(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

edksd...heheh...yeah. whenever i feel tightness, i just rub the tight portion and sometimes it just goes away after a while...so i can never make out which is which :D

JOon, so good! dilated for 1 cm already.. so actually, if you have contraction pain.. you r ready to deliver!!!

Sigh! I am still dilated at 0cm... so even if i have contractional pain, i can't deliver if it's not open. Then muz resort to induce which it's my last last resort!!

Muz do squattin exercises more!!! i walked alot already leh!!! still don't work so well!!

edksd,
It does look quite ulu actually. Looks like quite a long walk from the main road
... where do u stay? Coz we are going to pick it up end of this wk, and I can pick urs up too. I stay at Whampoa, is that near ur place? The box is not big at all, like the size of 2.5 tissue boxes. Shld be quite easy to carry. When were u planning to pick up the pump?

Ya Bena, I don't know how some pple just LOVE ginger... it's so funny tasting! But I guess we'd better get used to it
I don't think I can escape ginger too... and u're right... everyone tells me not to worry, when the REAL contractions come, we WON'T mistake them for nothing!

Ming Liew,
I think the lower abdomen ones cld be BH contractions! Is dilating supposed to be painful then?

Bena, think you can't tell if you r dilated or not unless gynae gives a check....

I was surprised i wasn't even 0.5cm dilated coz i walked alot. sigh!!

Now i envy those who have already dilated. haaaa!!!

littlepony, i think i same as u too. I don even feel any contractions...so my gynae din even check if i am dilated
so till now, i also dunno if i am or not and i can't really walk a lot these days cos of the pain.

Littlepony,
Squatting will help??? Ok! I'll be squatting and watching the Emmys tonight then! Hopefully can deliver tonight, coz my sis is flying back to the States tomorrow! Iwanttopoptodayiwanttopoptodayiwanttopoptoday!!

Will inducing open the cervix? What can we do to open the cervix?

melissa,
nope, no sore finger joints. Feet not visibly swollen altho' my shoes got tighter this past couple of wks. Bb not engaged yet, unlike urs. Will chk w gynae again 2moro - hopefully she's in position by now!

For those of u having pain/aches in the v. area or bad menstrual kind of cramps... any idea if itz contractions? I also getting them, esp. when i'm walking. And bb's getting soooo heavy nowadays... cannot walk/sit/sleep for long... Can it be juz due to the weight of bb pressing down?? Can't be dilation right?? Guess I'm oso reaching tat stage when I wish bb comes out quick! heheh..

joon,

i mistaken my contractions for real one leh. but hoh, the pain was so unbearable and i was certain having contractions when i was placed on CTG machine. Sigh!! In the end, when gynae ask me go home and rest and wait.. the contraction subsided!

Now have to sit and wait again! haaaa!!!

Hi gals! Wow seems like more and more expreiencing symptoms already.

ilovebabies, thanx for advice on using the breastpump at the hospital.

peachie, congrats to you first too!

I wonder whether chocolat has given birth? I remember she mentioned that she'll be admitted over the weekend right?

edksd, don't need to worry so much about the estimated weight. Most important is to ensure baby gets the nutrition and is healthy!

Littlepony,
So it was just BH contractions, not the real thing? How can ur gynae tell it's not the real thing? Is it becoz they disappeared?

oooohhhh... looks like all of us are getting quite excited, hiah hiah hiah...

bena,
same same - can't walk a lot these days cos of pain/discomfort. Even walking to the toilet at work or walking out to take cab home seem so tiresome!!

so far gynae hasn't checked for dilation too. Anyone knows when gynae will do that?

haha joon... u so cute
JIA YOU JIA YOU!

littlepony, my baby not even engaged. So my gynae never bothered to check whether I'm dilated or not. And I'm doing my first CTG this saturday. What should i expect huh?

Joon,
BH contraction should be painless isn't it, that's what i tot. but the contraction i had that day was ultra painful... starting from backache to front.. like menstral cramp... and i keep thinking of going to toilet .. but nothing leh.

Gynae only say i not dilated yet so suggest i go home and rest 1st.. and when i reach home .. after a while, the pain subsided. Isn't it wierd!!!!

Yes.. we are all getting damn excited.. and u know what, it's only August! haaaa!!!

Dumpty,
You will be strapped on CTG machine to track any signs of contractions. On the machine, it detects your baby's movement and at the same time, any form of contraction. Contraction movements will caused the machine to print out 'up n down mountain like' records.... but if mild contraction, the 'mountain' will be very small. But big contractions, the 'mountain' will be very big. haaa! hope you get what i mean...

You be strapped for 20 mins.. and the gynae will review you.. plus check on your cervix to see if you have dilated or not.

One thing to warn.... when your gynae checked on cervix, you may have discharge on that day or the following day. Don't have to worry about that coz it's normal.

Mingliew,
issit? i tot i am the wierd one leh... haaa!! So actually, i not the only one experiencing wierd contractions that subsided after 10 hours of pain. haaa!!

Littlepony,
hahahhaaha!! Ya! It's only August!! So funny
Hah, really that painful? That's funny then, coz u're right, all the bks/websites say BH contractions are not supposed to hurt...

Dumpty,
The CTG monitoring is quite boring... just sit there and watch TV. If ur clinic's machine is the same as mine, then the chart that's printed out will have 2 graphs - 1 to monitor the bb's heartbeat and 1 to monitor ur contractions (if any). U will also get a little button to press if u feel bb moving. If u see spikes in the contractions graph, those are supposed to be contractions, and the more bb moves the better!

Dumpty,
littlepony is right. The day of & after my VE, I had brown spotting. It's normal, don't worry

hmm... is the CTG monitoring a standard procedure everyone goes thru'? If so, which wk is it normally done? or does it depend on ur gynae?

Oh... 20 minutes only ah? Because the nurse warned me that it may take up to an hour and wanted me to arrive at the clinic earlier.

Will the discharge be heavy? I've not have any kind of funny discharge yet. But a lot of gas in my stomach. Think one of you asked if anyone fart a lot? ME ME! I do! :p

Hi puppylove,
I don't think it's standard for my gynae. So far I had to do it twice. 1st time coz I didn't gain any weight from previous visit and 2nd time coz I lost weight. (did it in wk 37 & 38) I know a 20min CTG check is standard procedure when u check into the delivery ward though...

Dumpty,
I think maybe she said that coz if bb is sleeping, not moving much, they'll run the test longer. My 2nd test was abt 30-35 mins long coz bb was sleeping.

Hi Melissa,

Thanks a million for the table! That is very sweet of you!

Yep, I changed hospital.... Was quite impressed with Raffles during the hospital visit. But nurses wise, 2 of my husband's colleagues whose wives gave birth at MAH for the 1st child and Raffles for the 2nd child all preferred MAH. They said the nurses are very nice and motherly.

Hi Joon,

All the best for your labour! Hope you get your wish and pop today! Keep us informed yah?

Hi Bena, littlepony and dumpty,

Thanks! Will jia you and think of a name for baby in the meanwhile.

Hi peachie,
I hope so... but I doubt it... very little action today... but! Still hoping still hoping!!
I heard good things abt MAH too, esp the nurses... it was actually my 1st choice

Joon,
ya lor. it's painful and now subsided. Now, i paisey go see the nurses coz on that day, i was with big hospital bag.. haaa! in the end, i was asked to go home! SO embrassing leh!

Puppylove,
I was put on the strap when i told my gynae i was having contraction. And he said he could feel the tightness on my tummy as well. So perhaps you tell your gynae how you feel.. if no contraction, then they probably will only check on the cervix, that's all.

joon, littlepony,
thanks for the info on CTG. Yup, will check w gynae 2moro. So exciting to 'see' bb again!

Everyone take care! signing off for today..

Hi Joon,

Maybe baby is not reeady to be out yet.... May get to be a Sept baby after all!
1st Sept sounds good... It's Teachers' Day.

Hey girls check this out. Don't be stressed ok. It's still August! Check out this Birth predictions tool hehehe..

http://pregnancyandbaby.com/pregnancy/baby/Madame-Zaritska-predicts-your-birth-experience-736.htm

And here's my prediction.

<font color="0000ff"><font size="-2">Madame Zaritska, our resident clairvoyant, wants to help you prepare for the arrival of your child. Here she does her best to predict certain aspects of your labor and birth experience.

What she senses for you
The day you deliver, outside will be foggy. Your baby will arrive in wee hours of the morning .

After a labor lasting approximately 2 hours, your child, a girl, will be born. Your baby will weigh about 8 pounds, 8 ounces, and will be 21 inches long. This child will have light brown eyes and be completely bald.

But there is more. I sense that you are feeling some stress. This is very normal. However, I would like to suggest that you try some of these methods to pamper yourself a bit.</font></font>

BTW, 8lb 8oz is 3.85kg! Yikes! Big baby!

Sha

wah want to induce ah ? getting excited oredi ? ehhee

i wasnt allowed to take any shower for 12 days according to mum until last Thurs, cos I need to go to Mt A to see the PD. Yes, I'm at my mum place now.

Hubby was on leave last week and went back to work today. He was a great help and support to me during this period as the first few days was crucial .... getting to cope with a newborn and est milk supply at the same time

Joon

The massage lady Mona is coming tmr .. told her I need the thigh wraps. ehheeh

btw my uterus has contract quite a lot last week after I start BF. Can feel it cos it is a bit painful. So tummy is smaller now .. and hope Mona can be reduce it more hehe

weather is sooo hot recently .... aiyah tot I deliver in Aug - Sept period shld be quite cooling ...

Littlepony

u still working !! u shld be at home leh .. wat if u need to go hospital immediately ???

I am using the NUK silicone teats. Rachel seems ok with it. But recently I realise that her upper lips has this white thing over it ... err I dunno how to explain ...

i wonder is it due to the sucking of the NUK teats ? anyone knows ?

Peachie

breast size doesnt determines milk supply leh ahah dun worry ah ...

just need the determination and hardwork to express every 3 hourly and you can do it !!

And you are right, MAH nurses are v v v v nice .. and they are super support of breastfeeding ... they will encourage you and be with you during the stay. Like I mentioned earlier, they were so serious abt training BB rachel on how to suckle. Their efforts really paid off !!
without them, i dunno wat i shld do ...

Gals

a real contraction will starts with tightening of tummy then follow by very painful mensus pain and backache and ache in the pelvic .... ahah cannot tahan one ..

Sha

here's a pic of Rachel, 1 week after delivery

500439.jpg

Return from my gyane appointment today . . *sign* have no news about she going to pop within this few days thou her head is pretty engaged not going anywhere but there is not symptom of dilation yet so cant be induce. . . there again I have to do the 3 Ws

Walk, Wait and When. . . hehehehehehe. . .

Hopefully she is a good baby and pop within this few days before my gyane go away for the next one week. . . I am getting rather stress as well.

77peachie,
You are right having to give birth via natural birth without epidural is amazing but a 4kg baby is incredible right. . . I too salute her. I am so proud to be her friend as well. . .hahahahaha.

Melody,
I have no idea, my sis gave birth via the natural way and she mention that she has to insert urine track as well.

Bena,
Think it is all pure luck as well. . .better sweet talk to our baby to have a smooth delivery and so on and on and on. . . hehehehe.

BB Rachel is so so sweet! :D

i visited gynae this morning. bb is 3.45kg. dr checked my cervix still very high!

movements of bb have reduced a bit. dr very worried told me to visit him again on wednesday. he is worried bb got entangled in the ambilical cord. Also discussed that if need to bring bb out immediately then he will have to do it even if my hubby is not back. safety of bb and me more important. so now leave things to his instructions. he said bb is big and mature to come out already.

He told me to monitor bb's movements very closely if dun feel assured i should visit him everyday from now.

i was put on ctg for an hour. as many times, my bb's heartbeat couldn't be detected. Dr said cos bb moved away. but from those detected heartbeats he said bb is very healthy.

he is hoping my pelvic and bb will cooperate so bb can engage.

Bena, i asked dr lee about the v area pain he said cos bb is pressing on it trying to get engaged. now i only hope my bb engages soon so dilation can take place naturally. I've been actively walking since day 1 of my pregnancy leh...Argh! guess it's not going as smooth as i would like it to be!
now a little panicky! dr lee also commented that my bb could be bigger than estimated. he felt my tummy for the bb's size. so he will play by the ears i think. i will just follow what he suggests best for me.

as i'm typing this post, my bb is moving actively inside me. feel happier now. i hope she can come out v soon naturally.

500457.png

ilovebabies,
my hubby said that Rachel face shape look more like your hubby leh. . hehehehe. . .she got lots of hair and true true her eyes are very big. . so cute.

As you can read from my earlier posting . . . no chance even if I want to induce lor. So there is nothing much I can do expect to wait, walk and wonder when.

Anyway my hubby do not like the idea of induce as well so his wish granted now.

Getting excited . . You bet I am and also getting tired of waiting as well. If baby is not going to pop within these few days, I think I will continue work till end of this week and see how lor. . . anyway my next appointment is this coming Saturday with the stand-by gyane.

ilovebabies,
how long was your labor again? how frequent was your contraction before you get to the hospital? i am getting period-like pain at nights and BH contractions nowadays. very scared leh I'm not full term yet.

Hellobaby,
I understand how you feel as my baby is still ready to pop.

My baby movement is still very active and she is stretching quite alot as well.

Everything is still in good condition and it looks like she is pretty comfortable in my tummy that is keeping her warm and safe. . . hehehehe.

Sha, so it's a tiring and worrying waiting stage for us! my emotions go up and down like yo-yo! :p

maybe my bb was waiting for papa to come back so she hibernated awhile?! haha... then she realised how worried she got her mama to be and so she is cheering mama up now with some activities?! haha! she is real active now at this moment i'm typing! i am feeling some pulls at lower abdomen now. This really cheers me up! i'm so glad now! :D

My hubby coming back this saturday.

Hellobaby,
hehehehe. . . you are right. Come to think of it the feeling is truly great as you the bond with your baby the feeling is truly wonderful and great it is only the waiting part that is the killer as we get excited to see them.

ya sha, and having come such a long way, we want our babies to be in the best of health and well being!

Are we going to be kiasu and kiasi mommies!?? haha

ok me going to rest. good nite! :D

hehe tks for the compliments

Sha, but my mum says Rachel face shape takes after me when I was young leh ehehe

melissa

my labour was 5 hrs based on the 1st contractions I had. I was admitted to hospital becos my waterbag burst. It was dripping the whole nite w/o contractions. I was put on drip to make the contractions come.

just fed Rachel and coax her to sleep .. going to sleep too ... nite gals

ilovebabies,
Rachel is a cutie-pie!
And she's got lots of hair... so lovely! Hmmm, a 5-hr labour is not so bad! "Enjoy" ur massage later

littlepony,
No need to be embarrassed! U're definitely not the only one the nurses had to send home... don't worry

Puppylove,
No prob... update us after ur gynae visit and tell us how ur CTG went

Peachie,
I too think it's going to be a Sept bb... hiya... was hoping can pop b4 my gynae leaves this sat... she'll only be back next thurs... well, I still have today til fri, haha!

Sha,
U &amp; I can w.w.w together! Everytime I get a BH contraction now, I get all excited and eager... then they go away

Hellobaby,
I think those mental thoughts really worked! Ur bb must be waiting for ur hb to come back
I keep telling mine I'm ready for him to come out, but he's taking his own sweet time leh!

I was surfing the internet last night and realised what I've been feeling are just BH contractions, not the real thing. If it's just lower abdominal aches, then it's not the real thing. The real thing will be accompanied by lower back aches or will start with lower back aches and we prob won't be able to talk properly or stand, let alone walk. hmm...!

Anyway, tonight I'm going to try some natural ways to stimulate labour, like "ahem-ahem"(!) and nipple stimulation... if I give birth tomorrow, I'll let u guys know, hahahahahaaaaa!

500567.png

Morning gals!

ilovebabies, does rachel wake up in the middle of the night for feeds?

joon, ya bonding is true i think! :p

do you already have a breastpump? thinking if you can try nipple stimulation by using it? hee...

Morning gals!

ilovebabies, Rachel is SO SWEET! Oh, the whitish stuffs on the lips is ok. It's just the milk residue (according to my mom). She say can use a very soft clothe and wipe away

Hellobaby, your girl is big leh! Mi going to see Dr Lee today. I don feel any contractions, except for the v-area pain. Dunno what he will do today. Probably another CTG scan? It's so boring doing the scan...sit till backache, not as if the usual aches is not enough :p

Hi Joon,
Ya. . we can only W.W.W. . . hahahaha. . . as there is nothing much we can do right.

hehehe. . .Joon if the stimulate labour work like us know as I am tired for www. . . hehehehe.

You know what I still have not given up talking to my baby to pop early thou my cervix is not open yet. . . I will still continue to sweet talk to her and just hope..

Ilovebabies,
I think it take another couple of months to confirmed who she really take after as I told the last time I wish mine would take after me. . . . .hahahahaha.

Having to carry her around for so long she better look like me . . . hehehehehe. . .at for the eyes lah.

Bena,
Did the scan yesterday . . . saw my baby girl mount latching already soooooooo cute. . . .that is why I am so eager to see her but she just don't want to cooperate lor. So sad. . . think she is just too comfy inside me.

Sha, yah lor, each visit is so exciting. Let ur girl be with you a little longer...i am sure u'll miss her stretches and kicks when she's out

Bena,
No doubt that I will miss it but I am mentally tired leh. . . lacking in sleep and soon lacking in focus as well.

Going for my next check-up this coming Saturday with the stand-by gyane. I some how have a feeling that I will give birth to her later than my EDD lor.

hi bena and hellobaby...it's me again...ilovemybabyg from oct thread...i'm also with Dr Lee...was reading your posts earlier abt V pain... lately have been feeling this V pain especially at nite ya...and also sometimes when i go ladies, also will feel the pain...

hellobaby, u mentioned earlier tat if i feel v pain meaning BB is trying to engage, issit? i oni due 3 Oct...and also, ur BB is very big leh...last wk when i weigh my BB, she is abt 1.84kg at 34wk...will be seeing Dr Lee next fri..alot of pple told me not to worry abt her weight cos i still have a few more wks to go...is tat wat happens to ur BB too??? many pple say, towards the last mth, BB will gain quite abit... me hoping so also....so far i gain abt 11kg..

bena wat's ur BB weight so far?

hellobaby,
I think I will balance myself between the kiasu and kiasi mummy. The competition these days are getting high so better pucker up get going . . . . hahahahaha..

Did you saw the papers few days ago that mummy camp overnight at school to get a place for their children ,. . .wonder what we will do when it is our turn. . . hehehehehe