(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

emoments,
hmm.. u have an active bb leh. Well, i think it's quite tough on u then leh!

Have you tried if you don't bring him home one night, let him sleep in your MIL or mother's plc, will he still be awake??? Just asking because maybe the travelling has not make him sleepy but over stimulated.

Hi Melody

When you say sleep well in the afternoon... how to define that? Sleep a few hours without interrupted? If it is, then for my son, he will be even more alert to stay awake.

Hmm... I'm not sure whether he is over stimulated or not, 'cos he would want us to play with him when we are back from work... if he did not play enough, he simply refused to sleep leh....

emoments... wah... i realli feel for you... not being able to zzz till 3am every night... damn shiong!!! is he lidat over the weekends as well? did you consult ur PD on this? maybe u should bring it up and see what he/she can advice u...

Hi Little Pony

Don't think I'll bring baby overnite there 'cos my baby is super active and they already complained it's not easy to look after my baby.

Also they need to rest after having to look afer my baby in the day.

Emoments,
hmm. quite true as well. Well, perhaps like what emma say, if it's a problem to u, then bring your bb to the PD and see what PD says lor.

hmm... never thot of asking PD.. will do so when he goes for his 4-mth 5-in-1 jab.

I dun have a PD 'cos I go to the polyclinic.. hope they are able to advise me.

My mum said like mother like son.. 'cos I sleep very late at nite too... sigh... even during my pregnancy, I dun sleep till 1 - 2am... (used to it). Initially my son also like tt, but he's getting worse now like 4am or even 6am.... shiong... I dun stay till so late....

Lesson learnt... never sleep so late during pregnancy...

emoments.... if the polyclinic cant help u.. ask ur gynae... think they should know.. cos my gynae seems to be v knowledgeable when it comes to baby stuff too..

wah so many posts i am so lost...!

brenda, thanks for the detailed descp on exercises. but how come all this wun make him more awake than sleepy leh? btw hor, the song u mentioned, how to sing it huh?

anyone knows if there is a database or url i can download nursery rhymes WITH the tune. coz i see so many rhymes or lyrics but i dunno the tune how to sing??!! can someone help?

orange, yah some of the exercise same hor? the stretching of the arms and legs one. but hor, what song we sang while doing those huh do u remember? was it my bonny lies over the ocean? besides that exercise same, which others same? i can only recall that one. the one with the song "stretch your right hand in and ur right hand out" is too fast paced to be a bedtime exercise hehehee.i do play that with him when he is awake in the day.

emoments. we just bought insurance but now wondering are we paying too much for the 1st kid coz the 2nd one we will need to buy similar mah. we bought a $100 prulink one, and a $170+ education one maturing at 21yrs. is this a lot huh? how much is hopstalisation policy from ntuc anyone knows?

emoments, think u can try not playing with you at 7pm if his bedtime is soon after that. else he will be overstimulated. and try to feed his last feed, or spend time with him in a darkened room or quiet room in the 1hour before his bedtime.

daisybutton
ur insurance policies so good one.

we only bought the $10k foundation policy for dexter. havent bought for javier yet. but wil also opt for the same one.
not buying education policy. hubby said if next time they study local uni, use CPF to pay can liao. if they want to go overseas, they apply scholarship, not funding them. heehee.

daisybuttons

You know why? 'cos if my baby sleeps at 7 or 8pm, he will wake up at 10 or 11pm and refused to go back to sleep. So I have to try to keep him awake before letting him sleep, closer to the time when I'm gg to bed.

I tried the dark quiet room method last nite, I read to him and try to make him sleep... but he got more excited instead... hmm... maybe it's something new to him... hahaha... *headache*

Phoebe, what is foundation policy? What does it cover? Is this something like Life Insurance?

daisybuttons, $100 prulink.. is this Life Insurance?

My SIL told me Life Insurance will do and no need to buy hospitalisation or education. But I dun think so... I thot the other 2 are necessary as well?

emoments,
have you tried giving him a warm bath, followed by body massage? Usually my BB get sleepy after a bath or top to tail wipe.

Hi Angeline
No I haven't try that.. isn't it a bit late to give him a bath? He has his evening bath about 6plus... and sometimees I do wash his face and hands when I reached home abt 10plus. He got more alert after that... sigh.

I should go & learn how to do baby massage, then can try...

Blissful Mum | Oh ya! It hurts! Sorry forgot to forewarn u just now!
For bbs poo, do you feed more FM or BM? If its the latter, perhaps its the food you take. I read somewhere and it says mother who eats lots of dark green veg, breastfed bbs poo will be dark green color. FM is more yellow and cake-ky.

melody | Did he explain how it will help? For its kinda strange to hear that.

Emoments | With all that activeness but is your bb happy, healthy and growing well? If he is, I guess its just his character then.. My mum told me I was a nocturnal bb and I hardly slept throughout the day but I did grow up la.. heh.. If you bb is unhappy and crying a lot during those awake hours then perhaps its a grant for a visit to the PD.. But from your last posts, sounds like your bb is just having fun!

Savings Plan | We window shopped quite a bit and found a short term investment plan that actually gives us about 15% returns per year whereas the rest of the savings plans are only like 4%. And oh, the capital is guaranteed. Its called land banking, its worth checking it out. All those insurance policies I feel is all simply financial products, just market differently. To me, it all boils down to the returns and amount of risks.

Rock-a-by baby | I agree with ilovebabies not to rock bb to sleep. Ive never introduce that to Arianne so she doesnt know rocking exists!

daisybuttons |
Little Teapot:
I'm a little teapot, short and stout
Here is my handle [stretch bbs left arm], here is my spout [stretch bbs right leg]
When I get all steamed up, hear me shout
Just tip me over and pour me out!
*REPEAT and change the arm/leg*

You can also check out these sites for songs/lyrics and even listening to them:
www.wtv-zone.com
songsforteaching.com

Kindermusik | Any mummy going for Kindermusik or already enrolled bb? Is it good?

Dumpty,
Thanks for the details.

Emoments,
Yes, brought insurance for Sherilyn after one month old, it is mainly for her education, hospitalization and saving from GE. More like a tailor make to our needs, if you want I can ask my friend who is also the insurance lady whom I have known for many many years and trust as well to contact you, she dont hard sell. She will listen to what you want and explain to even if you dont intend to buy.

Sherilyn try on the brown rice mix with milk today and she finish up all the two feeds, think she must have like it.

Today afternoon the system was down during the afternoon so boring. . hehehehe. . . missing chatting with you all.

Littlepony,
I went to JL this evening and brought lots of stuff, I did my planning and head straight to the baby department and start getting stuff for Sherilyn. I brought a few stuff from Avent. I also brought a new bed for Sherilyn but will only deliver around mid March then I went down to get new bedsheets for the CNY basically nothing for myself as I have brought too much during my US trip.

Please pardon this LONNNNG post... missed so many posts since Monday!

shirlyn, daisybuttons,
abt DN's photo - golly! his face changes in almost all his photos, sometimes looks real cute, sometimes looks real scary! that picture was especially nice coz nice light, nice smile, nice angle... all the planets in the right position, hur hur hur...

melody,
glad to hear that yun's back to normal... yay! and i read abt what u did with yun when she was fussing for someone to carry her. well done!! i don't think i have the patience to let DN cry/yell until he stops! well done!!

puppylove,
wah, read ur post abt photography... u sound damn pro man! i only just learned abt DOF from my hb, hahaha...

ilovebabies,
saw the latest pic of rachel! hee hee hee... she really likes to stick her tongue out huh? trademark! so cute... her hair is so thick and lush!

brenda,
can tell more abt the gymboree classes? how much? where? how long? activities done in class? coz DN just finished a course of playgroup classes and i'm lookg ard for something else for us to do together
and what abt the kindermusik classes? any idea what kind of classes they have there?

jasmine,
i read ur post abt latching on while lying down. is it bad? coz i've started doing tt with DN and it happens EVERY night. i'm a better person now becoz of it! (less grumpy coz i get a BIT more sleep)

elmo,
oh no! i hope ur little one is ok now! abt solids, i'm planning to start when DN is 5.5 mths. reason being i like BFg him and would like to do it exclusively for as long as possible! (also, it's so easy when going out!)

blessedmommy,
no la, jo is not slow, all bbs are different!
is jo gd at tummy time? is she gd at propping herself up? DN can flip, but he seldom does it and when he does, it's only once! and rolling abt? he's def not doing that!!

emoments,
wah, sounds real siong man! *phew* since it started when u and ur hb went back to work, it could be that he missed u 2 and wanted to play with u both and wants to spend as much time as possible with u both! is he sleeping too much in the day? i think littlepony's idea of leaving him at ur MIL's place for 1 day will be a good experiment.

Sha,
haha! we finally get to see Sherilyn! hello little cutie!

Sha_987 | I like Sherilyns eyebrows!

Joon | Lucky I still keep the brochures.. heh

Gymboree: Tanglin Mall (Tel: 67377059)
For bbs 0 to 6 months > LEVEL 1 CLASS (Per Class = 45 minutes)
Non-Member > 1 class: S$34.00 / Subsequent class: S$38.00
Member > 1 class (Trial Class): S$34.00 / 4 classes: S$120.00 / 8 classes: S$240.00 / 12 classes: S$348.00
Annual Membership: S$50.00

Kindermusik: Tanglin Mall (Tel: 64671789) http://www.kindermusik.com.sg/
For bbs 0 to 18 months > VILLAGE CLASS (Per Class = 45 minutes)
Per Class: S$25.00
8 Classes in total for their VILLAGE level.

Ive been bringing Arianne to GymB since she was 1 month old. Now I do see her responding to the activities. GymB is very relax and casual and they sing songs ala Barney style. Ive only been to the trial class for KM and dont have much impression about the place because Arianne was ailing during the class when we went. Wonder if any mummies had signed up there and whats the review..

Joon, I presumed DN is also 4 months right? I suggest you do trial classes for both and then compare. Theres another one located at UE Square called Rhythm In Me - http://www.rhythminme.com/, which Ive heard is also not bad. But the location a bit off for me.

Eh, were close shave for the bb contest yah! So exciting every time I go in and check.. heehee JIAYOU!

Sha

Sherilyn inherited the best part from his daddy - fair skin ! LOL ! (pls dont tell him

today did not went to work cos boss insist i take off for the few late nites and also becos I am still sick. rested well today, so tmr can start the engine again hehe

wah seems like JL has lotsa things to buy ah ? aiyah too bad I will miss it.

Sha, what brand of cereal did u give to Sherilyn ? So u mix with FM ? so it replaces one full feed ?

Think this weekend, my MIL is gonna make brown rice cereal for Rachel too. Her brand is "AI XIN PAI" cos she handmade the brown rice cereal herself, from toasting it then grinding it to powder form. Hope Rachel likes it.

Brenda

Are the classes really good for our baby ? Cos it is quite ex ah ? was reading Motherhood mag Jan issue and they did a comparison of the various schools and the course fees. My goodness think I saw Montessorri (wrong spelling?) charging like $1k+ ?? how can we survive with such expenses and I cant imagine if I need to send >1 kid there ?
*faint*

Joon

ya Rachel loves to the stick out tongue thingy. hehe

Sha

oh forgot to tell u that my hb return ur hb sms oredi lah ..

today collected my 6 bottles of NEUROGAIN PB PLUS from BP here ... cost me $23 each. Pharmacy selling at $31 now.. so ex. Anyone here still taking it ?

brenda,

<font color="ff0000">TANK KIU!!</font>

thanx for the list
orange, daisybuttons and i (cayden, jovann &amp; DN) were in the same playgroup class at BabiesNCream.
it was kinda fun, so was hoping to try out new classes elsewhere, so thanks so much for ur recommendations! is arianne still attending GymB classes? if so, when are u 2 going again? if the timing's gd, i'll bring DN for a trial class and we can meet up

there's a new bbgym place at great world city, called mygym. www.mygymsingapore.com i'll prob be popping by for the open house.

any other sept mummies interested in going for a trial class at kindermusik / gymboree?? i checked rhythminme and the youngest is for 6mth old bbs, so not suitable for us yet.

ilovebabies,
u not sleeping yet?
i just ate some chocolate... greedy (&amp; unhealthy) pig.
btw, i like rachel's blog's makeover!! heard her "talking"... so funny!

abt ur neurogain, how many pills are there per bottle? and how many mg of the fish oil? my gynae recommended it during my preg, but i took Usana fish oil capsules instead. just wondering what's the diff between the 2, coz i'm thinkg of switching.

Hi Brenda
Yes my baby is just having fun.. he will cry if we dun 'play' with him. So I assume he's happy... hmm... really hope so.

Hi Sha
Thanks.. I have 2 or 3 agents on hand.. which I haven't cfm to sign with who yet... need to do my own research first mah...

Hi Joon
I'll see see how it goes.. 'cos now, everybody seems to be afraid to take care of him at nite... all hear but scared to volunteer....

joon, i'm also taking usana. why do u want to switch?

BB classes
we hv been to trial classes at gymboree n kindermusik n IMO, they are not good. gymboree's free play is better but save it till bb can crawl so he can explore on his own. the classes are just overrated. kindermusik's Our Village for under 18 months are so elementary that u can really just do it yourself. if u r going for socialising, then might as well organise playgroups (n it's free). Our Time is slightly better but it's for 18 mths onwards.

just my $0.02...

Playdates
sorry joon, forgot to answer yr previous qn... no i hv not organise for N yet as i feel at this age, it is more like gathering for parents than for bb. but once they are around 6 months, i plan to do once a week and incorporate some activities.

Gathering
where is the list? mummies, 27th Jan still?

classes
Heh, i was at Tanglin Mall last Sun and caught a glimpse of what Kindermusik does. SO CUTE the little ones and the parents. I think the parents have more fun than the babies!

But checked out the prices and it was so expensive so very tempted to go for trial lesson and then do the same with Sophie at home! heh.

But it's true Sophie loves music, bouncing and dancing. Haha maybe i shd start my own class!

Sha,
seems like u have a fruitful trip to JL yesterday huh! haaa!!! Good! Haa! Applause on your ability to focus on just buying bb stuff and not sidetrack to other stuff! haaaaa!!! I won't be able to do that if i was u! Oh, finally we see Sherilyn's photo here!!! hee, very cute leh.. ya, her eyebrows very thick! good leh

Joon

i need to chk on the fish oil tonite then I let u know ya ?

But it has a very strong fishy smell, swallow it fast else it leave the taste in ur mouth. Yucks !

Brenda,

No, PD did not explain why. But I tink d reason is if feed water, baby would not be interested to wake up to drink.

Emoments

We brought a life insurance from income for yun. And also a hospital plan using medisave. We did not get her the education plan... already feel too much $$$ commitment alr... wat if there is a second one

Emoments

I feel that hospitalisation plan is the most impt policy to get for our kid. Hospital bill is very ex esp if u send ur kid to private hospital. I got one from Aviva via Prudential.

Brenda,
Thanks. I like that eyebrow of hers too. I used to have thick eyebrow too but I shave it off when I was very young and it was hilarious.

How it happen : was playing hid and seek in one of the old neighbor house and we saw her daddy shaving so we found that SHAVER so amazing and the only thing in our face that got hair is our eyebrow so I shave hers and she shave mine!!! Went home my mum got a shock of her life and cane me!@#$%%^ . . .hahahahaha

Ilovebabies,
That is what I told the daddy as well and he so proud of it coz the mummy is tan tan like a Malay girl.

Oh was quite happy with the thing I brought yesterday and mainly is for Sherilyn.

Cant remember the brand of brown rice but it can be brought in NTUC just look out for the making In Singapore there are various type some with ginseng, ikan bills, we have not brought any Sherilyn is trying out the one my SIL brought for her son. Will be buying one today and will let you know the brand.

She has two feed yesterday, what my MIL did was she add two and half scope of milk power with half scope of brown rice into it. And yesterday she had her feed with brown rice at around 5+ and her next feed is at 3am!!!!!!! Faint!!!!

Sending our baby to school the next time is very X so I am not thinking that much yet but I have expected it. . . hehehehe. . .enjoy what you have now when the time come you will know what you need to do.

Yes my hubby told me last night liao. What is amount Rachel is drinking so I can prepare the milk power for her.

Emoments,
No problem.

Littlepony,
Was at the lingerer department yesterday and remember what you said about man dont get it but I realize they will get it when you wear it for them. . .hahahahaha

Sha

wah the cereal makes Sherilyn very full ah ?
u mean she dont cry for milk in between ?
power ...

Rachel is drinking 120ML now, tks !

eh btw, sat nite is before or after dinner ?

ilovebabies,
She dont cry for milk until about 3+am and we try to feed her around 11pm she CRY coz she want to sleep and tell me dont distrude her. . .hahahaha.

Check and let you know whether before or after dinner the most we can call for Pizza hut or KFC for dinner. . . hehehehe

Sha,
wah, that is a funny story!!! hahahhaa!

DG,
thanx for voting, hohoho... abt the usana pills, was thinkg of switching if the neurogain ones are more potent. i find the usana ones really BIG. hate to swallow them. UGH!

ilovebabies,
smelly ah? yeeesh!! how many do u have to take a day? i'm hoping to find something small and potent and doesn't require me to swallow so many capsules/pills/tablets/blah blah blah!!

Sha.. u v farni lehz.. but i did the same thing too... but worse still in my case, i kpo go shave my arm... at first no hair one.. now the hair like so coarse.. sigh... so ugly...

aargh! been having trouble feeding ethan last few days. so exasperating! when try to latch him on , he cry like mad so i give bottle thinking he too hungry to suckle. then he drink fr bottle halfway then dun wanna finish! really feel like smacking him!!!

wat is the reason bb dun wanna latch on anymore huh? he was latching happily a couple of wks back but now like gets angry when i bring him to my boob.

and then now not only boob dun want, but bottle oso dun wanna finish?!?

ssorry ah.. just using this as on outlet to vent :p

michelle

I had the same experience with Rachel just before I went back to work. Very sad when they reject our breasts right? It could be nursing strike ? Somehow I feel she knows there is an alternative i.e. bottle feeding ! cos if I give in to her, she drinks her milk happily.

anyway it still happens once in a while. you have to be very very patient with them and rem dont get angry over it else the bb will have a negative experience with latching.

Sometimes I carry her and walk abt and latch her. She seems receptive then I'll sit down and latch her.

anyway i attached some info for ur reading. hope it helps.
mime_txt.gif

nursing_strike_kellymom_text-591169.txt (20.3 k)</td></tr></table></center>

phoebe, yah we initially also thought can use cpf to let them study U next time, until my dad scold me for being selfish. i was surprised so asked him why, he said if i use CPF next time my kid once he start work has to pay his backside off what was used from my cpf. its not a free thing loh, he has to pay back. i asked why can't we be the ones to pay back, he said government made it that way. then i rem my friend have to pay back the father for the money used for U days, and i feel very bad for her loh. i mean, i agree with making kids independent and all that. but i dun think i wanna subject my kids to that the moment he can earn his own keep, as that time he will only be earning $2K or less? so i think i still wanna save for him leh. as for teaching him to save and be independent, we will do it in other ways. but thats my own feel lah, others may feel differently.

emoments, the prulink is like an investment thingie. not life insurance. we compared the life insurance payback with this prulink payback. figured that even in the worst of times the prulink payback also a bit bit better than the life insurance lah. and its only $20 more in premium per mth, so we went for that. but now kinda regret leh. coz gotta plan for next kid right?

brenda, thanks for the link!

joon, the new neurogain hor, super fishy loh! last time not so fishy taste one, coz i discovered they used to use bovine origins gelatin to make the capsules. but now they use vegetable oil or something, so the fishy taste is permeable and its super strong. makes me gag. i had to hold my breath when i swallow it.

michelle, linked ur Ethan's blog to mine oredi. Shirlyn, can you pls send me the url of yours? the rest of the blogger mummies never gave me permission to link your blog to Jovann's, so I don't dare to leh hehehee. who is okie huh?

yeah, finally added music to Jovann's blog. really hoping weekend to come fast so I can update the blog, can't do much in office.

ilovebabies, eeeeee....isn't that the doc i sent you last time? hehehehehhe! glad it helped you.

ilovebabies | I dont advocate the need of bringing our bbs for such classes, however I feel that these classes have definitely taught me how to socialize with Arianne better. I now know how to communicate with her using not just my voice but actions like eye contact and body language as well.
In terms of results, I could see that Arianne is responding to the things we learnt at GymB now but not really when she was 1 month old. She coos when I sing her songs and the actions we learnt from there, I guess that is also a sense of familiarity to her.
Most fruitful of all, we both have a great time doing all those activities together! However I do agree with domesticgoddess that we could do these things at home (buy the props home) but if I havent been taking the classes there I wouldnt have known how to sing Coo Coo Clock, nod my head with Arianne till she chuckles so loudly. Oh also, I certainly have forgotten how to behave like a kid and ran out of songs to sing too..

Yes, 60% good for me, 40% good for Arianne.

joon | Yes! Were still on for GymB. I actually bought 4 classes at one go, so still balance 1 class which Im likely to go on next Tue or Thu. Oh Ill PM you my mobile, do buzz me if youre keen. Ah, I can also do the Sunday class if youve to work on weekdays.. =)
MyGyms location not too good for me.. Oh I didnt know rhythminme is for 6 months and above, thanks for the info. I lazy to read the web site.. heehee
But hows babiesncream? Are they not a spun off from Kindermusik? Was the location at Robin Close on Bukit Timah road? Also how many classes did you guys attend? Sorry Im asking so many qns cos Im trying to decide if I should bring Arianne for KMs Village new semester classes, starting on 30th Jan..

Ling | Good idea! Maybe I should be more observant from now on when I attend the classes then later start my own.. If youre keen on coming for a trial, perhaps can join us? Oh yes, mummies do enjoy themselves. I personally take it as a cure for postnatal blues!

melody | Very qi kuai logic your PD has!

sha_987 | You must have looked so so so strange! Like alien! Hahahaha! Please dont do the same for Sherilyn.

<font color="ff0000">BTW, is anyone taken in with the mambo jumbo act of rubbing brandy on bbs hair/brows and they will grow thick and swear that it works??</font> Hahahaha!