(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

edksd
nope, my gynae didnt mention anything abt those supplements to take while bfg. he only asked me to drink lotsa milk (which i am religiously drinking 3 in a day) and eat healthily.

i shall call him and ask abt this matter...

shirlyn, do u drink warm or cold milk? just curious coz im not sure whether drinking cold milk will cause wind in bb or not.

Eling

put the vitamins somewhere near the plc where u get water from... then u wont forget

Melissa

I dont know whether shld intro FM now cos I still have a lot of FBM. but not too sure whether I shld include FBM to my MIL ... maybe i just give 60ML more just in case ...

edksd
i used to enfamama choc flavour until they changed the pkg, now drinking anmum. since it is meant for bfg mummies, i think it would be more nutritious compared to the cold ones.

hmm... all this talk abt the weight and height makes me curious of my babe's growth. i would only find out when she goes for her second jab next sat.

she was 57cm, 4.65kg at 7 weeks old.
pd said she would take after me, hehe.... :b

edksd, blessedmommy,
wah now i'm confused. my idea of mixing BM and FM is derived from a friend who got it from the nurses at KKH liao! at first i thought not good to mix too but seeing that she's mixing, it gives me mixed idea. haha.

ilovebabies,
your bb is 3 months already right. why not you use all your FBM to your bb. by the time your bb is 4 months old, she can take solid food already so i don't think she will need that much BM already right?

e-ling,
yah, don't feel bad about giving FM to your bb. i am a pro-BF but when i get back to work, i rather my bb not be starved just b'cos i insist on giving BM only. i work rather long hours so i must be prepared to supplement with FM.

shirlyn,
if bb take after me and daddy, she will be short and fat hahaa!

haizz i can only take UHT milk b'cos those powdered milk always give me diarrhea!!

michelle,
i took a look at that diaper bag but i dun like the design leh. although i would agree that daddies will love it b'cos it's very practical but i am most likely to carry the diaper bag everywhere i go so I'd prefer something more feminine.

shirlyn, i had gestational diabetes during pregnancy, so my gynae asked me not to take enfamama milk for pregnant women coz of the sugar content i guess. so i took meiji low fat instead. another thing is im lazy to make the milk, cold one just drink will do.

shirlyn, oh is it? then boys take after father? heng ah.. coz im v short while hubby is v tall.

alamak, then why i so fat while my mom is so slim...

melissa
actually its ok to mix but for young babies like ours, u wud want them to soak in all the goodness of bm. i only mix fm n bm for my toddler or when im weaning bb off bm to fm.

edksd
hehe... that is what pd told me coz i commented that my babe is tall coz she has her father's genes.
aiyah, now with the food the kids eat, they are all so tall though their parents are not (hubby is a gd example).

hmm...meiji milk is nice, i love its "milky" taste.

got a question for mummies. My gal is 9 weeks old and for these 2 days, she ask for milk only at 3 to 4 hrs during the day. Is this normal? Are you BBs still on 2.5 to 3 hr intervals, or have they stretched it longer during the day too?

She is only drinking 120ml and sometimes cannot finish it. I am worried she will not get enough nutrition.

angeline
my babe is also like urs! she is now 11 wks though. just last night, she drank at 11pm, then today at 5am, 9am, 11am, 2.30pm and just now 6pm. think each feed is abt 100ml coz i latch on, not sure of amt.
i was wondering if she has a loss of appetite.

edksd
i only tried folding a few times and was not v successful - got leakage

anyway, my MIL only fasten with one pin and it is secure.
i dont see why u cant use more than 1 pins.
happy folding!

mingliew, i'm not sure should i buy nepia or not .. cuz if she poo alot .. sure will backflow ....cuz she straggle alot!!!! And once she starts to kick her leg alot .. it will become loose...tats 1 reason why the poo will leak

hi babes.. me been real bz this week boi.. me doing some freelance teaching at a vacation camp.. its great fun but tiring man!!! lol...

seems like enzo is not as short as i thought he is.. but eling's amabel is realli tall!!!!! muz have real sexy legs.. lol...

melody.. i'll let yasmin have that bottle.. i can go GNC buy..

mingliew.. i juz shared 4 packs of nepia with another mommy.. so i got 2 packs for myself.. u want one pack? but its M size ah.. cos my enzo got roung tummy.. S cannot tape up alr.. lol... but ur baby same bday as enzo.. so should be ok lahz right?

Rainnie,
It's ok i just bought drypers S size for my bb.

Emma,
My son still in S size lar. No milk belly as yr enzo:d..

edksd,
i fold the nappy in no. 2 no need pin but need the diaper cover.

Angeline or mummies who using medela pump? it doesnt have a funnel cover like Avent pump so how u all transport the pump when going to work to make sure is clean? put in ziplog bag? And the suction tube do we need to wash everytime huh? Then the white valve membrance need to sterilise also? Basically what is need to sterilise huh?

melissa, true lah. forgot u work long hours. then can understand why u prepared to supplement if really necessary. but in the meantime jia you kae?

angeline, my boy sometimes 2.5-3 hours, sometimes 3-4 hours also. and he's 9-10 weeks now. dun worry about the drinking amount. my friend's boy if drink EBM only less than 100ml and he is growing very well! most important is ur baby is growing well. if his weight gain is betw 150-250g every week for a TBF baby, then he is doing fine. their appetitie and feeding frequency changes as they grows and it differs from baby to baby.

e-ling, must remember to take supplements wor. sometimes even if babies are getting enough calcium from you, u are losing calcium to baby and ur bones will not be good. so much take ur cal tabs. u can get it any pharmacy i think. i feel not necc to die die get the pink tabs. just get the cal tabs min 500mg ones and MUST contain vitamin D coz it helps u to absorb cal better.

Melissa

but my MIL say intro semi solid food to my ger in her 5th mth. hmm ok maybe I shall use my fresh EBM and give the FBM as extra to my MIL ? aiyah dunno how ... what if I give the FBM but in end not consume ? then discard it cos it must be consume within 24 hrs once transferred from freezer ?

Gers really take after mummy ? aiyo no good me not tall. But my Rachel got long limbs... tot she take after her daddy ...

at birth she is skinny and long .. hehehe we say she got the figure of a MODEL .. ahha

edksd

i have been taking MEIJI LOW FAT since pregnant also ! very nice right ? esp you mix it with cereal ... shiok !

if u dont dare to use a pin, you can either tie a knot with the two ends or buy those diaper cover from kiddy palace.

rainnie

i have started using nepia. My ger has poo in it too .. and it is a lot. So far no leakage leh .. did u fasten it tight enough ?

eling

ME ME ME ! I am using Medela pump. Ok, I only sterilise the funnel and the yellow filter with the white membrane attached to it. The suction tube dont need lah .. i dont even wash it. Cos that's what the MAH nurses do it. I will put the sterilise pumps into a LOCK&LOCK box to work. So the pumps are well covered to avoid contamination. To sterilise it again, just pour hot water into the box.

E-ling,
glad that you made a good bargin for the PIS. Let me know which you prefer Uno or PIS?

I do the same as ilovebabies now. I store the funnels into a tupperware box and take them out only when I want to pump. When washing/sterilzing, I don't even remove the valve (yellow part) from the funnel, I just wash the whole thing as 1 unit. so far no problem. So each time only 2 funnels to wash. More convenient that the many pieces of the Avent pump.

<font color="aa00aa">those using medela cooler bag, when u bring EBM (non-frozen) out and bb didn't drink it, do u keep it back into the fridge upon returning home and use it for the next feed? Is it safe to consume as long as the BM is not more than 48 hours old?</font>

<font color="0000ff">michelle, domesticgoddess</font>,
I bought the 30mm funnel from TMC le! Cost $27 for a pair (inc. the connectors). So far used once, the larger size is easier on the areola.
But down side is that there're more parts to handle and sterilise now.

<font color="0000ff">crystallized</font>,
re your earlier qn on placing EBM in chiller first then transf to freezer, or placing EBM immediately to freezer... if u know for sure you want to freeze the BM, u shld place it into the freezer immediately. But if u've initially stored EBM in the fridge, then decide to store in freezer, below is what a volunteer from BMSG suggests:

<font color="aa00aa">If you want to freeze any milk, ideally you should not wait more than 7 hours before transferring the milk to the freezer. If you had waited 48 hours before freezing the milk, then the milk would have lost more of its freshness compared to milk that has just been chilled for a couple of hours, if that's the case you have to bring forward the expiry date of the frozen milk to much earlier say 1 month after it has been frozen.</font>

<font color="0000ff">domesticgoddess</font>,
agree w u on BMSG's mixed replies. At first I thought they've standard answers and guidelines. But I accidentally sent my query on BM storage twice and two diff volunteers gave me diff answers! One volunteer said it's safe to transfer milk from fridge to freezer within 24hours, while another suggested 7 hours... We shld just use their replies as guidelines and not the "correct" answers loh...

<font color="0000ff">blessedmommy</font>,
sorry i haven't transferred $$ for the liners!! Didn't have time to log in earlier and now hv problems doing the transfer! Will reply ur email once done k! Thanks!

your girl is so cute! looks like she has quite a lot of hair hor?
I'm still waiting for my gal's hair to grow!! *sob!*

<font color="0000ff">melissa</font>,
when u bought lilypadz from MIM, did you choose registered or non-registered mail?
I want to order too!

ilovebabies, i've tighten it leh ... very tight ah! but hor still leak cuz my ger will have alot of movement when she wanna poo and the movement very strong and powerful...n u noe lah the tape is not that sticky....

mingliew, u wan me to pass u 1-2 pc of the nepia for sampling bo? I like helping nepia to do free advertisement leh .. keep giving ppl sample hahahahahahaa

ilovebabies and Angeline, thanks on how to sterilise and keep the pump. How the lock lock box look like, i wanna go buy leh, is it very big to bring to work? Tubberware exp leh? or can i just use ziplog bag?

So do we actually need to remove the yellow head and the white valve membrane to clean huh? Do we need to use the pigeon cleanser to wash also? You two necer sterilise the medela bottle??

Angeline, yah medela PIS is so much better than Avent Uno. I take ard 25mins to pump milk for both side using single pump only. And i dun need to compress my breast like crazy.

ilovebabies, u mentioned thatcan pour hot water in the lock&amp;lock box, dont we need to use sterilised tablet? can the box withstand the hotness?

ming liew, i did not order lily pad....cuz i dun wan to have it via post loh....so if both u and phoebe dun wan to order with me .. den i will jus forget about buying it kkekeke den i can save $$$
Spending too much this few months although on ML
u can come out to take from me or not? i not sure blk 500 plus is where leh....mi is extreme end of yew tee....urs near the swimming pool?

E-ling, u need to remove the yellow head from the funnel and wash it...thats what i did
the tube dun have to wash but put it separately from the other parts since u have sterilise them.
I use pigeon cleanser to wash them...and yes u need to sterilise the bottles too....

Wow 25 mins!!! Better hor den u use avent 1hr!!!!! but u bought the normal PIS or advance one har? I think of buying leh .. but i scare my office there no power socket .. haiz

lock lock box is transparent one..... u see this link... http://www.organize-everything.com/lolofostco.html
i remember last time NTUC Fairprice got sell not sure they still carry this or not...
its much cheaper den tupperware loh!!!

Eling

here's a pic of my lock&amp;lock box. I can put the Avent manual pump in. It can fit both my medela pumps too. I think it cost $8.50 for this size. There are many sizes to choose from. I bought it from Cold Storage.

589948.jpg
589949.jpg

Eling

my colleagues says the sterilising tablet has a chlorine smell. Anyway I will just pour hot water into the box and let the pump submerge in it for a while, prob 15mins ? this works for my colleague lah ...

rannie

ur ger v strong lor . when my rachel poo poo, she will keep very still and "kek sai" ahhaha she dont dare to move much. prob the poo poo stick to her butt hahah

anyway I will always bring my ger under the shower with warm water to clean her butt when she poo cos it's really a lot !!

ming liew, mit next week want? oic...next to cc ahhh....i think my frnd got go there every sat not sure she mind to help mi pass it to u or not
den save ur time to cum to mrt mah...i let u noe later...u @ home tml ya?

puppylove, my hb only paid $13 at TMC for the funnel, no need to change any connector or any other parts leh.

MEDELA PUMP
I dismantle, wash and sterilise the entire thing except for the motor after each use.

LILYPADZ
can only use for 2 months leh. worth it?

ilovebabies, re. yr FBM, up to you really. Actually no need to discard though it is 6 weeks old as some sources say can keep up to 3 months in a freezer compartment in fridge. Personally I keep for 6 weeks as I read (and believe) that BM kept for too long will not be as suitable (though still drinkable) for bb's growth.

Just give to baby now and freeze some of your new ones? Then no waste. I do that.

MIX BM and FM
I don't suggest mixing either. Why not give BM first and top up with FM if bb wants more.

blessedmommy, i also have allenhand bag. Mine is the messenger and I LUUURRVVEEEE it too..

MEDELA PIS
those using the above, why did you buy the PIS instead of the Medela Mini Electric double? do you know if the suction and pumping function much better than the Mini Electric Double? Why such a big price difference?

DG

tks .. yes I am still keeping my FBM. So you mean u discard FBM of > 6 weeks old ? now i think my supply is slightly more than ger's intake so not freezing at the moment. but just in case when my ss go down and I need to prep extra for the day feed, shld I get those of > 6 weeks or < 6 weeks one ?? very confused leh ..

i belive the MEDELA PIS include more things that's why the price different. The electric one in both PIS and normal packaging is the same model.

SUMO WRESTLER
I saw a 3 mth old bb earlier at Great World City. SUMO bb! His mum said total bf bb and he weighs a whopping 8kg! But the mum is not fat or big sized at all, on the contrary, quite petite.

My Marcus only weighed 8kg at 10 months. LOL!

E-ling, actually I still find your PD's suggestion to feed 180ml odd as we can't force feed bb, one of the worst things to do really. I remember Marcus gained 1.4kg in first mth and 400g in the second. I was worried sick that he wasn't gaining enough, but my PD wasn't. In the third mth, he gained 600g when everyone else was gaining a kg. I was concerned that low growth means brain not growing too.. In the end, my boy turned out to be one of the healthiest and smartest leh (i know, me buay paiseh).

So don't worry as she is growing. Growing vertically also growing. If she can drink more, by all means give more. If she can't, DON'T force. And looking at total weight is not accurate measure. At 64cm, 5.2kg for 3 mths, what percentile is she?

My boy was stuck at the 75th percentile for height and 25th percentile forever but that doesn't mean he is underweight for his height or age as many would misinterpret. It just means he is the tall and slim kind. It is just genetics really as both my hb and I were lanky when young (not anymore lah).

ilovebabies, i also set 6 weeks as expiry date for FBM and i got one already more than 6weeks by afew day, do u think can give to baby since my gal is undernourishe, no point give to her right since most of the nutrient gone and mt gal need that and somemore i still got enough fresh one in fridge but discard also waste.

Thanks for showing me the pic of the lock and lock box, i will go and buy one.

rainnie, how to tell is it advance one or not? I think is PIS ba.

ilovebabies, u r welcome!

I meant I personally prefer to keep for only 6 weeks max as I have plenty of ss. Instead of discarding those 6 weeks old or older FBM, I would feed them to bb and freeze the fresh EBM if i have excess that day.

e.g. I will feed bb 150ml of FBM that was frozen 6 weeks ago and freeze some of my newly expresed BM if there is excess. So the one I freeze today can still be kept for another 6 weeks. So my freezer will always have FBM and all under 6 weeks old.

If you are using FBM, should always use the oldest. First In First out concept since the longer we keep in freezer, the more nutrients and goodness lost, so best to use older ones first.

DG

you r right. in fact i saw some breastfed babies who are not the michellin type as we tot so. They are just average size babies. My niece was like that when she was younger. In fact she drank lesser than my Rachel leh ... and my Rachel is one of those who the least in this forum. well my niece is now tall and healthy at 2 years old. And very smart indeed !!

Eling

Dont discard first, prob u may get to use the FBM someday. Maybe we start to discard FBM when they turn 3 months old like what DG said.

so now u shld only give ur ger fresh ones since your supply is soo much ... i envy your supply leh ! i hope I will never need to touch my FBM. and waiting for 2 mths more then my ger can take semi solid food so by then she will need so many feeds of milk, right ?