(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

qn: do any of u mommies here drink coffee while BFing? shd be ok rite if we hv 1 cup every few days?

DG, crystallised
can totally identify wif wat u gals r going thro abt bb not finishing his milk. cos ethan oso waste milk one.. if he's gd he can finish 140ml which is the normal amt we give him. sometimes he take only 90 or 100 then the rest hv to throw. sometimes he dun even take at all, like last nite we woke him up to drink ard 12am, so throw away all 140ml! used to it liao ... initially oso feel very heartpain :p sometimes wonder if i can give wat he doesnt finish to my dog haha :D but i think cannot cos got lactose in our BM rite and dogs r lactose intolerant ;)

e-ling
i hv the same clip u got for annabelle, the one u bought from chanteau de sable. i even got the matching clothes with the clip. and i also got the same rompers from the same brand (the one with ribbon). haha... only diff is u bought them n i got them as gifts hee...

blessedmommy, wahaha.. your milk will shoot all over yr gal's face yeah..

michelle, wow.. ethan can drink 140ml. Nicholas has been drinking lesser and lesser. These days, when he wakes in middle of night, he may drink as little as 40ml and still last 3 hrs! GOLLY! So far, I can't give him dream feeds either as he won't suck or open his mouth when sleeping.

i drink a cup of coffee daily since last week. But I only drink immediately after my first morning express. Most experts say it's ok to drink as long as under 3 cups. Aiya.. now mention coffee, my coffee craving is HERE! And it is already 10pm, cannot drink!

DG
yikes! i cant bring myself to do that. but this morn i used my excess ebm to wash my hair haha!! smell so yucky i nearly vomitted! wonder why my gal loves my milk so much??

blessedmommy, u r hilarious! I think it is psychological. i can't bring myself to drink either. but i thought if can give to our boys, then why not drink it ourselves, esp when i drink tons of cold milk. But can't do it leh.

michelle, u posted something about weaning from bf before? u mind posting again? i can't find it. TIA!

GERBER MILK BAGS
I find it not as hygienic as Medela ones. Got a pack from Kiddy Palace, but the pack is not sealed, which means dust can go into the pack easily. Also, the ziplock is good, but means cannot be sealed as tightly as Medela since got plenty of space on top of pack after pouring in the 150ml. That amount of air will affect quality of fbm leh.

DG
thks for the explanation.

yah i think its psychological. but bm taste v special, cant really use words to describe it! i think only our babies appreciate the taste. my mom used to pour some for her coffee n milo, she says when i young i drink her milk. now that she is old, she drink mine. fair n square LOL!!

ilovebabies, my side shld be ok....just try to avoid lunch time so that .. would have any malays go there do prayer loh! and ppl go there ZZ during lunch hrs....cuz its a common room for the staff
but good thing is can lock the room.
am bfing ah ... see how loh .. if she dun wan to drink den i will jus express out all!!!

Mingliew, really???$38 dollar cash value alot leh.......Emma u can apply bo??? Northwest ... ermmmm ur side also right? who else .. phoebe??? hahahahaaaa maybe website got the application form??? let me search later or tomolo hehe thanks for the info!!!

DG & michelle,
aiyah my boy oso like tt. i throw away anything fr 20-80ml... sigh...

heee, i dare to drink freshly EBM but not chilled ones tt r warmed up. got a kind of funny milky smell tt i cant bear to drink. and yes, i wonder how come babies dun mind or they hv no choice???
initially when i dun freeze BM, i usually store max 150ml/btl of EBM and finish up the rest myself!
fresh BM tastes ok, really. i figured tt instead of wasting it, i might as well "recycle" back into my own system! hahaha

i usually warm up more than wat he needs coz by the time 48 hrs r up, i throw them away anyway. so by giving more, i hope he can finish lah. but it nvr happens!

i use gerber milk bags. though it says can fill up to 150ml, i usually store up to at least 200ml, usually ard 220-240ml. heee still got space wat. dun waste mah. each bag not cheap man...

DG
its called "li2 wo1" and not "ni wo" rite?

michelle, mi also drinking 1 cup of coffee every day ... feel guilty .. but it has been a habit since young....addicted liaoz .. dunnoe how to kick it off leh!

DG.....if my ger cant finish the milk and my dogs arnd hor .. i will give it to them!!! (opssss) and those FBM right .. more den 2 months i will give it to them too!!! so that I don't waste my precious gold....jus that I gave it to my doggies loh....but only when they are at my place lah....

crystallized, OMG!!! U drink EBM??? I dont dare to drink mine leh ... thought it might taste weird loh! hahaha not as brave as u!!!

Coffee addiction
my addiction kicks in after confinement. during pregnancy, drank for the last few mths. now will only drink a latte if i'm out. dont know why but cannot take the 'kopi tiam' kind, wonder if it is too strong. at home, i will try to drink milk when i crave for a cuppa. yea, abit caffeine is alright, thankfully.

BM for self?
never thought of tasting my own bm. anyway, decided to try last weekend since my babe didnt finish ebm. it tasted very milky and sweet. think i was affected psychologically, find it weird. just tasted some but poured the rest away. maybe next time can mix with coffee/milo just like blessedmommy's mom? hehe... the taste may not be that strong after the mix. really wasteful to just throw away.

Angeline

i think it's Melissa who has a supermum !! ehhe but our mummies are as superb to raise us well !

michelle

i also tot it was ok to take a cup of coffee once in a while until I had my first Ya Kun coffee after delivery. That very nite, Rachel refused to sleep till 3am !! I wonder if it's the coffee i took. From then on, i dont dare to take tea/coffee/coke.

btw if ur baby is sleeping, why do u wake him up for milk since he's not crying ?

DG

i did drank a spoonful of my BM once cos I want to taste the FBM before I gave my ger. Taste ok leh ehhee

blessedmommy

wow so did ur hair shine after washing with BM ?? maybe i can use the old FBM and wash my hair too ? ehhe ... so need conditioner after wash ?

survived my first day at work, and expressed twice. Each express took me abt 30mins including washing of the pump. The nursing room at my company is equipped with a fridge solely for EBM and pantry facilities. So I think I cant complain more !!

Geez, it's been so long since I last logged on here... was busy organising BPs, phew they're finally over! How's everyone? And most importantly, how're all the babies??

ilovebabies,
reading rachel's blog again made me go "ahhhh..." ur hb is really really so sweet

peachie,
clarence is so qqqqqute! i can see how difficult it must be leaving him for work in the morning. damn, i'm not lookg forward to going back to work too :p how? i'm thinkg of quitting tooooo...!

whatzup,
jing yuan is such a happy bb! and u're so lucky, managed to get those shots. i still haven't got a gd pic of dernen smiling/laughing... :p

michelle,
i still drink tea, almost 1 cup a day :p today had teh-o-kosong with kaya toast... shioook! i think coffee is ok... as long as it's in moderation. oh dear, i have a confession to make... i gave the EBM that dernen didn't finish to my dog! and he licked his whole bowl clean... didn't know he's lactose intolerant! but ok leh... no funny poo or smelly farts.

blessedmommy,
is it gd to wash our hair with BM?

e-ling,
it's true! u really don't look like u've just given birth! wah, pei fu pei fu
u very lucky!

i'm supposed to be pumping now, but cannot help reading all the blogs!

Joon ah joon ... welcome back !! eh what BP did you organised ? i participated in some too ehhehe cant help it ! oops !

yeah hubby has been v active on Rachel's blogging... really keeps me occupied at work when I miss my ger terribly.

ilovebabies, sooo shiok!! Got fridge solely for BM leh @ work!!! not bad loh...not like us common fridge common room hahahahaha

today finally bring my ger for shopping!! Vivo city was sooo crowded! Every floor got nursing room with tap....but hor no gd is cant lock and the air inside not very gd if ur BB poopoO!!! hahahahaha and the bench so hard and high ... i bottle feed liaoz sooo tired leh!
took tis pic when we went to vivo city via MRT

594054.jpg

rainnie

brave gal liao lor! went shopping alone ? eh agree that the nursing room sucks right ? rem I told u that someone actually open the door while I was nursing Rachel ? scare me man ...

so u din latch on little rainnie ? u brght EBM and warm water ?

wah little rainnie is sooooo awake ... she knows that u bringing her out for "gai gai" ah ?

crystallised
yea, it is "li2 wo1".

rainnie
u give ur bm to dogs?
the cow's milk must be diluted before feeding them, hmm... better mix with some water if u want to give them bm.

ilovebabies,
i organised an Ergo Carrier BP and one for cupcakes! hahahaha... me greedy pig... yeah! can't believe ur ofc has a special nursing room! is ur boss a woman? or the top dog in HR is a woman? heehee

rainie,
yeah! the vivocity nursing rm very stinko... when i walked in, i made an about-turn immediately... the bin with all the used diapers was full and uncovered! in the end, BF in the restaurant... no choice
but at least it smelled much much better!

ok, me going to freeze my EBM and go to bed... DN prob waking up ard 330 later... think it's his growth spurt! he usually wakes up later ard 530! *yawnnnn*... i hope his growth spurt ends soon...

joon
how many bp u organised?? looking forward to meet u n dernen on sat yah??

i love babies
heard from someone that washing our hair with bm help to prevent hair from dropping thats why im trying cos hair starting to drop! after that rinse with conditioner la if not ur hair smell so milky plus feel so sticky i bet if u go to sleep aft that u will attract all the ants to ur hair cos bm is soo sweet!

i love babies
i think u r the envy of many working moms! got a nursing room to express milk n a special fridge. so u manage to pump same amt as home?

vivo city
i am not surprised that the nursing rm at vivo city not well maintained. the toilets there are not as clean and nice as i expected. some of the locks are already faulty considering it is a new place.

suntec city
i find the nursing rm at suntec city (kids mall) comfy so far. there's a couch and a sink with ample space for stroller. there is also powerpoint for those who want to pump. but diaper area can be better coz the bin already filled when i was there. luckily no smell.

ilovebabies
ur hubby is very sentimental... it is interesting to read the blog from daddy's pt of view.

eling
u are one young pretty mama! dont think u look haggard at all.

hehe, enjoyed reading both blogs!

michelle, when u returning to work?

crystallised, can freeze so much in the gerber bags? i am concerned it may burst.

i don't think i will be expressing for another few more months. in fact thinking of stopping end Dec so can resume "normal" life with Marcus. anyway, i still think FBM is better than infant formula, so i won't be throwing away ebm. just freeze for use when i cut down/stop expressing. My hb kept telling me whenever i grumble about my boring work (ie expressing) that it is ALL HYPE that BM is better than formula as both he and me were not bf and Marcus only bf for 4 mths, but we turned out "better than fine". LOL! In fact, almost all the bf bb we know fall sick more often than Marcus... it's true that my immune system very strong too... think I'm only sick once every 2 yrs. And no cold/flu etc.. for god knows how long.

sorry.. my early morning post.. so longwinded...

joon

wah cupcakes !! makes me drool early in the morning now !

i'm working in a big organisation. top leader is a man

this company is very pro-family thus they setup the nursing room not long ago ...

blessedmommy

eh sure ah ? then I can try washing my hair with BM too.. hmm i think I have some sept FBM .. dun feel like giving to my rachel eheh

oh yes, I am able to keep up with my milk supply phew ! tot i will b v nervous expressing at work. Well i bring my hp along so that I can listen to the radio while expressing

Shirlyn

my hubby is sentimental .. and probably this is is first child too. Hope he does that for our 2nd or even 3rd child !

DG

what is YI WO ?

eh u really stopping BF ah ? aiyo v wasted if you have the supply but want to stop for other reasons. Anyway this is your decision but i do hope u can cont giving ur child the best gift in the world
jia you !!!

i love babies
ya i join joon's bp for the cupcakes! cant wait to eat them. hope they taste as gd as they look!

wrt to the washing of hair with bm, i heard from a frd's mom. she say her baby hair start sprouting again LOL.

gd that u r able to express same amt as hm. i think most impt is relax right? thats y i surf the net when i pump if not nothing to do i will keep looking at how much milk flow into btl v stress. if i dun look, i get more cos more relax.

blessedmommy

wah really so effective ?? but hor I got thick hair, maybe I try when my hair is dropping.

if I am at home, I surf net while expressing also. At work, just listen to radio

haha my hair so fine oso must rebond. dun talk abt ur thick hair!!

talking abt hair, i love e-ling hair. thick black long n straight. i miss my long hair

ya lor .. eling dun look like a mother .. still look young and pretty leh.. envy envy ...

aiyah we shld all meetup and guess each other identities ehehhe so fun .. like blind date

hahaha rainnie,
did i shock u? well, its wasteful to see it thrown away, and since freshly expressed ones taste alrite to me, might as well recycle back into my own system?

blessedmummy
issit true tt washing hair wif BM will prevent them fr dropping? if so! i am gonna try! but then muz use a few batches then enuff rite?

DG
so far i hv been pouring this amt into the gerber bags and it hasnt burst leh. dun worry, still got allowance lah. and i juz indicate the amt on the bag since its beyond the indicated 150ml liao.

hmmm its a waste to stop BFG... u a SAHM rite? i wished i was one, so can tbf till at least 6 mths. am hoping the arrangements will work out fine when i go back to work.

i love babies
yes we shld, will be so fun haha. been talking abt gathering for so long but no one step out to organise??

crystallised
i dunno whether it really works not cos only used once so far cant see effects. u try lor.. after all no harm if got excess since our bm so full of good stuffs.

blessedmommy,
i only organised 2 recently.and they're not very big ones. not like some on the forum with 100+ orders! phew... yeah! see u sat! i just tried the carnival & co cupcakes
they're not bad! but their chocolate one is better than their strawberry cupcake (too dry). hope the ones we ordered stand up to the challenge!

ilovebabies,
i also bought some stuff from BPs - cream lah, mosquito patch lah, wall stickers lah, shampoo lah, sleepsuits lah... alamak, haven't added the carrier and cupcake bp that i organised! oh gosh, this sounds bad... ! what have u bought?

blessedmommy & ilovebabies,
yeah! shld organise a meet-up
we won't be able to identify each other but we'll be able to recognise all the babies!!!!!
594195.gif

hi hi! anyone using Nepia M size already? I'm ordering another round of Nepia diapers for Trinity but not sure when she'll outgrow S size, so dun dare to order 4 packs of S. But also not sure how many S and M to purchase. Can anyone using Nepia M let me know how much bigger is M compared to S? I guess one way to gauge is to measure the length when pulled tight? Thanks!!

Joon, blessmommy

ya ya ... or we can meetup at some place outside ?

joon,

i just ordered 6 bottles of NeuroGain PB Plus, Brainy Books for Left and right brain and Tippy Toe Socks. eheh very tempting hor ..

btw I saw that u bought CCT dresses .. are they fitting ? can u wear them now ? the dresses are v nice but i see that most gals selling them cos it doesnt fit them.

puppylove

this time round I ordered 3 S size and 1 M size. Have not try M ... prob I try tonite and let u know ?

Winkz.. hope you all enjoy reading my blog? Any one are a blogger also, i wanna read. hehe!

blessedmommy, wow ur mom used ur milk for her coffee n milo ah? So mum so cute in saying when she is old now, she drink ur milk.

Milk hair wash
Aiyo i should have use it to wash my hair also since i discard so much milk. cos i drop alot of hair also.
Blessedmommy, y u like my hair, my hair very jia lat now, very frizzy leh though u can see in the pic clearly, thats y i tie my hair up. Wanna rebond but scare will affect my breastmilk.

shirlyn, i really look haggard which u cant see clearly in the pic. Most of my friends commented that i look pale in real person lor.Somemore my dark circle super jialat lor and saggy which cant see in the pic also. So scary

Dimple
It should be called "ni wo". I have two also and my father got one so i hope Amabel will resemble like us have "ni wo" but so far i dn see it. hai...

ilovebabies, how u make Rachel hug the bolster? so cute leh.

ilovebabies,

hee hee hee... u reminded me that i got tippy toe socks too! aiyoh, i think i'd better stop surfing the BP threads

hmm... abt the cct dresses, i can squeeze into 1 now. but coz i still have 4kg of preggie weight to lose, it's still a bit snug
and coz my boobs have exploded coz of all the BFg, it's tight ard the chest for me. from my experience, cct stuff fits 32-34A girls best, if u're a B cup, good luck to u! C or D cup? Dream on! u thinkg of buyg?

ilovebabies, oooh so good u managed to get the tippy socks? when i pm the girl she say her friend dun take orders liaoz.
so sad. who did u order from?

really good leh u got nursing room. i think rainie have too right? mine sucks big time loh. we have feedback SO MANY times through staff suggestion scheme to have a nursing room. they build a brand new BIG staff club oredi but no nursing room in sight. in their maternity leave letter they said can use the meeting rooms during lunchtime. bet these HR ppl in my company are so so young not married yet they dunno how hard it is to keep up pumping when back at work loh. so sian one. the thought of pumping alone in the meeting room, sometimes occupied somemore, depresses me.

eh, u got thick hair? i have super thick and unruly hair leh., it only looks decent when i perm it few yrs back hahahaa. i dun wanna rebond coz my hair really super thick it wun look nice nice like others when straight loh. thats what i think lah. but hor, my stylist is overseas leh. i badly wanna perm my hair on this Friday! anyone have recommdations for perming for very thick hair? any stylist to recc?

joon, hehehe can see u super busy! wah u got so many BPs. hehehe yes can understand the temptation man, i also order a lot, but recently a bit bit less hehehe. most of my BP is during pregnancy one.

just saw ur email. meet next weekend issit? i am okie hehehee. u let me know the details yar? where we meeting leh?

puppylove, i just ordered 2 packs of s and 2 packs of M for Jovann. he is around 6kg now. have not tried the M yet coz the s is still okie, though got marks on his thighs...

washing hair with milk -> wow.....yah hor, very SPA leh. my favourite! hehhee. for those who wash with milk hor, how u use leh? is it treat it as shampoo? do u use shampoo at all? or conditioner after that? or use MILK as conditioner?

DG, oh thanks...i see i see. hhmm.. i bring him to shopping too but trying not to do that everytime coz hubby wanna be careful. but yah loh, very confusing hor? dunno which shcool of thought is right.i guess as long as we dun overdo it? hhmm....true, maybe can bring him to playgrounds! hey, keep hearing gymboree, may i know whats that?

ilovebabies and DG, i think i suck when it comes to preparing food. i thought i am okie oredi, but the things i hear from u girls like i still have a lot of things to learn leh. when u say marinate hor, when do you marinate meat or fish? when u cook noodles? coz when we fry dishes i dun marinate leh. u marinate with what leh?

DG, wow u can do lasagne, yummy.... i cook pasta too but the kinda pasta i like is vongole, or anything with white wine. not the tomato kind. so that one cann batch cook right? hehehe. oohhhh...speaking of vongole i am salivating. preggie that time cannot eat. now can right???

rainnie, congrats!!! very happy for u that u finally manage to bring her out for gai gai and bfd outside. dun u feel proud of urself?

yeah man i totally agree. vivo city nursing rooms suck loh. i find that for such a spanking new shopping centre, they shld spend more time doing nice nursing rooms! i find for neighbourhood malls, causeway point nursing rooms are nice. though the town ones like isetan and seiyu even better lah, though have not used them yet. have not seen the suntec ones.

Joon

dunno leh .. quite skeptical abt CCT dresses. Maybe will try to order one and try out
eh my boobs are bigger now .. so cant fit into MOST of my tops so sad. me too got 4 kg to lose leh ! hi-five ! hehe

daisybuttons

i joined a newer thread for tippy toe socks. Think it cost AUD15, cheaper than the previous BP.

cant help u with hairstylist as I never perm my hair before, scared I look auntie. And u need to have really long hair to perm .. then will look nice

to mariniate fish, I will spread the salt on both sides of the fish, then add a bit soya sauce, a bit sesame oil and pepper. Rub them well on the fish. Lastly put sliced ginger and steam the fish.

wah wat is vongole ? lasagne ??? OMG.. that's a diff dish to me ! I can cook chinese dishes lah like pork chop, fry vege and simple stew stuff that's all ! luckily my hubby is not fussy with food !

puppylove
my gal using nepia M oredy. fit her v snugly. i think if ur gal above 6kg oredy shld switch to M size.

e-ling
i just rebond my hair now i feel happier cos hair not so messy! i consulted many ppl before going most say ok. those who say not ok just say better not take the risk although no concrete evidence to show will harm bb. so i think shld be quite safe la.

i also blog, just migrated from multiply.com so its a brand new blog as previous blog was dedicated to my boy in heaven. http://shoutz.blog.com/blessedmom/

ya ur milk throw away so wasted shld hv use it to wash ur hair/ bath ur girl hee...

joon
i also bought quite a few things from bp. so addictive hor.