(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

ilovebabies, yes saw the assemable of bottle u posted, but i mean there is hole on the cap of the bottle, do you notice it? Wont it contaiminate the milk when put in the fridge?
rainnie, the hole when put water wont leak? i dunno keh i nv try leh. Later i go see.

DG and blessedmommy,
yes my gyanae also told me not to rebond cos we wont know whether the chemical will cos side effect in long term or not.
Think i will cos with the PD when my girl go jab later
Yah DG, we actually mean to manual squeeze out the milk while pumping

Thanks Angeline, will check it out

juz realised that I've missed the collection of the gift bag fm NTUC....juz curious wat's in the goodie bag?
Btw, I've started work since Tues. Feeling so sleepy can't really concentrate at work and I definitely look so tired with my dry skin and found more lines under my eyes!!! gosh.....Hopefully, over time my body will slowly get accustomed and yes, I'll need some nourishment like bird nest....hee...

Princess Emma, Yasmine

A/f discount Each bttle will be $18.90. Me stay at punggol. Where do u stay? Yasmine I have not try so not sure abt the increase in BM. But hor I have only 1 bttl if princess emma not taking then sell to u ok.

Hey melody, me also stay at Punggol blk 642....Which blk are u?

Eling

eh that hole is v small right ? i dont even notice got a hole there. but shld be ok lah .. we dont live in a germs free world ... so a bit of it is ok for our body and our babies are almost 3 mths old right ?

Melissa

cant u sterilise ur pump in the pantry first ?

helo melissa, take heart okie? u have been so positive must stay so.
y not u pump in e am b4 u keave work while feeding ur gal.then lunch time use ameda get 2xfeeds worth. shld last her whole day 3 feeds?

fenugreek is definitely effective for me! but my PD was saying it depends on individual cos some pple take oredi will increase BM, some wont... so mommies hv to try it out for yourselves lah

DG, Eling
i oso need to compress my breast even tho the pump is at work cos otherwise after pumping for very long the right breast is still very hard. i normally just squeeze it at the sides - left right, and then top n bottom. then after a while i will massage it in circular motion n then all the extra milk will come out. the left boob is ok - very 'obedient' so dun need to compress at all hee hee.

ilovebabies
not chio at all lah! i think i look even more aunty now cos i never had short hair for more than 10 yrs liao! but at least i achieved wat i wanted.. short hair so can save time on washing n blow dry - this extra time can spend with my boy! ;)

eling
i been storing EBM in NUK bottles too. even tho got hole in the cap but it doesnt matter lah. u dun want your bb to be so clean n sterile until next time she cant even fight minor illness her own rite? as for all the breast pumps n bottles, after sterilising we just trf them to another container with a cover. sometimes didnt even cover at all leave in the open until need to use again :p anyway since we're BFing our bb, they shd hv some antibodies fr our BM to fight all the germs

melissa
how much u paid for the ameda pump ah? heard its just as gd as PIS but 1/2 the price?

daisybuttons

my friend has a mini fridge to let go at $80, original price at $199. U interested ?

michelle

oh u cut ur hair too ! then why take u 6 hrs ? i took abt 4+ hrs ... ya now with short hair, bathing time is def shorter.

DG

ask u ah .. my earliest FBM is dated 27 Sept. Should I discard it since it is > 6 weeks ? how ?

gals who take fernugreek :

does it cause engorgement since ss will go up ? i feel like taking but if i get engorge easily at work, it's gonna be very messy.

ilovebabies
i took 6 hrs cos my hair is very very thick! so u know the actual bonding process where they hv to iron section by section took extra long

btw i noticed if i take fenugreek 3 times a day as recommended it does cause engorgemt for me, esp when i wake up in the mornings to pump. that's y i take twice a day now only instead of 3 times.

anyone is now supplementing formula milk huh? PD said my gal weight not proportionate to her height and want me to give formula milk or increase BM intake or feed every 3hrs rather then waiting for her to cry.He want me to make my girl fatter

How to prepare formula milk huh? How to prepare it to be warm? Add hot water first or what?

Eling

r u sure !! tot ur gal drinks a lot ? so what ? she is tall and slim ? if u want to make FM, pour hot water first, then put in the powder and shake well. Then add room temp water to the desired ML.

mummies right ? that's what I do when I make FM for my niece lah ..

ming liew

ya the NEPIA is v soft but I find the diapers v short. so it cause some lines on my ger's fat thighs.

Ming liew

i too have thick hair .. but yours sound thicker ! haha ... thick hair is good cos we may experience hair loss in the 4th mth ..

ilovebabies,
thanks for hte nepia feedback but for the hair it's nt me le. It's Michelle. I never do rebonding le. My hair is natural straight haha. I like curly hair thou.;)

chocolat

Me stay at BLk 171B near punggol plaza

E-Ling

u have enough milk rite? no need to supp wit formular jst feed her every 3 hr at the same quantity. Like my gal who dun wan to suck, I force her to drink at least 80ml every 3 hr. Only when she start spitting out the milk then I stop. Very bad mama but no choice leh, I dun wan to feed her every 2 hr very tough leh

I use to prepare formular add some hot water then cold water, test the temperature, ok liao then add milk powder. But hor may have difficulty dissolving milk powder cause temp. not hot so use a spoon to stir

mingliew and ilovebabies, my PD said my girl is too tall so in the chart is consider underweight leh. Yah i got lot of milk and i told my PD that she is drinking 150ml per feed, he said need to increased to 180ml and feed her every 3.5 hr instead of waiting for her to cry for milk. He said my girl very active, use alot of strenght so 150ml may not enough for her.

My girl only night time drink alot neh. The rest of the feed is at least and mostly 150ml

yah lor like very difficult to get the correct temp inmmediately leh. Just now i tried but in the end milk very hot then got to wait for the milk to become warm, like that wait if baby very hungry how. Like many way of preparing formula milk leh.

anyone using pigeon teat huh? for formula milk which teat size to use? S, M, L or Y size?

melody, yah lor my PD said shorten the interval and give more 180ml.

Eling

it wont be too hot .. use less hot water next time. once u get the hang of it .. it's very easy. or like what melody say ... add hot water then room temp water. get the right temp then u add in milk powder.

so how tall is Amabel and her weight ? y she use a lot of strength ?? for stretching ah ?

ming liew.. ahah sorry .. ya shld be michelle

ilovebabies, height is 64cm and weight is abt 5.5kg. Her force is very strong. Alway kick ppls until very pain. haha. She likes to struggle alot lor

Eling

hmm quite surprise Amabel is not very very heavy despite the amount of milk she takes. think she abt same size as my Rachel but Rachel drinks 90ML.

aiyo think rachel going thru growth spurt again .. today crying for milk every 2 hrs instead of 3 hrs.

daisybutton

this is the fridge
http://www.waecousa.com/page.aspx?p=mf-18

my friend uses it for half a year only. Btw no need any adapter though she bought it overseas. it is not sold in SG yet. let me know if u r interested.

eling

did ur pd explain wy this happens ?? wahhh lucky u have v gd supply of BM else cannot sustain ur ger's milk intake. oh did u ask ur pd why amabel can drink 240ML ??

ilovebabies, never ask leh but anyway she not drinking so much in the night liao cos she can know sleep through the night without any feed. Yah hor i should have ask him. He just said Amabel is not getting enough nutrient. Maybe is she need more than other or maybe i am not eating much nutrient.

Eling

oic. hmm wonder why.... ok did u take any vitamins ? i take Neurogain PB plus, folic acid and calcuim everyday. oh and I eat one steam fish everyday too.

ilovebabies, no i nv take anything. Even if i will alway forget to take. I still got DHA left over from pregnant but i nv continue cos alway forgot to take. As for calcium i finished already and lazy to go all the way to tmc to buy leh. Where can i get the pink color calcium tablet huh rather than go to my gynae. As for folic, do we still need to take??
Ok i will have to start continue taking those supplement le.

e-ling,
wow your girl's really tall! and yeah for that kinda weight she's underweight but then again maybe she's just the tall kind lor so you can't rely 100% on the weight chart.

my girl today sleep 7 hours at night so she's asking for milk every 2 hours in the day. like that i cannot pump liao! i can't even do other tasks! my clean laundry is not even folded yet. haizzz..

michelle,
i got it for $320. cheapest compared to Avent Duo and Medela PIS. Warranty is 12 months.

ilovebabies,
think my mom never bother to sterilize bottles for my niece and nephews when they were babies. nothing bad happens to them. so maybe i won't sterilize every day lah. just wash with hot water only.

Eling

must take the DHA hor .. very impt for their brain development. you can just buy any calcium pills from pharmacy. I believe they are the same. hmm cant rem who told me to take folic .. anyway just take lor .. no harm right ?

prob drink chicken essence daily too ?

melissa

is ur ger going thru growth spurts ? my ger today also leh .. now she is sleeping .. hope it's temporary ...

my mum only pour hot water into the milk bottles and let it settle for a while before she use it. My nieces and nephews turns out ok too ...

gals ask u ... i wont know if bb will be going thru growth spurt like today (crying for milk eveyr 2 hrs) .. so shld I pass FM powder to my MIL in case my EBM runs out for the day ? i was thinking to pass her 4 NUK bottles of EBM for my ger's feed. Just worried it is not enough.

e-ling
i find ur ps weird. either that or he is not v pro bf. i think annabel is drinking ok. 150ml for 3mth old is just nice. in fact mine still drinking 130ml 3-hrly. 180ml sound a bit too much to me. is he saying ur bm not enuf nutrient for her? how can that be if she has been gaining good weight right? unless her weight gan is poor. i feel that annabel is tall for her age but does not mean she undernourished la.

blessedmommy

ya u r right hor .. why PD say amabel undernourished ? is there any fact to support that ? Eling, want to look another PD to seek 2nd opinion?

ya lor, u shld seek 2nd opinion. how can u force a bb drink 180ml if she cant drink that much at one go just to fatten her up? every bb grow at diff rate mah. unless ur bb is not active or not gaining weight, if not i think annabel is doing well. some bb drink a lot but dun gain much, some drink lil but put on more. so dun worry abt it. dun let his comments worry u unnecessarily.

ilovebabies,
I never knew if my girl is going through a growth spurt hehe she's only 9 weeks old. I BF on demand so I never noticed a pattern. Sometimes irregular. So that's why I think my girl has no weight issues. She's also not that tall. She's still around 55cm i think. But weighs well over 5kg.

i thought about your situation too. i think the best is to give an equal amount of BM mixed with FM for each feed. So they will always get the best of both world all the time. Means you put say 4oz of BM + 1oz of FM in every bottle. What FM brand are you using?

ilovebabies
we can continue with Neurogain and folic acid even now??
I have plenty of folic acid tablets... thought i would take them few mths prior trying for a second one :p

michelle
according to the directions on the bottle, 1-2 capsules to be consumed daily. for the past 5 days, i took 2 daily and can see an increase in bm. are u taking too much? but then again, the sales staff at gnc told me she has a customer taking 7 capsules daily following a dietrician's advice. maybe really depends on individuals...
at gnc, birthday month has more discount, think 30%?
i am going to stock up the next mth, keke...

blessedmommy and ilovebabies, my girl indeed nv gain much weight since previous visit. in one month she only gained 170gram leh. That is y my PD ask me to give her more breastmilk, maybe 180ml since she can finish 150ml everytime. And shorten the interval. He is not against bf, is becos i told her if i increase to 180ml, my supply may not meet her demand in future so he said can consider supplement FM twice a day. He is just guessing maybe i am not eating enough or nutrient food lor.

Fenugreek is one of the most commonly used galactagogues. It works very quickly in most cases. It can be taken in capsule form with the recommended dose being up to three capsules three times a day. It can be used in conjunction with Blessed Thistle, again working up to three capsules three times a day. The dosage needed varies according to the mother, so experimentation with lesser doses and increasing them if needed is a good idea. One capsule three times a day may be enough to boost one mom's supply when another may need three capsules three times a day.

It is important to be aware that fenugreek can affect blood sugar levels, so much so that it is effectively used to treat diabetes. Knowing this, a nursing mom with hypoglycemia or diabetes needs to watch blood sugar levels if fenugreek is her galactagogue of choice.

The only side effect to make note of is mild gastrointestinal distress when fenugreek is taken in high doses. Typically that would be seen in the mother, but in rare cases it is seen in the infant with an exhibition of some gastrointestinal difficulty which can be as mild as gassiness in the bowels. Animal studies have found fenugreek essentially non-toxic.

e-ling
hmm.. seem like i misunderstood ur pd :p ur gal weight gain indeed on the low side. in that case dun stop ur gal from drinking more if she can finish just because u scared ur bm not enuf for her. dun feel guilty in supplementing with fm. ultimately we only want our babies to grow well right? so go ahead n supplement if u feel the need to.

melissa, i read somewhere tt it's not gd to mix bm n fm. it'll waste the goodness of bm. if want to supplement, shld feed fm n bm separately. eg. after finish drinking bm, give fm, not mix them in a bottle.

edksd, yah my gynae said is good to take but i alway forgot cos really busy with baby and work so i nv take recently somemore my calcium also finished le

blessedmommy, yah lor gain is too low that is y both of us is surprise and my PD is very concern abt his weight and want me immediately next feed give her drink more. If not enough bm, must give formula leh.