(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

cereal
glad to be of help
cos i know wat a crying bb is like as i went thro it b4 too! really cannot stand all these inconsiderate neighbours >:|

hey nobody interested to buy the googoo1 diaper bag ah?

btw i saw lilipadz selling at robinsons - city hall outlet. think now hving 20% discount storewide for cardmembers some more so those of u interested can go take a look

ilovebabies.. do not need to worry abt the size of the lilypadz..coz it will not cover the whole breast one.. it will only cover partial.. and it will cup nicely on any breast size...haha .. coz my left breast is smaller than my right breast.. and both fits well.... shhhhhhhh....... :)p)

Keira's latest pic on her 9th week.....

Hmm...Keira in deep deep thoughts....What is she thinking of leh?
board-post.cgi

Hmm...Keira sticking out her tongue after her deep deep thoughts...hmm.. thinking of food..curry??? -- haha..coz her poo has been looking like curry for weeks already...hehe
board-post.cgi

Keira's latest pic on her 9th week.....

Hmm...Keira in deep deep thoughts....What is she thinking of leh?
586153.jpg

Hmm...Keira sticking out her tongue after her deep deep thoughts...hmm.. thinking of food..curry??? -- haha..coz her poo has been looking like curry for weeks already...hehe
586154.jpg

Edksd,
i was reading thru the posts. Everyone is right, dun hv to worry abt your milk supply too much. Kai looks alert & is gaining weight, so definitely supply is adequate. Pumping does not yield as much milk as baby sucking. Dun be too paranoid abt pumping, dun pump too long with the aim to increase EBM quantity, otherwise u may get sore nipples. i think one way if u really want to increase supply is to pump bit by bit after each feed. By creating the artificial demand, that way your body would produce more milk to meet the supply.
You are so 'wei-da' that u are even willing to breastfeed every minute fr your post above!! Don't worry k.

Hair Rebond
I called up breastfeeding mother's support group before i done my rebond and the mother who answered the call saying no problem to do, so i just go ahead

Hi Angeline
tks for the website link
where do u get the product from ? cos i cant find the s'pore distributor number in the website lehz..
rememer i read from forum before there are BP for fridge to go at S$38... any mummy have any idea where to find the source for the BP ?

If travel outside for long hours, say for 10 hours and need to pump more than one time, how should we sterilize the pump and bottle before each use ?
are below the correct step ?
1) sterilise before leaving home
2) keep the manual pump, bottle and VIA cup in fridge to go ( can recycle VIA cup up to how many times ? me have been using for think more than 10 times liao...)
3) use the pump and bottle directly without sterelize ?? safe??
4) keep the EBM in fridge to go

or any advice? thanks.

Yasmine
so confusing... one of the ladies posted and said its not advisable to rebond and colour while u said can... i dunno whether to go ahead anot...

on freezing EBM, do u ladies chill ur EBM in the chiller 1st then transf to the freezer for storage? or transf immed to the freezer?

Yasmine, think last week or the week before someone ask to organise bp for ftg but there's this chap who mention who ever organise the bp for ftg. Account will be suspended! Why not go to HDB hub today or tomorrow for the roadshow? If u purchase $60 u will get free gift.

Michelle, robinson having 20% meh? if yes tomolo i will be going down to bugis i can go there buy hehe

rainnie
i was at robinson last fri n there was 20% for cardmembers lah. dunno whether this wk still on or not tho.. mebbe u wanna call to check 1st?

phobe
i didnt go to centrepoint robinsons so dunno whether they hv lilipadz there or not

looks like a lot of pple using FTG huh. if i'd known abt this pdt earlier i'd hv bot it too but i oredi bot another cooler bag (those wif ice pack inside one) earlier leh so if buy FTG again will be excess bags liao

lilypadz
it seems that they can b used for up to 2 mths (well-taken care, that is). v tempting to get since can even go braless.
wanna check with mummies who hv used them, are they really worth the money??

michelle, i have a avent cooler bag also ... but i think tomolo i might go down and get fTg ... cuz if back office although i can store my EBM in the office fridge but somex i need to go out after work i can use that its better loh....

and next time if go pinic .....can use mah its not only meant for storing milk :p

rainnie
any idea what is the promo at hdb hub? cheaper price?
i stay in the west, was considering the trip from here to toa payoh... so far bleh...

wah looks like the FTG is popular hor.. i think i'm tempted too. hehee.

by the way for those with big boobs, don't use lilypadz and go braless too often ok. you need to wear bra with support else your boobs will sag leh hehe.

GLASS bottles and plastic caps
mummies, anyone use steam steriliser to sterilise them? Those who are freezing EBM with these bottles, how many times do you reuse them for? how do you label the bottles when freezing?

Rainnie,
I received the napia diapers. Thank you so much for these!!!

Cereal,
Keira looks so cute... hope the drilling has stopped huh...

rainnie and phoebe, both of u stay so near... y dun u find another mommy near you to get the lilypadz? then u can avoid the delivery charges..

<font color="0000ff">michelle, domesticgoddess</font>,
check w u.. u bought the 30mm Medela breastshield (funnel) right? Does it come in 2 parts - the funnel part and the "connector"? I called up First Few Years to enquire on price. The funnel part is selling at $19.90 per pair and the connector part is $16.90 per pair. Did u get at around this price too?

shirlyn, i not too sure how much ... but only know the promo is if u buy $60 u get free gift. U might want to check their website for more info. www.fridge-to-go.com.sg

I hope i can go down tomorrow.....last night i have sore throat and now having fever again .. sighz.....

little pony, hope u like nepia.... and paisay to send so late cuz ... very bz recently :p

rainnie
yeah very tempted to buy FTG too leh - wonder wat the free gift is n whether it's worthwhile to rush to toa payoh tmr to buy it. if free gift not attractive then i can always go to the vivocity shop to buy anytime later on. the website doesnt state wat the free gift is either

DG
i am using steam steriliser to sterilise the bottle caps n glass bottles. hv been reusing them countles times :p i dun freeze ebm in them tho. i tried once n the glass bottle broke. i think perhaps cos i put too much inside n it expanded? anyway now i use gerber bags instead to freeze. glass bottles only meant for storing ebm in the fridge. if need to freeze then i trf fr the glass bottles to the bags.

puppylove
yah - u need to buy both parts ie the shields n the connectors. i cant really remember the price (i bot mine fr moms n babes at united sq - they hv the full range of medela pdts there) but i think the price is abt there lah...

yasmine

i have just started to use VIA cups and wonder why it can only use for 4 times ? so u use it countless times ah ?

DG

i am using glass bottles for EBM and FBM. I use masking tape to label them with date and time after each pump.

rainnie
if it is a freebie with 60$ purchase, i'd give it a miss.
think i will get it from the DIY shop.
u better take care, with the sore throat and fever...

me also tempted to buy a FTG.
maybe will call up the office tomorrow to ask dec roadshow where. if got roadshow at west side, dont mind waiting till next mth then get.
else like what shirlyn mentioned, $60 then get a freebie, to travel to Toa Payoh abit far for me too.
rather visit vivo city showroom liao.

phoebe

I am using Avent warmer. I like it cos it always warm up to the same temperature. If u use hot water, you may need to change the water while warming up the EBM.

ya lor. using hot water got to change water when warming up EBM.

also got to keep checking got overheat the milk or not.

interested to get, but not too sure which brand is good.

phoebe
i am using avent warmer. i used hot water frm boiler to warm before but u would have to monitor while using it. if u were to leave the bottle inside for too long, the milk would be too hot.
i think it is worth the buy since u can also use the warmer for food subsequently in the later stage.

i am going back to work next Mon. today see my ger .. i really cannot bear to leave her for so long !! aarghhhhhh so today I keep talking and singing to her .. carry and cuddle her ... scare I cry in ofc when I miss her... haha .. HOW !!!

ilovebabies
paste pictures of her everywhere in ur ofc?! hehe...
my intention when i get back to work.
also must have one with me while "milking", positive thoughts to keep the milk supply coming.

got reply from MIM:

<font color="0000ff">"Hi Phoebe

I'm sorry, we don't offer discounts in that way unless you are an authorised reseller.

In any case, I'm sure you are well aware that at Moms in Mind, we have already made efforts to sell the Lilypadz at a very special price with low margins for ourselves.

The Lilypadz are sold at Department stores at S$59 a pair."</font>

If I'm not wrong, the Avent warmer is $70. That's y I'm still considering.

If Robinson got sale (20%), then will go down to buy from there.

ilovebabies, so you use VIA cup now also right? U use that to freeze ur milk? i worry it will expand and the plastic will crack. U try before? If not if use bag to freeze milk, which brand is better?The VIA cup i find it difficult to keep track how many times it have been used leh. So i ar ga ar ga 4 times then i throw but the cap can sterilise multiple times.

Milk,
do anyone ever notice that after u expressed out the milk, the milk surface got some oil. Mine have leh... y huh?
And normally when you all keep the milk in the fridge, how long u all keep? 24hrs or 48hrs??

Those who have maid or nanny, do you all actually ask them to smell the milk before warm it up for baby to drink? to make sure is still fresh and not spoilt.

i got a Avent bag to store milk, i open to see already but still dun dare to use cos i dunno how to tie up the milk to make sure the milk wont contaminated when freeze. Btw i open already and i never keep it in an seal bag leh, i just leave it inside it package. Do i need to put it in a seal bag since is already open? I think i will still prefer to freeze it using the VIA but just worry it cannot withstand the expansion and crack. Cos it may crack whick we couldnt see or notice at all.

e-ling
i use via cup to freeze bm. so far so good no crack. each time after i use, i use a marker to put a tick to show the number of times it has been used.

u mean ur refrigerated ebm got oil? that is the fats part of the milk v good for babies! the thicker the oil the better hehe...

i only keep my milk 24 hrs. all my ebm will be consumed within 24 hrs. any excess i will give my 3 yr old or freeze it to ensure my gal has fresh supply everyday.

Melody,
I am interested in getting the Fernugreek, may I know what is the price ? Does it really increase the milk supply? have not taken before..
Already PM you, tks

Phoebe/ Michelle,
Robinson sale end last Sunday, me went on Tues, no human crowd..

Tot of gg to FTG roadshow too but cant make it tonight either... think need to get from vivocity liao...

Ilovebabies
The sales assistant in John Little called up Avent office and this is the advice given, VIA not advisable to recycle for too many times.. afraid there is "crack" and might contaminate the milk...

blessedmommy, if use marker then sterilise the cup is it ok?? No i mean after i pumped out the milk, there is some oil (and that is really oil which look alike when we cook soup leh) on the surface. But not everytime. Is it becos i eat too oily food??

i got alot of milk in fridge but i never freeze nowaday and if expire i will just throw away. I normally keep for 48hrs leh if not i keep 24hrs i will have to throw away alot of milk. Morning just throw away 200ml of expired milk. I dun dare to freeze milk leh cos i try freeze once then i thraw the milk and i taste the milk, like very different taste from those store in fridge leh, so i dunno whether is it spoilt and dun dare to give my girl drink and i threw away. There is still 10 cup of milk stored in the VIA cup in my freezer, i havent thraw and tast the rest, cos so far i still got alot of milk in the fridge. But i must tell you dun ever drop the freezed milk in VIA cup on the floor, it will crack cos i drop 4 cup which i kept in a sealed plastic bag and it drop, all cups crack and i threw away and that worth 800ml of frozen milk.

yasmine, yah lor i also worry so sometime i use 2 or 3 times then i threw and i dunno how to keep track the mo of time i use so i just threw

e-ling,
i thought our breastmilk always taste different? so i don't think it's b'cos of the thawing that it tastes different. aiyoh wasted lah.

michelle, ilovebabies, thanks. will use avent steriliser to sterilise the bottles and caps then.

puppylove, i have to ask hb later abt the funnel but remember mrs wong of TMC said it costs only $13, so i sent hb to go buy. but didn't know that there are 2 parts. thought only need to buy the funnel.

blessedmommy, i was wondering whether to give my 2yo the ebm in fridge too. now my expressed output way surpassed Nicholas's intake, so i ended up freezing so much ebm. At the rate i am going, i wonder when he will ever use the fbm (unless i stop bf of course). So thought of giving to my 2yo with his cheerios, hee hee... but wonder if it is suitable for him since bm 's composition is suitable for newborn right now.

E-ling, thawed frozen bm does taste different from the freshly expresed and those in fridge. it is normal as long as it doesn't taste sour. And like what blessedmommy said, it is normal for bm to have a layer of fat. Not because you eat oily food, it is just the way bm composition is supposed to be. the fat is important for bb's growth.

e-ling
i dunno marker ok not so i just make a v v tiny mark. but now that u remind me maybe not so good hor i will think of other ways then. thanks for the reminder!

wow u wasted so much milk. heart pain!!

actually i not so concern that frequent sterilising will cause the via to crack. i more concern that the plastic they use will disintegrate and contaminate our milk cos the kind of plastic used for via cup not those meant for sterilising like normal plastic bottles type.

phoebe, if u r calling FTG to check if they have any roadshow @ west area hor...do let me know leh. hehehehe or rather let us know