elo crystallised, beri easy to count one heheehe. not say must count all the time, just only if u interested to know loh. that time after reading i just try counting. say u r ah boy sleeps from 9-11 and wakes up from 11pm to 12noon. thats 2 hours nap. then he naps again from 12 to 2pm, wakes from 2-3, then naps from 3-6pm, means total 2+2+3 hours equals 7 hours. its the total amount of napping, excluding wake up time loh. i used to wonder, he got nap so long meh? so one day i counted, and its really true, never fails to be 6hours plus. quite amazing hehehe.
ilovebabies, u are right that if baby is growing healthily theres no need to enforce schedule. i am not one who likes schedule, so those schedule-managed parenting methods dun appeal to me. this nap times of 6-7 hours is a tip by an attachment parenting (as opposed to scheduled-driven parenting) book. its just a guide, an average indication of the average nap hours. to help sleep deprived parents who finds their newborns sleeping in the day and awake at night, to pinpoint the reason why the newborn is like that. if a newborn sleeps well at night and day, then theres obviously no need to count lah. only for those who wish to know.
crystallised, i apply ru yi oil for my ah boy after bathing and at night. BUT he still fusses at night feeds leh. he very funny loh, he fusses oredi, once i sit him up he sure stop. though i make the action of burping him, but he dun need to burp to stop his fussing. he sit up will stop liaoz. thats why sometimes i resort to feeding him sitting up. aiyoh, dunno loh. wanna pull out my hair sometimes at night. brrrr......