(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

whatzup,
it's a spitting pig! hahahahhaa!

daisybuttons,
so QQQute! i absolutely love the 2nd pic! what a happy santa! hee hee hee...

diana,
at night, I still swaddle DN (but now, the swaddle can only cover 3/4 of him) at night. during the day, he uses a blanket when he naps.

michelle,
*blush*blush* yeah, we got him the stokke. :p so expensive, bloody hell...! if we can use it when he's in sec school, we will!!!

i dun use blanket. do all ur bb sleep in air con room? mine dont. i find it not neccessary to use blanket even though it's rainy season now. i just put on long pants for him at night.

if we do sleep w air con on, i'll just change his short sleeve shirt to long sleeve shirt.

can i chk w u all something...

1. at work, when u pump, do u store in milk bag or milk bottle or ???

2. when u bring bb to ur caretaker's hse, do u pass her the milk in eg. 5 x 100ml bottles or u just give her one whole chunk eg. 4 x 120ml bottles/ milk bags, whenever she needs to feed bb, then she pour a certain amount out to the milk bottle to feed?

3. how much frozen ebm do u leave w ur caretaker?

has anyone checked w PD before whether can bb ard 3mths watch tv or those bb einstein dvd?

is it good for their eyes though the dvd stated suitable from 0-3 yrs?

how close do they need to sit in front of the tv in order to see clearly or how far so as not to spoil their eyesight?

edksd

You let your baby wear the same outfit through out the night ? Do you know temperature is lower at later of the night? You should cover your baby with something light for first half the night, cover something thicker for the later half.

hi diana,

he sleeps in between 2 heaters -> me and hubby

im more worried of overheating. coz sometimes in the middle of the night when im breastfeeding him i feel tt he is warm, a little bit sweaty sometimes.

edksd
1. i store the ebm expressed during work in milk btls.

2. i usually store them in big btls (abt 3 btl of 240ml or 300ml) and when i get to my mum's plc, will help to transf them into the amount my baby usually drinks at each feed. abt 6 or 7 small bottles.

3. all in all, i leave abt a 900ml-1.1 litre of EBM wif my mum since my baby stays over for the nite till i see him the following evening to latch on.

edksd

i dont know how heavy does rachel weigh at 3rd mth cos I did not visit the PD then.

for ur qns on milk:

1) I store EBM in glass bottles at work

2) I prepared 4 milk bottles of EBM for my mum every morning. I bring Rachel home everyday.

3) So far I did not leave any frozen EBM with my mum yet.

edksd
1, i store mine in the plastic medela bottles
2. i prepare 5 x 130ml of bottes so all my in laws hv to do it take a bottle out each time they need to feed him n just warm it up
3. not using frozen BM as yet cos usually hv enuf EBM fr previous day to feed him

joon
i think i hv an idea of how 'bloody expensive' the stokke is cos i was thinking "no way in hell i can afford that for ethan!" ;)

michelle,
really salute u man, u're able to pump all the way. i'm into my 3rd week of pumping and i still hate it. i'm a lazy pumper and can only manage 2x a day but good thing is, my yield has improved with regular pumping and it's enough for 3 feedings in the day. so i usually only at most need to bring two 9oz bottles to work. i transport them home using FTG.

finally back to office after a long break....looking forward to the next one..hee

crystallized, me too uses tip of my fingernails to gently scrap off the thick layers of cradle cap. I make sure my nails are short so can sorta have control over the pressure exerted. Me too scared to hurt his soft scalp so gotta do it very carefully. I uses Guardian Pharmacy olive oil which was recommended by my friend whom had learn it during the antenatal course. I think is good compared to Johnson bb oil. It helps to soften the caps more efficiently. After removal, the scalp will be red which is normal but will subside within the next few hours....managed to clear almost all at a go...

ilovebb n cereal,
my next appt with dr. ngiam is on 27th Jan.

Cereal, i know yours is on 20th.. wonder why the nurse gave me 27th instead????

Ilovebb, what's yours?

hi, usually kai poo once a day. yday he poo-ed once in the morning as usual whih is quite a lot. then in the evening, he poo-ed again, it's more watery (v diluted) n yellow + a bit light green in color.

does tt means he had more foremilk than hindmilk?

hope he'll be ok today

littlepony

Rachel's next appt is on 24th Feb leh. Her 3rd 6-in-1 jab. why urs is in Jan, so fast ?

edksd

I think BF bb poo poo is not v fixed. Sometimes my Rachel doesnt poo for a few days. SOmetimes once a day, or even twice a day. Ya i read that greenish poo means they consume more foremilk. Dont worry it will go away.

ilovebb,
Wayne just did his 1st 5-1jab which was for 3rd month. He also did rotavirus and penumoccal (dunno how to spell).

I recalled Rachel did one jab on 2nd month right?? Wayne didn't do that.

chocolat
i stopped using fingernails liao, and juz uses olive oil. if the cradle cap still dun go away, i will get the cradle cap shampoo. but even if can remove the caps r removed this time, they usually dun completely go away rite? they always return and will go away only aft say a mth.

keke, talking about pumping @ work ah.. this is my 4th week @ work liaoz. i pump in handicap toilet too.. no power socket, so i gave up using my DUO.. now using Avent UNO/ or Avent Manual pump usually.. i think i am champion liaoz in pumping..

my schedule:
7:30am - 8am: latch bb 2 sides
8:30am: pump 45 min to gain 40ml
11:30am: pump 45 min to gain 50-60ml
2pm: pump 45 min to gain 50-60ml
5pm: pump 45 min to gain 60-80ml
6:30pm: pump 20min to gain 30ml
8pm: latch bb on
10pm: latch bb on 1 side and rock her to sleep (i sometimes tandem pump then..)
3am: latch bb on (heng ah, so i no need wake up n pump.. I HATE PUMPING!)
6am: latch bb on
7:30am: latch bb on.. AND THE CYCLE REPEATS..

during office hours, i only get ~240ml.. it used to be 300ml..
but supply plunge after 1 day of meetings and i can't pump so often!)

edksd,
i store in avent disposable liners when i pump in office.. easier to store in office fridge in a small paper bag. Since my quantity per pump is low, my caregiver combine the packets to give my girl.. my girl sometimes take 60ml then 1/2 hr later take another 60-90ml. This is because she take in smaller quantity when latch on and not used to consuming all at 1 go..If i pump at home, usually very little only, so i store in glass bottles.

I don't have FBM, cos not enough to meet her supply. so if she needs more, will give her NAN HA 1.

When i am not around, she drinks between 11-14 oz and wait until i am back..

My pumping so long manz, but if i dun pump 45 min, i only get 30-40ml! I usually get min 2 letdowns.. and sometimes, a third one even..

Littlepony

So wayne vaccination is on 3rd, 4th and 5th mth ?
For Rachel it is 2nd,4th and 6th mth.

Rachel also took rotavirus and pneumoccocal (dunno how to spell hahaha).

jasmine

u win liao ... I really admire your determination to BF ! u mean u have the luxury to pump so frequently at work ??

Ilovebb,
Ya, i guess so. He did one vaccination on 1st month then 3rd month and next, 4th month. I dunno what's the subsequent months he has for vaccination.

Haaa. i think you spelt it correctly. Better than me!!!

Mothers,
I think i have a problem...

It seems that I can't let go of my baby ever since i started working.

Nowadays, I saw he has created bond with the rest of the family and when he was with me,
he gets cranky, i don't understand why. Either i haven't created the bond (because I didn't spend enough time with him) or he knows that I am his mum and wants to get attention (which my family say and i wonder if it's to make me feel better).

1. I store in pigeon 240ml bottle.coz bottle can be sterlized and reused, but milk bag can't.

2. My mum stays with me and she helps to look after bb. I'll prepare everything, give her 4*200ml ebm bottles and 4 sterlized feeding bottles. But bb ususally can only finish 160ml per feeding recently. My mum do simple cleaning after feeding. After I'm back from work, I'll wash with detergent & sterlize all bottles at once.

3. how much frozen ebm do u leave w ur caretaker?
All frozen ebm are in the fridge. I'm so lucky to have my mum to help to look after bb at least for now.

Littlepony

dont be sad. Your family could be right. Some babies are smart ... they know who to "target" so that they can have their way !!

dont worry, u are still Wayne's mum and this is a fact no one can change. Give urself more time ... wayne will "stick" to u again

Little Pony
My girl doesn't have you bb's problem. She will always smile at me whenever she see me. She get cranky sometimes when with other ppl, but she'll calm down if I carry her. Guess she knows I'm the person that can provide her food.
When I cuddle her to sleep at night, she sometimes hold my clothes very tight. So heart warming.

Does you bb stays with you at night ? Try to latch him on. This is the best way to establish the bond.

ilovebb,
Thanks. It's quite hurting to see him get cranky with me and then, i kept questioning myself where did i do wrong? And obviously, i don't get an answer.

I know i am still his mum afterall but of coz, i think i haven't learn how to adapt to the fact that I am working and can't spend the time that I used to with him.

Diana,

My bb doesn't stay with me. Because of distance problem that i have with my in law (i stay tiong bahru, in law stay jurong), i left bb under their care. I go back alternate days to see him and bring him back during weekends.

Perhaps that's the reason why i lacking the bond.

I can't change the arrangement because it's the best arrangement that I have for now.

I stop bf because of work obligation and of coz, distance as well.

Littlepony

Guess bb wayne is still getting used to the new arrangement. I guess what you can do is to try to see him as much as you can. I didnt know ur bb is staying with ur in laws.

Little Pony, i also stay near tiong bahru leh and my mum stay in Jurong. You work where? Why not fetch your bb back after work?

ilovebb,
ya lor. i am branded a weekend mother. It's not easy to be a weekend mother! Easy as it sounds but then, i really treasure every moment of time during weekend with him. And it's even harder to let go when i need to bring him back.

e-ling,
I work at Tanjong Pagar lor! It's difficult to bring bb back after work and then bring him back again next morning.

i am at kim tian road. u?

Littlepony,

dont worry too much. my elder son was also under this arrangement for 6yrs already. he stayed at my mum's place and only goes back during weekend.

initally, i will go back home frequently to bond with him. now he is older, i also lazy..haha..only once a week. but daily, he will call me and my hubby to chat.

remembered when he was baby then, for 1-2mths, he not used to it (having to go back home during weekend. cried coz he find the environment different. after a times, he sort of understand this arrangement and schedule)

of coz like wat u said, he is not as close to me as compared to my mum during the 1-2mth stage. but after awhile, its back to normal

so dont worry. just be patience and give ur baby time to adjust.

phoebe,
Thanks for your encouraging note! Yes, I understand that i am soon to expect him crying n crying when he go back my home during weekend!Argh!

Okie. thanks.. maybe i am just expecting too much from a 3month baby huh???

Diana,
Thank you thank you!

See.. i really need this forum to keep me in proper mindset! Haaa! Thanks for all your advices. Sometimes, i find that you gals are better than my hubby! haaaa!

But of coz, he is still very sweet.. i treat him a cup of cafe latte and he sit down and listen to my woes.. and give me some advices.

jasmine,
how did you find the luxury to pump so often in the office? i can only pump maximum 30 mins and with 2 letdowns, i can get 140ml. and i can only do this 2x, one at lunch time and another at tea break. i'm using Ameda Lactaline. here's my schedule.

05:00am: latch bb
08:00am: latch bb
11:30am: 30 mins pump to get 100-140ml
16:30pm: 30 mins pump to get 100-140ml
19:00pm: latch bb
21:30pm: latch bb
23.30pm: latch bb...cycle repeats

yesterday i have 2oz of EBM in excess so i combine that with my 4oz of EBM and gave it to my bb. i expect her to stop after 4oz but she continue to finish all 6oz of milk liao! don't baby stop when they know they're full? after that she poo a lot. she didn't poo the day before. and this is not the first time she took 6oz of milk!

littlepony,
don't worry, a friend of mine has the same problem too. i think babies in your case are cranky b'cos they missed you, not b'cos they hate you. the problem will go away when they're able to adapt to that arrangement. they're your baby, they love you no matter what. my sister is a weekend mother to all her 2 children of ages 6 & 2 but whenever their children are back to their parents, the bonds are obviously there. they forget about my parents - their primary caregiver. when my parents call them, they ignore them completely and clinged to my sister. it looks funny lor but it's reality. children-to-parents bond is very strong and you can't change that fact.

littlepony

Actually my good days will soon be over. My mum will go back to china next year around May. By then,I'll either leave my bb with my parents-in-law, or hire a baby Sitter. My MIL has poor eyesight and PIL is not good at taking care of bb. Further more I feel my MIL is a bit neurotic, always make funny noises to scare my baby.
I'm so worried bb will be like her. So I actually prefer to hire a baby sitter. Any mummy knows good baby sitter at Bukit Batok/Bukit Gombak area ? I know mummies here are very informative and kind hearted.
I don't mind to pay a higher price for bb sitter. Thanks a lot !

littlepony, yah try to play with your baby during weekend. After all you are still the mother, will sure close to you one.
I live at boon tiong road, those hdb flat just near to Tiong bahru plaza.

Hi Melissa, Diana and Eling,
Thanks for advising. I really very thankful to all of you.

Ya, i think i need some time to get my mind sorted out and quickly adapt to this new lifestyle and hopefully, Mr. Wayne gets adapted to it quickly as well.

eling,
oh.. heee. my flat is a 15mins walk from tiong bahru plaza. So who takes care of your bb? Your mum? and wat arrangement u have for your bb?

Hi Little pony,
Sounds like you have a case of separation axiety too. I had a bad case the first 2 weeks I started work. now much better liao. Thanks to the support I got here too.
On the days that we have to leave my BB with MIL, when I go fetch her, she would (what seems like to me) intentionally ignore me. When I carry her and talk to her, she will turn her head from left to right and the other way round just so not to face me. Only after many minutes of coaxing will she face me again.

This long weekend, I cuddle her all the time. Bring her out to the beach and shopping. Swam in our bath tub (too cold to be in the pool now).

Maybe you can try doing fun things with BB over the weekend so he will look forward to seeing you to have fun.

Angie,
That's it!!! Bingo! That's how my darling wayne has been treating me! Very funny isn't it.. ignoring me.. but after a while, he will face me again! And a long weekend, he will need me again...

Oh gosh, i really find dealing with baby is the biggest challenge I get. It's tougher than going for exams or doing a project at work!

well little pony,
I think our BBs are just throwing their tantrums at us. Sort of like telling us, you ignore me the whole day, I am going to ignore you now. Smart little things aren't they.

Don't give up. Just continue to play play play with him. I'm sure he is just 'showing you colour'. He will definately prefer to play with you more as you are mummy. No one can take over this role.

Hi ilovebabies and melissa,

my pumping champion hor?
actually, i start work @ 9am, but i reach office by 8:30am, so pump 45 min will be done by 9:15am, and sometimes, my colleagues still haven't reach yet! (We have flexibility to arrive by latest 9:15am..) .

the 2nd pumping leh, my lunch is 12-2pm mah.. so, i leave 1/2 hr early to pump lor until 12:15pm.. when done, i go makan 1/2 hr.. then return to work on some stuff then i start next pump @ 1:45pm..

I never ask for permission ah.. juz go n pump lor.. but i did warn my boss that my milk flow very slow.. and need 45 min with single pump cos no power socket. Plus, whether i pump 3x or 4x, each pump i get quite similar amount.. and overall quantity for the day will drop if i cut 1 pump, i bring laptop with me into toilet, since got wireless in office.. so if boss can't find me, he msn me lor..

wow Jasmine!

i really admire tt u spend so much time pumping. i will get so sick of washing the pump.

i only pump twice in ofc. my baby is wif my mum during wkdays, so i can only latch him on when i go over in the evening. can latch on 2 times if i am lucky. else it might only b once. this is my 1st real wk back at work, so i dunno how it is gonna b in the long run.

does supply really dwindle when u juz skip 1 pump? u freak me out leh. so far the 2 times i pump in ofc can get me b/w 280-400ml each time. so on the avg i collect abt 600ml fr ofc. back home, i pump b4 i go to sleep which will get me abt 300-350ml. and i get up once in the middle of the nite 2 pump. will oso fetch abt 300ml.

little pony
i am quite worried my baby will b like urs. he stays wif my parents during the wkdays. i will def go over to visit him everyday aft work as well as to bring my supply of BM over. on alt days i will stay over. it has been quite taxing to travel like tt, but 4 now, this is the best soln as i cant think of any better alternative. how i wish my mum is stayg wif me.

same as u, coz of distance wise, its not feasible 4 me to bring baby to & fro daily. so i hv to travel.

Angeline's idea is v gd. do sthg special so tt our babies can recognise us.
am gg to try tt out.

Jasmine,
you're very lucky, got laptop to do work while pumping. i don't mind that. actually i think all of us don't mind working while pumping, as long as they can provide us some privacy with high cubicles or nursing room and laptops. but singapore companies are usually very square one.

crystallized,
wow your output is very good for pumping 2x a day. how's your bb's appetite? how much did you feed your bb per bottle? my bb very funny one, when she took the bottle, she will sleep longer, hence sometimes she only needs one feeding every 4 hours. so when i feel like my output is not enough, it's actually more than enough for her.

Little Pony,
I can emphatise with u totally. Me also a weekend mummy, hub and myself have been goin back to my in laws pl everyday without fail juz to spend some time with him so far. It's tiring but I'm also scared and cant afford to miss any chance of bonding with him. Initially, Keane would also smile and respond to other ppl around but NOT to me...no matter how I try to catch his attention. In fact, he'll cry when he sees me & I cant seem to pacify him. However, now into 1 mth of this arrangement things have indeed improved! Can tell he now knows I'm his mummy and I sorta can feel him 'want' me..hee... Even till now, I still doesnt like the feeling of bringing him back to my in laws before the next work day...but I guess this is normal..
So not to worry, things will DEFINITELY improve!! This is for sure cos no one can ever replace our role as mummies!! Cheer up ya!! Looking forward to the next long weekend for more bonding....

crystallized
yah ur output is really fantastic! for me, at most i oso pump twice at the office but avg is only about 450ml. anyway i think once your ss is established it shdnt drop even if u miss just 1 pump rite

i hv a qn tho: after u all latch bb on, dont need to pump again meh? esp if bb only latch on 1 side, then the other side is still very full so must express out rite?

Chocolat,
Haa. thanks! Yes, i do recall that u r a weekend mum as well. Ya lor, who say weekend mums are easy?!
I am glad i not the only one to feel that. Sometimes, becos this is not address in the thread makes me feel i may be the only weekend mum.
It kept pondering me but i think i really need to get used to such arrangement.