(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

guess what ? I also have the same problem with my baby ! He will suckle for a while, then he will get angry and used his legs and arms to kick me :x Then he will keep shaking his head. I will hold him away from my body and imagine my dismay to look at this wildkid kicking away :x ....

I gave up DBF in his 3 or 4 weeks. He did this to me all the time ... I was so depressed and in the end ... I will just pump out to feed him. He is happy and I am happy too :p

Really envious those mummies who have no problems with latching on ... it's actually quite enjoyable.

My bb will latch on peacefully when he is already full from bottlefeed. I will let him latch on to suckle for comfort ... he will talk to himself and play with nipple for fun :p

riushiki, mingliew

dun be despair lah .. prob when u get back to work, try to latch bb again at nite .. who knows when they are bigger, they behave better ?

that's what happen to Rachel. I stopped DBF for a while during the 1st mth cos she cant suckle for long and this has deprived me of rest and sleep.

so I gave her EBM all day long. well I got a bit deprived of the bonding... so i latch her again quite some time ago and u know I have to train her how to suckle from breast again !! was so scared that she cant do it but she gets better each day.

now I give her EBM in the daytime, and latch her at nite. She is used to this arrangement cos this is what she will go thru when i get back to work 2 weeks later.

so dun give up ok !!!

hi, ming liew, riushiki
Thanks for the advice. so u guys on totally EBM? actually i think its quite a feat to totally EBM too. hv to sterilise bottles, teats, pump, and hv to pump every 3-4 hrs, then feed baby. its a lot of work, how u gals hv time for yourself??

the problem now is i also hvg problems getting my 6 weeks old BB to bottlefeed. Its a battlefield everyday. Trying out with 1 feed a day only and already failed for the past 4 days. BB was wailing her lungs out the minute give her the bottle. I have tried the NUK & Avent teat on different occasions, she still cry very loudly till my MIL cannot take it. (my MIL was doing the bottlefeeding)

How did you ladies manage to get the BB to drink fr bottle??

zz,
i give my bb bottle since very beginning. i having problem to direct fed him.

maybe u need to calm yr baby down before u try the feeding.

zz,
I pump and give my bb the bottle if i need to go out without her. I used NUK teats. Initially she didn't like it but i find that when i give it to her when she's really hungry, she'll take it no matter what. She will contort her face, but she'll take it anyway, haha. In the end, seeing her falling asleep gives me satisfaction liao. Oh don't wait till she's too hungry either, she might throw tantrums. Also, I follow my mom advise, we must let baby adapt to us not we adapt to baby. Else very difficult liao. BB can get very pampered. But that's just my two cents lah.

zz, also try to persevere. breastfeeding should more or less be established at 6 weeks, so your timing is right. some babies take longer to practise and you may have to experiement with different teats, not just the brand, but silicone vs rubber and stuff like that. you can do it, trust your instinct and don't be too influenced by your MIL. Your breast milk will always be enough for the baby as long as she's feeding steadily from you. It's also a mind game. Don't let any external pressures influence you. You will do fine.

ilovebabies, melody,
haha i remember the time when we get so blur and at our wits end what to do with a struggling baby when we latch her on. i'm glad we pull through! congrats mommies!

rainnie,
ya lor, like ilovebabies said, metro usually have 20% discount on blue tagged items only.

so far i hv been pumping only max twice a day, and its at suka-suka timing. i dun adhere to a schedule and i pump coz i juz wan to store in case i need it, so will do tt daily. more often than not, most EBM ended up being thrown away as my son cant finish since i only let him drink EBM max twice a day. i dun store coz its still sometime away b4 i return to work. intend to only stock up 2 wks prior to tt coz heard FBM loses antibodies. and since i dun hv an exclusive freezer 2 store FBM, i prefer not to store so early.

so far all ur babies hv a fixed drinking schedule alrdy? mine is 6 wks old, but his drinking cycle still erratic leh. like tdy, he has been drinking at 1 hr interval for 4 hours liao. each time only drank like 5 mins and he dozed off, refusing to take the breast anymore. i hope he dun do tt to me at nite man...

zz
i had anticipated btl rejection problem so i had started to intro btl to my baby when he was only 2 wks old. i noe LC did say to introduce btls at 6 wks, but fearing he will reject, i introduced early, and tt time allowed him to b fed EBM once a day.

initially he refused the btl, perhpas due to unsuitable teats or wat, so we tried & error and finally settled for the pigeon peristaltic teats. aft he got used to this teat, we realised he cld drink fr Avent & NUK teats as well. but to prevent confusion. we sticked to the pigeon one only.

did i read somewhere in this thread a few days back on how to intro btl to ur baby? one lady posted and i rem got sthg like to hv a pc of mummy's clothing nearby when u r tryg to feed EBM... u gotta dig out the archives to get the posting.

Another great motivation for breastfeeding ! Ha ha :D

You will lose weight faster

Breastfeeding burns calories. Over 600 calories a day for breastfeeding women who don't supplement with formula. 600 calories! That's like getting two hours of aerobic exercise each day. A study published in the Journal of American Dietician Association shows breastfeeding melting off inches around your hips and buttocks. The reference is below.

Reference

Summary: Mothers who breastfed exclusively or partially had significantly larger reductions in hip circumference and were less above their prepregnancy weights at 1 month postpartum than mothers who fed formula exclusively.

Author: Kramer, F.,

Title: "Breastfeeding reduces maternal lower body fat."

Published in: J Am Diet Assoc 1993;93(4):429-33

BB's been very cranky these 2 weeks probably due to colic, so no time to post, only can read what you have written. What nice pictures you have posted. Its so difficult for me to see Trinity smile nowadays cos she's always upset and groaning.

I am also on total EBM since week 3. BB is a lazy sucker. Tried to DBF again 2 weeks ago, but found that she is pooing alot less, so gone back to feeding EBM and her bowels are back to normal.

Its tough to be total EBM, let's support each other and push each other for as long as possible. So whose total EBM now ?

Me
Michelle
Riushiki
Sunny03

who else huh?

We must give each other support ok?

There was talk last week about our BBs learning to enjoy bathing. She used to wail when we put her in water, now she wails when we take her out Aiyah

572851.jpg
572852.jpg

melissa

ya man ! and I was the first one to deliver bb ... was really so lost then ! glad that I have BF my gal for almost 3 mths !! that's halfway to my target 6tmhs of TBF !!

Riushiki

true .. but if u burn more calories, u tend to get hungry and then you'll eat more too.

guess the lucky gal is Melissa who is much lighter than her pre-preg weight !! so envy !!!

Angeline

ahha same here ... my gal was against bathing when she was younger. now she loves it and we let her play with water for a few mins more before we take her out. but she still protest .. aah cant give in else she'll catch a cold easily.

wah trinity has changed a lot !! she seems so contented lying on the bathtub... what are u doing at that time ? wash her legs ?

I posted some time ago regarding my difficulty in feeding my babe with bottle. Changed from Avent to NUK - she still refuses it after trying for 5 days. Maybe will try pigeon if she is still stubborn about it.
I wonder anyone here experienced the same prob and how long u took to overcome the prob.

Eling
Has your gal accepted the bottle?

ZZ
My MIL is also the one bottle-feeding her, once a day. After letting my gal "play" with the teat for one hour, MIL used the spoon in the end. I observed that usually after this "stressful" feed, she drinks alot after that. haha, spent too much energy wailing.

baby zucchini
I had anticipated the prob too. SHe was alright with the bottle when she was 1 week. I thought she would be subsequently... too complacent liao. I stopped when she is 3 weeks old - too lazy to sterilise the bottle and pump coz it is so convenient to just latch on. That's why, SIGH!!!

ya...metro sales are meant for blue tag....most of the baby items are blue tag. I was there jus now....all NUK, Avent, pigeon's items are on sales unless its already on special offer or package den no sales loh.
hope this help!

daisybuttons, nice meeting u jus now and thanks for the trouble for bringing it down! Use 3 pcs liaoz! very nice, even my hb comment it is GOOD! i hope .. will not get any problem with that heheeee.....

shirlyn
oh u started introducing when ur girl was 1 wk old and stopped huh? heee, i do agree the part on washing & sterilising r so troublesome! i hate it as well. machiam like playing with btls & teats everyday man!
since i started him when he was 3 wks old, i hv been keeping it up everyday, tts why i limit to 2 feeds of EBM daily, and i wash everything at 1 go, no need to wash twice.

mummies, thanks for sharing your difficulties in complete DBF! It's comforting to know that I'm not the only one facing problems. Hv been feeling so stressed out lately due to lack of rest from DBF. It's really not easy... u worry abt milk ss, then worry abt milk flow too slow, bb drinks too slow/frequent or doesn't want to latch on, or bb gets sleepy or frustrated... Sometimes wish tat time will stand still and i can take a break!
Hv fed EBM once or twice a day to relieve the stress from DBF but hv to deal w all the washing and sterilising...

Last night v. funny... i was so exhausted, i thot my girl slept thru' the night fr midnight to 5.30am!! Was so happy until i think think, then refer to my records and remembered i actually fed her at 3am! hai... so tired until i was on auto-pilot mode! haha... then also thot i've changed diaper already and settled my girl to sleep. Then realised haven't changed! *faint*

Appreciate all the moral support here!

puppylove, take care ya....anyone helping u? if yes ... u can get them to help u bottle feed them with ur EBM. Thats how i managed to de-stress myself by passing the workload to my mama!
if not i think i will cry man

helo rainni, nice meeting u too! hehehe paiseh need u to come in a cab to my mum's plc, and thanks for helping me buy the avent teat containers.
yah nepia very nice hor? glad it works for u yar? so for the 3 times u use it, got poo? if so, how was the absorbency?

puppylove, aiyoh....when i read ur post wanna sayang u leh. coz i know how u feel. so tired until autopilot mode. i also like zombie like that during night feedings. but actually like zombie also good leh. most times my boy so notti and cry so much during night feedings that he switch me out of my zombie mode, until i wake up so much i had hard timing falling asleep after....sigh....

angeline, u using this yellow seat in ur bath tub, what brand is that? me thinking of buying one but still considering the brand, as i need another tub at my mums plc....

puppylove

u poor thing .. ahah your "auto-pilot" nick is cute and very appropriate !

i think most of us are so tired that our memory is failing us .... i too had the same prob as you .. i fed my gal at 5+am .. then at 6+am .. i heard her cry and i got up from bed abt to go to the kitchen to warm the EBM ... until i realise I just fed her an hour ago ! luckily i kept a record like u do ... phew ... my ger went back to sleep shortly haha ...

Eh auto-pilot mode good what. What's wrong with that?

Puppylove,
before my girl sleep through the night I didn't think I will miss waking up at night to feed her liao. It's like missing being pregnant. Think now I'm so used to it, my baby girl wailing at night doesn't bother me anymore. hey try to take brand's essence of chicken at night before you sleep. it might help you less tired if you need to wake up at night.

ilovebabies,
paisay lah, after my last post i gained 2kg liao haha but it's still lower than pre-pregnancy weight lah. maybe b'cos I DBF on demand and I drink more than I eat. i also do everything myself, like bathing the baby, baby laundry and my own house chores lor. so now more or less, my weight has stabilized already. i used to be overweight liao, now my BMI is normal already

last nite was a record for ethan! he ate at 9pm, then slept at 10pm all the way until this morning 5am leh! tat's 7 hrs straight man... if only i dun hv to wake up to express milk, then i'd hv gotte 7 hrs of solid sleep too.

but then again, now that he's sleeping thro the nite, his milk intake has also dropped on a daily basis. is that normal or is it a cause for concern ah? seems the older he gets, the less milk he is taking?!?

DG
i think wat ur hubby bot were nipple shields n not breast shields
i hv nipple shields too cos i wanted to try latching my son on tat time when my nipples were sore. but now since no more latching then never use them anymore.

angeline, ilovebabies
my son oso now likes to bathe. last time oso cry like mad. now we take him out of the tub he will cry loudly! hee hee

Daisybuttons,
Actually I brought the bathseat from HK, but I did see them here at Mothercare and Robinsons. You might want to check them out. I found it very very convenient to use the bathseat as I don't have to worry about slipping and dropping her into the water. Now she can seat safely and both my hands are free to massage and play with her.

<font color="aa00aa">rainnie,</font>
nobody helping most of the time, tatz why... was initially worried tat if i feed my girl w bottle, she'll get confused cos she associates me w BF, but thankfully she's quite adaptable. Think she even prefers my breast! I'm now back to complete DBF... mood better, rested better, so milk ss/flow also better!

<font color="aa00aa">daisybuttons,</font>
u so sweet! 'virtual' hug also can lah! *hugz* Hv u ever fallen asleep while BF at night? I have! If I BF lying down, sure sleep one and my girl will end up suckling the same breast for an hour and fall asleep beside me!! To avoid tat, I'll sit up in bed altho' so tempted to lie down. Then I'll nod off and wake, nod off and wake... Sometimes I think my girl is so sweet and patient w me.. let me doze off and wait for me to latch her on again!! Lucky this doesn't happen often! heheh...

<font color="aa00aa">ilovebabies,</font>
u also keep record of feedings ah?
How long do u intend to do so?

<font color="aa00aa">melissa,</font>
ya, auto-pilot mode can be good! as long as u dun blur blur and make mistakes... like drop the baby!! *touch wood!!*... wah, u actually miss waking up for night feeds?? I can hardly remember wat it was like to be pregnant and having a huge tummy! And I definitly miss my girl kicking inside. Now she kicks outside!! kekek...

oh btw, is pap smear painful or uncomfortable? is the discomfort like checking for dilation? I read on how it's done... sounds painful leh! I'm due for this test the week after next. Those who've done it can let me know? thanks!

puppylove,
no worries, if you're relaxed, it just felt like a sharp pinch and then it's over. just remember that labor pain is much worse so of course you will survive this one

oh yeah you might spot a bit after that so do come with a panty liner.

hi puppylove, glad u're DBF again! jia-you! :)

Shirlyn, i tried both Nuk (M) &amp; Avent teat. My girl been refusing the bottle for the past few days too. Sigh, its such a struggle everyday to hv to hear her cry &amp; refuse the bottle. Thought of trying out the Pigeon teat also. Wonder when can find the 'miracle' teat BB can accept!

Melissa, u're one SUPERWOMAN, doing everything yourself!

michelle,
don't worry about the milk intake yet. sometimes babies can change their sleeping patterns. i find that if i go out and shop, bringing baby along in my sling, she will sleep the whole day the very next day. (like as if she's tired of all the walking, ha!) so if she sleeps the whole day (only wake up for milk every 2 hours), she will sleep lesser at night. for my case, instead of 6-7 hours of sleep, becomes 4-5 hours. which is still ok lah. unless baby has been sleeping 7 hours consistently for at least 3 days, your milk supply won't be affected yet. if this has become a regular pattern, you can try keep more milk for reserve and continue with your sleep. your body will adjust accordingly lor.

zz,
paisay lah don't say that. it's b'cos my family expect everyone to know their responsibilities so that's why sometimes they don't give face one haha. so it's like, it's your own baby so take care of her yourself lah. unless you need help, then the family will help. i was raised that way too.

melissa
the problem is my son wont even wake up for his milk! he just continue to sleep n sleep and sleep.... i'm not worried abt my milk ss cos i still continue expressing at regular timing so still can maintain lor.

and last nite again he did it... slept for 7 solid hrs w/o crying for milk. his day time intake does not increae oso...

puppylove i just had my pap smear done. have u had one before pregnancy before? if so, then its about the same lah, just remember to relax can oredi. a bit of discomfort for me but no pain loh. hehehe.

okie, *VIRTUAL HUGZ* hehehe. yap i have fallen asleep when bfdg before, but only when lying down. and thats very rare too, only when baby allows me to sleep. coz like i mentioned before, my boy every few mins will cry out loud when feeding, so when i lay down to feed i need to sit up to sit him up. so din get to sleep also lah hehehe.

zz and melissa, me also do all the household chores myself ah. bathing the baby, baby clothes, baby bedsheets towels and household chores. the difficulty is in doing all this when baby is napping! hahaha. thats why i kinda envy those who can still nap in the daytime leh! i tot usually no time oredi, but i realised some of u do nap, so good. hehe.

angeline, yes i have seen the mothercare and robinsons one, just wanna get some feedback before i buy hehee thanks!

michelle,
normal bah! my girl also sleeps through the night. asked PD before he said count myself as blessed! means she still has reserve in her stomach that's why never wake up. i think u can safely skip pumping during that time? when it first happened to me i was engorged but 2nd time it happened, i just ignore it and i do not get engorged anymore.

daisybuttons,
sometimes i want to nap also must have timing. like when i DBF my girl, i know she's going to fall asleep after that, so i quickly try to nap also lah haha! but before that early in the morning, must plan what to do for the day, so can make good use of the time while she's sleeping.

daisybuttons, yeah my ger poo on the nepia...its almost the same as pampers premium loh....not as messy as the other brands i tried. So thumbs up!

puppylove

i kept a record of feeding, urine, poo and my pumping time/amount of BM in a book.

it is indeed very useful cos my memory is not very good after getting pregnant.
eh i used to be well known for good memory among my friends !! haiz.....

anyway I will cont to do it at least for a few mths more ....

how abt u ?

melissa

i too handle everything myself when my mum is not with me. Doing all hsework and taking care of Rachel.

this morning i weighed myself ... i am 53kg !! was 55kg for quite some time .. but I dont any lighter leh ... wonder if my weighing machine is faulty ?

michelle

if my rachel can sleep so well at nite, I wont be bothered ! I heard some babies will catch up with their milk intake in other feeds. So dont worry lah ... baby will give u the cue when they are hungry !!

melissa
oh really? dun need to wake up to pump ah? really scared of engorgemt leh tat's y i still religiously wake up to pump at least once during the nite.

ilovebabies
yah perhaps i shd juz stop worrying so much n enjoy the fact that he sleeps for such a long stretch at nite huh ;)

i'm oso doing all the housework myself since maid not here. really miss my afternoon nap times leh.. now when bb is sleeping, gotta rush to do all the housework n laundry and everything! like tat sure lose weight naturally one hee hee. some more i got a shihtzu at home so gotta feed and clean up after her as well :p

michelle

u r even busier than us since u taking care of ur dog as well !! eh does ur dog adore ur baby ?

i dun pump in the midnite now .. v lazy so latch ger to help clear my BM ehhe

wow!! u all very hardworking leh.....do all the housework. Ever since i pregg most of the housework is done by my hb and one month before i due my mom quit her job...came alternate days to do housework for me. And now..even worst came every day to wash bb &amp; my clothes....cook &amp; every other chores! Even baby she also help me look after.

michelle, ur shihtzu is female ya....so shld be quite ok right...
I've 2 dogs, 1 male shihtzu and 1 female schanuzer. my male dog very jealous! and keeps barking so now he is at my mom's place
my female dog is with me...she will follow me and my ger whenever we walk arnd
very motherly dog :p

im on my own too ever since after confinement.

my hb has engaged a domestic helper to come do the "major cleaning" once a wk.

everyday i just make sure i bathe bb, cook, washing and minor cleaning.

so sometimes still hv time to relax a bit.

heeh think we are all super mummies in every way !!

gals I have a qn.

my ger now poo twice a day and it is a bit watery type. Is she having diarrhoea ??? it has been like that for past two days.

ilovebabies, u r on TBF right? So if that is the case shld be ok mah....she might have jus pee after her poo so will be abit watery?

ilovebabies,
i second that. if you're on TBF, it's completely normal. when my girl poo, I can see bubbles of yellow liquid coming out of her anus. BM babies almost cannot have diarrhea one.

melissa, rainnie

tks for the assurance! yes i am on TBF now.

went to babycentre site and they claimed it is normal to have poo poo twice a day after 1st month and as long as the poo poo is not mucus-streaked it is not consider diarrhoea.

Wow .. u all all super mummies :p

I worried I can't cope alone so I ran back to my mummy's house with baby hee hee :D So I have not went home for a while liao hee :D

Very hard to make my bb zzz during daytime leh. U all have any tips ? He will always wake up after a while .. average is 45 minutes zzz

hi hi.. it's me.. Finally I log in. Sorry for MIA for sooooo long..

Are you gals here all on TBF?? Seems like I am the only one partial eh? Or am I wrong? I have no time to look at all the posts I missed....

I latch my baby on sometimes when I like it, and express it out most of the time. But because I am inconsistent, my milk supply is quite low, that's why I have to substitute with powder Similac. And my baby drinks a lot. She drinks average 4 oz every 2 / 3 hours! I wonder whether I am over-feeding her sometimes.

But I realise that Similac produces a lot of bubbles, and my baby has colic as a result.
So I had to get the colic drop from doctor to reduce the colic. And my baby gal has rashes on her face. I wonder whether my baby is allergic to the milk powder as what the news mention??

Anyone has anything to share with me? I feel very down now that because of my laziness, my gal is not on TBF, and if it is because she's allergic to the milk powder she's taking, sigh.. i am such a lousy mother..

Smiley,
No, not everyone is on TBF. Some are weaning off BM but I can't remember who? If you're supplementing with FM, you can mix it with some BM. Reason being that baby can still benefit from antibodies produced by BM and nutrients from FM. You get the best of both world. But of course, your milk supply with dwindle. However, I believe you can re-establish your milk supply by latching consistently or pumping at regular schedule. The concept of BM is supply and demand. The key is consistency and have faith yah.

shirlyn, my gal can take bottle slightly better le, but sometime will still cry halfway during feed but she still prefer and enjoy direct latch on lor.

riushiki,
my girl and your girl sama sama.. she latch on and after a while start to get angry and kick and struggle.. she only stop struggling when i feel a letdown.. think she not happy with the milk flow. Only at night, when she iz sleepy will she allow me to latch her 100% of the time..

Smiley,
As i have no one to help in day and she don't sleep long also, i really have no time to pump consistently, wash and sterilise every 3-4 hrs.. so, i supplement with FM lor..i tried to tandem pump, but my girl kick at the pump everytime!

but, so far, she only drink 150ml of FM a day.. the rest is all BM from DBF or EBM. She can drink 120ml- 150ml normally but refuse to take more then 120ml from the bottle. normally, she will drink 90ml, and will demand me to latch her on again! she can last 3-4 hrs each feed. My problem iz her struggling at the breast in the day, which means she don't patiently wait for the milk flow to restart. but at nite, she can feed but feed so long! if i latch her on, she can feed for 2 hrs! I think my milk flow is not fast lor.. that is why.. so i normally end up asleep with her next to me..

How many of you your babies have already slept thru the nite ?

My bb is still waking up every 3/4 hours for a feed :x His last feed is sometimes 10 or 11 plus. I dun wake him up for his last feed coz want to let him zzzz and wake up on his own.

Dunno when he can zzz thru the nite or only will wake up once then I lagi can rest better :x