(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

eling.. i ask my pd before.. he says babies, if hungry, feed... if they are overfed.. they will vomit (projectile) if they don't.. she's probably going thru a growth spurt..

eling

ya I think ur ger hungry leh .... nvm just feed first. like what emma says, she will vomit the extras out. if not it's gonna be very diff on you and your ger since she cant stop crying.

Emma

ya I think I will leave it at BIL hse who stay in punggol, me at SK. but I need an ice box to transport the milk. hope it would be ok.

hi mummies who give ebm
i read that fresh ebm can be kept at room temp for up to 8 hrs. this means i can express the BM then leave it out in the open for about another 2 hrs before giving it direct to my son w/o having to warm it up again rite, since i didnt even put it in the fridge?

michelle,
in tat case, think i shld buy the bigger breastshields too! Is there juz one other size or more to choose from?

daisybuttons,
ya, i also notice that poos seem to be messier w Nepia. I'll find poo sticking to my girl's backside and itz wetter, like the diaper didn't absorb... But it can b tat she juz poo'd lah

michelle

i only know fresh EBM can be left in the room temp for 4 hrs, not 8 hrs.

and yes, theoretcally you can feed ur bb the fresh EBM w/o warming up but the chinese always believe in drinking warm milk mah ...

i am still expecting my NEPIA diapers. in fact with PAMPERS, the poo can be quite messy too cos my Rachel poos a lot in every few days.

Eling,
i think u mention that u use the avent elec brest pump and it got problem stop by itself right? did u send for repair? I found mine having the same problem today.. Wonder need to send for repair also or not..

michelle, why do u need to use breastshields with medela pump? i didn't use. but i did change the funnel to a 30mm one which is more comfortable than the standard size. it presses on my aerola instead of nipple when i express.

DG
oh actuallly wat i meant was the funnels. u mean breastshields n funnels r different ah? all along i tot its the same. i oso bought the 30mm one...

puppylove
they hv 2 bigger sizes apart fr the std one. its 27mm n 30mm

michelle, i dun think is colic cos colic is they will cry at certain timing right and cry non stop but mine is not. She will stop crying when give her milk. But can baby drink so much milk?? Hai...

mingliew, i havent go repair yet will go tmr. Mine still can use but sometime will auto off, then i got to on again, i think mine is becos the connection loose.

DG, michelle,
i also thot breastshields n funnels mean the same thing cos i was checking out the First Few Years website and the product was listed as 'breastshield'
So there's 27 & 30mm ah? 3mm not much diff, think i'll get the 30mm too. Thanks for the info!

ilovebabies,
today my plc here shut down its electricity for a while too.. but it's only for 3 hours leh.

So if you wanna to risk, just keep your EBM in the fridge and have the sterofoam box as standby.

But well, i can't guarantee......

So it's best to put it in another freezer.. that's the best solution.

domesticgoddess

yes, i will bring all FBM to BIL hse one day b4. u mean it is safe to transport them w/o ice box ??

btw whr did u get the 30mm funnels ??

Littlepony
ya they stated 3 hours in the Notice also.

eh dun wan to risk heheh in case Rachel intake increase and my milk supply drop when get back to work.

today brought Rachel shopping again. hehe we went shopping the day before too.... she loves it !

571764.jpg
To auntie riushiki's boy boy... congrats on passing poo poo today ! luv, rachel jie jie

sunny
thks for your support n encouragemt
today my lumps hv cleared (after much painful massaging yesterday n screaming out in pain!) and i am again quite encouraged to continue to give EBM. its only when the lumps come then very sin feel like giving up. so yes, lets encourage each other to BF for as long as we can!

anyone here stop swaddling their babies completely oredi?

Hi Rachel Gal Gal
We have the same type of pillow ! hee hee

Ilovebabies, Rachel's hair didn't drop right ? Still so much and nice
izzit true that all their hair will drop eventually ? So far, my ah boy's hair has not dropped :p

michelle,
i haven't stopped swaddling. still swaddle my girl at night. i don't want her to grow too fast leh. she will be my newborn baby forever hehee.

ilovebabies, of course safer to transport with ice box, but i meant the bags should still stay frozen in a car ride even without an ice box, provided it is a short car ride and you are transporting them in the evening (when it is cooler). Better to transfer to another freezer instead of leaving in an ice box for 3 hrs though as the temperature in ice box cannot never be cool enough to keep the BM frozen.

i bought my 30mm funnel from TMC's parentcraft. Think it is $13.

michelle, puppylove, i didn't know that as i never go to medela website. but i think hb went to buy a pair of breastshields (or maybe they are breast shells) 2 years ago when i had sore nipples from expressing. they are just 2 pieces of curved plastic which we put on our nipple/aerola before expressing so the funnel will not rub against our nipples/aerola. I hate those things so only used twice as found it hard to express properly.

long time never come here. Been very busy with Rhys.
Every morning got to travel to my mum's place so that at least got a maid to take care of Rhys when I am pumping milk, hence no internet access.

Just got serious food poisoning few days ago, vomitting from 9pm to 2am. No choice rushed to 24hrs clinic to get a jab. Got to stop giving EBM for a few days. Yesterday just resumed back but realised that my output really lessen a lot.
Now thinking whether should I start decreasing my pump to stop my milk slowly... sigh... confused leh...

Michelle, my pumping buddy, how are you lately? still diligently pumping every 3hrs? me lazy liao, dragging 4-5hr now liao. 1 day only pump 4-5 times.

STICKERS ON GLASS BOTTLES
=========================
I managed to take the stickers off easily by boiling the glass bottles. After a while, the stickers all came off nicely without any glue stains.
But do note that if the stickers are there for a long time liao, this method will still work but the bottle might be a bit sticky with the glue still there. FYI.

Ilovebb,
Rach so cheery!!! I haven't managed to take a pic with Wayne smiling.. coz he always look at the camera blur blur one!

Riushiki,
Your bb so so satisfied! haaaa!!! Very cute.

Mummie of Rhys,
I read somewhere that decreasing pumping frequency is one way to wean baby of breastmilk. Is that what you want? Or are you still keen on giving Rhys BM? If so, maintain 3 hours interval. Else, skip a feed or two and increase pumping timing. Me very backwards liao. I have been DBF all this while once I get back to work, I have to live with pumping like you and Michelle did. My target is 6 months of BF. I'm so used to DBF, I'm extremely sad to even give my baby the bottle but I told myself I can always latch her at nights and weekends. I hope my milk supply can work with me.

Hey if got common cold, do you think it's better to sleep in air conditioned room or just turn on the fan? Air conditioners can purify the air leh? But some people say air conditioner no good b'cos of the cooling environment. I'm so confused?

hi mummies, i need some help...
my bb girl has been struggling at my breast in the midst of feeding (5-10 mins sucking), she would would cry & get agitated when the breast falls out of her mouth, she would kick furiously and get all tensed up. however i hv tried to remove her fr the breast only to hv her crying. If i let her continue, i fear she would vomit since she keep kicking & struggling, and swallowing so much air in the process. I duno what i should do.

I thought of calling TMC parentcraft for Mrs Wong's help. Anyone can advise what's her no and if i can mk appointment with her?

Thanks. <at>

So we all have the same pillow hee hee :p But this pillow too thin .. my ah boy's head always "dropped" out half way in his zzz

I also very lazy now. Will only pump 4 to 5 times a day .... coz now no nite feed so the amount is just enough for bb :p

zz,
sometimes when that happens to my bb, it means she's tired but she wants to suckle for comfort and not feeding so i pat her to sleep. even though she still continues struggling and screaming, she will give way eventually and fall asleep. works everytime. you see some babies are tired but dunno how to fall asleep by themselves so you gotta help them a bit. this is true if your bb has no latching problems. try that first before calling mrs wong?

hi, Melissa, Thanks for the quick reply. I'm really at my wits end as to what to do, seeing my bb struggling makes me want to give up BFing.

what u said seems to make some sense... it seems the struggling starts when i start to see her eyelids abit droopy. But i wonder if she has enough, since she still wants to suck, yet the breast keep falling out of her mouth as she isn't sucking as hard. And i only have fed her for 5-10mins only. Sigh.
She has puked a couple of times when i let her continue sucking, at the end when i burp her, she puked all the milk out. Then she would looked so shocked and start crying. If she vomit, then 15mins later she would want to suck coz i think she vomit the feed out, thus hungry, but she has already empty most of the milk in my breast!! Arghhh! Me at my wits end really!

I will continue to try &amp; monitor, in case i need to call Mrs Wong, can someone pls help post the tel? Thanks so much!! Really want to try to perserve in BFing.

zzprincess,

the thomson parentcraft no is 6251 4090

Postnatal hotline no 9119 3502.

Mine BB also same problem as urs. I give up DBF long ago. Now keep on pumping to provide her EBM.

ur problem started recently?

hi, melody... yeah, problem started couple of days ago. intially only happens at the night feed (8-9pm feed), nowadays the struggling even happens in daytime feeds. Driving me nutz.

I'm trying to introduce the bottle to my bb, all the while (6 weeks) been DBFing her. its also a challenge, she cries when give her bottle. i'm trying one bottlefeed everyday. Getting my MIL to bottle feed her, trying NUK teat &amp; Avent teat. Have to continue to hang on there, put up with her crying to train her on the bottle i guess.

oh so many babies sleeping on the same pillow.
i find the pillow support good, Rachel wont fall off easily. Prob her head is smaller

ya she can smile easily nowadays. Sometimes she just look at me and she grin ! ahah my mum says she can recognise me already.

zzprincess,
my gal will behave this way during latching also. thus I rather pat her to sleep than let her suckle cos like what u say, she will vomit all the milk out. If she cry this way, I will cuddle her tightly and start to pat pat on her buttocks. i will pat slightly harder than usual to make her realise that I am patting her then she will stop crying. Shortly after, she will fall asleep but becos she is not fully fed, she will wake up sooner.

so it's best that they catch a few winks before latching them again. try it out.

Riushiki

i only pump 3 times a day !! cos I am going back to work on 27 nov, u need to establish the pumping schedule. now I pump at 10+am, 4+pm and 9+pm. Afterwhich I will latch my gal for her nite feeds.

ilovebabies,
thanks for the advice too! Really touched by all the mummies kind advice! I was practically stressed out by my BB struggles, and with my MIL keep asking why BB keep crying... is it milk not enough, i was so stressed. And my MIL not happy that i've been DBFing all this while, said should hv started bottlefeed &amp; DBFing since bk from hospital. I wanted to get the milk supply more stable thus been latching BB, now 6 weeks then start try bottlefeed.

I find all the babies here so cute, can smile so sweetly already. My BB girl only look blur blur when i play with her, only once in a million times, she would curl up her lip slightly to smile at me. Other times she smile is just after a feed and falling off to zzz satisfied.

zz princess

sayang her first, calm her down, when she calm down she will probably be easier to latch on.

me have the same pillow too. BB seem to sleep better wit tat pillow

zzprincess

haha maybe u can try talking to her while she half asleep to simle more be a happy bb. My bb used to frown nowdays can see her smile if she sleep enough and drink enough

ya try to smile at bb more often. they learn all these from us such as sticking out the tongue. I keep talking and smiling at Rachel eversince she's born.

ok
i will smile more at BB to get her to smile back.
any mothers went for baby massage class? which one is gd? TMC is more expensive $94.5 for 2 sessions. I saw KKH charge $30 only. Wonder whats the difference? wana try baby massage coz my BB pass alot of gas leh... (poot-poot), at times she will cringe up her legs in discomfort.

zz

i din intend to go for any bb massage. i gave rachel ridwind for quite some time but I have stopped already. now she fart and burp easily so I dont see a point going.

DG,
oh Parentcraft has the 30mm funnel ah? yeah, thanks for info! I'll buy when i next go to TMC for my pap smear.

riushiki, ilovebabies,
your bbs r soooo cute! hmm.. Rachel has early training on shopping! haha..

zzprincess,
my gal is like tat sometimes... suckle then cry and get agitated.. continue to feed and she'll vomit out. Like wat Melissa n ilovebabies said, bb is juz tired and wants to sleep. Once i stand up and walk around, she'll fall asleep peacefully in my arms!

hi mummies, dont go on diet just to lose weight while u're still bfg-ing. not even exercising.

<font color="119911">Postpartum women who diet, exercise vigorously, or skip meals may quickly drop pounds, but they may also release higher levels of toxins into their breast milk. Still, breast milk remains the healthiest food for your baby, so don't let this deter you from breastfeeding. Work toward a gradual weight loss, eat when you're hungry, and make sure you get enough fluids. It's the best way of losing weight easily and safely.</font>

edksd

tks for the info !!

i think mothers like us are very very tempted to lose weight fast within these 3 mths and some may not aware of the toxins we produced. thanks for reminding us ...