(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Long time din come in.Have been bz with work. Hope u all still remember me.

Last sat,my gal also fell from bed ;(
somemore, its after her 4th mth jab... I put her in the centre of bed while i went to make milk for her. Think less than a min, she fallen from the bed. *heartache*

JL sales
Yday went during lunch time, wow sey,damn crowded.
Today will be gg again. Heehee..bcos havent finish my shopping list.

crystalized
i've regulated sophie's feeding time to 3 1/2 hr intervals and she's feeding normally again! THank God! Good poo regularity too! Phew... stressed me out the past few days... sigh... She didn't take well to bottle so i'm going to take it easy w the bottle and con't to keep latching her on until she gets better at drinking..

jasmine
not sure if you've read THe Secrets of Baby Whisperer by Tracy hogg. Gives very good tips of training baby to sleep on their own in their own cot. also gives tips on how to slowly change the habit if they've already been sleeping w parents/rocked to sleep.

actually 2-3hrs interval is quite ok i think, sophie also did about 2-3 hrs, only recently she's up to 4hrs. But she's been sleeping in her cot since coming home.

I think the first step is prob to get her to sleep in her own cot first so that it's easier to detach the latch on. There'll definitely be crying involved for at least first 3 days but it'll get lesser and lesser. Book also suggests to wait for weekend where daddy & yourself not working to try so that if baby keeps crying, can still sleep in late.

But yah very tiring to get up and go feed... but after a while will get used to it. i think if sophie starts sleeping thru the nite, i'll miss waking up to feed her.

For sleeping on their own, i do the same as ilovebabies except that if she still cries when i put her down, i'd allow her to cry for up to 2-5 mins (it'll seem really long!) before she sleeps. Norm she'll sleep on her own after that. It was really hard training her the first few days coz she'll cry n we'll pick up and put down, she'll cry again BUT it gets better. One day when i put her down for nap and she whine like a bit and fell asleep, wah i danced for joy! heh

blessedmommy
I'm really sorry about that... ya i read about that. IT's great that you know the Lord and you know where he is.
But it must have been really hard. It's such a blessing to have so many kids... really happy for you.
Oh! and you look so young and pretty somemore! I've got one and feel myself looking more haggard!!!!

elmo
oh no! is your gal ok? i've been quite scared also coz my gal keeps wanting to flip.

Ling,
She ok now. Thanks.
On that day, I monitored her for 24 hrs. No vomiting etc, just feel drowsy ,slept the whole day, maybe bcos of her jab.

Better be careful, nowadays babies vy fast one.
My gal knows how to flip when she abt 3.5 mth but i din realise she can flip n turn so many times.
Now i dare not leave her on bed w/o supervision.

ilovebb,

JL sales
My shopping cart is filled up with only lingerie. But damn cheap! 2 for $49.90 - members only. If non-member, 2 for $69.90. So i bought a few sets that could probably last me for a while!
Very very crowded. But luckily, the queue to pay is quite fast coz they opened a few more counters. In fact, I haven't finish my shopping list as well. But too many people, hard to buy.
Very tempted to go down again to finish up my shopping list... but today and tomorrow, have to take care of wayne.. so guess i have to give a miss.

Sha,
Sorry. I didn't even made it to the children's department. But i know everything is discounted price. So it's worth going down. As for walker, I know that JL don't sell walker.

elmo
glad to know ur gal is ok. u will realise falling is part n parcel of growing up. we just try our best to minimise esp during their baby stage. when they learn to crawl n walk they r even more prone to falling.

wow she started flipping v early huh. why all ur babies already flipping n mine not showing any signs huh. she plain lazy or she slow?

ling
yes it really helps to know where my boy is now n pastor reminded me that babies grow up in heaven too!! u haggard? defintely not. hey bible promises renewal of youth!

Hi Hi..

I am a Sept mum too.. Back to work for just about 3 weeks.. I forgot to bring my pump to work today. Do you think I should take urgent half day? If I don't pump my milk till evening, will my supply diminish? =( I have little to start with.. Usually I pump once around 10am, then another time around 3pm.. each time at most 70 ml.. Do you think I should go home after lunch??

Elmo88,
Ya, haven't heard from you for so long. Of coz we still remember u.

So how's life after returning to work? Difficult for me sometimes.. coz i take very long to adapt to the new lifestyle.

Oh.. how's your bb now? My mil also said sometimes even if you put pillows around, they will still flip and worse, fall with the pillow at the same time. So best to put them on mattress on the floor if u really need to go away for a while. N try not to put any object like blanket etc around, for fear that they will grab it and then cover their face with it.

All items at home seems to be hazardous! haaaa! But well, we learn through sharing......

Ilovebabies,
Hahahaha. . that would be funny!!!! Sure got what you want if you do that!

Jasmine,
You sound like a stress and wear out mummy. Is Jadelle 3 or 4 month? Have you tried introducing pacifier to her? It sound like she to suck before falling into deep sleep that could be the reason why she want to be latch on and will eventually fall asleep after half an hour, she may not be hungry but just want the suck. It seem like your baby has develop a bad habit on sucking your breast to sleep. You may want to introduce pacifier to her.

Remember rule number one never let your baby have the habit of sleeping on your bed otherwise she or him will never want to sleep on his or her own bed.

Sherilyn is now 4th month every night I will give her a pacifier and pat her to sleep when she is asleep I will slowly put her down on her bed and pat her till she is in deep sleep, I will not take out the pacifier as it drop off when she is in deep sleep and I will just keep it.

Littlepony,
Wow a cart full of lingerie sound FUN. . .hahahaha. . . I might go down for a while tonight after work since it is on the way home . . hehehehe. . .just to take a look see on the baby stuff. A very good excuse right???

Sha,
Yes. that's is a good excuse leh! i think you should pop down and check it for yourself! For all u know, you may not even resist the temptation of buying! haaaaa!! evil laugh!

Emma,
haaaa!!! ya, that's right.. my indulgence is buying shoes and bras. I never get enuff of them.. but u know, like my hubby always say, i only have a pair of legs n b******, why do i need so many???? But i always say ' u guys dunno lah!'

Melissa,
Ya let we mummies know as well, I want to get some stuff from kiddy palace as well.

Littlepony,
I am a shoes person as well!!! I brought a few pairs but have not wear them yet as we have dont the shoes cabinet so all is kept in the store and only those I wear most of time are at the mat which is already quite a number liao. . .

Sha,
haaa. same same! i have a collection of shoes but yet, i wear the same old pairs!!!! n u know, when preggy.. can't wear high heels.. now, i took out my high heels to wear.. realised that they were spoilt.. becos keep for 9mths, never wear them! so heartpain!!!

I keep buying but i not throwing out.. so end up my shoe cabinet is filled up with shoes!

Emma, true hoh! haaaa! they don't get it!!! so give up explaining!

littlepony,
The same thing happen to me last Friday I wore one pair of shoe that I have not wore for during preggy and guess what . . .half way walking home the shoes give way and I have drag it the shoes all the way home so embarrassing.

ilovebabies,
my hubby have sms your hubby but have not rec any reply from him yet with regards to this sat. All confirmed going even Ang also reply his sms, my hubby comment "why got time to update blog no time to reply his sms". .. hehehehe

Blissful Mum | Hi there, perhaps you can try hand expressing for today then resume pumping tomorrow? When engorgement comes, just hand express till it's 'loosen'.. That's what I did before and it didn't affect my milk supply the next day..

BlessedMommy | Sorry just remembered my floor wasn't the maternity ward, they ran out of rooms la.. Hee

Melissa | Some people did ask me if Arianne is malay!

Hi Brenda, thanks for your reply. I actually did that just now.. my first time using hands to express.. OUCH..

I have another question for mummies out here. What colour is your baby's poo? Mine used to be yellow, these days my baby's poo is mostly dark green/ black and little yellow. Is that normal? Do I have to bring her to a PD? My mum says it is not good to keep bringing baby to see doctor if there's nothing serious as baby shouldn't take too much medicine.. and she says her friend says it is normal for baby's poo to be this colour.. BUT, my baby is only 3.5 months leh.. She is not on solid food yet. She's on partial BM and FM. Please advise. Thanks!

Blissful Mum,
the poo poo colour is normal dont need to bring baby to PD. As the baby grows the colour of the poo poo will be darker and if you mix feed your baby EBM and FM it will be a mix of yellowish / greenish. Unless your baby poo poo a lot e.g. 7 to 8 times a day that is not normal as he or she is not absorbing.

sha,
really ah, if poo 7 - 8 times a day is not normal? I thought its normal for BF BBs to poo 7 - 8 times a day. Mines still poos quite a bit. Somedays just 3 - 4 times, somedays after every feed. There's not yet been a day she went without poo. Do I have to bring her to see PD?

Talking about poo. Can't believe I actually miss the smell of her poo poo and wish I can be back home changing her diapers and watch her smile.

Angeline,
hehehe.. . I am not the poo expert but I think if your baby poo too much it would be better to check with he doctor as he or she might not be absorbing. BF mum also need to watch your diet as what you eat goes into the baby as well.

If after every poo poo there is a sign of relive it should ok I think as well as long as the baby is not crying after poo poo.

Sherilyn used to poo poo alot during her first and second month about 8 to 12 times a day which we worry that is not absorbing enough but she get on well now and only poo once a day or once every two days. But she is now on FM.

she is not crying or feverish or vomiting. but she is a smallish BB. However, her appetite is quite big. Manages to consume 160ml per feed (sometimes leftover) and 5 - 6 times a day. From what I've seen here, most of the BBs drinking so much are quite 'big' size, but Trinity is still weighing less than 6kgs at 3 mth 3 weeks (birth weight 2.5kg)

poo
my pd say normal for bf babies even at 3-4 mths old to poo aft every feed although its not common. however if there is blood streaks in poo need to watch out

thanks blessedmommy,
there's no bloodstreak in her poo and its mostly watery and mustard yellow. Last nite when changing her, she 'farted' and shot a small spray of poo poo onto me.
kao_dizzy.gif

jasmine,

i tink i had d same problem as you. Yun is a playful baby whomn dosen't wan to sleep. She had also been spoilt (like to be carry & walk ard). I find tat she getting more demanding nowadays & as MIL & FIL dosen't wan to hear her cry, they carry her & rock her to sleep. MIL always said if she don't rock her Yun dun wan to sleep.

Tis few nite, i find tat she keep waking up wan me to comfort & carry her b/f she sleep. Normally she dun have any problem if I'm d one putting her to sleep at nite but last nite she keep yelling wan ppl to carry>> dun wan to sleep so i try tis mtd, put her in her cot, tell her it time to sleep, kiss her then switch off d light. she will yell again, so i delay the time i go back to comfort. I do tat abt 4x, d last one is went in pat her & sing till she half close her eyes but DUN pick her up. Although She still wait up once for her feed at least she didn't wake up for comfort last nite.

blessedmommy
my boy n ur girl can shake hands - both lazy babies! till now, ethan oso dun show any signs of wanting to flip :p at most he turn his body to the side n that's it!

TOO MUCH POO
ethan poos around 5-6 times a day too n sometimes the poo is green rather than yellow. but as he show no other signs of discomfort, i just let him be lor. i tot mebbe the green colour is due to something i ate. since he still putting on weight, i guess its ok lah.

tmr bringing him for his 2nd 5-in-1 n pneumococal n rotavirus! dunno how much my bill gonna be man :p

Little pony,
She is fine now. thks. ;)

Talking abt Poo,
For the 1st 3mths ,when my gal on BF...she poo once every 3 to 4 days. >>Abnormal right?
Now she on FM, she poo everyday.

Mummies,would like to check with u all, when u all intend to start ur babies on solid?

Angline,
Than Trinity is better than Sherilyn coz she too drink 160 to 180ml but only 4 feed per day and if we give more to her she will refuse and use her hand to push it away or swing her head both ways telling you no no no. . .headache.

Sherily is now 4th month weight only 6.18kg so I think Trinity is doing GREAT!! No worry.

Michelle,
You mean you can have the 2nd jab (5 in 1) which include rotavirus or is it a spread jab for rotavirus? Sherilyn just had her 2nd jab and when we ask about the rotavirus which they do not have it in the polyclinic and it is not included in the 6 in 1 or 5 in 1 jab it is a spread jab which can only be done on private PD.

Elmo88,
Mostly likely I will start Sherilyn on solid food when she turns 6months, we are trying out the brown rice on her today for one feed.

Sha,
rotavirus is an oral vaccination. I went to a GP and he charged $100 for that. He joked that that's the most expensive drink for the bb till date (which is true!) :p

My plan is to start on solids after CNY! Hehehe... coz I'm lazy, I dun want to worry about cereal or porridge etc when enjoying the house visiting during CNY ;) BM is freely available anytime anywhere! hahaha... :p

I think you can call to ask because not all GP hv it. I called up one and the clinic don't have that vaccination.

If you want I can PM u the clinic I brought Gabriel to. It is at Serangoon Ave 2. The doctor is very nice
He even do the 3rd month assessment free of charged which I heard some GPs will charge. Definitely cheaper than going to PD

dumpty,
Din know rotavirus vaccination so exp one.
My 1st child borned in 2004 was in rota virus research program offered by polyclinic

experienced mummies,
at what age can we stop burping our BBs? Sometimes Trinity is so contented and sleepy after she finishes her feed, I feel bad to wake her up when I burp her (also cos might be difficult to get her back into sleepy mode again)

dumpty,
100bucks as well for the oral rotavirus! haaa! expensive drink indeed!!!!!

Angie,
my PD say if you try blurping the bb for 3 mins and she hasn't blurp yet, then nevermind. it's okie!

Saw you girls talking about how to make babies sleep thru the nite for me, Im very happy if my baby can sleeps at nite sigh. Mine is very active and alert at nite, even thou he did not sleep the whole afternoon. For eg: last nite, I tried to play with him or read to him at 7pm. Then try to put him to sleep unsuccessfully till 3.30am. During that period, he wants to play and be carried. I latched him a few times too but it doesnt make him sleep. He just stays awake and blabs away. He will wail if you insist on putting him on the cot or even the sarong There was once, he went to bed at 10pm but wake up at 12.30am then all the way till 6.30am he wants us to play with him. Very shiong for us all this started when I went back to work in Dec 1mth liow aiyo.

How har? Dun think its healthy for baby to stay awake so long? Not talking abt us (me & hubby) being zombie at work

So my wish is if he can sleeps at nite and just wake up for feed, I dun mind if he wakes up 2-3 times for feed just want him to go back to sleep.

Initially it's my SIL, this week is my mum.

They tried to keep him awake during the day, but doesn't seem to help.

He will sleep on one nite, then the next nite, he will stay awake.... sometimes can be 2 nites continuous he remains awake.

Angeline,
Thats I normally do is to burp for a few mins,if nv burp then nvm lor.During the day, wat my mil do is let my gal stand n "exercise".She told me can stop burping when bb is in walker?

emoments,
wow like that vy siong for u leh.I alred buay tahan waking up 2 to 3 times for feeding.

emoments,
sounds like your bb is confused with day and night. My niece used to be like that and it ended for months!! Some will say try to make the room abit more conducive for sleeping and let them know it's sleeping time. Minimise any activity before bedtime because you may over stimulate their mind. Bring them for a car ride if they can't sleep because all the bumpy roads can help to make them sleepy.

Lastly, if u confirm that your bb is confused over day and night.. old people will say you hang your bb washed clothes upright (meaning neck n sleeve on top, bottom below).. then probably, they will sleep better????? Haa! but this saying has no scientific prove!!

Hi Little Pony

We tried all ways, but doesn't work. It's like, he will be very cranky when he knows we are home from work... then he will want to be carried, latched or cuddled by us. Funny thing is he's able to sleep well if we don't have to work the next day.

The car rides and the clothings doesn't work for us. We bring baby home every nite (so got car rides already). He can be sleepy, but once reached home and you tried to make him sleep, he will wail... sigh. Then when you tok to him, he will smile at you, showing you his super big eyes... aiyo...

Hi Elmo88
Yep very shiong... so I'm always late for work... sometimes overslept till his next feed abt 7am.... quickly latch him then prep for work... also I need to send him to either my SIL or mum's place b4 leaving for work....

emoments,

could it be ur baby over stimulated till he dun wan to sleep??? For me I find tat if Yun whole afternoon didn't sleep, she get cranky b/f d nite sleep. However, if she sleep well in afternoon, she do not have d problem falling asleep at nite.