(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

jRT
oh... forgot to mention... the xylophone is for show one lah... the only thing Sophie does w it is put the stick in her mouth... too dangerous so she only gets to play w it when i'm with her... can get those toys where R can use hand to hit n make sound better... coz they can't really aim properly to hit the xylophone yet. heh heh... but can try... maybe R is super musician since he already picked up kung fu!!! Heh heh... n yes it's little tikes, my friend's hand me down.

Peachie
Yes i am ON for isetan sale! i nvr miss it! can tell niu zai mummy oso. she usually will ON oso.
MyGym ah? issit similar to Gymboree? if it is, then dun wanna try liao lah. R cant sit still and its a chore to hold him thru'out the session. i was panting and perspiring aft tt. and thank goodness my hb was ard to help me else i wld hv surrendered!!!

aiyoh! so scary tt clarence fell! reubern oso like to try getting out of the FP magic chair each time we put him in and buckle him up. scary!!!
i guess clarence topple over coz he was trying to get out. hope he is ok.

Ms satu gosong
thks 4 pointing out on separation anxiety. din realised its termed this way but the way u described tells me Reubern has it too.
when i am alone wif him at home and preparing puree in the kitchen, i will drag his walker into the area so he can see me. he will hapily walk ard the kitchen for a few mins (my back will b facing him) then suddenly cry and walk twds me, hands outstretched and willing me to carry him. i will pacify him by saying mummy is here and preparing his puree. usually this wun help and he will cry until i carry him.

LING!!!
11 hrs is gd enuff alrdy lor!

actually its me tt needs to follow my mum's schedule coz i realised R sleeps better and more in the daytime over there. when i bring him back during wkends, he will sleep but not as long.
wow, let her cry for 5 mins? hmmmm.... i no patience and energy to let him do tt coz usually i need to work the nxt day. this boy oso v funny! he usually will b ok and not fuss so much when i am not wkg the nxt day. on days when i need to work, he will b more fussy! how on earth can he detect huh?!
sophie latches 5 times and still eats cereals/purees/porridge thrice a day???? how u squeeze in?
i noe, trying to cut 1 feed 1st. there was a period of 3 days tt he was v gd. only 2 feeds and he din wake up to fuss in b/w but alas din last long!
it nvr happened thereafter.

<font color="0000ff">Crawling</font>
do they learn how to crawl by doing it backwards 1st? coz R has been doing tt nowadays and my mum tries to encourage him by holding his hands to ask him to come forward.

oh yah ms satu gosong
so sweet of amabel to crawl & hug u! if only reubern will do tt too.

ling
oh 4 show only huh? but i think my R can make a racket out of tt thing! i will train him to make noise wif tt! hahaha

oh yah muz watch them closely wif things like tt, coz they like to put everything in their mouth now.
but i like the xylophone leh! i will get it 2 satisfy myself! hahahahaha
but dun seem to rem seeing it at the shops leh

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Peachie</font></font>, hahahahha! u funny la! really nothing worth seeing la
I think the newstands' copies will be out in couple of days.. DON BUY, just go there and flipflip ya.. heehee..
No worries for the lemon grass drink recipe, happy to share!
Yes! I make my own caramel pudding once in awhile

<font size="-2">We shall eat under the table and not let her see then! hahaha!!</font>

Anyway glad to know that lil Clarence is well after his flip! but how did that happen?? Hey is it a manufacturing defect?! (remember we talked about this subject?) but on a serious note, it's really impossible for a bouncer to flip over unless it was moved by an adult, isn't it? That sounds scary.. must investigate mann..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Sha</font></font>, I like the hawk part! heehee.. I trying to imagine u like one.. heh

Sha and jrt,
Yah is sweet, she crawled from her bed to mine and rest her head and hands on my body like hugging me. haha. My heart melt leh...

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">jRt</font></font>, hey u shared the brown rice with Buttons that day right? so have u fed R with it? Did he like it? My A seems to love it mann! Such a relief.. I tried cooking it without grinding into powder this morning, 3 hours not enough! so it tasted very very rough, so I think better to grind it..

poor caleb.. hope his bruise is gone by now... *sayang sayang*..
realli gotta be careful these days... i cant leave enzo in this bumbo unattended... he'll find his way out of it.. its quite dangerous...

On separation anxiety, dear mummies, I really envy all those who are experiencing this. I had so badly wanted to feel and see this from Keane but he juz doesn't seems to feel so much for me as I feel for him le. Prob I only takes care of him over the short weekend being a weekend mummy. On weekdays, I used to see him every day but has recently cut down to alternate days. I'll try to take leave here n there tho juz to spend more time bonding with him. Each time, I see him being more smiley n responding more to my mil upsets me. Actually, it doesnt really matters who is carrying him or who walks away cos as long as his needs are being fulfilled at the pt of time by anyone he wont fuss. But still I like to feel wanted by him being a mummy.
Weekend mummies, anyone of you feeling as I do? or am I juz too paranoid...

<font color="0000ff">chocolat</font> at least u wkend mummy i not wkend mummy but my boy also same. so long as someone is ard to meet his needs he will b happy. anyone who claps n ask to carry him, he will follow. i too wish to be wanted esp when at IL's plc. i can understand wat u are going thru.

selina, could it be tt caleb had his rotavirus jabs already instead of pnuemoccocal jabs?

kai oso completed his 2 rotavirus jabs before 6mths old.

<font color="ff0000">Toys"R"Us is holding a WAREHOUSE SALE starting this Friday, up to 70% off, only 5 days from April 27 - May 1 2007. As a Star Card member, you get the first opportunity on Day 1 to choose the big discounted items before they get snapped up by others! And, you can use your Star Card as usual and collect Star Card Points on nett purchases.

PRIORITY SALE Day for Star Card & UOB Card Members (Remember to bring your CARD for admittance)
Date
: Friday , April 27, 2006
Time
: 11am - 8 pm
Venue
: United Square Atrium B1

Please note it is open to all UOB card holders as long as is a Singapore issued UOB card

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">jRt/Peachie/Buttons</font></font>, I tried searching for PAUY LENG on the web but can't seem to find any veg that looks like what u girls showed me that day at the supermarket.. The ones u girls showed me looks more like CHYE SIM, longer stem and shorter leaves but these that I've googled for, are the opposite so is any of these sama sama to that PAUY LENG? If so, then I guess that PAUY LENG u girls were refering to is indeed a breed of SPINACH.

Pic 1
776924.jpg

Pic 2
776925.jpg

Pic 3
776926.jpg

And when I googled for 'PAUY LENG', this seems to be a very popular Chinese Dialect Girl's name!! hee..

<font color="ff0000">Has any mummies fed ASPARAGUS to bbs yet?</font>

brenda, any idea if we can feed bb strawberries?

tt day i was eating some, kai saw n wanted, so i just let him suckle on the strawberries.

yea u r right Selina!
Or is it like that for boys? but I dun quite think so right...Anyhow, I'll patiently wait for that day to come!! My colls assured me tho he dun react like that but in time to come, he'll definitely want his mummy and will prob reveal his 'sticky' self then..

Feeding asparagus..
me! aiyoh.. i blur, never remove the fibre after steaming.. JAdelle keep spitting out.. end up i give up!!

phoebe,
my orders are correct.. I tt to you now..

To Account DBS Savings Plus
020-1-027024 PhoebeSept mum
Amount S$7.67
Transaction Reference 1149759639

brenda, the gracecup brand of spinach is much taller and skinnier than the pics u've shown here.

so i guess tt day at the supermart u gals saw the gracecup brand of spinach?

actually i wanted to ask too are we supposed to give ur pics kind of spinach or the gracecup brand kind of spinach?

diana, this's the spinach w purple color in the middle. there's another type which looks like this but the root is like what brenda posted above.

Ms satu gosong
i wait long long 4 R to crawl and hug me. i think boys dun do tt leh.
if he does, its a bonus 4 me!

Bren/peachie
no leh, i haven fed him the brown rice coz my mum says need to wash, sun and then grind it. she says drying over the wok (like wat peachie's mum did) will b too heaty. thus she prefers to sun dry it.
bren, then how u cook and u said A likes it? my R super fussy like me, dunno if he will like.

pict 1 looks like phuay leng but phuay leng's stems r longer, they r not so "short" leh.

asparagus?! how to cook till its soft ah? i dun even like it so i think R oso wun like. bleah.

JRT,
My SIL's son starts crawling backwards first. So I am not sure if there is a different between boy and girl. Maybe BM can throw some light here . . hehehe

<font color="ff6000">Aquaducks Free Trial Session @ Suntec City</font>

As promised to Jerene, I'm making arrangements for those interested to try out a Trial Swim Session with Aquaducks @ Suntec City.

The sessions will be held on Sundays @ 4pm and each group will have a max of 6 babies.

If you're interested pls fill ur name and baby's name below.

<font color="0000ff">6th May</font>
1) Cheekz (Rae Ann)
2) Yuna (Clarice)
5)
6)

<font color="0000ff">13th May</font>
1)
5)
6)

<font color="0000ff">20th May</font>
1)
5)
6)

<font color="0000ff">27th May</font>
1)
5)
6)

<font color="119911">Please note that the trial sessions are free. However, please ensure you do turn up if you have booked the slot (unless really cannot help it, ie baby sick, etc). This is to be fair to the instructors who would actually be put on duty that day for the trial session.</font>

Once confirmed, I will send out emails to interested parties with more info.

Cheerios!!!

JRT,
Amabel, initially start to crawl by crawling backward, then to launched forward and now trying to really learn crawling. According to my great grandma-in-law, those baby that crawl backward first is very very naughty children next time leh. She told us to teach our girl properly, if not next time very naughty. haha dunno how true is it, but i believe whatever she said

1_0
Sherilyn have not really start crawling more like leopard crawl, per the army term. . to me she is mopping the floor. . hahaha.

So Amabel start crawling? She can lift herself up and co-ordinate her legs and hands already?

BTW, Amabel lettering still with me. I will find opportunity to pass it to Pony if not you want me to post to you? Sorry for taking so long.

Jas,
How do you skin or remove the fibre from the asparagus before steaming it?

hey cheekz thanks for organising. I'm interested... do you know how much they charge for lessons? And what if it rains, will they replace lessons?

Aquaducks Free Trial Session @ Suntec City

As promised to Jerene, I'm making arrangements for those interested to try out a Trial Swim Session with Aquaducks @ Suntec City.

The sessions will be held on Sundays @ 4pm and each group will have a max of 6 babies.

6th May
1) Cheekz (Rae Ann)
2) Yuna (Clarice)
5)
6)

13th May
1)
5)
6)

20th May
1)
5)
6)

27th May
1) Ling + Sophie
5)
6)

Please note that the trial sessions are free. However, please ensure you do turn up if you have booked the slot (unless really cannot help it, ie baby sick, etc). This is to be fair to the instructors who would actually be put on duty that day for the trial session.

6th May
1) Cheekz (Rae Ann)
2) Yuna (Clarice)
3) Emoments (Dylan)
5)
6)

13th May
1)
5)
6)

20th May
1)
5)
6)

27th May
1) Ling + Sophie
5)
6)

Please note that the trial sessions are free. However, please ensure you do turn up if you have booked the slot (unless really cannot help it, ie baby sick, etc). This is to be fair to the instructors who would actually be put on duty that day for the trial session.

Ling,

its free! for the first session...

if it rains, not sure but i think u can ask for another slot in june, but they only have trials if there are min 6 babies...

6th May
1) Cheekz (Rae Ann)
2) Yuna (Clarice)
3) Emoments (Dylan)
5)
6)

13th May
1) Jerene (Alexis)
5)
6)

20th May
1)
5)
6)

27th May
1) Ling + Sophie
5)
6)

Hi Brenda,

Sorry sorry, which mag is that? Must lemme know the title at least such that I can look out for it mah.

I don't think that there is any manufacturing defect with the bouncer leh. Anyway, it looks like this (except we have detached the top part that makes music and has the 3 dangling toys)....
777354.jpg

Still dunno how he managed to topple the entire bouncer while sitting in it! Really beyond our comprehension! Huh, there is only my hubby and me at home leh.... Unless our home really got ghost! The whole bouncer was literally upside down and pressing on poor Clarence's legs and head... Gosh!

Hey, I googled for Puay Leng and found this (think you spelt wrongly - it's puay leng and not pauy leng, hehe...)
777355.jpg

Does this help??? I am quite lost when it comes to veggies one....

Hi Selina,

Thanks for the info on the ToyRUs sale!!! Very helpful!

Hi JRT,

So your mom sun dry the rice!!! Very tedious leh. You feed asparagus already???!!! I haven't tried that yet.

Hi Msapple,

According to my mom, she said that Puay Leng has a high uric acid content and is linked to gallstones, therefore not suitable to be fed to the baby on a daily basis. Plus she also said that Puay Leng is very susceptible to worms and insects, hence liberal use of pesticides is required for its cultivation and it is very difficult to find the organic version (my Mom feeds only organic stuffs). She said that Heng Chye is fine. She likes the red-coloured Heng Chye best, as the nutritional value of the red coloured heng chye is higher than the normal heng chye and is safe to be consumed on a frequent basis.

I really am not sure about the above cos I have not researched on it yet.... This is just sharing on what my mom said.... Anyway, when I asked her why there is such a difference when both are spinach, my mom got defensive and she retorted that there are hundreds of species of mushrooms as well... some poisonous, some with medicinal benefits, some with higher nutritional value.... but all are mushrooms... Anyway, if anyone has any info on heng chye or puay leng, or any other veg, do let me know yah? Thanks!

6th May
1) Cheekz (Rae Ann)
2) Yuna (Clarice)
3) Emoments (Dylan)
4) <font color="0000ff">dumpty (Gabriel) - tentatively first. will confirm once I get my hubby's approval :p</font>
5)
6)

13th May
1) Jerene (Alexis)
5)
6)

20th May
1)
5)
6)

27th May
1) Ling + Sophie
5)
6)

<font color="0000ff">cheekz</font>, thanx for the arrangements!

<font color="0000ff">crawling</font>
jRt, Gabriel also crawl backwards first, then launches and now crawls. My mum having headache as he keeps wanting to crawl even though his knees get red as a result of crawling on the floor. But he just dun stop now. And.... Gabe also likes to crawl and hug me lehz...

<font color="ff6000">orange</font>
Oh no! Glad cutie Cayden did not get big bun from the fall. *hugz hugz*

<font color="0000ff">Selina</font>
How's Caleb's bruise. See already so heartache... *sayang sayang*

<font color="0000ff">Brenda</font>
I also want to see the scanned image! Email me plez? Can't find any copy of the mag at the newstands I pass by leh
All sold out already meh?

6th May
1) Cheekz (Rae Ann)
2) Yuna (Clarice)
3) Emoments (Dylan)
4) dumpty (Gabriel) - tentatively first. will confirm once I get my hubby's approval :p
5)
6)

13th May
1) Jerene (Alexis)
5)
6)

20th May
1)
5)
6)

27th May
1) Ling + Sophie
2) Emma + Enzo *
3) Orange + Cayden
4) Sha + Sherilyn *
5)
6)

* am posting on behalf of Emma and Sha

<font color="0000ff">edksd</font> yes he had rotavirus n that's oral so diff from penumoccal which is normal injection.

<font color="0000ff">dumpty</font> actually i dunno cos i still havent got the chance to carry him today. when i left home for work he still slping, when i came back he just slept so here i am waiting to carry him... hope he wakes up soon otherwise it will b too dark n me too slpy to see him clearly

<font color="ff6000">Happy Bday Sweet Sophie & Cute Caleb!!</font>

<font color="0000ff">ling,</font>
WAAAAAH! i am now green in colour, after reading abt lil sophie's sleeping pattern. it sounds HEAVENLY!

<font color="119911">selina,</font>
poor caleb!
his bruises look so painful!
he must have been so stressed when he was stuck behind the door. poor baby

<font color="ff6000">peachie,</font>
clarence too! poor baby! geeeez... that's so dangerous! i hope he's feeling better and has forgotten all abt it. *sigh* ooohhhh... can i join u guys @ the next isetan sale??? hee hee... hopefully it's during my holidays! *fingers crossed*

6th May
1) Cheekz (Rae Ann)
2) Yuna (Clarice)
3) Emoments (Dylan)
4) dumpty (Gabriel) - tentatively first. will confirm once I get my hubby's approval :p
5)
6)

13th May
1) Jerene (Alexis)
5)
6)

20th May
1)
5)
6)

27th May
1) Ling + Sophie
2) Emma + Enzo *
3) Orange + Cayden
4) Sha + Sherilyn *
5) Joon + DN
6)

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">edksd</font></font>, ooh no I knew it wasnt chye sim that they showed me, I only meant to say they look alike.
As for which <font color="ff0000">spinach</font>, theres no one type that were supposed to feed with. However therere differences between these spinach-es in terms of their nutritional values and we do want to feed our bbs the ones that has most! As per my understanding, the type (local purple leafy spinach) that <font color="ff0000">Diana</font> showed has the most nutrients in comparison to the others we can find in our local supermarkets. I might be wrong or could miss out other spinach-es but so far thats the one I will recommend to serve our bb with.
The type (Pauy Leng) that they showed me seemed to be a favorite food of worms, so I think the pesticides used on such veg is heavy. <font color="ff0000">Peachies</font> mum also commented about this to Peachie. In my knowledge, as long as veg that is leafy, it will attract lots of worms, such as Kang Kongs and Chye Sim etc.. Thats also why we meet worms in these veg easily, compare to broccoli or cabbage.

<font color="ff0000">Asparagus</font>
I wasnt sure on whats the recommended age to feed Asparagus cos some sources say 8 months, some say 6.. aiya headache la.. but <font color="ff0000">Jasmine</font>, Jadelle no problem right I supposed? I think its probably becos this veg carries a strong smell so those health boards dont classfy this as FIRST FOODS.

Anyway, as for how to handle this veg, its about the same as KAI LAN.
-Buy the nice nice green green ones, preferably the clone head shaped there feels firm and not too brown in color.
-Snap them into two by using your thumb and finger.
-Use the TOP part for bb puree that means the clone shaped part. For adults, we can eat the main stem la..
-Use a paring knife to pare the fiber. Try to remove as much fiber as possible.
-Wash the veg by rubbing motion. (In your mind tell yourself, u want to rub away all that nasty pesticides!)
-Steam it
-Puree it
-Can add into porridge too but if first time eating this, don mix together just in case bb doesnt like asparagus, the porridge is not wasted.

Sorry ahh I really cracked my head to compose these procedures, but ma chiam, still not clear right? Any mummies got more qns on the prep of Asparagus, just shout ok? If I know, Ill answer la

phoebe

i hv transfer $$ to your DBS Saving plus a/c for my wall border.

Bank a/c: 020-1-027024
Amt: $60.22
Transaction Ref: 7453

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Strawberry is a No-No!</font></font>

<font color="0077aa">edksd</font>, better to stop feeding strawberries to Kai. It is one of the highest allergen fruits just like kiwis.. Such fruits can agitate the still tiny and weak lungs of our bbs and will eventually cause them to kena asthma or lung related diseases..

Here's an excerpt of what I found for you to read from http://www.medicinenet.com/food_allergy/page3.htm

<font color="0000ff">'In children, the pattern is somewhat different from adults, and the most common foods that cause allergic reactions are eggs, milk, peanuts, and fruits, particularly tomatoes and strawberries. Children sometimes outgrow their allergies but adults usually do not lose theirs. Also, children are more likely to outgrow allergies to cow's milk or soy formula than allergies to peanuts, fish, or shrimp. Adults and children tend to react to those foods they eat more often; for example, in Japan, allergy to rice, and in Scandinavia, allergy to codfish, is more common than elsewhere.'</font>

If you google for food allergy and look for 'strawberry', there're lots more info. BTW other berries are also considered as high allergen foods so got to watch what we give to our bbs..

daisybuttons,
did u receive my email? sorry abt today hor...
and i left my stupid phone somewhere, dunno where??? still cannot charge!

helo helo helo HELO HELO!

<font color="ff6000">orange</font>, i am heeding your sms summons, I am BACK! mu ha ha ha!!! hehehehe. thanks for informing abt the Ulike dear!

<font color="119911">Selina</font> aiyoh so heartpain seeing Caleb's pics and bruises, can imagine how u feel as something similar happened just 4 days ago with Jovann.
sayang Caleb for me yar? so are you going to United Sq tmlw? ur post jerked me awake, i kinda decided i fancy some hor fun from United Sq for lunch tmlw and may jio my coll there, then accidentally walk into toysrus hehehee.

<font color="0000ff">FALLING DOWN</font>. my Jovann had a bad fall on Sunday.
He was sitting on his Safety 1st Potty (yah safety indeed), and he had just poo-ed. I was too complacent, thinking nothing will happen and i will be fast enough for anything, so i turned away to get some cotton pads for cleaning up later. he's 2metres away from me in the same room. then when i turned back, he is pitching forward and with a loud sound fell onto the floor and hit his little head.
he was crying and when i carried him up he has a bruise on his right forehead oredi.
i so so so so so heartpain! kept sayanging him and apologising and calling my hubby (he went out to get dinner for us) to faster get home!!! i felt that i am so careless, such things shldn't happen! but I thank GOD for so many things. thank god is a paraquet floor coz PD said thats the softest. Thank God for him falling fwds and not backwards, thank God for the potty being so low on the floor. we saw PD and he is alright, but the thought of it still haunts me. the scene of him pitching fwd kept replaying in my mind. since that night, for 3 consecutive nights, he woke up middle of the night and din wanna sleep. colls and friends say must be nightmare.
i feel so heartpain.

<font color="ff0000">Joon</font>, email? yahoo ah? i din see leh! oh ur phone missing no wonder i kept sms-ing and calling ur phone off!!!!! aiyoh hehehee. so are u still coming?
Sat we going Bintan for a day trip not at home wor....

<font color="119911">jrt and peachie</font> ISetan sale?? i SURE ONZ! when is the private sale? got meh? thought its JUNE?????? the one in May is not private sale, just some sale right? got good buys? i browse through din see any leh.... except the jap food hahahaaa.

<font color="0000ff">brenda</font>, i doubt Jovann will like the brown rice loh, he din seem to like the jap rice leh. he look disgusted and puke out a bit. prob coz i din cook long enough but i got mash and mash leh. i taste it and its soooo sticky to me i din like it. you are lucky ur Arianne is not a picky eater like Jovann and jrt's Reubern loh! everything u feed her she seems to like! this morning i stayed home and was late for work coz i was preparing his first meat coz PD gave the OK. i steamed chicken breast, carrots, potato and spinach, and blend everything except the potato lah which i mash. he dun like it.

and yes thats PUAY LENG lah, u spell sala lah. ur han yu pin yin really cannot make it one hor? hehehehe. u mean u didn't believe peachie, me and jrt that it IS spinach???!!!! brrrrr....hehehee...but anyway after what peachie's mom said i am not feeding that to him liaoz... but jia lat loh, he dun like heng cai loh.

<font color="0000ff">Meat</font>. who has started on meat and how you cook???

<font color="ff6000">Weekend</font>. I am going Angsana Spa Bintan this Sat for some serious Ayuvedic pampering. 2.5 hours of Ayuvedic bliss. so looking fwd!!! hubby and some friends will be going for a round of Golf at Laguna, while i laze around in the resort and spa!!! hahahaaa...... Will save Banyan Tree Bintan for when hubby and I can go spa there alone.

oh and something else!

<font color="ff0000">Red Spinach</font>. Have anyone EVER wondered where did the RED part come from? on closer look, you can actually see that it spreads out from the vein leh, right? doesn't it mean its something in the soil or water from which it grows? doesn't it mean its added by farmers?? if so, is it really more nutritious? i am wondering coz i reall curious how it get its colour. i am guessing there really could be genuine RED spinach, where the red is in the leaves and not spreading from the veins. which are more exp. but with this perception that its more expensive and better, could bad farmers be DOING something to make their spinach RED and thus selling at a more exp price? Coz when i steam my "red spinach", the redness comes off in the water at bottom of the bowl! if its really red leaves, it shdn't come off right? this sounds more like DYE! anyone has any comments???????