(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

thanks for the info, blessedmommy and daisybuttons!
pity i miss the BP...

FTWM vs SAHM
v much wanted to be SAHM coz it is this stage that babies pick up lotsa things, from age 1-5. yup, totally agree that the older folks tend to baby talk to them but kinda hard to ask them not to, esp when they have been doing all the while.

daisybuttons, u are right, once start work, we have very little time with the little one. i know i will try to make time to "play" with my babe while she is awake in the evening. for me, i have to bring work home most of the time, guess i will have to juggle that and pumping milk in the night. the thought of returning to work is quite terrifying...
BUT let's be optimistic and i am sure things will work out the way we want.

daisybuttons
how often u plan to pump at work? these few days i am seriously tryg to think of a schedule, i end up not knowing how to plan, esp wkdays baby will b at parents' plc. so far i am planning to pump 4 hourly at work, as i observe these few days my left breast will harden ard 4 hrs if my baby does not latch on tt side. and can pump quite a gd amt if i pump out aft this time.

and the 1st feed will depend on wat time his last feed fr previous nite will b. even then, in b/w he will need abt 2 more feeds, so i am not sure wat time my baby will feed b4 i leave 4 work. dunno how to plan like tt leh.

u gg back to work on dec 7? thot u clearing half of ur 3rd mth leave as well?

sigh, i oso dread gg back to work, thinking abt the times i will b away fr him... and scared he will not like to latch on as he will b fed using btl in the daytime. so i will make an effort to go back mum's plc everyday if possible to latch him on. and might b staying over as well.

shirlyn, base is clipped to the car's seat. then the infant car seat will be placed on top of the base for secure.

so the seat belt method is secure enough?

im thinking of buying maxi cosi car seat. but the reflection series only left black color. i like reflection series becos the material is easy to maintain.

which car seat do u hv?

edksd
i got my car seat from my colleague. think it is from mothercare.
it looks very simple but surprisingly, it's very secure when i tried to tug at it after putting the seat belt. hehe, i was worried that the car seat is not really safe, i had wanted to get one of my own initially.
most probably, will upgrade when my babe is older/bigger.

blessedmommy
huh? u mean ur gal actually pull the nursing cover away?
oh no, i hope mine will "behave" else waste of $$.

daisybuttons
isnt musical mobile hung high? i know my babe definitely cannot reach it if she were to stretch out her hands.
if ur baby can pull, the mobile can be dangerous if it is heavy. there are toys (you can even create ur own using household stuffs) that are meant for babies to grasp - encouraging hand-eye coordination.

helo shirlyn yep i think we just have to try our best and things will work out. me trying very hard to plan ahead but also cannot anticipate any problems when work really starts loh.

edksd, mine is britax royale, its secured by the belt given by the carseat i think. dunno, done by hubby hahaha! maxi cosi one is with the i-fix base right?

crystallised. actually what i plan may not work for everyone. regardless of what time i latch him on in the morning, i am going to pump out the other breast when he is nursing. that pump will be his next feed by my parents that morning. if that pump is done around 7.30am, i hope to last till lunch time, prob pump at 12.30pm means 5 hours has passed. will be very full then so will use ameda to pump both breasts. that will be for his two feeds at noon and afternoon the next day. then i will try to last til i latch him on when i reach home, pumping the other breast at the same time to last him for days i may be late from work. but to be safe, i will bring my avent pump for that first few days to work. you know what i mean? i not sure if this will work lah. will only know if i try. i initially planned to pump 3 times at work one. but when seriously thinking about it, i think it may not be possible coz the meeting room sare usually full during working hours. and i dun have a store room and dun wanna do in the toilet. if i plan to pump 3 times then end up meeting room not available or i got meetings back to back, then my breast will be super engorged and my schedule will be disrupted. so i tot maybe plan for just one full pump during lunch loh.

for you, u may wanna just pump at certain hours of your work day, freeze the milk for one week to feed for the next week? or if u going to ur mum plc every evening then no problem mah. just that at night you have to pump and store in freezer then one shot bring all ur night pumps to ur mum plc on the weekend?

i am going back on 7dec, working on 7, 8 dec. then following week going to take 2 days of childcare on the tue and thur. purpose to space out the time i need to be away from my baby. then i will be clearing 5 days of my 3rd mth ML the following week. the remaining 5 days will be for CNY. think thats the best loh.

what about the rest of you? will have no prob pumping during work hours meh?

pumping during work hours
for me, it may be a BIG prob. definitely going to pump during lunch hour, meaning i might already have engorgement then coz l leave house v early. now hoping my work schedule allows me to pump in the morning too.

i dont like the idea of giving my babe frozen milk. my plan when i get back to work in jan: "work" extra hard to prepare milk daily so that i have enough for the next day. the frozen supply is really for emergency.
dont know if it is possible but am keeping my options open, in case my body cant produce enough *crossing fingers and toes*

DG

ya ya me chatterbox mah ...hehe so like to post lotsa msg here .. and because this forum is super addictive !

i agree that bb are born geniuses. if u dont find time to nurture them, they will not be what u want them to be. I talk and sing to my Rachel a lot too. Whenever I feed her, bath her or change her I will let her know what I am doing. She seems to enjoy it

rainnie

my ger latched on me last nite for 3 feeds. I lure her to my nipple and she suck and pause for a while... seems like she is recalling how to suckle, then she starts to latch on nicely as before. Anyway if she cries for milk later in the midnite I will try again .. thanks for your encouragement !!

Eling

ya double eyelids do appear sooner or later .. be patient !!
Amabel features changed a lot ... ya she dun look like a 3 mth old baby ! probably becos she is tall.

Shirlyn

i think we all have milk. Like today, I came home at 7+ and pump at 820pm. Just 30mins ago, I felt a lump in my right breast so I tot i better clear it and i pump at 1020pm. I was surpised I can get 120ML with another letdown ! Fyi, i have not been expressing 2 hrly before ! was always 5-6hrs interval.

**********I AM GOING BACK TO WORK TMR !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ARGHGHHHHHHHH !***********
PLan to wake up at 6am to pump and bath. And feed bb if she wake up. Still need time to do my makeup leh ... hehehe

Very nervous tmr .. cos dunno what time bb will wake up to feed ... and I think I will sterilise my Avent manual pump later and assembled it in the LOCK&LOCK box. As for tmr am pump, I will use my Medela Dual Electric.

hai .. sian ...

i love babies
gd luck for ur first day tomo! sure u will miss ur rachel like crazy. i really salute all u working moms who have to pump milk at work as well.

melissa, mi too! My target is 6 months ( hope my boss allows) and if nothing happens I might bf as long as possible too! hheeee enjoy the moments with my ger when she latch on....

Ming liew, phamlet????? u pass it to my friend or? if u pass to my friend not sure when i will get it leh! although she stay a few blocks away from my place lah ...

i love babies
yah all moms r wei da! so u prepared rachel's photo not? heard looking abt ur bb photo can help in achieving let downs faster when u pump milk in office esp when u r stress

hmm i have it on the internet hehe rem my gal's blog by her daddy? and also in my mind ... ok maybe I bring her pic with me too. haven got time to printout 2R fotos to put in my wallet

ilovebabies, u shld sleep early! So that tomolo u can wake up slightly earlier. Since its ur 'first' day at work....

My plan when I start work

Wake up -> Latch on and express the rest out (est abt 6am). arnd 11.30am express using medela mini electric plus (single pump) & 4.30pm express again using the 2nd pump. and get back home latch on and will express before sleep.

I hope this plan works for me...cuz I jus check with my colleague abt the room ppl use to express milk...she say there's power supply. Phew!!!

wont laugh lah, i love to read blogs. i remember ur hubby was the one who wrote something v sweet abt rachel when she was born right?

btw, tomo u work leh. why havent sleep???

rainnie

my plan was same as urs initially !! even the timing is the same ! but i learnt from colleague that the nursing room is shared by all nursing mothers so I will bring my Avent manual pump tmr in case the power points are not enough.

As for latching in the morning, u sure bb need milk at that time ?

yeah me going to bed v soon.

hmm yeah he like to put down special moments or happenings in the blog for rachel. it keeps us occupied in the office when we miss her too ... and friends/siblings are keep updated of rachel's daily life too !!

ok ok ... my bed is waiting for me ...

ilovebabies,
your blog is soooo beautiful! i love it! really regret never doing it in the first place! my girl has really grown a lot too and looking at your newborn reminds me so much of my girl when she's born. kinda look the same leh hehehe.

cyrstallized,
me intend to latch her at 8am at my babysitter's. then pump at 11.30am and 4.30pm then hopefully i can tahan the engorgement until i make it at my babysitter's at 7.30pm. but i think can lah b'cos my girl's feeding is every 3 hours. i am still direct latching my girl now and trying to store FBMs for emergencies as well. but i find that latching AND pumping increased my supply and make me engorged more often so i stopped pumping until the days I return to work come near. my output is best in the early morning. night is most pathetic. only 70ml urgh. but thank God, at night i plan to direct latch her already.

Melissa

thanks !! gotta give credit to my hubby

great to know ur ss has increased !! but rem to maintain a schedule at least 2-3 weeks before u go back to work. Your gal need to get used to the new feeding arrangement i.e. day time bottle feed, nite time latch on.

anyway lucky for me, my gal can latch on me now ... again! phew !

this morning I woke up at 6am .. saw gal sucking her thumb so I know she's hungry. Latch her on and change her diapers till 630am. Then i pat her to sleep and express my milk at 635am. Manage to get 90ML. So i bathed, makeup and ate my breakfast. Reach MIL place at 8am. Reach ofc at 835am.

Gonna pump later ... wish me luck !

ilovebabies,
haiz how i wish my hubby is as sentimental as your hubby! so sweet!

thanks for the tips! i think it's about time i have to do it. i'm going back to work at Dec 11. sian!

good luck and jia you!!!

rainni,
pass it to yr frd. It's for north west resident with new born. Send in birth cert n nric to get a cash card with $38 value in it. (must send within 3 months from birth of baby)

blessedmommy, melissa

thanks .. hubby will be thrilled of your compliments ! just expressed at 11am. there were two other nursing mothers in the room. ok lah.. my back was facing them ehehe

btw the rest of the mummies just wash the pump with hot water for the next express, no cleanser was used. I guess it is ok. I will just submerge it in hot water later ...

daisybuttons,
so ur planning will b in such a way ur boy dun hv to drink FBM? actually i was thinking if my EBM is enuff when i pump at work, i dun hv to touch FBM at all, coz i oso dun like the idea of drinking FBM.

Plan is plan lah, when i go back to work, dunno can maintain supply anot, so not sure if wat i espress can last my boy.

Melissa
yah me too, realised supply increased as i latch on most times and oso pump abt 3 times a day. last nite at 2am, felt one of my breasts getting painful and quikcly woke up to express as i thot my boy wun wake up so soon. who noes immed aft i expressed, he woke up 4 his feed! waste my time.

i realised there is no such thing as best time 4 me. i can pump mid day or aftn and still get gd yield. funny thing is early morning might not get me the best supply.

issit necc to establish a schedule 2-3 wks as mentioned by ilovebabies prior to returning work? so right now i hv to b the one feeding btl? i am trying not to confuse my boy so i still only let my hb feed him...

crystallized

i think anyone can bottle feed the bb. What I meant was that u shld intro bottle feed to the bb before u start work. I remember Eling was facing some prob intro bottles to her Amabel.

Haven't been posting for such a long time! Have been really busy with the baby to log on... I suppose it's the same for all of us.
Me back to work last week after 12 weeks.... The 12 weeks seem to disappear and it's super sian to be back at work.

My baby is on partial BF. Will express BM the day before and bring down to my mom's place the next day with the baby, such that she can supplement with FM. Bo pian. Plus there is no nursing room in my workplace. So can only pump and then pour away when I am in office, rather than to risk contamination in feeding it to the baby.

Bought a car seat from Mothercare Vivocity yesterday. Pretty worth it. They were having this 15%+10% off promotion with ABN Amro. So I paid $321.30 for a Britax First Class SI Car Seat which costs $420. It is supposed to be from birth to 4 years.

This is baby Clarence at 7 wks 4 days, right after his shower...
Feel happy going home to baby everyday. He is very talkative and is squealing in delight and full of babytalk these days. Haiz, missed those days when I don't have to work and can be with him all day long.

593126.jpg

crystallized
i think it is necessary to establish a schedule prior returning to work. my friend also advised me that too. it is to get the bb used to it and also ur body. can make use of the period to adjust else u will be 'stressed' when u get back to work.

same as eling, i had prob bottle feeding initially. now, not as bad for my MIL who can feed my babe w/o much battle (compared to me). i suppose ur boy has no prob with bottles. if that is the case, dont think it is a prob for u to bottle-feed him coz he is old enough.

good luck!

i will start my schedule next week, hehe, waiting for my new pump first.

ilovebabies & Shirlyn
my boy has no prob wif bottles. but he has a v bad habit as in he nvr finish the EBM. and i am not giving him alot. its only 80ml each time. he is alrdy 8 wks old, coming to 9 wks, 80ml is v little alrdy.

my mum has no prob btl feeding my boy.
i am oso awaiting my new pump! hehe...

crystallized

hey my ger Rachel is also one of the small eater here ... as long as he has 7-8 wet nappies, he is growing well and his milk intake is ok ! be positive ... at least this makes BF easier cos they dont need so much milk from us

ilovebabies, Amabel dont look like 3 months meh? Yah she did change alot. Now looking at your blog... so sweet, the blog written by her daddy? Rachel's daddy so sweet. I also love to blog and my hubby and me create a blog for my Amabel once i knew i am pregent but in the end only me writing lor. He never write anything lor. Hai... he is too lazy not like me so free. haha!

how I wish I can be a SAHM. Going back to work coming Monday and I miss my gal already.
For mummies who are SAHM can you give some advise on how to manage the day with a BB in the house. I am trying to set a schedule for my helper, but I find it tough myself to do the housework, take care of BB cook 3 meals. So far, I've only managed to cook 1 meal and that's with Daddy around to look after BB while I cook.

DG, Blessedmum, how do you do it all?

hi crystallized

my boy also 8 wk old drinks between 80 - 100ml, on a 2hr interval.

i suppose if he's happy after each meal and is growing, then its fine.

Angeline

I am not a SAHM but during my ML, i cook meals too when I am alone with bb. What i do in the morning when bb is napping, I will prep the ingredients like marinating the fish, meat and slicing ginger and garlic for etc. Then when u find time to cook, it will be faster. just some suggestions ...

Eling

wah you are very pretty ah !! u look so slim !

eh amabel really resemble her daddy ! eheh ..

eh I dont clean it leh .. i dont perspire much in ofc leh. ooops !

hi all :

have not really share with all my son's pic .... finally , managed to capture Jing Yuan's smile recently with hubby's mobile phone .......he is two months and two weeks old

Jing Yuan says " Hello " to all mummies here and to all the ger ger and boy boy born in Sept !!
593633.jpg

ilovebabies,
that's a good idea. Were you the one who said that your mum is a supermum and was training you to be one too? If so, can give more tips not on how to manage household and take care of BB at the same time.

angeline
its indeed not easy to cope with housework plus baby huh. i gotta wake up extra early every morn to bath n get myself ready before the kids wake up. cos once they wake up i will be so busy i can hardly find time to shower! i have a helper so housework done by her. like i love baby, i will also get the ingredients ready so that when comes to cooking its faster no need to prepare. dun worry too much abt it. u will learn along the way and take short cuts here n there.

wow e-ling, u look so pretty n slim. envy envy!!

wow e-ling, you are GORGEOUS! Actually you are the prettiest mama I know.

angeline, now i have a helper 'cos got 2 kids, but before I used to look after Marcus, cook and do housework myself. I used to batch cook and freeze a lot of stews, curries, lasagne etc which I thaw for lunch if I don't have time cooking. For dinner, I would prepare the ingredients when Marcus was napping and cook when hb got home. My priority is always spending time with bb though, so I don't do housework when bb is awake. I either take him out, play or talk to him or just do stuff with him. I did housework when hb is home to bond with bb.

You can get helper to wake early daily to do housework like cleaning floors, laundry etc. But if helper is looking after bb alone, then her priority should be bb. You may have to go easy on her housework duties in case she neglects bb.

daisybuttons, i started taking marcus out daily since he was 6 weeks old. Started with malls during weekday daytime, supermarkets, parks, around my condo area etc.. Then when he got older, I organised playgroups, playdates, took him to Gymboree, playgrounds, swimming, and lots of walks etc etc..

daisybuttons, agree there are 2 schools of thought when it comes to building immune system, and I take the middle ground. I don't purposely avoid crowded places once Marcus turned 6 weeks old, but I am particular about hygiene level when it comes to handling bb, and all their food/drinks. I sterilised all his milk bottles/teats till he was 1 yo. And I avoid places where there are sick children/people. So far in past 2 yrs, Marcus was only sick (touch wood) twice with slight cold which lasted only a week each time. Though he plays with lots of kids all the time, he hardly catches anything from them too, so i guess his immune system is strong.

crystallised, my boy also has bad habit of not finishing his ebm. His appetite varies so much from feed to feed, that it is so hard to predict how much he would eat. So i give him 80ml usually and can end up throwing away between 10ml and 40ml each time. so sayang! sometimes i reduce amt we give and he ended up crying wanting more! so must do so many top ups! so frustrating.