(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

DG

hmmm if I were you, i will not freeze the FBM leh .. i would give ALL the fresh ones to bb. but what u did is also correct, maintain the freshness of the FBM. hmm a bit dilemma. ..

Eling, i read somewhere advance one u can take out the motor ... so when u express u dun need the whole bag to be there....u can put on the table top.

DG, PIS definitely better....can control the suction and time i think...thats why i have the medela mini electric plus liaoz still thinking of buying a 2nd hand PIS or .... buy it from overseas. Singpost e-shop got sell but is normal one which i dun wan loh

ilovebabies, thanks.
Hmm.. now i am itching to buy the medela double too as I have to spend 4 hrs/day expressing though i only express 4 times a day. I stashed so much in freezer these days that my freezer is running out of space. A good problem, but still.. sigh... I wish I am out doing something more fun, than expressing!

domesticgoddess, yah i wont force my gal to drink also. PD just said since my gal can finished 150ml everytime why not give her 180ml to drink to see can finish or not so i dont think he mean want me to force her to finish all ba. Anyway my girl managed to 180ml. hehe! so hope my supply can meet her demand.

mingliew, u got email me eh? never receive ah .... btw, my friend if coming to collect from me later ... she say she will help me to pass it to u. Tomorrow 1.50pm at Yew tee CC office can? correct me if i'm wrong....is the CC that got the police post and 7-11 right? church next or near to it yeah?

puppylove,
me used unregistered mail. don't worry, singpost is reliable one.

DG,
hehe me start stocking up on EBM too. straight to the freezer!!

DG, meaning u express 1hr each time ah? Y so siong? u currently using which brand of pump?

e-ling, so u one shot suddeny give her 180 instead of 150? y not increase slowly? 10ml each time?

rainnie, yah my motor can take out one so mine is advance one i think.

ilovebabies, my PD also said i can intro cereal after 5months le and need to add our breastmilk in it. I also heard some mummies there is some cereal which is for 4 month baby. Can we intro cereal for baby at 4months? and heard that those organic one is good for baby like the brand: Heinz and got one is dunno what "time..." cant remember le.

Melissa, singpost not reliable loh.....i ever buy someting from someone .. i never get it loh! paid $50+ for it before i EDD ... sobsob after I came home also dun have. Not sure is it ... singpost or .. the seller not reliable lah..cuz the seller did send an email & call singpoost to check leh. so items 30 & above i will try not to opt for normal mail :p

rainnie i did increase slowly, once after come back from PD visit, i start to give her 160ml and she finished then next feed i give her 170ml see she can finished or not and she finished also so then now i start giving her 180ml and she finished also. So i will stop at 180ml wont increase anymore since my PD said for 3 months average baby drink bet 150ml - 180ml.

rainnie if you interested can call TMC parentcraft if there is any patient selling their. Heard from the staff there that the 2nd hand pump for medela is half the price of the original one. This is how i do, they gve me the contact.

e-ling, but that is jus a guideline....if ur ger can finish 180 ... u wont consider giving more? I always give more to my ger...but my ger still cant finish the 125ml i give her most of the time. only can finish like one or two times only. abit waste of my EBM lah .. but i rather waste den ... not giving enuff.

i noe ... parentcraft got tis kind of lobang but hor ... i very lazy i prefer to email or sms one loh. dun like to call one. and ... i dun take so long to express loh. even with my current medela electricc plus hor ... 1 side only takes me 15 mins for both side. but jus abit noisy!

rainnie, 180ml i already find alot leh. Can i give more than this? i scare later even if i give 250 my girl also finish. haha! see how ba if most of the time she can finish 180ml then anybe i will increase slowly again

mingliew, 3.5hr interval. Ur baby less than 3 months right. Think this amt for that old is ok

rainnie,
aiyoh i didn't know that. most of the time all my local online transactions are sent via normal postage. u think maybe the postman steal your item? that's possible too you know.

By expressing i know that my girl takes only 100ml and she can sleep 3-4 hours with that amount. So now when I express, I keep my BM in Gerber milk bags in 4oz amounts and keep the rest as "extra" just in case she needs more. She's 55cm and over 5kg.

e-ling,
even if you give more, if your girl find it enough she will spit the rest out. if she has naturally big appetite, go with it. maybe your girl is the kind who has high metabolic rate. the amounts given by doctors/healthcare organizations are just guidelines. as a mother, your instincts can overrule.

i find that if my girl drink a lot during the day, she can sleep long hours at night. just the night before, she slept 7 hours solid at night. really give me a peaceful sleep man! i hope she will continue that trend when i get back to work in two weeks! ha!

Hi E-Ling, Melissa,
Actually nt every baby like that.
Some baby will just eat n eat and end up puke out all the milk. So cannot overfed.

melissa. yaloh!!! I bought 2 vcds....korean one .. sobsob ... end up have to buy 1 of them again.....cuz never receive any of them.

Melissa
U stored ur sterilised ameda pump in a container? wat sort of container? do u juz wah the container with soap & water? i am planning to get the pump, but juz wonder how shld i store the pumps aft sterilising coz its not like avent pumps that can b covered properly.

E-ling
Wi saw Pigeon "Y" teats, but not sure wat tt means... or any mummies aware?

Wow! ur girl is drinking alot. my boy drinks v little EBM. but his weight is ok though. poos and pees as normal. so i dun really bother.

puppylove
thks 4 ur reply.
most times i dunno if my EBM will b used, so i chilled it 1st. then at times i throw away, so i feel sayang. then sometimes aft a while, i realised better to freeze, but it has been some hrs since i chilled it, so to b on safe side, i dun freeze it.

DEFROST FBM
how u ladies cal 24 hrs to defrost? coz if we transfer FBM to chiller, it will take many hrs to defreeze, so do we cal 24 hrs the moment we transf fr freezer to chiller or???

last nite, i defreeze a pkt of FBM by soaking in tap water @ rm temp. within 30 mins, 50% of it alrdy turned liquid and i quickly transf it into chiller. is this practise ok?

babyzuchini,

u cannot thaw the fbm outside and put it back to the fridge.

it's either u thaw it by transferring it from freezer to chiller, and use it only when needed,

or u thaw it outside the way u do and use it immediately.

it's the same concept as thawing meat/fish.

as for the calculation of the timing, no nd to be v exact. dun worry.

edksd
i juz leave it o/s for half hr then quickly transf to chiller liao. still cant huh? coz i din noe it defrost so fast by placing in a bowl of water.

i am currently using medela minielectric single pump.
i find it pretty good though noisy. cant really compare since this is the only one i have used.
my friend is using PIS and recommends that.
tmc has contact for secondhand?
can i have the no. of tmc parentcraft??

hi rainnie,

think singpost so far quite reliable.
bought books in BP and avent milk bags from blessedmommy also thru singpost.

also bought CD in ebay and collection via normal postage. so far no problem.

have also previously bought 2 times from MIM thru normal postage also managed to receive the items.

crystallized

once i move the FBM from freezer to fridge, i will write down the time and date i took out frm freezer. then i will consume it in the nxt 24hrs.

eling

i think 37.5 is then considered fever. normal temp is 36.9 but bb temp are generally higer than adults.

rainnie, 'cos i use single pump. actual expressing takes 30 - 40 min depending how full my breasts are, then add assembling, rinsing, getting ready (i clean nipples each time) and lastly labelling, freezing and clearing up ==> abt 1 hr!

i get 3 letdowns in that time, though i usually express most milk in first 20 min. Just expressed 1 litre/day past 2 days and this morning I got 380ml in 45min. But like you say lor, so "xiong".

DG

wah ur ss is a lot hor !! eh how come u can get multiples letdown ?? i only get once. but i express for max of 20mins for abt 180 - 200ML each time.

i must go buy fernugreek !!!

my supply is pathetic liao

my max is only 170ml. that is my first pump when i wake up as my bb slept thru the nite.
but usually get around 80ml average...

crystallized,
me just store in normal container..cheapo one. as long as no dirt can stick to it can already lah.

melissa
ur 170ml is more than mine!
our milk supply are different coz our bb's feeds are diff. isnt that so? we are producing what our bb require. or am i wrong?
better dont compare coz we are all different.

as long as our bb have enough to drink, we dont hv to worry.

hey girls, today afternoon went on a shopping spree man. one in a long long while, RETAIL therapy sia! i usually not one for shopping but when u have not done so for a long time it feels quite gooooddd...hehehee..... my baby is with my dad at my home. i even brought out my pump to pump in case engorged. but end up so many bags and rushing around and wanna go home quick so no time to express. bought quite a few things, but still never get some shoes for myself.
coz now still wearing my birkes. dun dare to wear other shoes when carrying baby coz slippery leh. all the times i go out i miss baby so much. sometimes on the phone with dad can hear baby call out or cry my heart melts.

eling, if u use the children's auxiliary thermometer under armpit kind, 38 degress then consider fever. 37.5 is okie i think coz my boy usually around that range one. but if constantly at 37.6 or higher than should monitor...

crystallised, yah edksd is right leh. dun put it at room temp then transfer to chiller. better just to thaw in chiller like what ilovebabies said.

very sian leh, counting down to end of ML.
anyone going back around 7 dec like me?

melissa, dun fret ah. my average pump amount also around 80ml like urs hehehe. but i believe when baby direct drink he drinks more loh. to me, as long as baby growing well I know i am producing enough. so dun compare and make urself worried yar? only today, coz i 6 hours never feed, when pump gets 125ml from one side. never before one hahahaa. so i think urs is better than mine liaoz... :eek:

daisybuttons

so do you feel better after today's therapy ? ehhe me too bought some new clothes for myself. cant fit in my old clothes arggggggggghhhhhhhhh

i am going back to work next Mon day .. damn sian.
will miss my ger ger leh ..

eh btw you interested in the mini fridge ? if not my friend will be putting it up in yahoo auction. let me know ya ?

phoebe, ya...i used to be very regular yahoo auction buyer leh....now stop abit liaoz...coz of that incident..haiz..heng is when i giving birth that time ... so not so heart pain cuz never think about it hheheee

DG, oic...u calculate those in ah :p no wonder 1hr lah ... eh 1 litre? exclude those u gave to ur darling son? wow thats alot leh! heheheee i trying not to freeze too many BM cuz my freezer full of my BM my mom cant even put meat or fish smetimes heheeee

blessedmommy, sorry i think i'm not buying the avent liners from u liaoz. cuz i'm going back to work 3 weeks later! By then I doubt i will freeze any more of my BM liaoz loh!
sorry for the trouble hor!

E-ling, 37 is perfectly alright even for adult ya...if its 37.5 u might want to monitor loh...

daisybuttons, its gd to do some shopping therapy! I did mine last week? Going back work 3 weeks time...so have to buy sme new clothes ... like ilovebabies i cant fit into my old clothes (except maternity clothes hahaha) eh those mini fridge cold enuff meh? I used to have one leh ... like those hotel room have one hor ... not cold enuff. Do u think that can help to store BM?

sighz...monday my mom going vivo city with my sister and cousin...i told my mom i wanna go together with my ger but my mom said this....if she go have to come back early....sianz!!!! I really wish to bring my ger out for shopping leh ... is either my hb or mom discourage me .. or i dun have the courage to BF outside! Even though when my ger latch on she will latch on only 5-10 mins....

ilovebabies, so far i give only fresh ebm (within 48 hrs after expressing) since got ample ss. But my plan is if there is fbm which is 6 weeks old, i will give only a pack a day, the rest will be fresh ebm. if i have multiple packs that are 6 weeks old, i still thaw only a pack (if have enough fresh ss) and will keep the rest in freezer for emergency and discard after 3 months.

2 yo, i had to stop expressing/bf suddenly as had bad case of infections (a series of infections for few weeks), so luckily had a freezer full of fbm (mostly under 2 mths) to ss for another mth. if they were mostly 3 mths old, then would have been useless. Think my plan will extend "shelf life" of my fbm.

For us who mostly express, very easy to get infections/mastitis etc etc.. so got to be prepared.

rainnie, i use medela mini electric single pump. you have the mini electric plus, so that is the one with double pumps, right?

What u mean by PIS can control suction? I thought with my mini electric single,can also control suction?

how does PIS control timing?

michelle/e-ling, how ah?

rainnie, i am trying to cut down on express amt so don't end up with too much fbm, though currently i have a separate freezer compartment for fbm, so doesn't mix with other frozen food. But not successful leh, though i stretch my interval to 6 hrs, ended up with more milk! Today, my yield exceeded 1 litre. Hb can't stop admiring the bottles/bags of ebm. LOL!

ilovebabies, i usually get 120 to 150ml in first letdown within first 10 min. Then I will massage both breasts and let them rest 1 to 2 min and start expressing again. Soon i will get another letdown with another 50 to 100ml. So usually get most ebm within first 20min. Repeat above and get the rest in next 10 to 15 min (usually 3rd letdown a bit slow to come). i don't take fernugeek leh.

I think the difference between the PIS original and the PIS advance is the '2 phase' system. The original pumps at a regular rymthm, whereas the advance has a 'let down' phase. IE, when you first turns it on, it will pump very quickly to mimic the BB's initial quick sucking to obtain a let down, after that it will pump in a regular rymthm to mimic the deep sucking.

For those using the Medela pump, anyone feeding BB using the Medela bottles too? I am consider if I should feed directly using the Medela bottles to avoid the transfering of the EBM from one bottle to the next?

gals, help !!

my ger, for the 1st time, slept thru'out the nite. this morning when she woke up, i try to latch her but she sense my nipple and cry. just simply refuse to suck. so no choice i prep ebm for her and she drink ..... sob sob... how ???

ilovebabies.....u have always let ur ger latch on right? u try to squeeze some milk 1st and leave it on ur nipple so that u rub ur nipple on her lips she could sense it? u noe what i'm trying to say?

DG, gdz mah...i felt that more FBM is better .. at least if any thing happen *touchwood* u have a gd amount of supply for ur boi....thats what happen to me now....my sore throat have not recover yet! Now start to have running nose & abit cough! If by monday after taking all the cold stuff still pain I would have to see a doc....and when I start taking medicine I will use my FBM to feed my ger
so that I wont be worry whether the medicine is harmful to her or not.

angeline, what kind of feeding bottles u using? I'm using NUK and it happens that one day I forget to sterilise the bottles. Only the funnel are sterilised!!! So I tried putting the nuk bottles onto the funnel! And it works! So if u wan u can play arnd with the few bottles u have.....den u dont have to transfer here & there

ilovebabies, i tot u latch on very frequent, shouldnt ur bb wont want to suck leh perhap u do what rainnie suggested.

btw, do anyone know if i go to pub with alot of smokers, do you think it will affect my breastmilk?

rainnie, tell your GP that you are bf, so to give you medicine safe for bf. actually it is good to bf though u r ill, provided it doesn't cause you too much discomfort as you will then be passing the antibodies to your bb.

ilovebabies, could she be too hungry so impatient to suckle? my boy is like that. Sigh.. nowadays I give ebm more than latching.

angeline, thanks for info. Wahah.. then the PIS Advance sounds real good, but so expensive leh. And I think I am stopping at 2, so cannot use for another bb... no mileage leh..

melissa, what makes you choose ameda over medela mini electric plus??

Don't worry abt your expressed amt, it will increase if you start expressing more. For mummies who have been latching mostly, yr ss tends to match bb's appetite, but for us who express a lot, our ss can be artificially increased by the pumping interval/time etc. I remember a mth ago, i only got abt 60ml every 3to 4 hrly as I hardly expressed then. Now can get 1litre/day though Nicholas only drinks abt 600ml a day.