Hi Phoebe,
It's just my mom, dad and FIL who gave a lot. My mom and dad gave $400, FIL gave $100, and my hubby and I gave $120. This comes up to $620 in total liao. The rest of the relatives gave between $4 to $20. Ang pow is like this.... your kid receives a lot, but you would have given out more. So at the end of the day it is probably the kids who are happy with their ang pow takings only... My parents went visiting with us, so my parents gave out lots of angpows and we also gave out loads. In return, there is only one kid (ie Clarence) who is receiving the angpows. Very not worth it come to think of it in $$$ terms. But there are the intangible benefits - bringing the kid visiting helps to keep the spirit of CNY alive and let him interact with the relatives.
You buying a car??? Now is probably a good time... hehe... We just placed a $5k deposit for a Nissan Latio at Tan Chong Motors as well on 16 Feb. The Latio basic is selling for $47.5K, while the Latio premium (comes with leather seats, better interior fittings, sports rims and CVT transmission) is selling for $50.5K. We chose the Latio premium, but not confirmed cos we are going for 6 bids. The price of Latio dropped by a lot. Last year this time the Latio was still selling at $60K plus. The Honda airwave looks good... Can seat 7 pax right?
The Nissan Sunny sells for $40,500 now.... my eyes almost popped out.
Hi jo,
No probs! You can go to the Stanchart branch at Vivocity. Opens daily from 10am to 10pm. Very convenient for working parents.
About the the insurance for the baby, we got Clarence hospitalisation insurance when he was just 2 weeks old. I think it is important to cover hospitalisation asap cos if (touch wood) any diagnosis is made later which renders the child "uninsurable", there will be a huge financial impact on the family as no insurance policy would then cover the ailment. As the incremental between the basic plan and the highest end one is not much for a person below 21 years, we got him the highest end one which allowed all private hospitals (eg MEH, GlenE, Raffles) and government restructured hospitals bills to be claimed. The insurance policy also covers post hospitalisation costs such as physiotherapy and recurrent visits. To downgrade from a high end plan to a lower end one is also immediate. To upgrade the other way will be contingent on the health of the individual at the point of upgrade. My husband was the one who sourced for it, so I cannot remember which company we got from in the end. I just recalled that we were considering NTUC Income and Great Eastern and Aviva then. I think we got Great Eastern. Anyway, you can look around. Life insurance is not necessary at this age. Education policy - can consider but we did not get for him at this stage.
Hi Brenda,
Thanks for sending the bola! Really no rush, but thanks a lot though! Let me know if you have not received the $3.35 this Friday, okie?
Will snap some pics of Clarence with his new toy the next time! And thanks for forwarding MediaCorp the montages! Did they say which issue the mag will the pics be published? I will surely grab one and frame it up!!! Hehe....
Hi edksd,
I got the KickFrog, not the AquaSeal. I posted weeks ago that Clarence is not keen to kick at all, hence an utter waste of money.... but my loss smaller lah... I got it at $49.90 less 30% during the Isetan sale.... Hehe.... very good at consoling myself.
Not sure if Little Pony's Wayne likes his toy though.
I don't know of any other car toys besides these 2. Anyone else here have any ideas?
Annabel: Happy 6 months!!!!