(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

edksd

oh really ah ! so if i order less than 4 packets, what's the delivery charges ? how come I dun see the conditions stated at the site ?

michelle
the lump on the underside of your breast could be a blocked duct too. hope it's cleared by now, else really got to massage and masage hard again and again.
i fully understand your frustration and sian - one lump gone, but another popping up again. Its seems like people like us who don't latch the baby on are more prone to blocked ducts,since pumpimg does not empty the breasts as well as latching on.
But don't give up, continue to massage hard. That's what I've been doing too, my fingers also aching liao.

Daisybuttons
Your blocked ducts clear already?
You mentioned that should not switch to FM when there are blocked ducts cos may cause further infection. Any implications if continue to pump but extend the interval from 3hourly to 4hourly? Will the blocked ducts clog further since the breasts are 'emptied' at a longer interval?
As for the glass bottles, I thought we do not need to remove the stickers? cos I remembered seeing my lactation consultant taking a sterilised glass bottle with the stickers on from her steriliser. Since the lactation consultant did not remove the stickers, I presume it should be ok to leave the stickers there.

sunny03sunny,
you also never latch yr baby? did yr baby refust? my baby only latch when he v hungry n suck for v short while like 1-2 min. but hor to my surprise he seems to be able to get quit a lot of milk because when i pump i get much less milk from that side of breast..

hi sunny, my blocked duct clear 2 days back, but now back again leh. i very sian. tmlw seeing GP for pap smear so will check with her. sigh...i 95% Direct bfd leh, still got. i not sure is it coz my side of the breast more prone coz i got a scar there since young.

about glass bottles, edksd what did u use to remove?

sunny, think ur LC only use the bottle for class isitt? in that case she not using for really feeding baby right?

mingliew, scratch can remove meh? just with fingers ah? okie i go try one now.

eh girls, i search and search only found some catering services that does single person tingkat for lunch leh. one is house of catering, and chia chia catering. heard of it? hehehe.

helo sunny sorry forgot to reply u. i think when have block ducts and u only use EBM and not DBF, then u shld be pumping the affected breast more often to drain it. esp AFTER u do the hot therapy and massaging. but then again, there is a risk of increasing the supply too much also. so perhaps if u change to 4hourly interval, pump longer?

Hi Daisybuttons, saw your question so just kpo. What I did was just soak all the bottles (add some bb's washing detergent) in a big tupperware overnight for 2 days and you'll find it easier to remove the stickers. Further glue stain can be easily removed using those stainless steel scrubber. The bottles will be clean as new. Hope it helps.

Hi Edksd, I using ameda too and also thought of trying the flexishield to see if it can really stimulate milk flow. I called Infantree and they are selling at $38/ea. The lady very nice and said she will ask her colleagues who are using it and get back to me.

Hi Daisybuttons, I ordered the tingkat from chia chia catering last month and the food is quite ok if you are not very picky. Jia chang pian fan loh.

so many questions ah .. hahahaaaa

emma, rotavirus is oral one ..

daisybuttons, i'm not sure if he will pick up after work call or not .. never try and i hope i dont have to call loh :p
to me .. i think he is ok loh ... quite friendly and answer questions that we ask.

ming liew, 6 in 1? i not sure how much for tat. 5 in 1 cost $110.20 if i not wrong. Not sure those include consultation fee or not leh. Today I paid $140+ for rotavirus and a cream.

ilovebabies, the PD say 'might' but he say most of the babies dont get fever or diahorea...only some will. So crossing my fingers....hopefully my ger wont get fever loh.

I paid $140+ total for the consultation plus cream leh. not sure how much the jab cost

Daisybuttons,
I dunno but i take out the stickers from the glass bottles leh...If it's not too troublesome for you, just take it out lor..

Emma,
Good luck for your exams! Sure can pass one lah!

hi keylen, thanks for kaypoh-ing! hehehee. what do u mean by stainless steel eraser ah? me no get, where to find leh? oh u ordered from chia chia? hhhmmm....i compared the 2 webbys and i find the house of catering more pro leh. hehehe i am a sucker for presentation lah, jia lat. the price diff only $8, shld be ordering from house of catering. but thanks for ur feedback!

rainnie, din u take ur rotavirus with ur 1st 5-in-1? ur baby how many weeks now? my current pd say will take together at 2.5mths...

littlepony, i just took it out but it left so much marks and those white white paper on my bottle loh. dunno how to remove. will try keylen's way but need her to explain hehe. how u remove clean clean leh?

Hi Daisybuttons, the stainless steel scubbers are those which you use to scrub your pots & utensils? Where you try to remove those stubborn stains? They are round in shape, like wire kind. Anywhere also can get ie. supermarkets, provision shops. I think you, your mum or MIL sure have at home.

The stickers on the bottles after being soaked for 2 days can be easily peeled off and the remaining white paper & glue stain, just use the scrubber together with the water from the tupperware to scrub it off....it came off quite easy and much faster. After scrubbing off the stain, just wash them again before sterilising. If you still have difficulties removing the stains/papers, just soak them longer, maybe one more day

Hi Edksd, fyi, someone in the forum mentioned that the flexishield is not really effective and the avent's petal massager works quite well with the ameda pump.

daisybuttons, i wanted to take together with the 5 in 1 but my hb say better dont....cuz already take the jab still give med like very cruel leh..... my ger tml will be in her 7 weeks loh

Riushiki,
yes, that's what i mean. actually yr baby also eat n get affected of what u eat...
I did experience that. that's one day i very tired n sleepy n i drink 2 cups of coffee and i found my baby stay awake the whole day :p..

i ordered a mix of MamyPoko and Nepia from Dignus last Sat (total 4 packs), delivered last night (Tue). I must say Nepia is really soft! So far so good. Thanks to those of u who recommended it!
i find the bands round the upper thigh can be quite tight tho' if i want the waist part to be tight, but good thing material is soft. Maybe my girl's thighs too fat?? haha... i also find the urine indicator not as accurate as Pampers'.. cos my girl tends to wet the back part of the diaper where there's no indicator for Nepia. But overall, thumbs up for Nepia!

those of u using Medela pumps, ask u ah... when u pump, do ur nipples rub against the breastshields? Not supposed to right? I feel quite sore sometimes due to the rubbing. Anyone bought additional breastshields with a bigger diameter? If I'm not wrong, they do sell diff diameters right?

sunny
yah the lump probably due to block ducts but i got masage the areola too leh n i dun feel any blockage. then today discover a new lump on the right breast now! i oso very sian.. so tempted to just give FM and forget abt pumping n everything
anyway how do we gradually give up expressing w/o getting engorged huh?

daisybuttons
can sense u oso very sian huh. but i'm oso suprised u get block ducts since u DBF and not expressing all the time like me n sunny.

puppylove
me using medela n yes the std breast shields r too small for me too so i bot the bigger size one. much better n more comfy. initially use to get sore nipples too n i didnt know y till i went to their website to check it out n realies they actuall hv different size breastshields

puppylove

tks for the assurance for NEPIA diapers !
I am using Medela and yes the nipple will rub against the breastshields.
Sometimes it hurts sometimes it doesnt. when it hurts I just switch to lower power.

gals, I need advise.

There will be a disruption in electricity in my block next Tue FOR 3 HOURS !!

Now I am worried abt my FBM. any idea how to store them ?

keylen oh thanks! hehehe oooh the wire wire one huh? i know which one oredi, thanks. will see if tmlw can start soaking hehehe.

puppylove, i got my nepia today and really find it so soft too! hehehe but hor, just one query loh, when ur girl poo was it very messy for the nepia? cos mine is, and i am wondering is it coz the diaper was already soaking wet (4-5 hours worth) thats why its messy when the poo came out hehehe. but the diaper really very soft, i like this kinda softness.

michelle, yah i also dunno why, tmlw i check with doc loh. i think its due to my that part of the breast got scar from young leh. can't think of any other reason. twice liaoz leh.

rainnie, hhmmmmm true loh. i got ask the pd shldn't i take the rotavirus and 5in1 seperately, he say its okie leh...hmmm.....now that u say rotavirus jab may ganna fever too, then better take seperate right? cox 5in1 may also ganna fever so if take both together very heavy right? ur pd recc take rotavirus now or u wanted it?

ilovebabies, oh dear ... 3 hrs is damn long leh...i'm not too sure how .. cuz they are suppose to be freezed mah ..if 3hrs .. no freezer and later u put it back sure no gd liaoz ... right

daisybuttons, the pd did not recc us to have it separate. He is not pushy kind loh. When I first bring my ger to him for the 2nd doz hep B, he jus let me know the 2 optional jab my ger can opt for and when she can have it. Thats all....did not even tell me how much each jab course. His nurse...I only saw 1 nurse there ... (my 2nd visit same nurse) she is quite friendly...emma how u feel abt her? Cuz jus now when we walk out of the clinic to the lift she even chase after us to inform that the PD will be on holiday from 8-11 dec! so nice of her leh....

Daisybuttons,
ya.. as what keylen say loh.. i also first soak it with water overnight.. then use the wire kind of scrub to scrub it.. and it just will come out easily. anyway, it's glass so don't have to worry about scratches.. heee.

ilovebabies,
hmm.. that's a tricky one.. from what i know, they normally say 3 hours but they don't shut down so long.
I know you have stored alot of EBM... hmm, the only thing i can think about is... you know those big sterofoam box which we always use to store drinks during BBQ or perhaps those boxes to store drinks to keep cool..buy tons of ice pack and store all your EBM there... only do it when electricity is shut off....once it comes back, immediately put your EBM back to fridge again.

Hope this suggestion can work.. if not, let me know and i think of others for you.

Mingliew.. hmm.. there isnt realli any link.. i am juz majoring in Mathematics and minoring in Psychology.. the only link prob is statistic only.. hehe...

ilovebabies.. thanx for u well wishes..

ask u all ah.. when it comes to the time we give up breastfeeding, when we feel super engorged, we juz bear with it is it???

my gal everynight, dun wanna sleep / when in light sleep mode and kept licking her figure till very jialat leh, what can i do huh? i offer pacifier but kept dropping out. In and out, in and put again till i buay tahan (she still dunno hot to suck pacfier leh.

PrincessEmma,
Ha thanks for letting me know. hmm majoring in mathematics.. sound very. wow.. to me :p

E-Ling,
May i know what type of pacifier u use? I guess iniitally most baby dono how to suck pacifier. it take some times

Emma,
My bb is now on total formula milk. I stop breastfeeding for a couple of reasons. I fully stop it this week. And before that, when i feel engorged, i didn't let bb latch or pump it. I just press the milk out during my bath. When milk releases and i don't feel that engorged, i just let it b. Milk will still leak so impt to continue putting breast pads.

If you feel super engorged, don't bear with it. Release it out. Or else, u will end up having fever. Stop the frequency of latching or pumping slowly each day...

And i think i didn't take fish for a couple of days...

Stopping milk doesn't happen overnight. So i suggest for those who intend to stop breastfeeding due to work obligation, you have to give yourself about two weeks to do so.

Pills can also stop milk but i don't suggest that coz i heard that pills make breast smaller.
I also heard that consuming some food can also stop the milk flow.. but i am not sure what kind though.

Anyway, if you gals think that you can continue breastfeeding.. please do so.. :)

eling,
Keep letting bb suck pacificer. If she wants to lick her fingers or hand, let her b but most impt, put on mittens. I think she just need something to suck on for assurance and comfort.

My bb has problem sucking the pacificer as well... but nowadays, it seems that he is beginning to know how to suck and hold it.

If you find that your bb just suck for a while and drop out the pacificer. Keep holding on the pacificer to her mouth.. hopefully, that will teach her how to suck and hold on to it.

ilovebb,
r u still using dr ngiam as Rach's PD?
I know you took the 5in1 injection for Rach during Rach's second month.

I am still sticking to the usual injection schedule leh.. like Wayne's 3rd month, go for injection.. and subsquently every month, an injection.

I am wondering which is better??

michelle
i understand how you feel, esp the part abt giving up and just give FM cos I was very tempted to do the same too. But we have to give each other moral support and perserve, at least now when we are still not back at work (that's what I've been telling myself. I'm considering giving FM when I return to work at end Dec).
As for giving up expressing w/o engorgement, i suppose we are to lengthen the pumping interval progressively eg from 3 hrs to 4 hours etc. This way, our body will produce less milk. But I'm not too sure abt when we can totally stop the pumping cos there should be minute amounts of milk produced even if the interval betw 2 pumps are far apart?

ilovebabies
Regarding your cut in power supply, you could use those styrofoam boxes with lots and lots of ice to store your milk temporarily. When the power supply is restored, to transfer back to your freezer immediately.

emma
hey i oso wondering abt the same thing ,as in how to stop breastfeeding. i found this article (someone here posted the link before) which i tot is quite useful:

When you wean from the pump (human milk is recommended for a minimum of one year),you can do it comfortably and safely by cutting back on pumping gradually.

Start by eliminating one daily pumping, give your body 2-3 days to adjust, and then eliminate another pumping, leavin your first and last pumpings of the day until the end. Repeat until youve weaned.

Keep the number of pumpings the same and stop pumping sooner. For example, if you normally get 4 ounces (120 mL) at a pumping, stop after 3 ounces (90 mL). Give your body a couple of days to adjust and then decrease by another ounce. Repeat until you no longer feel the need to pump.

NOTE:If you feel full at any time during weaning, pump to comfort not a full pumping, but long enough so that you comfort not a full pumping, but long enough so that your breasts feel comfortable. Leaving your breasts full increases your risk for pain and infection.

hmm.. littlepony and michelle... thanx for the info.. wonder when dat day will come for me.. hehe..

mingliew.. its not as wow as it sounds.. juz sop more and ur math will also improve!! lol..

littlepony
my son oso dunno how to suck the pacifier leh. its been more than 2 wks oredi n it still keep flyng out from his mouth .we hv to stand there to hold leh very tiring. how long do they need to learn?

did anybody use avnt teat? yr using no 1 or no.2?

michelle,
what type u give? i give the NUK type, initially he also dono how to suck but after few days try he like it and now he seems can't sleep without it.

oh yah i hv another qn.. when shd we stop swaddling our bb? rite now i only swaddle him at nite when he goes to sleep cos i find it helps him sleep better.

shd we stop after they turn 3 mths old?

ming liew.. since enzo was 1 month, i changed to no.2 teats alr... me buying 4 more no.3 teats and gonna start to use that for FM.. BM thinner so i still use no. 2..

Littlepony, rainnie, sunny

tks ... ya I also tot of the sterofoam box but i wonder if it can maintain the coldness as the freezer ??
duno my ger can tahan the weather w/o fan ?? else I gotta fan manually for her.

sick man !

Eling

leave ur ger alone ! once she is use to lying on the cot w/o anyone attending to her, she will sleep right ?
guess she really find her fingers sweet.

sometimes what I do is put the pacifier in Rachel's mouth,
make her hug the bolster and the bolster will stop the pacifier coming out of her mouth.

She sleep shortly after that.

Littlepony

yes I am still with Dr Ngiam.
Rachel took the 1st 6-in-1 jab and the jab for pneumococcal disease together.
Next will be 5-in-1 and then 6-in-1 again.

Why not u consult Dr Ngiam on this ? but I know bb take only 3 jabs for 6-in-1. If u follow the schedule, there will be 5 jabs to endure.

ilovebabies.. ur inlaws or parents live near u? if u are afraid that the box is not cold enough, use it juz to transport to another person's place and put it in their freezer?? in case they take longer than 3 hrs???

ilovebabies, i try giving her hug the bolster to stop pacifier from flying out, but she dunno how to hug the bolster at all. If i just her alone without attending to her, the pavifier will fly out then she will keep licking her mitten then after sometime she will frustrated and get crying. I dunno whether is it becos she hungry thats y she keep licking but before that i just given her milk so i dunno whther is it becos hungry and i also dun wanna overfeed her so i nv give her more milk. If i really give her, i think she will drink up to 200ml like last time.
And this few days she keep crying even during the day, we changed her, carrying her and begore that give her milk already but she still cry real loud, i dunno whether is it becos she hungry again then cry or not i try latch on it do stop after that but after half an hour cry again. So she dun really sleep alot, just keep crying. Is it becos growth spurth? should i give her drinkmilk although she just drink not long ago? But i scare overfeed her leh which is not good

ilovebabies, i suggested u put the milk in either ur in law house if they stay near by or get help from neighbour, ask them whther can let u store the milk temporary