(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

brought Rachel to the 2nd jab today and she took the 1st dosage of rota virus vaccine as well.

asked my PD these qns today:

1) Growth of my Rachel
she weigh only 5.3kg at 4 mths. Thought PD will give me a scolding haha .. but instead he is very encouraging. He said bb has double her weight at 4th mth so it is not a concern. Since she was born small (2.4 kg only) she will remain "smallish". That's what my PD said. So he say cont to feed her the same amt she is having now, no point increasing it if she cant take it.

2) Solid food

PD says I can start on solid food on rachel and he gave me a guide. Hmm if I am free I try to type it for u gals.

3) Sleeping on pillow

my SIL told me that for bb < 1yr is not advisable to sleep on pillow. PD says it is ok and does not affect back/spine development. He says bb shld not sleep on pillow if they know how to flip on tummy for safety reasons.

4) teething

I told PD that Rachel seems to be showing signs of teething (drooling, putting fist in her mouth). PD disagree. He says that's how bb at this age behave. He said they start teething at 7 or 8 mths old.

ilovebabies,
my girl came back from her 2nd 6-in-1 jab with no fever at all. so no worries. and yeah i'm with you on that extreme hair loss. so scary. how to remedy ah? my girl is only 3 months leh! so tempted to cut my hair short!

cereal,
i caught my girl laugh only twice! but she's not used to that yet. i am waiting for the day she start laughing!

michelle,
lol. another ethan and oversupply issues! speaking of diapers, i can start buying M size b'cos my girl is already 6kg! woot!

princessemma,
where did you get a jersey that small!!!! so cute!

crystallized,
i think with regular pumping, supply will increase no matter where u are. my baby is not 4 months yet but now i can pump 2x and get 3 feedings for the day. before i go to work and after i come back, i directly latch, b'cos pumping gives me lumps!! argghh! only my girl can save me!!!

joon,
for handsfree pumping, i just stuck the funnels into my nursing bra then play handphone game. heehee. my girl only suckle 1 breast for 10 minutes and it's enough for her. she feeds every 3 hours and still poop a few times a day.

melissa
i agree wif u. supply will increase wif regular pumping. i pump 3 times a day on days when i am not wkg, and 4 times if i am wkg. my supply is almost dbl of wat my baby is drinking. and yes! only our dear babies can save us fr lumps. the 1st thing i am most eager to do when i get back fr work is to latch on! but since my boy is like urs taking only 1 breast each time and for only 10 mins, i still hv to empty my breast if it still feels full. my boy nvr poos a few times a day anymore. if he poos once daily, i will b v happy alrdy. most times he only poos once every few days. PD said bfg babies shld poo everyday, so i am not sure why mine wun leh. somemore he is a small eater, so i presume he got small tummy, so wun store so much rubbish inside?

rainnie, emma, blessedmommy
ur bb all grow so fast ah? my ethan now wearing M size but still a bit to big for him tat's y i buy so much more M size lor. think he can still wear it for quite a long time more!

crystallised
ya - ethan is the one wif all the teats/bottles picture too hee. we hv a sick sense of humour ;) anyway i think ur house oso must be looking like a diaper warehouse huh! wait pple think we do wholesale biz for diapers one haha

melissa
congrats on your girl hitting the 6kg mark! can see the muscles on ur arms oredi bo? ;)

emma
enzo looks like a real pro football player! hee i love his socks! so farny..

ilovebabies
so r u goin to start rachel on solids since ur PD say can? or still do exclusive BF till 6 mths old as per WHO recommendation?

LASIK
side track a bit ah. any mommies here did lasik before? i considering doing it now leh cos heard the prices have dropped. if u hv done it, can share the experience? is it pain???

michelle, phoebe, emma
all of the boys so handsome!

hair dropping?
yeah, i notice my hair is dropping excessively recently. anyone knows when it will stop?

crystallised
u use ur nails to scrap his scalp? hmm.. not painful? i use only my fingertips, scared i would hurt my babe.

ur pd said bfg bb shld poo daily? my baby J poos once every 2-3 days. my pd said it is norm, no need to worry.

edksd
my right boob can produce almost twice the amt of milk of the left one. have tried to stimulate the left one more so that one day they can be balanced. so far, still dont see the result.
i am so worried that if i am engorged, think it is pretty obvious my boobs are of diff size

Melissa.. that jersey is for 3-6 mths old babies.. now dun wear, v soon enzo wil outgrow it too.. hehe...

Mich..his socks came with the jersey.. one whole set.. my hub couldnt wait to let him wear it lohz.. boys!!!

joon... enzo's mama clown mah... so he always laff at me lohz.. lol... he dun smile i dun snap lehz... his mommy v weird hor.. lol...

diapers
I think huggies is pretty good.. its a cheap and good 'paper' material diaper... but i find its cutting a lil small.. so enzo has to wear L size for huggies, and M for mamy poko and nepia..
muz go stock up on nepia boi... hope the promo is still on!!! will go tmr!!

michelle, maybe my ger butt is big lol....lasik ..mi also want to go and do!!! But scare the process...if i dont do...every night when i wanna check on my ger I have to put on my spect or ... go very near to her .. so sian hor!

a colleage of mine did her lasik in a hospital in bkk.. even cheaper... lol... heard that that hospital does lotsa plastic surgery..
hmm....

michelle
actually u cant really see the signs of diapers stocking up in my hse as in total its only 3 cartons.

heeee, no choice mah, as long as the diapers r cheap, we better quickly stock up lor. every cent counts man.

Shirlyn
my hb appplied baby oil on my boy's scalp then i use fingernails to scrap off. but i stop liao, coz his scalp looks reddish aft a while. sigh...

i wonder how can the comb manage to brush off this cradle cap leh...

my boobs oso looks unbalanced... no choice lah. somemore got stretchamrks.

P Emma
agree tt huggies cutting is smaller, but its longer so can cover more to the back and prevents leakage.

crystallised
if u find the cradle cap condition is quite bad and gives off a kind of smell, u might want to take him to the doc. i was given some steroid to use for a few days. think it helps alot.

scalp reddish? think u use fingertip lah! not that harsh on his gentle scalp. it takes time for it to heal. think mine takes 2 mths? but nevermind lah... it doesnt really bother the bb, just patiently wait for it to clear.

shirlyn
yep, think its starting to smell a bit. i might wanna stop frens fr smelling my boy in case they thot i din bath him!

huh? used steroid? like quite harsh leh...

how to use fingertip???? the last time the cradle cap was on his eyebrows. i used baby oil to apply daily and took abt 1 mth to go away completely. now its on his scalp! IRRITATING!
why cant these cradle caps leave babies alone???!!!!

crystallized
hehe, it is yellowish too... quite a turnoff leh!

fingertip, not nails... like how u wash ur hair?
did u ask doc regdg this? from eyebrow to scalp now? think my babe's condition under control.

u know, last time she looks so hip coz her hair looked like the negros - the cradle cap lumped bits of hair together, maciam styled one.

shirlyn
i started to noticed his scalp was like flaking and on closer observation, it was cradle cap!

oh ok i got u, like washing hair. anyway my silly hb went to apply drapolene on top of baby oil! it was only when i asked him how come baby's hair looked so oily and lumpy together, then he told me he applied drapolene! i chided him and asked him to quickly wash it away.

haven seen PD yet lor, issit necc? thot its pretty normal to hv cradle cap.

hahahaha, negro hairstyle ah!

crystallized
hehe.. ur hb so klutz, no harm done anyway.
put oil to soften the dead skin, easier to remove in a way. leave the oil on the scalp for an hr before washing away with shampoo. i use dentinox (cradle cap shampoo), think some mummies here use mustela.

i am not sure if it is necessary to see pd for cradle cap but coz i am bothered by it, i asked pd for solution. maybe u can check with ur pd the next time u take him for his next jab?

hmm... quiet day in the thread.

Michelle, I have done LASIK before.. but that was 5 years ago.. haha.. so that time the price was higher... what do u wanna know abt LASIK (except prices hehe), maybe I can help...

phoebe, i think u cannt trust their website....dont' think they update. if u wan i can go and dig out my newspaper and check for u

MErry xMas to All mummies &amp; babies!!!!

rainnie, fairprice website pricing always very accurate one. coz kenna from them before (me in this trade). heehee.

unless, there are in-store offer instead of newspaper offer. then it will not be reflected on the website.

Lasik

I did lasik 4 years ago at National Eye centre with Dr. Donald Tan who is the deputy dirctor of SNEC. Not much pain. One eye achieved perfect eyesight, the other left about 50-100 degree. Not much deterioration till now. I'm quite happy with the results so far.
The doctor was supposed to be good but also because he was popular, he won't pay much attention to you, or maybe I'm not attractive enough?

Additional info: You could claim certain amount from medisave if the difference between 2 eyes >= 300 degrees. Can't remember how much it is though. I have poor memory.

edksd
u refering to local postage or overseas shipping?

for overseas shipping, my last spree, 8 pax ordered. so each mum paid base rate of $1.624, and each item $1.6315

shipping charges will varies depending on no. of spree-ers and no of items purchased.

local postage, got to wait for item arrived at my house, then i weight and advise you. shld be less than $3.30 (max 2kg),unless u buy alot and weight more than 2kg.

E-Ling
Thanks! Is the smell nice ? I hate things with strong smell. My girl used to use a kind of powder made in tai wan, quite nice, but running out of stock lor. Used the johnson baby powder for a while, readlly don't like it.
626972.jpg

phoebe
i use blankets, patchwork quilt DIY by my a friend and aussino ones (have jersey material which is v comfy) too. why u ask this question?

BABY BLANKETS
i using grobag for ethan cos he has this tendency to kick the entire blanket away fr his body! grobag is very useful in this case ;)

DG
lasik is for blind bats like me lah. very troublesome to wear specs/contact lenses so tot of doing laser surgery to correct the shortsightedness lor. yes i've started nursing ethan again n he seems to be latching on quite well! i'm quite quite happy cos can even nurse him lying down so can get a bit more sleep hee hee ;) but how do u know if the breast has been drained? it feels soft, but i know if he continues to suckle there will still be milk coming out leh. so how do we know when to offer the other breast?

daisybuttons
jovann sure looks like santa's little happy helper! cute!!! even his outfit is matching huh?

diana
thks for the info on lasik
i think i'll go make more enquiries on the pricing b4 deciding if i really wanna do it!

daisybuttons
Jovann looks so adorable! and he is now v chubby!

michelle
same like ur boy, mine oso can kick the blanket until it covers only his knee cap.