(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Emma,

You terrible lah.. See, Rainnie's mummy is so nice ! what a nice MIL.. you should treasure and stop being so fickle minded! Go and ask Enzo to beg Little Rannie back !! lol

Hi Emma,

No probs! Just go back and measure first.

peachie.. rainnie mama says she will help me collect (if timing cant coincide, i'll go down myself.. hehe.. can shop mah.. :p)... hehe.. she pay u cash ok? yippee... can decorate enzo's room!!!

Hi all...

I have questions regarding feeding:
(I) Do u all feed milk straight after baby has finished cereal?
(II) How do i know when the cereal is enough to replace a milk feed already?

And Phoebe,
yes.. i want to see ur BBL bag too!

rexbabie

i think it's better to feed bb milk half an hour later after cereal. at least let the body digest the cereal first ya ?

you can slowly increase the amt of cereal, and at the same time, decrease milk for the feed.

for eg

day1: 1 tbs of cereal + 120ML
day2: 2 tbs of cereal + 100ML
day3: 3 tbs of cereal + 80ML
... and so on ...

bb will give you the cue that she has enough. so you'll know how much to prepare the next time.

<font color="0000ff">peachie</font>,

i need an A leh.. when i go down, jadelle's name all got except A! help me check if stock arrive liaoz?

<font color="0000ff">rainnie's mummy</font>,
easy lah.. bintan lagoon is own by SG company lah.. their water is as clean as SG leh.. piped over one! i know cos i supply the steel before to the project years ago!so, no need to bring along water... juz boil can liaoz..

stuff to bring for baby:
- milk bottles x 3
- sunsuits for playing about x 6 and sleep wear
x 1 (rewear)
- mustela physiobebe for no rinse instant cleaning or can mix into bath water..
- swim wear/ swim diapers
- tape diapers x 12
- sunhat
- lots of sunblock
- swimming float/ ring
- milk powder with scoop in ziploc bag & 1 of those milk powder container u fill with 3 feeds, for extra milk powder, i put in ziploc bag with a milk scoop.
- steam sterilisation bags from medela (if room got microwave) for pumps/ milk bottles. If not, just go over with hot boiling water in a ziploc bag (use those freezer bags as thicker) and let it steam a while..
- solid food: i bring along brown rice cereal in another ziploc bag, and my diaper bag portable feeding spoons, plus jarred veg food x 2 and jarred fruit x 2. (can last in fridge mah). 1st day @ bintan, i cook porridge enough to last 1 day, and bring along pureed carrots n spinach and friday, she eat that lor, whole day.. cos the tiger jar keep the food so so warm! only sat & sunday, full day on brown rice and/or jarred organic food..

I still latch on my girl lah.. the milk powder i use only when "inconvenient" to latch her.. iz jus a standby..

i went on friday and came back sunday lor..

i squeeze all her barang into the BIG carter's travelling diaper bag..and juz 1 more luggage for me n hubby.. and yah.. i no bring stroller.. only a cloth sling.. cos lots of colleagues around to carry her and now she can sit, so easy lor.. no need to carry her all the time and can sit on high chair/ bed/ floor/ beach . plus not much walking around, so stroller stupid..

<font color="ff0000">phoebe</font>,
i can't decide what i want!!! what u all getting? i want a wall border that can suit both boys n gals.. cos 1 only have 1 room for the kids and they gotta share next time if i have another kid!

any ideas????????

jasmine

winnie the pooh series ?? eheh I also have the same worry as you .. what if next one is a boy ?
but I may not buying the wall paper. cos my extra room is full of bb stuff + ironing stuff leh .. how ?

jasmine

i choose the carebears border as it matches my wall colour. but i personally like the strawberry shortcake but hubby thinks can't really SEE "her", & only 1 character inside.

how abt the pooh design?

Hi Emma,

You are right! My mom uses ULIKE to cook for Clarence, and she swears by it! Bought her a Braun Multiquick a couple of months back but she refused to use it... haiz.

emma
got 2 blades n 4 blades?? alamak i didnt realise leh haha... i think does not matter right as long as u remember urself, dun mix them up./

ok thanx mommies... if i used it to blend adult stuff alr, can still use to blend enzo's stuff??? no need to get new spare parts right???

Hi Rainnie,

Got your 'E'.

Hi Dumpty,

Just got the stamp! Will be mailing out your letters tomorrow! Paiseh... letters are in my hubby's car. Can only get them this evening.

Hi Jasmine,

The pushcart is still out of stock for A leh. Stock will only be coming in next Friday.... You need me to look out for you or not?

Hi Emma,

Should be fine right? Since you will be cooking the stuffs after blending, the cooking process will kill the bacteria... Just dun use it to blend chilli and spices like what Rexbabie said.

anyone's bb still making a fuss when bottled fed?

im still hearing my mom telling me she needs to distract kai when feeding him ebm. and 1 bottle of 110ml ebm needs a few breaks in between before he can finishes it up.

why like tt huh?

for those feeding healthy times cereal, is it once opened must discard after 28 days like heinz's and bellamy's? i cant find anywhere tt states this on the box.

edksd

my Rachel use to have one/two breaks when she drinks milk. so what I do now is to let her hold on to her favourite "chow chow" and she will quietly finish her milk. try to let Kai hold on to something that he likes.
let me know if it works ok ?

ilb, thks for sharing. but kai doesnt has anything he particularly likes leh.

we give him something he'll hold it curiously and play w it, the next moment we give him another thing, he'll drop the first thing and played w the 2nd thing.

nowadays he likes to bite on the teat when we're feeding him via bottles. i wonder is it becos he has teethed?

and when feeding him solids, ive to let him watch bb einstein. otherwise really cannot feed, he'll be fidgeting here and there and shut his mouth tight.

Edksd,
I sing song to wayne.. and let him hold on to the bottle or bottle cap when I feeding him. Most of the time, it works. And if he needs burping, he will want to sit up.. I juz let him sit up, rest a while and continue with his milk.

peachie, help me buy can? Either I collect together with enzo's wall paper (if his mama wants to buy
) if not i will opt for mail. Thanks so much!

Jasmine, thanks so much!!! SO DETAILED and info provided .. ekekek bintan lagoon villa also piped with SG water??? hehe

edksd

i think u need to be patient with feeding solids to gain his acceptance. Think you've just started with Kai right ? Alternatively wait until he is very very hungry then U try to feed him ?

i dunno if it's because of this teething that affects his milk intake cos Rachel has not teeth yet. Or he is not hungry yet ? Or u can try this. Feed him 60 ML first then abt half an hour later, feed the rest. In this way, you only warm the milk once for each feed. Possible ?

Edksd,
I sing song to wayne.. and let him hold on to the bottle or bottle cap when I feeding him. Most of the time, it works. And if he needs burping, he will want to sit up.. I juz let him sit up, rest a while and continue with his milk.

sorry.. repeated entry....

Edksd,
Wayne bite on teats if he is drinking water. But if milk bottle, he won't bite. Maybe like what ilb says, wait till he is really hungry then feed him....

pony

i sing to Rachel before haha sometimes it works, sometimes she is soo stubborn and want to sit up. so bo bian .. let her play a while then I cont.

but now with the chow chow trick, it's much much better.

edksd, my girl always drink 2/3 of her milk then stopped, now must sing to her then she can finish her milk. As for cereal, it's getting more difficult to feed her also...sigh..

ilovebb,
I think i will use the trick as well. let him hold on to his pillow or something.. normally, i sing to him and he laugh.. and then, he began to get mischevious and then stop drinking too..

I like to follow Dr. Ngiam's way .. don't force kids.. so if he don't want to drink, i juz leave to heat up.... if 2nd time, he dont want to drink.. then i juz let him b.

<font color="ff6000">peachie</font>,

keep a look out for the "A" for me. At least help me reserve.Thanks! If i am going down on friday, i can pick it up bah..

<font color="0000ff">rainnie mummy</font>,
ya lah.. piped clean water from SG lah even to the villas.. but hor, please ALWAYS BOIL the water ah!

<font color="ff0000">edksd</font>,
my girl also teething and same problem. i have to break up the feed too.. sometimes she only take 60ml! so in order not to waste milk, i give her in multiples of 60ml.. like <font color="0000ff">littlepony</font>, if Jadelle still no take it 15 min later, i give up liaoz.. let her be..
me no stress over food intake one.. cos my family people all skinny skinny mah.. she now still only ~7.7kg..

<font color="ffff00">Yuna</font>,
i let Jadelle try tofu liaoz.. very easy.. and healthy too.. i just mash it up.. try to buy the softer type.. and always keep them under water for freshness, according to my food bible "Super Baby Food".

FREEZING AVOCADOS
Super Baby food say can freeze avocado leh..so actually is can freeze or cannot hah?

yuna,

the book say can serve like that leh.. but hor.. we usually prefer to give warm/ hot right? so i will steam it, but they say must take care not to steam too long otherwise lose the nutrients..

ilovebabies,
wah lau, i think i play safe and give <font color="ff0000">FRESHLY CUT</font> lah..thanks ah!

Jasmine,

No probs! Will let u know if I see them.... Will reserve under your name too.

Hi Yuna,

My friend fed her baby tau kua at 11 months. She will steam the tau kua, cut them into small small cubes, and then place them in a plate for the baby to feed himself. It keeps the baby occupied during meal times, is a healthy snack, and most of all, develops fine motor skills and hand-eye coordination! Intend to do the same for Clarence when he turns 10-11 months.

ilb,
Ya.. dr ngiam never like to force kids.. even when my nephew is not eating, dr ngiam said if they like fried food, ask my mil to cook for them... juz cook what they feel like eating..

Dr ngiam said no worries about milk intake.. as long we are certain he is eating and growing.. that is all it matters!!

Thks Jamine, like wat you said, I wld prefer to steam the tofu first but will take note not to overheat it.

Hey Peachie,

Ok, will take note of your suggestion, very ideal advise. now i put C on the booster seat on the floor and give her biscuit to feed herself.

FYI, C's 1st top teeth is coming out. hee...

peachie, thanks so much! how much ah? 90 cents? once emma confirm whether to take the wall paper frm you or not I'll let u know k ;)

Lilpony

ya Dr Ngiam quite relaxed over such things hor ? but he is right, must ensure that bb is HAPPILY growing right ? else they will be grouchy in future if we force them too much heheh

ilb,
Ya... agree! That's why i am comfortable with Dr Ngiam. And i like the fact that we can call him on the phone if we have doubts... haaaa!!! I wonder how many of such phonecalls he get everyday.. i mean, i already dunno make how many phonecalls to him ever since.

Yuna,

Clarice's top teeth coming out??!!! So cute!!! Aunty Peachie must see this Sat!
Clarence is still bo gae leh.... After so many false alarms I also sian liao. hehe...

I also think the tau kua idea is fantastic! It came from a friend whose mom is Patricia Koh, who is quite a well known expert in childhood development and the owner of Pat's Schoolhouse. So this friend has a lot of fantastic ideas!

Rainnie,

Yup, 90 cents! Dun worry... No hurry!

Peachie,
I think it's no hurry for bb to have tooth or teeth yet.. like my mil always repeat to me in hokkien...'7,sit. 8,crawl, 9,have teeth'.... So let it be nature! haaaaaaaaaaa!!!