(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

anyone know whether we can go for facial if breastfeeding... i scare there is any chemical or product that they use will affect bf and enter into our blood stream leh... but i really wish to go cos my face really jialat liao.

ilovebabies, think my Nicholas can match your gal's appetite.

Nicholas slept from 8pm to 3am last night and when he woke, only drank 90ml at 3am, slept more. . woke at 5am and drank only 40ml.

Then woke at 9am and drank only 70ml. So from 8pm last night to 9am today, only 200ml.

domesticgoddess, i also think so, so i better discard it. Really regret going, now got to waste 400ml of my breastmilk. sad!

e-ling, facial is fine.. go to skin doesn't enter bloodstream, unless your skin tears.

daisybuttons, who will look after yr bb after your ML?

Anyone else going to be SAHM besides me and blessedmommy, huh?

GATHERING
whatever happens to this?

angeline, you in HK now?

gals

rachel is reaaly hungry when i try to latch her leh. just now i tried, ok she suck for abt 5 mins then let go and refuse to suck. i carry her and walk abt she then take my nipple but i realise she uses the sucking method of sucking frm the bottle !!!!!!!!! then of cos no milk mah... then she cry again so i gave ebm

aiyah how ??

ilovebabies, she got nipple confusion? Ermmm u ccant stop bottlefeeding mah since u going back work on monday.

DG, thanks for the info on the cheating 'mom' .... i'm going back work....dont intend to be a SAHM....

DG, yes I came back to HK last Sunday. For the PIS advance, you can try to buy 2nd hand. I think some mummies are trying to sell them off on the forum.

ilovebabies, yaloh .. seems funny ... or mood swing tis morning? i cant help liaoz.......sorry .. see other mummies got better suggestion or not.

Angeline, if go thru TMC parentcraft usually the warrenty period is longer...i tried searching before @ the forum hor .. mostly the warrenty ends 1-3 months time....

ilovebabies, sorry sorry forgot to reply u on fridge. think will give it a miss coz hubby wanna buy first hand. but thanks for letting me know first leh

ilovebabies and rainnie, yes man, the retail therapy is shiiiok hehehe. not really buying clothes for work. coz recently digged out all my pregnancy clothes think i can wear most of the tops. for the bottoms as i usually wear skirts and they are elastic kind so no prob hehehe. pants most still can wear too. lucky no need to buy. but somehow those wear downstairs kinda shorts all along too tight so now can zip liaoz hahaha. had fun yesterday coz i buy those cute gift packs that i usually like to buy for friends. but yesterday i bought for myself loh, as a treat to myself, pamper pamper mah. bot something from crabtree and something from origins. feel very good.
had a pedi and hand massage at origins too.

rainnie, i dunno leh. i kept asking those mini fridge is what temp, but the sales guys dunno so fustrated. coz my office fridge is dirty, so i wanna store in my own. what else wld u suggest leh? what are u storing in during office hours?

ilovebabies, could it be ur girl going on an nursing strike? are there any changes to her life around her recently? anything diff? i read about nursing strike before, it will go away.

u go see these 2 files which i collected before i gave birth. see if it helps?

mime_msword.gif
file
Nursing Strike.doc (43.5 k)</td></tr></table></center>
mime_txt.gif
file1
nursing strike_kellymom text.txt (20.3 k)</td></tr></table></center>

hey rainnie, why u no courage to bf outside leh? is it coz u scared no room or scared exposed? if scared no room try to find a plc with multiple nursing rooms. if scared exposed use a nursing top? theres some nice ones to buy.
i have went out with baby alone quite a few times liaoz. very fun lah. just make sure the plc u go to have nursing rooms can liaoz. once i went out with stroller cum sling hahhaa. that day i even had to feed him in the sling when eating my ramen at ajisen! coz he cried for food when my food came. then at the end when i at macs with my friend, he fuss dun wanna sit in stroller so i sling him, dump my bags into the stroller and pull down the cover, push the stroller and took the lrt back. on the lrt, one boy said to his mum got another baby inside the stroller. hehehe so cute.

DG
mine is the carry on. the messenger v big right?

re:fbm, if u got so much supply why dun u just give nic all the ebm, dun bother abt fbm. what i mean is dun replace one feed with fbm > 6 wks old just so that ur fbm wont go wasted. i feel bm is liquid gold so dun waste hehe.. i giv my gal fresh supply of ebm everyday, if i hv excess aft offering to my 3 yr old, i freeze it. excess fbm (if freezer too full) i will just discard or use it to wash my hair haha.. i heard mom's frd say it help in hair production which i need v much cos hair is falling off!!!

btw, u got v good supply!! how many times u latch nic on everyday. u mean u got >1 litre of supply excl the amt nic gets when he latch on? wow v good!!

the michellin bf bb u saw at great world city, i was` wondering if its from my church cos there is a similar 3 mth old boy weghing 8kg!

ya ya what happens to gathering? yah i think i can never quit my job as sahm haha.. how abt u?

crystallised
Y teat is for variable flow. means if ur bb suck hard more milk will flow, if she suck gently less milk flow. my gal using Y teat since 6 wks.

e-ling
anything above 37.5 is fever. usually i measure using ear thermometer.

i love babies
u using medela duo right? how come oni got 1 letdown? i got 3-4 in 20 mins leh.

re: nipple confusion, maybe (hopefully) its just a phase rachel is going thru. she has been doing well for past 3 mths right. maybe u try to offer her ur breasts when she is not too hungry. cos babies when they r hungry they tend to be more impatient and sucking from breast is diff from bottle mah. first few second they need to work hard in getting a letdown then got milk flow thats why maybe she impatient.

rainnie
no worries abt the liners. i think i only got few more so can only sell 2-3 more anyway. the rest i keep for myself :p

DG, forgot to reply u. my parents will be looking after baby after i return to work. but not sure if they can handle him whole day leh. now when i bring him over to my mum's plc he fusses when he is on their bed loh. and he has never manage to fall asleep for more than 10mins on that bed. so i worried...

daisybuttons, aiyoo u noe how to use the sling i dunnoe leh...haiz ... bfing outside will be a big mess for me loh! esp when got letdown .. worsT! my house not near to mrt or lrt ... if i alone i would like to bring along the stroller but have to walk to mrt which is abt 15 mins walk .. by then .. i will feel so tired and wanna give up laioz hahahaha

storing when back in office. My office fridge also not very 'clean' lah....sometime they left food inside for so many days (when there's buffet arnd...my colleagues will take alot of food and leftovers put in the fridge &amp; no one eat!!!) but what to do? I dont have my own office compartment leh ... mine rather open and one minus point is my desk can always change one!!! within 2 yrs i change 3 times liaoz hahaha. thats why thinking of getting fridge-to-go loh. i can put the FTG in the freezer @ office first (quite clean) den i estimate i will express at arnd 11plus or 12noon...den i transfer to the FTG which can last for another 8 hrs or longer? I hope so....ok right? if e freezer is dirty ... jus put the FTG in a ziplock? so only the ziplock dirty loh.

edksd, thanks carrying her plus walking arnd ... i dont think i can do it....hehehe say I lazy ??? My hand will ache! And if i put on the sarong sling liaoz ... still put on that so many rings!!! Lol....anyway thanks so much for the info

5 in 1 will cause fever no matter is the 1st or 2nd dose....

DG,
I chose Ameda over PIS advanced or Avent duo b'cos of its price. For the latter two, I have to order from US and wait long long for the shipping. No warranty some more. But for Ameda it's all win for me. I get it for less, brand new and 12 months warranty. So of course I choose Ameda lah. That time I ordered on Monday night. Tuesday afternoon MIM courier for me already. Happy lar.

And thanks for sharing your feeding schedule with us. Now I realise that after expressing you will find out that sometimes baby takes less that expected and i have been storing EBM in bags of 4oz amounts! Scared a lot will go to waste liao!

e-ling,
there are facial using natural products. like yoghurt and stuff. you must do your homework a bit lar. i saw them on tv but failed to remember which company they're from.

oh my PD say anything above 37.6 is fever.

ilovebabies,
hmm maybe try again at other time? don't give up too fast yeah. there were times when my gerl is so hungry but i was late to attend to her. she cried into a screaming fit and refused to latch!!! so i must sayang sayang her for 15 minutes then she will take on my nipple. headache liao. happened in shopping centre some more! so malu!

rainnie,
usually if i go out with baby, i will BF her in the car first. then go out walk walk and shop shop and when it's time to feed (about 3 hours later), will go back to car again and feed her. anyway 3 hours of solid walking is very tiring liao! so her feeding schedule usually works out for me. i always wear nursing tops if i go out with her.

melissa, thanks....mi no car .. only got my KA...hehehehe i bought nursing top sometime back...dunno got the chance to use or not.

any mummies taste FBM before. Just now i thaw and warm it, i tasted it, it got very funny taste leh... abit sweet with some funny taste which i dunno how to discribe. I dunno whether is it sour but i dun think will turn bad right since it is ard 5 weeks+. I heard someone mentioned that frozen breastmilk will smell and taste diffierently so i still just give my girl drink leh cos my fridge expressed milk is running low already.

blessedmommy, yes messenger is bigger but great for putting everything in. the carryon too small for us.

i prob won't touch the fbm for now anyway since got so much ss. If i am still expressing/bf in 4 weeks time, and still have so much ss, then think abt what to do with the fbm as by then would have plenty of fbm reaching 6 weeks old.

No lah, i only latch Nicholas 2x or 3x a day nowadays and he doesn't ever drain the breasts as kept falling asleep after 5 min, though he does drink a lot in that short time. And i only express 4 times/day to get 1 litre, but as Nicholas only drinks abt 600ml, excl what he gets direct from breasts, i still have abt 400ml excess daily.

SAHM
I love being one, but once in a while i do miss being the high flier i used to be. You know lar, the rewards are extremely satisfying being a SAHM, to be there for all bb's "firsts", so i probably will still be SAHM for at least another yr or two. Want to be fair to Nicholas too as I spent 2 precious yrs with Marcus and both my hb and I strongly feel that my being SAHM to Marcus has made a tremendous differnce to his development. So Nicholas must also have same experiences/exposures etc..

daisybuttons

thanks for the doc !! eh one of the reasons sited was freq usage of pacifier and thumbsucking ... hai .. my Rachel loves her thumb now ... my mum says it's very sweet now ahah .. so everytime she sucks her thumb i will offer her the pacifier. well she may not accept it all the time.

rainnie .. jia you !! i have brought Rachel for many shopping trips and she loves it ! she was so kpo .. her head turn left and right looking around ... so cute ! but hor .. now then she go on this nursing strike .. I am not so confident now.

today we went out the whole day... I brought two bottles of EBM in case she refuse to latch on. Well on our way in the car, she cry for milk and I have to latch her. as usual, she sense that it was my nipple and she turn her head away and cry... aiyoh .. i was so devastated ... well I coax her and keep telling her to suckle in order to get milk. At least I know I shldnt vent my anger on her cos it will makes things worse.

She suckle for like 20 secs .. release and cry. Then suck on nipple the way she suck from bottle. Cry again cos no milk. i have no choice so I sit her upright and view the surroundings outside the car. Then I put her down and try again. She became a bit sleepy and she start to suckle .... and then she suckle for 20mins in her sleep.

So sad ... till now I still cant get over the fact that she reject my nipple.
I just love the way she latch on me and look at me admiringly.

Eling

my FBM taste a bit diff too .. but as long as it's not sour or has a fishy smell, I gave it to my ger.

DG, the URL is invalid leh ...

hi rainnie, oh i see ur house 15mins walk away from mrt ah? can understand lah will be tired. but my friend also walks this distance to the mrt with her boy on the sling. why dun u try the sling? i love mine very much.
so u have a nursing top yar? try using it one day, on a day when hubby with u. bring ebm out just in case lah. build up ur courage.

ilovebabies, oh can imagine how u feel leh. no prob on the document, hope it helps. its reversible if its nursing strike, most of the time. be patient and jia you kae? if she still suckle when she sleepy its a good sign too ah, try doing that until she is receptive again when awake. is that one of the suggestions in the document? tot i rem reading that...

domesticgoddess......i do expect that i will miss the many "firsts" since my parents are taking care.
thinking about that makes me sad oredi. but today it just occured to me hor. when baby starts to say his first word hor, how do we stimulate him onto more things? actually since birth we have been talking to me and he has been making noises back past few weeks. just wanna know is there anything more we can do to stimulate his development. any tips from marcus?

ilovebabies, but i still dunno how sour and fishy taste and smell like leh. Sour like? That day i tasted it and is abit sweet and abit funny (sour?) taste?

something wrong w link. can't cut n paste.

here's text.

Breastmilk may take on a different smell and taste after being frozen. It can sometimes take on the taste of other foods stored in the freezer, or it may seem sour, rancid or soapy, as yours did.

When breastmilk takes on a soapy smell after freezing it may be the result of a change in the fat structure brought on by the freeze-defrost cycle in a self-defrosting freezer.

Don't worry. You shouldn't have any problems with your stored milk (other than an unusual taste) if you have been handling and storing your milk properly. Be sure that you follow the guidelines below when expressing and storing your milk:

Wash hands thoroughly with hot soapy water before expressing your milk.
Clean pump parts thoroughly with hot, soapy water in between uses.
Use a clean storage container that has been washed in hot, soapy water.
Your milk can be safely refrigerated (32 to 39 degrees F) for up to eight days (Pardou, 1994)
Breastmilk can be stored in the separate, top freezer compartment of your refrigerator for three to four months.
Breastmilk stored in a deep freeze (constant 0 degrees F) can be safely kept for six months or more.

ilovebabies, wow.. just realise that you joined the forum so much later than me and already you have posted 500 messages more than me! LOL! And I thought I was an active member.. :D

daisybuttons, we can do lots to stimulate their little brains. I truly believe the first 3 yrs are the most important years that make a whole deal of difference to a child's early development. Used to think it is just hype, but after spending 2 yrs as SAHM and seeing Marcus now compared to many friends' kids of same age whose parents hardly spend as much effort and time, i am glad I became SAHM.

Our (Hb and I) basic philosophy and belief is that babies are born geniuses. So we would expose Marcus to lots of age appropriate experiences and talk to him in intelligent manner since he was days old. No babytalk. Plenty of TLC ALL the time and just talk, talk and talk to him as if he can understand. I also used to take Marcus out daily to do all sorts of stuff and at home, we would indulge in all sorts of play as that is the way they learn. I know lots of parents/old folks assume that bb are bb, so "what can they understand and appreciate", tend to underestimate their abilities so usually would underexpose their bb during their early yrs.

That being said, it can be extremely tiring for FTWM to do as much as SAHM, though not impossible. I think ensuring yr parents are tuned to your parenting style is just as important.

daisybuttons, i've got a sling but still not very gd in it. Tried last night and i failed!!! I even have the Gogo rider carrier....once put my ger in she cry so loud!!! dont noe why .......

ilovebabies, dont be upset abt it ya....not ur fault and its not ur baby fault ya!!! Keep trying and I'm sure u will be able to get ur bb to latch on pretty well again

edksd, heeeee i thinik if i really try hor .. my 1st time won't be watching my bb loh! I will be watching ppl arnd me....i intend to bf for 6 months....now already 2months plus liaoz dont noe shld i get this or not leh.....

DG
thks 4 replying... so its better to get Y teats? since they act like "auto" in response to babies' suckling response?

so u mummies dun sterilise breast pump each time aft use? do u all sterilise once a day and thereafter, juz wash wif soap aft each use? need to plan in preparation to gg back work. cant possibly spend so much time washing, sterilising each time. was thinking to wash wif soap and rinse wif hot water after each pump @ work...

crystallized,
yes that's what i intend to do. just wash with hot water and soap. will probably sterilize once a week. i know a lot of girls won't agree with me ha! but its' really a lot of work once i get back to work.

DG,
actually it's true. all babies are born geniuses. it's up to you to bring out their intelligence into practical sense. some babies must try very hard, some don't have to. but i don't believe in pressuring my gerl lah. i will only assist if she look like she needs help.

rainnie,
me also intend to BF for 6 months but that's only a rough target. if i'm comfortable with expressing during work hours and direct latch on any others, i will continue to BF for as long as i'm comfortable. i really love breastfeeding lor.

b@by*ZuCcHini, just to let you know when i am using Y teat, i have difficulty in testing the milk temperature becos the milk is difficult to drop out. So i actually change to use M size, and my girl is ok with it.

Some photos to share, Amabel double eyelid has start appearing yesterday but is only right side. Hoping it won't goes away. Now am waiting for the other side to appear. Hehe! Last pic, dolling Amabel to go wedding dinner, taken afew day ago.
592144.jpg
592145.jpg
592146.jpg
592147.jpg
592148.jpg

eling
amabel doesnt look like a newborn in the last pic, all dolled up and posed in front of the camera! v nice!
just wondering, did u shave her hair before? noticed that her hair growth is only in the centre. my babe's growth is only in the crown, the back is botak. my friends thot i purposely shaved the back, haha...

edksd
hehe, thanks for providing the site to get the nursing cover- the designs are sooo nice! i am going to get one coz even dressed in nursing tops, i'm still worried about exposing myself in public. the nursing cover i saw is from "the first few years", ugly brown colour. luckily i didnt get it.

... dImPleS...
just wondering if any of ur darlings have dimples.
MIL commented that my babe's dimples will disappear as she grows older. she said my niece used to have dimples when she was a bb. but now that she is 5 yrs old, the dimples have disappeared. disappointed upon hearing that.

shirlyn, yes i so shaved her hair and funny the centre part grow faster than the rest. haha!

dimples, i got two ni wo (dimple), but so sad ... so far i nv notice my girl has it lor. Hope it will appear later part. hehe

Melissa
i will probably sterilise once a day and wash wif soap &amp; hot water lah. mayb can totally stop sterilising when bb is older bah.

yah i actually intend to BF till 6 mths too. but worried if i can cope wif pumping at work when work piles up. sigh... and yes, am oso toying wif the idea to BF as long as possible.

E-ling
oh yah, u do hv a pt there. hard to test for temp of the milk... hmmm... perhaps i will get a couple of the Y teats and try out.

ur gal looks so grown up alrdy! like 1 or 2 yrs old.

Shirlyn
my boy has 1 dimple, and so far i din see it on the other side... oh really? they disappear as babies grow? so funny... heee

shirlyn
can get allerhand from mothercare / motherworks. i got mine from BP here at 25% disc, v gd bargain.

crytallised
ya with Y teat v hard to test milk, but i dun normally test anyway. M teat too slow for my gal she gets v impatient.

dimples
2 of my boys hv dimples but only one side. its been there at birth till now.

hi DG, yes u are right the older folks tends to underestimate babies potential. my mum keep baby talking to my boy with ah gu gu and stuff. i told her dun always use that she say all babies first word are ah gu gu. i told her its a viscious cycle, its coz old folks say ah gu gu to them thats why the babies say ah gu gu when they can talk what. but she still dun get it loh. sigh,.....she can look like she understands but the next time i see her talking she is going ah goo goo again. u are right, it is not easy for a FTWM to be as proactive as SAHM. actually when consdiering all this, i reeally really tempted to take unpaid leave u know? but i dun think i can, seriously. sigh...really dunno. recently talking to my hubby, both of us realise that once i go back work, we will only spend time with him in the early hours of the morning before leaving him at my mums plc, plus the time from 6.30pm -10pm his bedtime, which is very very limited time. so the tought of it quite sian loh.

shirlyn, u can get allerhand at motherswork at great world city, and i think other plcs also have but i dun rem hehehe.

crystallised, i think when i go back to work, i need to plan my pumping such that i dun need to sterilise much at work. will prob bring my avent there as well. will sterilise after pumping in the morning and bring to work. dunno, see how. prob will try to get the rythm in a few days.

sorry to intrude.. i'm a end-oct mummy.. juz want to ask for some referrals here...

i've actually engaged a massage lady (thru high recommendations here) for massages, n heard tat she's very good with slimming massages. I've "booked" her (also informed tat i need ALOT of sessions) many months ago, but she only did 5 n now cannot squeeze out any time for me liaoz..

i'm hoping some of you may have another massage lady who is good, n u have "seen" results from... please do share e contact with me... i reli reli appreciate it, n thanks in advance!

edksd
so u bought nursing bib from smallsmallworld also. my gal nowadays dun really like to nurse under the bib esp when she is hungry. today she kep pulling at it n ended up i nursed her in toilet!! cos no nursing room n thk god its a hotel toilet so v clean.

DG, forgot to ask u.u said u bring him out everyday? what age did u start bringing him out everyday leh? this i am very dilemna loh, coz PD got mention dun bring to crowded places too often coz scared they ganna viral infection. but another school of tot is if u dun expose them to small harmless bacteria, their immune system cannot develop as well. i sorta agree loh. but onh the other hand also worried. so though i wanna bring him out a lot, sometimes i have to curb it and limit to those places thats not as crowded. example,. now school hols hubby dun let me bring him to shopping centres liaoz.

then you say engage in play what kinda play u talking about? can share share?

oh btw, those who have musical mobiles in their baby cot, i heard once they can grab things we gotta remove the mobile coz scared they pull it down. is that true? when will they start controlling their pulling?