoms appear around the mouth, lips and throat)
Vomiting
Wheezing
Anaphylaxis.</font>
<font color="ff0000">that said, i just bought quite an amount of NON-ORANGE food from Cold storage GWC hahahahah!!! I bought 2 zhuchinnis, red chinese spinach, organic avocadoes, organic jap sweet potato, Unicurd beancurd <font color="0000ff">thanks yuna!!</font>, and one packham pear (the alternate type that jovann likes, but this one bigger and dun look juicy leh). hehehe so happy!</font>